Carter Notch Inn Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Onsite Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
29 Reviews

Write A Review

Great place to stay!

5 on March 14, 2017

Donna and Danny are welcoming and gracious. The home is lovely and the breakfast is excellent and plentiful plus there is coffee ready at 7am for us early risers. The hot tub is also a nice bonus!


Outstanding place

4.8 on March 13, 2017

Owners were lovely and informative. Inn is beautiful and meticulously kept up. Rooms were quaint and clean. This was an amazing place to stay.


Warm and Friendly Place to Stay in Jackson, NH

4.0 on March 01, 2017

Inn was a pleasant surprise! Warm and welcoming, Innkeepers Dan and Donna are friendly and eager to make sure that their guests are comfortable. They readily share information about nearby activities and restaurants, and are genuinely interested in finding out how each guest enjoyed, or didn't, each activity or restaurant that they tried. Other guests were quite friendly, too, and lovely to chat with over breakfast or casually after returning from the day's activities. Breakfast was a little disappointing, heavy on the old fashioned sweets, though certainly enough to make it through the morning and cereal was an available option. All in all, a very good experience and I would return in a heartbeat.


Great weekend at the Carter Notch Inn

4.2 on February 15, 2017

Our second stay at the Inn. Donna and Danny are wonderful hosts. The Inn is charming, very comfortable and super clean. We always enjoy the other guests, too. I highly recommend the Inn.


Carter Notch Inn

5 on February 15, 2017

This was our first visit since the new owners came. Found every aspect of the inn to be enjoyable. Danny even cleared the snow from all of our cars. Now that is service !


warm and wonderful

4.8 on February 01, 2017

We had a warm and wonderful weekend at the Carter Notch Inn - Danny and Donna welcomed us upon arrival and looked after us the entire time, making sure that our every need was met. The rooms are lovely, the location of the inn is ideal, and the entire atmosphere is perfect.


Carter Notch Inn -January 2017

5 on February 01, 2017

This was our third stay at The Carter Notch Inn. Upon arriving we were met by Danny who welcomed us back to the Inn. We had reserved room 6, as we stayed in that room during prior visits. The room was as we remembered it; clean and bright. Breakfast each day consisted of a fruit cup, and an entree. There was plenty of juices available and both decaf coffee and tea, hot chocolate and regular coffee. During the afternoon there was coffee, tea, hot chocolate and cookies available. Prior to leaving, we had booked our next visit there.


Great place!

5 on January 30, 2017

Intimate, fresh and conveniently located. Loved the in room fireplace and hot tub!


Perfect relaxing and romantic stay

4.4 on November 09, 2015

Donna and Danny are wonderful, and the guests staying at the Inn with us were very nice too. Location is perfect for those who like to hike. Restaurants around are amazing. And watching football game with Danny is awesome. Thank you so much to both.


Great B & B in Jackson

4.2 on October 17, 2015

This is what you expect when you stay at a B & B. The couple running this Inn were soooo welcoming and helpful. They made us feel at home and special at the same time. The room was great. Decorated nicely, not overly done. Loved the fireplace in the room. The cookies were out of this world. Great location, able to walk to restaurant for dinner. Free beer and wine were offered along with a hot tub! Breakfast was really yummy and interaction with other guests was encouraged and made it very social. Would come back here in a heart beat!


A lovely winter stay

4.0 on February 16, 2015

We visited the inn in January, just a few months after the change in ownership. Danny and Donna were so friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed the warmth of our fireplace and in-room jacuzzi, as well as comforting seasonal meals at two of the nearby restaurants they were able to recommend. Would definitely come back here, especially with additional plans for skiing or snowshoeing during our stay.


Very friendly B&B in a beautiful landscape

5 on September 29, 2014

We stayed at Carter Notch for three days and really enjoyed it. It is a very nice house situated in a beautiful landscape and the owners, were very friendly and communicative. They cared about their guests, provided maps and suggestions for hikes and other activities in the area - overall I would highly recommend this place!


Warm and Friendly

5 on August 22, 2014

Dick and Sally's hospitality is second to none. They are always accommodating and go out of their way to make you feel at home. Their attention to detail is great. The grounds are kept in beautiful condition.


Perfect B&B

4.4 on August 01, 2014

Sally and Dick are wonderful hosts, they cook a great breakfast, and it was lovely to go in the hot tub after a long day of hiking.


Great stay

4.8 on July 04, 2014

awesome hosts, place and location. Dick and Sally are amazing hosts.


Exceptional Value

4.2 on May 23, 2014

Dick and Sally are very gracious and entertaining hosts. The entire Inn was neat as a pin and the room, although not the most expensive, was quite comfortable and cozy. We have every intention of returning for another great weekend.


jackson

5 on February 14, 2014

Delightful place to stay. Inn-keepers are superb hosts. Very comfortable and friendly. Great location...especially for cross country skiers. Must return soon.


Best of the B&B's

5 on February 11, 2010

Wonderful innkeepers - immaculate accomodations - gourmet breakfasts. Dick and Sally can't do enough for you! They are the best!


Another Great Stay

4.2 on February 02, 2010

If you are looking for a down-home experience, then this is it! Carter Notch offers a wonderful, relaxing home-away-from-home. Situated within easy striking distance of the Jackson X-country ski trails (just across the street), winter fun is omnipresent. The breakfasts are a highlight and the afternoon snacks are all homemade. The innkeepers welcome you into their home and are just great. We have been visiting Carter Notch for over 8 years and are never disappointed.


A Weekend to Remember

5 on October 17, 2009

It has been a week now since my wife and I had the opportunity to travel from the Connecticut shore for a getaway to New Hampshire to view the leaves, explore the trails, and nourish the soul. Our memories still make us smile, made all the better by our choice to stay at the Carter Notch Inn. Sally and Dick run an Inn for people and not pretense. It's location, warmth, and comforts make it a wonderful place to stay...and you will not find a better breakfast.


Excellent

5 on October 16, 2009

Great hosts -- Warm, caring & friendly. Great dog & cat -- great breakfasts -- gorgeous setting -- lovely room with thoughtful details.


Can't wait to go back!

5 on August 21, 2009

Carter Notch Inn is the perfect place to go on vacation. It feels like a home away from home because of the warm and friendly owners. The house is charming and the town id beautiful. Breakfast is delicious!


Perfect! The Best Ever!

5 on July 11, 2009

We have found the most wonderful New England Inn. Everything about Carter Notch Inn was excellent - the rooms, breakfasts, cleanliness, setting, and expecially the hospitality. Dick and Sally, the innkeepers, were the perfect friendly hosts and we soon felt we had known them for ages. They were extremely knowledgeable about the local area and helped us to sort out where to go and what to see. Carter Notch Inn is the perfect spot to relax in - to spend time sitting in the garden or on the porch, casual walks from the doorstep and a hot tub to indulge in anytime. There is also loads of wonderful scenery out and about in the White Mountains. After being there for only an hour we knew we wanted to come back again.


Everything About this B&B is Fantastic

5 on July 04, 2009

You couldn't find a better B&B as far as location, hosts, home, and breakfasts. We have never been to the New England states and planned to spend one or two nights in each state. We selected Jackson for our one night in New Hampshire and I set out to find the best place to stay. For some reason, I did not review the Trip Advisor comments on this B&B. Just prior to posting this review, I reviewed what others said about Carter Notch - I was blown away by the number of reviews and an overwhelming 139 of 141 gave them an excellent rating. My review will make it 140 of 142. Sally and Dick are fantastic hosts with a wealth of information. We loved the house and the grounds. I could easily stay on their front porch all day. Their wonderful sheep dog, Henry, and I became quick friends. If we had known how wonderful and peaceful Carter Notch Inn was, we would have stayed more than one night. Thank you Dick and Sally for an absolutely fantastic stay. D Walker Montgomery, Alabama


Beautiful B&B

5 on May 04, 2009

An absolute must stay if traveling to the Mt. Washington ski area. Perfect for a truly relaxing get away, yet close enough to local shops and ski areas. The B&B by which all other B&B's should be measured.


Perfect New England B&B

5 on May 04, 2009

The Carter Notch Inn is an absolute gem! It's location is not only convenient (close to great hiking, shopping, etc) it is incredibly serene. Relaxing on the front porch, you look out onto a magnificent New Hampshire landscape as you listen to the sounds of a nearby waterfall. Sally and Dick (the owners) do an unbelievable job of making you feel like you are at home in this little oasis. It is everything one could ask for in a New England Bed and Breakfast. The home is beautiful, quaint, well kept, and breakfast is delicious. I know I'll be going back.


A Grand Stay.

4.0 on June 06, 2008

We have been touring New England. What a JOY! to arrive at this perfectly run B&B. The hosts went out of there way to ensure our four day stay with them was fulfilled in every way!!


The ultimate cozy mountain B&B experience.

5 on July 16, 2007

I just returned from my 4th trip to the Carter Notch Inn, and I'm already planning my next visit! You can be sure that the innkeepers, Sally & Dick, will make your visit memorable. They offer great company, a hospitable and exquisite inn, and a breakfast that is simply delicious. The inn is tucked away, off the beaten path on gorgeous Carter Notch Road just outside of Jackson Village. It is close to everything the White Mountains have to offer, and is comfortable and peaceful enough to watch an afternoon go by from the swing on the front porch. If you are looking for a romantic getaway, a weekend filled with hiking, or just a mountain getaway with some friends, you simply must try the Carter Notch Inn. On this particular visit, most of the other guests were Carter Notch Inn regulars. Once you visit, you'll see why everyone keeps going back!


paradise in the white mountains

5 on June 27, 2007

I loved it here. Only stayed one night but the wonderful welcome we received from Sally and Dick made us feel like we'd known them for ages. The rooms are lovely, very clean and with every amenity you could wish for. Ours had a little balcony overlooking the hot tub (which was a great spot at night for stargazing) I would certainly vist again if we ever come back this way. Highly recommended.


Carter Notch Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $99 - $275
  • Reviews (29) 4.7
  • Rooms 8

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6033839630
  • Fax 1-6033839642
  • Toll free 1-8007949434

Visit Website »

View details

Top