Recent Reviews in Newport, Rhode Island

Very nice place to stay at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on September 12, 2017

Wonderful room. Excellent host. Great location. I would highly recommend this BnB.

View more reviews for this inn


End of Summer at Black Duck Inn at Newport Blues Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on September 07, 2017

We stayed at a suite at the Black Duck Inn the end of August. The Inn is Art Deco and beautifully done. Our room was spacious with a fireplace and Jacuzzi. Everything in the room was top quality. The breakfast was delicious both mornings we stayed. There is a variety of food to choose from and your hot entrée is made to order. This is the second time we stayed at one of the blues inn B & B's and we will be back. The location is a short walk to the harbor. Park the car and enjoy Newport.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming inn at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on September 06, 2017

Best part was hospitality of Bill and Nancy, the innkeepers. Will definitely come again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay! at Victorian Ladies Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on September 05, 2017

I visited the Inn on 8/20 for a wedding and it was the perfect place for me to stay for a quick trip. The innkeeper was lovely and the room was so cozy. Definitely will stay here again!

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary in Newport at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on August 31, 2017

Wonderful Anniversary stay at The Cliffside Inn. Met Bill and Nancy Bagwill, the owners, and found 'so much in common' - 'Almost relatives ' !!! The Inn is lovely, service and amenities great, and a wonderful breakfast too...... The Inn is in a perfect location which is peaceful and quiet among the Mansions.... But not far from restaurants, beach and activities, We biked among the Mansions and walked along The Cliff Walk, which is right out the front door.... We will absolutely stay there again on our next visit to Newport. Thanks, Nancy and Bill. Love your Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


dogs in newport at Cooney Cottage (Newport, Rhode Island)

3.0 reviewed on August 29, 2017

great location can walk everywhere lodging for dogs

View more reviews for this inn


good stay at 1833 at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on August 29, 2017

Inn located conveniently near mansions. Close to a variety of good restaurants in walking distance. Room a little small but price reasonable by Newport standards. King bed was very comfortable. Host was very nice and helpful with restaurant and attraction recommendations. Breakfast was very good with more choices than usual at B & Bs.

View more reviews for this inn


Love staying here at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on August 29, 2017

This was our second year staying here. Heather and Michael are so welcoming and attentive. Breakfast and pasties are delicious. Location couldn't be better.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay in Newport!! at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.2 reviewed on August 25, 2017

First B&B experience as I'm more of a hotel guy, but our experience was nearly perfect. Location, service, dining and hospitality were absolutely top notch!!

View more reviews for this inn


Great value and wonderful stay at Eden Manor (Wakefield, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on August 25, 2017

We have stayed at this b&b several times with children since visiting Narragansett 10 plus years ago. This was our 3rd stay at the Eden Manor. We love the proximity to the beach and town. The Eden's have lovingly restored this home and the rooms are large,comfortable, and spotless. Breakfast is delicious and nutritious as well. The Eden family is welcoming but not obtrusive and we love coming here.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend Getaway at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on August 25, 2017

My husband and I recently stayed here for a long weekend - our first trip away without our 15 month old! Our stay we lovely- the location was perfect(walking distance to everything), The Perry Room even had a slight ocean view! Breakfast was delicious every morning. We'd definitely stay again when returning to newport!

View more reviews for this inn


Our Yearly Visit to Newport! at Victorian Ladies Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on August 24, 2017

What can I say? I think this summer, 2017 may be our 8th consecutive stay at The Victorian Ladies Inn. Cindy, D, T, and S are some of my favorite people. You truly feel welcomed by everyone. So friendly. Sincere. The rooms, each one is perfect with a reasonable price range. The breakfasts are delicious! Fresh fruit salad, homemade coffee cake, breads, bagels, cereal (w/homemade granola) etc. The best of all are the egg dishes with crabmeat, French Toast with strawberries and marscapone cheese. I could go on and on. When you hear location is everything. It's so true. The inn is within walking distance to the beach, The Cliffwalk, the mansions and center of town. Come and stay and you'll agree with my review!

View more reviews for this inn


A Place To Forget ! at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

1.4 reviewed on August 24, 2017

The room smelled from bleach ! Lots of dust bunnies ! Generally dirty in appearance! The mattress , bedding and furniture was thrift store quality The "breakfast" was sub par and served in a less than clean dining area, the kitchen was dirty.. The onsite pictures are misleading...The "garden" area was over grown and had broken furniture...not very inviting at all.. The smell of mildew permeated the building... This was not a good experience on any level !!!

View more reviews for this inn


Comfortable, Clean, & Quiet -Amazing Breakfast! at Beech Tree Inn & Cottage (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.6 reviewed on August 24, 2017

Upon arrival, Tom greeted us with a big friendly smile and kindly explained all of the amenities available at this B&B, and offered some suggestions for activities and restaurants in the area. Tom also provided us with a great little doggie welcome bag containing a couple of treats, a towel to wipe the dog's feet if necessary, a couple of good quality poopscoop bags, and a sheet for the four legged traveler to lay on. We stayed in the pet-friendly Room-103, which was very clean and bright with a nice comfortable queen-size bed. While the room decor may have been a little dated the entire space, ensuite bathroom, and furniture were all immaculately clean. This B&B is in a quiet residential neighborhood within a 10-minute walk to restaurants and bars down on Broadway, and about a 20-minute walk to the bustling waterfront area (which is something we very much appreciated). The breakfast room was full to capacity when we arrived in the morning and we were offered the option of having our breakfast outside on the backyard patio, which we accepted and this turned out to be a very enjoyable experience. The breakfast was excellent; you'll have the choice of fresh made omelettes, french toast, pancakes, or eggs made to order, all of which came with potato homefries, bacon, ham, or sausage. All of the staff here are extremely cheerful, friendly, and helpful, which really adds a wonderful touch to the overall B&B experience. We'll be staying here again soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Impressive beautiful suite at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on August 21, 2017

A very beautiful place and the staff are all very helpful and friendly

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful experience at Adele Turner Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.6 reviewed on August 19, 2017

This was our first time staying at a Bed and Breakfast. Our experience exceeded our expectations. Everyone was so friendly. The staff went out of their way to answer questions. The room was spacious and airy. The bed was very comfortable. We will definitely be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Newport Blues Inn Review at Newport Blues Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

3.8 reviewed on August 18, 2017

This B&B was the perfect place to stay! When we arrived, we were greeted with a map and great explanation of the area! This B&B is in the perfect location!! Just a few blocks up from heart of town, so you can walk there! And a 3 minute drive to the Mansions and Cliff Walk. Another great bonus is that parking is included! There is a great porchand back patio to enjoy and they always put out little treats and coffee throughout the day! And although I didn't use it, they even had a bucket of beach towels to borrow! I totally recommend th3 Newport Blues Inn!

View more reviews for this inn


good option in Newport at Artful Lodger Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.4 reviewed on August 16, 2017

The Inn Is located within walking distance of the Mansions and near several good restaurants. The Innkeeper is helpful with recommendations for activities and dining options. Breakfast is excellent with more choices than are often available at B & Bs. There is a refrigerator stocked with drinks and snacks. Beds are very comfortable. The room was a bit small but more than adequate. The price was reasonable by the standards of Newport lodging which tend to be high priced. Parking is available on site.

View more reviews for this inn


Garden Suite Stay at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.4 reviewed on August 15, 2017

The Garden Suite was fantastic with two levels, a Jacuzzi tub and private patio with a fountain! The location was within walking distance of the downtown area (about 1 mile) and very close to the Cliff Walk & ocean. We were celebrating a 50th birthday and really enjoyed the Cliffside Inn & interacting with the owners and staff.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place and relaxing at Eden Manor (Wakefield, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on August 13, 2017

Nice grounds. A lot of character. Relaxing

View more reviews for this inn


Love this B&B and our hosts Heather and Michael are terrific people at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.8 reviewed on August 12, 2017

Breakfasts and midday. snack are wonderful. The feeling is serene - like a million miles away from regular life

View more reviews for this inn


WI to RI at Samuel Durfee House (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on August 11, 2017

Well managed and pleasant property. Would recommend and would return.

View more reviews for this inn


We love Cooney Cottage at Cooney Cottage (Newport, Rhode Island)

4.4 reviewed on August 09, 2017

Great place to stay. Very clean. Rachel is a wonderful host. beautiful rooms, onsite parking. We love staying at Cooney Cottage.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent B & B at Cliffside Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on August 08, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay -- the rooms are beautifully decorated, the breakfasts are delicious, and the staff is friendly and helpful. Great location within easy walking distance of the cliff walk.

View more reviews for this inn


Can't wait to go back! at Victorian Ladies Inn (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on August 07, 2017

Perfect setting to celebrate our 20 year anniversary! Beautiful property and the best breakfast in town! Perfect distance to walk to downtown.

View more reviews for this inn


OUR ANNIVERSARY AT REED ROSE COTTAGE at Reed Rose Cottage Pool and Suites (Newport, Rhode Island)

5 reviewed on August 04, 2017

This is our third visit to Reed Rose Cottage, our third because we absolutely love it. The innkeepers Charron and Jim are such wonderful hosts. The two of them made us feel at home and made sure we had all that we needed to make our stay one to remember. Charron makes a Quiche that is out of this world. The rooms are immaculate and comfortable. We plan to spend every anniversary at this beautiful escape as long as we can.

View more reviews for this inn


About Newport

New England has spectacular accommodations with architecture from the Gilded Age. Vacationers enjoy such hotel alternatives as oceanfront inns, houses, and lodges open to vistas of the blue waters of Newport Bay and Rhode Island Sound. Guests are pampered with marble bathrooms, flat screen televisions, and antique décor. They set the stage for touring a plethora of attractions including mansions, lighthouses, and natural wonders.

Spend Time in the Newport Mansions

The Preservation Society of Newport County has the responsibility to maintain the most palatial mansions in the country. They date back to the 1800s with original artwork and furnishings in place. Each one is located along the southern shoreline of Newport. Visitors are treated to guided tours or can meander at a leisurely pace seven days per week during the May to October season.

Explore the Green Animals Topiary Garden

What started as a country estate has turned the city of Portsmouth into an attraction. The first topiary garden in the country sits on seven acres with a backdrop of the Narragansett Bay. Tourists are surrounded by 80 tree sculptures and gardens with flowerbeds, herb gardens, and fruit trees. The rose arbor along with 34 other species creates geometric pathways. Delightful animal figures such as a giraffe, ostrich, elephant, teddy bear, and other favorites are showcased.

Take the Lighthouse Tours

A variety of historical lighthouses exists throughout the area. Castle Hill is the most famous with its granite structure highlighted by massive boulders. This landmark is not open to the public, although it still guides vessels. Jamestown is home to 64-foot Beavertail Lighthouse, which sits on the southern tip of Beavertail State Park. From this vantage point, the next two stops on the tour can be seen. A ferry ride is required to reach Rose Island Lighthouse, while Point Judith Lighthouse is a 25-mile drive to Narragansett.

Enjoy Four Seasons in Newport

Spring, summer, and fall are glorious seasons with diverse foliage dressing this destination. Even summers in Newport don''t get too hot, with temperatures averaging only in the upper-70s in the months of July and August. Temperatures are milder than most New England getaways due to the water’s proximity. Expect mild to cool evenings with ocean breezes. Sweaters should be considered after sunset.

Top
check }