Chimney Hill Estate Inn

207 Goat Hill Road , Lambertville, NJ 08530 USA (Show map)

About

Our rooms are located in the authentic historic field stone estate home and the circa 1940 Post and Beam Barn situated in the middle of 81/2 acres bordered by wooded area and our Alpaca farm. The estate home was hailed by the New York Times as an architectural treasure. Lambertville, dubbed an antique Mecca is situated along the Delaware River across from Bucks County, New Hope-Pa an art Mecca, and home to the historically significant Buck’s County Playhouse. These charming towns have many excellent restaurants and exciting music venues. From Antiquing to Biking, Hiking, Kayaking Winery Touring, Tubing, Dining we have it all this former Designer Showcase and the home of Hollywood actress Kathy French, can serve as your home base as you explore the area or just enjoy the serenity of being away from it all…. Without being very far at all. We offer Special Events including Celebrations from Elopement to small intimate weddings. Minutes away from:Golden Nugget Antique and Flea market, Bucks Country River Country, The Amazing Maze, Delaware kayaking- rafting-river tubing haunted hay rides -horseback riding -hiking - biking- Washington Crossing- Howell Living History Farm- Acme Screen Room - Mitchner Museum- Fonthill Museum- Bowmen's Tower- Pearl Buck House- Bucks County Theater. Restaurants: Manon- Brian's -DeAnna's -Anton's at the Swan

Reviews

Overall
4.3

Write A Review
  • Guest room4.2
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Onsite Dining4.3

Nice Visit

4.8 on February 17, 2017

Check in was Easy. Breakfast was OUTSTANDING. Location was great. Room was clean and nice. the only thing was that you could hear the people upstairs. very squeaky.


FRAUD! Stay as far away as possible!

1.2 on February 09, 2017

When we arrived at the chimney Hill the owner met us and showed us to the room. He did not help us at all with our bags even though I struggled to get them up the stairs. Our fireplace went out and he fixed it so it would stay on the entire time. After about 30 minutes the fireplace goes out again. I contacted him again twice and answered on the 3rd try. He told us to move to our original room, did not meet us to help us with our bags. The fireplace works but the room is a disaster. There's a love seat in the living area has holes in it and the leather was sliced like with a knife. It looked like he picked it up off the street after someone threw it out. The walls were peeling, holes in the walls as well, the heating pipes were exposed with the walls deteriorating around the pipes. The worse part is that the pictures on the website are completely different then what you're getting. The next morning, we went to the main house for breakfast. The breakfast area was clean and appealing but freezing. There was a heater on that didn't do much and we had to eat in our coats and hats on. I mean it was like eating outdoors in the middle of winter. The choice for breakfast just scrambled eggs, bacon and a little fruit cup with cut banana. We asked for toast and the lady said they had no toast. Meanwhile, the owner could not be found at all. Nothing about making it up to us. There is no up keep and he has no respect for his guests. This place should be removed not only from the diamond collection but from the entire B&B.com site which is so reputable. I actually have pictures but I can't seem to find a place to post them on here.

Innkeeper Response
Your choice of words calling us a fraud tells it all. We are very sorry you weren't pleased. You complained that your fireplace wasn't working. I fixed it. Only to be called back again. I explained how to operate it by using the time. You shut it off on the panel and then tried to turn it on with the panel. That is why it didn't work. In an effort to please you I relocated you to a barn suite. Your description of the room is a fraud so is your description of breakfast. Perception is reality and we failed to make your happy. For this we apologize. However, your comment is harsh and mean spirited. It conflicts with most of our guests experience. We wish you well and we will pray for you as you seem to be a very unhappy person. Blessings

- Richard (innkeeper)


Great romantic and so unique place to stay

5 on December 17, 2016

We had a wonderful time. There was a grand fireplace and we were joined by the owner who provided a history of the place and the area. I could certainly see why this would be an ideal place for a weddings, weekend romantic getaway or a family reunion. Coming from Florida it was great to have a chill in the air. Mark & Emily


Desperate need of repair

1.4 on December 08, 2016

Unclean, broken tile floors, silver dyer hose zip tied to beams to ventelate dehumidifier, torn upholstery, coffee machine but no coffee. Basic breakfast in unheated dinnng room. Be wary

Innkeeper Response
We are sorry you weren't pleased. There isn't a tile to replace the broken tile it was one of a kind that is why there is a rug there. I am not sure why you were looking under the rug and I am not sure why the temporary hose that ran on a beam across the ceiling 12 ft over your head was notable to you also. Sorry there was only decaf coffee that is why you had my personal cell phone to call if you needed anything. In addition there is always coffee made in the butler pantry. The boiler was under repair so the temperature in the quaint estate dining room heated by a fireplace and an electric heater was less warm than usually. We are sorry for the inconvenience. Your comment be wary is to cause doubt in our potential customer's mind. Why because you weren't given the discount you demanded and you want to affect maximum damage. It is always our intention to create and environment where our guests can enjoy the amazing historic estate. It is unfortunate that you were so unhappy. We will pray for you.. so that it will be easier to see the blessing rather than the imperfections. Blessings

- Richard (innkeeper)


Innkeeper has checked out!

1.8 on October 30, 2016

I booked one a one night for my wifes and my 7 year anniversary and we were less than happy with our stay. While your B&B is beautiful, the service lacked. Right when we got there at 6:30pm Friday evening there were other guests complaining that a circuit blew and there room was dark. The guest had to call Rich to find the breakerbox on his own. Then while my wife was blow drying her hair for dinner the circuit blew 4 more times and I had to call rich to find where the breaker box was. Waiting for rich wasn't an option as he said he was 30 minutes away. Then the next morning we were expecting breakfast as it's stated on your site at 8:30. It was 8:15 and there wasn't even tea or coffee available. We waiting until 8:30 and when the the kitchen still wasn't open we left to get breakfast elsewhere. While I am very familiar with staying at b&bs versus a hotel , I would have expected a little more attention to detail to make our weekend special. Based on our stay I'm sorry to say I would not recommend chimney hill estate to anyone.

Innkeeper Response
We apologize for the inconvenience. Our boiler was under repair and the house was being heated by electric oil filled heaters. The hair dryers tripped the breakers. The boilers have been repaired. Breakfast is 9:00 a.m. on week days. There is always coffee in the butler pantry. This was included in the guest letter that you received. My personal cell phone was also in the letter. Which you used to call me when you tripped the breaker. We are very sorry that things didn't go well for you especially due to the fact it was a special occasion. I wish you would've found the humor in it all. Maybe as you tell your friend about the disastrous anniversary stay in a bnb they will all cringe and you will have a laugh at us... It was our best intention for you to have the best ever stay. We apologize that isn't what happened. Blessings

- Richard (innkeeper)


WORST EXPERIENCE!!!

1.0 on October 30, 2016

Unfortunately, the standard of this B&B was extremely poor. Having entered the B&B, there was no one there to greet us. We had to wait several minutes to be greeted and check in. We were not escorted to our room and had to find out where it was. Upon entering the room and opening door, we were in utter shock about how small the room was and how it looked nothing like the photos displayed on their website. The room was about he size of a closet, no AC, no heat. In order to go the bathroom and/or shower, we had to walk out of the room, across the hall, and open a door with a key. My wife and I were so upset and disappointed because we have stayed at many B&B's and have never seen anything like this. On top of this, when we went downstairs to the front desk to talk to the managerabout our dissatisfaction, we were told to call his cell phone (which we found extremely unprofessional and unusual). When I called the manager and explained to him our disappointment, he was completely rude and told us in the exact words, "It is too bad and no refunds!!" and hung up. My wife and I were so taken back by how we were treated and at this point, absolutely livid with our entire experience. The B&B manager is a crook and is falsely advertising his business on his website and every other website it is linked to like Groupon (where my daughter and son-in-law originally found the B&B). We called Groupon and told them our experience and they will be taking down their business from their website. Please don't book a stay there!!


Nice summer geataway

3.4 on September 18, 2016

We stayed here thru a Living Social deal, so took the chance for a quick and close getaway to Lambertville. We enjoyed the inn very much, the owner and staff were friendly and informative, the property is quiet and interesting, the breakfast were delicious and plenty. The alpacas were just afew, but interesting to see/feed anyway.


Haven't been disappointed yet!

4.8 on August 21, 2016

My girlfriend and I stayed in Barn Suite #3 for two nights and had a blast! It is within walking distance of the Main Streets of Lambertville and New Hope (about 3/4 - 1 mile) which was a huge bonus. The accommodations were beautiful and we looked forward to the home-cooked breakfasts served each morning. I only wish there were more TV channels, BUT we really didn't do much TV-watching anyway so it wasn't much of an issue. I would definitely come back again.


Chimney Hill Alpacas

3.4 on August 04, 2016

The restaurant was not open. The house is beautiful, but needs some maintenance. The grounds are beautiful and well tended and the alpacas are adorable. There is a lack of management available.


nice property but unusual experience

2.8 on July 28, 2016

Very attracitve and clean. Here's the weird thing: we get a call on the way w a keyless entry code. Arrive, didn't need the code b/c door was open and code was hanging on the door. Our 'check in' was an envelope on the table w our key and room number. Room was too hot so we called the number that was there if you needed anything. A lovely, courteous and very helpful girl, Giovanna,arrived quickly and reassigned us to a room (temperature was fine, room very nice). Once we were settled in, that was the last we saw of any innkeepers. We left at 7:45AM and bfast isn't served till 9AM, so I have no idea how that is, but there was noone there prepping or anything. So nice place, but it's like a self serve inn.


View More Reviews

Rooms & Rates

Barn Suite #1

Two room luxury suite. Queen bed w/ fireplace, jacuzzi-body jet shower and compact guest pantry. Barn suite complete with TV-cable VCR ready /Phone/Computer modem/compact kitchen features.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 Queen

Hunt Room

King sized bed and private detached bath/robes in closet. Sitting Area. Private bath is detached.

  • Maximum Capacity: 3
  • Beds 1 Queen

Tapestry Room

King Bed / fireplace and Private Bath w/Claw foot Tub & Shower. Sitting Area.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Beds 1 King

Cottage Room

Queen sized bed and private detached bath (shower only). Sitting Area. Private bath is detached.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 Queen

Renaissance Room

Queen w/ Fireplace and Private Bath. Sitting Area.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Beds 1 Queen

Library Room

Queen w/Full Canopy/ Fireplace and Private Bath (shower only). Sitting Area. Bath is detached.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 Queen

TreeTop Retreat

Queen bed and Private Bath (shower only).Sitting area. Thrid Floor renovated attic room.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 Queen

Vincent's Hideaway

King bed w/ Private Bath and Sitting Area. Thrid floor renovated attic room.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 King

Barn Suite #2

Two room luxury suite w/ Queen bed/fireplace/jacuzzi-power body shower/compact kitchen. Features include TV-Cable-movie ready, fireplace, compact kitchen, computer modem, phone.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 Queen

Barn Suite #3

Luxury suite w Queen bed/fireplace/spiral stairs/2 person jacuzzi/chandliers/vanity area Luxury Suite includes TV-cable, see-thru fireplace/living room/ dining area/ jacuzzi room w/2 person jacuzzi tub/ overhead chandlier/vanity dressing area /bath w/2 person shower/spiral stair case leading to loft bed room w/ queen bed and armoir w/TV. Other features are compact kitchen/ phone and WiFi

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 Queen

Barn Suite #4

Luxury Suite with Queen bed/fireplace/spiral stairs/2 person jacuzzi/chandlier/vanity area. Luxury Suite includes TV-cable-movie ready. See thru fireplace/living room/dining area/Jacuzzi room with 2 person jacuzzi tub/ overhead chandlier/vanity sressing area/bathroom with 2 person Jacuzzi Steam Room w/ Stero and radio system/ spiralatair case leading to loft bedroom w/ queen bed & armoir w/ TV. Other features include Compact kitchen/Phone and modem port.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 Queen

ButterCup

•Queen bed /1st floor •Private shower •Cozy Bath Robes •Hair Dryers

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Beds 1 Queen

Garden Room

King bed with fireplace and Private detached Bath/Tub & Shower. Sitting Area. Private Bath is detached.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 King

Barn Executive Board Room

Executive Board Room / Meeting and Retrets and dining. Can host up to 18 guests. Fee: $450.00 per day Includes Wireless Internet Service/

  • Maximum Capacity: 18

Carriage House

Carriage House-Event and meetings. May host up to 35 persons for a large U shape meeting/ or 50 persons for a wedding with dance floor. Fee : Meeting $750.00 Per Day/ includes Wireless Internet Service and LCD-Projector. Wedding Fee: $ 1995.00 foe 5 hour event use permit only- does not include food or services.

  • Maximum Capacity: 75

Estate Lodge

Estate Lodge King Bed - Lofted Bedroom/ Private Bath w/ Jacuzzi Tub Queen Bed - Guest Bedroom/ Private Bath w/ Shower Full Kitchen/ Microwave Living Room Full Dining Room Large Outdoor Deck overlooking Alpaca Farm Sleeps 4 adults

  • Maximum Capacity: 4
  • Beds 1 King , 1 Queen

MB-OFC

  • Maximum Capacity: 6

Tahoe Vista

Life on Top- Tahoe Vista - Sleeps 10 3 Bedrooms 3 Bathrooms Kitchen Living Room- Dinning Room Outdoor Deck Grill

  • Maximum Capacity: 10

Life on Top- Heavenly Retreat

Life on Top- Heavenly Retreat 2 Guest Rooms Kitchen 2 Private Baths Deck Grill

  • Maximum Capacity: 4

Stone Room

  • Maximum Capacity: 8

Check Dates Visit Website

Location

Location Type

Bucks County, Deer- wildlife and Alpacas/ Llamas, Delaware River, Historic Farm Area, New Hope, Alpaca Farm on Property, Countryside, Small town, Wine country

Airport

Newark, NJ (EWR) 42 miles

Area Attractions

Antique Shopping, Aquarium, Art Galleries, Concert venue, Gourmet/Fine Dining, Historical interests, Live Music, Movie Theater, Museum, National/State parks, Nature area, Antique and Flea Markets, Mitchner Museum, Washington Crossing Park, Peddlers Village, Bucks County, PA., Delaware River Canoing and Kayaking, Outlet Stores, Performing Theater, Picnic area, Religious Services, River, Vineyard, Winery

Visit Website

Inn Details

Establishment type

Historic Inn, Farm, Boutique Hotel

On-site amenities

Board games, Conference Rooms, Copier, Desk, Fax Machine, Library, Piano, Private entrance , Seasonal Flower Garden, Onsite Parking, Speciality Packages, Delicious Country Breakfast, Alpaca Farm, Guest Welcome Reception every Weekend

Room amenities

Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Amenities Basket, Bath robes, Ceiling fans, Coffee/Tea facilities, Fireplace, Fridge, Hairdryer, Hot tub/whirlpool tub, Ironing Board, Microwave, Radio, Satellite/Cable TV, TV, Wi-Fi

On-site activities

Bicycle rental, Bicycle riding trails, Bicycles, Billiards, Bird watching, Boating, Canoeing, Cross-country ski trails, Fishing, Golfing, Hiking trails, Horseback riding, Hunting, Kayaking, Mountain Bike trails, Winery Tours,Peddlers Village and Outlet Shopping, Tubing on Delaware, Horse Carriage Rides,Spa, New Hope Ghost Tour's, Rices Market and Golden Nugget Antique Market, Music Events, Bucks County Playhouse, Dining, Romancing, Shopping, Sight-seeing, Snow shoe trails, Swimming, Table Tennis, Tennis courts, Tennis racket rental, Water sports, Whitewater Rafting

Check Dates Visit Website

Policies

  • Check In:: 3 PM
  • Check Out:: 11 AM
  • Open All Year Round: Yes
  • Smoking Allowed: No A $150.00 charge will be added to room if smoked in.
  • Drinking Allowed: Yes
  • Alcohol Provided No
  • Suitable For Children: Limited Must have advanced reservation
  • Childcare Provided: No We do not offer childcare
  • Guest Pets Allowed: No We do not accept pets
  • Disabled Access No

Terms and Conditions

  • Minimum Stay: Some Saturdays may require a 2 night minimum
  • Accepted payments Other, AMEX, VISA, Mastercard, Personal checks, Travelers checks, Cash
  • Deposit Amount Required: * 1 night deposit is required to confirm all reservations. Multiple night lodging require a 50% deposit. 15 day cancellation prior to arrival required.
  • Cancellations: Chimney Hill Estate must be notified of a cancellation or change for lodging 15 days prior. In this event,your deposit minus $35.00 will be returned. Notification of cancellation or change of scheduled lodging less than 15 days will not receive a return of deposit and will be charged the remainder of balance for lodging. There are no refunds for any reason.
Visit Website

Innkeepers

Name(s)

Richard Anderson

Languages spoken

English

Resident Pets

Alpacas

About the innkeepers

Our common interest is our desire to create and environment where our guests can have a great experience.Rich is a former Fire Chief, now a licensed Commercial Realtor and Inn Specialist.

Check Dates Visit Website

Meals

Breakfast

Continental

  • Time Served: Mon-Fri 9am Sat--Sun 8:3-10am
  • Serving Location: Breakfast/dining area

Special meal options

Upon request


Recipes

Visit Website
check