Recent Reviews in Montreal, Quebec

Excellence embodied! at B&B Le Cartier (Montreal, Quebec)

4.8 reviewed on October 02, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Our host was very helpful and responsive to our needs. The room was just awesome and perfectly located for our exploration of Montreal. Highly recommended!!

View more reviews for this inn


what a fantastic experience at Auberge Les Bons Matins (Montreal, Quebec)

4.8 reviewed on July 05, 2016

I can't start to say enough sbout out stay. First of all close to everything downtown. The metro is outside your door however we walked everywhere. Check in was great and the room was ready when they said it would be. They book your breakfast time so there is no rush and dissappointment. Make sure you take in the breakfast as it's one of the best I have had. They even had gluten free bread for one of us. The room we stayed was 705 and we loved it.. Full of life and exactly what my girlfriend loves. Beautiful Jacuzzi tub for soaking after a long day of walking. The one concern and that was more timming was we heard the guests with a baby upstairs but we have kids so it didn't bother us that much. The check out is noon and that was a great feeling to have breakfast then go back to bed for a nap before our long drive home. Exceptional experience. We will be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Not your typical B&B. The best one we have enjoyed! at B&B Le Cartier (Montreal, Quebec)

4.6 reviewed on April 16, 2014

Basic overview: My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Le Cartier. I read all the positive reviews (from a few sites) and even followed a suggestion to get an even better deal. Basically, it was the best price we could find, it was the most accommodating, and not your typical B&B. If you are interested you can read the rest of the review for more details (read the last part of the details to potentially get a better deal). Details: First, this place is very nice and extremely clean (it exceeded my wife's expectations, and she's the boss). Scott cleans the first floor everyday, bathroom, and cleans up your room if you want. Scott is really nice and does his job well, so make sure you tip him well). We stayed on the first floor, back room (Back Room 1C (Ground Fl), and it does look exactly like the picture (the Internet speed is also pretty good). The room is not that big, and there is a shared bathroom, but we didn't mind (there wasn't another guest staying in the other room, so we lucky and had the whole floor to ourselves). The kitchen is also small (again, not a problem for us), but all that you need is there. Everything is self-service, which we prefer, because we can go at our own pace in the morning or eat out. For breakfast there are three good cereals to choose from, croissants, jams and peanut butter, coffee (that you must make yourself) bagels, muffins, milk, OJ (the last four you find in the fridge). We also used the fridge to store our drinks, bagels (we liked Fairmount Bagel the best), and leftovers. Read the miss part on Tripadvisor Conclusion: If we every get a chance to come back to Montreal we are staying at Le Cartier. They treated us so well and helped to make our stay very enjoyable. I highly recommend, which is the reason I wrote this review (which I rarely do).

View more reviews for this inn


Encyclopedaic host, beautifully appointed, great location at B&B Le Cartier (Montreal, Quebec)

5 reviewed on January 15, 2012

Our host probably doubled our useful time spent in Montreal by giving explicit directions to get to the sorts of things we wanted to do, even though our intentions were rather vague. One example: "Where do you want to eat?" "I don't know, maybe like a bistro?" "A traditional French bistro? Here is the address, here it is on the map - go straight to the bar, don't stand in the doorway looking like tourists. Get the house wine if you want - it's the only place in town where the house wine is excellent." Numerous options for the sorts of things we wanted to do were noted on a large map, and we were able to go straight to the door, as quickly as if we were natives. The place was either painstakingly restored or had never seen any wear and tear since it was built, God knows when, and it was exceptionally well decorated and filled with objets d'art. To top it off, it's like 50 to 100 meters from the metro and right down by the old town. Merci beaucoup, J & M

View more reviews for this inn


Wondeful first stay in Montreal B&B at B&B Le Cartier (Montreal, Quebec)

4.2 reviewed on September 24, 2011

Other reviewers have sung the praises of this establishment and you know why? It is truly a delightful place to stay while visiting Montreal. Great location, being very close to the userfriendly metro station of Papineau. Entertainment, supermarkets, restaurants and shopping are simply around the corner on Rue St Catherine. Richard, the host, has created a tasteful selection of comfortable rooms. He was most helpful when we had problems with mislaid luggage on our arrival and made us feel welcome even when we arrived very late at night on a delayed flight. Beautiful attention to detail in both internal and external areas of this lovely B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


Will return!! at Auberge Les Bons Matins (Montreal, Quebec)

5 reviewed on February 10, 2011

We are a family of 5 that traveled to Montreal, and stayed at the Les Bons in 2 separate suites. Both were wonderful accommodations, and the breakfast was unbelievable. Staff was wonderful as well, and we will definitely return to this b&b for our next trip to Montreal!

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay in Montreal at B&B Le Cartier (Montreal, Quebec)

3.6 reviewed on January 23, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by how spacious and clean the rooms were. Also, the attention to detail in accommodations (breakfast, decor, convenience in maps and suggestions for places to eat and go) just made this place so worth the stay. I strongly recommend this place!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Place to spend a romantic vacation at B&B Le Cartier (Montreal, Quebec)

4.4 reviewed on December 26, 2010

This B&B is phenomenal. The host has lived in Montreal for 40+ years and is very knowledgeable about the town. The B&B is walking distance from the Metro and supplies the guests with excellent choices for food and entertainment. A hidden gem in Montreal.

View more reviews for this inn


Clean, comfortable, friendly and beautiful at Auberge De La Fontaine (Montreal, Quebec)

4.2 reviewed on October 13, 2010

The room was clean and very pleasant. The breakfast was excellent. I was very pleased to find I could eat heartily despite being vegan. I really appreciated the soy milk and hummus spread. Very thoughtful.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice place to stay at Auberge De La Fontaine (Montreal, Quebec)

3.8 reviewed on August 04, 2010

Very nice location directly across from Parc LaFontaine. Stayed in a "regular" room. The hotel is a bit dated with decor, but otherwise quite nice. Breakfast was very good each day. Overall, I was pleased with the stay and would return without hesitation.

View more reviews for this inn


A charming Auberge at Auberge De La Fontaine (Montreal, Quebec)

5 reviewed on July 25, 2010

We always stay here when we come to Montreal. Love the location in the East end of the city right across from the wonderful LaFontaine park. An easy walk to vibrant Rue St Denis with its upscale restaurants and shops. You'll feel well taken care of at this Auberge.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice and Friendly at Auberge De La Fontaine (Montreal, Quebec)

3.0 reviewed on July 04, 2010

A nice place across the road from a large park. Staff friendly and helpful. The room we had was on the ground floor and a bit small. The bed also small (double) more like a big single. Recommend they upgrade to queen. Parking limited, lucky we were there on the weekend so we could park out the front as it is a clearway week days. Breakfast excellant and location easy to most places.

View more reviews for this inn


I recommend it!! really so much~~~~~ at Auberge De La Fontaine (Montreal, Quebec)

5 reviewed on May 31, 2010

It's cheaper than hotel and they provide some cookie and Awesome breakfast! And clerks are very kind and the B&B Location is very good! Beside park and main street! gogo~ go for it!

View more reviews for this inn


Worth to fall in Love again at Auberge Les Bons Matins (Montreal, Quebec)

5 reviewed on February 05, 2010

Thank you so much for the hospitality, we had a marvelous and memorable time, we had one of the BEST anniversaries celebration. Who said Venice is the city to fall in Love? For us was Montreal, and thanks to LES BONS MATINS, we had a memory to cherish. The staff was superb. GREAT GREAT GREAT and much more. oxo

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely at Auberge De La Fontaine (Montreal, Quebec)

4.2 reviewed on January 28, 2010

We arrived just as fireworks were going off across the street-what a lovely surprise. The hotel was exactly as advertised-rooms looked just like the web site.

View more reviews for this inn


clean and quiet with friendly host at B&B Le Cartier (Montreal, Quebec)

3.8 reviewed on November 30, 2009

Our host was super friendly and very familiar with the city. He provided a detailed outline for places to see and visit with a large complimentary map. The room was cozy, clean and quiet with just a few amenities. The B&B’s proximity to the nearest metro station is just 2 blocks away and only a few stops from downtown. A continental breakfast is offered in a shared but much updated kitchen with all necessities (tea/coffee, muffins/croissants, yogurt/cereal). Although, the bed was near the kitchen so we were awake when the neighbors prepared their breakfast. The only major drawback was that you must clean up and wash all dishes used. All in all, it was suitable and affordable for a quick weekend in the city.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful! at Auberge Les Bons Matins (Montreal, Quebec)

5 reviewed on October 23, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here during our first trip to Montreal and Les Bons Matins itself made it a memorable stay. The room was beautiful- exactly my taste of decorating. It was a bit smaller then what we thought- and we thought the bathroom was it's it's on room but we didn't really mind. Breakfast was amazing and it was a nice touch to have the Owner serve it himself in the morning. We also appreciated how they supplied drinks (it was very convenient when you're on the go) and cookies in the main lobby. Staff was very helpful and didn't hesitate to help us with directions or restaurant recommendations. We love this place and how homey it felt! We definatly plan on coming back and staying here.

View more reviews for this inn


In oasis in the middle of Montreal at Auberge De La Fontaine (Montreal, Quebec)

4.4 reviewed on September 15, 2009

We stayed there two days in August. This property is so nice, in front of a big park (felt like Central Park). We took long walk at sunset, so beautiful. The staff was very helpful to suggest places to visit. The breakfast buffet had a nice selection and there was a street not too far who had like a dozen of restaurants to discover. We will gladly stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


the perfect vacation at Auberge Les Bons Matins (Montreal, Quebec)

4.8 reviewed on July 08, 2009

Four of us took two rooms at this B&B one spring weekend in 2009. Our friends had stayed here on many occasions before and highly recommended it... so we went with their judgment and were not disappointed in the least. It is a beautiful little B&B just a few steps away from the metro system. The breakfast was AWESOME and never-ending and the decor was cozy, rustic yet elegant at the same time. Our room had a jacuzzi tub with stone walls around it... we would gladly come back again and highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a place to stay that they they will have no regrets with...

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful stay in a wonderful place at Auberge Les Bons Matins (Montreal, Quebec)

3.8 reviewed on June 29, 2009

This was our first time staying here; it was recommended by friends who have stayed several times. We spent two nights, one each in two different luxury suites (502 & 601) to celebrate our anniversary. There was a mix-up with another guest so we did not have the same room both nights. We are flexible so we were not unduly bothered; they were apologetic and adjusted the rate, also. Loved both rooms. If you really love having natural light, one of the lower-level rooms (eg 502) probably isn't for you, but in winter or for some people it won't matter and the room was just lovely -- cozy and comfortable. The many photos on their website really do give you a good idea of what to expect with each of the rooms we booked. We found both beds quite comfortable. The whirlpool tubs we had really only fit one person comfortably although other reviewers said theirs fit two people, but because both of our tubs were basically in the living rooms, it made for some humorous and delightful socializing even while bathing. We enjoyed the funky, eclectic, colorful and cheerful décor. There were amenities in our suites we did not use (music system for DVD's, TV). Alex, at the front desk, was helpful and welcoming and funny. Breakfast was truly fabulous (as has been noted by every review I read!) The location is terrific -- there is a lively street scene just a few blocks away, and we enjoyed Ethiopian, Lebanese and Vietnamese food within just a few blocks. We recommend "Mekdala" or maybe it's "Megdala" Ethiopian on either Rue Bishop or Crescent -- delicious, comfortable, and very inexpensive. Being within a half-block to the metro was very helpful. The block is quiet, surprisingly so, tucked away in an otherwise rather central location. Our rooms were quiet, too.

View more reviews for this inn


Truly awesome B & B! at Auberge Les Bons Matins (Montreal, Quebec)

4.2 reviewed on June 16, 2009

We really enjoyed staying here - the rooms are gorgeous and comfortable, the staff were helpful and sociable, and the breakfast was beyond delicious! We would absolutely recommend this place, and we intend to go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B at Auberge Les Bons Matins (Montreal, Quebec)

4.6 reviewed on June 13, 2009

Very friendly staff - fantastic breakfast - rooms very pleasant

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing! at Auberge Les Bons Matins (Montreal, Quebec)

4.8 reviewed on June 02, 2009

What a beautiful Bed and Breakfast! The room was beautiful and comfortable, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was really delicious! I wish I could have stayed much longer!

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely Outstanding!!! at Auberge Les Bons Matins (Montreal, Quebec)

5 reviewed on May 19, 2009

Les Bons Matins is our home away from home. Outstanding service, wonderful staff, in fall and winter you can snuggle up in front of the fire place with your sweetie, warmer months you can lounge in your personal cozy terrace, yummy breakie, a 5 minute walk to bustling St Catherine, a mear 2 minute jaunt to subway which gets you into Old Montreal in less than 10 minutes, gosh what more could you ask for? We love it, and are generally there 2 - 3 time a year. A true delight......Trish & Guy

View more reviews for this inn


One of the best at Auberge Les Bons Matins (Montreal, Quebec)

5 reviewed on May 11, 2009

If you are looking for a great B&B in Montreal, look no further. Less than a minute walk from the Lucien-L'Allier metro (subway) stop, this B&B won't disappoint you. We paid for an economy room (with bath down the hallway). The bed and room was VERY clean and comfy. The bath was equally pleasing. We saw the owner, Harold, several mornings at breakfast. The women who work there are very attentive. The breakfasts themselves are spectacular. Starting with fresh-squeezed OJ, choice of cheese puffs, quiches, breads, french toast (regular and raisin), waffles, and cheese/jelly/PB, you also get a choice of an egg dish (omelettes/benedict, etc). We managed only 2 meals a day, with the big breakfast and an early dinner, with dessert in our room at night. There is use of the fridge in the lower floor of each building. I can't find anything bad to say about the place! One of the best B&Bs we've ever stayed in.

View more reviews for this inn


The smile of the owner did it for me at Auberge Les Bons Matins (Montreal, Quebec)

4.8 reviewed on May 07, 2009

We stayed there for a surprise birthday jaunt. It was the weekend of Nuit Blanche. We loved the easy location right by the metro. It was easy to fall in love with Montreal. The room was cute and comfortable. We were grateful that our backs didn't ache in the morn. I wasn't crazy about the painted images hanging on the walls all throughout the place, but my companiera did like the colors. I believe the images were done by someone known to the owner? Why I'd return? The management! Every one of them was generous, giving, helpful. They let us borrow an umbrella, they suggested places to go. The owner shines one of the most joyous and gracious smiles when he serves you breakfast. And breakfast is unreal. Real coffee and espresso drinks. Eggs cooked to order. Delicious choices. The manager personally goes out of his way and sees to it that your needs are attended to.

View more reviews for this inn


Inn Between at Auberge Les Bons Matins (Montreal, Quebec)

4.6 reviewed on May 04, 2009

This is a new hotel owned by the same owner. Perfect for a longer stay. The rooms are so romantic with their large tubs. The shared balcony is nice on a sunny day. It is within walking distance to Rue St. Denis which was always a great area to visit. My only disappointment was that it was farther from the metro than I would have liked. The area isn't the best right now, but the owner promises that it is turning around. Enjoy!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Breakfast! at Auberge Les Bons Matins (Montreal, Quebec)

5 reviewed on May 04, 2009

This is the most amazing bed and breakfast right in the heart of Montreal only a brief walk to many of the city's attractions. The breakfast offered in the morning is beyond belief...great service, many egg dishes to choose from, and a plethora of fruit. Can't wait to stay there again sometime in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


excellent B & B at B&B Le Cartier (Montreal, Quebec)

5 reviewed on March 24, 2009

Every one at Le Cartier was very helpful and friendly. Richard was exceptionally knowledgeable. My friends and I had a pleasant and relaxing stay and I highly recommend the establishment.

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B, Great Location at Auberge Les Bons Matins (Montreal, Quebec)

4.8 reviewed on March 23, 2009

My fiancee and I stayed here in early July 2008 - it was our first time in Montreal and this proved to be a wonderful B&B to welcome us and make us feel at home. The service was wonderful (very helpful with places to go, directions around Montreal, service at the inn). The rooms were just as they appear in the pictures: beautiful, quirky, and comfortable. We stayed in 703 the first night and then moved to 702 over the weekend. The location was perfect for us - a quick walk to downtown and right next to a metro stop for easy access to the rest of the city - it always felt safe to walk. Plenty of drinks were nearly always available in the common kitchen as were some very tasty cookies. The only complaint, and it would be an extremely minor one, was the variability at breakfast. The selection was good, and the food tasted great - it was just that it was the same each day. Otherwise, this was a fabulous place to stay. And Montreal in the summer is highly recommended! We plan on returning and would have no concerns about staying here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Auberge Les Bons Matins (4.67)
  2. B&B Le Cartier (4.35)
  3. Auberge De La Fontaine (4.10)
Top
check }