Recent Reviews in Newport, Rhode Island

Lovely, atmospheric B&B in Newport at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.6 reviewed on November 13, 2017

Step back into the early 19th century. Very charming, nicely furnished in period style and very helpful innkeepers.

View more reviews for this inn


Terrific Experience at Victorian Ladies Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.0 reviewed on November 13, 2017

The room was clean and spacious; the breakfast was superb and our hosts could not have been more helpful!

View more reviews for this inn


Great location at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.0 reviewed on November 07, 2017

Great location, rooms and breakfast. Would definitely recommend

View more reviews for this inn


3 Stars not 5 Stars at La Farge Perry House (Newport, Rhode Island)

2.6 reviewed on November 04, 2017

Pluses: Beautiful decor in room, great location, accommodating innkeeper Minuses: no individual room AC/heat controls, room wasn't ready by 3pm, sparse cheese and crackers for 4pm tea, slow service for breakfast; not "gourmet" breakfast as advertised; overpriced for what you get

View more reviews for this inn


Very pleasant stay! at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on October 25, 2017

Wonderful B&B, just up the hill from Thames. The innkeepers are kind and helpful. Food was super yummy, bed was very comfy. On site parking was a plus. Will definitely return:)

View more reviews for this inn


Best of the Best! at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on October 24, 2017

We're relatively new to the B&B scene. I found this after searching accommodations in Newport (that were obnoxiously overpriced), and after reading the reviews, decided to book a room. What a wonderful find! The owner, Phil, was awesome, very accommodating, and obviously loves his property. The property has all of the modern conveniences, but has been kept as a home of the period. The back steps to the 2nd floor "Estella" Room, and on up to the 3rd floor kitchen and dining room are steep and narrow and would pose a challenge to someone with ambulatory issues...however, the average person should have no issues. The morning breakfasts are prepared by Phil himself (he's a chef in his own right), and are delicious and expertly prepared to order. The views from the dining room of the property's gardens, neighboring hillside rooftops, and Newport harbor are beautiful! To top it off, Phil, his school-aged daughter, and sister, are all consummate hosts/hostesses and work hard to make each person's stay perfect. The location to the mansions is within easy walking distance...we loved walking by the beautiful homes of the area in addition to touring the glamourous opulence of the preserved mansions. We Lyft-ed/Uber-ed to the shopping/restaurant areas...so, everything was perfect. If/when we ever make it back to Newport, we will definitely return to The Artful Lodger.

View more reviews for this inn


The place to stay in Newport!! at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on October 20, 2017

We were here gor the second time and it was as good as we remembered. We celebrated our 35 th anniversary and there were 2 lovely and very tastefull cupcakes waiting in our room. So thoughtfull!

View more reviews for this inn


10th Anniversary at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on October 19, 2017

The Samuel Durfee house was fantastic. My wife and I had gotten engaged there 11 years ago and dedecided to return for our 10 year anniversary. The service in the house we're just as good as when we went 11 years ago. The innkeepers are fantastic people and made our stay so enjoyable. I would highly recommend staying here if you ever decide to head into Newport.

View more reviews for this inn


October Tour of New England at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.0 reviewed on October 16, 2017

Very nice B&B. Owner was very friendly and attentive. Great central location.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect weekend away! at Victorian Ladies Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on October 13, 2017

We chose this Inn based on its location for the Newport Marathon. We could not have asked for a better place to stay. The staff was outstanding and very accommodating. The location is walk-able to all restaurants and shopping.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely, would visit again! at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.2 reviewed on October 12, 2017

Great location. Comfortable and lovely rooms. Terrific breakfast. Hosts could not be more accommodating! Would highly recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


Great location at Henry Collins Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on October 09, 2017

Wonderful location and a great breakfast. The innkeeper was outstanding.

View more reviews for this inn


Another outstanding stay with Heather and Michael... at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on October 04, 2017

Another outstanding stay with Heather and Michael.. in a simple word GO... you won't regret it. From the moment we called to let Michael and Heather know we were stuck in traffic and would be arriving later than 6:00pm to our Sunday morning check out breakfast, there is nothing not to like about the Samuel Durfee House. The hosts are welcoming, knowledgeable and helpful, often making reservations at the local restaurants, with recommendations were to eat with our college freshman, to providing umbrellas for the monsoon during Saturday. We stayed in the Harrison suite, it is clean, charming, private and has a gas fireplace for those quiet evenings when the day is done. A small refrigerator for our wine, wine glasses and a corkscrew. On other visits we have stayed in the Doris Duke suite upstairs. The Samuel Durfee House is our go to Bed and Breakfast when we visit Newport and we visit at least twice per year... Go... you'll be very pleasantly pleased.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Experience at Beech Tree Inn & Cottage (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on October 03, 2017

Extremely helpful and friendly staff and owners. Located on a quiet street , only an 18 minute walk to town. Individually prepared breakfast with enough choices to please everyone. Could have as much or as little as you want. French toast was a classic, while the omelets were a very close second. Well appointed and comfortable room, nice Jacuzzi! Off street parking and free wi-fi was a definite plus. We would definitely stay here on our next visit.

View more reviews for this inn


A Comfortable Little Inn at Henry Collins Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on October 01, 2017

We only stayed two nights on our way to Cape Cod, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The neighborhood may appear sketchy, but it seemed quite safe and was very convenient to downtown Newport. Serena, the owner, provided a friendly welcome over a lovely continental breakfast buffet. Her daughter Alexis kept the rooms ship-shape. We found the "Beach Room" more spacious than it appeared on the website and it was quite comfortably appointed.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B &B at Newport Blues Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on September 30, 2017

This is a wonderful group of inns, in a great location right in town. The rooms are clean and comfortable and breakfast is delicious. This was our second visit and we plan on visiting again when we come to Newport.

View more reviews for this inn


Could not have been any better. at Henry Collins Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on September 27, 2017

Clean rooms. Wonderful breakfast, Friendly staff.

View more reviews for this inn


Salve Regina visit at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on September 27, 2017

This was a repeat visit to the Artful Lodger Inn. It is within convenient walking distance of Salve Regina University which I was visiting and yet also a short walk from restaurants etc. in Newport. The walk along the historic Spring street to the inn from Newport takes you past in incredible range of historic buildings. It is quiet, well-run and friendly with excellent breakfasts. I'll be returning again on my next visit to Newport.

View more reviews for this inn


Victoria Room at Victorian Ladies Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on September 27, 2017

We had a thoroughly enjoyable 2 night stay in Newport at the Victorian Ladies Inn. The Innkeeper, Cindy, was hospitable and knowledgeable. Our room was spacious, comfortable and had the wonderful added bonus of the private courtyard with koi pond. The breakfast menu offered about 6 hot options as well as a buffet with homemade coffee cakes, fruit, cereal and yogurts. On our first morning, we had crab cake with poached egg and toast entree that was so delicious! Cindy also offers homemade cookies every day during teatime. The Inn is within walking distance of restaurants, shops, the Cliff Walk and downtown.

View more reviews for this inn


We'll be back at Windsome Bed & Breakfast (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.2 reviewed on September 26, 2017

We stayed for 3 nights in September and were very pleased. We visit Newport once a year this time of the year. We have stayed at several different bed and breakfasts, and next year we'll stay here again. We enjoyed the inn very much. Patrick was great, as was the food. This is the furthest away from the wharf we have stayed, and it was actually nice. Broadway is close with many great restaurants, and the wharf isn't a very distant walk. Staying here allowed us to move around easier for trips by car, and was quieter in the evening as the street has very little traffic, especially compared to staying along Spring Street which stays busy through the evening. Patrick made check in/out very easy and gave us great dining recommendations. Parking was easy, again very different than it is along the wharf area. It's a very easy shot over to the cliff walk and First Beach. Overall a great stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Spot to Stay in Newport at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on September 26, 2017

Very friendly and helpful staff. Our room was spacious with a large bathroom. Breakfast was excellent. Afternoon social hour was very helpful as other guests could steer you in the right direction/ One of the best B&B's in our two weeks traveling around New England

View more reviews for this inn


End of Summer at Black Duck Inn at Newport Blues Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on September 24, 2017

We stayed at the black duck inn the last week of August. The location is great. short walk to the harbor. We stayed in a suite on the 2nd floor that was beautifully decorated with Jacuzzi tub! The breakfast was delicious both mornings of our stay along with staff that are all about customer service. We stayed last time at the blue jewel and had a great experience there too . We will be back !

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely, Convenient, & Tranquil at Victorian Ladies Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

3.8 reviewed on September 20, 2017

I took my mother to Newport for her birthday and she told me she felt like a queen for 4 days! This location is very centrally located with onsite parking and was very quiet, despite being located on Memorial Blvd. The staff was very friendly and the breakfasts were delicious. Super convenient to the Mansions!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellence at Eden Manor at Eden Manor (Wakefield, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on September 19, 2017

My husband uses a walker and the innkeepers could not have been nicer in changing rooms for us twice during our stay to make him comfortable. The house is beautiful and relaxing with wonderful food!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Weekend! at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on September 18, 2017

In Newport for a wedding and decided to stay at a B & B. After researching Trip Advisor and Yelp it seemed there was Cliffside Inn and then all others. After staying at the Cliffside I would have to agree. One of the best B & B's I've ever stayed at. Denise at check in was great. Very helpful with great sense of humor. We stayed in the Beatrice Room. Beautiful, large, and comfortable. The overall breakfast experience is outstanding. In addition to the hot entrée the extra's were all delicious. Muffins, granola, juice were all very good. Needless to say we'll be staying here whenever we're back in Newport.

View more reviews for this inn


About Newport

New England has spectacular accommodations with architecture from the Gilded Age. Vacationers enjoy such hotel alternatives as oceanfront inns, houses, and lodges open to vistas of the blue waters of Newport Bay and Rhode Island Sound. Guests are pampered with marble bathrooms, flat screen televisions, and antique décor. They set the stage for touring a plethora of attractions including mansions, lighthouses, and natural wonders.

Spend Time in the Newport Mansions

The Preservation Society of Newport County has the responsibility to maintain the most palatial mansions in the country. They date back to the 1800s with original artwork and furnishings in place. Each one is located along the southern shoreline of Newport. Visitors are treated to guided tours or can meander at a leisurely pace seven days per week during the May to October season.

Explore the Green Animals Topiary Garden

What started as a country estate has turned the city of Portsmouth into an attraction. The first topiary garden in the country sits on seven acres with a backdrop of the Narragansett Bay. Tourists are surrounded by 80 tree sculptures and gardens with flowerbeds, herb gardens, and fruit trees. The rose arbor along with 34 other species creates geometric pathways. Delightful animal figures such as a giraffe, ostrich, elephant, teddy bear, and other favorites are showcased.

Take the Lighthouse Tours

A variety of historical lighthouses exists throughout the area. Castle Hill is the most famous with its granite structure highlighted by massive boulders. This landmark is not open to the public, although it still guides vessels. Jamestown is home to 64-foot Beavertail Lighthouse, which sits on the southern tip of Beavertail State Park. From this vantage point, the next two stops on the tour can be seen. A ferry ride is required to reach Rose Island Lighthouse, while Point Judith Lighthouse is a 25-mile drive to Narragansett.

Enjoy Four Seasons in Newport

Spring, summer, and fall are glorious seasons with diverse foliage dressing this destination. Even summers in Newport don''t get too hot, with temperatures averaging only in the upper-70s in the months of July and August. Temperatures are milder than most New England getaways due to the water’s proximity. Expect mild to cool evenings with ocean breezes. Sweaters should be considered after sunset.

Top
check }