The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
24 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful place to stay

5 on July 11, 2017

This was such a wonderful, clean and relaxing Historical Inn to stay at. Thank you so much to the staff and the chef. Thank you for adjusting your menu for my food needs. We will definitely return in the future.


Great retreat

4.4 on April 06, 2017

Found this inn during a search for a romantic getaway for our anniversary. It greatly exceded my expectations, was very pleasantly surprised by the place. Staff is very friendly and accomodating. Our anniversary dinner was outstanding. We will very definitely go back again.


Beautiful Inn

5 on February 28, 2017

We stayed for 2 nights at the Inn and loved every part of our stay there! The quality of the service, food & accommodations are top notch! The staff and owners are so welcoming and helpful! The Inn has a restaurant that offers dinner each evening! The food was so good we ate there both nights and were very thankful we did! Breakfast choices were awesome and delicious! Great wine list as well! We stayed in the room with a private balcony and view of the mountains! We will definitely be back!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your kind words about your visit with us at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us. We will look forward to your visit with us again.

- Don & Kim Cason (innkeeper)


Gorgeous location with wonderful service

5 on February 06, 2017

My husband and I spent our 10 year anniversary here on a deal we found on Groupon. This place is awesome. There are great trails for hiking and places to fish at and all the little mom and pop restaurants serve excellent food. Breathtaking views! Bring your hiking shoes because Chimney Rock is a decent hike, but not for the faint of heart. I can't say enough good things about the Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant. The grounds were well maintained and full of history, the staff are all very pleasant and go above and beyond to help you with whatever you need, and the rooms are very well maintained and comfortable.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review about your visit with us at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant. We are glad you had a great time and we will look forward to your visit with us again soon.

- Don & Kim Cason (innkeeper)


Rehearsal Dinner and 2 night stay

5 on May 12, 2016

The absolute best venue for Rehearsal Dinner. Food was outstanding, owners and staff could not have been better to work with and the Inn was absolutely rustic and beautiful. What a history! There was 65 in attendance for the dinner and it could not have gone smoother from the social thru the dinner. A great staff, with smiles on their faces, and a willingness to make a perfect evening. It was perfect. Worth renting a room for the cookies which are to die for along with the breakfast muffins which could not be exceeded in excellence. Rooms were clean and beds oh so comfortable. Hope to go back soon to rent a cabin by the water. Hard to beat sweet music of running water over rocks. It was a great weekend.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that you had a great time at The Esmeralda Inn during the Rehearsal Dinner and stay with us. We will look forward to your return visit with us. Thanks again.

- Don & Kim Cason (Innkeeper)


Wonderful Birthday Celebration!

4.2 on February 15, 2016

Had a great stay at the Inn. The living room with fire place setting was relaxing and enjoyed drinks by the cozy fire. Dinner and breakfast was awesome and view from dining area was refreshing. The staff and inn keepers made our stay very enjoyable. We've already booked for our spring and fall visits!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your kind review! We look forward to your future visits with us!!

- Innkeeper (innkeeper)


Wonderful New Year's Celebration!

4.8 on January 04, 2016

Everything about our stay was wonderful--from the owners and their hospitality, the charm of the property, the absolutely delicious five-course dinner and lovely breakfast to the weather! It's one of our new "favorite places".

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay as well as the food! Thank you for choosing us to ring in the New Year and we hope you will stay with us again in the near future!

- Kim Cason (innkeeper)


Amazing hidden gem, lovedit!!

5 on October 19, 2015

I absolutely loved this place!! They made us feel so welcome, absolutely everything was above our expectations!! Thank you!!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit us again soon!

- Kim Cason (innkeeper)


Hospitality plus!

5 on October 13, 2015

Our niece had her wedding, reception and gust rooms for her out of town guest. All went perfect. Before the wedding, appetizers were served outside. The stone patio and waterfall added so much to the gorgeous surroundings. The wedding ceremony was held in the inside entrance that had a stunning staircase the bride walked down. The bride, groom, and minister stood in front of a beautiful stone fireplace. The reception was held in the inn's dining room and outside patio. After a fun filled day and evening we headed to our cozy guest room. All rooms we visited had very charming décor with private baths. We give the owners of The Esmeralda and their staff an A+.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind words! We were so happy to be part of such a special celebration! We hope you will visit us again in the near future!

- Kim Cason (innkeeper)


Highly recommend

5 on October 10, 2015

My husband and I stayed here for our 10 year anniversary and it exceeded our expectations. Everything is so clean and well kept. The staff is so friendly. The surrounding mountains are gorgeous! I would highly recommend!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review! We are so happy that you chose The Esmeralda Inn to celebrate your anniversary!! We hope that you will visit us again soon!

- Kim Cason (innkeeper)


Outstanding! Can't wait to return! Cozy and Charming!

4.0 on August 26, 2015

My husband and I just returned from a 3 day stay and I must say it was one of the best experiences we have ever had. The owners/InnKeepers are friendly and inviting, the staff make you feel comfortable and welcomed the moment you walk in the door. The beds and pillows are just delicious! I didn't want to get out of the bed! Food and service first class.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind words! We are thrilled that you enjoyed yourselves, as well as the food and felt so comfortable! We hope to see you back soon!

- Kim Cason (innkeeper)


Can't wait to return! Enchanting!

4.6 on May 18, 2015

We celebrated our 16th wedding anniversary here. It was more than I expected. Our room had a waterfall right outside the window and we enjoyed listening to it each night. We also had a couples' massage, which was a wonderful way to start our weekend off. The food was really good and the service was even better. The cookies in the afternoon were amazing and my husband couldn't stop sneaking them. Overall this in an amazing place to relax and rewind. We will be going back for sure! Came home refreshed and plotting our next trip there!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review! That is great to hear that the massage was so enjoyable as well as the food! We couldn't be happier that you chose The Esmeralda Inn to celebrate such a special occasion! We hope you will visit us again soon!

- Kim Cason (innkeeper)


Absolutely the best place to stay in the area!

5 on May 05, 2015

Absolutely the best place to stay in the area! We can't recommend it enough! Terrific rooms, beautiful views and a wonderful restaurant. We can't wait to visit again!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review! We hope you will visit again soon!

- Kim Cason (innkeeper)


A treasure

5 on April 20, 2015

The Esmeralda was more than I had hoped. A private tour of the Inn, a game room, a beautiful room with luxurious furnishings,personal touches like the welcoming note from guest services and a small book to leave a note for the next guests were all part of our intimate stay at the Esmeralda. Our cozy dinner for two was 4-star and the wait staff was excellent. This was one of our most memorable anniversaries.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind words! We are so happy to hear that you will look back on this stay with such fond memories! Thank you for choosing The Esmeralda Inn to celebrate your anniversary! We hope you will visit us again soon!

- Kim Cason (innkeeper)


Relaxing and Pampered Stay

5 on April 18, 2015

Everything we were looking for. Incredible service, excellent food, amazing views. All the staff was so friendly and always willing to help. An incredible breakfast is included every morning. We can't wait to go back. Best part is that The Esmeralda is only two hours from home.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit again soon!

- Innkeeper (innkeeper)


Impeccable Hospitality, Gourmet Cuisine, Luxurious Amenities

5 on April 16, 2015

From the moment we entered the door through the time that we left, we felt welcomed and appreciated. We loved seeing the Western North Carolina Mountains, including Chimney Rock. This inn has all the amenities you would want and more! Free Wi-Fi, flat screen televisions in each bedroom, a huge game room for playing Billiard, air hockey, Scrabble, Checkers, and more--and I'm just mentioning the indoor amenities. Outside they have a huge hot tub as well as a fire pit for roasting marshmallows and making s'mores. Not only are their breakfasts fabulously delicious, we also recommend dining at their restaurant. You even see views of Chimney Rock for their deck. The landscaping on the entire premises is pristine. They even host outdoor wedding receptions. We will definitely come back again and next time we will book a massage at their spa! Thank you Don and Kim, and the whole Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant team, for giving us fond memories of a vacation we will never forget!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind words! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay as well as the food and amenities we offer! We would love to host you again in the near future!

- Innkeeper (innkeeper)


Hospitality plus

4.6 on April 04, 2015

Beginning with a personal tour of the inn by the front desk staff and ending with a fabulous complimentary breakfast, The Esmeralda was everything our research claimed and more. We were greeted in our room by a plush, comfortable bed and the quiet lyrics of a local Christian radio station. There was a flat screen tv, which we moved to the side so we could open the windows for a gorgeous view of Chimney Rock and the sound of the Rocky Broad River as it danced across rocks on its way to Lake Lure. Don and Kim, our innkeepers, made themselves available for chats with the guests just as if they were welcoming family. The Inn itself is rustically elegant. It has an excellent game room with numerous activities like pool and air hockey as well as dominoes and Scrabble. It would be a perfect site for a family reunion or group retreat. My favorite features after the hospitality of the staff? Breakfast and the fresh cookies!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back for a visit very soon!

- Innkeeper (innkeeper)


What a treasure!

4.8 on April 01, 2015

This inn starts out a great with a majestic view from the outside, surrounded by mountains and a mere mile to beautiful Chimney Rock State Park. The rustic look and fireplace by the entrance, rocking chairs outside, Jacuzzi just steps away...it exudes 'getting away from it all.' We were warmly greeted with outstanding service. The breakfast menu was limited, but still included several courses and tasted great...lots of great juice options to choose from. Dinner was outstanding, with great selection and taste, and a nice selection of local microbrews. Service was very good. A splendid touch, and what we have the fondest memory of, was the picnic basket option for lunch should you choose to escape for the day. We visited Dupont State Forest an hour away with this delightful basket, complete with a handwritten note of thanks and wishes for a memorable day...indeed, it was. Great sandwiches included as well. Back at the Inn, the third floor has the guest rooms...basic yet welcoming robes, the softest towels you'll ever use, and we haven't slept in a bed so comfy in a long time. The second floor is the Game Room...we played Scrabble, cards, foosball, and watched NCAA basketball. There's a pool table, chess, backgammon, poker table, etc. Add a glass of wine from downstairs, and it's refreshing and relaxing just to stay indoors (except for the outdoor Jacuzzi). All in all, a wonderful experience for us, and Austin and Heidi stood out, providing super friendly service (the whole staff was great, but these two were so memorable). Our Room Rating is a shade below perfect as we struggled to find the optimal temperature, but we didn't bake, nor did we freeze. It helped being right next to the fridge on the floor, where they provide delicious, freshly baked cookies each afternoon. Thanks Esmeralda, we'll be back! -Ana and Steve

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and were able to get out and explore DuPont State Forest as well as a yummy picnic basket! We would love to have you come back and visit again soon!

- Innkeeper (innkeeper)


The Best Choice while visiting the Chimney Rock/Lake Lure area

4.4 on March 22, 2015

We were so happy with our choice of The Esmeralda from the moment we arrived and our happiness continued throughout our stay. The rustic atmosphere with just the right amount of modern amenities makes the Inn quite comfortable. We enjoyed all that was available for our use - game room/lounge, outdoor jacuzzi/fireplace, afternoon cookies and early morning coffee/newspaper. The convenience of an onsite restaurant offering lunch/dinner was a plus as we did not have to go far to enjoy a delicious dinner on our first night (highly recommend the grilled Trout). All of the staff members were super friendly and helpful. We're already planning a return trip and will be recommending The Esmeralda every chance we get.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay as well as our amenities and food! We hope you will visit us again soon!

- Innkeeper (innkeeper)


Outstanding and Delicious

4.0 on March 17, 2015

This was such a wonderful surprise, we were visiting Lake Lure and looking at homes for a vacation. What a grand surprise when we found this charming and beautiful spot. The staff Don Kim, Heidi and many more were all incredibly friendly and accommodating. The rooms were lovely with your own private porch, wonderful linens, as well as an entire kitchen and game room at your disposal, The Breakfast is included and gourmet wonderful and delicious. I cannot say enough about the furnishings, the setting, it was all just perfect and I cannot wait to go back Tried to rate Outstanding but the site would not let me give 5 stars. Try it you will not be disappointed

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will visit again in the near future!

- Innkeeper (innkeeper)


best inn in western carolina!

5 on March 10, 2015

we cannot reccomend this inn enough! The inn is conveniently located for travelers that want to explore chimney rock and asheville and the amentities could not have been better! A luxurious bed was the highlight of the room, and the game room and hot tub made for a great time! The staff was very welcoming and gracious and made us feel like we were right at home. The biggest surprise was the amazing breakfast served in the dining room! It reminded us of cruise ship breakfasts and was very delicious! We will definitely be returning!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our amenities and our delicious breakfast!! Please come back and visit again soon!

- Innkeeper (innkeeper)


Relaxing weekend at The Esmeralda Inn

5 on February 26, 2015

My husband and I stayed last weekend for 3 nights and it was fabulous! The staff was so courteous and thoughtful and I loved the at home touch that was provided. The personal notes left by the cleaning staff, homemade cookies during the day and the coffee in the morning was great. The complimentary breakfast was a wonderful touch and the food was awesome breakfast and dinner. We totally enjoyed sitting by the fire at the outside patio on Saturday! The Inn is beautiful and the owners Don and Kim was so very nice and friendly. We definitely plan to tell our friends and we will come back soon.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you felt at home. We look forward to you coming back to visit. Thanks again

- Kim Cason (Innkeeper)


Honeymoon Experience

5 on February 08, 2015

We spent the first leg of our honeymoon here and we're pleasantly surprised with the superb food and service, not to mention the beautiful surroundings ( in and out of the Inn). It is also conveniently located between Asheville and Hendersonville making the stay even more alluring. Thanks you for making our honeymoon even more memorable.

Innkeeper Response
We are so glad you had a great time at The Esmeralda Inn on your honeymoon. We look forward to you returning again.

- Kim Cason (innkeeper)


The Esmeralda Inn

5 on November 12, 2014

My stay at the Esmeralda Inn was wonderful. Very friendly staff. Loved the at home touches such as a handwritten note welcoming us to the room. In addition coffee was brought to your room every morning. We have made reservations to visit again next year.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review! We are looking forward to your return visit!

- Innkeeper (innkeeper)


The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant

Details

  • Nightly Rate $149 - $259
  • Reviews (24) 4.8
  • Rooms 14
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8286252999
  • Toll free 1-8888972999

Visit Website »

View details

Top check