Recent Reviews in Newport, Rhode Island

Great weekend at Cliffside Inn at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on April 19, 2017

We had a wonderful weekend at the Cliffside Inn in Newport, Rhode Island. Breakfasts and 5 PM hors d'oeuvres were beautifully served and delicious. Our room was perfect, extremely comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful and the public areas were Lovely. All in all, it was an outstanding inn...

View more reviews for this inn


First Class. at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.4 reviewed on April 19, 2017

We arrived at the Cliffside about 3.30 and were cheerfully greeted by our hostess and given a tour of the house and shown to our room. The weather was great so we decided to go for a walk along the cliff trail before settling into our room. The cliff trail is a “must do” and starts just 50 feet from the B&B. We stayed in the Blue Room. It was extremely clean and well furnished. It does not have a view, but that didn’t matter to us since we were only going to be there when it was nighttime. It was chilly outside so we turned the gas fireplace on and the room warmed very quickly. They sent up a bottle of Chardonnay and a cheese/fruit tray. Wonderful. The room is modest in size, but with plenty of storage space in the armoire. The bathroom, like most B&B bathrooms, is sort of “forced” out of the space available, and is rather small. The amenities were top of the line. About the only complaints were (1) that there was very little horizontal space on which to place toiletries and (2) the lighting was insufficient for my wife to apply make-up. Breakfast was excellent: creative scrambled eggs, bacon, yogurt, cereal, fruit, juices, etc. Plus, the house was owned by a woman with a very interesting history. We highly recommend the Cliffside.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Mill Street Inn at Mill Street Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on April 10, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful overnight at Mill Street Inn. The location is great, and the rooms are spacious and clean. The complimentary breakfast and afternoon coffee/goodies is a nice touch. We will definitely be returning!

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend away at Newport Blues Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.6 reviewed on April 05, 2017

Enjoyed our stay at the Black Duck Inn for a quick weekend getaway. Rooms were cozy and very clean, convenient location, walking distance to all of the shops and restaurants downtown. Will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Inn and wonderful stay! at La Farge Perry House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on March 30, 2017

Our stay was fabulous in the Master Suite. It was very roomy and clean with beautiful period furnishings. The bathroom included a double walk in shower and Jacuzzi bath tub. There was an additional bedroom attached that serves wonderful for added guests or kids. The Innkeeper, Maureen was extremely nice and attentive. She made a delicious breakfast that was served in an incredible dining room/attached sunroom. The wall murals were especially beautiful to dine in. The Inn made our visit extra special with afternoon cookies and early evening wine and cheese. My husband and I enjoyed our stay very much and will be visiting again the next time we are in Newport. Top notch place to stay!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Cliffside Inn! at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on March 21, 2017

A wonderful stay again! That is why we return. The inn is very cozy and perfect for a relaxing getaway. I would highly recommend staying here. Can't wait until next year!!

View more reviews for this inn


BEAUTIFUL OCEAN VIEW at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on March 17, 2017

Beautiful Suites, Wonderful Breakfasts, Best place to go for a special occasion or a weekend getaway. Perfect location near the water and in town , close to everything.

View more reviews for this inn


Jerry & Julie at La Farge Perry House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on March 15, 2017

Everything was absolutely perfect. The room was absolutely wonderful. The breakfasts were as well. The staff was attentive and extremely amiable. Our stay in Newport was highlighted by The Lafarge-Perry House. We will definitely stay there on our next Newport excursion.

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary Getaway at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on March 14, 2017

My wife and I have a 3 year old and it's been a long time since we had the opportunity to get away as a couple. We made a point of looking for a hotel to make this anniversary celebration special and the Cliffside Inn did not disappoint at all! The room was very well appointed, and exceptionally clean. The hot tub was a really nice touch and the fact that the hotel is right on the cliff walk in Newport was great. We went to the Mooring for dinner which was delicious and the breakfast at the Inn in the morning was outstanding. 5 stars. We will plan on returning next year again for our anniversary.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful spot for a quick getaway! at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.4 reviewed on March 13, 2017

We were there on an unusually warm February day and took advantage of the Inn's proximity to the walking trail both days. That was a nice surprise on top of a great weekend. The Inn itself is lovely and the staff are very accommodating. I loved our room and the food was great. We enjoyed getting to know a few others staying in the Inn during happy hour over a glass of wine.

View more reviews for this inn


Samuel Durfee Review at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on March 12, 2017

Hosts great, sharing history of the house, Newport and local figures. Helpful in planning daily events. Breakfasts were wonderful. Great location, easy walk to shops, dining and attractions, off street parking was key. Room was quiete, maintaining the feel of the period, yet having a great updated bathroom. Would return in a heartbeat!

View more reviews for this inn


Gorgeous Newport Bed and Breakfast at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on March 12, 2017

Perfect All around The Suites are amazing along with the staff and Inn Keepers. Best Breakfast you will ever have. Close to everything Gorgeous view

View more reviews for this inn


Great for a last-minute solo stay in Newport area at Inns on Bellevue (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.4 reviewed on March 10, 2017

Highly recommend if you're just looking for a room/place to sleep--I went because I have friends in the area. Great value, the room was beautifully decorated.

View more reviews for this inn


Remarkable at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on March 10, 2017

Beautiful Inn , In a Beautiful Town. The Inn Keepers and Staff are amazing. The breakfast is out of this world. 5 Stars is not enough, We give it 10 Platinum Stars

View more reviews for this inn


A Wonderful Weekend at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on March 08, 2017

A wonderful March getaway weekend for my wife and I. Wonderful service and food. Thank you and we will be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Central Location, Comfortable and Clean at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on March 02, 2017

Only a block away from the heart of Newport's restaurants, shops and piers. Cliffwalk and mansions just a few blocks to the north. Michael and Heather were pleasant and hospitable. The room was clean and comfortable. Sitting area was a nice, quiet place to read and have afternoon coffee and the homemade snacks our hosts provided. Breakfast was delicious. Great value! Highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend getaway at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on March 01, 2017

Mu husband and I decided to visit Newport for two nights and found Cliffside Inn online. We were not sure what to expect but knew we loved the location. The Inn was beautiful. Decorated so comfortably and we were encouraged to enjoy the house. The hosts held a wine social which was so nice as we met such lovely people also staying. Our favorite B&B thus far in Newport. Thank you for a great little get away.

View more reviews for this inn


Great BnB in Newport at Adele Turner Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on February 27, 2017

I stayed at the Adele Turner Inn for Valentine's/President's Day weekend with my girlfriend. The BnB itself has nice little history and it was a joy to read more about where we were sleeping. The room itself was wonderful. The bed was comfortable and we had a nice view of the other houses in neighborhood. We also had a room with a fireplace with a wall timer - which was nice in the evenings. No complaints! I can't understate how great the service and onsite dining experience. The staff is warm and courteous. I was very impressed with the response time and their ability to make me feel like home. The breakfast was wonderful. I was excited to walk down the stairs for a delicious breakfast. I would stay at the Adele Turner Inn again.

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic getaway at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on February 26, 2017

This was the perfect place for a romantic getaway. Rooms are clean and cozy and the staff is amazing and so accommodating!

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful in every way. at Beech Tree Inn & Cottage (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on February 17, 2017

The inn was recently purchased by new owners. They are a delightful young couple, Morgan and Cassandra. They go out of their way to please their guests. The breakfast was fabulous - anything and as much as you could possibly want. We brought our little dog and they couldn't have treated him better - he even got a little gift bag upon check-in. The rooms are beautiful and the inn is very quiet. We have been to other inns in Newport but this was hands down the best. Highly recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


Charming Cliffside Inn at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

3.4 reviewed on February 13, 2017

Cliffside Inn was charming and did not disappoint!! Perfect location next to cliff walk and the history of Inn adds to the charm

View more reviews for this inn


Great location and service at Victorian Ladies Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on February 13, 2017

We had a wonderful stay in January. The owner upgraded our room for no charge. Breakfast especially the Eggs Newport were delicious. Room was very large and spotless. Walking distance to downtown and the Mansion area. Would stay again. Thank you

View more reviews for this inn


Newport Winter Weekend Getaway at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

3.4 reviewed on February 04, 2017

The location was fabulous, just 100 yards or so from the Cliff Walk. The host, hostess and staff were friendly and efficient. I imagine it must be a wonderful place to stay in peak summer season and hope to get there this summer.

View more reviews for this inn


Close to downtown, amazing breakfast, great room I'll be back again soon. Fran and Brian are great. Just too bad they don't like football. (Kidding). Wonderful stay. I would highly recommend it at Sarah Kendall House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on February 03, 2017

Fran and Jeff Van Tienen

View more reviews for this inn


Great place for a visit to Newport at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.6 reviewed on February 02, 2017

This old Victorian house is conveniently situated for walking around downtown Newport. Gardens of one of the more famous of the mansions, the Elms, is just across the street. Phil, the host, is delightful and most considerate of special dietary needs. Not the best place if you have trouble with stairs as the dining area has you looking over the neighboring roof tops. On the other hand there is a small living room on the first floor and obliging Phil is probably able to work something out.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely stay at a Historical Victorian B&B at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.6 reviewed on February 02, 2017

If you are looking for a historical Victorian B&B this will not disappoint! Steps away from cliff walk and home of Beatrice Turner . The staff were wonderful and rooms all unique and beautiful.

View more reviews for this inn


About Newport

New England has spectacular accommodations with architecture from the Gilded Age. Vacationers enjoy such hotel alternatives as oceanfront inns, houses, and lodges open to vistas of the blue waters of Newport Bay and Rhode Island Sound. Guests are pampered with marble bathrooms, flat screen televisions, and antique décor. They set the stage for touring a plethora of attractions including mansions, lighthouses, and natural wonders.

Spend Time in the Newport Mansions

The Preservation Society of Newport County has the responsibility to maintain the most palatial mansions in the country. They date back to the 1800s with original artwork and furnishings in place. Each one is located along the southern shoreline of Newport. Visitors are treated to guided tours or can meander at a leisurely pace seven days per week during the May to October season.

Explore the Green Animals Topiary Garden

What started as a country estate has turned the city of Portsmouth into an attraction. The first topiary garden in the country sits on seven acres with a backdrop of the Narragansett Bay. Tourists are surrounded by 80 tree sculptures and gardens with flowerbeds, herb gardens, and fruit trees. The rose arbor along with 34 other species creates geometric pathways. Delightful animal figures such as a giraffe, ostrich, elephant, teddy bear, and other favorites are showcased.

Take the Lighthouse Tours

A variety of historical lighthouses exists throughout the area. Castle Hill is the most famous with its granite structure highlighted by massive boulders. This landmark is not open to the public, although it still guides vessels. Jamestown is home to 64-foot Beavertail Lighthouse, which sits on the southern tip of Beavertail State Park. From this vantage point, the next two stops on the tour can be seen. A ferry ride is required to reach Rose Island Lighthouse, while Point Judith Lighthouse is a 25-mile drive to Narragansett.

Enjoy Four Seasons in Newport

Spring, summer, and fall are glorious seasons with diverse foliage dressing this destination. Even summers in Newport don''t get too hot, with temperatures averaging only in the upper-70s in the months of July and August. Temperatures are milder than most New England getaways due to the water’s proximity. Expect mild to cool evenings with ocean breezes. Sweaters should be considered after sunset.

Top
}