Recent Reviews in Newport, Rhode Island

Best Northeast B&B Yet at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on January 16, 2017

Stayed in the Cliffs and had a spectacular experience. Bill and Nancy have created a beautiful place with a wonderful staff. Cozy and spacious suite, comfortable bed w/great linens, jacuzzi tub and gas fireplace (I think in every room?). Complimentary bottle of Malbec and water bottles in place and turn down service with treats. Nice, right? I've stayed in B&Bs throughout the Northeast and all my expectations were met. The special part is the hospitality - their friendliness, hands-on approach, and attention to detail are unparalleled. Particularly loved how the breakfast and wine/tea hour are arranged so that I had fun gathered around the dining table with other guests. A lot of B&Bs have individual tables and people do not interact much. These twice daily opportunities to meet other vacationers and share stories and local recs as well as receive fantastic advice from Bill, Nancy, Elizabeth and Cindy - icing on the cake of a relaxing stay. Didn't see the other rooms / suites but everyone seemed happy and comfortable. I've spent this much and more in other places but have never been this impressed by how involved the owners were - and they seemed to really love what they do. I was there during the chef's 2 days off, and I wouldn't have known since Bill cooked delicious breakfasts both days. On arrival, Nancy quickly booked dinner reservation at a delicious farm to table restaurant as well - you know it's going to be good when they were celebrating their ownership anniversary there as well! Easy to understand why so many guests were repeat customers. What a treat! You don't want to miss The Cliffside Inn! Thank you, Nancy, Bill and the Cliffside Team!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent stay at Samuel Durfee House at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on January 13, 2017

We were welcomed even before the check-in time by the innkeeper. The breakfast and service were outstanding. The rooms were small as is appropriate to the era of the house, yet charming and exquisitely decorated. The location was excellent for access to the downtown shops and restaurants. All were within walking distance. The value was excellent. Highly recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful time! at Henry Collins Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on January 12, 2017

Had a great time at the Henry Collins Inn! Staff was excellent all very nice and friendly. Will definitely be going back in the future. Breakfast spread they put out was amazing! Just a all around great time! Thank you!

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B I've stayed in yet! at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on January 09, 2017

Cliffside Inn made Rhode Island the highlight of our trip, and that included Times Square for NYE. The property is gorgeous and the staff were amazing. We got in late and they offered dining suggestions based on what we were looking for. We stayed in the Hydrangea Suite in the guest house and were greeted with complementary cookies and a bottle of wine. It couldn't be any more perfect. We will definitely be staying here on our next trip to New England.

View more reviews for this inn


Gorgeous property with attentive staff at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on January 08, 2017

My husband and I very much enjoyed our recent stay at the Cliffside Inn. The staff could not do enough for us, the room was gorgeous, spotless, and impeccably furnished, and, upon learning about her, I was drawn into the story of Beatrice Turner… a legendary former owner of the property.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B Experience Yet at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on January 05, 2017

Stayed in the Cliffs and had a spectacular experience. Bill and Nancy have created a beautiful place with a wonderful staff. Cozy and spacious suite, comfortable bed w/great linens, jacuzzi tub and gas fireplace (I think in every room?). Complimentary bottle of Malbec and water bottles in place and turn down service with treats. Nice, right? I've stayed in B&Bs throughout the Northeast and all my expectations were met. The special part is the hospitality - their friendliness, hands-on approach, and attention to detail are unparalleled. Particularly loved how the breakfast and wine/tea hour are arranged so that I had fun gathered around the dining table with other guests. A lot of B&Bs have individual tables and people do not interact much. These twice daily opportunities to meet other vacationers and share stories and local recs as well as receive fantastic advice from Bill, Nancy, Elizabeth and Cindy - icing on the cake of a relaxing stay. Didn't see the other rooms / suites but everyone seemed happy and comfortable. I've spent this much and more in other places but have never been this impressed by how involved the owners were - and they seemed to really love what they do. I was there during the chef's 2 days off, and I wouldn't have known since Bill cooked delicious breakfasts both days. On arrival, Nancy quickly booked dinner at a delicious farm to table restaurant as well - you know it's going to be good when they were celebrating their ownership anniversary there as well! Easy to understand why so many guests were repeat customers. What a treat! You don't want to miss The Cliffside Inn! Thank you, Nancy, Bill and the Cliffside Team!

View more reviews for this inn


Delicious inn at La Farge Perry House (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.4 reviewed on January 05, 2017

Nice place, wonderful room, peace and quiet and good breakfast

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect weekend getaway! at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on December 31, 2016

We had a terrific stay at the Cliffside! Bill and Nancy, Inn keepers are lovely. Made the perfect stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding at La Farge Perry House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on December 21, 2016

Wonderful getaway. Have already recommended it twice! Room luxurious, breakfast delicious, wine/cheese at 4 in the front room decadent, hospitality consistently superior. La Farge Perry exemplified the best of Newport.

View more reviews for this inn


Cliffside inn newport RI at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on December 21, 2016

second time at the inn, I love this place, warm and friendly. The rooms are beautiful. I never new how much I like old Victorian. The service is great, wine and cheese in the afternoon by the fire with a made to order breakfast in the morning owners are really nice and the staff is very friendly. My family and I will be back again in the spring.

View more reviews for this inn


Cliffside inn newport RI at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on December 20, 2016

Fantastic gem! Wouldn't stay anywhere else! Bill and Nancy are lovely Innkeepers, so personable. Cindy is a sweetheart and makes sure you have everything you need to enjoy Newport from restaurants to the mansions and everything in between. Great trip! Thank you!

View more reviews for this inn


Luxurious Newport at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.6 reviewed on December 14, 2016

An immersion in the gilded age luxury with a lovely room and beautifully decorated for the holiday season. We enjoyed the friendly hospitality and wonderful surrounds. Many thanks.

View more reviews for this inn


Cliffside Inn at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on December 13, 2016

We enjoyed our stay at the Cliffside Inn very much. We first stayed here for my husband's 50th birthday. Just stayed again for his 65th birthday with several visits in between. The new innkeepers have made the Cliffside even more beautiful. We love coming up during the holiday season. Cliffside is a perfect bed & breakfast! Marguerite & Robert Shannon

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful but Better for Night Owls at La Farge Perry House (Newport, Rhode Island)

2.6 reviewed on December 13, 2016

The room, home and property were amazing! So beautiful! The staff, when we saw them, were very pleasant. The dinning room had many interesting details in the decor, unfortunately we did not get to enjoy it to it's fullest. Breakfast is not served until 8:30, so for early risers such as ourselves we did not partake. Honestly I was very disappointed that we had to leave this beautiful home to seek sustenance elsewhere. As such, I cannot comment on the "onsite dining" as I did not have any food here and regarding "value" I didn't feel I got my money's worth since I paid for a bed AND breakfast for two but only got the bed.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Inn at La Farge Perry House (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.0 reviewed on December 09, 2016

The Inn was beautiful and was a great setting for a romantic weekend. The master bedroom was comfortable, clean and beautiful. It was a very large room. The location was also excellent. The reason it didn't get excellent scores across the board was because I just didn't think the person in charge there was very helpful or forthcoming on things we should try to do there in Newport. It was our first time there so weren't familiar with the area.

View more reviews for this inn


B&B Newbies at Victorian Ladies Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.4 reviewed on December 07, 2016

My wife and I just concluded a 3 day/2 night stay at our very first B&B with two other couples/friends of ours and we were absolutely delighted! The service was superb, the overall attitude of everyone that worked there was very cordial, positive, friendly, and extremely helpful. We wanted for nothing as our every need was fulfilled. We highly recommended this delightful B&B and certainly look forward to our next visit to Newport.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent B&B at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.2 reviewed on December 06, 2016

great place to stay in Newport, close to all the sites, clean and friendly

View more reviews for this inn


Our Favorite B&B at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on December 05, 2016

My fiancé and I have stayed at several bed and breakfasts, but none of them are even close in quality and friendliness to the Cliffside Inn. This year we went back for the second time to Newport just to stay here again. The owners are incredibly thoughtful and kind and we had a great time talking to them. The B&B has a great "home" feel to it, all of the rooms have really unique and interesting themes and freatures, and the staff is great at providing those small flourishes that really make your stay special. If you are visiting Newport, we couldn't recommend the Cliffside Inn enough.

View more reviews for this inn


Luxurie and Location at La Farge Perry House (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.4 reviewed on December 03, 2016

Our room was big and beautiful. We were in Oliver. We saw some other rooms and they were all very nice. However our bathroom was dark. If you ware make up you might want a different room. I am not a breakfast eater so I can't comment on that. They serve wine at 5 but don't drink it. It's horrible. The location is great. An easy walk to downtown so no need to deal with parking, which is terrible in Newport. They also own the Cliff House on the cliff walk and let us park there for that walk. A real plus. I would absolutely recommend staying here!!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Accomodations at La Farge Perry House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on November 27, 2016

This was one of the best B and Bs we have ever stayed at. The Oliver Perry Room was perfect!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Inn in Newport. at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on November 26, 2016

We stayed at the Cliffside Inn for 3 nights in November for our anniversary. The Carriage Room was lovely and clean. Breakfasts were delicious and the wine and cheese in the afternoon was tasty and an enjoyable way to socialize with other guests. It was a very enjoyable weekend.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent B&B at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.6 reviewed on November 25, 2016

This is a great B&B for touring Newport with superb service, beautiful rooms and friendly management who make you feel at home. Access to Newport downtown is fine as is access to mansions and cliff walk. We would certainly stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice place for an enjoyable stay in Newport! at La Farge Perry House (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.6 reviewed on November 22, 2016

Maureen was very helpful in providing information on restaurants and attractions. Very convenient location.

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary Weekend at Victorian Ladies Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.4 reviewed on November 21, 2016

My husband and I stayed here for an anniversary weekend. The staff could not have been friendlier. The property itself was beautiful with several patios and a fish pond that we enjoyed at night while having a glass of wine. I was sure they had a professional chef in the kitchen because the food was better than some of the restaurants. We have stayed at other bed and breakfasts in Newport, but after this visit, I don't think we would go anywhere else. The Victorian Ladies Inn has us as customers for life.

View more reviews for this inn


Great weekend in Newport at the Cliffside Inn at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on November 17, 2016

The Cliffside Inn is conveniently located within walking distance of the Cliff Walk. The Inn is beautifully decorated and the innkeepers provide a relaxing atmosphere to make you feel comfortable. The breakfast (eggs benedict one morning and bananas foster crepes the next) was delicious. I can't wait to return.

View more reviews for this inn


Quick 1 Day Get-away at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.6 reviewed on November 15, 2016

Inn was terrific. Great location, beautiful setting, room designs were unique and pleasant. Host was on-site and helpful in suggestions for the day, or dinner at night. Service was outstanding. Look forward to my next Get-away to Newport and will certainly hope to re-visit the Cliffside Inn

View more reviews for this inn


Amazed at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on November 11, 2016

We came to the Cliffside in by accident - a previous reservation in the area was cancelled and we scrambled to find an alternative. Boy are we glad the other location cancelled. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed. Our room was perfect. The innkeepers we helpful, attentive, and knew the area very well. The food was delectable, the wait staff was amazing, and the conversation with other guests was enjoyable. The location is away from the immediate hustle and bustle but an east walk or short drive to the action. The Cliff Walk is literally a few dozen steps away and it's a short walk to some of the mansions and SRC. We forgot something in the room and the inn staff not only notified us immediately, but arranged to have it shipped back to us immediately. We're eagerly awaiting our next visit and thank our lucky stars for leading us here.

View more reviews for this inn


Vacation at Almondy Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.6 reviewed on November 05, 2016

The staff were very accommodating polite and helpful. The room was beautiful with the sitting room adjacent. The food was good but there could've been a little bit more food. We only had two towels which was not enough for my sister and I to shampoo her hair and shower. It would've been nice to have more towels. Great location which was near downtown and easy to find.

View more reviews for this inn


About Newport

New England has spectacular accommodations with architecture from the Gilded Age. Vacationers enjoy such hotel alternatives as oceanfront inns, houses, and lodges open to vistas of the blue waters of Newport Bay and Rhode Island Sound. Guests are pampered with marble bathrooms, flat screen televisions, and antique décor. They set the stage for touring a plethora of attractions including mansions, lighthouses, and natural wonders.

Spend Time in the Newport Mansions

The Preservation Society of Newport County has the responsibility to maintain the most palatial mansions in the country. They date back to the 1800s with original artwork and furnishings in place. Each one is located along the southern shoreline of Newport. Visitors are treated to guided tours or can meander at a leisurely pace seven days per week during the May to October season.

Explore the Green Animals Topiary Garden

What started as a country estate has turned the city of Portsmouth into an attraction. The first topiary garden in the country sits on seven acres with a backdrop of the Narragansett Bay. Tourists are surrounded by 80 tree sculptures and gardens with flowerbeds, herb gardens, and fruit trees. The rose arbor along with 34 other species creates geometric pathways. Delightful animal figures such as a giraffe, ostrich, elephant, teddy bear, and other favorites are showcased.

Take the Lighthouse Tours

A variety of historical lighthouses exists throughout the area. Castle Hill is the most famous with its granite structure highlighted by massive boulders. This landmark is not open to the public, although it still guides vessels. Jamestown is home to 64-foot Beavertail Lighthouse, which sits on the southern tip of Beavertail State Park. From this vantage point, the next two stops on the tour can be seen. A ferry ride is required to reach Rose Island Lighthouse, while Point Judith Lighthouse is a 25-mile drive to Narragansett.

Enjoy Four Seasons in Newport

Spring, summer, and fall are glorious seasons with diverse foliage dressing this destination. Even summers in Newport don''t get too hot, with temperatures averaging only in the upper-70s in the months of July and August. Temperatures are milder than most New England getaways due to the water’s proximity. Expect mild to cool evenings with ocean breezes. Sweaters should be considered after sunset.

Top
}