Carrier Houses Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
5

View details

  • Guest room5
  • Service5
  • Value5
  • Cleanliness5
  • Onsite Dining5

Score Breakdown based on
9 Reviews

Write A Review

A Wonderful Stay at a Four Star B&B

5 on June 20, 2018

We made a last minute reservation with the Carrier House. Jim and Russell were incredible hosts, this stay was one of the highlights of our trip. My two sisters and I were treated like family. The food was incredible and we loved visiting in the evenings on the beautiful front porch with our hosts. I recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the area. We will be back ! Jacqueline Nivens, Jennifer Swezey and Pam Hester


Impeccable B&B

5 on April 20, 2018

This was our first time at a B&B and it won't be our last. But the bar is set very high and not sure anyone can match it! Southern hospitality was top notch. The food was off the charts and we felt like family after just a weekend stay! We will definitely be back for a visit!

Innkeeper Response
We are so glad that your first experience staying at a B&B was with us! Russell and I love being innkeepers and meeting people like you. I love to cook and we have so many farms to purchase great produce, meats and eggs that farm-to-table is easy to do. All our guests leave like family members and we can't wait for you to return.Thanks for the kind remarks.

- Jim Masek, Owner/Innkeeper (innkeeper)


B&B Heaven

5 on April 19, 2018

My husband and I have never stayed in a B&B before and lets just say this one is going to be hard to beat! The hospitality, cleanliness, food, etc... the list goes on and on! The first morning part of our breakfast was homemade pumpkin muffins with cream cheese - they even roasted fresh pumpkin for these muffins! I cannot wait to go back - not one bad thing to say about this B&B!

Innkeeper Response
We appreciate your kind remarks and are glad that your first experience at a bed and breakfast was at the Carrier Houses. Russell and I love what we do and really enjoy meeting our guests and getting to know them. We also like to share our story and the history of the Carrier Houses and Rutherfordton. I am fortunate to have so many local farms nearby to get produce, meats and eggs. The pumpkin came from the Jones Family Farm that have been in their family for five generations. The secret to my pumpkin muffins is roasting fresh, organic pumpkins and making my own pumpkin puree for the muffins. It's more work than opening a can but the taste is so much better. we look forward to your return soon. Thanks again for the kind remarks.

- Jim Masek, Owner/Innkeeper (innkeeper)


Perfect holiday season getaway!!

5 on December 06, 2017

My husband and I wanted to get away and enjoy some holiday spirit. Rutherfordton and the surrounding area are so charming and beautifully decorated for the season. We chose the weekend of the Rutherfordton Christmas Parade to make it extra special. The Carrier Houses are located right on Main Street and the parade passes by the houses. We were so excited when we got there to find that the decorations at the Carrier Houses were the best in town! The houses are full of lights and decorations inside and out. My husband and I walked to restaurants and shops in the area buying Christmas presents and soaking in the atmosphere. Sitting on the porch and watching the parade while drinking hot chocolate was one of the many highlights of the weekend. Jim and Russell are extraordinary hosts! They do not miss a detail. Breakfast was wonderful. The hospitality was incredible, they are very knowledgeable about the things to do in the area. They directed us to Forest City where the town puts on a marvelous light display for the holidays. The only bad thing about our trip is that it had to come to an end! We will be back!


Best "Babymoon"

5 on August 20, 2017

Jim and Russell did an outstanding job! This place was so clean and well kept! We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for our "Babymoon." Their hospitality was the best I have ever experienced. We will most definitelt be staying here again.


Delightful, Delicious Delovely!

5 on June 16, 2017

Trey and I chose this wonderful Bed and Breakfast as our first foray into this type of accommodation and we were truly impressed from our first arrival. Jim and Russel were terrific and consummate hosts, helping us with our belongings, introducing us to the property which consists of two lovelyVictorean style homes possessing 9 bedrooms. We stayed in the Norris room which offered lovely and comfortable surroundings including a Queen style bed and arm chairs as well as wicker chairs on a private balcony. There was a fountain and koi pond between us and the main house adding the soothing sound of water flowing night and day. Breakfast was served ina dining room inthe main house with fresh fruit, wonderful casserole of cheese and eggs with sausage and oatmeal muffins. Time spent with our hosts was full of interesting tidbits about the area and entertainment provided by a resident squirrel who was determined to conquer a squirrel proof bird feeder just outside of the large window inthe dining room. Jim and Russell are creating Amin which Amy number of travelers willmake a first visit and having done so, will make thosbex and breakfast a frequent stop. I know we will! Bravo, Jim and Russell! We aspire to be regulars! PS Can you send the recipe for the breakfast casserole? I believe it's called strata?


Can't wait to find a reason to return to the Carrier Houses B and B

5 on June 04, 2017

Though my expectations were high based on what I heard and read about the Carrier Houses Bed and Breakfast, Jim and Russell's warm hospitality, beautiful and comfortable room, and outstanding breakfast both mornings, resulted in my expectations being exceeded and I'm already looking for a reason to return to the area so that I can stay at this place again!


Absolutely amazing!!

5 on June 02, 2017

For taking over ownership just 3 weeks ago, you would not be able to tell! Jim and Russell did an amazing job! This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast, and I'm sooo happy with the experience we had. They were very nice upon check-in and are fabulous cooks! Breakfast each morning was amazing; it puts all the hotel breakfasts to shame. The morning we left we missed out on breakfast, but Jim made sure to make us breakfast to go bags with banana, homemade oatmeal raisin muffins, and trail mix. We felt right at home, and they always checked on us to see if we needed anything. Each house has its own kitchen equipped with a Keurig machine, cups, coffee, water, dishes, etc. We were sad to go! If we are ever in town again, this is where we will be staying. Thank you so much, Jim and Russell!


We will definitely be back!

5 on June 02, 2017

Our stay this past week at the Carrier Houses was perfect! Despite just taking over ownership the week before, Jim and Russell did a great job! The houses were quaint and very clean. Breakfast was phenomenal! We come to Rutherfordton on a yearly basis and will definitely be making this our go to place to stay!


Carrier Houses Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $109 - $139
  • Reviews (9) 5
  • Rooms 8

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 828-287-4222
Top check