Black Walnut B & B Inn Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
143 Reviews

Write A Review

Great choice

4.8 on May 01, 2018

Awesome breakfast- best pastry outside Paris! Peter& Lori had great advice about visiting Biltmore , local restaurants & sights. We have strongly recommended to our friends


Elegant and friendly in a great location!

5 on April 26, 2018

The location was close enough to walk downtown (just over a mile), but far enough away from the noise of downtown. The location had great opportunities for a morning walk or run...I recommend the Riverside Cemetery for a morning run! Our room was PERFECT! It was beautiful and clean! The breakfast was delicious, but rich...but hey, I was on vacation and kept up my running routine and walked quite a bit downtown. The Owners were visible every morning and very friendly! We will be back for sure!


Perfection in Asheville!

5 on April 21, 2018

My daughter and I spent a wonderful long weekend here. Located in a quiet, historic neighborhood five minutes from downtown, the inn was the ideal place to stay and relax. Peter and Lori are the ultimate hosts— friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. And the breakfasts — amazing!! This was my second stay at The Black Walnut, and it confirmed my initial impressions— this is exactly why I stay in a bed and breakfast while traveling! Truly wonderful—


Fabulous find

5 on March 18, 2018

Don’t miss the opportunity to stay here. Everything about our stay was fabulous. The food was exceptional and delicious. The hosts and staff were welcoming and attentive. The location was great. I appreciated the tips for touring the area and the recommendations for the restaurants were spot on. We will be back.


First timer

4.8 on March 12, 2018

This was our first time to ever stay at a bed and breakfast and we loved it! The food was incredible and the owners were so gracious and spent extra time giving us a detailed tour of their beautiful home! It was a little more expensive than I had anticipated but well worth the experience! Highly recommend!!!


a gorgeous gem in asheville

5 on February 24, 2018

My husband and I (and our puppy) stayed at the inn over presidents day weekend to get away from hectic city living in chicago. The historic home was absolutely stunning and was decorated with the utmost attention to detail and elegant antiques. We arrived around 5pm which was just in time for "afternoon tea" where the hosts had choices of white/red wine and delicious homemade appetizers. Tasty dog treats were left in our room for our puppy too :). Peter & Lori, the homeowners, became immediate friends and provided great stories about the neighborhood and house history and Peter was a better resource for recommendations than any Yelp/Trip Advisor review out there. Anna, a key member of the black walnut team, was incredibly welcoming and ensured that my husband and i had an authentic asheville experience, recommending quite a few fun destinations for us to check out as well. The accommodations were lovely and the morning breakfasts were completely gourmet and you could tell were made from the heart. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast and look forward to returning in a few years when we need another escape out of the busy city.


A Very Good Bed and Breakfast

4.2 on February 19, 2018

My wife and I had a very nice stay at the Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast. Hunter was the primary Chef on Duty for the evening. He tailored the food for my wife - who is vegetarian. His cooking and presentation skills are superb, a chef who demands and achieves excellence. The Chef on Duty in the morning is above average but could use more training to achieve excellence. The waffles were good but not great. The room was most excellent as well as the rest of the facilities. Overall, a very good experience.


Stay

5 on January 25, 2018

Had a delightful time. Enjoyed the breakfast everyday.


Black Walnut B&B is lovely

4.2 on January 08, 2018

We stayed at the Black Walnut Inn for New Year's weekend. We were greeted by one of the staff members, Anna. She was very helpful and friendly. The owners Peter and Lori are very friendly and helpful. Our New Year's Eve plans got cancelled due to inclement weather and Peter made sure we had a reservation at a nearby Italian restaurant and even gave us a ride. We enjoyed the other couples that were staying at the B&B which is always part of the fun. The B&B is withing walking distance of the town of Ashville and is close to the Visitor's Center on the north side of town. We parked there the second day and took the Hop on Hop off trolley to avoid so much walking since it was very cold! This is a nice perk to be so close. I would say it's close to a mile walk, uphill to get to Ashville's downtown. The room itself was nice but since it was so cold outside, and the building is over 100 years old it was a little drafty. We had a space heater which definitely helped. The room was clean and nicely decorated. Oh then there's the food. It was outstanding. We thoroughly enjoyed every meal and the afternoon snacks and beverages are wonderful too. We would return to the Black Walnut Inn, probably in warmer weather.


A wonderful weekday getaway after the holidays

5 on January 08, 2018

A beautiful home with so much history. We looked forward to coming back for afternoon tea each day as well as the delicious breakfast each morning. Can't wait to experience it again in the Spring/Summer!


Perfection in Asheville

5 on December 29, 2017

This is our 5th time to treat ourselves to a fantastic stay at the Black Walnut.Our hosts, Lori and Peter are just the Best we have ever encountered over many years of traveling. The facility is incredible and we have been to 5 of the rooms, each has a personality that warms your soul.


Luxurious and Friendly B and B in Asheville

5 on December 20, 2017

We just returned from celebrating our anniversary and really did not want to leave. We are repeat visitors. So many people we met on our visit this time are repeats. There is a reason; the innkeepers are so great you just want them to join you in the common area. The breakfasts are so lovely, the afternoon tea and appetizers wonderful. Our room so cozy and luxurious. So close to downtown, gorgeous old home, impeccably cared for. All kinds of good ideas given for restaurants and places to visit.


Wonderful visit

5 on December 19, 2017

My husband and I spent two days at Black Walnut along with my brother and sister in law. We had a lovely stay! The rooms were comfortable, clean and beautiful. The food was unbelievably good! Both of the owners were professional chefs/bakers and the breakfasts were over the top of expectations. The owners are charming, both very friendly.. Highly recommend a visit there!


Christmas Birthday

5 on December 18, 2017

Hi All, My husband and I stayed here for my birthday and went to the Biltmore to see the Candlelight Tour. I'm not sure which house I was more impressed with, the Biltmore or the Black Walnut B&B Inn. Pete and Lori were so warm and friendly. The Happy Hour was Happy and The Breakfast was better than a restaurant. Even the room, mattress and pillows were like being at home. Finest of quality. Like sleeping on clouds. Thank you so much for taking such pride in your business and making your travelers travels so special. We will be back! Kindest Regards, Pete & Laurie


Thats why we coming back!

5 on December 18, 2017

Fantastic in all respects. Lori and Peter are incredible hosts and make your stay MEMORABLE!


BEST B&B in Asheville!!

5 on December 05, 2017

We have been trying to stay at this inn for years and they are ALWAYS booked! Firstly it looks FABULOUS online (and it is BETTER in person), plus they are pet friendly So we were thrilled that we could have a long weekend getaway and get the BEST room in the inn--The Magnolia. If was wonderful! Lori and Peter are the CONSUMMATE hosts!. Food FABULOUS equals a 5! Accommodations WONDERFUL equals a 5! and CONGENIALITY/SERVICE beyond a 5! :-D We will def. stay there again! And the LEAST of all is this magnificent house and property that was designed by the Biltmore lead architect and landscape designers! WOW! you must tool around the grounds--every view in the garden, from the dining room bay window, the magnanimous front porch of the in, porch and balconies of the coach house, are uniquely special. This is truly a GEM!! Make this and Asheville a bucket list item if you haven't already - It is well worth it - FANTASTIC!!


The Best B&B Ever

5 on November 26, 2017

I got to spend a weekend here with my wife. It was like a dream. The house is old and beautiful. The Sunshine room is cozy and comfortable. The hosts were so accommodating and fun to chat with. We had such a pleasant weekend. Definitely going back.


First experience at the Black Walnut

5 on November 20, 2017

My wife and I came to the Black Walnut by recommendation of our daughter and son in law. Everything exceed our expectation from the multi course breakfast and treats and wine in the afternoon, to our beautiful Walnut room at the house. The owners, Peter and Lori were wonderful hosts and had many recommendations sites to see and restaurants to dine at. We will definitely be return guests at there house.


Great Getaway Weekend!

5 on November 17, 2017

My husband and I loved BWI! It is quaint, warm and friendly. We stayed in the Ivy Room which was so comfy and cozy. Breakfast was outstanding both mornings and we loved the afternoon tea time for the food and the company. It was so much fun to sit and chat with the owners and meet the other guests. The place looks just like the pictures! We would definitely stay at BWI again! Top notch!


Beautiful stay in Asheville

5 on November 13, 2017

This was our second visit to the Black Walnut Inn. The inn is beautiful, the food is fabulous. The hosts are delightful and always motivated to make your stay in Asheville memorable.


Great Honeymoon Experience

5 on November 06, 2017

We could not have asked for a better honeymoon experience. It was everything we imagined and more. We stayed in the Ivy Garden room. We were also there for Halloween and greatly enjoyed dressing up with the owners and seeing all the trick-or-treaters; this place does Halloween right!


Black Walnut is the place to stay in Asheville

5 on November 02, 2017

Thanks for a great stay at The Black Walnut B&B from 10/26 to 10/29/17 The rooms were perfect, the breakfast and horsedouvers were amazing and the service was exceptional.


Nice Spot in Asheville

4.0 on October 30, 2017

A beautiful if somewhat quirky place to stay. On the plus side are the three course breakfasts, delicious appetizers at Happy Hour, and desserts left on the table for a midnight snack. The husband/wife owners are outgoing - almost to a fault! - and very helpful with local arrangements, such as sightseeing and dinner. They encourage a casual interaction among guests that was quite fun. On the down side, the bed was not too comfy, the price is high and there was no choice for breakfast, which was heavy on the carbs.


Adorable B&B Within Walking Distance to Town

4.0 on October 27, 2017

Peter and Lori were gracious hosts. I loved the complimentary water, wine and soda available (wine and basic finger foods from 5-6 each evening). The first morning's breakfast was amazing... frittata, fruit, croissant. However, the second day was difficult -- very carby. All three courses were bread, including the main course of a waffle. I'm only mentioning in case someone is restricting carbs (like I am). Always like to eat protein in the morning so I wished eggs were available as an alternative. I assume if you mention to Peter or Lori prior to your visit, they will accommodate you. Just wasn't expecting a waffle for breakfast. Otherwise, the rooms are amazing, the property is amazing and we couldn't have been happier. Recommend 100%!


Another enjoyable visit

3.8 on October 23, 2017

Good location, great hosts, super breakfast.


Wonderful stay and Dog Friendly

4.2 on October 20, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, the room was very clean and comfortable. I had my dog with me and he was welcomed as a guest. The neighborhood was captivating to walk around. I would definitely stay again.


Stop enroute NYC and FL

4.6 on October 19, 2017

Terrific inn and innkeepers. Beautiful surroundings and great restaurants nearby. very convenient location near a fun town to visit. Definitely a worthwhile inn if staying in Asheville. Will return.


Lovely stay

5 on October 10, 2017

We truly enjoyed our two night stay at the Black Walnut Inn. Hunter prepared delicious breakfasts, evening appetizers with wine and special chocolate treats on our pillows before bedtime. Peter gave us great suggestions for activities. We visited The Biltmore estate, which we highly recommend, and hiked to the beautiful waterfalls in DuPont state forest. We would definitely stay here again.


A Very Good Bed and Breakfast

4.4 on October 09, 2017

A very good bed and breakfast. The service was above average - could use improvement to achieve excellence. Excellent location - overall a very good place to stay.


Very Nice

4.4 on October 06, 2017

We stayed for 2 nights in the Magnolia Room in the carriage house. It was very nice and the bed just right. The hosts were very pleasant and helpful. They sold tickets to the Biltmore and great advice on the visit and parking. They also provided great advice on dining. Breakfast was yummy both days :) When we return to Asheville we will definitely be staying at the Black Walnut. No complaints.


Amazing stay at this Beautiful B&B

4.8 on September 24, 2017

We had a wonderful stay at Black Walnut. The owners and staff are lovely and the house is incredible. Amazing breakfast and afternoon wine/snacks was an added bonus:)


Wonderful Place to Stay

5 on September 03, 2017

This place was so magical..so beautiful, with a great location..the staff was outstanding and the breakfast was amazing..bring an appetite..


Fantastic, 3 Course Breakfast, one of the finest in the world!

5 on August 31, 2017

It does not get any better, Buckingham palace would not be better! Fantastic place, rooms, location, owners are Fantastic too. Real antique furniture. Did I mention the gourmet breakfast? Baked pears with a mild soft cheese dabbed on top with drizzled amaretto on it too. and that's course one... make your reservations NOW! No where better.


2 nights

5 on August 13, 2017

we enjoy B&Bs and this was among the best. Breakfast was a treat.


Black Walnut B & B Inn - Asheville

4.0 on July 27, 2017

Stayed at The Black Walnut B & B Inn ....ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL IN EVERY WAY ! Beth met us upon our arrival and got us checked in very fast and efficiently. Peter took care of our luggage....Lori provided a fabulous breakfast both mornings we were there. Beth, Peter, and Lori are absolutely the best host/hostesses we have ever experienced. Will be returning soon !


Fun overnight for a couple

3.8 on July 24, 2017

My husband and I came for an overnight stay. The room was attractive and comfortable and had many lovely appointments. Our breakfast was superb!


A Luxurious and Lovely Home in Asheville

4.8 on July 23, 2017

My husband and I recently stayed at the Black Walnut to have a chance to visit with family members who were also staying there. We were treated to all kinds of amenities and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.


Impromptu Asheville visit

5 on July 20, 2017

Room was stunning. We were warmly greeted on our arrival. Breakfast was awesome, beautiful ambiance. Hope to come back again.


Outstanding bed and breakfast!

5 on July 05, 2017

My husband and I have stayed in several B & B's and this was our favorite. The home is beautiful, very clean and they make you feel right at home. Our breakfast each day was so delicious and the hor d'oeuvres in the afternoon were delicious as well. We traveled with our small dog and stayed in the carriage house! We honestly have not seen our dog feel so comfortable anywhere and I believe it's because he also felt welcome. Peter and Lori were so friendly and both have such a great sense of humor. We loved our talks with them. By the time we left we felt like we were leaving friends. Peter even gave us his dinner reservation at his favorite restaurant one night. The inn is within walking distance to restaurants, shops, and the visitor center. We will definitely be back to visit!!


Asheville's best

4.6 on July 05, 2017

We were only there for one evening but really enjoyed our stay. Food, service and owner / staff hospitality was great!


This is true hospitality!

4.2 on July 04, 2017

We stayed for a night at Black Walnut in the dogwood room. I loved the property but this room is kind of small and the fact that there is no door for the bathroom was kind of weird. But that said, everything else was just perfect. When we checked in late at night our keys were waiting with the instructions. There were baked goodies and and water and soft drinks in the refrigerator. The next morning was the best when we had breakfast. The breakfast was so delicious and there were three courses just in the breakfast. Starting with corn muffins and jam followed by fresh strawberries and cream. Which was then followed by the most amazing egg and hash browns and peppers and bacon. There was plenty of tea and coffee and juice. I really loved the china tea pots. I really wish we had stayed longer and had the evening tea as well. Breakfast was even more enjoyable because of the lovely conversation with Peter and another couple from Cincinnati who were celebrating their 26th anniversary. The three of them gave us plenty of tips about places to visit in Asheville. Peter also charted a route for us on the map on the blue ridge parkway. We will definitely be back again to enjoy this lovely place and would pick a different room this time. :)


Wonderful stay

5 on July 01, 2017

Our room was beautiful. Peter and Lori treated us to a gourmet breakfast every morning and wine and snacks every evening. We were thoroughly pampered.


Perfect weekend retreat

5 on June 28, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our 10th anniversary at the Black Walnut Inn. It was absolutely lovely! We were both extremely satisfied and plan to return whenever we can bride my parents to watch the kids again.


Can't wait to come back!!!!

5 on June 17, 2017

Our stay at Black Walnut B&B was beyond our expectations. Beth and Peter were so welcoming and friendly. The food was delicious and I would recommend this place to everyone. I cannot wait to stay here again.


Superb B&B

4.6 on June 04, 2017

Lovely establishment. The breakfast each and every morning was delicious! Room got a little stuffy at night. Truly enjoyed the stay!


Great stay...great owners and staff

3.6 on June 03, 2017

As a bed and breakfast first timer I wasn't sure what to expect. I certainly wasn't disappointed! The home was beautiful, loaded with really interesting decor and full of charm. The room we had was beautifully decorated and the bed was super comfortable! The breakfasts were outstanding, the happy hours nicely done with some tasty wines and snacks and the proprietors and staff very engaging and helpful. It was a really enjoyable stay and the location to town very convenient. I would recommend it for sure!


Very nice property and better inn-keepers

4.2 on May 31, 2017

The area around the property is central but very nice. Don't expect a lot of traffic. Our room was very comfortable and the inn keepers were perhaps the best we have seen in years. They were present and ready to help and please guest.


Anniversary Getaway

5 on May 26, 2017

First off Peter and Lori were the perfect hosts, from the conversations of stories and reviews of places to visit while in town to the wonderful food. The breakfast items are not to be missed and you would be hard pressed to find a better meal with such amazing food and a lovely setting. In the evening after an afternoon of exploring it was nice to come back to the inn and rewind with a social hour of wine or tea and some lovely appetizers before heading back out to dinner. We stayed in the Walnut room which was spacious, warm and inviting. Whether you lounged by the fireplace or on the bed you were able to relax and enjoy the views from the windows. The bath had an excellent view of the back garden. We were able to see most of the rooms due to the length of our stay, all of the rooms were wonderfully furnished. An inn we would book again and recommend.


Perfect combination of relaxation and adventure!

5 on May 16, 2017

The Black Walnut owners and staff made us feel like two of the most special people in the world. Beth made check-in a breeze and took good care of us whenever we needed anything. Breakfast was an amazing three course masterpiece, afternoon tea and wine was done to the 9's with at least 3-4 appetizers and something delicious for dessert. There was water and soda in our room...oh yes, our room! There are two pet friendly rooms separate from the house so we could bring our little Boston Terrier. But, if you don't have a pet with you, you truly would not know they allow pets. Beautiful decor and clean as clean can be! We can't wait to go back! Thanks to Peter, Lori and Beth!


Beautiful Inn, Fabulous Breakfast

4.6 on May 12, 2017

Wonderful rooms, the breakfasts were the best meals we had in Asheville. A little pricey, but great for special occasions or honeymoon. The garden is gorgeous, everyone is very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.


Beautiful retreat

5 on May 11, 2017

Truly lovely Bed and Breakfast with wonderful rooms, ambiance and hospitality. This was a much needed time away and the setting could not have been more perfect. The owners and staff are welcoming and gracious. The home is stunning and in a wonderful neighborhood setting close enough to walk to the downtown area. The gourmet breakfast was delicious and decadent. We will definitely return!


Outstanding Stay

4.0 on May 10, 2017

Recently, we stayed at the Black Walnut Inn. From the moment we walked in the front door, we loved it! We were made to feel like family and afternoon tea with delicious pastries and appetizers were just being served. Morning breakfast was outstanding and Peter helped us by suggesting best ways to navigate the area. The location is great too - walkable to several local restaurants, also recommended. The Inn is so well maintained and the gardens beautiful. Everything about our experience was exceptional.


First time was a charm

4.4 on April 27, 2017

Extremely wonderful first time experience with an attentive and engaging staff. Conveniently located to downtown with wonderful dining options withing walking distance. Alot of repeat guests which speaks for the Inn and the experience. I would certainly return without reservation.


My favorite Asheville getaway

5 on April 27, 2017

Amazing house. Fabulous neighborhood to take walks in. Fantastic food. Love the tea time. Fun guests to mingle with....esepcially on the front porch in the rain. The sheets!


Exceptional

5 on April 24, 2017

We had the pleasure of staying in this beautiful B&B for three days. From the moment we walked in the front door and were warmly greeted by Beth, until we left, we felt like we were family. The owners, Peter and Lori are great hosts. The food was exceptional. The location is great and we walked to dinner at two wonderful nearby restaurants, both recommended by Peter and Beth. Peter was also helpful in giving us tips re things to do and see. We look forward to going back again.


Great place for dog lovers

5 on April 10, 2017

We always travel with our pets when possible and the folks at the Black Walnut make it so easy. They are dog lovers and understand the need to be pet friendly. The cottage rooms are set up for pets with a small pet bed, sheet to cover the people bed, snacks and clean up bags. Peter, Lori and the staff are great, the food and facilities top notch and in a really nice area.. Will we return? Absolutely!!


Road Trip Pals

5 on April 06, 2017

Whoa--what a wonderful find! Best b&b we have ever stayed in! We were friends crossing the country & back, and sure wished we had booked more days at the Black Walnut Inn! Our hosts were SO accomodating, and fun to talk to. The Inn was wonder fully appointed & historic. AND those banana nut pancakes with whipped cream were killer!!! Even our dog wanted to stay forever! Loved every minute! And the bed was heavenly! What more can we say---Wow


I can't say enough good things about the Black Walnut Inn

5 on April 04, 2017

We ventured to Asheville for a four day getaway and luckily booked the Black Walnut Inn. We cannot say enough good things about our stay here. The hosts, Peter and Lori, and the staff were top notch and so incredibly ready to please. Having stayed at other B&B's where the owners were never seen, Peter and Lori went out of their way to make our stay as welcoming as possible. We came to enjoy all the food that Asheville has to offer, but I tell you, nothing can beat the breakfast that we had here each morning. Add in the delicious hors d' oeuvres and wine in the evening and we didn't have to eat much else! The rooms were very clean, well maintained and comfortable. I think my favorite part was sitting on the front porch sipping coffee in the mornings and watching the world go by. We would HIGHLY recommend this B&B to anyone and will definitely be back in the future providing Peter and Lori were still running it.


Best stay in Asheville.. This is a wonderful base for an Asheville visit, in a pleasant residential neighborhood just outside the downtown. Exceptional breakfasts and teas and especially engaging hosts who have lived in Florida and Martha's Vineyard.

4.4 on March 27, 2017

Bill and Deirdre - Massachusetts


Home away from home - Black Walnutt B &B in Asheville

5 on February 13, 2017

The Black Walnut B &B Inn is a beautiful, well-run bed and breakfast in a fabulous location in Asheville. It is within the historic Montford district which makes for great walks and easy access to downtown. Everything about the experience is high quality - the staff (who've been there for years, a good sign), breakfast and tea-time food is amazing and the rooms are beautiful and well cared for. Peter and Lori always make me feel at home when I visit - full of advice on great restaurants and places to go. And lots of funny stories. : - ) You can interact with other guests, or not. It is not forced. It is a very peaceful, relaxing place to be. I highly recommend a visit.


2016 New Year's Eve Weekend Review

5 on January 17, 2017

My fiance' and I stayed at the Black Walnut B&B Inn Dec 30 & 31, 2016 for the New Year's weekend. We couldn't have asked for a better experience, and the proprietors of the Inn (Peter and Lori) were exceptional in all respects! Great food, and had really nice afternoon wine and Hors d'Oeuvres, with Peter and everyone else staying at the Inn. Great social time with everyone. This is a definitely a labor of love for Peter and Lori! Thx for the memories!


Fantastic Bed and Breakfast!

5 on January 16, 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at the Black Walnut Bread and Breakfast! Wonderful ambiance and the breakfast was delicious. Really enjoyed getting together at 5 for the wine and appetizers and chatting with the other guests. We will be going back for another visit to Asheville and will be staying here!


3rd stay at Black Walnut Inn over an 18 year period- gets better

5 on January 10, 2017

Over an 18 year period this was the 3rd anniversary celebration at the BWBB and what a wonderful, peaceful and romantic time we shared in Asheville. The proprietors, Lori and Peter White are exceptional in their field and it shows in every aspect of running the perfect Bed and Breakfast. dw


Great Stay

3.8 on January 07, 2017

The Black Walnut's website caught my eye with pictures of the rooms and food. My expectations were all met. It was a great weekend stay.


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast

5 on January 04, 2017

The Black Walnut B&B is wonderful. Beautiful rooms with fireplaces are so cozy. The breakfast in the morning in fantastic and we loved the afternoon tea/cocktail hour. Appetizers and sweets and wine. Met a lot of nice people during breakfast and in the afternoon. Located close to downtown Asheville. We will stay her again! Great ambiance!


3rd stay at Black Walnut Inn over an 18 year period- gets better

5 on December 30, 2016

Good memories and great owners such as Lori and Peter White make the Inn what it is today. If we couldn't get a reservation at the inn, we weren't even going to Asheville; it's that important to us. The White's know the art of entertaining and making you feel welcome, food is exceptional....DW


Best B&B in Asheville

5 on December 05, 2016

Incredible inn where every detail is thought of. Breakfast and late day snack so yummy.!! This is a very special place.


Excellent B and B the best !!

5 on November 24, 2016

This B&B is the best we have ever stayed in. We have stayed in many. The attention to detail is everywhere. The owners care and it shows. The food was unbelievable and the highest quality and so plentiful. The owners are around and that makes the difference. The innkeeper Beth was great too!! This is 5stars plus plus !!


Comfortable B&B

3.2 on November 21, 2016

Second visit to this comfortable B&B. Nice rooms, nice late afternoon snacks and wine. Wonderful breakfast. Gracious inn keeper.


Great Getaway!

5 on November 14, 2016

This was our first stay at the Black Walnut and we will be going back. What a beautiful B&B. And the service was excellent. Peter gave us great recommendations on dining and excursions. Lori did a fantastic job with breakfast every morning. And Beth went out of her way to make sure my wife had some great gluten free options for wine and hors d'oeuvres every night. Lori did the same for breakfast. We would highly recommend!


I highly recommend!

5 on November 13, 2016

We stayed in the carriage house and it was lovely and just a few steps from the main house for afternoon tea and the morning breakfast. The food service was exceptional and I highly recommended the Black Walnut.


As Always, Wonderful!

5 on October 31, 2016

This is the second time staying at the BWB&B and it is wonderful. Will be staying again next year hopefully. They have some dog-friendly suites that make it perfect for traveling with your dog companions. The owners and personnel make this a welcoming place and the location is unbeatable.


My experience at the Black Walnut made me want to visit more B&Bs. Really lovely.

4.0 on October 26, 2016

Tea was fabulous with wonderful appetizers and wine and conversation!


Brief Getaway!

4.8 on October 25, 2016

This place is very comfortable and clean!! The owners and staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We had very good suggestions for restaurants in the area, including those within walking distance. Sitting on the porch in the evening reminded me of my early days growing up in Philly. The breakfast was outstanding! We will definitely return to the Black Walnut!!!!


50th Anniversary Stay!

5 on October 13, 2016

We booked the Black Walnut to celebrate my parents' 50th wedding anniversary, and it was wonderful! We had three rooms for the six of us, and each one was beautifully decorated. The beds were perfect-from the linens to the mattress to the pillows! Breakfast was a lovely 3-course affair, with delicious coffee and top-notch service. Tea time was the perfect chance to catch up with offer folks at the inn over wine, tea, and delicious sweet and savory snacks. The inn is perfectly situated on a gorgeous lot with stunning old growth trees, and is a short one-mile walk from downtown, making walking possible and ubering cheap! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!


Weekend getaway

4.8 on October 06, 2016

We stayed in the Holly room which was lovely and very comfortable. Peter and Lori (and Linda!) were very welcoming and helpful, planning hikes, places to eat, etc. Breakfast was truly gourmet and gathering at the end of the day for a glass of wine and snacks was a lovely time to get together with other guests and our hosts and talk about the adventures we all had. I would definitely return to Asheville and stay again at the Black Walnut!


12th anniversary getaway

4.8 on October 03, 2016

Beautiful home...Beth was outstanding!


Great weekend getaway.

5 on September 23, 2016

Food and room were both great. Loved the afternoon snacks and drinks.


September Stay

5 on September 22, 2016

We had a wonderful experience here. The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful with recommendations for local activities and places to eat. Great location. The house was quite yet comfortable. Wine and appetizers were served nightly. The little chocolate treat at night with turn down was a nice touch. I thoroughly enjoyed the front porch with coffee in the mornings and wine at night. We will definitely stay here again!


Black Walnut B&B

4.8 on September 08, 2016

We had a wonderful stay at the Black Walnut B&B. I booked a room last minute and it exceeded our expectations. The staff were warm and welcoming, the room was gorgeous, appetizers and drinks a delight, and breakfast exceptional. We visited two local restaurants (within 2 block walking distance) where the food was absolutely terrific. No getting into a car and driving somewhere for dinner after a long day of sightseeing or hiking. It was perfect.


Best bed and breakfast we have ever experienced

5 on September 07, 2016

Extraordinary service on every front -- The breakfasts were the best meals we had in Asheville! Baked goods were out of this world! Superb hospitality and thoughtful extras that make the stay really special. Afternoon wine and snacks was a wonderful way to meet other guests and relax at the end of the day. We can't wait to go back.


Heaven

5 on August 29, 2016

Delightful stay. Can't wait to go back.


Black Walnut B&B - Asheville, NC

4.0 on July 15, 2016

Great stay and amazing Bed and Breakfast!! Breakfast and afternoon happy hour were the best we've ever experienced, Peter and Lori have a gem!!


1st B&B experience

5 on June 15, 2016

So---let me just say that I hope to frequent this place as much as possible. Peter and Lori went out of their way to meet our needs. Not to mention Beth who was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. I can't say enough good things about this place. Please do not hesitate on choosing this B&B. You will not be sorry!! Norvin and Leslie


lovely stay!

4.2 on June 12, 2016

this is a gorgeous property in a fantastic location. the owners were personable and communicative. the breakfasts were amaaaazing and the happy hour a lovely touch. very enjoyable stay, would go again!


One of a kind stay

5 on May 27, 2015

We stayed here for our anniversary and it was the best choice. The setting was romantic, relaxed, and scenic. The owners are very friendly, attentive, knowledgeable about activities in Asheville, and clearly passionate about running the B&B. The breakfast each morning was gourmet (and we are foodies) and the afternoon wine/apps was a unique detail. We will definitely be visiting again and recommending to our friends/family.


Beautiful and Elegant

5 on December 26, 2014

I have had the wonderful pleasure of staying at The Black Walnut Inn many times during my visits to Asheville, NC. Each and every stay has been nothing less than spectacular! From the beautiful décor and elegant accommodations to the incredible breakfast and delicious hors d’oervres served during tea time you will know that you have discovered someplace very special. The owners Peter and Lori along with all of the staff are so welcoming and make you feel right at home. Whenever I am staying at The Black Walnut I never want to leave and always look forward to returning. Each time someone mentions they are visiting Asheville I always recommend The Black Walnut. If you are reading this review I highly encourage you to make the choice to experience this exquisite B&B…you will be delighted! Michelle C. Williams Fuquay-Varina (Raleigh), NC


You'll truly experience the best if you stay here!

5 on November 07, 2014

I'll start off first by saying, it's hard to keep my review under 2000 characters! Originally, my fiancé and I only planned on staying here for one night and immediately stayed for another. We found The Black Walnut through reviews and called for a reservation. Best decision we've ever made. Lori and Peter are such welcoming people! Every morning, they were there to mingle with all of their guests, making sure every person was comfortable and offer recommendations on what to do around town. Not only that, but after Peter had recommended a restaurant to us, he even called the restaurant and got us prime seating at a very busy time. Lori is such a sweetheart and you can truly tell she has such a passion for the inn and that she loves what she does. If only for the hosts alone, I would recommend this place! Luckily, this is just the tip of what The Black Walnut has to offer. We stayed in the Camellia room. The privacy of the room was great and the decor is breath-taking! The pictures truly do not do any justice for the beauty of the entire inn. After a delicious 3-course breakfast, there are evening h'orderves with wine. I have never felt so spoiled in my life with all this food! After a long, fun day around Asheville, it always felt great knowing you'd come back to the room that has already been prepped for bed, with truffles or delicious treat left on the pillow. They also offer great additions, such as cookies and milk at turn-down (much recommended), a picnic basket, and discounted priced tickets for the Biltmore Estate. There is no doubt in my mind that The Black Walnut deserves every single award and kind word spoken about it. Every single time we go to Asheville, you can guarantee that we are calling Lori and Peter up! When you leave, you feel like you're leaving your family. If you want a special experience, unparalleled to anything else, PLEASE stay here! Once you've experienced all that they have to offer, you're never going to want to stay anywhere else.


Excellent B&B!

5 on November 06, 2014

The Black Walnut B&B could not have been more amazing! From the room to the service, it was exceptional. The location was perfect, and the date we stayed (Halloween) was simply amazing, with all the decorations and yummy food that was served! The other guests were very friendly. We met one couple who had been there 4 times ... I can see why. I highly recommend this B&B, and we will be back!


A wonderful way to celebrate any occasion!

5 on August 11, 2014

We spent the weekend for our anniversary. The owners and hostess were amazing, and the house was incredible both in its comfort and historical detail. In addition, the grounds were paradise found! We brought home lovely memories of hospitality and wonderfully prepared and presented food. We hope to return soon.


Wonderful Stay!

5 on July 20, 2014

We visited here for our 20 year anniversary for a few days and it was wonderful! The location to downtown is perfect! The Black Walnut in is beautiful and peaceful! Peter and Lori are wonderful! They went out of their way to make us and our dogs feel welcome! We would love to come back sometime! Perfect place to stay while in Asheville!


Loved our luxurious stay at Black Walnut Inn B&B!

5 on July 06, 2014

What a delightful place! Peter and Lori, our hosts, were welcoming and warm, and their gracious manner made us feel right at home. We are boaters, and Peter regaled us with stories of his own cruising days. We loved the Sunshine Room, from which the comfortable window seat overlooks a perfect jewel of a garden. We arrived just in time for wine and delicious appetizers in good company on the porch, and Beth was so accommodating of our relatively late arrival, making sure we had everything we needed and were comfortably settled in. Next morning, we spent a delightful hour or so in the cool morning air walking through the neighborhood of elegant homes and lovely gardens, followed by a wonderful breakfast in the intimate setting of the Inn's dining room. We felt so wonderfully pampered throughout our stay, and we are definitely coming back. Thank you, Peter and Lori.


Had a wonderfule stay at the Black Walnut

5 on June 29, 2014

My husband and I just got back from spending 3 nights and 4 days in Asheville for our 10 year anniversary. We stayed at the Black Walnut B & B Inn which is beautiful. Peter and Lori do an amazing job running the B & B and you can tell that they really enjoy it. Our room was very clean and room service was great. The breakfast was scrumptious and we enjoyed the afternoon tea along with others staying at the B & B. I definitely recommend a stay at the Black Walnut if you are spending time in Asheville.


omg! pampered & treated like friends

5 on December 24, 2013

Stayed 4 days/nights. Reveled in the fabulous breakfasts in the mornings & tea time with hours devours in the evening. Please order the nightly cookies& milk--so good!!. Enjoyed the morning & evening conversations with peter, Lori, & beth, plus the other guests. Decor is second to none. Hosts suggested activities, eateries, & travel routes. It was very helpful. It was a trip of a lifetime to stay at this wonderful B&B.


amazing: must go

4.2 on August 06, 2013

Just got home last night from the Black Walnut Inn and our trip to Asheville. I had never stayed in a bed and breakfast but from the web site was hopeful that this would be a great experience. It was!! Loved our room, loved our hosts, and we met amazing, wonderful guests. The dining room was beautiful. I especially loved the picture window and the beautiful china and the food, of course. One of the highlights of each day was after noon tea or wine on the fabulous front porch. It turned out to be a gathering of some of the guests.I Plan to return!!


Omg... Can it get any better then the black walnut

5 on July 20, 2013

Each time we stayed here it is been beyond fabulous. Peter and Lori always know where to send us for the best dinner This house is so warm and relaxing The other guest are always a delight to know


Great Getaway!

5 on June 16, 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend here before the birth of our second child. Our room came with its own Christmas tree and garland. The food was delicious and plentiful!


Incredible experience

5 on April 01, 2013

After our second stay at the Black Walnut I couldn't wait to leave a review in the hopes that others out there might be able to experience the joy and comfort that we have during both our weekend getaways in Asheville, NC. From the moment you walk into the beautiful, warm home at the Walnut you know you're someplace special. The service is top notch, the rooms elegant and very clean and the food is just incredible. Daily tea time is such a treat that I wouldn't miss it for anything else. The staff serve great finger snacks and glasses of while while guests get a chance to talk about their journey's and local visits and Peter is usually there as well to make helpful suggestions about surrounding attractions, or just to enjoy the topic of the day with guests. We felt as welcome in the Black Walnut as we would have in any of our family homes and we can't wait to come back. Thank you so much!!!


Wonderful vacation!

5 on March 30, 2013

This inn is absolutely beautiful. The owners are friendly and informative. The breakfasts are fabulous. The only complaint we have is that it will now be impossible to find another inn to match the quality of the Black Walnut Inn! Perfection. We plan a return visit in the near future. Phil and Linda


One of the most beautiful inns in Asheville

5 on September 24, 2012

I return to this inn over and over because of the beauty of the home, the comfort and decor of the rooms, the absolutely wonderful breakfast courses, and the warmth and customer service of the innkeepers. Nothing negative I could possibly dream up to say... fabulous inn!


The Black Walnut Bed & Breakfast Inn

5 on September 06, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Black Walnut. Rooms were perfect -- bed, pillows, feel. Peter, Lori & the entire staff treated us as if we were long time friends -- even meeting for the first time. Highly recommend.


An absolutely beautiful Bed and Breakfast!

5 on July 16, 2012

The room was gorgeous and the breakfasts were phenomenal. The owners, Peter and Lori, were very attentive and committed to making our stay unforgettable. Knowing we were dog lovers who missed our four legged family, they regularly brought their dogs Belle, Sky and Lola around for a visit! :).. We highly recommend the Black Walnut to anyone wanting their expectations exceeded at all levels.


Wonderful place!!

4.8 on March 15, 2012

Such a beautiful cozy house and Peter, Lori, and staff make your stay all the better. This was our first experience with a B&B and needless to say we are hooked. We definitely want to come back and stay again. The Fraioli's Panama City, FL


Perfect Getaway

5 on March 08, 2012

Th e Black Walnut proved to be the perfect getaway for 3 childhood girlfriends to meet for a birthday celebration. Peter, Lori, Ruthie, and the entire staff went above and beyond to make our stay exceptional. The Inn, inside and out, is a must see. The attention to detail is evident everywhere you look. The Black Walnut will meet your every need!


Short Getaway

4.6 on December 02, 2011

Staying at the Black Walnut Inn was a lovely experience. Peter, Lori, and Ruthie were wonderful. Their hospitality and willingness to make our stay a delightful treat. Peter with his knowledge of the area where to eat or places to see. Lori and Ruthie making breakfast a tasteful experience. And those surprise appetizers at five. Umm Umm Good! We did visit the Biltmore - both great places!


Romantic and Relaxing

5 on November 24, 2011

Beautiful Inn!! We had the pleasure of staying in the Ivy Garden suite it was fabulous. Quite possibly the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in while on a vacation. The linens were top notch and the tub was heavenly. We look forward to our next trip to the Black Walnut.


True vacation

5 on October 19, 2011

Most refreshing break from regular life. Our stay was fantastic.Breakfast was wonderful.The owners and staff were amazing.Miss the afternoon tea.Can't wait to visit again .Well worth the trip.


perfect in every way

4.8 on August 01, 2011

The inn offers the perfect blend of elegance, comfort, fun. Outstanding breakfasts and hors d'oeuvres. Service perfect blend of helpful but unobtrusive.


Wonderful Anniversary

4.8 on July 31, 2011

I was torn between Black Walnut and another B & B to spend our wedding anniversary. I'm sooo glad I chose Black Walnut! Peter and Lori were absolutely wonderful innkeepers and so friendly. The evening "treats" and the breakfast each day were absolutely, out-of-this-world, delicious!! I hated we had to leave because I wanted to see what the treats for the evening would be. We will definitely recommend Black Walnut Bed & Breakfast Inn to our friends.


On a Whim, the best experience for a weekend getaway

5 on June 20, 2011

I normally do not write a review, but I cannot help but have to post something wonderful about the Black Walnut Inn. My wife found this place online, and wanted to do something different than the usual get away to a hotel routine. Visually the Inn is stunning with its architecture and landscaping. As you drive into the Inn (parking is a little tight) you are greeted by a water pond and serenity. As you make your way to the large front porch, the owners (Peter and Laurie) welcome you to "tea" and coversation. Peter, a pastry chef, and Laurie have both worked within the bakery area to provide really good appetizers. They invite you into the "family" for your stay. Very well versed for Asheville, they have such great recommendations for adventure or food, if you so choose. Peter is always willing to provide an anicdotal story here and there. Laurie, I found to be so charming and warm in conversation. We had the Walnut Room. We were both surprised at the room size, and how decorated it was to the decor of the Inn. The bed was SO comfortable. We had such privacy to where we could not hear others. Breakfast is a treat in the morning. They have an ecclectic array of progression. One morning a raspberry and cream cheese turnover to fresh fruit to "German" pancakes with Sliced apple and creme fresh. The nexst morning blueberry muffin to baked pear and goat cheese to feta and spinach egg scramble. The residents with us, were friendly and you could not help but have a sense of family. The owners engaging and you cannot help but follow. Reservation already made for 2012. I am going no where else.


Stayed here in 2000, loved it!!!

5 on April 06, 2011

Me and my now hubby stayed here in 2000. I believe there were different owners at the time. But the house is still a beauty and it was a great memory! I would tell anyone that wants to stay at a B&B in Asheville to stay there at the Black Walnut! I hope one day to get back there again! Shannon and Robert Wiehl Alabaster, Alabama


Best Stay Ever

5 on March 14, 2011

Peter, Lori, and Bill made us feel like we were at home. They greeted us when we arrived and made sure we felt welcome. The food couldn't have been any better. I would stay here again and again and not get tired of it. I woke up this morning at home wishing I was at the Black Walnut!


Great stay at the Black Walnut Inn

4.0 on November 21, 2010

Stayed at the Black Walnut inn for an annual girls weekend in Asheville and spent our first weekend at The Black Walnut Inn. We had a fabulous stay with the owners Pete and Lori and their great staff as they provided top class service. The highlights were the afternoon wine/snack hour and the gourmet breakfast included in your stay. The service was first class and was worth every penny. The location is perfect being so close to the downtown shops and there is a great restaurant Nine Lives just down the street that served a great dinner. We already have our weekend booked for next year.


unforgettable

4.0 on November 20, 2010

I just got back from an absolutely wonderful two night stay at the Black Walnut B&B. This was my first experience staying at a B&B and let me say....I will never again stay anywhere else when I visit Asheville! From the second I walked through the door I felt like I was at my home away from home. The bed was very comfy and the huge jacuzzi tub was amazing! Breakfast every morning was to die for!! I have nothing bad to say at all except that I had to leave. I look forward to the day I get to go back though (which will be very soon). ~Danielle, Charlotte, NC


20 year anniversary stay!

5 on November 18, 2010

What a great place. Pure and simply said. Lori and Peter were exceptional with their hospitality and willingness to make our stay there wonderful. We will go back. Lori talked with us over breakfast about all the work they both have put in to the Black Walnut. What a transformation. The Black Walnut B&B is a "must stay" place. The only drawback is the seven hour drive to get there!!!


Honeymoon Heaven

4.8 on September 26, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Black Walnut for part of out honeymoon. We stayed in the beautiful Dogwood Room and fell asleep everynight gazing up at the beautiful ceiling mural. The Room was lovely, decorated beautifully and was very comfortable though a little small (but worth it!). Breakfast every morning was a delight... smiling faces, beautiful tables and AMAZING breakfast made FRESH from Peter and Lori. The wine and cheese in the early evening was always a favorite! The entire Inn is beautifully decorated and maintained and is very much in keeping with the style of the house. Peter and Lori were polite, helpful and had some great stories to share! While the price may be a little high, the value is wonderful. The service and attention to details is worth it. I am so pleased we discovered this gem and we cannot wait to go back and celebrate an anniversary there!! I highly recommend it!!


Great Place to Relax

4.8 on September 24, 2010

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn. Peter and Lori we perfect hosts, we stayed in the Sunshine room which was very comfortable with great linens, and the Breakfast both mornings, was perfect. The house was very well mantained and very clean. It is very close to many shops and resturants. we enjoyed the conversations with Peter and Lori and other guests. I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast to my friends. Tony Justice, Ashland Kentucky


Wonderful Experience

5 on August 17, 2010

The hosts are delightful, helpful and full of wonderful stories. The breakfast is supurb. The walnut room was spacious and felt like home. We will absolutely stay again.


Four glorious days at the Black Walnut B&B

5 on July 26, 2010

WOW! The Innkeepers, Lori and Peter, are so warm and welcoming. Excellent, top notch accommodations. Beautiful decor. The food is incredible and what attention to detail. I wish I could stay forever. The beds are so comfortable, linens, everything is perfect.


Mother/Daughter Getaway

4.4 on July 17, 2010

My 10 year old daughter and I stayed in the Ivy Garden Room with the huge tub. We bathed at least 5 times! Our biggest prerequisite for a room was a jacuzzi tub so we could take baths and talk and laugh together. That tub was worth every penny and we never ran out of hot water! This Inn is an oasis. By this, I mean that it's in a slightly scary neighborhood. Some of the homes on the street have not been renovated and are multi-family homes. Once I was at the Inn I felt safe but I have to say I was really nervous driving up there.


Home away from home

5 on July 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the inn for four nights and had a wonderful experience. It was my husbands first experience at a B&B, and I have to say he absolutely loved it and cannot wait to return! Peter and Lori were wonderful hosts and were always there with answers (and recommendations) to our many questions about Asheville. They never steered us in the wrong direction. Also, the inn was extremely clean and the food was excellent! We will be recommending the inn to everyone we know!


A Must Stay Place

5 on May 23, 2010

All I can say is - fantastic! The rooms, food, inn keepers, grounds; all were beyond our expectations. There are not words that can express the true delight of sitting on the porch for High Tea - with the inn keepers, the guests, fantastic foods and refreshments. When we had to leave, I wanted to go back! Again - fantastic!


Our Anniversary Get Away

5 on May 13, 2010

With one exception (in Spain) we have spent the last several years with Peter & Lori for our Anniversary every June. We tried quite a few B&Bs in Asheville before discovering The Black Walnut. Since staying there, we haven't even considered staying anywhere else in NC. The food is exceptional, Peter & Lori treat us like family, & the house & grounds are gorgeous! We have been there in winter as well & the house decorated for Christmas is a delight! Additionally, the location is perfect for those of us who know Asheville is about WAY more than just the Biltmore. We will be there again this year & can't wait!! Jackie & Bill Palmer


Romantic getaway

5 on May 02, 2010

We traveled across N.C. staying in lovely B&B's and ended our journey at Black Walnut Inn for three nights. What a time we had, rooms were beautifully appointed (no detail was left undone), common areas stunning and the breakfasts to die for. Tea time/cocktail hour was wonderful with great appetizers/desserts. We spent each afternoon having great conversation while making new friends. The stand ins for Lori and Peter during our visit were Meghan and Bobby. They were just as charming as the innkeepers. Black Walnut Inn is a wonderful break from the routine of life. We will be back!


A Week of Southern Hospitality

4.6 on April 20, 2010

We spent a week at the Black Walnut in April for an early spring vacation from the cold of upstate New York. Peter and Lori were great...they asked about our interests and then recommended places to go, things to do, where to eat, and all were right on the mark. Both have great stories to tell of the area and its history. The breakfasts were wonderful, the porch a great place to meet other guests, and the bench by the ponds a quiet escape. Having stayed at B&B's for some 20 years, this place ranks as the best we have experienced.


food for thought

4.6 on January 18, 2010

i have never been on holidays where there was so much great food to enjoy. not only was the food outstanding at the b&b but there are numerous restaurants in ashville with outstanding food at reasonable prices. we never had a bad meal while we were there!! this is a great place to spend your vacation and the b&b was the biggest part of it. lori and peter went out of their way to help us find some of these excellent restaurants and the social interaction with all of the guests was an added touch that one doesn't get at a hotel. we felt so welcome and comfortable.


Awsome anniversary

4.0 on October 14, 2009

We went back in September and had a wonderful time. Peter, Lori and Megan go above and beyond to make your stay wonderful. Breakfast each morning was so good and filling. The house is beautiful and decorated with such taste. Can't wait to go back again. Thanks for making our anniversary one to remember.


Treat yourself to a heavenly experience!

5 on July 17, 2009

My partner and I recently had the extreme pleasure of staying at the Black Walnut B & B. From the moment the first communication came in confirming our reservations to the moment we left, we were treated like royalty! To make it even more special, we were allowed to bring our two dogs with us. The accommodations were spotless! The bed so comfortable I could hardly drag myself out in the mornings, the sheets....soft as cotton balls! Peter and Lori are so warm and hospitable and take extra steps to help their guests feel welcome and comfortable. Not to mention the gourmet breakfasts and afternoon "tea" that featured wonderful goodies and good wine. If you ever get a chance to stay at the Black Walnut....you will always remember it as one of the nicest things you have done for yourself!


Absolutely Superb

4.8 on March 29, 2009

Our late March visit to Ashville was met with three days of rain - however we still had a great time, in large part due to the congeniality of Peter and Lori who helped us figure out where to go and what to do. Their Inn is 'tops'; attentive to every detail, luxurious room accomodations with a breakfast and afternoon tea (excuse me 'wine') you will talk about long after you leave.


Spectacular Honeymoon

5 on January 09, 2009

The warm atmosphere and the greeting of hospitality at the Black Walnut was more than my new wife and I expected. The room is spotless as well as aesthetically pleasing. The jacuzzi tub was of regular use, as well as the in room fireplace and reading nook. Though there are many things to do in Asheville, we found ourselves wanting to stay in the room the majority of our days. The breakfasts were breathtaking, and the afternoon tea and hors d'ouvres were delicious. I recommend the Black Walnut to all who may seem interested! You will NOT regret the decision!


A Lovely Place

4.6 on November 21, 2008

We stayed at the Black Walnut three nights in Nov 2008. We can't say enough about the wonderful hospitality offered to us by the innkeepers, Lori and Peter. They were welcoming, helpful with outing plans and maps, gave excellent advice on dining options and were the most fabulous of chefs/bakers. Our room (one of the carriage house rooms) was spacious, luxurious and well appointed with a fireplace and kitchenette. We enjoyed the early evening hors'douerves and socializing with the other guests. All seemed reluctant to go on to their other dining or evening plans thanks to the warm atmosphere of the inn. Each morning a scrumptous breakfast was served in the most elegant of dining areas, again enhanced by the hospitable atmosphere created by our hosts. To top off our day, there was always a wonderful dessert awaiting when we returned from dinner. If you visit the Black Walnut--go out for dinner, but save dessert for the inn. I would highly recommend this property--you will not be disappointed.


Delicious

5 on July 31, 2008

Innkeepers are very personable and caring. Delicious food. Good wine. Very nice rooms.


An anniversary to remember!

4.6 on July 24, 2008

The owners were so hospitable, you really felt very very "at home". The food was incredible! They are amazing cooks! Also the other guests were very friendly and easy to visit with. The front porch was a wonderful place to sit and relax. The late afternoon food and drinks were a great way to start each evening. The waterfall in the backyard pond was just outside our window which was relaxing. Thank you Peter and Lori for making our anniverary more special with your kindness and beautiful inn!


A Special Place

5 on June 29, 2008

This place is perfect and everything I imagined a bed and breakfast to be. A wonderful mix of elegance and tranquility, the inn is a destination in itself. Peter and Lori as well as Lisbeth were so welcoming and helpful, I felt so at home. The rooms were enchanting and impeccably clean, the beds were like sleeping on a cloud, and the breakfasts were superb! I will definitely come back.


Unique getaway

5 on May 21, 2008

Aside from the fact that the food was superb and plentiful, the rooms immaculate and beautifully decorated, the owners were full of great suggestions, and interesting information. The Inn is well located in a lovely historic district. I've stayed at many B&B's but never have I experienced such professionalism, generosity and kindness to the guests.


The Black Walnut Bed & Breakfast Inn

4.0 on May 09, 2008

Excellent accommodations and service. Friendly hosts, with extensive knowledge of area attractions and dining.


Spoiled

4.6 on May 07, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Black Walnut Inn for a special anniversary. It was wonderful! The food was amazing. The breakfasts were so good and all homemade. Afternoon tea and wine was really nice. The appetizers were always creative and delicious. The wine was really good. And the dessert, well it was incredible. Lori would leave dessert out on the table and I would have another piece later in the evening. Peter and Lori were the friendliest, down-to-earth hosts. The only downside I have is the room that we stayed in did not have a shower. It had a wonderful large bathtub. You could use a hand-held shower head, but you had to sit in the bathtub and it was a little awkward. The room was decorated beautifully, the bed snuggly and comfy and everything very clean.


Exceptional B+B

5 on April 16, 2008

The Black Walnut should not be missed! The hosts were welcoming, fun, and a great resource for Asheville visitors. The Inn's afternoon tea included international wine selections and gourmet hors d'oeurves. For a good night's sleep, request the Holly Room--amazing linens and mattress! A deluxe breakfast is served on china in the lovely dining room. This B+B is a member of the Select Registry.


Elegant and Peaceful

5 on July 03, 2007

The rooms at the Black Walnut were amazing! The Victorian style of the whole house gave the atmosphere a quaint, peaceful feeling. The hosts, Peter and Lori, were very welcoming and friendly. Loved the coy pond and the rocking chairs! The apple waffles for breakfast were fantastic. Will come again!


Wonderful!!

5 on June 29, 2007

It is a lovely bed and breakfast. The accommodations are luxurious. The food is incredible. The innkeepers, Lori and Peter, are wonderful!! We will be back!! Thanks for a great getaway.


FAN-tastic!

5 on June 19, 2007

Great place in a great area. Luxurious accomodations, sumptuous, creative breakfasts, excellent company and an innkeeper who knows what's great in and around town and can steer you in the right direction. What a B&B stay should be.


Tasteful elegance and quality

5 on June 07, 2007

Words can hardly do justice to The Black Walnut Inn, which quite simply represents perfection. It is an elegant house beautifully restored and presented with antiques troughout and our hosts Peter and Lori were attentive and helpful without being intrusive in any way. We had the Holly Room which quite apart from being splendidly appointed had simply the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! Afternoon tea is an understatement for the range of wines and canapes we were offered and in addition to Peter we were fortunate to share the occasion with other charming and interesting guests. I'm not sure if there is a grading system for B&B's but in the hotel world this would surely represent 6 star quality.


Amazing weekend!

5 on January 30, 2007

I had an amazing time at the Black Walnut. My boyfriend took me there for my birthday weekend and it was wonderful! We stayed in the Azalea room that had a wonderful bath tub (no shower) and the only remote control fireplace in the house. Lori, the owner, was so warm and nice. I thought that it would be very intrusive and "in your face," but it really wasnt. I loved her gourmet breakfasts, the afternoon tea (which is really a cocktail hour), and her dining suggestions. She was so knowledgeable and everything about the place was wonderful. We are defnitely going back!!


Black Walnut B & B Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $175 - $395
  • Reviews (143) 4.8
  • Rooms 8
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (828) 254-3878

Visit Website »

View details

Top check