Recent Reviews in Montara, California

Friendly hosts and cozy stay! at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

4.6 reviewed on October 16, 2017

We had a great stay with friendly hosts, great conversations, and comfortable stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Charming B&B on the California Coast at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

5 reviewed on September 04, 2017

We had a lovely stay at Goose & Turrets. Lots of interesting historical artifacts and placards in our room and the common areas. Hosts were fun and interesting. Heard some good stories at tea time. Walking distance to the beach and a tasty Peruvian restaurant. Easy drive to Pacifica to the North and Half Moon Bay to the South for more options. 4 course breakfast was outstanding. Hosts were very accommodating of my vegetarian diet. Would definitely recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


A quiet seaside retreat perfect for recharging more than your smartphone at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

4.4 reviewed on August 13, 2017

I booked the goose room as a surprise weekend getaway and it did not disappoint. Nicely tucked away and off the beaten path this quiet retreat was much needed to recharge our batteries. We arrived late, but luckily the proprietor was still around and quickly got us situated to our room which was a pleasant surprise with ample room and a nice view. The room had clean sheets and towels, of course, with a nice surprise of chocolate truffles waiting for us at the corner desk. The owners had good recommendations for nearby dining options, so make sure to ask and they might even be able to make a reservation for you. The bed was a little creaky, but otherwise comfortable. I recommend to take advantage of tea time as it is a delightful experience regrettably not taken advantage of nearly enough these days. Breakfast is also a fine experience - please put the devices away and commune with fellow travelers or even your spouse! You will be amazed at how relaxing and enjoyable a meal can be with some simple etiquette observations. The garden is also delightful and features small spaces to enjoy and afternoon morsel or a snooze in a hammock. The owners are delightful hosts and I would definitely come back!

View more reviews for this inn


Love this B&B! at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

4.8 reviewed on October 28, 2016

planned a last minute get-away with my boyfriend and many places were booked. I happen to come across this cute Bed and Breakfast in Montara, 10 min from Half Moon Bay. I grabbed the last room. The owners are husband and wife and got in touch with me right away to see if I needed directions, if we had a special dietary restrictions and also asked if we would be joining them in afternoon tea. This quaint place definitely exceeded my expectations and was reasonably priced. The owners (who have run the place for over 30 years) are SO nice and hospitable. We loved sitting down and having a conversation with them over tea. The other visitors were also lovely and in the morning we all sat down for a 9am four-course breakfast (included!) I will DEFINITELY go back the next time I visit Half Moon Bay! (The rooms all had a cool theme to them as well!!)

View more reviews for this inn


Quirky and charming B&B at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

4.4 reviewed on October 09, 2016

We were looking for an inn close to the Pacific Coast highway AND the San Francisco Airport that wasn't charging exorbitant rates. Emily and Raymond are retired pilots whose love of aviation is evident, especially in the Clipper Room. Afternoon tea gave us an opportunity to meet the other guests and get knowledgeable recommendations for dining, and the four course breakfast exceeded my expectations. Comfortable bed, aging but adequate bathroom, and great morning conversation made for an enjoyable stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Good place to stay with great atmosphere. at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

4.8 reviewed on September 08, 2016

This is a quiet place with lots of history. The couple that runs the bed and breakfast make you feel right at home and add to the comfort of the stay. Learn a little history and eat a great breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Classic B&B at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

3.4 reviewed on August 19, 2016

Stayed a night earlier this summer. This is an old-school, quaint B&B owned by a couple that is retired from their regular professions. The husband has led an interesting life, having traveled around the world. The bedroom was clean and comfortable, and we had our own bathroom. The couple serves tea at 4:30 pm. My only complaint is there was only one tea option offered, which tasted like Lipton or something similar. I would have liked some variety (e.g.,Earl Grey, chamomile). But the couple was sweet, helpful with directions, etc. It's great for travelers looking for the classic B&B experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint, perhaps a bit worn at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

3.4 reviewed on February 17, 2016

The room was tiny and cramped, even though we registered for the room advertised as most romantic, and which happened to be right next to the door leading outside, the front desk and the sitting area. So perhaps more for a romance not including the kind designed for procreation. That's okay, not a killing point, I can't review the other rooms. The owner/operator present was a kindly man. That being said, he seemed incredibly condescending when speaking with us, perhaps he wasn't used to a younger couple. Guests were all 40+ (more in the 50+ rather than the under), again not a dating, but he seemed much more friendly to them. Did not receive a key to the room. If you stay here, be incredibly trusting or leave nothing of value. Was asked for food allergies prior to visit, informed him of no allergies but vegetarian diets. No reply, menu was not altered. That being said, the food we were served that didn't include meats was fantastic. Room was clean, in the sense that sheets had been changed, but did not appear to have been scrubbed in quite some time, due to the grime built up in corners and the ring in the tiny shower. All in all, food was good, service was serviceable (I also had to voluntarily give him the amount owed, he had no idea), and the house was quaint. Location was adequate as was the cleanliness of the room, more worn out than dirty. Guest requests being ignored (diets being an easy request, simply don't add the meat), room being uncomfortable, unlocked, and in a terrible location, and being treated less like a customer paying 200 dollars a night and more like a tolerated but unwelcome 4th cousin ruined my valentines weekend a bit.

View more reviews for this inn


B&B experience at Goose at Goose & Turrets at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

3.6 reviewed on January 28, 2016

Our experience was delightful, we were greeted warmly and prompt. Food was very nicely done. The room was charming and comfortable. We would go back for a return visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B in the central coast! at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

5 reviewed on January 04, 2016

Ray and Emily just celebrated 30 years of the Goose & Turrets! They have created a truly unique B&B in a historic building in Montara. Tea is at 4 and a special 4 course breakfast at nine.... don't be late!

View more reviews for this inn


George & Luci at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

5 reviewed on December 25, 2015

Whenever we've stayed, we felt comfortable and at home, thanks to our hosts and the ambiance. Our breakfast (we did not do tee) delicious and innovative every time.

View more reviews for this inn


Montana's hidden gem at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

4.6 reviewed on November 25, 2015

Wish we had known about this great place before. The tea in the afternoon, engaging hosts and fabulous breakfast will ensure that we return.

View more reviews for this inn


A good stay at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

4.2 reviewed on November 20, 2015

Wonderful breakfasts. A good base to explore south of San Francisco.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful! at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

3.8 reviewed on October 10, 2015

Emily and Raymond were delightful! Warm and welcoming! We received an email in advance of our stay inquiring as to if we had any food allergies and asking if we needed directions - in all of the time we have stayed at B&B's this was the first time we have ever been contacted in advance - which is a wonderful touch! We will definitely stay with them again.

View more reviews for this inn


We will always come back ! at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

4.6 reviewed on September 21, 2015

It's a perfect place if you want to be easy and relaxed... If you are not looking for partying at nights, it will be perfect for you

View more reviews for this inn


We will come back always! at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

5 reviewed on September 10, 2015

Great place to stay quite and surrounded by peace and beauty... Not indicated for those who look for night action though... Awesome breakfasts every day and the hosts are always welling to help you with everything you need

View more reviews for this inn


A lovely B&B! at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

4.8 reviewed on July 22, 2015

Goose & Turrets is one of the nicest B&Bs we have stayed at in our world travels! The building is an 107-year old red wood house surrounded by gardens and hedges and filled with interesting memorabilia that the owners, Raymond and Emily, have picked up all over the world. Each room has a theme: hummingbirds, air travel, cave art and ours, the Demetra room with images of the Greek goddess decorating the curtains and walls. The themes are not cutesy and overwhelming, but interesting and enjoyable. The rooms are generally spacious with large bathrooms. Two luggage racks are supplied as are multiple hooks in the ensuite bathrooms – two useful features that are often lacking in even luxury hotels! And the breakfasts!! We stayed three nights and were served three completely different, and completely delicious, four-course breakfasts! The courses are small so one doesn’t leave the table feeling bloated, but very happy and well-fed. If you are around at 4:30 in the afternoon the owners serve tea. The day we were there they served tea, crackers with spinach/artichoke spread, and topped it off with a small dish of fresh peach cobbler! You will be very well taken care of here at Goose & Turrets! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Comfort and Hospitality at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

5 reviewed on July 17, 2015

Raymond and Emily provide a wonderfully hospitable stay, serving afternoon tea, excellent conversation and a lovely and delicious 4 course gourmet breakfast. This was my second stay at the Goose and Turrets and I will definitely return again.

View more reviews for this inn


Very nice B&B at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

4.2 reviewed on May 20, 2015

Raymond and Emily are delightful. We enjoyed visiting with them. The old house is charming with a lot of character. Wonderful breakfast and homemade truffles. Would definitely stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place! at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

5 reviewed on May 18, 2015

Wonderful hosts. Good conversation and food.

View more reviews for this inn


You will be pleasantly surprised if you stay here. at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

3.8 reviewed on April 29, 2015

The hosts had a perfect blend of friendliness and insuring our privacy.They were accomodating and discreet. We arrived early, after hiking 6 miles, and they welcomed us into their cozy B and B. The tea and breakfast they serve is lovely and feels somewhat European, which reflects one of the owners background.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice place, missed the hosts at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

3.2 reviewed on March 02, 2015

Stayed here on a Sunday night, the highlight was the other guests - really nice folks whi made for good conversation. The hosts were out of town, which made it a bit peculiar. For me one of the highlights of going to bnbs is the cozy atmosphere facilitated by the hosts. The room was alright, peculiar geometry tho. The breakfast was great.

View more reviews for this inn


Disappointing and Dirty at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

1.2 reviewed on February 19, 2015

We have shared our experience through email with the owners of Goose & Turrets B&B and trust that they will improve the property, the cleanliness, and the service when they return to their B&B after being away for about 4 months. We are convinced that their absence greatly contributed to a less-than-good experience for us. We wish them the best of luck and hope they can turn things around.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful, quiet, romantic at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

4.2 reviewed on November 12, 2014

Beautiful setting. Eclectic decor throughout the main living area--lots to see. The Clipper room is full of early flight (think Wright Brothers) decorations and memorabilia. Breakfast was delicious and filling. Our hosts were mostly absent---appearing silently to leave tea and set out breakfast, leaving us alone to explore the B&B on our own--which we loved.

View more reviews for this inn


Love the Goose and Turrets at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

5 reviewed on November 11, 2014

We had a great stay here! Our hosts, Emily and Raymond, are so welcoming, we just love to stay here. The breakfasts are outstanding, and they are very helpful about getting reservations and directing us to local hikes and beaches. This is a wonderful, quirky, bookish place, and we always meet such interesting and congenial people!

View more reviews for this inn


Not so romantic at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

4.2 reviewed on November 09, 2014

Our romantic getaway need up being fun in a totally different way. The restaurant a mile down the road made the whole experience better. Ocean view and great food! A nice getaway

View more reviews for this inn


Exceeded expectations at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

4.4 reviewed on March 08, 2014

Everything was excellent. The owners are extraordinary, generous and filled with life experience. They kindly let our daughter and son in law join us for afternoon tea. Excellent food. Very relaxing. Very environmentally responsible using recycled water for their outside landscaping.

View more reviews for this inn


Serenity and personality at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

5 reviewed on January 10, 2014

We come here every year. Gourmet breakfast and tea, and Raymond is happy to explain how he grows much of the produce himself and makes most dishes from scratch. A house filled with books and art. Very accommodating hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Always a delight at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

4.8 reviewed on September 07, 2013

We have stayed at the Goose and Turret many times while visiting family in Montara and Half Moon Bay, and frequently meet other repeat guests at the B&B. Breakfast is delicious with multiple courses that change daily. We enjoy talking with Emily and Raymond about flying, traveling, cooking, gardening and other interests. I also enjoy practicing French with Raymond, who has a French background.

View more reviews for this inn


A nice stay just outside of San Francisco at Goose & Turrets B&B (Montara, California)

4.8 reviewed on August 09, 2013

Great breakfast and interesting and gracious hosts. Charming room and comfortable bed.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Goose & Turrets B&B (4.42)
Top
check }