Recent Reviews in Newport, Rhode Island

Staying with the GIlberts in their B&B at Gilbert's Tree Farm B&B (Rehoboth, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on September 18, 2018

We were thrilled and pleased with this wonderful B&B. The Gilberts are excellent host. We were provided with a good clean room with great amenities. The breakfast were just like my Mom made when I was at home. I felt just like I was at home with the Gilberts. They are wonderful, gracious people. I give my highest recommendation to this lovely couple and their home. Definitely worth the stay.

View more reviews for this inn


La Farge Perry House Newport, RI at La Farge Perry House (Newport, RI)

5 reviewed on September 16, 2018

My husband and I stayed at the LaFarge Perry House 8/29 - 9/1/18. We had such a great time! The inn is beautiful and we loved the proximity to the harbor and downtown. We were able to walk almost everywhere and leave our car at the inn. The free parking was definitely a plus. We also took advantage of their relationship with the Chandler at Cliff Walk for parking to go to the beach and the cliff walk. The staff there was excellent as well. The innkeeper, Paula, was very helpful and personable. She offered several suggestions for dining, house tours, and anything else we needed. We also enjoyed the wine and cheese each evening. I would highly recommend the LaFarge Perry House. We will definitely be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Second visit, still wonderful! at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on September 10, 2018

Bed is comfy, breakfast is delicious, host are pleasant, room is quiet and convenient! All with private parking! Thanks for another great stay:)

View more reviews for this inn


A fabulous B&B and a blissful haven at Bristol House Bed & Breakfast (Bristol, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on September 04, 2018

We booked a weekend here to celebrate our wedding anniversary and were blown away at how beautifully appointed the entire house was from the living room, the dining room, the backyard, and our Harbor Suite. It was the small details that we noticed the most in comparison to other B&Bs and hotels. Like the appropriate number of towel hooks in a room, or the wide array of movies and games to suit all ages and interests, or the light jazz music playing just ever so quietly in the corner to keep the living room space so comfortable and relaxing. Her breakfasts are delicious, but be warned, food comas are inevitable! Kathleen was both accommodating and gracious as a hostess, but she's also a comedy force and we had a blast talking to her. We especially loved the opportunity, after a long day, to come back to the B&B and just relax in the backyard with books and drinks. That hammock location is perfection. Her freshly baked peanut butter cookies were decadent and the dining room was well stocked with drinks (we loved the local RI-made Empire Soda!) and snacks throughout the day for those who like to nosh like us! We can't wait to come back again soon.

View more reviews for this inn


wonderland in rhode island at Stagecoach House Inn (Wyoming, Rhode Island)

4.0 reviewed on September 03, 2018

great view of the lake very private and romantic

View more reviews for this inn


Great little Romantic get away at La Farge Perry House (Newport, RI)

5 reviewed on August 29, 2018

My wife and I stayed at the LaFarge Perry house for our third time from 2004-present. 2006 was last before present. It was our Anniversary, and we looked forward to sharing things with the inn keeper about our lives since our last stay. Sadly she was no longer there but Paula, the present Inn Keeper, was a worthy successor. Everything was great, from breakfast to advice about Newport. we look forward to coming again soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding, staff friendly and helpful at Stagecoach House Inn (Wyoming, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on August 28, 2018

Lisa fierlit

View more reviews for this inn


Exceeded our expectation. at La Farge Perry House (Newport, RI)

5 reviewed on August 27, 2018

The rooms were beautiful and very clean, the staff were very cordial and helpful. We would definitely return, should we have the opportunity to visit Newport again!

View more reviews for this inn


charming! at Gilbert's Tree Farm B&B (Rehoboth, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on August 27, 2018

Hosts seemed more like family, warm, welcoming, full of information about the area, always asking what they could get for me. My room was actually a suite with its own sitting room. I had three friends come over one evening and we enjoyed our own space. .The country setting was peaceful and restful. I will definitely stay at Gilberts the next time I am in the Rehoboth area. Highly recommend Gilberts.

View more reviews for this inn


A pleasant change at La Farge Perry House (Newport, RI)

4.2 reviewed on August 23, 2018

Staying in a B&B was a novel experience for us as we usually stay in 4 and 5 star hotels. We were pleasantly delighted with the hospitality and quality of the accommodation. The welcome and help from the inn keeper exceeded our expectations. We will definitely look at other B&B accommodations when next we travel.

View more reviews for this inn


pleasant surprise at Stagecoach House Inn (Wyoming, Rhode Island)

3.8 reviewed on August 23, 2018

very pleasant surprise, enjoy my stall as usually

View more reviews for this inn


Like home away from home at Stagecoach House Inn (Wyoming, Rhode Island)

4.6 reviewed on August 23, 2018

Once again another great stay! Staff is among the most friendly I have ever seen. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and provide a great view of the Wood River. See you again soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome B&B at Admiral Sim's House (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on August 22, 2018

I stayed at Admiral Sims House (Mill Street) in June of this year. I didn't know what to expect, never staying in a B&B before. Upon arrival, a staff member was on site and flexible with our check in time. The room was extremely clean and modern, yet cozy. There was a private bathroom in the room which was beautifully renovated. The B&B was easily accessible and in walking distance to the quaint downtown area. The downtown area was fantastic, with tons of restaurants, bars and shopping! The breakfast was simple, yet very good (pastries, eggs, yogurt, fruit) I couldn't have been happier with my stay at the Admiral Sims House, and look forward to coming back in the Autumn season!!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Relaxing Stay at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, RI)

5 reviewed on August 21, 2018

Stayed at Artful Lodge during Jazz Festival was so relaxing and beautiful room. Very close walk into town for dinner and night stroll of shops, no need for car. Across street are Mansions so peaceful and safe to walk in evening. Breakfast was Wonderful at Inn, great start to day. Softest Towels and bedding. Will be back next year !!

View more reviews for this inn


Our newport stay at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on August 21, 2018

Location was great walked to most locations and breakfast was delicious everything fresh and healthy.they recommended some sites to see and they were great very glad we went. Rooms and service were great and I would recommend this bed and breakfast to others.

View more reviews for this inn


Enjoyed our stay! at Cooney Cottage (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.0 reviewed on August 21, 2018

My husband and I were looking for a dog-friendly destination for a long weekend getaway and both Newport AND Cooney Cottage did not disappoint. We were located right near the northern entry of the Cliff Walk and we were within walking distance of the harbor area (a little too long of walk in the oppressive heat we experienced, but still the location was good). There was parking onsite and there was a fresh breakfast every morning. Rachel provided different pastries and fresh fruit each morning along with cereal, milk and orange juice. The only thing is the door was a little difficult to open, but once you figure it out, it's fine. And you have to share the bathroom if there are guests in the other room, but it didn't bother us. We and our pup enjoyed this quaint cottage and Rachel recommended dog-friendly restaurants nearby and dog-friendly attractions. The whole town is very dog-friendly, we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Our 25th Wedding Anniversary get away at La Farge Perry House (Newport, RI)

5 reviewed on August 20, 2018

My husband and I stayed at the La Farge Perry House for our 25th anniversary celebration from August 13 - 16, 2018. Both Heidi and Paula couldn't have been more accommodating. From suggesting places to eat, making reservations for us, sharing information about Newport's shops and night life, etc. Our room was lovely (3rd floor- Margaret La Farge room) and our breakfast was outstanding each day. We loved the wine & cheese hour from 4-5 PM daily! We can't wait to return.

View more reviews for this inn


extremely helpful even before I arrived! 2nd stay at La Farge Perry House (Newport, RI)

3.8 reviewed on August 18, 2018

I love staying at La Farge Perry. I was having a party in Newport. I live in Houston. They helped with rooms in there inn as well as great recommendations for other places when they didn't have room. They helped with restaurant reservations before I arrived. I had special requests about blankets, pillows and arrival times. They took care of everything beautifully. It was a wonderful stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Accommodating at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, RI)

5 reviewed on August 18, 2018

We came in late and Phil accommodated us by providing us quiet and easy access to the Inn and room. That was really nice. The room was great and breakfast was made to order.

View more reviews for this inn


A Perfect Escape at Cooney Cottage (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on August 13, 2018

We love staying at Cooney Cottage. It was our third year there and we loved it just as much as we did the first time. It's perfectly located, serene, and a real escape. Rachel provides everything you need for a wonderful stay--maps, water, breakfast, menus, recommendations. We'll be back next summer!

View more reviews for this inn


A Wonderful stay in Newport! at Garden View Inn B&B (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on August 12, 2018

This was our first time to Newport, first time to Jazz Festival and first time at Garden View. We will definitely be back!! We were so lucky to find Garden View and Mary! The house is wonderful with all sorts of beautiful and interesting things to see and a gorgeous garden right outside our bedroom door! Mary is a joy to talk to and prepared a wonderful breakfast every morning-we felt like royalty! The location was perfect for the festival and the garden was so nice to start the day and to unwind at the end.

View more reviews for this inn


Our 3 day home away from home at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on August 11, 2018

Heather and Michael are the best inn-keepers. They are welcoming and very helpful. The breakfasts are wonderful and we love staying in the Ida Lewis room

View more reviews for this inn


love cooney cottage at Cooney Cottage (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on August 09, 2018

we love staying here. rachael is such a good host. nice and quiet and clean. very convenient for newport - out of the crowded area, but within walking distance. awesome place if you want to be right in the mansion district :)-

View more reviews for this inn


I'll stay here again! at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on August 07, 2018

I loved this bed & breakfast and have already recommended it to someone who's travelling to Newport. Location was great, the owners set up activities for me, food was great. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

View more reviews for this inn


On site parking is a major plus at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, RI)

4.4 reviewed on August 06, 2018

Visiting an old seaport in holiday, where the locals must park their own vehicles in the sidewalks for the narrowness of the streets, The Artful Lodger is a blessing with its on-site parking. The breakfast room is located on the second floor right off of what used to be the servants' back staircase. It is worth the ascending because the back wall is entirely made up of large windows, giving one a great view of the trees, town, and the port beyond. Regarding Newport itself, theoretically it is walkable, but not advisable unless one is in prime shape or slightly masochistic. If one dares not move the car, there are rickshaw-like bikes whose drivers will peddle you anywhere in town for a pittance. Thankfully, the inn is equidistant between town and the cliff walk. Spring St, on which the inn sits, is parallel to Bellevue Ave and the mansions. Back at the inn: breakfast is a la carte and done to one's preferences. However, make certain to let the innkeeper know if one has any food allergies or in need of a special diet. The foods range from savoury eggs, meats, and tofu, to sweet, fruity waffles, pancakes, etc. The rooms are comfortable and well kept with the exception of a certain faux Victorian table, the mirror of which was rather dusty. For privacy's sake, choose a room on the upper floor. The ground floor rooms, especially room "1", is off the front porch and easily seen into. There are many other Newport inns, but we'll not hesitate to make this our regular, default place to stay.

View more reviews for this inn


A great place to stay at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on August 06, 2018

We had a wonderful stay at the Samuel Durfee House. The accommodations, hosts, and food were excellent. The access to the rest of Newport is ideal.

View more reviews for this inn


very pleasant surprise at Stagecoach House Inn (Wyoming, Rhode Island)

3.6 reviewed on August 06, 2018

love my stay there ,will recommend to all friends.

View more reviews for this inn


Great value and experience at Stagecoach House Inn (Wyoming, Rhode Island)

4.0 reviewed on August 02, 2018

I very much enjoyed my stay here. It was a great deal for the price and centrally located to all the places I wanted to visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Great location. Very attentive host. at Henry Collins Inn (Newport, RI)

3.6 reviewed on August 02, 2018

5-10 minutes walk to the pier area. However, very good bars/restaurants nearby. The inn is very clean and the host is very attentive. Note however, the walls are thin. The people in an adjoining room had a small dog with them that barked for quite a while when they stumbled in loudly at 2 am. Otherwise, nice place to stay for festivals.

View more reviews for this inn


Recent Stay at Inn on Bellevue at Inn on Bellevue (Newport, Rhode Island)

3.4 reviewed on July 30, 2018

We recently spent a weekend at the Inn on Bellevue. We had a a very nice room with a king sized bed. The room was clean, well maintained and nicely decorated. My only complaint about the room was the low water pressure in the shower. The staff were very friendly both at check in and at breakfast. Breakfast was in a different building. It was a short walk, however, it was a little inconvenient the morning it was raining.

View more reviews for this inn


About Newport

New England has spectacular accommodations with architecture from the Gilded Age. Vacationers enjoy such hotel alternatives as oceanfront inns, houses, and lodges open to vistas of the blue waters of Newport Bay and Rhode Island Sound. Guests are pampered with marble bathrooms, flat screen televisions, and antique décor. They set the stage for touring a plethora of attractions including mansions, lighthouses, and natural wonders.

Spend Time in the Newport Mansions

The Preservation Society of Newport County has the responsibility to maintain the most palatial mansions in the country. They date back to the 1800s with original artwork and furnishings in place. Each one is located along the southern shoreline of Newport. Visitors are treated to guided tours or can meander at a leisurely pace seven days per week during the May to October season.

Explore the Green Animals Topiary Garden

What started as a country estate has turned the city of Portsmouth into an attraction. The first topiary garden in the country sits on seven acres with a backdrop of the Narragansett Bay. Tourists are surrounded by 80 tree sculptures and gardens with flowerbeds, herb gardens, and fruit trees. The rose arbor along with 34 other species creates geometric pathways. Delightful animal figures such as a giraffe, ostrich, elephant, teddy bear, and other favorites are showcased.

Take the Lighthouse Tours

A variety of historical lighthouses exists throughout the area. Castle Hill is the most famous with its granite structure highlighted by massive boulders. This landmark is not open to the public, although it still guides vessels. Jamestown is home to 64-foot Beavertail Lighthouse, which sits on the southern tip of Beavertail State Park. From this vantage point, the next two stops on the tour can be seen. A ferry ride is required to reach Rose Island Lighthouse, while Point Judith Lighthouse is a 25-mile drive to Narragansett.

Enjoy Four Seasons in Newport

Spring, summer, and fall are glorious seasons with diverse foliage dressing this destination. Even summers in Newport don''t get too hot, with temperatures averaging only in the upper-70s in the months of July and August. Temperatures are milder than most New England getaways due to the water’s proximity. Expect mild to cool evenings with ocean breezes. Sweaters should be considered after sunset.

Top
check }