Union Gables Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Onsite Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
35 Reviews

Write A Review

A wonderful experience

4.6 on October 18, 2017

I am not a great traveler. While I enjoy experiencing new places, I generally prefer the comforts of my own home. However, I have to say that I was completely comfortable during our recent stay at Union Gables. Our room was beautiful and had everything we needed, the breakfast was lovely, and everyone we met was gracious. And the beds were fabulous — I can’t remember when I’ve slept so well while ‘away’. One thing that always interests me is the ways in which hosts will work to protect the environment. In addition to the usual ways, Union Gables offered the makeup removal wipes — love it! — and liquid hand soap instead of the wasteful little bars. Well done!


Union gables review

5 on October 13, 2017

We had a great stay at union gables. Everything from the room, service and breakfast were fantastic. I highly recommend this place. Walk to town.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for writing a review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your room, service, location, and breakfast at Union Gables! We appreciate your comments very much. We hope to see you again soon! Best wishes, Tom and Barbara

- Tom and Barbara (innkeeper)


Wonderful Weekend!

5 on October 10, 2017

We had a very relaxing weekend at Union Gables. The property and rooms were perfect for a couple get-a-way. We stayed in the Emerald Room near the pool, which we enjoyed using. There are many places to sit and relax in the gardens, a very calming place for sure. The breakfast was outstanding and the service was impeccable. There are also a few restaurants and a Deli within walking distance, very convenient. We highly recommend staying at Union Gables. We look forward to visiting again in the future.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for writing a review to highly recommend Union Gables! We are so pleased that you enjoyed a Wonderful weekend in the Emerald room, pool, breakfast, and service! All of us at Union Gables appreciate your comments very much. We hope to see you again soon! Best wishes, Tom and Barbara

- Tom and Barbara (innkeeper)


Great stay!

5 on October 09, 2017

The perfect location to experience the best Saratoga springs has to offer. Comfortable bed, elegant room, delicious breakfast and an extremely attentive staff.


My Saratoga home

5 on October 08, 2017

My family ties to Saratoga go back four generations. As a child, I remember taking long walks around the neighborhood (we stayed at my grandmother’s home on Clark Street), and I remember Union Gables well, but I never dreamed I would stay there one day. This past weekend was my second stay, and I shared the room with my sister who hadn’t been back in 50 years, and my dog. It was a perfect stay in every way. The staff was So accommodating to our needs. The room was clean and beautifully furnished...we even had a screened porch for the dog. The breakfast was delicious, and the porch seating was comfortable and plentiful. The location was perfect...we walked everywhere we wanted to go. I can’t say enough nice things about Union Gables. It truly is my Saratoga home. I’ll definitely be back!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for writing this lovely and heartfelt review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience for a second time! We appreciate your comments that it was a perfect stay, and we hope to see you for many more of them! Best wishes, Tom and Barbara

- Tom and Barbara (innkeeper)


Anniversary trip

4.8 on October 06, 2017

Beautiful room with many attentions to details. The breakfast was delicious with so many choices. The inn itself is gorgeous. We would highly recommend staying here.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very much for writing a review of Union Gables! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your room and delicious breakfast! Your recommendation and comments are so important to all of us here. We hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Tom and Barbara

- Tom and Barbara (innkeeper)


Great getaway in Saratoga Springs

5 on September 25, 2017

Fantastic and relaxing couple of days at Union Gables! Very welcoming and charming house, room and gardens plus amazing breakfast. Matt was very friendly and provided recommendations on restaurants and things to do. As a bonus, Union Gables is basically walkable to everything. Thank you, we will be back.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for writing a review of Union Gables! We are so pleased that you were charmed by the house, your room, gardens and, enjoyed breakfast and location. It means so much to all of us that your experience was a great getaway for you! We hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Tom and Barbara

- Tom and Barbara (innkeeper)


Union Gables Charming and Pet Friendly

5 on September 25, 2017

This is the third year that we have stayed at Union Gables and each year everything is perfect. The staff is always hospitable and and are very friendly. We bring our Border Collie with us and they treat her like royalty. We plan on visiting Saratoga Springs and staying at Union Gables for many years to come.

Innkeeper Response
Than you for your lovely review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Union Gables again this year. We look forward to seeing you for many more years to come! Best wishes, Tom and Barbara

- Tom and Barbara (innkeeper)


Great Time in Saratoga Springs

5 on September 19, 2017

First "Bed and Breakfast Experience" for us. Will definitely return to the Union Gables. They set the bar pretty high for any place else.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased to have 'set the bar high for any place else' for you! We are humbled by your comments, are so very appreciative! Comments like yours really help support us, and help maintain the preservation of Historic properties such as the Union Gables mansion, especially with all of the new Hotels in Town. We hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Tom and Barbara

- Tom and Barbara (innkeeper)


Charming & Relaxing B&B

5 on September 18, 2017

Our stay at this beautiful B&B could not have been more relaxing! Disappointed when our vacation plans to Florida fell through, we decided to visit Saratoga Springs for a long weekend and were so glad we did. Saratoga Springs is a charming city with something for everyone and Union Gables is a well maintained property full of flowers and gardens, only a short walking distance to Congress Park and the downtown area. We spent 3 gloriously warm September days and nights exploring all it has to offer: from the shops and restaurants on Broadway to its beautiful parks, festivals and farmer’s markets. Our mornings were spent walking, hiking or biking (with complimentary bikes) and we spent our afternoons in the outdoor pool, before heading out to dinner at one of the many, many restaurants and later taking in some of the local music on Caroline Street. The Henry Suite where we stayed was very clean and quiet and had the most comfortable bed. Our host, Matt, was extremely friendly and accommodating and his recommendations of where to eat were outstanding. Breakfast every morning was delicious and was a great way to start our day. Would highly recommend Union Gables if you like the charm & ambience of a Victorian B&B and we look forward to returning soon! - Mary & Steve, Monroe, NY

Innkeeper Response
Dear Mary and Steve, Thank you so much for recommending Union Gables in this review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed the Henry Suite, bicycles, afternoons by the pool, flowers and the Charm of Saratoga Springs. All of us at Union Gables are very appreciative of your kind words! We hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Tom and Barbara

- Tom and Barbara (innkeeper)


Enjoyable Stay at Home Away from Home

4.6 on September 16, 2017

Lovely old mansion, minutes away from various attractions; very clean; dining area well-lit via gorgeous Tiffany lamps; multiple lamps & electrical outlets in "Edward" bedroom. Spacious bathroom (shower only). Cold lemon water, coffee & tea available at all times. Matthew & Ryan very helpful & polite. A wonderful, large porch with cushioned wicker chairs & glass-topped tables. Very peaceful.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for this lovely review! We are overjoyed that you felt 'very peaceful' at Union Gables, and enjoyed the lamps, your room, and porch. All of us at Union Gables appreciate your comments very much. We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards, Tom and Barbara

- Tom and Barbara (innkeeper)


Great Weekend Getaway

4.6 on May 31, 2017

We stayed at the Pond Cottage for Memorial Day Weekend. It was quiet and secluded, perfect for us and our two dogs. The pool is beautiful as aremthe grounds. The made-to-order breakfast included in the room rate is delicious. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Our second stay here was a wonderful way to celebrate an anniversary.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your lovely review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed the seclusion of the Pond Cottage, grounds, and breakfast. It means so much to all of us that you shared your experience online, and we hope to see you again soon! Best wishes, Tom and Barbara

- Tom and Barbara (innkeeper)


Don't even consider going anywhere else!

4.8 on October 16, 2016

We've traveled and stayed in many spectacular B&B's out East. I think we knew after our research that this would be a wonderful inn. But we had no idea how wonderful it would be! This is an extraordinary Bed and Breakfast in every way. Every single person was friendly but not obsequious. They helped but didn't hover. The breakfast was better than any we've had...anywhere. The nightly cookies were addictive! The fact that this is a very, very dog friendly inn (as well as city) only makes it more special. Our Zoe wasn't just tolerated....she was welcomed! We had a "welcome doggie package", offers of babysitting while we did our thing and lots of hugs and kisses. Before we walked out the door, we knew that we would return. This is the real thing. This is the place to stay while in Saratoga Springs!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for this extraordinary review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time in Saratoga Springs and at Union Gables. We are pleased that you and Zoe felt welcomed and comfortable. All of us at Union Gables appreciate your lovely comments! Best wishes, Tom and Barbara

- Tom and Barbara (innkeeper)


What a Find!

4.8 on October 04, 2016

Not knowing anything about Saratoga Springs, picking Union Gables as our "home base" was the best thing we could have done! Victoriana, Luxury, Comfortable, Convenient! Our stay in the GEORGE House was wonderful.......everything at our fingertips! Gardens, babbling fountains, private parking, wrap-around porch! An easy walk to the Oklahoma Training Track for a Saturday morning tour, as well as the center of town, with it's many restaurants and shops. Saratoga Springs has so much to offer..............and one of them is the UNION GABLES B&B!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for writing a review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Union Gables, the George House, gardens and location. Your comments are so important to us, as we continue to strive for preservation of the Historic Saratoga Mansion, reviews like yours are essential to continue. Thank you from all of us at Union Gables. Best regards, Tom and Barbara

- Tom and Barbara (innkeeper)


Best stay yet!

4.6 on June 14, 2016

Sixth yearly stay in Saratoga Springs at six different B&B's. By far the best experience. Owner / hosts the most accommodating and the most informative and were readily available for info on points of interest and dinning tips. Definitely a must on our return trips.....

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Union Gables. All the best, Tom and Barbara

- Tom and Barbara (innkeeper)


Absolutely Amazing

5 on January 10, 2016

From the moment we made our reservation, Union Gables was exemplary in ever manner. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The food absolutely delicious. The room incredibly relaxing. We could want for nothing more in our stay....

Innkeeper Response
It was our pleasure to have you stay at Union Gables, so it is so nice to read your kind comments! Thank you very much for the review. We hope to see you again soon! Best wishes for the New Year. Tom and Barbara

- Tom and Barbara Fox (innkeeper)


Special Get Away

5 on December 14, 2015

Thank you so much for always making us feel at home and pampered at this special love location in Saratoga, NY.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the kind review! We are so pleased that you felt pampered and at home at Union Gables. We hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Tom and Barbara

- Tom and Barbara Fox (innkeeper)


Excellent stay!

5 on October 28, 2015

We can't say enough about our stay at Union Gables. It's an absolutely beautiful home and very conveniently located to the downtown area. We brought our dog with us and not only are dogs accepted, they are welcomed. There was a blanket, water dish, and treats in our room just waiting for her. She enjoyed joining us for the evening wine and snacks in a beautifully appointed sitting room. Breakfasts were amazing! There are so many choices and one is more delicious than the next. The French toast and omlets really stood out. Jane could not have been a more gracious hostess. Our every request was met with a smile and positive attitude. We felt right at home from the minute we arrived until we had to leave. Looking forward to a return trip!


Wonderful three days

4.4 on August 13, 2015

We spent three days at this inn with two other couples and were very impressed with the quality of the rooms and the service. Jane and Page could not have been nicer. They were attentive to every detail. We would definitely return again.


Wonderful

5 on May 26, 2015

This was our first stay at a Bed & Breakfast and we were so happy to have found Union Gables. It was my husband's birthday and upon arrival, there was a birthday card in the room for him. Such a nice personal touch. The entire Inn and premises were super clean. We were very impressed by the architecture and decor. The staff was very welcoming, polite and accommodating. The complimentary wine, before dinner hours, was a wonderful way to wind down from our long drive. Wine in hand, we explored the beautifully maintained property and garden areas, in ground heated pool area and spacious relaxing front porch. Prior to leaving for dinner, we enjoyed a game of pool in the billiards room. The Inn was centrally located, within walking distance to great dining, shopping and pubs that hosted night entertainment. It was also a very short drive to the casino, which was a wonderful way to end our evening. The made to order breakfast and service was great, hosting a separate room filled with fresh fruit, juices, breads, yogurt, mini muffins. They also had great coffee and selection of Stash teas (available throughout the day/night). We stayed in the Edward room, which was spacious with and en suite, filled with natural sunlight, a comfortable king sized bed and lovely decor. All in all, our stay at Union Gables was a wonderful and memorable experience.


Time Machine Bliss

5 on March 31, 2015

My siblings and I are located across the US so we found Saratoga Springs to be a perfect meeting place. Our decision to stay at the Union Gables was 1st based on the confidence and warmth from the reservation phone call with Jane. Carla and Jane (& chef Bruce) made our stay more than perfect! Elegant yet casual, historical enlightenment, superb food and service. We visited every area of the Inn and sat in every seating and fireplace area! We loved it so much we are returning for a summer retreat visit and a winter visit to celebrate our birthdays! Jane, our Innkeeper was instrumental in our success of our family reunion. As we hugged farewell I found myself with a tear in my eyes, as I knew I would truly miss Union Gables and look forward to a speedy return!! Thank you all for such a beautiful experience.


Outstanding

4.6 on March 02, 2015

We finally got to enjoy, so much, a stay at Union Gables after having driven by it during the last 30 years! Thanks to Tom and Jane for making us feel right at home from the minute we arrived to the last cup of coffee before leaving. Our only regret was that we did not have a chance to spend more time relaxing in front of the fireplaces and taking in the beauty and comfort of our surroundings. But we will rectify that in the future! Sarah & Wally Morrison


The calm after the storm

5 on March 02, 2015

While in Saratoga for a kids chess tournament that was held at a neighboring convention center, it was a welcoming option for our family to retreat from the chaos of that hotel into our Union Gables home for the weekend. We felt like we were at home. Our room was relaxing, quiet and had everything we needed. In this environment we were able to relax, prep for tournaments and decompress. This was our second stay at Union Gables and we'll certainly return. Kids aren't normally allowed at the inn but they were kind enough to make the exception for this weekend, which allowed parents to better prepare their kids for the tournament (something difficult to conceive of had we stayed at a commercial hotel).


A great Valentine's weekend getaway.

5 on February 17, 2015

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Union Gables this past Valentine's weekend. The Inn is beautifully restored and well maintained and after speaking with Tom it's obvious he and his wife Barbara take great pride in their properties which shows. Jane is a terrific hostess who was very accommodating and the breakfast was excellent. Our room was very comfortable, with the fireplace making it especially cozy on some very cold evenings. My wife and I look forward to future stays at Union Gables!


Met my expetations...

3.0 on February 17, 2015

Only complaint...(if there was one) is the bed pillows...too stiff! Like my feather pillows best! I still slept soundly, though.


Beautiful, delicious and pet-friendly!

5 on January 19, 2014

This was our first stay at Union Gables and is now my favorite of the 8 B&Bs I've ever stayed at. We stayed in the Library Room which was lovely. Perfect for us. Jane was so helpful and friendly. She helped us choose and also called in our takeout order to a wonderful Italian restaurant the first night, which was especially helpful since we needed to stay in with our dog who was still recuperating from last minute surgery. Jane even supplied us with dinnerware to enjoy our takeout dinner. Assortment of hot beverages and homemade cookies at night and even more delicious breakfast full of options. Jane gave us ideas of how to spend our day out and about and made calls for us to get more information. We snowshoed at Saratoga Spa State Park, shopped and went to movie theater. Enjoyed our personal hot tub in the room too. Next time we might try cross country skiing or even visit in the warmer months to take advantage of more activities. Nearby Saratoga Spa State Park is also a great place to walk dogs in nature anytime of year.


A very happy veteran!

5 on November 12, 2013

My fiancé and I took advantage of a Veterans Day special The Union Gables was having. The owners opened their establishment free of charge to Veterans on both Sunday and Monday nights. From check in to check out everything was first class and perfect! Rooms were clean, elegant, and rustic. There was wine served during the evening by the fireplaces and warm homemade cookies before bed. The breakfast in the morning was made to order and the best I've tasted in a very long time. My fiancé and I cannot wait to go back soon. The appreciation I felt as a veteran was amazing. A special thank you to both Tom and Barbara, Gregory Goodale


Excellent choice in Saratoga.

5 on October 29, 2013

Excellent location. Breakfast was delicious...even included local made warm maple syrup. Hosts are very knowledgeable about the area. Learned many new things. Property and furnishings are spectacular. Late night wine and fresh baked cookies were a nice treat.


Lovely B&B

3.8 on July 11, 2013

Very pleasant. Lovely porch and gardens. Pool not open when we were there, but will be nice when open. Rooms quiet and comfortable.


A Wonderful place to stay.

4.8 on November 11, 2012

We stayed here in October 2012 for 3 nights and had a great experience. I had been to Union Gables previously (probably about 15 years prior) under the prior ownership, and had a great experience, and I think it has only gotten better since then (I already had high expectations). The service was fabulous; the owners and staff made us feel at home and very comfortable, always checking in on us (even the contractors doing maintenance work on the grounds were nice!). The breakfast prepared for us was abundant and delicious. The building and grounds are well maintained. The Union Gables B&B is within 3 minutes walking distance to the main park, and 10-15 minutes walking distance of the main street of town. Thank you!


10/2012 Stay

5 on October 17, 2012

Great location, spacious room (Bill-pet friendly), hearty and made to order breakfast, great and informative hosts. Minutes away from the main shopping/commercial area (Broadway-loaded with restaurants), Congress Park, Saratoga Race Track and Casino, Etc. Plan on going again.


Fabulous Stay

5 on July 12, 2012

My husband, and I along with my brother-in-law and sister-in-law stayed here over the 4th of July holiday for two nights. We were so happy with this B&B and the exceptional service. Breakfast by Steve was wonderful and having morning coffee and breakfast on the patio surrounded by truly beautiful and immaculate gardens was a rare treat. Tom and Barbara are gracious hosts and their home is perfect for visiting Saratoga Springs. Only one block's walk and we were in the heart of all the action. We will definitely be staying here again.


Lovely Area, Beautiful Home

4.0 on January 03, 2012

My wife and I used this B&B on a whim and it turned out to be a fabulous time. The area was beautiful (if you love historic homes) and had great downtown shopping. If you're looking to get away from the hustle and bustle Saratoga and Union Gables are a must!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the lovely review in January. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Saratoga Springs and at Union Gables in December. Bed & Breakfast keeps your name and information confidential but we hope to see you again very soon! Best wishes, Tom and Barbara

- Tom and Barbara Fox (Innkeepers/Owners)


Short stay

4.0 on September 01, 2011

We only stayed one night, which does'n provide much basis for reviewing service and dining. However we were very pleased with the spaciousness and location of the room. The viw from the third floor turret was very good. We would certainly stay again, perhaps longer though.


B & B at its' best!!!

4.0 on July 20, 2011

This B&B was absolutely breathtaking! Innkeepers were wonderful, like old friends we hadn't seen for awhile!! We truly enjoyed the wraparound porch and all of the beautiful landscaping!! Breaksfast was "off the hook"!! We cannot wait to go back! So much to see and do!


Union Gables

Details

  • Nightly Rate $165 - $485
  • Reviews (35) 4.7
  • Rooms 10
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-518-584-1558

Visit Website »

View details

Top check