The Harbor House Reviews

Overall
4.1

View details

  • Guest room3.9
  • Service4.4
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.1
  • Onsite Dining3.6

Score Breakdown based on
27 Reviews

Write A Review

Basic, clean B&B with wonderful service and location

4.6 on May 10, 2017

Always a wonder visit with Moe at the Harbor House. No, this is not the Aster, and if you are looking for plush, fancy with bells and whistles you should move on. The Harbor house is a basic, clean, friendly, courteous B&B. Moe, the host, will do anything for you, is gracious, and just a nice person to talk to. There is a wide assortment of rooms, some with private bathrooms, some with shared bathrooms. We’ve done both, and while a private bathroom is nice, we’ve never had an issue with the shared bathroom. Spacious rooms, dressers and closets for your clothing, lots of hot water for your shower, comfortable beds. What more do you need? There is an apartment unit on the 1st floor, with two beds, a livingroom and a full kitchen. There are even rooms with bunk beds, so you are good if you want to bring the kids and still have a bit of privacy for yourself. Breakfast consists of assorted cereals, bagels, English muffins, plenty of good coffee and an assortment of teas—just tell Moe when you want it, and it will be laid out for you in the dining room. We’ve always had great views of the Hudson river, and there is a short greenway right across the street. The inn is incredibly well located—a couple of blocks to the subway system that take you to right in to the Staten Island Ferry terminal, and boom you are right in lower Manhattan. The ferry ride provides some of the best, if not the best, views of lower Manhattan, so bring your camera. There is easy street parking, and we always park and leave the car right where it is for the entire stay. The Harbor House is also within easy walking distance to restaurants, convenience stores, and a D&D. Go, enjoy, and say hi to Moe for us! Moe, as always, thanks for a wonderful experience, and we’ll see you again.


Best Bang for your Buck!

5 on May 26, 2016

My brother, nephew, husband & I stayed here this past Friday - Monday and it was wonderful! We used to live in NYC and my husband is a native New Yorker, so my brother & nephew asked us for a personal tour of NYC. And this was the perfect place to stay. It's quiet, has a wonderful porch, a park is next door, and it's on NY Harbor, so there are wonderful views. We even saw a freighter turn around. It's only a few minutes to the Staten Island Ferry and then you are in the most exciting city in the world! My husband and I stayed in the Manhattan room and loved it! The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was good, and the view was phenomenal! We will stay there again next time we are in the city. Initially my brother and nephew had the Madison room. When I booked the reservation, it had a bunk bed and a sink. When we arrived, the bunk bed had been replaced by a double bed. It was a tight fit for them. The Mr. Moe attempted to rectify the situation, but the first solution didn't work out well. But the next day when a better room was available, the he gave it to my brother & nephew. The room they were given was the Verrazano room! The best room! They were so happy! And the rates! You can't beat the rates! Best in NYC, unless you want to stay in a hostel or flop house!!! Next time we go to NYC, (assuming we don't stay with friends), this is where we will stay!


A wonderful place to arrive, when you are thousands of miles from home.

4.6 on September 30, 2015

What we expected when we arrived was a clean and serious location to stay. This was real but we felt very welcome. The special quality of the treatment by Moe was his real interest to make us feel comfortable in his kindly way. The house and area itself has the exclusive spirit of a place where stories arrive from the whole world and decide to get roots in Harbor Houses garden.


great place to stay in NYC

4.4 on April 29, 2015

We stayed at the homey Harbor House recently and were delighted by the views, convenience and especially by Mo, who was an exceptional host. It is convenient to the city by ferry and across the street is the Alice Austin House, a park, an exhibit of her home and her photography. We will stay there again and recommend it to friends who want a reasonably priced, comfortable and clean place to stay away from the noise of the city.


Outstanding

4.0 on January 04, 2015

We stayed at Harbor House in Sept of 2014, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay it was the perfect place to be after the hustle and bustle of the city. It was great to come home at night to the amazing view of the harbor. Moe's customer service was truly outstanding he went above and beyond. Thank you for making our stay in New York extra special. We would return anytime.


Great Value

4.4 on October 20, 2014

The Harbor House is a labor of love for the host, Moe. I highly recommend it for anyone visiting NYC (a free ferry ride away).


A great place to be when visiting New York

5 on September 30, 2014

The Harbor House is a great place to be when visting New York with a great view on NYC Skyline and Varrazano Narrows Bridge. Relax near the water on Staten Island. Good connection to South Manhattan via Bus and Staten Island Ferry. We really enjoyed our stay at Harbor House. Thanks to Moe who is a perfect host.


Fantastic little gem

4.4 on September 30, 2014

What a gem: unobstructed panoramic NYC views, located right on the water, clean and well-appointed rooms with plush sheets, towels, etc.; a wonderful host in Moe who even drove us back to the ferry one morning. The location is a 10-minute bus and five-minute walk, combined, from the ferry terminal. We walked all the way, about 25 minutes. Don't miss the Alice Austin historic house across the street. The only less than stellar thing is the modest breakfast selection, just cereal, toast, english muffins and bananas. They could be more varied in food selections. My wife and I used this as a getaway for a day from Manhattan, where we live.


Best value for money in New York

5 on August 20, 2014

This B and B has friendly and helpful staff as well as having great views of the Manhattan skyline.


Psst: great stay for the New York Marathon

4.2 on August 19, 2014

A short walk to the start of the NY Marathon made this a great place to stay before a long running tour of the five boroughs, with the budget-priced Vanderbilt room fine for two to share, plus helpful owners, fantastic views, and the wonderful free "cruises" on the State Island Ferry to and from Manhattan.


Great Harbor View, Friendly, accommodating Innkeeper

4.2 on September 15, 2013

Very nice property, Some rooms still in transition to "great". Comfortable, good area. Breakfast included eggs, sausage, fresh fruit, cereals, juice, milk. Will definitely stay here again.


$100(cash) room w/a $1,000,000 view

3.2 on September 25, 2012

had ez 3rd floor walk-up crow's nest rm w/private bath. view was fabulous: hard right verrazaro narrows bridge, right brooklyn, & bridge, straight lower manhattan. left statue of liberty & nj. ny harbor v/busy& exciting. believe new owner moe mohammed & daughters doing better job than prev one. even took us to newark airport. staten is. ferry is free 24/7. great ride. didn't see anything of interest on staten island. cheap 10min bus ride to ferry, $5. by cab. would go back.


Great Value, Needs Upkeep

2.8 on May 14, 2012

Innkeeper very nice. Area and view unbeatable, and a very good value. However, at least the Staten Suite is in bad need of repairs. Not nearly as nice inside, pictures are misleading.


Weekend Getaway on Staten Island

3.4 on July 27, 2011

The Harbor House was a perfect choice for my needs. I chose it because of its proximity to the water right across the street. I appreciated the front porch and watching all the activity on the narrows, the NY harbor, and the changing lighting of Manhattan. I thoroughly enjoyed the conversations with the owner who is a very gracious host.


Wonderful views and hospitality.

3.6 on July 19, 2011

We chose the Harbor House for the views and the economy. Our suite was roomy and met our needs well. We enjoyed the ferry rides to Manhattan. We would stay here again.


Good value but a basic stay

3.2 on November 15, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Harbor House and would recommend it to others with the understanding that this is a very basic B&B. The location is amazing: quiet safe neighbourhood, free street parking, and a fantastic waterfront view of the city. An all-day bus/subway pass can be purchased for $8.25 at the top of the street and it will take you to the ferry and anywhere in NY. It seemed (at least coming back at night) that the 51 bus runs in-sync with the ferry arrival so the travel time is about 40 minutes. This is a beautiful old house with high ceilings but I’m afraid the owner has let it go (he didn’t seem to be around the weekend we were there). The staff keep everything clean and were friendly and helpful - letting us get our house key before the 2pm check in so we could head to Manhattan and return after their 9pm check in deadline. There is huge potential to improve the house but seemingly a reluctance to do even little things. Everything from the cutlery to the artwork, to the plastic pumpkin shaped butter and jam containers shouted hostel not B&B (note: bring your own peanut butter). For the duration of our 4-day stay there were two toilets in our very dated bathroom (one presumably as a back-up as it was not hooked up). The 2nd bath mat covered up some of the missing tiles nicely. Note as well the TV in the Brooklyn room can be turned on by removing the duct tape and pressing the button in the small hole (we didn’t try the 2nd sitting in the closet as presumably it was broken) Having said all this I would go back to this location, as it’s not that we were upset about our stay; just saddened that this house is not being taken care of (and in some respects maybe the guests too).


A charming place

4.4 on April 08, 2010

We stayed for ten days at the Harbor House, and, honestly, I don't think we could have found a better place to spend that time. Staying during off-peak times kept the house pretty empty and quiet, but cozy nonetheless. The view (from right across the street and out of our sitting room windows!) was great even in gloomy mid-February weather, though I'm sure it's no comparison to what the general ambiance of the entire neighborhood is like in the summer months. After just a few days there, we found ourselves saying not "let's go back to our B&B room", but "let's go home". The staff were very welcoming, courteous and professional. The Harbor House is not a modern chain hotel, but such things aren't to everyone's taste. If you prefer being waited on hand and foot by round-the-clock room service at a fancy hotel, this B&B is not for you. If you, instead, prefer a charming and homey environment in which to feel relaxed and at ease, while never being more than just a ferry ride away from the busy and bustling city of NY, then this little (and I use that term loosely; the house is huge) B&B is a perfect choice, in terms of comfort, cost, and value.


GREAT way to see the city !

4.0 on August 19, 2009

Read with some interest one review of the Harbor House, detailing "time lost" by having to take the ferry into downtown. Should one wish to be in the center of the city, Harbor House, or more approriately stated, Staten Island, is NOT for you. Rather, go to the Ramada, the Hilton, ect, in Manhatten ! That said, should you wish to ENJOY one of the best views of THE CITY, and much of it's surroundings, then the Harbor House SHOULD BE on the top of your list ! Have been there twice, and am coming back again this September ( 2009 ). The owner and his staff are friendly, and strive to meet one's needs eagerly. The house and rooms are kept exceptionally clean, and the stay, overall, is one of the most enjoyable I have had when travelling. As to "time lost" with the ferry -- we found as we started out our day, and drifted past the statue of liberty, and saw the city drawing closer and closer, that this way of "coming to the city" just enhanced our expectations of the day ! And the relaxing, leasurely " drifting back to the Island " after a very full day, was just what the doctor ordered ( and being an R.N., I KNOW about doctors orders ! ). Coming to New York City ? Want the best of both worlds ( ie: the city, and all it has to offer, and a safe, relaxing, clean place to lay your head ) ? Then make sure you have as one of your stopping places, the Harbor House ! Mike Holy, RN


Nice place

4.0 on April 20, 2009

My wife and I stayed there in mid April 2009. We had one of the bedrooms with shared bath, and it waqs very nice. Street parking was easy (and free), neighborhood was very safe, and the surrounding view in the harbor is fabulous. For the price you will NEVER get this nice a spot in Manhattan. Just a few things to know.....be sure to bring towels and washrags with you, the breakfast is continental in style and not like a country B and B inn, and know that you don't have cable TV (only local channels) nor high speed internet at your disposal. And if you take public transit, it's a 20 minute ride there.....but if you have a car, drive and park for $4.00 for 12 hours up the hill from the ferry station or at the station itself for about $7.00. All that aside---it is a fabulous value, and you will enjoy it---at much less than Manhattan prices.


rest in town

3.6 on March 11, 2009

Nice, friendly, close to Manhattan. A good stay for a couple of days.


I'll return some day

4.0 on December 03, 2008

We stayed in the large ground floor suite in Jan 07 and dreamed of coming back in the summer when we could sit on the porch and look out over the Manhattan skyline. I couldn't get in sum 08 but drove back on a Sun afternoon to tour the Alice Austin museum next door. Sat on the shore & watched the Cruise ships leaving port & "local" families waving to fam & friends on board from shore. Victorian Villa is a short walk to the Ferry but the Har Hs views & breakfast can't be beat.


The Harbor house is nice but....

3.4 on May 14, 2008

There are pros and cons on the Harbor House, but every Hotel or Bed & Breakfast has some. Pro's 1.) The view from the picturesque Harbor House is fantastic; to your right is the Verrazano Bridge, which at night is beautifully lit up. Swinging north is the southernmost part of Brooklyn, looking across the bay just 6 miles away, you see the southernmost part of Manhattan, the Statue of Liberty, and New Jersey. At night you can see them glowing in the distance. 2.) The house is in a quiet and safe residential district. There is little traffic noise, in fact the house is so well insulated that when the frigid wind comes howling off of the bay you don't even hear it. Neturals- breakfast is cornflakes, bread, croissants, occasionally bagels and an orange type drink. There is also milk and coffee or tea. A second type of the cereal and fresh fruit would be nice. Cons - the amount of time you lose getting to Manhattan. The Harbor House's 2.6 miles from the Ferry terminal. If you take public transit the average time it took me from leaving the door at the Harbor House to Manhattan was almost 90 minutes. It takes more than 20 minutes to get to the terminal. The Ferry leaves on the hour and half hour and normally you have a 15 to 20 minute wait. The Ferry trip is 30 minutes long. Basically, you lose 2 1/2 to three hours a day traveling to and from the southernmost end of Manhattan to the Harbor House. Check out time in is 11 a.m. and if your flight is not until late at night you may want to consider taking your bags to the airport early. At JFK (as of May 2008) terminals one and four have a baggage storage for a few bucks you can drop your bags off and go back for a few more hours. Take the A or E subway trains and transfer to the air trains at JFK. The air trains are an additional five dollars per direction.


Roger & Claudette

4.8 on May 14, 2008

First in a life time visit to New York for both of us was july 2007. We stayed at the Harbor House for a week then. We liked it so much that we're doing it again this year. I mean a great room for 70$ bucks a night, free parking, veranda on of the Hudson, sun-rise & sun set on Manhattan, + you get to salute the Famous Lady from the water, two times a day, for free and travel all over New-York, the most amazing city in the world, in air conditionned buses for 12$ a week. That leaves some spare change for food, booze and fun and the little lady's shopping...


great views and more

3.6 on January 25, 2008

My husband, girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights. The view is incredible as the inn is right on the harbor. The inn is one block from the bus stop, which takes you right to the ferry station. Also two blocks away is a cozy bar (the Rosedale I believe) where we had wonderful homemade ravioli. Thankfully this inn had a room with a double and a twin, which fit our circumstances perfectly. We did have to share the hall bath which could use some remodeling SOON. The owners were quite friendly and breakfast was tasty and filling. This is now our place to stay when visiting NYC. CAn't beat the rate and I love the ferry rides.


Harbor House B&B

3.2 on November 14, 2007

I very much enjoyed my stay at Harbor House. It was wonderful waking up to see the sun rising between the towers of the bridge, and sitting outside on the front porch drinking my coffee while the boats went by. A very cozy, friendly place and a great location.


Great View and Location!

4.4 on November 02, 2007

This was a great place to stay. Located right on harbor with great view of Statue of Liberty and Manhattan. Hosts were very helpful. Loved the free Staten Island Ferry and excellent Italian restaurant nearby. Very peaceful at the end of the day.


What a sweet place!

5 on February 28, 2007

The owners are hospitable, the room we stayed in was homey and comfortable, there's a great view of the harbor, there are a couple of friendly restaurants just up the street, and they got their wireless internet connection going while we were there. You couldn't ask for more.


The Harbor House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $79 - $139
  • Reviews (27) 4.1
  • Rooms 11
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7188760056
  • Fax 1-7184209940
  • Mobile 1-3474295231

Visit Website »

View details

Top check