Gray Wolf Mountain Inn Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
128 Reviews

Write A Review

Home Away From Home

5 on September 19, 2013

I spent a week in Gil and Cindy's wonderful home while taking a class at the John C. Campbell Folk School. If you want a little something different from the normal hotel/motel stay I can highly recommend this wonderful home. They not only welcome you with open arms, they serve the most delicious breakfasts you can imagine.

Great value for the price.

5 on August 27, 2013

I lodged at The Gray Wolf Inn during a weeks attendance at the nearby (walking distance) folk school. Gil and Cindy made my stay most comfortable. They are great cooks and fine company. I will stay here again as soon as I get the chance. Ask them about the wild deer that joined us for breakfast.

Great place

5 on August 13, 2013

We had such a pleasant stay. Cindy and Gil were wonderful hosts, taking care of all our needs and requests. The room was nicely furnished and the bed very comfortable. The food and conversation was a wonderful way to start our days. Too bad we were so busy at John C Campbell, as it would have been fun just chill and take advantage of the peaceful surroundings.

We loved the Gray Wolf Inn

5 on August 01, 2013

The Inn was lovely. Our room, the Moose Room was comfortable and cozy. We enjoyed our stay and the great breakfast (especially the stuffed French toast) which Gil created daily. Relaxing with a glass of wine in the evening sitting around the fire pit as an added benefit. Gil made us feel welcome and part of the family. Thanks and we will be back! Gary and Pat

Hidden Gem

4.8 on June 16, 2013

This was our second visit with Cindy and Gil, the wonderful hosts at Gray Wolf Mountain Inn. Our room this year in June was the "Moose Medley" and last year we stayed in the "Den". Of the two rooms the Den is the most private with its own entrance and in room bath. The Moose Medley has its own private detached bath which is not always convenient for those late night visits. Otherwise, everything about this stay was as wonderful as our last visit. Very accomodating hosts, great food, wonderful conversations and they make you feel like family. Looking forward to our return in 2014 to CIndy and Gil's hideaway. Quiet, relaxing, great value and good times!

Our Stay

4.8 on June 05, 2013

We stayed one week while attending classes at the Campbell Folk School. The breakfasts were excellent and our hosts were very pleasant. Our stay was relaxing although our schedule allowed us only a little more time than for just sleeping. The bed was very comfortable, it was very quiet and very clean. We will stay here again and have recommended it to friends who love visiting the Folk School.

Folk School Trip

5 on May 19, 2013

Spent a week at the Inn while taking a class at the Folk School. My room was comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was made to order and fantastic. Gil and Cindy are great Inn Keepers and were very accomadating during my stay.

Wonderful Weekend

5 on November 08, 2012

This was our second stay with Gil and Cindy and we certainly could not have ask for anything better. It was just wonderful, quiet, clean, great food and anything you could want. We will definately be staying there again. It is also great if you plan to do anything at the Folk School. Cindy makes a great travel guide also, she always directs me on neat places to shop. I would live to be there anytime.

Great value

5 on November 06, 2012

The bed was warm and comfy. Loved the grizzly bear motif in our room. Breakfast was delicious. But what really makes a place special is the people. Gil and Cindy took care of needs we didn't know we had! Wonderful folks. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

Couldn't Ask for More

5 on October 30, 2012

On our recent trip to the John C. Campbell School we were guests of Gil and Cindy's Gray Wolf Mountain Inn. We had the most relaxing and comfortable stay in the Den, a large room with a walk in closet with a counter top, a very large bathroom with 2 sinks and a whirlpool tub. We slept like babies in the king size bed.. Cindy and Gil are excellent cooks and serve a very good breakfast. Their menu is varied and customized for each guest. We highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for lodging in the area.

Peaceful and Relaxing

4.6 on October 24, 2012

Traveling alone, safety is my main concern and I felt completely safe at the Inn. It was easy to find and was close to everything I was doing. The breakfasts were outstanding, Cindy is a great cook and presented the meals in a way that would make Martha Stewart proud! Both Cindy and Gil were gracious hosts, making me feel at home. They also had a good knowledge of the area which was helpful to me.

Great stay. Very comfortable and reasonable rates. Gil and Cindy are wonderful hosts. A great value for what you get.

4.8 on October 22, 2012

We had a wonderful stay there. Thanks

Cozy retreat, and those breakfasts!

4.8 on August 20, 2012

This cozy B&B is situated on a lovely piece of property in the foothills of the Smokies. Yet it is very convenient to Brasstown's small retail community and only a mile from the Campbell Folk School. The breakfasts are some of the best I've had at any B&B, and the room rates are most reasonable. If you are attending the Folk School., I recommend staying at Gray Wolf Mountain and just paying tuition and meals at the school. The hosts, Cindy and Gil, are extremely helpful, and did I mention that they are excellent cooks too?

Cozy and comfortable

5 on July 09, 2012

We loved our 4 night stay in July at Gray Wolf Mountain Inn. Cindy and Gil really have created a home away from home. The Den is great with large bedroom and large bathroom and plenty of closet space with multiple drawers. Their breakfasts are wonderful, and they go out of their way to be very helpful from giving directions to eating establishments to handling luggage. It's a great place with a great hostess and host. Frank and Judy Connell, Thomasville, GA.

A Wonderful Week

5 on June 19, 2012

The Gray Wolf Mountain Inn provided a wonderful place to relax, incredible breakfast and true hospitality. It helped make our week at the John C. Campbell fold School perfect. thank you!!!! to Cindy and Gil

Home away from Home

5 on June 17, 2012

We stayed with Cindy and Gil the first week in June and were extremely happy with our room, the wonderful breakfasts and our hosts. Cindy and Gil shared tips about the area, were entertaining and welcoming and made us feel at home. Our room had it's own entrance off the upstairs porch and the mountain air was wonderful, couldn't believe the firefly's at night, we never see those in Florida! The breakfasts were wonderful, something new and exciting every morning and for the five mornings we were there nothing was repeated. Excellant value, wonderful room, great breakfasts and charming hosts, what more could you ask for. Highly recommend a stay if you enjoy the countryside, a warm retreat away from home, and a couple that make you feel welcome.

America the Beautiful

4.8 on June 13, 2012

We had the best time at Gray Wolf Mountain Inn thanks to the thoughtful Innkeepers Cindy and Gil who were helpful in making suggestions of things to do and see and recommending the best restaurants in the area. They were helpful sharing information about the craft school nearby and we enjoyed the peacefulness of their interesting Inn.

The best Folk School Stay yet.

5 on June 06, 2012

Visited Folk School several times in past. This time staying off campus with Cindy and Gil. What a great way to enjoy the school and some great relaxation after long days at school. Views are great. Inn keppers couldn't be any nicer or do any more to make your stay wonderful. Clean as any high end hotel. Breakfast are an adventure and great. Wine on balcony in the evening. Will repeat this experience. Just super guys. Thanks Cindy and Gil. Carl and Joyce.

A great second date!

5 on June 04, 2012

Gil and Cindy Gieger's Gray Wolf Mountain Inn is a truly peaceful experience. I was meeting my now "Girlfriend" (Yea!) for the second time as she was attending the nearby folk school. The quiet countryside made my long travel from norther Virginia disappear. My hosts welcomed me to their Inn with smiles and and a very hansome room. I was immediately at ease and made to feel at home. Not knowing what to expect from a B&B as this was my first time I was greatly immpressed. Breakfast! Oh my goodness can Gil cook! The meal time was flexible to my needs and my girlfriend though not a guest was welcomed to join me (bonus points for me!). THe food was sooo good. Fresh fruit, bread, omelettes and french toast were the fare the two meals we had and it was awesome! They have a fire pit ready to go for when your ready for it and the scenery is picturesque to say the least. And quiet. Gil and Cindy know the area like the back of their hand and can point you in the direction you need to go and get you back. Your hours are their hours. I can't wait to return! Mark K.

Quiet and Peaceful place

4.6 on May 22, 2012

Enjoyed a very quiet and peaceful weekend at this fabulous B and B.

Peaceful mountain retreat

4.2 on May 14, 2012

The Gray Wolf was warm and welcoming. The hosts are attentive, interesting people without being intrusive and overbearing as sometimes can be the case with hosts. The setting is peaceful, quiet, restful and close to all kinds of activities. Cindy and Gil cooked up some wonderful breakfasts to get your day started. I had a wonderful time. My only complaint would be the configuration of the room I stayed in, it had an extra bed that looked very difficult to get in and out of. And the shower water pressure was extremely light, hard to wash my hair in it.

Relaxing Visit

4.6 on April 23, 2012

Our first stay at the Gray Wolf was wonderful and completely relaxing. Cindy and Gil are wonderful hosts and treated us royally. Their breakfast creations are superb. The quiet of the Brasstown Valley countryside added tremendously the enjoyment of our visit. We look forward to many future visits.

peaceful setting

4.2 on April 11, 2012

Beautiful surroundings and warm, inviting inn. The rooms are lovely and our beds were very comfortable. Cindy and Gil are very welcoming and take good care of their inn and their guests. We walked to the Campbell Folk School from the inn. Breakfast was delicious and we appreciated the homemade banana bread and apple bread that was available throughout the day.

Quiet and secluded

5 on March 15, 2012

If you are looking for a place that's out of the way and cozy, this is it. The proprietors are a friendly, courteous couple who will help you unload your belongings from the car and show you right to your room. Breakfast will taste like it was made by Emeril himself. The rates are very reasonable. Hosts were very personable and friendly and were very knowledgeable about the area. I felt right at home when I stayed here. If you come, be sure to visit the nearby John C. Campbell Folk School. It is well worth the visit.

Great Hosts

4.4 on March 07, 2012

The hosts at this inn really go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Comfortable room but small bath. (In no way a deal breaker.) Outstanding breakfasts. Nice outdoor sitting area.

Relaxation and Fiber Arts - WOW!

5 on February 13, 2012

Visited the week of February 5, 2012 while taking a class at the John C Campbell Folk School. It was wonderful to have an affordable, comfortable place to relax when the day was done. Cindy & Gil made sure that each day started off with an incredible fourmet breakfast. The Grey Wolf offers atmosphere, charm, hospitality, and it is better than a home away from home (you don't have to make your own bed!) Thanks guys - home to be back again!

never had a honeymoon

3.6 on November 17, 2011

Our stay was very pleasant my self or husband had never been to a B&B before. The scenery was beautiful and the host was outstanding. The prices were great very homey.

First time stay at a Bed and Breakfast!

5 on October 30, 2011

The funny thing is that when I booked my room on it does not specifically list it as a bed and breakfast. I was very surprised when I first arrived but at i fell in love at first sight! Cindy greeted me at the door and the lobby/living room area was so inviting I felt right at home. It was one of the most relaxed experiences I have had in a long time. I have to agree with all of the other great reviews they have recieved and I can't think of a single negative thing to say everything was superb!!!

A very pleasant stay.

4.0 on October 28, 2011

Gil and Cindy were very welcoming, friendly, and helpful. The breakfast was great! I felt comfortable and at ease. Everything was clean and decorated as a mountain lodge. I enjoyed the fire pit and the conversation as we sat around the fire.


4.8 on October 28, 2011

Our stay was great! We only stayed one night, would have loved to stayed longer. Kinda felt like home. The Inn was extremely clean and Gil and Cindy were the best!! Will definitely be back! Thanks so much!

anniversary, fall leaves motorcycle ride

4.8 on October 27, 2011

As we traveled from FL to NC we got the message that Gray Wolf Mtn Inn had a vacancy for the weekend that we needed,so we traveled on to Gil and Cindy's inn. We were worried about our trailer, motorcycle, and vehicle taking up too much room, but they have plenty of room and parking was not a problem at all. They were extremely accommodating, and we didn't feel like we were imposing on their space or imposing on others. From the moment Cindy greeted us on the steps we were made to feel at home. The inn is appealing to all the senses; the delicious aromas of candles, coffee, and cooking met us each time we came in the door, the decor is befitting the area, and it is extremely clean and comfortable. We loved the rural location, enjoyed the fire pit, and admired the stars at night. We feel like Gil and Cindy are now our good friends. They were wonderful hosts for the entire weekend, and made all of the guests comfortable with each other. There was nothing disappointing about the entire stay. We will definitely return to Gray Wolf Mountain Inn if we get the chance. Thank you, Cindy and Gil!!

Very Homey

5 on October 26, 2011

I felt like I was at a family reunion even though we'd never met the other guests or the innkeepers before. Very homey environment. Enjoyed the company, bonfires, and breakfasts. It was a very peaceful and relaxing stay.

Great Hosts!!!

4.8 on October 02, 2011

The suite was very roomy, comfortable, clean, and quite. The breakfasts were terrific and the homemade desserts left for us during the day and night to snack on were delicious. Gil and Cindy engaged everyone in conversation off and on all during the stay and was very attentive to everyone's needs. Would definitely go back again.

A Wonderful Stay!!!

5 on August 24, 2011

My husband and I found this little gem when we decided to take a few days, rent a motorcycle and head out to Deals Gap. What a WONDERFUL place. We loved it so much we already have reservation to visit them again next year. Cindy and Gil were great hosts, gave us some great advice on local places to eat for dinner, had wonderful homemade snacks in the evening (even left some out for those midnight snacks) and the breakfasts were wonderful! I recommend this B&B.

Great breakfasts!

5 on August 12, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay with Cindy & Gil during my week at the John C Campbell Folk School. It was very comfortable and it was convenient to the school - 2 minutes away. The breakfasts were excellent!! Cindy & Gil are very accommodating. Great people!

Cozy and comfortable

5 on August 04, 2011

This was one of the most relaxing bed and breakfast inns we have ever stayed at. The innkeepers were so nice and cordial and really made us feel at home. The inn was very clean and the breakfast was great. We would definitely stay again especially since it is so close to the John C. Campbell Folk School.

Our Summer Stay

4.8 on July 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed for one night and was very pleased. This is not your typical bed and breakfast, but you will not be disapointed. The service and food is excellent, and the surroundings are beautiful.

A great get-away

4.6 on June 21, 2011

Fun to be so near John C. Campbell Folkschool ! Close to lots of good restaurants and outdoor activities ! Inn decorated with innkeeper's own art and paintings!

Lovely retreat

5 on April 29, 2011

Cindy and Gil were wonderful hosts. The view was outstanding. The rooms were comfortable and lovely. We had a great time.

Wonderful Suprise

5 on April 14, 2011

A trip to this Inn was a wonderful suprise from my husband for our 9th anniversary. He did not tell me where we were going until we were almost there. The owners Gil and Cindy Geiger were warm and hospitable. The inn was very homey, the fire in the fireplace was comforting and the home baked goods on the counter for snacking were great. The breakfasts were fantastic. Each day was started with fresh fruit and juice also cofee for my husband. The was sparkling grape juice and wine glasses for us when arrived. I thought that was so sweet. The weather, at one point, became very very, stormy and Gil knocked on our door and gave us a flashlight in case the power went out. Cindy and Gil said he would be listening to the weather radio in case the weather got worst we could go down stairs to their house. Their home,, part of the inn is under ground. I felt they were adding a measure of protection for their guests during a time when other couunties were having a tornado watch. My husband and I had a wonderful time the area is very pretty. I wouldn't mind seeing it in the fall. We could celebrate our birthdays. A Suprised Client, Teresa Wood Woodstock, GA

Innkeeper Response
Teresa - it was our great pleasure to have you and Dawson stay with us to celebrate your anniversary. Your comments are very kind and gracious and we would love to have you back in the fall. Let us know when you're coming and we'll try to have something special.

Wonderful Inn

5 on April 10, 2011

Came up for our neice's wedding and made a last minute reservation. The innkeeper was amazing and very accommodating! The room was clean, well decorated and beautiful artwork! Breakfast was delicious and huge. Beautiful place, will return again!

welcoming, lovely and confortable

5 on March 20, 2011

Very pleasant, helpful and afficient service. Lovely and spacious and confortable room. Excellenet brekfast and amenties. Highly recommended

Gray Wolf was just Great

5 on March 07, 2011

This was an excellent B&B with wonderful people running it ( Cindy and Gil ) . It was like being at home with a great gormet breakfast every morning ...They rooms were so clean and with plenty of space to put things . I have stayed at B&B's in Alaska , Hawaii and California and this rates tops...Gene Pagliaro , Lancaster Ca

Wonderful Inn and Innkeepers!

4.4 on March 05, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the Gray Wolf Mountain Inn. Gil and Cindy were so nice and accommodating. The Den Suite was really comfortable and spacious! Thank you for a wonderful stay! Andy & Jen

Great Service, Great Food

4.8 on March 04, 2011

Cindy and Gil provide true hospitality. Our room was made up, towels fluffed and smelled fresh everyday. Good service, comfortable, informative hosts, good conversation, beautiful views, great breakfast. We enjoyed our stay!

Wonderful accomodations!

5 on March 03, 2011

Gil and Cindy make the Inn feel just like home. Our crowd of woodturners felt right at home watching the super bowl and Carolina basketball. Cindy does all the extras and Gil makes sure the fire is perfect. Wonderful breakfast and early morning coffee. Will be back!!! Bill Bolen, Chapel Hill, NC

Great place to stay!

4.8 on February 07, 2011

We enjoyed being pampered before and after a full day of classes at the Folk School. Cindy and Gil are excellent hosts. Breakfast each morning was divine and the home baked goodies were yummy.

A Wonderful Stay!

5 on January 17, 2011

Stayed with Gil & Cindy during Winter Dance Week at nearby JC Campbell Folk School, and had a truly delightful stay. The breakfasts were wonderful and they were perfect hosts. I would highly recommend this Inn!

Very pleasant stay with very hospitable hosts

4.4 on January 09, 2011

Fun, quirky property filled with lots and lots of food. We had a very good time.

Warm, comfortable and friendly.

4.8 on December 11, 2010

Cinnabar Suite was comfortable and private with a nice large bath. Breakfasts were excellent; Gil's omelets are scrumptious! We were glad to have found this B&B and will return.

Pampered weekend

4.6 on December 08, 2010

We attended a class at the folk school but didn't want dorm style sleeping. Gil and Cindy were so attentive. Breakfast's were gourmet (no kidding) and there was homemade "something" out all the time (bread, cookies, etc). Even though we were only there to sleep, we left feeling like we have known the owners for years. We will deffinately stay there again. MM

Great place to stay

4.8 on December 02, 2010

Very convenient to John C Campbell Folk School, five minute drive. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, Cindy & Gil are wonderful hosts and they cook well, too. The breakfasts were very good.

great stay

4.8 on November 08, 2010

very home like, very comfortable, and GREAT meals. Also Cindy and Gill are very friendly folks. I say go and check it out and enjoy. Paul D

Golf Getaway

5 on October 22, 2010

We were greeted warmly with fresh coffee and homemade cookies and banana bread! Our room was the Cinnabar Suite and it was very private which we appreciated. We even had a private entrance from the porch. Our stay was very pleasant and the second night we sat by a nice bonfire and chatted with Cindy and Gil. Breakfasts were delicious and Gil added fresh mushrooms to my omlette because I had had an upset stomach during the night. He told me it was a good remedy for that and he was right! We would stay here again if we ever come up this way again!! I highly recommend a stay to anyone seeking a quiet getaway time.

Great retreat while at John C. Campbell

4.8 on October 08, 2010

We have stayed at Grey Wolf twice while taking classes at John C Campbell Folk School. We enjoy the place, the view, the food, the hosts, and the comfortable bed. We plan to return soon!

My 1st B&B Experience

5 on September 29, 2010

Why did I wait so long to stay at a B&B? I had a wonderful, comfortable, pampered stay at the Gray Wolf Mountain Inn on 9-19-10. The Inn was so warm and inviting and the proprietors were so friendly and caring. My every need was met and I will always appreciate their kindness and attentiveness!! Laughter, conversation and excellent food - Fabulous. Thank you. Barb M., Ohio

Highly recommend Gray Wolf Inn

5 on September 26, 2010

We chose Gray Wolf Inn because we were taking a class at the Folk School and I was concerned that my husband wouldn't be happy staying on campus. Since it was literally only a couple of minutes away, it was very convenient. But we'd never stayed at a B&B and I was a little worried about whether he would have enough "space." That wasn't a problem at Gray Wolf. We were in the Cinnabar Suite so we had our own private entrance. We could socialize as much or as little as we wanted. However, the hosts were wonderful and the guests terrific and hanging out with them every evening on the deck or at the firepit was part of a wonderful week. The breakfasts are huge and delicious and they make every effort to accomodate special requests. The place wasn't fancy but it was immaculate and the decor fit the mountain setting. There is a wonderful mountain view from the deck. If the house next door wasn't there, it would have been postcard perfect. The view from the dining room is of the woods behind the house so breakfast each morning comes with a view, whether indoors or outside. The hosts pipe music out on the deck each evening. The first night I wasn't sure I liked it but it grew on me. They pick very soothing tunes that are played from vinyl so it adds to the charm of the place. We will absolutely be back there next time we are in the area. I highly recommend it.


5 on September 09, 2010

Cindy and Gil prepare every detail to make your comfort foremost. Feel right at home, enjoy conversing with guests, dine on a fine breakfast. All the special touches, breakfast on the deck, wine around an outdoor fire make this an experience I will cherish. Exceptional, thank you.


5 on September 07, 2010

Stayed here while taking a class at the John C Campbell Folk School. The Inn was very close to the school. Cindy and Gil were very friendly and the food was excellent. Every morning was something seriously yummy! And the Inn was kept very clean. Would love to go back just for a visit next time!

Like Home But Better

5 on August 22, 2010

5 stars is reserved for those places where we can't think of anything to suggest to make a place better. It doesn't mean that it is a palatial mansion with servants at your beck and call. But, a B&B is not suppose to be ranked like a resort. That's where some reviewers lose their credibility, in my opinion. This is a HOME in every sense of the word,---comfort, relaxation, & home-cooked excellent food & snacks. Think of the hosts as your relatives and you are set for a visit. No better hosts could be found, anywhere on the globe [we've been around it]. The Cinnabar Suite is very large with comfortable seating and eating area, plus access to the deck with a view. The ensuite bath has large shower and huge jetted tub. Abt one mile from John C. Campbell Folk School, so ideally located for attending classes or visiting the school. Most people return to this B&B over and over. I now know why.

Home away from home

5 on August 19, 2010

We only stayed one night, but it was amazing. Gil and Cindy were VERY hospitable and social. Since we were not from the area, Cindy gave us the lowdown on what to see, and where to eat and even had menus to check out. Visiting in their home was so much better than staying in an impersonal hotel. And the food, AWESOME!! AWESOME!!! AWESOME!! I can't wait to try the recipes online and wait for Cindy to post more. Would definitely stay again if in the area. Joanne and Bob


4.8 on August 06, 2010

Less than a mile from the John C. Campbell Folk School. Nice rooms, very clean, very quiet. Very interesting, friendly couple as hosts. Absolutely excellent, full breakfast. Good restaurants about 6 miles in Murphy. We highly recommend.

Wonderful Getaway!

5 on August 03, 2010

Gil and Cindy were hospitable and professional. They combined the right amount of service and privacy. The breakfast was delicious and the setting is lovely. They are located right outside the John C. Campbell Folk Art School if anyone is looking for a great place to stay. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

We'll be back

4.6 on July 27, 2010

What a lovely place in a great location! Gil and Cindy are wonderful hosts and Brasstown is a fabulous mountain location. We extended our stay because we liked the area so well we decided to look for a home there. Whether you come to hike, relax or attend the John Campbell School, the Grey Wolf is an amazing home away from home in the mountains.

I'll definitely be back!

4.4 on July 24, 2010

Lovely inn in a peaceful setting near the folk school. Cindy and Gil were very accommodating, and breakfast was great. (Note: the county is dry, so pack your libations.)

Sleeping with the Gray Wolf

4.6 on July 19, 2010

Loved our stay here! Comfy bed and great ammenities. Breakfast was always served when we desired it and the hosts were extremely helpfull and warm. thanks so much

Wonderful get away.

4.0 on July 16, 2010

We enjoyed our stay with Cindy and Gil and look forward to the chance to return. Karen and Paul


5 on July 15, 2010

My weekend started with Gil bringing my luggage in and a nice greeting from Cindy! Clean, friendly, great food and such a welcome respite while taking an intensive course at the folk school. I'll be back! Veronica

Jason & Stacy

4.6 on July 14, 2010

We had a wonderful time while staying at the "Gray Wolf". The place was very clean and Gil and Cindy were nice (and good cooks). We went white water rafting locally and if we ever head back that way we will stay again.

Had a great time!

5 on June 24, 2010

Will certainly knock on Gil and Cindy's door the very next time we are in the vicinity. Lovely dining, great food--even left the banana bread out for a midnight snack! Sure felt comfortable. Loved the Boson Locker room with its loft bed. So cute!

Relax With Home Atmosphere

4.8 on April 29, 2010

Cindy and Gil will make you feel comfortable from start to finish. Food is one of their specialties - you'll love each breakfast. Valley view, clear sky, lots of antique shopping, golf, or just sitting!

Gray Wolf Mountain Inn

5 on April 16, 2010

Outstanding accommodation with equally outstanding breakfast. Highly recommend.

Excellent service

3.8 on April 03, 2010

Friendly hosts, excellent service, a great and unusual breakfast, only stayed one night but would return.

Wonderful weekend

3.8 on March 08, 2010

We took a week-end class at the John C. Campbell Folk School and enjoyed staying at the Gray Wolf Mountain Inn for the week-end. We felt like we were staying with friends. The food was excellent and just what we needed to keep us going for our classes.

A Fine Stay

4.4 on February 04, 2010

Gil and Mary are great hosts, ready to explain local events and advise on restaurants - plus delicious, creative breakfasts and comfy room.

Comfortable and Relaxing B&B

5 on January 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for the week while I attended the John C. Campbell Folk School. We stayed in the Cinnabar suite and found it to be very comfortable. Cindy was out of town, but Gil was very accomodating and made us a wonderful 5-star breakfast every morning. We would definitely stay here our next visit and would recommend it to our friends. Tom & Liz - Sorrento, FL

The breakfast in B&B

4.8 on January 25, 2010

Wow, the breakfast was outstanding on my recent stay. Everything was great, but the food, well, it made me feel like I was really on a pampered vacation!

Amazing to stay

5 on January 10, 2010

Before the car door closes you may hear Gil smiling over the rail and saying, "Hi, come on in." It's like going home where the fire crackles, the table is set, and the fresh linens sing. Being awakened by the smell of coffee and bacon just can't be beat. Thanks Gil and Cindy for an amazing stay.

Gray Wolf Mountain Inn

5 on November 13, 2009

This is the first time we have stayed in a B&B. Our room was very comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious, and our host & hostess made our stay a memorable one.

Weekend rest & recreation

4.0 on November 10, 2009

We took a weekend class at the John Campbell Folk School and stayed both nights at the Gray Wolf Inn. The owners were very warm and obliging, and the breakfasts were excellent! This was a perfect complement to the fun class we had almost across the street from the Inn. Highly Recommended!!

Highly Recommended

5 on November 02, 2009

Wonderful stay at Gray Wolf end of October. Breakfasts are delicious and bountiful, fresh pumpkin & poppy seed bread and coffee was available all day. Spacious, attractive room with super mattress, oversize jacuzzi and spacious shower. Owners are warm, caring & responsive.

Great time!

4.2 on October 26, 2009

Gil and Cindy were very hospitable throughout our whole stay. They made sure that all their guests had great places to go (and knew how to get there). Cindy is a wonderful cook who made sure that there was something delicious to snack on at all times. My husband & I enjoyed spending our 2nd anniversary there. Definitely would recommend it! Stacey & Ted Holland


4.0 on October 14, 2009

Excellent choice when visiting JCCFS. Very convenient. Quiet. Innkeepers very personable and accommodating. Will stay again.

Highly Recommended!!!

4.6 on October 11, 2009

The inn is a perfect get away. The breakfast alone is worth the trip. You will not regret your stay at the Gray Wolf Mountain Inn.

Wonderful Experience

5 on October 08, 2009

We stayed at Gray Wolf Mountain Inn for its proximity to The Folk School for their arts & crafts weekend. While at the Inn we spent evenings talking with Cindy, Gil, and the other guests. We felt part of an extended family. Breakfast was served when requested, and was wonderful. Kudos to Cindy & Gil as Innkeepers, and we hope to find an excuse to stay there again!

Fall Getaway

5 on October 08, 2009

We had a great time and appreciate the welcome that we received.

Great Mountain Getaway

5 on August 18, 2009

Gil and Cindy Geiger were fantastic hosts and innkeepers! They were extremely friendly and interesting to talk to. They left no stone unturned to make our stay the best it could be. We thoroughly enjoyed the deck with its pastoral mountain views each morning and evening. The inn was immaculate and our room and bathroom were spotless and well decorated in a Mountain Woods decor. The two breakfasts that were served were sublime. We travel to B&Bs all around the country and Canada and are not easily impressed but these guys do it right! We will definately return. Frankie & Sonny L. Alpharetta GA

Spacious, Clean, Friendly!

4.4 on August 14, 2009

Wonderful weekend stay. Gil & Cindy were warm, friendly. Food was great. Room was spacious, very comfortable and clean! Highly recommend this B&B, especially fo visitors to the John C. Campbell Folf School.

Happy John C Campbell Folk School Student!

4.8 on August 13, 2009

Great attractive accommodations for students of John C Campbell Folk School. Cinnabar Suite was spacious, clean & had large, private bathroom with a whirlpool tub. Great to unwind at the end of the day. Very quiet too! Well rested & Cindy makes a "mean" homemeade syrup with "killer" French toast!

Review of Gray Wolf Mountain Inn

4.6 on August 10, 2009

Gil and Cindy were very accomodating and friendly. The food was wonderful and the atmosphere was very relaxing.

Gray Wolf Mountain Inn

5 on August 04, 2009

Welcoming hosts. Comfortable, clean room. Wonderful breakfasts.

I would definitely go back!

5 on July 08, 2009

I spent one week at the inn during my week at the Folkschool for a book Art workshop. It was a wonderful place to come back to in the evenings, friendly and quiet. Breakfast each morning is superb. Cindy and Gil, thank you.

Two weeks in Heaven

3.8 on July 03, 2009

I spent two weeks, three weekends at the Gray Wolf while working on the new Blacksmith Shop at the Folk School. The room was a wonderful place to rest at the end of each day. The hosts were wonderful and provided for all of my needs during the stay. I plan to stay here again in October.


4.0 on June 30, 2009

The innkeepers were wonderful and I particularly enjoyed the evening by the outdoor fireplace!

I Chose Wisely

5 on May 18, 2009

My stay at Gray Wolf made my week at the John C. Campbell Folk School. After hearing comments about the rustic accommodations at the School, I was most happy to be stay at Gray Wolf. I visited the website the first time in Mar, 09 and my husband surprised me by securing the Cinnabar Suite for my while I was at the School. It was perfect and I looked forward to my return each evening. Quiet and tranquil, great views, seating outside in a screened area, could not have been better. Each day started with an excellent breakfast and Cindy made sure I had coffee and a delicious bread to take with me for the morning which my classmates also enjoyed. Would recommend them highly.

Wonderful accommodations and truly good people

5 on May 16, 2009

Our stay was wonderful. The beds are extemely wonderful and the food was very good. Cindy and Gil are truely nice people. We had an emergency that required us to stay longer than we planned. Cindy and Gil were so accommodating and helpful. My Unlce suffered an acute gallbladder attack the night before we were to leave. He had to have surgery. Gil took us to the hospital in the middle of the night and then picked me up again and took me back to the inn inorder for me to get my Unlce's car. I really can't say enough good things about Cindy and Gil.

great getaway

4.8 on October 31, 2008

Welcoming, warm, great rooms, great food, fun location if going to mountains.

A Welcoming Place

4.8 on October 21, 2008

Gray Wolf Mountain Inn is a charming, informal, and altogether home-like retreat. We found our room pleasant, comfortable, and well-appointed, but it was the "personality" of the Inn and its truly excellent hosts that made our experience memorable. Great breakfasts! Candlelit evenings on the deck! Delicious snacks at bedtime! Cindy and Gil went out of their way to accommodate our schedule and needs. Their initiative and creativity in anticipating our likes and dislikes was almost uncanny. Will we stay here again? Of course we will.


4.4 on October 15, 2008

We were registered students at John C. Campbell Folk School but there were no more beds. We couldn't have been happier at the Gray Wolf Mountain Inn.

Great Value!

5 on October 14, 2008

Nice couple. Great breakfast & suite/room. Will definitely be back.

restful and peaceful getaway

4.2 on September 09, 2008

A beautiful place for rest and relaxation. Wonderful mountain getaway with catering hosts. Food, service and comfort was unbeatable.

Gray Wolf Mountain Inn

5 on September 03, 2008

Very accommodating hosts! Marvelous breakfasts!

Excellent experience

4.6 on August 30, 2008

Going sight unseen, this was an excellent experience for 5 nights. My room was very clean and had a very comfortable bed. The breakfasts were exceptional and the porch has a lovely mountain view. It was a great value. The hosts were also friendly and helpful without being intrusive.

B&B Review

5 on August 29, 2008

Excellent B&B, great hosts

We really enjoyed the birds!

4.6 on August 29, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at the Gray Wolf Mountain Inn. Our favorite part was sitting on the porch watching the birds in the wild cherry tree. Good food, comfortable bed - we hope to return.

Gray Wolf Mountain Inn

4.2 on August 28, 2008

Excellent accommodations. Very helpful and friendly.

Grey wolf Inn is great

4.8 on August 20, 2008

Host and hostess provided impecable service. Ecclectric background music with breakfast. Gourmet breakfasts. Friendly and attentive hosts. Substitute hostess (1day) was wondeful, too !

Comfortable and convenient

4.2 on August 20, 2008

The hosts were vory considerate a careful to make sure guests were well cared for and fed. Breakfasts were very good. I am delighted to find a charming alternate to lodging near the folk school.

Gray Wolf Mountain Inn

4.8 on August 11, 2008

Our host were very attentive and prepared great breakfast.

Gray Wolf Mountain Inn

4.8 on August 11, 2008

Everything was great. Cindy and Gil are the perfect hosts.

Wonderful, Relaxing, Delicious

4.0 on July 24, 2008

What a wonderful stay I had at Gray Wolf. The owners were extremely accommodating, the rooms were delightful, and the food was delicious. The surroundings were so peaceful I hated to leave. I highly recommend it for anyone visiting the Brasstown area.


4.4 on July 21, 2008

This B & B was a wonderful alternative to the accomodations at JC Campbell Folk School. Within walking distance, it sits in a lovely, quiet setting. The hosts are very accomodating. And the food was outstanding! Cindy made a new dish for every morning we were there - and we stayed for 9 nights! I'd highly recommend this inn for anyone going to the folk school.

Gray Wolf Mountain Inn

3.6 on July 15, 2008

Found the Inn to be great! Was clean and great food. Innkeeper was very personable.

Pastoral Views

5 on July 14, 2008

I spent six nights with Cndy and Gil at their Inn and would definitely return. You can't ask for more than clean, comfortable rooms, friendly innkeepers, magnificent views, and delicious breakfasts.

Pleasant surprise

4.4 on July 08, 2008

Highly recommend - peaceful, picturesque setting, surrounded by farmlands with big deck for dining & great walking on country pads. Ideal if visiting John C. Campbell Folk School only a mile away.

"No Justice"

4.6 on July 07, 2008

The picture of my room on the internet as well as the service & view were so much better upon my arrival. The pictures just don't do the real thing justice.

very pleasant

4.0 on June 20, 2008

comfortable,clean,attractive,delicious breakfast, beautiful views

wonderful hospitality

5 on June 09, 2008

we felt comfortable and "at home" in this beautiful old house. our hostess was welcoming and very accommodating.

Great stay, good food

4.4 on May 01, 2008

My weekend at the lodge was very warm and welcoming. I arrived late on friday, about 11:00pm, and was met by Gil at the covered parking space. He carried my bag to my lovely room with it's own shower, Boston Locker. Breakfast was great, with my personnal trainer highly approving of the spinich & egg breakfast. Of course, I didn't tell her about the muffins and banana bread in the evening which was also wonderful. My stay was very enjoyable and well worth the money. Many thanks to Cindy & Gil.

Nice Atmosphere and hosts

4.8 on April 13, 2008

I really enjoyed my stay at the lodge. Breakfast was lovely and sometimes served on the patio overlooking the mountains. The grounds are filled with birds and birding there was an extra bonus. I loved being able to visit the Folk School nearby.

Best Value, Convenience to Folk School

5 on February 14, 2008

I stayed at Gray Wolf for 9 days while attending class at the John C. Campbell Folk School. I got the name off the internet, so I wasn't sure what to expect, and was quite pleased. Cindy is a doll, and had freshly baked pumpkin bread ready for me to snake on when I returned late at night from class. The rooms were immaculately clean and pleasantly decorated. Gil kindly offered to help me with my luggage---something not always found at B&B's. I was thrilled to find out that the location was actually walking distance to the school, and a 2 minute car ride. I would definitely stay here again.

Campbell Folk School Get Away

4.4 on November 21, 2007

Great views. Good alternative to staying at the Folk School. Great Value. Very Clean. Gil and Cindy very friendly.

Gray Wolf Mountain Inn

4.6 on November 05, 2007

We were attending a Jeep Jamboree in Murphy, NC, when we stayed at the Gray Wolf Mountain Inn. We were roughing it during our days doing obstacles with our Wrangler. However, our evenings were comfortable, even luxurious. The 3 breakfasts we had were truly superb!!

Very attentive to our needs

5 on November 01, 2007

Friendly & very helpful. Will plan to stay there again!

Gray Wolf Inn

5 on October 19, 2007


Quiet, Peaceful, Beautiful View

4.2 on October 19, 2007

Great hosts, comfortable atmostphere, good food, would definitely go back!

Anniversary Dreams

5 on October 10, 2007

Dreams are what Anniversaries are for, to reminice of times past, both good & bad, & to make new ones & plan for the future. Paul & I choose to spend our 35th Wedding Anniversary in the Beautiful, Mountains of North Carolina. We could not have choosen a more wonderful place than the Gray Wolf Mountain Inn. Our suite more than exceeded our expectations. This place was cleaner than some 5 star hotels we have stayed in & the service was exceptional, cookies in the afternoon, & hot water for tea when I wanted it. The cuisine was incredible, very large portions & outstanding. If you are looking for an out-of-the way place for some peace and quiet, I would highly recommend the Gray Wolf Mountain Inn.

Mental Health Weekend

4.8 on July 14, 2007

Gil and Cindy made my stay very special. Very friendly and makes you feel right at home. I especially loved the time at night sitting on the deck.

Gray Wolf Mountain Inn


  • Nightly Rate $85 - $125
  • Reviews (128) 4.7
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8288371514
  • Mobile 8283713998

Visit Website »

View details