Recent Reviews in Natural Bridge, Virginia

Outstanding, well-priced stay at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

4.4 reviewed on October 22, 2017

Herring Hall is a delightful place to stay! It’s close to Lexington and super convenient for family visits with students at W&L and VMI. The rooms are bright and extraordinarily clean. Our host is welcoming and ever accommodating. Can’t wait to go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful at The Inn at Forest Oaks (Natural Bridge, Virginia)

5 reviewed on September 12, 2017

Wow, we can’t say enough good things about this place. Cliff and Chris were very welcoming and wonderful host. We received a tour of the house and it is beautiful. They have taken great care in the remodeling and it shows. The furnishings and everything is done in time period including switches on the wall and the color of paint they use. We stayed in a room with a claw foot tub and a fireplace in the bathroom. There were plenty of extra plush towels and all the essentials. They have thought of every little thing including having a book to read right next to the bed. The small little touches show you how much they care about making sure you are comfortable. We played a couple rounds of pool in the billiards room after dinner. Breakfast was wonderful and they considered my husband’s low carb diet and make a delicious breakfast with a no crust quiche. We cannot wait to go back.

View more reviews for this inn


Southern Hospitality at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on August 20, 2017

Wonderful stay! Herring Hall goes above and beyond for their guests in every way. Beautiful rooms, great breakfasts, accommodating staff - very pleasant! Southern Hospitality at its best!

View more reviews for this inn


We will be back at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on August 02, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our 3rd Wedding anniversary at http://www.herringhall.com this weekend. Our goal was to visit the Natural Bridge and a day trip of site seeing Historic Downtown Lexington, VA. Not only did we do that, but we found the most wonderful B&B that we will absolutely visit again. The history, hospitality, outstanding full course home made southern breakfast, beautiful historic accommodations that I can't say enough about (and a brewery five minutes away with a spectacular view). Anne Herring, the owner-inn keeper is a Rockbridge County Historian. She, as well as her father, and grandfather, grew up in this home. She and Brad made us feel like we were visiting family! Truly what a B&B is all about!

View more reviews for this inn


Must stay at Herring Hall! We will be back. at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on July 30, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our 3rd Wedding anniversary this weekend. Our goal was to visit the Natural Bridge and a day trip of site seeing Historic Downtown Lexington, VA. Not only did we do that, but we found the most wonderful B&B that we will absolutely visit again. The history, hospitality, outstanding full course home made southern breakfast, beautiful historic accommodations that I can't say enough about (and a brewery five minutes away with a spectacular view). Anne Herring, the owner-inn keeper is a Rockbridge County Historian. She, as well as her father, grew up in this home. She and Brad made us feel like we were visiting family! Truly what a B&B is all about!

View more reviews for this inn


Just perfect at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on July 28, 2017

Charming B&B in the countryside. Beautifully maintained and decorated. The host could not have been kinder or more welcoming and we loved hearing the history of the house (dating back to 1812). Highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Two unforgettable days at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on July 27, 2017

We came for two days celebrating my wife's birthday. I reserved a room in this beautiful home as a surprise for my wife. Everything was great and especially this surprise, as she grew up in a similar home and it was a very reminiscent of her childhood and youth. We greatly appreciate attention of Anne and her wonderful staff, great hospitality and comfort. We wish you the best of health and all the best in your future endeavors!

View more reviews for this inn


A step back in time at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on July 15, 2017

Anne was a gracious host. House is very historical but with modern amenities. Rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. Overall a great experience!

View more reviews for this inn


We love Herring Hall and Annie!! at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on June 12, 2017

The house and property are just absolutely amazing ...and Ann is a gem! My husband and I have had the pleasure of staying at Herring Hall on numerous occasions while our son attended Washington & Lee University...though he has recently graduated we look forward to sometime staying there again and discovering even more of Lexington and Natural Bridge.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic B&B. Highly Recommend. at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on April 14, 2017

We had a fantastic Thanksgiving Dinner at this location 47 years ago and we thoroughly enjoyed our recent visit. The proprietor, Anne Herring, is the most gracious host.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

4.4 reviewed on October 26, 2016

We spent 2 nights at the Herring Hall. Despite a very later arrival, we were greeted with complimentary sangria and homemade pound cake (out of this world!).We stayed in the General room which is rather large and has a private bathroom. The bed there was a bit too firm for me, so make sure to ask ahead and book a different room if you prefer a softer mattress. The breakfast was delicious both mornings - freshly baked rolls and southern cuisine main dishes accompanied by fresh vegetables from the owners' garden and locally produced jams and jellies. Anne was very helpful with recommendations about local restaurants and places to visit. Great stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Herring Hall, Natural Bridge, VA at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on October 20, 2016

Beautiful, Historic Federalist Mansion, Excellent Service & Breakfast, Gracious Hostess and Staff, Beautiful and Serene Location............A great stay of 3 nights! Near Lexington, Lynchburg, and Natural Bridge State Park. New winery just opened a few miles away on a high hill with fantastic mountain views!

View more reviews for this inn


Comfortable, Clean, and Wonderful Food! at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

4.8 reviewed on October 18, 2016

Anne was very accommodating and friendly. The entire place was very clean and the breakfast was delicious! Only recommendation is to balance the ceiling fan in the "blue" room. I plan to return soon!

View more reviews for this inn


First B&B experience & it was awesome!! at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on October 12, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The house was VERY clean and the service was phenomenal. We will definitely return to Herring Hall.

View more reviews for this inn


Very pleased! at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

4.8 reviewed on September 29, 2016

These are some very lovely people to deal with. Packed with history this bed and breakfast was a great get away! I would recommend and go to Herring Hall again!

View more reviews for this inn


Rockbridge County's Finest at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

4.8 reviewed on September 17, 2016

The beauty and history of the "Seven Hills of Rockbridge County" is personified in Herring Hall. Built in 1812, you will find a warm and welcoming place to stay from Ms. Annie Herring, whose family home becomes yours during your stay. The hospitality and charm of this Inn make it a place you will want to go to. The service and price will make it the only place you will want to stay when you visit the county!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Inn at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on May 03, 2016

We enjoyed our visit to Natural Bridge, and would recommend Herring Hall. It was quiet, clean, comfortable, safe, beautiful, and interesting. The breakfast was wonderful, and we would love to stay there again in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


General Lee would be proud you named a room after him! at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on October 07, 2015

The B&B is fantastic! Anne is very friendly and helpful, and this historic home is absolutely beautiful....we hope to get reservations every time we visit Lexington!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on October 07, 2015

We had a great stay at Herring hall. Anne has thought of everything to make your stay special.

View more reviews for this inn


Country Wedding at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on August 13, 2015

We used Herring Hall as a base for my daughter’s wedding. Anne Herring was so much fun as she welcomed us into her home. It is obvious that she loves entertaining and sharing her knowledge of the homes and history of the area. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. Each was decorated with beauty and charm, reflecting the personality of the host. The inn offered plenty of room for the wedding party to primp and to socialize. We found many charming photo opportunities both inside and outside the inn. Breakfast in the mornings is a wonderful start to the day with fresh, local ingredients and tried and true family recipes. The always available Herring Hall pound cake is wonderful as a bedtime snack! Thank you, Anne, for such a wonderful experience.

View more reviews for this inn


A fantastic place to stay. at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on May 27, 2015

This is both a fun and fantastic B and B. Love the cows! The Teass Girls.

View more reviews for this inn


Stayed May 22nd 2015 at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

4.0 reviewed on May 26, 2015

We stayed one night May 22nd and had a delightful time. The owner, Anne Herring, was welcoming and pleasant, and she explained all the public room facilities (living/TV/Dining). Lots of family silver and crystal in the cabinets - the juice pitcher needed two hands! A very tasty breakfast was provided (somewhere on the web it says that you get a voucher for the Diner down the street? Not so.) If we had one criticism, it would be the lack of clothes hanging facilities. As we were told, they had no closets in 1820, when the house was built. Well, yes, but they did use wardrobes/free-standing closets. A hat rack was provided in the room with hooks for lots of hanging clothes, and the bathroom had a lot of hooks. Overall it was a delightful stay. Highly recommended. .

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B in Lexington at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

4.8 reviewed on May 19, 2015

Anne is a wonderful, gracious Southern lady. Highly recommend staying here. It is outside of Lexington but well worth the drive.

View more reviews for this inn


Living "IN" History at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on November 28, 2014

This was our second visit. If you enjoy visiting historic homes and other buildings you are going to love this. You can not only enjoy the ambience by looking at it, but also sitting in it and touching it!! (No Roped Off Areas!). Innkeeper Anne makes you feel welcome and comfortable. The meals are feature as much local foods as possible depending on the time of year, so freshness is guaranteed and the recipes range from "old family" to "let's try something new". All are mouthwatering and delicious. In addition to the meals, snack and drinks are always available. The Farmland settings and the morning "moos" are equally pleasant. You will not be disappointed during your visit.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful weekend at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on November 28, 2014

Our second visit to this wonderful place. Anne is a great hostess and the breakfast are different each day. The breakfast would cost over $20.00 a person alone! If you could find the unique items available. The house has wonderful charm and the Anne takes great pride in giving you history of the house and the area. I can't think of a better place to stay if you are in the area. We will be back in the area in two years and hope to stay again and this wonderful B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


Antebellum beauty! at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on November 10, 2014

Innkeeper, Ann Herring has brought this old home to life with her perky collections and unexpected colors. Her attention to detail made our stay there a truly delightful experience. Rooms were immaculate, beds were comfy, and the breakfast was amazing. True southern comfort with amenities galore! Don't miss this gem! The home made pound cake alone would make the stay worthwhile!

View more reviews for this inn


will definitely make a return visit! at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on November 10, 2014

a beautiful home, a gracious hostess, comfortable rooms, and a fabulous breakfast. We could not have asked for more!

View more reviews for this inn


Charming place to stay for our visit to Rockbridge County. at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on October 22, 2014

Anne was an outstanding hostess, the house was gorgeous and has very interesting architectural details and the southern breakfast was fantastic!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay! at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on October 22, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our first stay at Herring Hall! We were there for a horse show, and our expectations were exceeded by Anne's gracious hospitality. Breakfast on Sunday was incredible, especially the stewed tomatoes! We will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Missing porcelain cups at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

4.0 reviewed on July 28, 2014

Excelent service quality price match But the breakdast must be served with porcelain cup to match with the decoration and ambiance

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. The Inn at Forest Oaks (5)
  2. Herring Hall (4.82)
Top
check }