Recent Reviews in Newport, Rhode Island

Excellent Location and Lodging at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on July 12, 2017

This inn is located in walking distance to the Thames Ave restaurants on the water and to the mansions on Bellevue. They make it so easy to check in and check out and make sure that you are welcomed upon your arrival. The breakfast was cooked to order and so delicious. The bed was so comfortable and the room was clean. A great place to stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Artful lodger at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on July 11, 2017

Phil's great ,great breakfast,great room.will come back.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on July 11, 2017

Planned a girl's weekend to Newport, and we were lucky enough to find availability at the Samuel Durfee House. Stayed in the Doris Duke suite which was more than enough space for three--the living room has sofa bed and adjacent bathroom. I loved the decor in the suite and common spaces. Owners are gracious and helpful without being overbearing. Breakfast was excellent every single day. Varied and flavorful--great way to start the day. Location is close to town, adequate parking. Highly recommended!!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast at Victorian Ladies Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on July 05, 2017

Lovely Inn with very friendly staff and delicious breakfast!

View more reviews for this inn


Every efficient b&b at Victorian Ladies Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.0 reviewed on July 05, 2017

Checked in early, no problem, room ready. A little far from the water, about a mile but t tennis hall of fame near and a wonderful farmers market Wednesday's. Breakfast was way beyond the normal b&b, lots of great stuff.

View more reviews for this inn


Finest B&B We've Ever Visited! at La Farge Perry House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on July 05, 2017

Everything about LaFarge Perry House is Outstanding. The location is perfect for exploring Newport on foot. The property, living areas & spacious guest rooms are beautifully done. Housekeeping is meticulous (I believe it's done by the staff of the upscale Chanler House, a sister property.) Very delicious breakfast was served in a lovely sunlit dining room. And the innkeeper, Paula, could not have been more gracious & helpful. We stayed for three nights in June, 2017, and intend to return from California as soon as we can.

View more reviews for this inn


Just like staying with family! at La Farge Perry House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on July 05, 2017

My mother and I stay here and it was wonderful. Good food and Paula was outstanding! She was always asking if we needed anything. She spoiled us!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on July 05, 2017

We stayed at the Samuel Durfee House the last week of June and had a wonderful stay! The inn is super convenient-one to two blocks from the beautiful Newport harbor and all the shops and restaurants. It is charming, historic in feel, and CLEAN. The Perry room was lovely and really did feel like home every time we stepped through the door. In addition, Heather and Michael really do try to make you feel comfortable. Breakfasts are big, plentiful and delicious and can even be taken in a garden like setting out on the patio. Parking at no additional cost in the back of the inn was very much appreciated and just makes the stay that much more relaxing. We had a really great time in Newport, and would be most happy to stay at the Samuel Durfee House again.

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful Back Porch at Eden Manor (Wakefield, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on July 02, 2017

I stayed for two nights. I was in Wakefield to put my house on the market. It was a stressful situation. It was lovely to be on their beautiful property. The back porch overlooking the gardens has lots of tables to work or eat. It is a peaceful, relaxing setting.

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely Beautiful at La Farge Perry House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on July 01, 2017

I brought my family and we stayed in the master suite. The rooms are absolutely beautiful, well kept and very clean. The onsite hostess was wonderful. She cooked fabulous breakfasts, was very pleasant and knowledgeable about the area. The house is within walking distance to downtown Newport.

View more reviews for this inn


Very convenient place to stay in Newport at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.4 reviewed on June 24, 2017

I enjoyed my stay at the Artful Lodger very much. My room (Grace's room) on the first floor rear was clean, comfortable and quiet. The B&B is very convenient to the mansions (the Elms is across the street!) and within walking distance of all the attractions and downtown restaurants.

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint and perfect. at Victorian Ladies Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on June 21, 2017

Right by the Cliff Walk/mansions. Great breakfast and friendly service. Cozy room. Back patio doors were so soundproof that we couldn't hear any construction noise going on the adjacent street.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekday getaway at Victorian Ladies Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on June 21, 2017

This B&B was our last stop on our way home from Boston. The host was most accommodating as we had arrived ahead of check-in time, still allowing us to sign in and at least get our key so that we could come back to unpack later.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place to stay! at La Farge Perry House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on June 17, 2017

We stayed for 4 days in June 2017, and had a fantastic stay at this Inn. Paula, our Innkeeper, is the heart of this beautiful home. She is welcoming and made us comfortable right away in our beautiful, clean room. Paula gave us a tour and explained about the breakfast in the morning and wine, cheese, and fruit from 4-5 if we cared to stop by the living room. Paula answered questions and gave us tips o make our plans even better! I can't say enough good things about this Inn. We loved hearing the history of the place and looking at the beautiful interior and the garden. I wish we could go back tomorrow! the Inn had Great rooms, beds, baths and a lovely front porch to relax on. Breakfast was delicious and cookies were always around along with tea. Coffee in the morning was perfect!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent stay for couple with dog at Cooney Cottage (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on June 12, 2017

We stayed this past weekend at Cooney Cottage with our four month puppy and we truly enjoyed it. The house is beautiful and the rooms are nicely decorated, clean and spacious. Rachel is a phenomenal host. She made sure our stay was comfortable and during the times that we were away, she provided an updated on our puppy. The house is perfectly located, walking distance from the beach and a few minutes away from main attraction (mansions, pier, Fort Adams). Breakfast is fresh in the morning. I definitely plan on going back to Newport next summer and will definitely consider staying at Cooney Cottage once again.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Weekend for a Graduation at Victorian Ladies Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on May 24, 2017

We throughly enjoyed our stay at the inn. Cindy the innkeeper was very welcoming and so attentive to our needs. She started her day extra early in serving us a delicious breakfast before our daughter's graduation at Salve Regina. It's a very clean, beautifully decorated and well kept inn! Definitely recommend staying here!!!

View more reviews for this inn


A great stay with wonderful host at Reed Rose Cottage Pool and Suites (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on May 18, 2017

Very nice stay ! Located close to all of Newport's attractions . Beautiful gardens and home .

View more reviews for this inn


A magical getaway at Sarah Kendall House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on May 17, 2017

My husband and I have stayed at bed and breakfast places all over New England and by far The Sarah Kendall House was one of the best! Sheets were soft, staff was fun and amazing, food was unbelievable, bedroom had all the comforts including a gas fireplace made for an inviting romantic atmosphere, what more could you ask for?

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Visit to Newport May 2017 at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on May 11, 2017

We stayed at the Samuel Durfee House this past weekend and had a wonderful time. The Inn is beautiful, furnished with period antiques, and is very clean. The breakfasts were delicious. The innkeepers, Michael and Heather, were both very pleasant, cordial and informative. We had such a great time that we have now rebooked with them for a trip back to Newport in October! Really great location with on site parking. Highly recommend them to anyone wishing to stay in Newport.

View more reviews for this inn


Pleasantly surprised at Victorian Ladies Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

3.6 reviewed on May 05, 2017

Clean rooms, great location. Breakfast was excellent. The only complaint was that the mattress was very old and sinking in the middle.

View more reviews for this inn


Hidden Gem! at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on May 02, 2017

Everything about our stay was fantastic! Phil and the staff were incredibly easy to communicate with before and during our stay and the inn was charming and authentic. Breakfast was AMAZING and cooked to order - definitely not the continental breakfast of store-bought pastries that you get at many other places! So good!!! The homemade biscotti was an excellent touch! I highly recommend the Artful Lodger - We will definitely look to stay here again!

View more reviews for this inn


Newport Mansion Exploration at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.0 reviewed on May 01, 2017

Michael & Heather friendly host/hostess. Michael, fantastic chef, generous breakfast servings freshly made.

View more reviews for this inn


About Newport

New England has spectacular accommodations with architecture from the Gilded Age. Vacationers enjoy such hotel alternatives as oceanfront inns, houses, and lodges open to vistas of the blue waters of Newport Bay and Rhode Island Sound. Guests are pampered with marble bathrooms, flat screen televisions, and antique décor. They set the stage for touring a plethora of attractions including mansions, lighthouses, and natural wonders.

Spend Time in the Newport Mansions

The Preservation Society of Newport County has the responsibility to maintain the most palatial mansions in the country. They date back to the 1800s with original artwork and furnishings in place. Each one is located along the southern shoreline of Newport. Visitors are treated to guided tours or can meander at a leisurely pace seven days per week during the May to October season.

Explore the Green Animals Topiary Garden

What started as a country estate has turned the city of Portsmouth into an attraction. The first topiary garden in the country sits on seven acres with a backdrop of the Narragansett Bay. Tourists are surrounded by 80 tree sculptures and gardens with flowerbeds, herb gardens, and fruit trees. The rose arbor along with 34 other species creates geometric pathways. Delightful animal figures such as a giraffe, ostrich, elephant, teddy bear, and other favorites are showcased.

Take the Lighthouse Tours

A variety of historical lighthouses exists throughout the area. Castle Hill is the most famous with its granite structure highlighted by massive boulders. This landmark is not open to the public, although it still guides vessels. Jamestown is home to 64-foot Beavertail Lighthouse, which sits on the southern tip of Beavertail State Park. From this vantage point, the next two stops on the tour can be seen. A ferry ride is required to reach Rose Island Lighthouse, while Point Judith Lighthouse is a 25-mile drive to Narragansett.

Enjoy Four Seasons in Newport

Spring, summer, and fall are glorious seasons with diverse foliage dressing this destination. Even summers in Newport don''t get too hot, with temperatures averaging only in the upper-70s in the months of July and August. Temperatures are milder than most New England getaways due to the water’s proximity. Expect mild to cool evenings with ocean breezes. Sweaters should be considered after sunset.

Top
check }