Recent Reviews in Monticello, Florida

Girls weekend getaway at Avera-Clarke House Bed & Breakfast (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on September 30, 2017

We are a group of five girls that take a weekend getaway in once a year. We chose Alvera Clark bed and breakfast because the brochures and online website showed an Immaculate place to stay. Gretchen and Troyare amazing people. They treated us as if they like family. They are wonderful, terrific hosts. An amazing breakfast every morning thanks to Gretchen and Troy. Gretchen is an awesome cook. They gave us our privacy. They informed us of places to visit in restaurants to eat at. The grounds fair at the bed-and-breakfast are totally amazing. Peace and serenity away you at Avera-Clarke bed and breakfast. We will totally stay there again. Thank you Gretchen and Troy. See you soon, Debbie

View more reviews for this inn


Last minute getaway at The Cottage Bed and Breakfast (Monticello, Florida)

4.8 reviewed on August 11, 2017

Inn keepers were very helpful and accommodating. The breakfast was outstanding too! Will be visiting again.

View more reviews for this inn


Such a Wonderful Stay at The Cottage Bed and Breakfast (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on July 24, 2017

From the moment you walk up to the Cottage B&B you get a feeling that this is a home that is truly loved. They have done an amazing job of turning a simple little cottage into an amazing experience. From the walls around the courtyard, to the details in the interior decorating, the artistic flare that Martha and Jean have put into their home is nothing short of incredible. The brilliance of these creative touches are only matched by the warmth of their hospitality. My wife and I could not have felt more relaxed and at home if we were staying with family. From our amazing room, to the local restaurant they recommended, to a five star breakfast the next morning with wonderful company, everything was well beyond my expectations. We will definitely stay here again. Thank you so much, Martha and Jean, for such a wonderful experience. June and John

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent hospitality! at The Cottage Bed and Breakfast (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on June 02, 2017

We stayed in the Romeo and Juliet room and were blown away at how cozy it is! Martha and Jon Michel were incredibly enjoyable to speak with! They are very nice people and know a lot about the area to provide guidance to what is going on!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Time at The Cottage Bed and Breakfast (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on April 28, 2017

We enjoyed our stay very much. Hosts were outstanding. Will definitely be going back.

View more reviews for this inn


Love this place! at The Cottage Bed and Breakfast (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on October 23, 2016

The Cottage is absolutely charming. My husband and I were looking for a quiet romantic weekend away and that's exactly what we got. The place is beautifully decorated. The owners are sweet and accommodating, and the food is phenomenal! We loved our stay and definitely plan on returning one day!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing property with Superior service and Attention to Detail at Avera-Clarke House Bed & Breakfast (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on October 09, 2016

Gretchen and Troy were consummate hosts that were available every step of the way. My husband and I stayed in the guest house which is large enough to host a wedding function or intimate enough for a getaway for two. We requested breakfast in our cottage and it was hand delivered in courses with china, linen, and crystal. Troy had a vast knowledge on the history of the cottage that was moved and relocated to their property. The locale, service level, and costs were superior. We would highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Can't praise it highly enough! at The Cottage Bed and Breakfast (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on October 03, 2016

My husband and I have enjoyed The Cottage B and B several times and can tell you that we have been treated beautifully every time. A truly European adventure right in little Monticello, FL.

View more reviews for this inn


Feels like a stay in Europe at The Cottage Bed and Breakfast (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on June 20, 2016

The personal architecture, hard work, and detailed design that this couple has put into their B&B is outstanding. Highly recommended for a beautiful stay. They are very friendly, accommodate to your needs, cook great food, and have amazing rooms that will exceed your expectations.

View more reviews for this inn


A Piece of Paradise at Avera-Clarke House Bed & Breakfast (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on May 16, 2016

We just returned from a wonderful weekend getaway at Troy and Gretchen's piece of paradise...Wonderful people, warm, friendly as was the atmosphere all throughout this little town. They gave us great advice as to what to do, and where to eat dinner. We never ate lunch as breakfast was so tasty and filling! This paradise Bed and Breakfast is a beautiful short walk to the town. I will recommend to all our friends...thank you so very much!

View more reviews for this inn


Enjoyable European Stay at The Cottage Bed and Breakfast (Monticello, Florida)

4.6 reviewed on February 14, 2016

This was a very interesting place, in which they took an ordinary house and extensively remodeled it into a rather unique quaint European villa. The owner, Jean-Michel is an interesting well travelled man. He did most of the art work as well as the Italian architecture and outside courtyard. He also made a wonderful breakfast from scratch consisting of tasty pastries. The Romantic Garden Room The bed seemed a bit small for a Queen and the wicker love seat a bit uncomfortable to watch TV. But the rest of the place was beautiful and romantic. By, 50 State Bucket List

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful and Charming at Avera-Clarke House Bed & Breakfast (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on July 07, 2015

Our Wedding was Amazing! The Avera-Clarke House was such a beautiful setting , Gretchen and Troy were wonderful Hosts. A perfect weekend. Thank you for helping make it so special!

View more reviews for this inn


What a blessing in every way! Great value! Must go! at The Cottage Bed and Breakfast (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on May 15, 2015

My husband and I enjoyed this B & B tremendously! It was so relaxing, serene and beautiful! The food was outstanding for breakfast and dinner! The service was so personal and made us feel special! The bed was comfortable and the room spacious and convenient. Jean Michel and Martha are delightful too! We highly recommend all to visit. you won't be disappointed. We can't wait to go again! Karen & Steven

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Hosts at The Cottage Bed and Breakfast (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on May 03, 2015

I have not had the pleasure of staying at The Cottage Bed and Breakfast as an overnight guest, but am looking forward to it in the future. Martha and Jean Michel were gracious enough to prepare a private dinner for 4 to celebrate our daughter's college graduation last night. Jean Michel charmed us with his stories and Martha served us the most impeccable meal. Both the Salmon and the Chicken melted in our mouths, each was served with exotic Forbidden Rice, as well as fresh baked bread. To top off the meal was delicious homemade lavender ice cream. It was without a doubt the best meal I have ever had. Thank you Martha and Jean Michel for your hospitality. I look forward to visiting soon. Katie M.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Bridal Luncheon at The Cottage Bed and Breakfast (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on April 22, 2015

I wanted a vintage environment for this luncheon and The Cottage provided it. The unique details were everywhere. The food was gourmet and reasonable, the crystal and China beautiful. Frenchy and Martha are warm and gracious and more than happy to show guests around this quaint B&B tucked into a quiet street of historic Monticello. It is amazing what they have created. All my guests were entranced.

View more reviews for this inn


Above and Beyond Service at 1872 John Denham House (Monticello, Florida)

4.6 reviewed on March 23, 2015

Recently used the John Denham House as a base of operations for some biological work on the Aucilla River. Long days in the field meant we were up very early and back late. Ms. Inmon and her team had the early breakfasts ready for us well before dawn.....and those meals were wonderful! And the team were smiling to boot! Couldn't dream of more responsive and friendly folks. Dr. Scott E.

View more reviews for this inn


Great weekend getaway at 1872 John Denham House (Monticello, Florida)

4.0 reviewed on December 17, 2014

Stayed at the Denham house back in June. It was a wonderful experience. Great breakfast included and friendly staff. The staff couldn't do enough for you. In fact planning another trip back in April 2015.

View more reviews for this inn


Southern Retreat at 1872 John Denham House (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on September 07, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights to attend a memorial 6K run in Thomasville, GA. Very clean and nicely appointed rooms and our host was extremely gracious. I would highly recommend this B&B as a alternative to a run of the meal hotel chain.

View more reviews for this inn


Match quality-price and location at 1872 John Denham House (Monticello, Florida)

3.2 reviewed on August 11, 2014

Very good! Pat the hostess very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good. The mattress in my room I think it has to be renew soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Experience at 1872 John Denham House (Monticello, Florida)

4.4 reviewed on July 19, 2014

My husband & I spent two nights as guests at this property (7/14-15/14) upon the recommendation of my niece, who lives in Monticello. Pat, owner/innkeeper, has restored this home as close to its original period as possible, yet keeping it simple and uncluttered. Hospitality, comfort and cleanliness are obviously top priorities; not to mention Pat's delicious homemade breakfasts that we continue to rave about! We are seasoned travelers and give this INN very high marks! Don&Sherry Beaufort,SC

View more reviews for this inn


Girls weekend away at 1872 John Denham House (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on July 15, 2014

Meet girlfriends from South Florida for a long weekend over Watermelon Festival. Couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Room was large enough for the four of us to share, plenty of clean towels for all of us, beds where comfortable! Breakfast for first day consisted of fresh fruit, homemade Blueberry Pancakes, bacon and eggs. Second day we were treated to homemade Pecan Waffles eggs and fresh ham, along with fresh fruit. In the afternoons were homemade cookies and in the evenings wine. The B&B was calming, clean, clutter free and welcoming. Great front porch to relax on. We enjoyed taking the Ghost Tour and learning some history about Monticello. Pat and her helper Marcy were wonderful. We didn't want for anything. Would definitely stay again and recommend to everyone. Thank you Pat for making our weekend completely stress free:)

View more reviews for this inn


Our out-of-state visitors loved it! at Avera-Clarke House Bed & Breakfast (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on June 01, 2014

Our friends were visiting from Virginia for a couple of days and we arranged for their stay at Avera-Clarke in the cottage. They were very happy with the spacious and comfortable accommodations, the friendliness and helpfulness of the hosts, the lovely grounds, and the delicious breakfasts. If you are expecting overnight visitors and are unable to have them stay in your home, treat them to a stay at Avera-Clarke. You won't be sorry because Gretchen and Troy will make sure that your guests have everything they need for a pleasant stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Old World Charm at The Cottage Bed and Breakfast (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on May 31, 2014

I am so glad we stayed with Martha and Jean Michel. The experience is very unique because of all the special details. The design and lavish artistic elements of the cottage have been created by Jean Michel (a charming french-man) and are fun to notice and admire. We enjoyed swinging in the courtyard while listening to the fountain and birds. The backyard garden is cool and filled with unexpected surprises. Martha made delicious home made bread for us. We also had a special dinner with the best salmon I have ever tasted. We loved Martha and Jean Michel because of their kindness and hospitality.

View more reviews for this inn


Southern Hospitality at Its Best at 1872 John Denham House (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on May 23, 2014

My husband and I recently spent two days here. What a special treat! Our room was lovely, the food was divine, and the innkeeper, Pat, is delightful. If you're looking for a quiet retreat in a lovely Southern town, this is the place. And Pat has just started offering an "instant wedding" package for those who want a small, intimate ceremony with all the preparation done for you! I can't say enough good things about the house and it's owner! Kathy H.

View more reviews for this inn


Luxury while Lobbying in Tallahassee at 1872 John Denham House (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on April 11, 2014

My son and I decided to try lobbying in nearby Tallahassee. With hotels at a premium and the prices outrageous, I found the John Denham B and B online. It has been delightful! The 1870's house is restored to its prime, maintaining its charm, with the addition of some more modern conveniences such as private baths in all rooms. Each room has a theme of color and various period antiques. Extremely clean and maintained areas for socializing or just relaxing. The breakfast was outstanding and was ample enough to fill the "bottomless pit" of a teenage boy! The inn-keeper was very helpful and pleasant. I will come back again soon to achieve some political goals in the city only about 20 mins. from this lovely place!

View more reviews for this inn


Steps and No Steps at 1872 John Denham House (Monticello, Florida)

4.2 reviewed on April 04, 2014

After climbing several steps, my less than cordial greeting at the kitchen door, where I saw the hostess working, was to go to another door. At that door, I was told to go around to the front door. So with my bad knees and painful arthritis, I go down side steps, around house and up front steps--all without benefit of railings of any kind. Hostess was nice enough after that. We chose a room with king bed which was comfy but too tall to get into easily. A small step stool would have helped. The bathroom was large but the shower was hard to get water going without getting floor wet. It was impossible to set the unusually large shampoo and conditioner bottles on shower shelves. Lightbulb was out over sink too.

View more reviews for this inn


Thomas and Hanne from Copenhagen, Denmark at 1872 John Denham House (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on February 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in this wonderful B&B. We truly enjoyed our stay in Monticello in John Denhams House with Patricia as a very welcoming hostess. The breakfast was the best we had in our 18 days long stay in USA

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful Valentine's Day at The Cottage Bed and Breakfast (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on February 15, 2014

Martha and Jean-Michel -- As first-timers visiting your wonderful home, business, restaurant last night, I wanted to say "Thank You" on behalf of our happy group of friends. What a refreshing pleasure and contrast it was to come and visit you -- and avoid the crowds of over-booked turn-the-tables-quickly Tallahassee restaurants. It was such a lovely and relaxing evening…….beautiful setting……terrific service and special attention…..gourmet-level customized meal…..fine spirits……..awesome dessert……and, we were just so happily wowed. We know that we'll always remember our 'first time' with you --- but it will be just that…..only the first time. We expect to be back -- regularly……. Thank you for your new friendship and your wonderful treatment of us all for a unique and memorable Valentine's Day…. Cheers -- and know that we will selectively spread the word…. all our best, Ron

View more reviews for this inn


Took wife for Birthday dinner at The Cottage Bed and Breakfast (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on February 03, 2014

I took my wife to the Cottage B&B for a special Birthday dinner. Martha and Jean-Michel, the charming innkeepers, gave us a very delightful and memorable dining experience. We started off with a wonderful salad and homemade rosemary bread. We progressed to a fabulous jerk-maple salmon with an extraordinary side of brandy cream rice and asparagus, tinged with a light tangerine sauce. "Super delicious"! We ended the evening with a luscious mint chocolate cake. The evening couldn't have been more perfect. Thank you for making my wife's Birthday extra special. "Cheers"!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay at 1872 John Denham House (Monticello, Florida)

5 reviewed on January 01, 2014

Wonderful place to stay! Very quiet. The bed and pillows were so comfy. Great weekend trip to enjoy walking and shopping at the antique shops downtown. The host, Ms. Pat, is wonderful and makes you feel like you are at home. We will definitely stay in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
check }