First Colony Inn Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.0

Score Breakdown based on
14 Reviews

Write A Review

Summer vacation

4.4 on June 15, 2016

My wife talked me in to staying at the First Colony Inn this week. I have never stayed at a bed and breakfast so I am not sure how it compares to others of this type. Here is my thoughts anyway. We stayed in room 327 on the 3rd floor, it's a very old inn, and only has stairs as expected, but it wasn't that bad going up and down. Upon going to the room for the first time we reached the 3rd floor which is a landing more than a hall way, and when we opened the door the room was super clean. We had a view of the ocean which was nice. We never heard the other guest, but we had a storm that was loud from the room. The breakfast was not what I expected, there was a homemade breakfast pie each morning and a typical continental breakfast. I enjoyed the food, but I was expecting something more personal. Breakfast was served from 8 - 9:30, and we had to sit outside on a picnic table one day because of limited seating. There was a social snack of wine and cheese offered at 3pm each day but our schedule didn't allow for us to attend. If there was 2 things that I would like to see improved on before our next visit, it would be tables and chairs outside the back door of the breakfast area, and the wifi service improved, it doesn't reach the pool area, and it is an open network.

OBX paradise

5 on December 14, 2012

Extending a business trip, I traveled alone to the OBX. This was a perfect choice for my relaxing getaway. Loved the quiet atmosphere, wide porch and comfy chairs, quick walk across the dune for morning beach strolls. Perfect spot!

Preservation personified at the First Colony Inn in Nags Head, NC

5 on July 22, 2012

The people who work in the Inn are like old family friends. The rooms are charming, spotless and well-appointed. Delicious breakfast. Nice to have chairs and beach towels provided. There's nothing like sitting on the wide veranda and enjoying the breeze. At night there's a different magic atmosphere. I love this place. If you are beaching it alone there's no place better than here. Sadly the other historic hotels have gone by the wayside. The location is perfect, too, with less congestion than further north.

best vacation ever

4.6 on April 21, 2012

A friend and I came to Nags Head for a famliy member's wedding, being it was also our birthday weekend, we opted to make it a long weekend & see the sites, our stay at the colony was the best choice ever. The staff was great and very helpful with directions and recommendations for places to eat and things to see. We really enjoyed starting the day off with a wonderful breakfast with lots of delicious items to choose from. The porches were a great place to end the day watching the sunset. Would love to return for another visit, the colony will be the first call I make for a place to stay. Will also recommend the colony to all my freinds and family. Thank you again to all the staff for a wonderful vacation.

Our Honeymoon and Anniversary Spot!

5 on February 09, 2012

We stayed at this fabulous Inn on our honeymoon and have been back every year since on our anniversary. We can't say enough about the great staff and service we received, even in the middle of February! We stay in the same room each year and look forward to it immensly. The room was very clean and we felt right at home. Breakfast is always fantastic as well, Love this place! Chester & Alison

best place on the outer banks

4.0 on February 14, 2010

one of THE best places to stay, hospitality, cleanliness all first class.

Perfect for anniversary get-a-ways

4.8 on January 03, 2010

My husband and I have stayed here twice before on our anniversary. I was blown away by the atmosphere. It is truly a retreat and as beautiful as it is online. We will continue to come back.

Great Retreat!

4.4 on October 12, 2009

Great room & breakfast, very friendly staff and extremely relaxed atmosphere - we will definitely come back. Nick Loehr, Germany

Anniversary Weekend March 2009

5 on April 07, 2009

Stayed 2 nights in room 10. Actually our 2nd stay at the Inn and in room 10. Loved everything about First Colony from the courteous staff to the clean equiped rooms. Quiet and quaint but close to all attractions. Keith and Julie - Gloucester, Va.

A Lovely Stay and a Great Value

4.4 on April 02, 2009

We had a love stay at the First Colony last summer. The Inn itself is a charming historic Victorian with wide porches that catch the breeze. The location is perfect - 1 block from the beach and close to all major attractions. Nag's Head itself is much less crowded in the summer than the more popular northern end of the Outer Banks. The rooms were exceptionally clean; the staff was friendly and helpful; and the breakfasts were delicious. We were also happily surprised by the extra amenities such as free beach chairs and umbrellas, free boogie board and passes to the local Y with it's indoor pool, fitness center and child care. We will definitely be visiting here again

Memories Revisited

4.4 on January 18, 2009

Rave reviews for the rooms, cleanliness and amenities. The staff was very helpful and made great suggestions for places to dine. I grew up visiting the Outer Banks and had not been back for years.Wow, has it grown and changed! This was the perfect place to stay and relive those memories. I did not dine at the inn and would have rated it as "not applicable", but since this was not an option I've only rated mediocre.

Not the best...

2.6 on October 18, 2008

Lots of tea in the room, no spoon. Nice towels but not enough of them. Breakfast was for only a half hour!!! Not somewhere I will return.

Innkeeper Response
Breakfast is served each morning from 8AM till 9:30 AM. If you had insufficent towels or lacked the condiment pack then call guest services, ask the housekeeper or stop by the front desk.

The best stay I've ever had!

4.6 on August 13, 2008

We stayed for five days. The amenities were awsome.Umbrellas, beach chairs, and beach towels were a god send. The food was fresh and delicious every day. The room was exceptionally clean. The staff was very helpful and courteous. It was all well worth the cost. The beach was beautiful, soft sand with excellent swimming. There was afternoon Wine, desert, snacks and refreshments. I would definitely return someday ans wel as recommend this inn to both couples and families.

Best Vacation EVER!

5 on January 01, 2008

Words cannot describe the absolute amazing time we had during our stay here over the 4th of July 2007. I felt like I woke up in "grandma's room" each morning. There were plenty of windows, porch swings, beautifully - impeccable - landscaped grounds. It was like you walked into your own personal paradise in the middle of Nags Head. Once you entered their drive, they arranged hedge bushes so perfectly to drown out all outside traffic sounds. The exotic and local flowers hung everywhere were awesome and the entryway to check-in was breathtaking. The beach is a nice short walk along a boardway way. I would stay here over and over again. This was the best vacation both my boyfriend and I have ever had together or separately. Words cannot describe this jewel. It is worth every penny and more! Don't hesitate to stay at this phenomenal tranquil paradise. Breakfast was awesome, too!!!!

First Colony Inn


  • Nightly Rate $89 - $299
  • Reviews (14) 4.5
  • Rooms 26

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8772358650
  • Toll free 1-8772358650

Visit Website »

View details