Recent Reviews in Newport, Rhode Island

Great Central Location, Comfortable and Clean at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on March 02, 2017

Only a block away from the heart of Newport's restaurants, shops and piers. Cliffwalk and mansions just a few blocks to the north. Michael and Heather were pleasant and hospitable. The room was clean and comfortable. Sitting area was a nice, quiet place to read and have afternoon coffee and the homemade snacks our hosts provided. Breakfast was delicious. Great value! Highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend getaway at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on March 01, 2017

Mu husband and I decided to visit Newport for two nights and found Cliffside Inn online. We were not sure what to expect but knew we loved the location. The Inn was beautiful. Decorated so comfortably and we were encouraged to enjoy the house. The hosts held a wine social which was so nice as we met such lovely people also staying. Our favorite B&B thus far in Newport. Thank you for a great little get away.

View more reviews for this inn


Great BnB in Newport at Adele Turner Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on February 27, 2017

I stayed at the Adele Turner Inn for Valentine's/President's Day weekend with my girlfriend. The BnB itself has nice little history and it was a joy to read more about where we were sleeping. The room itself was wonderful. The bed was comfortable and we had a nice view of the other houses in neighborhood. We also had a room with a fireplace with a wall timer - which was nice in the evenings. No complaints! I can't understate how great the service and onsite dining experience. The staff is warm and courteous. I was very impressed with the response time and their ability to make me feel like home. The breakfast was wonderful. I was excited to walk down the stairs for a delicious breakfast. I would stay at the Adele Turner Inn again.

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic getaway at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on February 26, 2017

This was the perfect place for a romantic getaway. Rooms are clean and cozy and the staff is amazing and so accommodating!

View more reviews for this inn


Newport Winter Weekend Getaway at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

3.4 reviewed on February 04, 2017

The location was fabulous, just 100 yards or so from the Cliff Walk. The host, hostess and staff were friendly and efficient. I imagine it must be a wonderful place to stay in peak summer season and hope to get there this summer.

View more reviews for this inn


Close to downtown, amazing breakfast, great room I'll be back again soon. Fran and Brian are great. Just too bad they don't like football. (Kidding). Wonderful stay. I would highly recommend it at Sarah Kendall House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on February 03, 2017

Fran and Jeff Van Tienen

View more reviews for this inn


Great place for a visit to Newport at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.6 reviewed on February 02, 2017

This old Victorian house is conveniently situated for walking around downtown Newport. Gardens of one of the more famous of the mansions, the Elms, is just across the street. Phil, the host, is delightful and most considerate of special dietary needs. Not the best place if you have trouble with stairs as the dining area has you looking over the neighboring roof tops. On the other hand there is a small living room on the first floor and obliging Phil is probably able to work something out.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely stay at a Historical Victorian B&B at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.6 reviewed on February 02, 2017

If you are looking for a historical Victorian B&B this will not disappoint! Steps away from cliff walk and home of Beatrice Turner . The staff were wonderful and rooms all unique and beautiful.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent breakfast at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on January 30, 2017

The room was tidy and warm. The owners were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The breakfast the following morning was outstanding. Would definitely return.

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B at Adele Turner Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.4 reviewed on January 28, 2017

The staff were excellent, friendly and prepared a delicious breakfast. Our room was very comfortable. Location was within walk of waterfront and many interesting sites in the area. Short drive to cliff walk and mansions. Highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


PreChristmas Birthday escape at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.2 reviewed on January 27, 2017

A very welcoming reception, classy snacks and meals all presented on schedule with a smile, and fabulous quarters that left nothing else to be desired. A laid back, relaxing atmosphere that had the details catered directly toward us and our stay. Top quality and service! We would definitely recommend a stay here!

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy and we felt pampered at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on January 23, 2017

Phil operates a wonderful B&B that is near to many options for dining and also to the famous "mansions". In fact, the Elms is directly across the street from this B&B. We've already booked a return visit. Phil was most thoughtful to adjust his breakfast offerings to accommodate some dietary needs of one of our party. This is NOT a place for someone who cannot manage stairs, I submit. Our breakfast was served in a lovely setting with excellent views, but it is on the 3rd floor (stairs only). There are some accommodations on the first floor and perhaps Phil could arrange to serve someone with mobility considerations in the parlor room, which is nicely outfitted.

View more reviews for this inn


Best Northeast B&B Yet at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on January 16, 2017

Stayed in the Cliffs and had a spectacular experience. Bill and Nancy have created a beautiful place with a wonderful staff. Cozy and spacious suite, comfortable bed w/great linens, jacuzzi tub and gas fireplace (I think in every room?). Complimentary bottle of Malbec and water bottles in place and turn down service with treats. Nice, right? I've stayed in B&Bs throughout the Northeast and all my expectations were met. The special part is the hospitality - their friendliness, hands-on approach, and attention to detail are unparalleled. Particularly loved how the breakfast and wine/tea hour are arranged so that I had fun gathered around the dining table with other guests. A lot of B&Bs have individual tables and people do not interact much. These twice daily opportunities to meet other vacationers and share stories and local recs as well as receive fantastic advice from Bill, Nancy, Elizabeth and Cindy - icing on the cake of a relaxing stay. Didn't see the other rooms / suites but everyone seemed happy and comfortable. I've spent this much and more in other places but have never been this impressed by how involved the owners were - and they seemed to really love what they do. I was there during the chef's 2 days off, and I wouldn't have known since Bill cooked delicious breakfasts both days. On arrival, Nancy quickly booked dinner reservation at a delicious farm to table restaurant as well - you know it's going to be good when they were celebrating their ownership anniversary there as well! Easy to understand why so many guests were repeat customers. What a treat! You don't want to miss The Cliffside Inn! Thank you, Nancy, Bill and the Cliffside Team!

View more reviews for this inn


Cliffside January weekend review at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on January 15, 2017

The Cliffside is a marvelous venue for a winter weekend getaway in Newport. I highly recommend it. Janet OConnell

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent stay at Samuel Durfee House at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on January 13, 2017

We were welcomed even before the check-in time by the innkeeper. The breakfast and service were outstanding. The rooms were small as is appropriate to the era of the house, yet charming and exquisitely decorated. The location was excellent for access to the downtown shops and restaurants. All were within walking distance. The value was excellent. Highly recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful time! at Henry Collins Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on January 12, 2017

Had a great time at the Henry Collins Inn! Staff was excellent all very nice and friendly. Will definitely be going back in the future. Breakfast spread they put out was amazing! Just a all around great time! Thank you!

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B I've stayed in yet! at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on January 09, 2017

Cliffside Inn made Rhode Island the highlight of our trip, and that included Times Square for NYE. The property is gorgeous and the staff were amazing. We got in late and they offered dining suggestions based on what we were looking for. We stayed in the Hydrangea Suite in the guest house and were greeted with complementary cookies and a bottle of wine. It couldn't be any more perfect. We will definitely be staying here on our next trip to New England.

View more reviews for this inn


Gorgeous property with attentive staff at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on January 08, 2017

My husband and I very much enjoyed our recent stay at the Cliffside Inn. The staff could not do enough for us, the room was gorgeous, spotless, and impeccably furnished, and, upon learning about her, I was drawn into the story of Beatrice Turner… a legendary former owner of the property.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B Experience Yet at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on January 05, 2017

Stayed in the Cliffs and had a spectacular experience. Bill and Nancy have created a beautiful place with a wonderful staff. Cozy and spacious suite, comfortable bed w/great linens, jacuzzi tub and gas fireplace (I think in every room?). Complimentary bottle of Malbec and water bottles in place and turn down service with treats. Nice, right? I've stayed in B&Bs throughout the Northeast and all my expectations were met. The special part is the hospitality - their friendliness, hands-on approach, and attention to detail are unparalleled. Particularly loved how the breakfast and wine/tea hour are arranged so that I had fun gathered around the dining table with other guests. A lot of B&Bs have individual tables and people do not interact much. These twice daily opportunities to meet other vacationers and share stories and local recs as well as receive fantastic advice from Bill, Nancy, Elizabeth and Cindy - icing on the cake of a relaxing stay. Didn't see the other rooms / suites but everyone seemed happy and comfortable. I've spent this much and more in other places but have never been this impressed by how involved the owners were - and they seemed to really love what they do. I was there during the chef's 2 days off, and I wouldn't have known since Bill cooked delicious breakfasts both days. On arrival, Nancy quickly booked dinner at a delicious farm to table restaurant as well - you know it's going to be good when they were celebrating their ownership anniversary there as well! Easy to understand why so many guests were repeat customers. What a treat! You don't want to miss The Cliffside Inn! Thank you, Nancy, Bill and the Cliffside Team!

View more reviews for this inn


Delicious inn at La Farge Perry House (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.4 reviewed on January 05, 2017

Nice place, wonderful room, peace and quiet and good breakfast

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect weekend getaway! at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on December 31, 2016

We had a terrific stay at the Cliffside! Bill and Nancy, Inn keepers are lovely. Made the perfect stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding at La Farge Perry House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on December 21, 2016

Wonderful getaway. Have already recommended it twice! Room luxurious, breakfast delicious, wine/cheese at 4 in the front room decadent, hospitality consistently superior. La Farge Perry exemplified the best of Newport.

View more reviews for this inn


Cliffside inn newport RI at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on December 21, 2016

second time at the inn, I love this place, warm and friendly. The rooms are beautiful. I never new how much I like old Victorian. The service is great, wine and cheese in the afternoon by the fire with a made to order breakfast in the morning owners are really nice and the staff is very friendly. My family and I will be back again in the spring.

View more reviews for this inn


Cliffside inn newport RI at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on December 20, 2016

Fantastic gem! Wouldn't stay anywhere else! Bill and Nancy are lovely Innkeepers, so personable. Cindy is a sweetheart and makes sure you have everything you need to enjoy Newport from restaurants to the mansions and everything in between. Great trip! Thank you!

View more reviews for this inn


Luxurious Newport at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.6 reviewed on December 14, 2016

An immersion in the gilded age luxury with a lovely room and beautifully decorated for the holiday season. We enjoyed the friendly hospitality and wonderful surrounds. Many thanks.

View more reviews for this inn


Cliffside Inn at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on December 13, 2016

We enjoyed our stay at the Cliffside Inn very much. We first stayed here for my husband's 50th birthday. Just stayed again for his 65th birthday with several visits in between. The new innkeepers have made the Cliffside even more beautiful. We love coming up during the holiday season. Cliffside is a perfect bed & breakfast! Marguerite & Robert Shannon

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful but Better for Night Owls at La Farge Perry House (Newport, Rhode Island)

2.6 reviewed on December 13, 2016

The room, home and property were amazing! So beautiful! The staff, when we saw them, were very pleasant. The dinning room had many interesting details in the decor, unfortunately we did not get to enjoy it to it's fullest. Breakfast is not served until 8:30, so for early risers such as ourselves we did not partake. Honestly I was very disappointed that we had to leave this beautiful home to seek sustenance elsewhere. As such, I cannot comment on the "onsite dining" as I did not have any food here and regarding "value" I didn't feel I got my money's worth since I paid for a bed AND breakfast for two but only got the bed.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Inn at La Farge Perry House (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.0 reviewed on December 09, 2016

The Inn was beautiful and was a great setting for a romantic weekend. The master bedroom was comfortable, clean and beautiful. It was a very large room. The location was also excellent. The reason it didn't get excellent scores across the board was because I just didn't think the person in charge there was very helpful or forthcoming on things we should try to do there in Newport. It was our first time there so weren't familiar with the area.

View more reviews for this inn


About Newport

New England has spectacular accommodations with architecture from the Gilded Age. Vacationers enjoy such hotel alternatives as oceanfront inns, houses, and lodges open to vistas of the blue waters of Newport Bay and Rhode Island Sound. Guests are pampered with marble bathrooms, flat screen televisions, and antique décor. They set the stage for touring a plethora of attractions including mansions, lighthouses, and natural wonders.

Spend Time in the Newport Mansions

The Preservation Society of Newport County has the responsibility to maintain the most palatial mansions in the country. They date back to the 1800s with original artwork and furnishings in place. Each one is located along the southern shoreline of Newport. Visitors are treated to guided tours or can meander at a leisurely pace seven days per week during the May to October season.

Explore the Green Animals Topiary Garden

What started as a country estate has turned the city of Portsmouth into an attraction. The first topiary garden in the country sits on seven acres with a backdrop of the Narragansett Bay. Tourists are surrounded by 80 tree sculptures and gardens with flowerbeds, herb gardens, and fruit trees. The rose arbor along with 34 other species creates geometric pathways. Delightful animal figures such as a giraffe, ostrich, elephant, teddy bear, and other favorites are showcased.

Take the Lighthouse Tours

A variety of historical lighthouses exists throughout the area. Castle Hill is the most famous with its granite structure highlighted by massive boulders. This landmark is not open to the public, although it still guides vessels. Jamestown is home to 64-foot Beavertail Lighthouse, which sits on the southern tip of Beavertail State Park. From this vantage point, the next two stops on the tour can be seen. A ferry ride is required to reach Rose Island Lighthouse, while Point Judith Lighthouse is a 25-mile drive to Narragansett.

Enjoy Four Seasons in Newport

Spring, summer, and fall are glorious seasons with diverse foliage dressing this destination. Even summers in Newport don''t get too hot, with temperatures averaging only in the upper-70s in the months of July and August. Temperatures are milder than most New England getaways due to the water’s proximity. Expect mild to cool evenings with ocean breezes. Sweaters should be considered after sunset.

Top
}