Recent Reviews in Newport, Rhode Island

Great location and reasonable price. at Henry Collins Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.0 reviewed on April 25, 2018

We only stayed for one night but the location was great and the value compared to what some other places charge was outstanding. Our breakfast was also very good with fresh fruit, bacon and eggs made to order. The owner couldn't have been sweeter or more accommodating.

View more reviews for this inn


Highly Recommend! at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, RI)

5 reviewed on April 21, 2018

We had a great stay at the Artful Lodger Inn. It was clean, cozy and the perfect location. Phil was very attentive and had a variety of suggestions for things to do in town. He also cooked delicious breakfast in the morning. Highly recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


overnight stay at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, RI)

3.8 reviewed on April 19, 2018

Room was very nice, I especially noticed how clean it was, which means a lot. Nice friendly people, and would stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


THE BEST B&B in Newport!!!! at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on April 19, 2018

This was our second stay at the Samuel Durfee House, which has become our favorite B&B in our favorite town. Heather & Michael are awesome hosts - friendly, welcoming, always ready to offer a great suggestion -- and they serve an amazing breakfast! This is THE PLACE to stay when in Newport, and I can't wait to go back.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend Stay with dog at Cooney Cottage (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.4 reviewed on April 18, 2018

Cooney Cottage was perfect for a weekend getaway to Newport. It was a five minute walk one way to the Cliff Walk and a five minute walk the other way to town. Very clean, convenient - perfect for my wife and my dog and I.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay! at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, RI)

5 reviewed on April 17, 2018

Maria and I had a delightful stay at the Artful Lodger a couple of weeks ago. The manager Phil made us a delicious breakfast each day of our stay. We enjoyed the fireplace and hot tub and Phil helped us with some information on the mansions. The Artful Lodger is close to Cliff Walk, the mansions, walking distance to many fine restaurants. We loved staying at the Artful Lodger and we are looking forward to our next visit. Maria and Charlie

View more reviews for this inn


Easter getaway at La Farge Perry House (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.6 reviewed on April 15, 2018

The place was perfect for a much needed night away. Location was great. Felt very comfortable and welcome.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place, wonderful service at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, RI)

4.8 reviewed on April 08, 2018

The service was wonderful...they clearly care about the guest experience. We rented a room with a jacuzzi and due to a brand new hot water heater (like 2 days old) there were some minor kinks to figure out so we couldn't fill the jacuzzi all the way with hot water when we first arrived. Though we were able to make it work and enjoyed the in room jacuzzi Phil comped our room and was incredibly pleasant and helpful.

View more reviews for this inn


Such a lovely stay!! at Garden View Inn B&B (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on April 07, 2018

Mary was absolutely the most gracious hostess! The room was beautiful, comfortable, impeccably clean, and lovely. The breakfast was so delicious and the fresh squeezed OJ was amazing. Thank you for sharing your hone Mary... we will be back. Toni Schmidt

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Time at the Artful Dodger! at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, RI)

5 reviewed on April 04, 2018

Maria and I had a great stay at the Artful Lodger last week. The manager, Phil was wonderful. He cooked a delicious breakfast for us each day and had the answers to any questions we had. The room was delightful with a hot tub and fireplace and we made use of both! We look forward to our next visit to Newport and will definitely stay at the Artful Lodger again!! Charlie and Maria

View more reviews for this inn


Impeccable Inn at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on March 25, 2018

There are not enough superlatives to describe Cliffside Inn! The attention to every detail and warmth of the hosts and staff are evident from arrival to departure. The greetings are warm and genuine, the rooms spacious and immaculate, and the food rivaled master chefs. They even left chocolate dipped cookies at bed turn down! Pictures do not capture the thoughtfulness of this inn. It is well located so that one can easily walk on the Cliffwalk, visit the sites of Newport, or just relax and enjoy the historical surrounds. One can choose to read quietly, or enjoy conversation with guests by the fire, or explore the surroundings and excellent shopping and restaurants. The Inn provides a quiet, luxurious feeling that makes one feel more at home than as a visitor.

View more reviews for this inn


First time B&B-ing at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, RI)

4.2 reviewed on March 24, 2018

It was a nice experience. And the place was beautiful.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place at Stagecoach House Inn (Wyoming, Rhode Island)

4.4 reviewed on March 14, 2018

Great spot in little Rhodey . Nice inn to go and relax and leave home behind. Owners are really nice and the Irish Soda Bread is super. continental type breakfast but there is a very good restaurant across the street . Will definitely be back!

View more reviews for this inn


The Adams Family goes on Vacation to Collinwood. at Ivy Lodge (Newport, Rhode Island)

3.2 reviewed on March 08, 2018

We wanted a "warm" place to stay, different from other B+B' s. It was very "Gothic" looking for sure, but I'm not complaining about that. The room where we stayed was very colorless. The hot breakfasts were excellent, however, the breads were dry and tasteless. The beds were comfy and the Jacuzzi was cool. The gas fireplace only worked half the time. I was homesick before the first night was over.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend in Newport at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, RI)

4.4 reviewed on March 03, 2018

We stayed here in late February. The communication from Phil was excellent regarding the details of our stay, parking, and other details about the inn and sites to see. The rooms were very nice. The location is within walking distance of restaurants and other things to do. Breakfast was great, both the food and the view from the dining room. Definitely would recommend this inn. Bill

View more reviews for this inn


First choice in Newport B&Bs at La Farge Perry House (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.6 reviewed on February 22, 2018

We stay at a B&B in Newport every year or two. This was our first visit to the LaFarge Perry house, but it won’t be our last. The house is gorgeous and in pristine condition, the history is real and fascinating, and the Inkeeper could not be more gracious - a delightful lady. We’ve enjoyed each of the dozen or so B&Bs we’ve tried in Newport but this is a cut above - a real treat.

View more reviews for this inn


Really Enjoyed Our Visit at Stagecoach House Inn (Wyoming, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on February 19, 2018

This Inn is one of our favorites.

View more reviews for this inn


Our favorite B&B at Henry Collins Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on February 15, 2018

This was our second stay with Sarina and Alexis. They are wonderful hosts and make you feel very welcome. The furnishings are very comfortable and the home-made breakfast is the best you'll find. In our opinion, you can't go wrong for a short visit to Newport. Will surely be visiting again. Thanks Sarina and Alexis for another great visit!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B in historic home. at La Farge Perry House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on February 12, 2018

My husband and I stayed at the LaFarge Perry House in RI for three nights in the Matthew Perry suite. The room was charming, spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable with high quality bedding. Everything about the B&B was excellent. Paula the innkeeper was the most gracious, charming and friendly hostess. She made sure we were comfortable and made us feel right at home. The homemade breakfasts she prepared for us were delicious. Paula was a bonus. I would highly recommend staying at the LaFarge Perry House. John LeFarge was an artist and made beautiful stain glass. His pieces can be found in the Breakers and many of his painting are in the at galleries as well. I loved that we were in his home with some of his art and then also saw it in the historic mansions.

View more reviews for this inn


A pleasant stay at Stagecoach House Inn (Wyoming, Rhode Island)

4.0 reviewed on February 06, 2018

I stayed there for one night during weekend. Very nice experience and friendly staff. The front desk girl explained everything to me clearly and was always nice and friendly whenever I saw her. Breakfast was included. Nothing fancy, but good enough for me to grab something quick in the morning. The inn is located in a quiet small town and there's a lake behind it. Though it's in winter and everything was dull, I could tell it must be a beautiful place in summer. I'll definitely come back if I'm in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, RI)

4.8 reviewed on February 01, 2018

I enjoyed my stay at the Artful Dodger. You can walk to everything. I booked the simplest room there but it was still very nice with a great private bath. Breakfast and sitting area are really nice and there is a water view from the dining area. Our host was very hospitable and I would definitely recommend the Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Run Fast at Architects Inn -- George Champlin Mason House (Newport, RI)

1.0 reviewed on January 22, 2018

The Architect's Inn - George Champlin Mason House is a dive! We get there and the front door is locked. I ring the bell and there's no answer. Out front I see - who I later find out was one of the owners – Brian, and tell him that we have reservations. He says to call Nick (his partner) on his cell. Nick doesn't answer his phone, but about 30 minutes later, he opens the door. He tells us to come back in 2 hours - that the room wasn't ready. I explain that it was already after 3:00 PM and that was the check-in time on our confirmation. Again, he says to come back in 2 hours. We asked if we could use the bathroom and he said, "no" that we can find a bathroom in town. Two hours later we’re back at the Architect's Inn. Again, the door is locked and we ring the bell. After 10 minutes Nick lets us in and tells us that our room is on the 3rd floor. My husband and I both have difficulty climbing stairs - especially this steep narrow staircase. When I asked for another room he said that all the other rooms were requested or occupied. I then asked him if he would carry our bags, and his response was, "No, and I'm not your slave." I kid you not. Those were his exact words! The worst part was when we get to our room and find that the garbage can was full, the carpet was filthy, the sheets and towels looked like they were never laundered, there was no way the bathroom was cleaned from the previous renter, and the toiletries were used. This place was such a filthy dive that we decided to leave. When we got downstairs and asked Nick for a refund, he had the audacity to laugh at us. We told him we were going to dispute the charge on our credit card if he didn't refund our money. He then yelled and demanded that we get off his property immediately (the exact words that he uttered aren't fit to write) and until we safely drove away we were literally afraid for our lives. P.S. After booking another B&B that night, AMEX credited us for what we paid to The Architect's Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


One day and night getaway from the kids, everyone should do this at Ivy Lodge (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on January 20, 2018

The room was clean, cozy and warm. The place was quiet and safe. Parking on property was a big bonus and free wifi. Will be going back.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay! at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on January 19, 2018

The house was lovely and the family even more so! They were very accommodating with some of my food restrictions. We had a wonderful stay!

View more reviews for this inn


We will be coming back! at Stagecoach House Inn (Wyoming, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on January 13, 2018

Our room was comfortable with great views 4 bald eagles feeding on something frozen in the river. The homemade breakfast goodies were delicious!! The owners are wonderful outgoing people who are easy and interesting to talk to. We have stayed here for the holidays 2 years in a row and will be coming back again. And again!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely rooms in Victorian Ladies Inn at Victorian Ladies Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on January 10, 2018

My family visited the inn to celebrate the New Year. We booked two rooms for two nights. The rooms are exactly like what we saw on the website, which are cozy and beautifully decorated. The inn hostess Cindy is such an amiable and good natured lady, elegant and warm, with a mellow sense of humor. Very attentive and considerate, she made us very at home. As an anecdote note, we left a message after 10:15 pm about a minor issue in our room. While we were feeling compunctious to have bothered her in such late hour, she showed up shortly---and of course beyond our expectation. The breakfast was sumptuous and delicious! The location cannot be better for all the amenities in the area, which is 5-10 min drive to Cliff Walk, Mansion area and the elegant downtown. We surely will come back in summer. Jun and Michael

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely rooms in Victorian Ladies Inn at Victorian Ladies Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on January 09, 2018

My family visited the inn to celebrate the New Year. We booked two rooms for two nights. The rooms are exactly like what we saw on the website, which are cozy and beautifully decorated. The inn hostess Cindy is such an amiable and good natured lady, elegant and warm, with a mellow sense of humor. Very attentive and considerate, she made us very at home. An an anecdote note, we left a message after 10:15 pm about a minor issue in our room. While we were feeling compunctious to have bothered her in such late hour, she showed up shortly-- and of course beyond our expectation!. The location cannot be better for all the amenities in the area, which is 5-10 min drive to Cliff Walk, Mansion area and the downtown. We surely will come back in summer. Jun and Michael

View more reviews for this inn


Great place at Spring Seasons Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.6 reviewed on January 04, 2018

Took my husband for a little get-away the room was fantastic we had the entire 3rd floor large Jacuzzi tub a nice private deck (unfortunately we could not use) the food was great bill did the cooking and Susan served both were extremely nice a little pricey but it's Newport i would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast

View more reviews for this inn


About Newport

New England has spectacular accommodations with architecture from the Gilded Age. Vacationers enjoy such hotel alternatives as oceanfront inns, houses, and lodges open to vistas of the blue waters of Newport Bay and Rhode Island Sound. Guests are pampered with marble bathrooms, flat screen televisions, and antique décor. They set the stage for touring a plethora of attractions including mansions, lighthouses, and natural wonders.

Spend Time in the Newport Mansions

The Preservation Society of Newport County has the responsibility to maintain the most palatial mansions in the country. They date back to the 1800s with original artwork and furnishings in place. Each one is located along the southern shoreline of Newport. Visitors are treated to guided tours or can meander at a leisurely pace seven days per week during the May to October season.

Explore the Green Animals Topiary Garden

What started as a country estate has turned the city of Portsmouth into an attraction. The first topiary garden in the country sits on seven acres with a backdrop of the Narragansett Bay. Tourists are surrounded by 80 tree sculptures and gardens with flowerbeds, herb gardens, and fruit trees. The rose arbor along with 34 other species creates geometric pathways. Delightful animal figures such as a giraffe, ostrich, elephant, teddy bear, and other favorites are showcased.

Take the Lighthouse Tours

A variety of historical lighthouses exists throughout the area. Castle Hill is the most famous with its granite structure highlighted by massive boulders. This landmark is not open to the public, although it still guides vessels. Jamestown is home to 64-foot Beavertail Lighthouse, which sits on the southern tip of Beavertail State Park. From this vantage point, the next two stops on the tour can be seen. A ferry ride is required to reach Rose Island Lighthouse, while Point Judith Lighthouse is a 25-mile drive to Narragansett.

Enjoy Four Seasons in Newport

Spring, summer, and fall are glorious seasons with diverse foliage dressing this destination. Even summers in Newport don''t get too hot, with temperatures averaging only in the upper-70s in the months of July and August. Temperatures are milder than most New England getaways due to the water’s proximity. Expect mild to cool evenings with ocean breezes. Sweaters should be considered after sunset.

Top
check }