Enfield Manor Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Onsite Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
37 Reviews

Write A Review

Perfect Place with Perfect People

5 on November 27, 2017

My husband and I went away for a quick weekend getaway to Ithaca and we stumbled across the best place. Inez and Tom, owns of the Enfield Manor B&B, were including kind and accommodating to now only us, but also our six-year-old chocolate lab. Our stay at the Mallord Cottage had beautiful views to the east creating a beautiful sunrise in one direction and a gorgeous sunset in the other direction. The bed was very comfortable and we even had a tv to connect our computer to. The cottage was cozy and intimate and was perfect for us. Our morning breakfast was the perfect selection of morning goodies. We definitely will be visiting again. Thank you!


Very Enjoyable Stay

5 on October 27, 2017

My wife found Enfield Manor when we were looking for a place to stay near Ithaca. We could not have been happier. We stayed in the Alex Haley Room. Inez and Tom are great hosts and genuinely interesting and pleasant people. We loved the dogs. The location was ideal for us as it offered a quiet setting just outside of Ithaca. We took advantage of the great October weather and hiked in Robert H. Treman State Park (about a mile away). Inez and Tom had good recommendations on another park, Taughannock Falls, and other local attractions.


A wonderful bed and breaking the Finger Lakes

5 on October 12, 2017

From arrival time until our departure, Inez and Tom made us feel at home in their lovely home. We had the privilege to stay in the Harriet Tubman room which had a spectacular view of Ithaca and a private bath. The breakfast was delicious and filling with several options to choose from. We highly recommend their hospitality! It was a great location to stop during our recent visit to Watkins Glen and the Finger Lakes region.


Graduation Memories

5 on October 08, 2017

We hosted our family for our daughter's college graduation in May, 2017. We rented out the entire Inn for our family. Guests were aged 11-80 and everyone had a wonderful time. The kids played in the beautiful ,open spaces while the adults enjoyed wine on the covered patio in the back yard. The community spaces made for a wonderful area to congregate and enjoy each other's company while folks could enjoy their privacy in their specific rooms. The entire home met my very high standards of cleanliness and preparedness. Inez and Tom have the ability to anticipate your every need. Our guests described the graduation dinner at the house as a "magical night". Amazing family memories were made!


Beautiful and Welcoming

5 on October 05, 2017

My mother and I stayed at Enfield Manor and found the hosts, Inez and Tom, to be above and beyond the call of hospitality and assistance before we even arrived. The rooms are very charming, extremely comfortable, and sparkling clean. The views are spectacular, the air is wonderful, and both Tom and Inez are remarkable in their commitment to Nature, their guests, and the joy of life. We hope to return again one day soon and wish everyone who stays there a very happy and restorative experience. It is an unusually beautiful Bed and Breakfast. Terry Heller and Bonnie Calder, New York, NY


Wonderful Farmhouse B&B

5 on August 24, 2017

Enfield Manor is perfectly situated to explore the Finger Lakes region; minutes from beautiful state parks and downtown Ethaca. The beautifully restored farmhouse is a relaxing and welcoming place to end and begin your days of exploring the area. The innkeepers, Inez and Tom, were most helpful, accommodating and interesting, sharing information and engaging in conversation. The room was beautifully arranged with very good lighting, seating options, excellent bed and comforters. We had chosen the room with the bath room across the hall way which was spacious, brand new and extremely clean. We very much enjoyed all the breakfast options and appreciated their great effort to run a "green" B&B. We will recommend Enfield Manor to friends and would love to return in the future.


Spacious room in a great location

5 on August 01, 2017

Large, comfortable room, great breakfast. Quiet, rural location, yet close to great state parks and Cornell University. Helpful, welcoming hosts.


A Perfect Getaway in the Country

5 on July 18, 2017

I have stayed at dozens of Bed & Breakfast inns in various parts of the U.S., and the Enfield Manor has to be one of the most warm and welcoming places I have ever experienced. From the moment I first arrived, when I was greeted by the friendly innkeepers, along with their equally friendly Golden Retrievers, I knew that a wonderfully relaxing stay awaited me. The inn is a 170-year-old farmhouse, situated on 15 secluded acres. The house is tastefully decorated with an understated elegance, and everything is kept immaculately clean, both inside and out. I stayed in the Alex Haley suite, which served as my ideal sanctuary for rest and relaxation after my hikes at nearby Robert Treman Park, and after my visits to the city of Ithaca, where I explored a wide variety of shops and restaurants. Every morning I enjoyed a delicious breakfast, served in the inn's dining room or outdoors on the patio. I wholeheartedly recommend this inn to anyone who seeks a relaxing stay in the country, with easy access to the attractions of New York's Finger Lakes region.


Beautiful gardens and views - peaceful setting

5 on July 09, 2017

Our first trip to the Finger Lakes region and we spent a week in Mallard Cottage at Enfield Manor - very clean and cozy cottage just perfect for two people - well-equipped kitchen - great deck overlooking beautiful grounds - gorgeous views. Tom and Inez were terrific hosts - made us feel right at home - made sure we had everything we needed - and offered great ideas for sightseeing. The grounds are beautiful - perennial gardens everywhere - and a pretty water feature that is very relaxing to sit by and listen to the gentle flow of the water as you take in the views. Floyd and Sally are two beautiful golden retrievers that are very friendly and loving - they are very fortunate to have the run of this gorgeous property. Enfield Manor was a great location for our "home base" - it is set on a very rural and quiet street away from the hustle and bustle yet in minutes you can be in downtown Ithaca. Robert Treman park is just down the street - Buttermilk Falls, Taughannock, and Watkins Glen are close by - Hammandsport on Lake Keuka is an awesome town to visit as is Skaneateles - and for any baseball lovers you can do a day trip to Cooperstown and the Baseball Hall of Fame which is just over a 2-hour drive and well worth it. We highly recommend Enfield Manor, Mallard Cottage, and Tom and Inez (Floyd and Sally, too!) - thank you for helping to make our Finger Lakes vacation so wonderful!!


Enfield, flowers, birds, views, comfort and serenity.

5 on July 05, 2017

I am pleased and happy to validate the previous positive reviews of this charming, country Bed and Breakfast. Inez and Tom showed genuine interest in our comfort, were attentive listeners and eager to share their knowledge of the area, making recommendations based on our needs. The two mornings we awoke to the sound of birds, found my wife and I well rested on an extremely comfortable mattress. The breakfast menu was given to us the night before so that we could individually choose our preferences. We enjoyed both of our selections. The purpose of our trip was to visit and hike at the Robert H. Treman State Park, less than 5 minutes away and also Watkins Glen State Park, a beautiful 30 minute drive from The Manor through the country. We made sure we spent time in Ithaca which has plenty to see and do for a trip of its own and to relax at The Manor, admiring not only the surroundings but also marveling at the work, care and love Tom and Inez have put into their home and property.


Enfield, flowers, birds, views, comfort and serenity.

5 on July 05, 2017

I am pleased and happy to validate the previous positive reviews of this charming, country Bed and Breakfast. Inez and Tom showed genuine interest in our comfort, were attentive listeners and eager to share their knowledge of the area, making recommendations based on our needs. The two mornings we awoke to the sound of birds, found my wife and I well rested on an extremely comfortable mattress. The breakfast menu was given to us the night before so that we could individually choose our preferences. We enjoyed both of our selections. The purpose of our trip was to visit and hike at the Robert H. Treman State Park, less than 5 minutes away and also Watkins Glen State Park, a beautiful 30 minute drive from The Manor through the country. We made sure we spent time in Ithaca which has plenty to see and do for a trip of its own and to relax at The Manor, admiring not only the surroundings but also marveling at the work, care and love Tom and Inez have put into their home and property.


Relaxing Stay

5 on June 09, 2017

We recently returned from a 3 night stay at Enfield Manor, and thoroughly enjoyed it. They are very centrally located, just a short distance to Ithaca and Watkins Glen, Cayuga and Seneca Wine trails, as well as the State Parks, with plenty of hiking trails and waterfalls. The friendly hosts, Inez and Tom, made it easy to feel at home as soon as we arrived. They work very hard to keep their home immaculate, both inside and out. They are very familiar with the area and gave us great tips on restaurants, wineries, etc. Inez prepared an awesome breakfast every morning, giving us a good start for the days activities. They also have 2 friendly golden retrievers, which were a lot of fun. We would highly recommend Enfield Manor, and look forward to staying there again when we're in the area.


Enfield Manor A Keeper

4.8 on June 07, 2017

We have stayed at numerous B&Bs across the USA and Enfield Manor is easily in our top three, ever. Coming up the country road and turning into the driveway of this beautifully maintained old farmstead made us think “ooh, this could be good”. That first impression was confirmed throughout our stay. Our room was very comfortable and spacious, as was the ensuite bathroom. Inez and Tom are “easy listening” hosts, and their first night recommendation of a “locals” restaurant was excellent. By the second night we opted to bring food back and eat on the outside patio, basking in the utter peace surrounding us. Located less than five miles from Ithaca, we found it easy to go out and back as we saw fit. The breakfast has choices for anyone, well-prepared and Inez’s home-made bread makes 4-star French toast. All in all, we had one of the nicest weekends we’ve ever spent in a B&B and we’ll return.


Quiet, rural setting w/ lovely valley view

5 on April 21, 2017

We had the pleasure of being the first guests of the 2017 season at Enfield Manor; stayed in the Alex Haley room. The room was very comfortable; everything was spotless. Breakfast was made to order & tasted great. Inez & Tom could not have been more accommodating. We'll have to return when warmer weather allows dining on the back patio next to the fish pond - beautiful setting!


A perfect location for Ithaca and Finger Lakes Exploration

4.2 on November 07, 2016

I selected Enfield Manor for its location and a private bath with our room. The bed was comfy and supportive. It is a beautiful old house with gorgeous views all around. At night from our room (Harriet Tubman) we could see the lights of Ithaca and the colleges distant in the horizon. In the morning, we woke to the sunrise. It is a quiet location about 10 or 15 minutes from busy-ness of Ithaca. Tom and Inez are very welcoming and friendly. Tom makes the best omelettes I've had in a while.


Excellent Stay

5 on October 08, 2016

My wife and I stayed over for Labor Day weekend and loved it. I have dietary restrictions and they went out of their way to provide special things for my breakfast. Inez and Tom were both very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. It's very close to Robert H Treman State Park so you can get to Lucifer Falls very quickly. It's not a long drive to get to Ithaca or Watkin's Glen too. The property is beautiful and it's great place to stay!


Mallard Cottage is a gem!

4.8 on August 28, 2016

Just spent a weekend visiting our daughter at Cornell, and stayed again with Tom and Inez at Enfield Manor. Each time we stay, we enjoy more of Tom and Inez's vision, with their lovely grounds growing to include new gardens, walkways, patio with beautiful stone wall and fountain. Mallard Cottage is immaculately clean and absolutely comfortable, light-filled and airy. We arrived to a gloriously starry night, and fell asleep to the sounds of crickets and bullfrogs and gently falling water from their goldfish pond. Morning sported birdsong and a golden sunrise, and spirited greetings from Sally and Floyd, resident Golden Retrievers. Innkeepers Tom and Inez are welcoming and accommodating and friendly, all in the right measure. So glad to have found this gem of a place to stay when visiting Ithaca!

Innkeeper Response
We would like to thanks all our guests who have posted reviews! We are so glad that we can share the beauty that we are surrounded by with you all and feel so moved when we read your enthusiastic comments! We hope to further develop our grounds and surrounding conservation land to make room for more plant and animal species. And we continue to be delighted by the great people who chose to stay with us and are invariably fascinated by the bits and pieces that they share from their lives! We hope to see all of you back some day and don't forget that Mallard Cottage is pet friendly!!

- Inez Vermaas (innkeeper)


How Sweet it was!

5 on August 21, 2016

We traveled for 3 weeks from NYC to Maine and then back home to San Francisco. We stayed in many places, met many people and Enfield Manor was my favorite, I remember many fond details of staying there and hope I can return. Tom and Inez met us outside, offered to help us with our bags and were gracious hosts. We stayed in the Harriet Tubman Suite, which was spacious,with a wonderful bed(so important to me when traveling!), wood floors, had windows open(didn't need air conditioning), crickets at night and so quiet. We were given menus ,enjoyed a sumptuous breakfast on a lovely porch, with sweet music in the background and over looking the beautiful property that Tom and Inez have amazingly maintained. Loved this place!


We will DEFINITELY be Back!!

5 on August 12, 2016

This bed and breakfast is a rare find! Located in a remote, rural setting with spectacular views, this is a keeper! Inez and Tom are amazing and delightful hosts. Their love and care for the property is apparent in every area of the home, inside and out. We especially enjoyed the porch (where we had our breakfast every morning) and the front patio. There was also a back patio that we didn’t use, but breakfast could be served here as well, weather permitting. We stayed in the Harriet Tubman room. The room was amazingly comfortable and the views of the mountains from our king sized bed are missed now that we are back home. The breakfasts were well done with a menu choice that was fun. One of the highest commendations a traveler can give a B&B is that they will be back. This place was amazing. We will definitely be back!!


Last Minute Weekend Getaway

5 on July 24, 2016

On a whim we decided to head north to visit the vegetarian institution, the Moosewood Co-op. Last minute plans with our fur baby can be challenging, but we lucked out when we discovered the Enfield Manor, more specifically Mallard Cottage. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay -the accommodations were perfect, the view fabulous and the host delightful! We packed a lot into a 2 1/2 day stay - waterfalls, wineries, breweries and music, not to mention a wonderful lunch at Moosewood. Inez and Tom guided our itinerary, they were spot on with our interests. We hope to visit again in the not too distant future.


Comfy in the Country

4.0 on June 24, 2016

Gracious and knowledgeable hosts. A quiet country setting but only minutes from the city. Beautiful sunrise views from bedroom window. Comfy beds and generous, delicious breakfasts.


Awesome Location and Great Value

4.6 on June 13, 2016

Lots of great things to say about the stay. The view of Ithaca College is wonderful. The rooms are spacious and clean. The breakfast window is reasonable and the the food choices will most everyone's needs. Location, location, location makes this place special. You can go into Ithaca or Walkins Glen very easily and both places have State parks for hiking, wine/beer for drinking, and shops for shopping. Both Tom and Inez were wonderful Innkeepers and they really made our stay special. They made great recommendations when asked and let us in on the other projects they have in store for their place. Definite thumbs up.


Our weekend at Enfield Manor was wonderful!

4.6 on June 05, 2016

My husband and I just enjoyed a weekend stay with Inez and Tom. The house is lovely, clean and comfortable. It is recently renovated (beautiful tiled bathrooms) and contains interesting decor from the hosts' travels. Tom and Inez are ideal hosts, giving us many good suggestions for hiking, wine tasting and dinner. We hiked at the awesome waterfalls of Robert Treman State Park which is 5 minutes away. Tom makes a great omelet and we ate outside on their brand new patio with a beautiful view of their expansive property. We hope to return soon and possibly stay at their new "private vacation house" on the premises.


Great experience at Enfield Manor

5 on May 24, 2016

Very welcoming and charming atmosphere. The inn is clean and beautiful, makes you want to come back, which I hope we will soon! I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone. The location is ultimate - 10 min away from downtown Ithaca, 5 min away from beautiful falls of Robert Treman State park and 10 min from Taughannock Falls. Thank you Inez and Tom for your hospitality!


Beautiful getaway

4.0 on September 19, 2015

Perfect getaway close to home. Beautiful views wherever you look, wherever you walk. 5 minutes from Tremont State Park. Easy drive to Ithaca and Watkins Glen. The owners are very kind, welcoming, and knowledgable about the area. Perfect hosts.


A Truly Great Stay

5 on September 12, 2015

Inez and Tom are wonderfully friendly hosts and made us feel like family during our 3 night stay. Breakfasts were delicious and varied; artfully presented. The Harriet Tubman suite was extremely well appointed and comfortable. It was quiet, beautiful, and definitely worthy of a return visit.


Great Hotel Alternative

5 on August 16, 2015

We came up to Ithaca for a weekend stay to visit our son. The Harriet Tubman room was spacious with a private bath. Everything was clean and the views are wonderful. Our hosts were friendly; it was like staying at a friend's country house. Breakfast was cooked to order by selecting from a menu in the evening. Only about 5-6 miles from downtown Ithaca and only a mile form Robert Treman Park. We have always stayed at one of the Ithaca hotel chains and overpaid for small outdated rooms with poor service.Never again.


Great stay!!

4.8 on August 11, 2015

Had a great stay here with Tom and Inez, they went out of our way to make us feel welcome. Beautiful views, lots of peace and quiet; convenient to Ithaca, Watkins Glen, the Finger Lakes wineries, and many other parks and sites. Away from the city lights so the stars are amazing. I'll stay there again whenever I'm in the area.


New B&B in Ithaca New York

4.8 on May 31, 2015

Enfield Manor is run by Inez and Tom, a pleasant couple with good eclectic taste in music, especially jazz. The house is an old farm house, recently renovated and incredibly clean; It is located on a quiet back road, but was easy to find. Our room was light and airy and the bed quite comfortable. Breakfast was a great treat and a little unusual in our experience. Most places serve whatever, usually deliciously decadent, dish they are making that morning. But Tom cooks to orders placed the night before. Depending on the season and weather, breakfast can be served in the dining room, on the porch, or on the soon to be completed patio. Interesting items, for an engineer at least, are the solar power system and the toilets with two flush settings.


Another perfect stay!

5 on April 09, 2015

My husband and I have just returned from our third stay at Enfield, and again, were greeted warmly by Tom and Inez (and Golden Retrievers Sally and Floyd...not to be missed!). We felt pampered by their good attention to detail and friendliness in their lovely, immaculate, tastefully decorated home. We love the crisp simplicity and comfort of the Harriet Tubman Room, and the beauty of the tiled bathroom. We had wonderful conversation over a yummy breakfast, with wonderful coffee and teas, and felt free to relax afterward in their comfortable living room while the snow fell outside (yes, in April). What a wonderful, friendly, place! We cannot wait to see what Tom and Inez create as they add to this already special place! How happy we are to have found this gem of a B and B!


A lovely bed and breakfast in Ithaca

5 on January 10, 2015

We just returned from our second stay at Enfield Manor. The home is lovely and the guest rooms are newly remodeled and spotlessly clean. Inez and Tom are very friendly and helpful but will respect your privacy. The location is convenient for sightseeing and visiting the Cornell campus. The next time that we visit Ithaca, we will stay here again!


Outstanding Value near Ithaca

5 on November 10, 2014

Inez and Tom were wonderfully accommodating to our visit. We were coming in late and they called us during the drive to provide alternative directions due to a recent road hazard. The rooms are beautiful, airy and very comfortable. The breakfast was made to order, the coffee was strong and the tea selection was excellent. Inez and Tom are a lovely couple. They are enthusiastic and interested. Tom helped us map out bike ride in the area and then provided a dry spot for our tandem to dry out. Inez was happy to chat about the area and their new bed and breakfast..


A peaceful stay between Watkins Glen & Ithaca

5 on November 02, 2014

My husband and I were looking for simple three night accommodations in the country for a mini honeymoon. We got just that with the very friendly and helpful Inez and Tom at their charming home in Enfield conveniently situated between Ithaca and Watkins Glen Park. Impeccably clean and handsomely furnished, one can tell that this house is well cared for. We particularly appreciated being greeted downstairs with some lovely music every morning and our breakfast of choice (you get to pick from a handful of options). We got to stay in both rooms since the Harriet Tubman suite was not available the first day of our stay. The HT suite was sweet: spacious yet comfy and with a great view, an ensuite and a large comfy bed. For us, this simple accommodation with kind folks was... simply perfect.

Innkeeper Response
Dear R & A. Many thanks for your encouraging review! We have been in operation now for 3 months and have thoroughly enjoyed having people like yourselves stay with us. So many guests arrived as strangers and left as friends! It is giving a new purpose and dimension to our lives and we are glad that we can offer guests a home away from home where they can unwind and enjoy our beautiful surroundings! We will continue to develop the manor; A large new patio/deck area will enable us to offer breakfast outside next year! We wish you all the best and hope that we will meet again some time. Regards, Inez and Tom

- Inez & Tom (innkeeper)


One of the Best Bed and Breakfast Experiences I've had !

5 on August 22, 2014

The Enfield Manor is an exceptional B&B with clean comfortable rooms, a wonderful host, great breakfast and a peaceful scenic setting. My fiancé and I found the Enfield to be one of the most excellently decorated and comfortable places we have stayed in. There were no sagging beds, old bedding, carpeted floors or overabundance of knick-knacks. This B&B was very elegant and lovely as was the hostess Inez. If you are looking for a beautiful and intimate place with character, charm and vibrancy the Enfield is a wonderful stay. The house itself has a swell history, please ask Inez about the rooms and their meaning, she was thoughtful and sincere and it showed in her manner toward guests. My fiancé and I were looking for a place that would offer a great experience and we found it at the Enfield.


Warm Welcome

5 on August 19, 2014

I attended a friend's wedding in the area and had an unforgettable stay at this charming B&B. The owners went the extra mile to make me feel welcome. The location of the property is great for exploring the beautiful surrounding area. The scenic Robert Treman State Park is just down the road from the B&B.


Exceeded our Expentation

5 on August 18, 2014

My Husband and I, had a wedding to attend in Watkins Glen. We wanted a quiet and charming B & B. We chose tne Enfield Manor, for its beauty and location - between Watkins Glen and Ithaca. We could not have been more pleased. We stayed in the Tuman Suite, which was charming, roomy and comfortable. We awoke to spectacular sunrises. The Manor is a beautiful and elegant, restored farmhouse. Inez from Europe, has a keen eye for comfort and luxury. Tom is local, was able to help with travel decisions. The full breakfasts, were scrumptious and plentiful. We are looking forward to our next visit, in the Fall.


An Unexpected Treasure

5 on August 03, 2014

My husband surprised me with a birthday weekend. He presented me with a tandem skydiving gift in the morning and we set off to find our B & B. We had never been there before, but followed our GPS and had no trouble finding it. We wondered if this B & B would meet our expectations since we have stayed at more than 25 different establishment over the years. We like to try new places so this was an adventure traveling out through the winding roads of Wine Country. To our surprise it was a charming old house that had recently been renovated. Everything was immaculate inside and our room was large and comfortable with a gorgeous view of the valley. The innkeepers were so hospitable even sharing a late night glass of wine with us and chatting. The next morning our breakfast was superb and they made it all look so easy chatting with us while fixing and serving breakfast. We were very surprised to learn that we were their FIRST guests, but that was not apparent because they were very professional and at ease. Such a treat to stay with them. You will not be disappointed.


Enfield Manor

Details

  • Nightly Rate $155 - $185
  • Reviews (37) 4.9
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 518-965 3797

Visit Website »

View details

Top check