Recent Reviews in Mount Vernon, Illinois

Always a Great Stay At Sidwell at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 13, 2017

Larry does a great job. Very nice, clean well-appointed rooms.

View more reviews for this inn


A Warm and Elegant Retreat at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 03, 2017

Impeccably decorated yet comfortable, Sidwell Friends offers the traveler a most welcomed experience. Complete with a handsome library, an impressive collection of DVD's and an elegant collection of antiques and artwork, no detail was spared in the design and execution of this beautiful home. Larry Sidwell was the perfect host, providing an amazing breakfast and friendly conversation. I hated to leave and hope to return soon!! Highly recommended! - David Robinson

View more reviews for this inn


Comfortable, well furnished and relaxing. Mr. Sidwell is a great host! at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 26, 2017

The home well furnished with items from the period. The neighborhood is quiet and the stay was relaxing. Breakfast was wonderful!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 09, 2017

As we drove away, I said to my friend we couldn't have found a nicer place. Everything was just as you would hope in a B&B. Attention is paid to big things (like the wonderful beds) to smaller details (the bathroom amenities, bath robes, refrigerator for personal use, and snack and coffee table). This B&B offers a luxurious stay, while also meeting all the practical needs of travelers. I particularly appreciated the lovely breakfast, with a variety of offerings, home-made delicacies and local/seasonal peaches.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely evening at charming bed and breakfast at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 14, 2017

Mr. Sidwell was a gracious host. The house was great and parking was excellent. Historic neighborhood and downtown were worth a visit. We are planning to spend the night again soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Top Notch B&B at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 08, 2017

Larry was an excellent host. Bed was comfortable. Got to try My Pillow.

View more reviews for this inn


Top Notch at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 27, 2017

Our innkeeper, Larry, was excellent. He welcomed us and spent some time talking to us about the area and what there was to see and do. He adjusted the meals to conform to our allergies. Very accommodating and a lovely place to stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderfull Stay at Sidwell Friends at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on May 26, 2017

We just returned from an outstanding stay at Sidwell Friends in Mt Vernon, IL. Larry has a beautiful B & B, and is the most accommodating host. Our stay was highlighted not only by the fine accommodations, and the delicious breakfasts, but by our wonderful host Larry, who allowed us to want for nothing. We had an all around great time.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on February 27, 2017

This was our second visit to Sidwell House. This time, we stayed in the master suite. We enjoyed it so much we plan on returning.

View more reviews for this inn


Great experience! at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on January 04, 2017

Beautiful bed and breakfast with a great inn keeper! I would highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely one of our favorite Bed & Breakfasts at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on December 18, 2016

Rather than attempting to drive all the way from Springfield, Missouri to Northern Michigan in one day (especially with major snow storms expected in Michigan), we decided to do a more leisurely two day trip back. We selected Sidwell Friends Bed & Breakfast based on the reviews we read on Tripadvisor.com and bedandbreakfast.com. All we can say is “Wow!” From being greeted at the front door when we arrived to the farewell hugs before we left, the experience was above and beyond! Oh, I forgot to mention that we are the owners/innkeepers of a bed and breakfast inn in Northern Michigan. We set high standards for our B&B and have found that visits to other bed and breakfasts don’t quite measure up. I can proudly say that we have finally found a bed and breakfast that truly exceeded our expectations! Needless to say, all future trips from Northern Michigan to Missouri will include stays with Larry. Until our next visit! Jim and Dave

View more reviews for this inn


Clean and Finest Hospitality! at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 16, 2016

Larry was an amazing host. The bed and breakfast has all the extra touches. I am a clean freak, and I was completely satisfied. Comfortable beds and sun-blocking shades!

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay time after time at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 13, 2016

I always feel like I'm coming home when I stay at Sidwell Friends B&B. Larry is a wonderful person as well as a wonderful host and I always feel so comfortable there. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Mt. Vernon!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect! at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 01, 2016

My husband and I had a great time at Sidwell. Although we were just passing by the town on our road trip and only stopped by to spend the night, I would definitely stay at Sidwell again and recommend it to anyone who is interested in great service and amazing breakfast in a clean and beautiful bed and breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Why would you stay anywhere else? at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 11, 2016

It’s been almost a month since we stayed at Sidwell Friends (July 13, 2016) and while our trip might quickly be fading into a distant memory, our visit with Larry at his beautiful bed and breakfast is not. Sidwell Friends was a most welcome respite during our road trip! Larry has thought of every detail to make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. The inn is beautifully decorated and breakfast was amazing; we loved having our first taste of locally grown peaches this summer. My only regret is that we couldn’t stay longer to fully enjoy all the benefits of staying in this lovely inn, like looking through a book or two from the library. As it was, we enjoyed our conversation with Larry after breakfast so much that we got a later start than planned, but with absolutely no regrets. I’m not sure if we’ll be passing through this way again for quite some time, but if we do, we’ll be sure to stay at Sidwell Friends. If you enjoy gracious comfort, beautiful furnishings, good conversation, a delicious breakfast artfully presented and an accommodating host, then Sidwell Friends is definitely your destination.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay time after time at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 27, 2016

We always stay at Sidwell Friends B&B when we visit our son in Mt. Vernon. It is like our home away from home!

View more reviews for this inn


Lord Sidwell is the bomb!!! at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 23, 2016

Enjoyed a 1 night stay in the Pruett room, which was lovely. Got to select the check-in time, which worked conveniently after our 16 hour drive that day. The place is beautiful, excellently maintained, and Larry was a gracious host from the moment we walked in. Breakfast was delicious; we enjoyed French toast, bread, lots of fruit, yogurts, cereals/granola to put in yogurt, coffee, juice, tea. There is a nice garden in the back, and the house is a quick walk to local establishments. Definitely will stay here again if we visit Mt. Vernon!

View more reviews for this inn


Favorite B&B at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 14, 2016

This is the 5th time we've stayed at Sidwell Friends and it is always an outstanding experience. The spa bathroom in the Dunhaven room is the nicest bathroom we've had in our travels to 5 star hotels in Hawaii, Sonoma, Pebble Beach or anywhere for that matter. Larry makes the greatest breakfasts and always makes us feel at home. We will come back again and again!

View more reviews for this inn


One of the best at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

4.4 reviewed on May 16, 2016

I have stayed in B&B's throughout the country for many years and this is one of the best. Excellent accomodations, wonderful host and the breakfast was above and beyond the normal fare. Stay here for a wonderful experience.

View more reviews for this inn


A Night with Larry at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 10, 2016

The stay was outstanding. Larry was a gracious host and very enjoyable to be with, Thank him for us.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful, elegant and wonderful at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 02, 2016

My stay at Sidwell and friends although short was no less than a wonderful experience. I travel for work and stay in lots of hotels. This trip I decided to renew my love for Bed and Breakfasts. I chose to stay at Sidwell and friend from the description of your website. I love architecture, old homes and antiques. This bed and breakfast exceeded my expectations. The owner Larry was fantastic. He was so welcoming. Every detail was covered. My room was beautiful, comfortable and quiet. My breakfast was fit for a queen. I plan on staying at this B&B next time I'm traveling in that area!

View more reviews for this inn


2nd Year in-A-Row at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on February 20, 2016

We have stayed in the Dunaven suite 2 years in a row. The warmth, comfort, charm and cleanliness of this home are outstanding. There is also a Keurig maker and snacks available 24/7. Numerous DVDs, CDs, magazines and a beautiful library. A lovely fresh breakfast before starting the day. Larry the owner is a perfect host! Would highly recommend this property.

View more reviews for this inn


exemplary B&B at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on February 13, 2016

outstanding B&B in all respects - Larry is a wonderful host - I thoroughly recommend this B&B

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary. at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 24, 2015

We stayed there for our anniversary. It was easily the best bed and breakfast we had ever stayed in. Both the room and service were top notch.

View more reviews for this inn


In Mt. Vernon for business or pleasure at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 11, 2015

Whether you are in Mt. Vernon for business or pleasure, Sidwell Friends is a delightful B & B and a great place to stay. We stayed for two nights and were treated to gracious hospitality in a beautiful tastefully decorated historic home. Larry is an attentive host and a very professional innkeeper and we especially enjoyed our conversations with him. The rooms are all wonderfully decorated with many antique furnishings. The bed was very comfortable and the large light filled bathroom sparkling clean with all the amenities you could want. Breakfast was exceptional both mornings with great food served in a lovely dining room on exquisite china. I highly recommend Sidwell Friends and can’t wait to return.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Stay at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on June 02, 2015

My wife and I had a lovely one-night stay in The Dunaven. The decor was elegant, the room was very nice and clean, and our host was very friendly and helpful (and made a delightful french toast casserole). Would definitely stay there again if we were ever in the area!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Find in Southern Illinois at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 25, 2015

My husband and I were attending a family event in the area and stayed at this B&B for two nights. We couldn't have asked for more. This is a gorgeous historic home with a winding tree lined drive. Each room is beautifully decorated. Our room featured a four poster bed with a very comfy mattress and soft sheets. We slept wonderful both nights. Our private bathroom was just steps away down the hall with a double vanity, heated floors and towel racks and big fluffy towels. Breakfast each morning consisted of fresh fruit, granola, yogurt and freshly baked breads with marmalade and Devonshire cream. The second course the first morning was a savory egg strata and the second morning baked French toast. My favorite breakfast item was the dark chocolate filled croissants!!! Larry is the ultimate host - very friendly and full of interesting stories. We highly recommend this B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


The Best of The Best! at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 29, 2015

This is my fourth time staying with Larry. The property is beautiful, meticulously maintained and the rooms incredibly comfortable. Fantastic breakfast. But the highlight is Larry! Interesting, fun to talk to and a truly outstanding innkeeper! You won't be disappointed!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful, restful stay at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

4.4 reviewed on April 01, 2015

This was a wonderful stay. The proprietor was beyond helpful, breakfast was beautifully displayed and delicious. The rooms were exquisite.

View more reviews for this inn


Great host, great house! at Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (Mt. Vernon, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 22, 2015

Lovely, beautifully decorated home. Larry was a great host, providing cold bottled water, a Keurig-machine and snacks upstairs near the bedrooms. Breakfast was tasty and fresh, too!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast (4.92)
Top
check }