Recent Reviews in New London, New Hampshire

"Dust, dust, dust" at The New London Inn (New London, New Hampshire)

1.8 reviewed on August 30, 2017

I checked in for one night leaving early the next morning, on business. Check in was pleasant enough. My room was on the third floor – no elevator, but that was fine. The room (#32) was a small-ish double. It initially looked ok until I noticed the dust. Then I looked at the painted white nightstand and was shocked, covered in thick dust with a big long black hair. Then I realized it was every surface. When I called the desk I noticed the phone was also horribly dusty. I told the front desk, and she said “OK, we can put you in another room”. Not a single “sorry” was offered. She asked what room (of 2) I would like and that I could come downstairs to get the new key. (she did not offer to bring the key to me ). She did make an excuse that the dust was because it is an “old hotel”. I said if that is the case then the other rooms would be just as dusty, no? She said “No, there isn’t as much of a demand for the smaller double rooms that I had booked,” so they don’t get turned as often. (Which begged the question: then why don’t you make sure to clean them before a guest checks in?) I went down for the key (even tho they should have offered to bring it to me!). My new room was just as bad. When I went down to return the first room key I told her this and that I was going to use a washcloth to wipe everything down. She was clearly annoyed at me but did offer to come up to dust it for me, but I said no. She again said “OK” and still not one single “I’m sorry” about the dust or the inconvenience or anything. So I dusted the new room, tables, phone, headboards – all were horribly dusty. In addition to the dust on all the surfaces, there was dust all around the edges of the carpet and under the beds were horrible. Terrible attitude from the front desk woman who clearly was annoyed. (she should not be working in the hospitality business!) that said, breakfast next morning was really nice. lovely breakfast room, nice servers and the breakfast was nicely done.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect place for a wedding!!! at Inn at Pleasant Lake (New London, NH)

5 reviewed on August 19, 2017

It’s been two months since The Inn at Pleasant Lake hosted our daughter's wedding, but the passage of time has not dampened our enthusiasm in recommending this place for your wedding. The owners, Jennifer and Scott, were so attentive to every need and want both before and throughout our entire weekend. Whether it was set up or last minute details, they were the perfect gracious hosts and were right there by our side to lend a helpful hand. Plus, they are just really nice people. Chef Bryan Leary made our reception! If you’ve not had a chance to sit at his tables, and dine on his creative meals, you have missed out on an absolutely wonderful experience. He is so creative that our daughter decided to fold the Chef’s presentation into the reception. Jess, their event coordinator, was excellent. She was kind, helpful, responsive, an excellent communicator, and reduced stress at every turn. If you’re considering a small to medium sized wedding, say 60 to 80 people, this is a perfect choice. Did I mention the beautiful lakeside location, and the lovely outdoor wedding arbor? Plus, you have the opportunity to have your entire family together for the entire weekend in a quaint and historic inn. The rooms were all charming, clean, well attended and comfortable. The service by the wait staff at all our meals was friendly and exceptional. We are giving our weekend five stars and a huge thank you to the Inn, the owners and the staff!

View more reviews for this inn


Adorable Inn -friendliest owners at The New London Inn (New London, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on January 10, 2017

This Inn was immaculate and was nicely furnished in each room. The Owners are an extremely friendly couple who made everyone feel right at home. They made a delicious breakfast each morning. We would definitely go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Pleasant stay in New London at The New London Inn (New London, New Hampshire)

4.6 reviewed on January 10, 2017

The New London Inn is super charming, from the moment you walk in you are greeted with a very warm and inviting staff. We had a double room which was a good size to accommodate me and 2 children. Even though the hotel is over 200 year old, the rooms are updated with all the amenities you need. The best part about the inn is the restaurant, amazing food, we ate dinner and breakfast there. I have stayed at the inn on 2 separate occasions and will definitely go back.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent New England Stay at The New London Inn (New London, New Hampshire)

4.8 reviewed on January 10, 2017

Had a very enjoyable stay at the New London Inn. Had a problem with some theater tickets that the staff went above and beyond to correct. Inn on premises was excellent.

View more reviews for this inn


Clean rooms, nice porch at The New London Inn (New London, New Hampshire)

3.6 reviewed on January 10, 2017

We had a vert nice stay and felt really welcome. Only disadvantage that there was ni0 opportunity to have a drink or have a lunch when we arrived. Rooms were clean and a nice including breakfast

View more reviews for this inn


New London Inn at The New London Inn (New London, New Hampshire)

4.2 reviewed on January 10, 2017

As usual friendly faces that are eager to help when you check in,a Resturant that serves wonderful breakfast and has an exquisite menu for dinner

View more reviews for this inn


August Stay at The New London Inn (New London, New Hampshire)

3.6 reviewed on January 10, 2017

While the room I rented was, indeed, ready when I arrived the front desk clerk (Emma?) did a check and, upon finding there was an availability to do so) upgraded my room for the same price of my initial reservation. Later that evening, I wanted a glass of wine to just relax at the end of the day. The bar was quite crowded, but one of the wait staff said that I get a glass and enjoy it in the parlor and she went behind the bar and got a glass of Riesling for me to have in the inn's quite and charming parlor.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Restored Inn at The New London Inn (New London, New Hampshire)

4.8 reviewed on January 10, 2017

Great historical inn that has had extensive renovations coupled with a friendly staff. Excellent price / value dynamics . Capt . Hank

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint hotel in new London nh at The New London Inn (New London, New Hampshire)

4.6 reviewed on January 10, 2017

Excellent quaint hotel within walking to beautiful little town center. Lovely hotel and great service!

View more reviews for this inn


July 2016 at The New London Inn (New London, New Hampshire)

4.6 reviewed on January 10, 2017

I've stayed here a lot over the years and will continue to come back because the people!

View more reviews for this inn


Homey B&B at The New London Inn (New London, New Hampshire)

3.6 reviewed on January 10, 2017

Cosy room, helpful staff, great location

View more reviews for this inn


Come for breakfast! at The New London Inn (New London, New Hampshire)

4.4 reviewed on January 09, 2017

The breakfast makes a stay so delightful! Every offering was suburb and the coffee is divine. Thank you for making my day start so well-

View more reviews for this inn


Very nice old inn at The New London Inn (New London, New Hampshire)

4.2 reviewed on January 09, 2017

Soft beds, quiet rooms, good location, excellent service and good food

View more reviews for this inn


Great food and wonderful service at The New London Inn (New London, New Hampshire)

4.4 reviewed on January 09, 2017

The service was great. The food was outstanding. It is a quaint inn in a charming town.

View more reviews for this inn


Great exprience, great stay at The New London Inn (New London, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on January 09, 2017

We had so much fun after a full day of ski at Sunapee. We stopped at the tavern for a great beer and little food. Then, the jacuzzi and the little stove in the room were awesome. Dinner and breakfast were all we were looking for. Can't wait to do it again

View more reviews for this inn


Frigid Winter Weekend at The New London Inn (New London, New Hampshire)

4.0 reviewed on January 09, 2017

Wonderful place to stay. Visiting a student at Colby-Sawyer College? This is the place for you!

View more reviews for this inn


Cannot gush enough! at Inn at Pleasant Lake (New London, NH)

5 reviewed on November 01, 2016

Absolutely beautiful Inn- despite rain and cloudy weather, we were lucky enough to have a wonderful hostess, a sneak peak of the mountain over the gorgeous lake, luxurious night sleep, and a delicious breakfast. Can't say enough how well kept and beautiful the property is... and all the little treasures inside to keep you busy if the weather doesn't cooperate!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfection on a Lake at Inn at Pleasant Lake (New London, NH)

5 reviewed on September 24, 2016

This wonderful Inn just keeps getting better. The new owners have kept up the excellent reputation for fine dining and comfortable accommodations. Everything in this Inn is perfect. The room- #7- was clean and inviting with the antique furniture, 2 comfortable chairs for reading ,lovely bed linens, down comforter, lots of soft pillows. and a view of the lake. Afternoon tea with homemade cookies, cheese and crackers- yum. The new Chef, another Brian, is equally as talented as the former Chef Brian. The service is excellent. Everyone makes you feel right at home. https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g46178-d79249-r420248936-Inn_at_Pleasant_Lake-New_London_New_Hampshire.html#

View more reviews for this inn


Another wonderful weekend on the lake at Inn at Pleasant Lake (New London, NH)

5 reviewed on September 03, 2016

This was my third stay at the Inn at Pleasant Lake - and it keeps getting better each time. It is always a relaxing experience, the staff is always focused on your comfort and goes out of their way to ensure you have everything you need. The new chef is excellent - the dinner was wonderful, with every course being the right size and flavor, leaving you satisfied and not overstuffed. You will not be disappointed in your stay - whether it is for a quick one or two night getaway or an even longer visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Will definitely come back! at Inn at Pleasant Lake (New London, NH)

5 reviewed on January 04, 2016

Just got back from a 2 night stay at the Inn at Pleasant Lake. My husband and I had an amazing experience. From the food to the rooms to the staff....everything was outstanding. We cant wait to go back in spring or summer or both! to enjoy the lake and beach activities!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful weekend getaway at Inn at Pleasant Lake (New London, NH)

5 reviewed on November 19, 2015

This inn is a wonderful place to getaway and relax. Set on the lake, pretty views, cozy and comfortable. The dining experience for breakfast and dinner is second to none - a very good value for high end dining experience. Staff is courteous and friendly, very focused on ensuring a great experience. Close to nature hikes and shopping.

View more reviews for this inn


What an amazing Inn and experience! at Inn at Pleasant Lake (New London, NH)

5 reviewed on November 03, 2015

Our stay at the Inn at Pleasant Lake was simply awesome. The views are beautiful, especially the lake. There are many trails and places to hike with scenic views everywhere. The Inn has plenty of room and spaces to relax, drink coffee or sit by the fire yet it is still very cozy. There is nothing like the feel of a nice well maintained inn. Room #4 has a great setup with sitting area, large sleeping area and a separate bathroom. The sheets were amazingly comfortable and my wife and I could have slept all day in that bed! Now, staying in the bed was not really an option because the 5 course dinner was simply something you could not miss! When the Chef came out to discuss the menu he prepared, he offered a thorough explanation with humor and explained how the flavors should work together etc., very nicely done. Then when the food arrived, the presentation and taste of every single item was at the top of our experiences! The staff was amazing, super polite and always there to assist with anything you needed. Scott and Jen the owners are simply awesome people! We will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Charming Country Inn at Inn at Pleasant Lake (New London, NH)

5 reviewed on August 11, 2015

My husband and I stayed at this lovely Inn Aug 8 and 9. Jennifer and her husband Scott purchased the Inn this past spring and It appears that they are and will continue to keep the high standards set by the previous owners. Jennifer greeted us warmly and showed us around the Inn. We had a very spacious suite with queen bed, very comfortable, small sitting area with couch and coffee table. Bathroom was large with Jacuzzi tub/shower combo. Luscious feeling towels. the Inn although totally updated still has the feel of an old country Inn. Tea was served daily with scrumptious homemade cakes and cookies. Cheese, crackers, hot tea, ice tea, juices. The patio which looks toward the water's edge had comfy chairs and lounges with thick cushions. The beach and water are clean. The Inn shares the beach with a small homeowners association but plenty of room for everyone. Breakfast was wonderful with fresh fruit, homemade muffins, cereal etc on the buffet and a hot option which changes daily. They also have a restaurant which is open to the public serving the most incredible dinners. Brian has been the chef for 8 years. He is an extraordinary chef. He greets everyone in the living room prior to the 4 course meal and explains the preparation of each course. We had the fillet of beef, king salmon, and rack of lamb- incredible-- The wait staff was professional, helpful and very friendly. We will definitely come back to this peaceful, beautiful country Inn. Thank you Jennifer and Scott for a lovely weekend.

View more reviews for this inn


My many visits to the Highland Lake Inn at Highland Lake Inn (Andover, NH)

5 reviewed on November 21, 2009

I visit the Highland Lake Inn often. My daughter is a student at Proctor Academy nearby. This year alone, I've been there at least 4 times. Every time I visit the Highland Lake Inn, I not only feel pampered, but at home. The attention to every detail, from luxurious, ironed Italian sheets to the fabulous breakfast, is wonderful. It is always possible to have a special dinner arranged, (and I recommend doing so). The rooms are cozy, comfortable and every need is addressed.....from the bedside water provided to the complementary toiletries. They also have an extensive collection of fine teas available. The hosts, Pecco and Gail are personable, thoughtful and their goal is to make their guests feel comfortable and welcome.

View more reviews for this inn


You will not be disappointed... at Highland Lake Inn (Andover, NH)

4.4 reviewed on October 04, 2009

Peco and Gail are gracious hosts who will go out of their way to accommodate you. They are very professional, the Inn is clean and welcoming. You'll love the Italian linens and Peco's cooking, as well as the quiet, relaxing countryside. A real gem.

View more reviews for this inn


"Should have booked a longer stay!” at Highland Lake Inn (Andover, NH)

4.0 reviewed on September 04, 2009

Boston, MA Aug 3, 2009 We truly enjoyed our stay at the Highland Lake Inn and will recommend this hidden gem to our friends and relatives. Anyone looking for a relaxing visit to the NH countryside, would appreciate the location of this Inn. Restaurants and shops are minutes away, we also climbed Mt. Kearsarge (about 10 min away). A sandy lake beach is very close from the

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Inn at Pleasant Lake (5)
  2. Highland Lake Inn (4.47)
  3. The New London Inn (4.20)
Top
check }