Spencer Hotel Reviews

Overall
4.0

View details

  • Guest room3.8
  • Service4.6
  • Value3.7
  • Cleanliness4.2
  • Onsite Dining4.0

Score Breakdown based on
23 Reviews

Write A Review

Such a charming B & B

4.6 on April 12, 2017

Beautiful place to stay and so close to the wineries for a day of tastings. Owners and staff are absolutely delightful. The rooms are charming and the onsite accommodations are the best!


Home for Christmas

4.6 on January 01, 2017

Hotel is very homey. Owners were very friendly and made us feel like family with awesome service and tasty home cooked breakfast and meals. Owners do have a dog (Hannah) who is friendly and good with kids.The location is cultural in the arts and music and in the off season a little far away from things (10 - 20 minutes) Our room had a kitchenette that was stocked with plates, silverware and glasses and even salt and pepper.


Charming B&B

4.4 on June 02, 2016

Wonderful hosts and a charming B&B. Very restful!


Lovely get away

4.4 on May 31, 2016

We truly enjoyed the day. It was an unusually chilly day but we found so much to do in the area that the weather did not matter. The hotel is very quaint and we received such a warm welcome. Our breakfast was amazing! We will definitely be back!


Off Season Overnight Stay

2.8 on May 26, 2016

For a one night stay in the off season, the room wasn't as it appeared online. We were a bit disappointed but it turned out to be an interesting and fun experience. The people were wonderful and attentive and we enjoyed the conversations.


Ruined our anniversary, very poor service

1.8 on October 26, 2015

The hotel switched our room without telling us (which was a themed room that we specifically chose as it was my wife's favorite author, C.S. Lewis). Upon arrival, we were moved into a different room that was more than disappointing. It looked nothing like the pictures on the website (aside from the fact that it wasn't the room we had selected). We were told that the top 2 floors of the hotel were closed for the season (although we had booked about 3 months prior). My wife and I had left for a bit to get lunch and continued to talk about our disappointment with the room. We're not rude or confrontational people, so we hadn't said anything initially. We decided that this was not what we paid for and that we were going to go back and talk to the manager about a refund. He immediately knew something was wrong and said that he saw the disappointment in our faces when he put us in the alternate room. He agreed with everything that we said and said that the owner makes changes to the rooms sometimes and then he has to deal with unhappy customers. He ultimately said that he could not offer a refund (only a credit for a future stay) and that the owner would have to approve a refund. After several attempts at getting ahold of them afterwards, I went through bedandbreakfast.com to get a resolution. They ended up declining our request and said that we're not allowed to cancel day of. How is it fair that we're not told that our room is changed until we ARRIVE at the hotel, but we were supposed to have cancelled within 7 days of the stay? This felt like a 100% bait and switch and we were completely taken advantage of. Very disappointing and a huge waste of money. This place definitely wouldn't have been worth the $220/night even if we had gotten the room we booked.


Great time

4.6 on September 10, 2015

We had a great time. One thing we did realize, though-the walls are thin. One night, we could hear all the sound effects of the lovemaking of the couple in the room next to us!!


Wonderful getaway

4.8 on June 04, 2015

We needed a getaway and were delighted to arrive at Chautauqua and the unique B&B at the Spencer Hotel. Very cordial staff, room was creatively decorated - great fun. The breakfast provided was delicious and beautifully presented. We enjoyed our meal with the other guests. We look forward to returning.


Weekend Getaway

3.6 on January 29, 2015

We had a plesant stay at the Spencer Hotel. The accommodations were wonderful. Dick and Helen were great hosts and the food was exceptional! We will definitely go back!


Had an amazing time.

4.4 on January 15, 2015

The Spencer far exceeded my expectations and the staff could not have been more accommodating. Will definitely stay here again!!!


Very quaint!

4.2 on October 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Spencer after the Institute season, so it was very peaceful. The hotel was quaint and lovely. Chris couldn't have been more accommodating and helpful. I really didn't know that breakfast was included with the room, so that was an added bonus. We loved our stay at the Spencer!


Chatauqua Elegane

4.0 on October 23, 2014

A very sophisticated inn in a very sophisticated community. Just gorgeous.


Spencer Hotel

3.0 on October 18, 2014

Very peaceful in the Fall. Can't imagine summers here. Staff & Owners fun to talk to. Helpful. We were offered an opportunity to join the grape stomping at the Lucille Ball celebration in Jamestown but instead went leaf peeing/wine tasting. Lovely part of the country.


A step back in time.

4.4 on September 02, 2014

We rarely stay at Bed and Breakfasts, but the trip was spontaneous and we loved the relaxed atmosphere that the Spencer provided on short notice. The idea that our suite had 1 and 1/2 baths was wonderful. Having a mini library in the suite made it all the more special. Our thanks to the wonderful staff who treated us like long last relatives.


Whimsical rooms with incredibly attentive staff!

4.4 on July 20, 2014

Stayed the with my wife for a three day visit. Although I arrived very late the first night, was given the cell number of the summer hotel intern, Laura, to contact upon my arrival, who waited up for me and assisted with the late night check in without any complaint or problem! Chris, the GM, was equally vigilant and helpful in negotiating last minute parking details for my niece. The hotel is innovatively designed around literary themed rooms. Beds very comfortable. Bathrooms small, period plumbing, yet adequate. Free wifi was a plus and worked very well. Breakfast was filling albeit predictable. Didn't learn of the elevator until day three of our stay which resulted in my schlepping bags up three flights of stairs til then!! In general, good value and excellent service makes this a winner!


Anniversary stay

3.6 on July 04, 2014

Cost me an additional 122.00 just to get on the grounds to pay 340.00 at the hotel for one night, with no parking. This is a vacation spot for a select group that interest lays in music and the arts not for working blue collar people. The hotel was fine and employes were wonderful and helpful, everything else, food etc. on the grounds is fair at best and overpriced.


Great place in a great place.

4.6 on June 16, 2014

Well located fabulous old hotel with excellent staff made for a great overnight stay. If you like restored historic buildings and the charm of rooms themed to writers this is the place for you. We loved it!


Eclectic Spencer Hotel Offers Unique Space

3.2 on June 06, 2014

Each room at the Spencer is named for an author and reflects the works of that author. I stayed in the Jules Verne room which is decorated like the hot air balloon from Around the World in 80 Days. Breakfast is excellent.


My favorite B&B

5 on May 10, 2014

The Spencer is a class act. The staff was professional, yet warm. Every need or wish we had was met by the staff without them being the least bit obtrusive. The hotel itself is amazing, the rooms are one of a kind! The online pictures do not do them justice. Breakfast was outstanding both in preparation and taste.


A day at Chautauqua

4.2 on June 02, 2012

My wife and I were very impressed with our stay at the Spencer. The staff at the hotel was very cordial and helped answer many questions about the area. We did not expect to have a security guard the night we spent in the hotel but Hanna apparently did her job. Thank you for getting the scooter for me. We could not have toured the grounds without it. One suggestion involves the bathroom. I am somewhat handicapped right now and was not able to get in and out of the bathtub. It would have worked if there had been grab bars around the tub. Thanks for everything.


overnight get away

3.2 on May 30, 2012

Had a quiet, relaxing stay at the Spencer Hotel. Although our room was small, it was nice to be able to sit out on the attached porch at night. The bed was comfortable, and breakfast by Helen the next am was delicious! This was our 1st trip to the Chautauqua Institute grounds, and we will return!


LOVE IT

4.8 on May 04, 2012

Beautiful property in the heart of Chautauqua. Charming room decorated with an "Out of Africa" theme - and we had a nice bottle of wine & cheese tray on arrival. The grounds are gorgeous and the staff was all super super nice! Had a great time & we will be back


weekend getaway

4.2 on October 23, 2008

Loved everything about the hotel and site!


Spencer Hotel

Details

  • Nightly Rate $195 - $364
  • Reviews (23) 4.0
  • Rooms 24
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7163573785

Visit Website »

View details

Top