The Fox and the Grapes Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
47 Reviews

Write A Review

Almost Heaven

4.0 on October 07, 2017

A great place to eat, drink, and have fun. Bud and Kim are excellent hosts and the breakfasts are yummy. We were lucky enough to get the "signature french toast"--delish! during our stay. The common room has a wine refrigerator where you can store your wine at precise temperatures. There is a huge TV, comfortable couches, a table for your snacks (or, weather permitting- on the large deck outside). Everything was neat and clean! Wanted to give 5 stars but site wouldn't allow it for some reason.


Annual trip to The Fox and the Grapes

5 on August 30, 2017

This past week I spent two glorious days at this wonderful bed and breakfast. I return to this location because it is simply the best on the Finger Lakes. I have now tried 3 of the rooms and they all have been tastefully decorated, clean and roomy. The breakfast is always wonderful, this visit we had stuffed French toast with sausage and a granola yogurt parfait with fresh peaches. The facility grounds are immaculate and the host dog Guinness is a joy to romp around with. I will return and highly recommend.

Innkeeper Response
We are so thankful for our loyal guests who inspire us to look for ways to improve upon our services and our property. We look forward to seeing you again!

- Kim Wagner (innkeeper)


Most comfortable beds!

4.6 on October 31, 2016

This is our second time staying at the Fox & the Grapes and the beds in 2 of the rooms have been recently upgraded, and they are so comfortable! Both Kim and Bud were extremely accommodating and we love having the resident dogs (Guiness and Bailey) around the most! Felt like home away from home. Highly recommend this B&B.


Quaint B&B

4.8 on October 24, 2015

Loved the view of the lake and low clouds from our bay window. Very homey atmosphere and a lovely room.


Wonderful Stay in every way!

5 on September 25, 2015

We loved our room with its own balcony.The Innkeepers were very helpful in helping with directions to places of interest and restaurants to eat at. The Deck overlooking Seneca Lake is a wonderful place to eat breakfast,watch sunsets,enjoy wine,and do star watching.Our breakfasts were outstanding and beautifully served.The only thing about the inn we didn't like was having to leave it.Five Stars Inn to us!


Love this B & B!

4.0 on December 10, 2014

Kim and Bud were gracious, fun, accommodating, and great cooks. We felt very welcomed and comfortable. The room "Watson" was lovely. We did think the mattress was a little soft, but that's our preference. Everything was clean and well taken care of. We had home madecookies Friday evening and home made cup cakes Saturday evening. There's a beautiful great room with a wood burning fire place. We will definitely be going back.


Great Weekend

5 on December 10, 2014

We had a great weekend at the Fox and the grapes. When we arrived Friday there were cookies and Hot Chocolate then Saturday night cupcakes. The breakfast were great and the hospitality was great as well.


A Wonderful Fall Weekend in the Finger Lakes

5 on November 03, 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay at The Fox and The Grapes. The room was charming and nicely furnished with antiques. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet. Bud and Kim did a great job with the breakfasts - and you do not go away hungry. We stayed three nights and each night there would be a treat in the dining room. On Saturday night much to my surprise they had baked brownies ( my favorite), hmmmm, were they good. Bud and Kim offered sightseeing recommendations which helped us in planning our day. We felt like we were staying with family who knew the area. We highly recommend staying with Bud and Kim and enjoying your time in the Finger Lakes.


Beautiful B & B

4.0 on October 20, 2014

The Fox and The Grapes is such a lovely place to stay! The owners Kim and Bud were extremely friendly as were their well behaved dogs Guiness and Bailey! Kim's breakfasts were delish!

Innkeeper Response
I'm so happy you like our breakfasts, and more important, that you think our dogs are well behaved. They love people and sometimes are a little overzealous in their method of greeting our guests. Please come back soon.

- Kim Wagner (innkeeper)


Fall Color

4.4 on October 20, 2014

In addition to the above rated areas we enjoyed a glass or two of wine on the deck with its spectacular views of Seneca Lake and the fall colours.

Innkeeper Response
Our deck is one of the most amazing features of our property and is enjoyed by many. We are glad you got a chance to take advantage of it.

- Kim Wagner (innkeeper)


My fall getaway

3.8 on October 19, 2014

This was a Christmas gift from our children. The B&B was a very cozy place to stay. I have to say the breakfast each morning was fabulous! I liked meeting new people and talking with them. Bud and Kim were very accommodating and friendly. I would stay at The Fox and The Grapes again.

Innkeeper Response
We agree that meeting new people is part of the B & B experience. People are just fascinating and we love it when our guests interact with each other. You can never have enough friends.

- Kim Wagner (innkeeper)


Our stay at Fox and Grapes Bed and Breakfast was wonderful.

5 on October 13, 2014

The owners were very welcoming and the rooms were nicely furnished with period pieces. Another lovely thing was the view overlooking Seneca Lake. They have a nice deck on which to sit and enjoy the it. We especially enjoyed the breakfast because they were considerate of our dietary problems and made sure there were things that we could enjoy. Thank you, Bud and Kim.

Innkeeper Response
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return again.

- Kim Wagner (innkeeper)


The Fox and the Grapes

4.4 on October 10, 2014

This was only the 3rd B&B experience we have had and by far the most pleasant one. We chose The Fox and The Grape because of location , but upon arrival we where so warmly welcomed and made to feel at home. The antique furnishings in your room as well as throughout the house where beautiful and creating such a wonderful atmosphere. Yet these pieces where to be used not looked at so it made the experience so much more authentic. The Great Room where was the best large enough to have your own space yet if you wished you could mingle with the other guests. As for the breakfasts , hungry is something you will not go here. The meals not only being delicious but creative not your boring old breakfast here. The owners where helpful and informative about the area as well as friendly and accommodating. Yes because of this positive experience I would consider a Bed & Breakfast again in future travels.

Innkeeper Response
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We love the warmth and positive energy this house exudes and that our guests always feel at home. We look forward to your return visit.

- Kim (innkeeper)


Lovely B&B

4.4 on September 23, 2014

Beautiful scenery with an outstanding view of the sunset from the upper deck! Kim is an excellent cook.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for the great review.

- Kim Wagner (innkeeper)


The fox and grapes

4.6 on September 16, 2014

Beautiful place , gorgeous view

Innkeeper Response
Our view is pretty spectacular. Some guests have said it's the best view of any B & B on the wine trail.

- Kim Wagner (innkeeper)


Wonderful Location!

5 on September 13, 2014

If you enjoy staying at a B&B with a great view and Inn keepers who make you feel like one of the family, then make sure you visit here.

Innkeeper Response
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our never ending goal to make everyone feel like this is their "home away from home".

- Kim (innkeeper)


What an amazing find!

5 on September 07, 2014

The Fox and the Grapes - we spent a two night get away and had a wonderful time. The B&B was lovely, clean and comfortable and our hosts, Kim and Bud were outstanding. Breakfasts were amazing, views from the balcony, spectacular and we loved every minute. So many things in the area to see and do and what a great place to come "home" to each evening. We even saw the resident heron/crane in the pond. Thanks again Kim and Bud for making our time there so great.

Innkeeper Response
I'm glad that Ichabod stopped by for a visit and that our home became your home during your travels. We hope your future travels will include another stop at our B & B.

- Kim Wagner (innkeeper)


cozy, beautiful, great inn keepers to make you feel welcomed!

5 on September 05, 2014

My husband and I spent an evening there for our anniversary and had such a great time we wanted to extend our stay! The home is beautiful and the view of the lake is awesome! Kim and Bud make a delicious breakfast as well! Cannot wait to go back!

Innkeeper Response
We hope you can return soon for a longer stay. We truly enjoy guests such as yourselves that get to take in our amazing views and peaceful setting. We think we have the BEST spot for relaxing and recharging.

- Kim Wagner (innkeeper)


Great Anniversary Getaway

4.0 on September 03, 2014

Kim and Bud were accommodating and welcoming in everyway. Thank you!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for staying with us and we are glad we could share our home with you. Please come back soon!

- Kim (innkeeper)


Most Friendly owners ever !

5 on September 02, 2014

We spent 5 nights at B and B in August. Don't have words to discribe how beautiful it is. Couple who owns this B and B are amazing people. I would recommend this B and B to anyone.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the amazing review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and can't wait for your return visit.

- Kim Wagner (Innkeeper)


“Perfect location, beautiful view, excellent accomodations....”

5 on July 31, 2014

We had a fantastic weekend at the Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast. The location was perfect for access to Watkins Glen, Geneva and the Seneca Wine Trail. Kim and Bud were awesome hosts making sure our weekend was perfect. The room was very nice, the facility quaint and cozy. The view of the lake from the deck was outstanding. Twenty minutes to the Watkins Glen state park (Do not miss this and take your camera!) Minutes to excellent wineries and great restaurants. When we return to the Seneca Lake, we will stay here!

Innkeeper Response
My response to this review can be summed up in one word, "YAY!" I never stop with just one word though, thank you so much for this amazing review and please return soon as we've found even more places to hike around our property that you won't want to miss.

- Kim Wagner (innkeeper)


Wonderful B&B with Seneca Lake View

4.6 on July 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Fox and the Grapes B&B on Thursday, July 10th. The B&B is just beautiful, and the outdoor deck is lovely to sit outside, have a glass of wine and enjoy the view of Seneca Lake. We met the new owners Bud and Kim Wagner - who had just taken over the B&B July 1st! - and they were very friendly and welcoming. We had great weather during our stay, so we were able to enjoy a fabulous breakfast out on the deck and again enjoy the view of Seneca Lake! We definitely recommend this B&B, and we will be staying here again ourselves!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much, we are very happy your stay was pleasant and we look forward to your return.

- Kim Wagner (innkeeper)


feedback

3.8 on July 22, 2014

Overall very nice. You did just take over but a little appointed in breakfast. Thought there would be more options. But beautiful set up overall!

Innkeeper Response
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and am sorry we cannot offer multiple options for breakfast. We're such a small inn and making multiple dishes or cooking to order would be really hard to do. We will consider your suggestion, maybe offering cold cereals, yogurt or instant oatmeal for those who may not like what's on the menu for that day. Thanks for the review.

- Kim Wagner (innkeeper)


Great place to stay!

5 on July 21, 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay while visiting the Finger Lakes Region.

Innkeeper Response
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

- Kim Wagner (innkeeper)


A Charming B & B in the heart of the Finger Lakes wine region

5 on June 24, 2014

What a beautiful charming property in the heart of the Finger lakes wine region! With views of the lake at sunset this place is hard to beat. Our room was loving maintained and the bed was one of those older tall beds. The owner James was so helpful with recommendations and reservations at wineries and restaurants and a driver for the first day (so we could drink without worrying about driving!). James is also a very good cook! Our breakfast each morning was lovely. In terms of location - it was walking distance to Dano's, a delicious German-inspired restaurant. We had a lovely meal the first night and returned the second night to pick up some home-made dips and antipasto to take back to eat on the deck of the B&B as the sun set over the lake. The Stonecat, nearby, was a great option for lunch! A perfect place for a wedding anniversary. Thanks James!


2 nights at The Fox and the Grapes

3.4 on June 23, 2014

Very friendly hosts, plenty of food for breakfast but it's only one main dish plus fruit cups and muffins or cake. I would recommend to call in ahead of time for your breakfast wishes. For the first morning we had a quiche which was very tasty but without ham because a vegetarian requested no meat. The next day we had french toast with and without sausage. The setting is absolute gorgeous, having breakfast at the deck with a view over Seneca Lake. I had to give a dining score because the designer of this webpage insists of eating there if you want to rate it. I did not eat there!!! please disregard the dining rating


Relaxing Get-away

5 on May 14, 2014

Last minute decision to do a quick get-away to the NY Finger Lakes. Fortunately a room was available at our favorite B&B,The Fox and the Grapes on Seneca Lake. As always, comfortable accommodations and fabulous breakfasts...in the heart of wine country...had a great time...


Wonderful B&B near Senaca Lake

5 on November 15, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a nice peaceful get away in the Finger Lakes Region so we can explore some wineries, brewery's and enjoy some peaceful romantic alone time. We chose the Fox and the Grape due to its central location to the various wineries, State Parks by the Falls and restaurants. We were not disappointed. The B&B was clean and charming. The owner, James very nice, friendly and a wealth of information on where to go, and what to do. His "assistant", Lisa is just as wonderful, ask her anything about the area and she will point you in the right direction. Want to sample sweet wines, no problem Lisa knows where to send you, want dry full body reds, no problem for Lisa and she is spot on. Knows where to send you and away from the bus loads that frequent the area on week-ends. Breakfast is made by James who is amazing in the kitchen and when he is busy Blanch is a cracker jack in the kitchen with home made breads and pastries and stomach stuffing entries. You cannot leave on an empty stomach especially if you are going wine tasting. There is a great room for all the guests to mingle and that serves as the TV room. James lets you run the house except for the Private Areas where he resides in the house. There is a big porch overlooking the lake where you sit and marvel at the beauty that is Seneca Lake. If, no make that when my wife and I return to the Finger Lakes I will book the Thaddius Room with the wonderful king bed, private bath and small sitting area. Terrific three nights and thanks to the staff at the Fox and the Grape for a super get away break!


Midweek escape

4.4 on July 07, 2013

The owner of the inn is very friendly, welcoming, and accommodating. We arrived early without any notice and were able to get into our room. Jim was happy to give us suggestions for both dinner and the wineries to check out. He made me a delicious special breakfast to meet my gluten free diet. The view from the deck is beautiful and so relaxing. Would stay again.


Excellent Place to Stay in the Finger Lakes area

4.6 on June 06, 2013

Fox and Grapes is an excellent B&B to stay in the Finger Lakes area. Very close to several wineries, breweries, etc. Jim & Rose are outstanding hosts and were very accommodating. One person in our group had many food allergies and they made every effort to work w/ her. Breakfast each morning was delicious. Stayed in the Ophelia room. It is their most expensive room, but had a lot of space for us. Had bedroom, own bathroom, big closet, living room, and a sitting room. Was there for a wedding so space for us to sleep and then sprawl out and get ready for wedding. Would definitely recommend this place to stay if in the area.


Awesome Stay

5 on May 21, 2013

We arrived a bit earlier and the Innkeeper wasn't there to greet us. However, we went out for some wine tasting. The innkeeper was apologetic and the rest is good. Gave us an intensive history of the house and how it was built. We all had a good time. I would come back again someday.


Finger Lakes Retreat

4.8 on December 06, 2012

A lovely inn with period furnishings. Warm, comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was gourmet. Our host, Jim, was personable and helpful. Would definitely stay again.


We loved our second stay

5 on September 02, 2012

We were very happy with our second visit to Fox and Grapes. Great deck to enjoy the lake and the other guests.


our first time

4.8 on August 13, 2012

this was our first time at a B&B and it exceeded all our expectations. Jim was a fantastic host and made us feel right at home. I don't think we will ever stay at a hotel or motel ever again. we hope all our experiences with B&Bs will be just as good


Fox and the Grapes

4.4 on February 28, 2012

Awesome place to stay on Seneca Lake with great views!


Fingerlakes B&B

4.0 on October 03, 2011

The rooms were clean and quaint. The view of Seneca lake from the deck was awesome. I reccomend the lake facing rooms as the other rooms are facing the road and the street traffic is load in the morning. This B&B is located close to many wineries but dining close by is very limitied. The staff was excelent at accomidating my food allergies for breakfast and helpful in planning outings.


Our stay

4.4 on September 30, 2011

The place was very well maintained, very clean. Jim is a good cook. My only complaint was the mattress was a little worn. We had breakfast out on the deck over looking Seneca lake and also enjoyed the sunsets


Visit to Finger Lakes

4.4 on September 02, 2011

We loved the B&B and will be staying with them again. It is a very relaxing setting with a terrific view. The owner is very pleasant, and he offers an eye-appealing decor. We will recommend his B&B to others.


Immaculate and Peaceful

4.2 on August 31, 2011

We visit the wine country once a year and always stay in a b&b. We could not have been more pleased with the Fox and Grapes. Beautiful room, well kept, warm greeting, and a sumptuous breakfast. We spent our evening on the deck, watching the sunset and drinking a newly-purchased bottle of wine. Our host, Jim, was friendly, knowledgeable, and a great breakfast chef! Will definitely recommend to others.


A great experience

5 on August 29, 2011

Jim was a great host. The breakfasts were wonderful and the rooms were very nice and the house is well kept. We were looking for a special weekend for my wife's birthday and the Fox and the Grapes helped with that.


Great Weekend!

5 on August 25, 2011

What a beautiful place, reminded me of my home when I was growing up and of my grandmother's as well. The staff was excellent in every way. The room was spacious and so comfortable. The side porch was my husband's favorite spot. He could just sit and relax with no care in the world. I enjoyed the large back deck that looked out over Seneca Lake. Just breath taking. Made new friends and enjoyed and evening of just playing a board game and not being on the computer or in front of the TV. Will definitely recommend this to others and will be back for sure.


A weekend away to a sentimental place....

4.6 on April 13, 2011

We were engaged at the Fox and the Grapes back in March of 2009. What wonderful memories! And returned April 2011. Jim really knows how to make his guest's feel right at home with his hospitality. The place is immaculate and holds gorgeous views of the lake. What hard work and creative talent when you view the "before and after" pictures of when Jim first started giving lots of love to the Inn. Breakfast was delicious and helped to fill our appetites before we ventured out to the wineries. Perfect place to escape from reality!


Valentine's Getaway

4.2 on February 20, 2011

We stayed in the Balcony room for two nights in February as a Valentine's Day getaway. The inn was charming, with lots of history and common space to be used by guests. The room was small but well decorated and comfortable. The bed was also very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and VERY filling which made our stay especially worth the while. The innkeeper Jim was very enthusiastic and friendly as were all the employees we encountered. Would highly recommend!!


Relaxing Victorian Charm

5 on November 16, 2010

We fell in love with The Fox and the Grapes on our first visit to Seneca Lake back in 2005 and we've been returning each year since. Upon arriving, Innkeeper-Jim greets you with a warm welcoming smile. The inn is a quaint victorian setting with a home-like feel. Each room, and we've stayed in them all, has it's own character and charm. Jim's hospitality is only surpassed by his fabulous breakfast creations, and he manages to out-do himself each morning...Centrally located on the east side of Seneca Lake, The Fox and the Grapes B&B is conveniently located near many wineries, a brewery, and excellent restaurants which will give you a flavor of the best that Seneca Lake has to offer. Our only regret is that the more visitors stay with Jim, the less avaliability we have to return...


A great experience!

5 on October 04, 2010

Got married and spent two nights at the Fox & the Grapes, and the experience could not have been better. Both the building and the grounds are emaculate. You wont find anything out of place or unkept. The owner Jim goes out of his way to take care of any needs or interests you have. He even personally called in dinner reservations for us at a nearby restaurant. His cooking and service are also top notch. Take in a beautiful view of Seneca Lake from the massive back deck during breakfast. Quiet, clean, and comfortable - this place will not dissappoint.


Everything and more

5 on November 16, 2008

Our children gave us a gift certificate from B&B.com for our anniversary two years ago which we used at The Fox and the Grapes. From our first communication with Jim to our arrival, stay and exit, everything was as he said it would be. The Inn was beautiful and very well cared for. The service was excellent and the breakfasts were wonderful (accomodating a vegetarian without hesitation). The Fox and the Grapes is the perfect location to tour the finger lake region with winerys and great restaurants. Jim and his staff are the perfect hosts. We would highly recommend this beautiful place any time of the year. It was a bonus that they accept B&B.com gift certificates. We loved our stay and found a winner with The Fox and the Grapes.


Perfect Getaway

5 on October 17, 2007

New to the Finger Lakes we had no idea what to expect or where to go. Jim helped plan our winery tour and give us his recommendations for our dining needs. We enjoyed his hospitality, extremely clean inn, and his fabulous breakfasts. Looking forward to our next visit.


The Fox and the Grapes

Details

  • Nightly Rate $195 - $205
  • Reviews (47) 4.6
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6075827528

Visit Website »

View details

Top check