Hill House Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Onsite Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
50 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful and Cozy

5 on November 19, 2017

We stayed at Hill House in October, and it was a wonderful experience in every way. Our room was beautiful, clean, and comfortable-from the temperature to the bed and linens! Our room was located near the parking area, but we never heard any outside noise. The breakfasts were delicious every single morning, and the staff were all wonderful. The location was convenient to Downtown, the Biltmore, and the Grove Park Inn-all locations we wanted to visit during our stay. The staff were wonderful to make other recommendations for us as well. We will definitely stay here again, and we have already recommended it to our friends!


Excellent Location

3.6 on September 25, 2017

Nestled in a quiet neighborhood but convenient to downtown, you can even walk there! The highway to get to anywhere is just blocks away.


Perfect place to stay

4.4 on February 21, 2017

We went to Asheville for a long weekend getaway and picked a great bed and breakfast! Everyone was extremely helpful and kind. Breakfast was fantastic! Loved the room with the fireplace and jetted tub. Very close to downtown, took Uber everywhere. Will definitely be back!


THE BEST BnB we have ever stayed in

5 on January 08, 2017

From the moment we walked in to the moment we walked out, it was ALL wonderful, cozy, elegant and charming was this house on the hill. The staff were so friendly helpful and amazing all the way around. My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary and it couldn't have been more perfect. We will come as often as we can to enjoy it over and over.


A wonderful stay!

5 on December 21, 2016

The staff was friendly and welcoming. We loved chatting with other guests over evening wine and cheese in the lounge, and it was nice seeing them again in the mornings as we all sat down to breakfast together. The meals were amazing! Our room was lovely, and it was very easy to get into town from the inn. We'd love to come back!


Nice Spot a little over-priced

4.4 on July 19, 2016

Was worried when we pulled in as the yard was smaller and less well-kept and the building more run-down than web photos. But our room was nice, clean with good AC and ceiling fans. Enjoyed the airy front porch and parlor for reading, the on-site tablet for quick internet work, and the great fresh-baked snacks and fruit available all day. Breakfast was really great, true southern gourmet. Felt it was a little pricey but perhaps not for Asheville. NOT walking distance to downtown for the average person and the neighborhood surrounding a little sketchy.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review. I would like to address a few things, however. The yard is very well-kept. Two professional gardeners are at Hill House one day a week making sure to that. And the building is hardly rundown. The exterior could have painted this year, but I've chosen to wait until closer to the time it goes on the market. Otherwise, it's in excellent condition. Hill House is one mile from the center of downtown. I guess one's definition of the "average person" determines whether or not that is walking distance. Finally, the neighborhood is a mix of a few grand older homes, like Hill House, a good number of new homes, some upwards of $500,000, and older homes of various sizes and condition. A handful of the older homes, generally rental properties, could be termed "fixer-uppers," but there is nothing like a crack home anywhere at all in the neighborhood

- David Raphael Smith (innkeeper)


Great value, convenient location

4.4 on June 27, 2016

Booking, check-in and check-out were super easy. They had a great preplan for late check-in, too! Breakfast was great fun. Room was well apportioned. Only two small disappointments. 1. Jacuzzi tub was bathtub sized. 2. TV movies through Hulu was intermittent at best (not a big deal since we did not come to watch TV!). Overall a great stay, we would recommend for future visits!


Great place

4.0 on April 28, 2016

Our first time at a B&B. We were not disappointed. Would recommend Hill House to friends and family. Carey was so sweet and informative. The hostess with the mostess. Really enjoyed our time in Asheville, neat town. I truly recommend the audio tour at the Biltmore, so enjoyed that place.


Pros & Cons

3.2 on December 09, 2015

The house is old and lovely, and tastefully decorated--old photos through the hallway and antiques in the common rooms. Beautiful, comfortable front porch that looks toward downtown. It is a great location--5 minutes from downtown and 10-15 from the Biltmore Estate. The hosts were very nice, but our room was a bit shabby--peeling wallpaper & aged bedspread--and very small. The bathroom also was small, but modern and clean. There is a 5 pm happy hour in the common room, but breakfast is served only at 9 am--so for those who have to leave early (e.g., us, both mornings we were there), you miss the full breakfast. A light continental is provided, but would have liked more for the price we paid.


Hill House Stay

3.8 on November 02, 2015

Excellent service; good location


A DELIGHT

4.8 on October 05, 2015

Lovely staff, excellent food and particularly appreciated the wine and nibbles


Les Cunningham

4.6 on September 10, 2015

This was a last-minute stay, and it was great. Carey was a wonderful host, the appetizers/wine and full plated breakfast on the front porch were outstanding. Definitely a great Asheville B&B


Vacation 2015

5 on August 16, 2015

Hill House is a GREAT place to stay. The staff is unbelievable and the breakfast is to die for. Overall GREAT experience


Great place ! Wonderful Staff....

4.2 on August 16, 2015

The S & W was smaller than we expected for the time there, but that was our decision and is not reflective of the staff or the or the Bed and Breakfast . Breakfast are great, staff was very accommodating . Grounds could use some sprucing up, but all in all a great place and convient to great food and downtown

Innkeeper Response
A few weeks ago I realized that Hill House staff didn't have the time or the expertise to maintain and refresh the grounds as needed. Last week a landscaping team began work, and they should be at it well into September.

- David (innkeeper)


What a great stay

5 on June 24, 2015

My wife and I spent the end of our honeymoon at the Hill House. Cary and David were great and it was such a warm and welcoming experience. The breakfast was amazing and the house was so convenient to downtown. Asheville is a beautiful city and the Hill House exemplifies the charm of the city. Make you sure you are able to make it some time.


Fantastic stay'

4.8 on June 22, 2015

My wife and I had a wonderful time. Hill House was a lovely retreat. Great breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, and a quick walk to downtown. Will definitely stay again next time we are in town.


A (Excellent!) Hill House B&B

5 on June 15, 2015

Amazing B&B with excellent staff in a beautiful spot in Asheville! We will definitely be recommending this B&B and will definitely return next time we visit.


four great nights.

4.0 on May 23, 2015

we had a really great time at the hill house. it was clean and well kept. the staff was very helpful. the bed was comfortable and the location made it easy to go downtown. in addition to the breakfast, they also had afternoon snacks and wine. we had a great time.


Nice B&B

2.8 on May 17, 2015

This is a nice B&B that could be quite wonderful with a bit of polish on the small things. The only issue encountered during the stay was a dog barking late into the night.

Innkeeper Response
Hill House's resident manager, who lives next door to the building in which this guest stayed, said she heard no barking either night. She said she was home both evenings and had her windows open. She has two dogs of her own, and she said that they may have barked occasionally during the night, but nothing that kept her awake. The guest never attempted to identify the source of the barking nor said anything, to either the resident manager in the evening or to another staffer during the daytime. This is the first barking complaint Hill House has had in more than two years, the other being a neighbor's dog whose companion canine died during the evening.

- David Smith (innkeeper)


Great B and B

5 on May 17, 2015

We stay in many B and B's as we travel. Hill House is one of the best. It is charming, friendly & helpful staff, perfectly located and the breakfasts are delish. We were at Hill House mid May and breakfasts were served outside on the porch with a view of the gardens. Coming from Maine, this was a real treat. I have some dietary restrictions which were handled with ease. We would highly recommend Hill House!


Peacefull

5 on May 07, 2015

A joy to stay with you. Very comfortable and the breakfast......yumm!!!


Beautifully appointed¡ conveniently located

4.6 on May 03, 2015

Charming, historic B&B perfectly located for visiting Asheville and The Biltmore. Choose the Hideaway for a private suite in a separate cottage. Luke's special recipe breakfast juice is a great way to start the day!


Asheville Bound

4.4 on June 15, 2014

Loved the B&B - sitting on the front porch in the rocking chairs drinking morning coffee and met some wonderful guests. It was a great introduction to life in Asheville.


Wonderful Wonderful Hill House

4.6 on April 22, 2014

Hill House located in Asheville NC is a quaint affordable scrumptious delight in every way! We enjoyed the location, staff and the full hot breakfasts each morning. Thank you!


Great stay in great location!

4.4 on March 26, 2014

This is a great house to stay in that puts you only a mile or so from downtown Ashville and less than a mile from UNC-Asheville (though i'd say i was less than amazed by that campus). The B&B, however, is a really neat older house with very nice, spacious rooms, great service (wine and appetizers put out in the evening, plenty of food/drink in the kitchen at all hours, and a wonderful home-cooked breakfast at 9am) and friendly staff. All in all it was a wonderful stay, and my wife and i wished we were there for more than just one night.


outstanding B&B

4.2 on March 10, 2014

B&B in a lovely town


Wonderful

5 on January 25, 2014

Wonderful place, great staff, tasty breakfast!


Great room and Wonderful staff

4.6 on October 06, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay in the Biltmore Room. It was tastefully decorated and the bed extremely comfortable. The wine and snacks in the evening were an unexpected treat. Ava was well acquainted with Ashville and made excellent recommendations based on our preferences. The walk to uptown was somewhat less than a mile, so we walked in for dinner. Our breakfast the next morning was delicious and all the guests seemed to enjoy it as much as we did. Overall it was an A+++ experience.


Great place to relax!

4.0 on July 15, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Hill House over the 4th of July weekend. It was a truly relaxing experience. Our room was lovely and the food was unique and delicious. It is in a great location, but feels very secluded.


First Anniversary at Hill House in the Biltmore

5 on June 28, 2013

Asheville has always been one of my favorite places to visit and the Hill House B&B was the perfect getaway for us. It's so quiet and peaceful yet only moments away from the exciting downtown area of Asheville. It was our first-year anniversary and we decided to rent the Biltmore Suite and it exceeded our expectations. The pictures do not do it justice! The staff is incredibly friendly and the meals were above and beyond amazing! I would definitely recommend the Hill House B&B to anyone!


Perfect Weekend

5 on June 16, 2013

We had a short weekend honeymoon in the Hideaway. The property could not have provided better setting for us - location, room, service. Mike and Kim


Very pleased

5 on April 05, 2013

Our stay was delightful. The room was lovely and the breakfast was exceptional.


Perfect B&B and Great Location

5 on January 01, 2013

We stayed in the Kress room during our visit, and it was perfectly clean and nice, with little chocolates when we got there. Very comfortable, 2 closets and a dresser to save space. There's a TV you can pull out of one of the closets when you want it. Just make sure you pull the shower liners into the tub when you shower! The breakfasts were fantastic and the coffee was French press! I suspect that the porch would be great during the summer. They have a nice garden. There's a cookie jar and a pantry and fridge downstairs with fizzy drinks you can take, as well as afternoon wine. Really very nice. Thanks, Hill House!


good

3.2 on December 14, 2012

great room to bring pets- we didn't have breakfast so i cannot comment on that.


First Time at a Bed and Breakfast

5 on December 03, 2012

Hill House was a very quaint B&B and was the perfect place for my new husband and I to spend our mini honeymoon. We were so excited about the room we stayed in and the breakfasts were AMAZING. It was very cozy and we look forward to returning to Hill House.


"Outstanding" is inadequate to delights of Hill House B and B!

5 on November 18, 2012

Ed and Kat at Hill House B and B are in a beautiful area with lovely antiques in a historic house that has been unobtrusively retrofitted to enable bathrooms in each room, elegantly tiled showers...and the most delectable breakfasts imaginable. You won't need lunch! Make two reservations, while you are at it, for you are going to want a return trip as soon as possible.


Perfect Anniversary Stay

4.6 on November 05, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights, 4 days, in The Cottage at Hill House recently for our anniversary. We selected it specifically because we could take our two dogs with us to visit this city we love so much, and have a pleasant, private place to stay with them, with the added benefits of a B&B. The staff was fabulous, and the breakfasts were more than we had even dreamed they would be. We have stayed many places in Asheville over the years, and this was definitely one of our favorites!


Planning our next visit already!

5 on November 04, 2012

We had a wonderful and unfortunately brief stay at Hill House during one of Asheville's peak weekends in October. The property is lovely. The old Victorian (I think) house has a huge porch that is nice to sit and drink a cup of coffee in the morning. Our room, Battery Park, was cozy and quite comfortable. I would definitely pick the room again. And the breakfast was phenomenal. Our first morning we were treated to a croissant French toast with fresh berries drizzled with berry and cream sauces and sausage links on the side. On the second day we ate a 'breakfast lasagna', which was a casserole of sausage, scrambled egg, peppers, onion and some kind of creamy cheesy sauce all encased in a puff pastry topped with a bit of white gravy and a cooked pear on the side filled with yogurt and granola. Amazing! We ate well to say the least. Also, the manager David is welcoming and accommodating. We plan to stay here on all our future trips to Asheville.


The PERFECT weekend escape!

5 on November 04, 2012

My husband and I wish we had MORE time to stay at this very welcoming B&B. We will be back. The front porch with a great view of the city, was where we drank our morning coffee and had the best little muffins while waiting on our breakfast. It was cozy, and felt like home. Thank you for such a GREAT stay.


Our Hill House getaway was fantastic!

4.8 on October 23, 2012

We enjoyed celebrating my husband's birthday at the Hill House as a gift from our children! What an incredibly relaxing and wonderful time we had at this beautiful B&B! Highly recommend you visit when you are in Asheville, NC!


4 nights in Asheville

3.0 on October 22, 2012

The room was adequate and the building very charming. The breakfast every morning was hearty and healthy. The location is in a quiet older neighborhood and is in a very ideal location for all the surrounding sites including downtown Asheville and the Biltmore estate. Having a car though is essential especially in the evening if you want to go into town for dinner and music as the walk, although do able , would be quite dark and deserted.


Great location, atmosphere and food.

4.2 on October 22, 2012

Hill House was our first experience with a Bed & Breakfast and it was fantastic. We stayed 3 nights and it really did feel like home. David, Crystal and JJ were friendly and helpful with information on touring the Asheville area. The food was outstanding and the S & W room was cozy and comfortable. We enjoyed the complimentary tea, cookies and afternoon wine. Thanks for helping to make Asheville one of our favorite weekend get-aways!


Great stay in Asheville s

3.8 on September 23, 2012

Hill House is a beautiful retreat close to downtown Asheville. The house and grounds are well maintained a beautiful. Breakfast was fantastic each morning. We would finitely stay there again.


Hill House Weekend in Asheville

4.0 on September 23, 2012

Crystal provided a phenomenal variety for breakfast during our three morning stay. She not only shared her culinary craft, but was able to offer tourism advice. Great experience in a cozy home.


Great B&B

5 on September 09, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Hill House very much. The Biltmore Suite was very clean, nicely arranged and perfect for our needs. The location is perfect and within walking distance or a short drive of the major attractions and restaurants/shopping. The breakfast was amazing and helped get the day started right. They even had a special meal for my wife who has dietary restrictions. Everyone at Hill House is always pleasant and helpful. Thank you again for such an enjoyable weekend.


Hill House B&

4.0 on October 24, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised to experience the finest in hospitality and comforts at the Hill House B&B. The house is decorated tastefully and with the guest's comfort in mind. The breakfast was beautifully prepared and quite delicious. Terry and Bill were very gracious and gave us information regarding sights to see and restaurants to try, even making the reservations for us for both evenings we were there. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone who enjoys the finer touches to their lodging experience.


Less than commanding views

3.2 on October 29, 2010

The Hill House B&B is a Bungalow style house well adorned with period furnishings. The large porch is nice to sit and relax on while listening to the breeze blowing. The breakfast was good as was the bottomless cookie jar. The breakfast time was a bit late for us. The house is situated on a hill with views of the tops of the Asheville skyline, but no commanding views of the mountains.


Awesome trip

5 on August 05, 2010

Hill House B&B was wonderful. We didn't meet the owners, who were out of town but Jim and Sue took great care of us. The house and grounds were beautiful. Our room was great! The food was awesome! Breakfast, snacks, tea and company, couldn't have asked for more. Will go back!!!


Pleasant place to stay

4.0 on July 13, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the "Battery Park" room for 3 days. This was our last "pre-baby" trip and was a special place to spend it. We particularly enjoyed the "sleeping porch" attached to our room for naps, reading, etc. The only negative was there was a dying plant in the room! Also, it would have been nice to have soft, plush towels instead of the thin ones common to hotels. The housekeepers did a great job cleaning and restocking the room each day. There was always lemonade, iced tea, cookies, and another baked treat on hand for snacking. The gardens were very lush and pretty. The book of menus was also a bonus. The first breakfast was really good--croissant french toast, eggs, sausage, and fruit. The other 2 were not as good but decent. The last one-- caramel apple french toast-- upset our stomachs for the rest of the day! All in all, though, this was a lovely place to stay!


great stay at Hill House

5 on January 09, 2007

We recently spent several days at Hill House while vacationing in Asheville. The house and grounds are beautiful, and the innkeepers are friendly and helpful. We especially enjoyed our room because there was a small sitting area/sun porch where we could read. The breakfast was delicious and different each morning. Our only concern was that breakfast was not served until 9 AM. We like to get up and out a little earlier so some flexibility in serving times would be helpful. I highly recommend the Hill House B & B.


Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $109 - $300
  • Reviews (50) 4.5
  • Rooms 10

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 828-2320345
  • Mobile 1-8282320345

Visit Website »

View details

Top check