Rosemont Inn Bed and Breakfast Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Service4.2
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Onsite Dining4.1

Score Breakdown based on
26 Reviews

Write A Review

Friendly and cozy

5 on October 16, 2016

This was an excellent place to stay while we visited our granddaughter at Utica college. The room was clean and people friendly and helpful. We will be staying there a lot the next four years. : )


5 on August 30, 2016

I could not say enough about the generous hospitality, beautiful and inviting decor on a lovely street. My family had a wonderful stay in one of the larger rooms that was very comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was our favorite time of day with generous and absolutely delicious choices. Looking forward to coming back in the Fall!


4.4 on March 28, 2016

We had a wonderful stay. The friendliness and hospitality of fhe whole family made us so comfortable. Our room was beautiful. The food was also absolutely yummy!


5 on March 22, 2016

We had such a wonderful time. The house is so comfortable, and so was the bed. It was so relaxing, and we went home feeling refreshed and happy.

Our visit out to the mid west

4.6 on February 23, 2016

I only gave a 3 on onsite dining because they only serve breakfast but this is not a negative. It's a B&B so you don't expect to have dinner. It's a great little Inn if you are traveling across Rt. 90 and need a nice place to rest for the night.

Don't Stay Anywhere Else

4.6 on January 12, 2016

Super, well run, friendly B&B. Historic house run by great family who know how to make a great breakfast. I tried most every hotel in the Utica area- this is the best place to stay. Don't miss it!

It hit on all the important things

3.0 on December 28, 2015

This is a great old building with antique furnishings. The rooms are large and clean. There have been some modern touches added that just don't seem to fit with the overall décor. Just missed on the details. We were there mid Dec and there wasn't any Christmas decorations up, still pumpkins on the deck. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. There isn't any choice, just 1 main dish served along with muffing and fruit. Basically a nice B & B with good rates just needs a little detail work.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast. I do struggle with keeping up with the change of seasons and decorating for Christmas. Something to add to my list of things to work on for 2016.

No more hotels for me

5 on October 19, 2015

This place was a time machine back to another era. Full of charm and well preserved antiques made it a welcome change from the usual hotel fare. I loved every bit of my stay. The service was wonderful, Rita and her family really take pride in their business & it shows in the way she speaks of the history of the Rosemont Inn and the way they interact with the guests; very warm and very genuine. It was a breath of fresh air to stay at this venue, only 5 min walk from my son's school. I will always book my travel stay here.

Nice Visit

4.2 on October 04, 2015

Surprised there was no tv. WiFi was less than adequate. Breakfast was wonderful and Rita provided excellent directions to our next stop. Neighborhood was a little scary.

Pretty darn goid

3.6 on December 09, 2014

A wonderful historic place with sincere helpful owner. A little tacky: readers digest condensed book selection and old limited supply of magazines; the breakfast was delicious but limited - no juice or fruits. But the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms immaculate. Best of all: the kindness of the host and her willingness to guide. Utica is a gem walking distance from here.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind words! We think Utica is a gem as well but not everyone agrees. I am sorry you didn't get any fruit or juice since I usually offer both. Time to weed through the old magazines and books!

Comfort and beauty in a grand house

5 on November 11, 2014

I loved both of my stays at the Rosemont Inn: The first was in the cozy, single Sweet Inspirations room and the second was in the spacious front suite of this grand 19th Century home. Both were comfortable, relaxing retreats with lovely antique furnishings and details in the rooms and throughout the house. Innkeepers Bob & Rita are friendly and very accommodating. Rita's delicious, skilfully prepared full breakfast on rose-patterned china featured local produce and ingredients. The Rosemont's central location on Genesee Street is close to events, but offers a quiet, charming oasis. Highly recommended!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your lovely words. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you on your next visit to Utica!

Elegant B&B

5 on October 17, 2014

Rosemont Inn is a very elegant B&B. The room my wife and I stayed in (The Othello) was very clean, very cozy, very quiet. The king size bed, is, without a doubt, the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. Owners are very nice and sees that all of your needs are met. If we ever return to Utica we will stay here again. Art & Paula Barbeau Massachusetts.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, Art and Paula! You spent the "flagship weekend" in our newly upgraded and redecorated Othello room. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you both again. Best, Rita and Bob

A step back in time

4.6 on October 03, 2014

This was a long over due trip back to my hometown. It is located in the neighborhood where I went to elementary school. It was a joy filled trip down memory lane and a reconnection to family, two of my first cousins whom I had not seen in 50 years. We had an awesome reunion. This B&B was a great home away from home. My sister and I were able to be room mates for the weekend. The hospitality was warm and welcoming. Thanks for a great weekend.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your kind words. We enjoyed being part of your trip down memory lane and were especially happy to help you make some new memories! Best to you and all your family. Rita and Bob

We had a nice stay at Rosemont

3.8 on August 11, 2014

Only 1 night stay. Wonderful breakfast and good conversation with hosts.

Victorian charm and expert local knowledge -- a winning combo!

4.8 on July 24, 2014

Rosemont is immaculately decorated and laid out -- beautiful period decor, elegant rooms -- and the proprietors Bob and Rita have detailed local knowledge. Rita found me the hairstylist I needed and for another guest, their back ache was relieved by an excellent masseur! To top it all off the food is excellent -- Rita makes her own breakfast sausage (spicy and delicious) because nothing mass-produced is up to her standards, for example. I had to leave early and still had a lovely breakfast; Bob helped with my suitcase -- nothing is too much trouble. There is a delightful guest lounge, tea, fruit, home-baked cookies -- my only quibble would be that I'm not keen on 'rainforest' showers but that's my taste. Loved reading a book on the porch as much as I did sleeping in the comfy bed and the peace and quiet of well-named 'Solitude' suite.

Pleasant Bed&Breakfast

3.6 on July 13, 2013

Could use some towel racks in bathroom. Old, noisy air conditioner in room. Control knob missing. Very good breakfast. Excellent coffee. Could use a lighted sign in front to help find place at night.

A lovely stay

3.4 on February 01, 2013

My fiance and I met here (a convenient mid-point between Boston and Toronto) and enjoyed a quiet, undisturbed weekend with breakfast served to our room and with clean, comfortable, romantic accommodations. This was a haven in the midst of winter. Highly recommended.

This was my second stay at this B&B. Once again I enjoyed the innkeepers we had the place to ourselves and my dog loves this place.

4.0 on January 24, 2013

This was my second stay at this B&B. Once again I enjoyed the innkeepers we had the place to ourselves and my dog loves this place.

Utica flower

4.2 on October 19, 2012

Two nights at the Rosemont. Charming decor. Great breakfast with gluten free option. I loved the waffles. Great room. Rita was a wonderful host and I enjoyed the little details like super quality linens, press pot tea service available 24/7.

Very Clean

3.0 on August 08, 2012

I picked this B&B because it was at a half way mark in our trip. The B&B is very beautiful on the inside, exceptionally clean! The outside was another story, it literally sits in the ghetto and the back of it looked junky. I was scared to go outside. There was really no service there, no front desk, no snacks or tea as advertised. The breakfast was fresh and organic however did fit the taste of everyone. The innkeeper was not very friendly. If we would have know what we were getting into we would have chosen another B&B in a better area.

Great place to stay en route on the NY Thruway

4.4 on January 09, 2012

Beautiful B&B. Warm, friendly service. Highly recommended.

Addams Family in Utica

2.2 on September 27, 2011

We stay at B & Bs for the congenial atmosphere, and so we can learn about the surrounding area, mixing with the host(s) and other guests. We arrived to a locked door at 5:30 pm. It was eventually opened by a gloomy man, who told us to come in, and immediately asked "So, how are you paying for this?". Not a smile, not a word of welcome. We paid first because after a 6 hour drive, we hadn't the energy to look elsewhere. Attempts at being friendly made by us were met with monosyllabic answers. I was waiting for the Lurch like groan. At the bottom of the stairs was a sign offering to sell the bed linens. Breakfast served at 4 seat cafe tables, by another expressionless waiter. Nobody asked if we had food preferences or allergies. I don't think the hosts even live there. We could have booked a motel room and got just as impersonal service. This one goes on my list of 3 B & Bs that I won't return too; I've been B & B'ing for over 20 years.

Lovely alternative to the wedding hotel

4.4 on August 13, 2011

We stayed at the Rosemont in early August when we were in town for a family wedding. We were very comfortable at the Rosemont - the rooms are lovely, our hosts were very accommodating and we had everything we needed. Our room had a private bath, a small fridge, NO tv, wireless internet and a very comfy bed with super soft sheets. We plan to stay there next time we're in Utica.

Would highly recommend!

4.2 on January 02, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights the weekend before Christmas... as last minute decision. Wonderful room, very comfortable bed, and the Sley family was very accommodating and made us feel right at home. Breakfast was very tasteful and the owners patronize local suppliers - which we always appreciate. Before we left we toured the house and have already picked out which room we will stay in during our next visit!!


5 on January 26, 2010

Loved the room decor and furniture. Breakfast served in the room was artistic, healthy and tasteful. Service impeccable. (Bed sloped toward the middle in Lavender Room - need more towel racks).

Very pleasant stay

4.0 on May 21, 2008

I was in the Rome/Utica NY area for business and since it was graduation time around the area for the local colleges and universities, I booked my 12-day stay at my first bed & breakfast. What a nice change of pace from the usual uninspiring hotel room! The accomodations were spotless and beautiful, with very nice linens and towels, and freshly baked cookies and tea available at all time. My initial apprehension about being without a TV or phone in the room was misplaced--all we had to do was go down to the parlor to be able to watch our favorite shows in the evening - just like being at home! And the breakfasts were wonderful too - Rita makes her own granola and she got me totally addicted to her wonderful poached pears, not to mention the peanut butter cookies and the homemade biscotti. I fully recommend this B&B for anyone who is looking for a quiet and safe place to stay.

Rosemont Inn Bed and Breakfast


  • Nightly Rate $139 - $189
  • Reviews (26) 4.2
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3157979033
  • Mobile 1-3157909315

Visit Website »

View details