Recent Reviews in Newark, Delaware

Comfortable Stay at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

2.8 reviewed on November 08, 2016

The building, its grounds, and location in Elkton, are beautiful, but we felt the B&B was not living up to its full potential. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and quiet, but seemed a little dated. As did other areas of the Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Home away from home! at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.0 reviewed on November 03, 2016

Second stay at this bed and breakfast. Comfortable, relaxing and a great place to refresh from a busy life.

View more reviews for this inn


Needed date night at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.4 reviewed on September 26, 2016

Well...we have 4 kiddos and live away from family in Texas so we don't get many chances to get away by ourselves. I wanted to do something nice for our 16 year anniversary and this was exactly what we needed, a nice place away from the normal hotel stay. Everything was very nice and clean on our arrival. We stayed in the Wilmington suite, which was very affordable and cozy. The breakfast was definitely one of the highlights. I definitely recommend the elk forge and hope to visit again in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend getaway at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

3.2 reviewed on September 11, 2016

We don't expect to be pampered or wowed when we stay anywhere, if we are its a nice surprise, so with that being said it just didn't happen here. Suite was sub par in decor, although nice and roomy and the sleep number bed was a perk. The included breakfast was delicious but on last day of our stay once the two catering size trays of food were empty the last few guests to get to the dining room went without. The interior of the Inn was quant, old, with nice details and same with the outside, but you could tell there was a lack of required routine maintenance that is keeping this place from moving to the next level.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect. Definitly be going back at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on September 10, 2016

What a cool little place. My husband and I got to speak with the caretakers of the property while there (Brittany & Seth) who just so happened to be as charming and interesting as the house itself. They gave us quite o bit of background on Elk Forge as well. The main house is over 200 years old (the additions were added in 2000 when it was turned into a bed and breakfast). Only 2 owners have held the deed to this property in it's 200 year history. Seth, one of the current owners son's (and dual property manager along with is equally amazing and hardworking wife Brittany) has traveled the country staying at several different B&B's in order to get a feel for the style and quality he wanted to bring to this unique little getaway located in Elkton MD. It's definitely a step back in time to a more old school feel. Cracks in the walls show the homes age while simultaneously giving it character without the feel of it it falling apart. Lots of things have been re-purposed and reused. From all the stained glass windows that remind you of a church, to the old furniture and even the amazing artwork all over the walls and ceilings....it all just goes to prove that no stone was left unturned while converting this house into a budding B&B dream. The homes' charm and character can't be ignored from the moment you turn up the driveway. As you step across the threshold a very relaxing feeling of yesteryear consumes you while still giving off an air of elegance at the same time. What a beautiful place. So glad we found it. We will definitely be going back. We stayed in the Baltimore Room. The bed was BEYOND comfortable and it felt just like my bed at home. The bathroom was quaint and the decor was very elegant. I just can't say enough glowing and positive things about this place. It's a must to see and experience if you're going to be in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic getaway at Elk Forge at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on September 01, 2016

Everything we had hoped for... very romantic

View more reviews for this inn


Return visit - another great stay at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

3.6 reviewed on August 20, 2016

This was our 2nd visit to Elk Forge - different room, again charming. Stay this time too short to enjoy all available but appreciated amenities including afternoon snacks.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely B & B at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.8 reviewed on August 14, 2016

We were very pleased with our stay at Elk Forge. The room was very clean and beautifully decorated. We enjoyed breakfast in the lovely sun room and afternoon tea with cake/cookies. We also enjoyed the beautiful grounds. The inn was very quiet and the staff very friendly.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.4 reviewed on August 12, 2016

Already planning our second stay here. Every staff member was polite and helpful. Rooms were great and we loved the outside view. A definite place to stay for anyone.

View more reviews for this inn


Very charming B&B at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.0 reviewed on July 16, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised by the charming, peaceful and romantic setting. This B&B has the feel of a chic boutique Hotel. The breakfast menu is great. Highly recommended for couples needing a get away from daily hustle.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay! at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

3.8 reviewed on July 03, 2016

The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. Definitely want to come back.

View more reviews for this inn


First time B&B guest at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

3.4 reviewed on June 29, 2016

Rocky start, no one was at the front desk when we arrived. After the front desk woman came in, it was smooth sailing. The rooms were beautiful, the grounds so pretty. The staff very helpful.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.6 reviewed on June 20, 2016

Recently we stayed here and had no issues. The service was great, all the workers were friendly. Rooms were clean when we got there, only complaint is the rooms were slightly smaller than expected and the air conditioner was in the bathroom. We stayed in one of the rooms on the 3rd floor. The breakfast in the morning was excellent, lots of variety from making your own waffles, oats, yogurt, and they also have hot dishes everyday (we had different scramble eggs with bacon and sausage). Highly recommend if your in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


Fairview Room at Elk Forge B&B at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

3.6 reviewed on June 17, 2016

We appreciated the phone call from Jen giving us our check in details the night we were coming in. Our room was on the third floor and very quiet. There is a dorm size fridge in the hall where one could store refrigerated items. Breakfast was served buffet style each morning with an assortment of hot dishes, fruit, and waffles.

View more reviews for this inn


Would definitely come back! at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.2 reviewed on May 27, 2016

I loved my stay!

View more reviews for this inn


A bit disappointing at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

2.4 reviewed on April 22, 2016

The positives - property grounds are great. Especially if traveling with a dog. Person who greeted us was friendly and helpful. Room was quite large. The disappointing - room didn't smell "clean". It was a pet friendly room on lower level so I suppose some mustiness to be expected. There appeared to be some water stains on ceiling, and possibly some mold around it. Would like at least one bar of bath/facial soap, rather than everything liquid out of a bottle. No tissues. The main rooms of the inn could be great, but this one was not.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely place to spend quality time! at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.0 reviewed on April 18, 2016

This was a great place for an anniversary celebration. I selected the romantic package which included extras such as setting up the room during dinner with roses and candles throughout. We did not have onsite dining, but the package included a gift certificate at a local restaurant which was fabulous! My expectations were met and far exceeded what I anticipated. The weekend we stayed, the spa was closed. That was the only other thing I wished was available to us.

View more reviews for this inn


Great get away! at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on April 16, 2016

Very inviting and cozy. Quiet, the grounds are beautiful. Service and amenities are awesome. Best time was the hot tub! And walking the trails especially down by the creek.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing Getaway! at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on March 21, 2016

My stay was very relaxing and enjoyable. If you're looking to take a break, this is the place to go. The staff made you feel at home and they made delicious breakfast. There are various attractions nearby and the B&B also had many amenities for everyone to enjoy.

View more reviews for this inn


We will be coming back. at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.0 reviewed on March 17, 2016

Very nice get away. We will be coming back to this clean, peaceful, relaxing retreat.

View more reviews for this inn


Misleading at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

1.6 reviewed on March 16, 2016

No one to see me in upon arrival; greeted only by an envelope; no clarity where to park (with other residence-look alike structures being adjacent); no hot breakfast as customary for B&B establishments (offering a mere Continental Breakfast is far below the expected quality of the only inlcuded meal, especially, when the accommodation cost is taken into consideration) and then to offer it within an unreasonable time frame (7:00AM breakfast starting hour are found in abundance at hotels, 9:30AM finishing hour is also largely unheard of for B&Bs; ignored/not acknowledged as a paying guest just like those who received careful attention and orientation after my almost 2 full-day stay; no notification of a friend's long distance purchase and personal note arrangement with someone from the inn for a bottle of wine -until that friend mentioned her gift during my casual phone conversation with her on my last evening at the inn - in sum: too many details about this B&B were and are uncalled for. This stay was not my first or second at this type of establishment. It will, however, be my last at this particular inn.

View more reviews for this inn


A nice weekend get away at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.6 reviewed on March 14, 2016

Was a very nice stay with a lot to offer. Our first time here and we will be back. Was a nice change of pace from the everyday hotel. Close to attractions and a very helpful and friendly staff.

View more reviews for this inn


Welcoming and Romantic at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.8 reviewed on February 29, 2016

The atmosphere at Elk Forge is so welcoming! You really do feel like you're just part of the family living in a large estate. We didn't get to explore much of the grounds due to weather but the view made it look like it would be a nice walk/hike. We stayed in the Chespeake room. Everything was so clean and the bed and linens were super comfy! The water pressure left something to be desired but it's honestly the only criticism I can muster. The breakfast was so tasty and they keep a little dish of pastries and cookies out for that midnight snack :) We have already discussed making this a yearly tradition just as a time to reconnect. We loved it!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Experience! at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.4 reviewed on February 25, 2016

Truly enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make the stay enjoyable.

View more reviews for this inn


Great first time at a B&B at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

3.8 reviewed on February 11, 2016

The breakfast wasn't anything to rave home about, but the hospitality of the staff was! Everyone was super nice and attentive! The rooms were clean and space with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. I would definitely recommend Elk Forge as a great place to stay and plan on coming back!

View more reviews for this inn


Incredible place. I will definitely come back at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on February 09, 2016

Lovely B&B. Outstanding customer service and a totally relaxing atmosphere. I will definitely return for another stay

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy Getaway at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.6 reviewed on January 31, 2016

We stayed in the Valley Forge Suite after purchasing a Groupon deal for the property. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was exceptionally comfortable as was the jacuzzi tub, and the gas fireplace kept the room warm and cozy.

View more reviews for this inn


My stay at elk forge at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

3.6 reviewed on January 25, 2016

Very nice property. The room was outstanding. The food service could've been better.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Getaway at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on January 22, 2016

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the facility. The Country Club suite was extremely cozy and the breakfast was top notch! We loved the 2 room suite and all it had to offer. The bed was nice, the bathroom was clean.     All in all, we had a wonderful, relaxing time. We took a stroll on the grounds which was a nice breath of fresh air. The hospitality we recieved was amazing and everyone on the staff was courteous and kind. I would reccommend Elk Forge to anyone looking for a nice little retreat, 5 stars!

View more reviews for this inn


Good place for a honeymoon at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on January 09, 2016

My wife and I had a short weekend honeymoon here, and it was a great experience! This is a renovated colonial mansion, which gives it a very interesting look and unique rooms. It was comfortable and well-maintained - we may come back here sometime!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}