Turning Waters Bed, Breakfast & Adventure Reviews

Overall
5.0

View details

  • Guest room5
  • Service5
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness5
  • Onsite Dining5

Score Breakdown based on
8 Reviews

Write A Review

Decadent & Luxurious 5 Star Experience!

5 on November 21, 2016

My husband and I spent three delightful nights in The River Room. The suite was spacious, peaceful & relaxing. We loved the whirlpool tub! This stunningly beautiful inn was immaculate, warm and welcoming. Plenty of easily accessible, safe & convenient parking. Brenda & Ford were, as usual, friendly, fascinating and extremely helpful. They have a unique talent in making guests feel at home like family. The breakfasts are absolutely delicious! Special attention was made to every detail. Both Brenda & Ford are skilled chefs, serving delicious fare using fresh local wholesome ingredients with special attention made to complete nutrition. Breakfasts are filling, nutritionally balanced and delicious! We had three perfectly peaceful nights sleep on a very comfortable bed with very soft linens. It was hard to leave this beautiful and peaceful place! We have been to several B & B's throughout our travels, this one stands far and above all of the rest. It's refreshing to find such delightful people with an infectious zest for life, compassionate sense of community and an exuberant love for what they do! Thank you for providing such a relaxing sanctuary and for all your understanding! This is THE place to stay while in the Wabasha area. We will definitely be back!

Innkeeper Response
We thank you for your continued support and business on your travels to Wabasha, MN. We love making breakfast an event with healthy and organic ingredients and foods as much as possible. I enjoyed watching you create your Christmas Tree masterpieces while you were here. We are excited to see photos of your new kitties! See you on the next visit. Brenda & Ford


Turning Waters B&B Is Phenomenal!!

5 on November 04, 2016

The Turning Waters B&B in Wabasha, Minnesota is phenomenal!! My wife and I have stayed in numerous B&Bs over the years and Turning Waters B&B was the cleanest place we've ever stayed. Our room was outstanding! Brenda and Ford (Owners) are very fun, casual and accommodating. As for the breakfast, that too, was off the charts great and included a homemade egg bake and muffins, fresh fruit, chicken sausage, OJ and coffee. We could not have had a better stay, accommodations or breakfast. We also enjoyed two awesome bike rides along the Mississippi River around Wabasha and on the Wisconsin side of the river which was also fantastic. Without question, Turning Waters B&B is the place to stay in and around Wabasha. Their brewery will be opening soon and that will add another great dimension to your visit. Enjoy! Thanks again to Brenda and Ford!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much! We appreciate you taking the time to share with others what you liked about our home and our beautiful river. Thanks for noticing that we do clean a lot around the house AND breakfast is our favorite meal. We do our best to serve our guests what we would eat, which means you get great healthy, organic and home raised foods. See you again when the brewery opens. Cheeers


Excellent breakfast

4.8 on July 25, 2016

The breakfasts were the highlight of this stay. This inn takes great care to use top quality ingredients in their offerings. often including organic and gluten-free options.

Innkeeper Response
We appreciate your feedback and we too love a great breakfast and pride ourselves on serving organic, locally grown (we have a big garden) and take into consideration dietary restrictions too. Hope you have a great rest of your adventurous trip and see you again in the future.


Terrific B & B

5 on June 08, 2016

We enjoyed our stay at Turning Waters immensely. This was a surprise birthday gift for my husband, so I wanted a B & B that catered more to his style and tastes. Upon arrival we were greeted by Brenda and Ford, offered a sampling of their wonderful beers and had a lively conversation getting to know each other. The home and décor is refreshingly masculine. We spent hours of our evening in the living room/den. Very comfortable and relaxing space. Loved the beauty of the woodwork throughout the house. Our bed was spacious and extremely comfortable for a wonderful night of sleep. Breakfast was delicious. Brenda's natural ability to spark conversation kept the table chatting. All over this was a terrific stay, highly recommended and we will enjoy coming back for another stay!

Innkeeper Response
We are so glad you both enjoyed our home and of course Ford's homebrew beer. I'm never one to just sit still and let people feel uncomfortable around the table, plus there is always history of the house, our town, by the way, did you know Wabasha is the oldest city in Minnesota! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Brenda & Ford


Delightful B & B!!

5 on June 06, 2016

My husband and I spent three glorious nights in The River Room Suite. The suite was spacious, peaceful & relaxing. This stunningly beautiful inn was immaculate, warm and welcoming. Plenty of easily accessible parking. Brenda and Ford were friendly, fascinating and extremely helpful. They had a way of making us feel at home as if we were family. The breakfasts are absolutely delicious! The best breakfasts we have ever enjoyed at a B & B! Special attention was made to every detail. Fresh and wholesome ingredients, clean local meats and healthy balanced nutrition. We had three perfect nights sleep on a very comfortable bed with very soft linens. It was hard to leave this beautiful and peaceful place! We will definitely be back!

Innkeeper Response
My sincere apologies for not responding sooner. Thank you for taking the time to review our home and we enjoyed having you stay with us. We look forward to dazzling you with more delicious meals the next time you visit your family here in Wabasha. Until then, be safe, have fun and stay healthy. Brenda & Ford


What can I say?

5 on March 15, 2016

My BFF and I needed an escape from our hectic "take care of everybody else but ourselves" lives and Turning Waters B&B really fit the bill. We stayed two (2) nights . . . both rooms were spacious and comfortable, and the breakfasts was fantastic! We visited the National Eagle Center where we learned several "fun facts" and watched the eagles soar over the Mississippi River for several hours. Downtown Wabasha is small, but several local restaurants and shops gave us enough variety for our short vacation! I can't wait to visit again with my husband, as I'm told Turning Waters is planning to open a small brew pub soon!

Innkeeper Response
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our home and the surroundings that compliment our home. We would love to have you back and your hubby or friends too:) The National Eagle Center is a magnificent place to visit and we are working on the brew pub. We homebrew for free sampling until it is in place. See you soon on the next visit. Cheers. Brenda & Ford


This place gave us a reason to be "repeat guests!"

5 on November 07, 2015

Wow, we can't even begin to describe how WONDERFUL our stay was here at the Turning Waters Bed, Breakfast, and Adventure! When we picked a B & B in Wabasha, we weren't sure what to expect. When we turned the corner, and we saw this BIG, beautiful house - we were pleasantly surprised! We were greeted by Brenda, who gave us a quick tour, showed us the Coniferous Suite, and asked us if we would like a beer tasting - they are brewing their own beer. We did our tasting, met the other people in the house - instant family! The rooms are beautiful and there isn't a bad one in the bunch. There are perks to staying in the suites, but the regular rooms are wonderful, too. Every room has it's own bathroom. They write the names of the guests on the doors, so you know who your neighbors are. You can sit and enjoy movies with the guests, OR, you can spend time in your own room...we did a little bit of both when we weren't out exploring the area. The next few days were so much fun that we ended up booking one more night, and at one point, we were the only people at the B & B - and Brenda even made us a pizza with some of the breakfast leftovers - smoked salmon, gouda cheese - YUM! We were able to enjoy complimentary wine, beer, and even helped out a bit in the kitchen (because we wanted to, not because we were asked to). The service was amazing - the breakfasts were incredible (they use local, organic, nitrate-free, meats, etc., and everything is made from scratch)! The yogurt parfait was the best I've ever had....and I kept going back for more fresh apple cider and coffee....and every day there was fresh fruit/baked goods on the table. By the time we left, we felt like family! Do yourself a favor and stay at this bed and breakfast - you will NOT be disappointed. We WILL be going back! Thank you, so much, Brenda and Ford, for your hospitality and welcoming us / taking such good care of us in your beautiful home.

Innkeeper Response
First let me apologize for the untimely response. Second, we are super excited you enjoyed yourself on your stay and we do remember you fondly:) It was an epic time with you in the house and we appreciate your new friendship since then. The yummy food is a staple and so is the awesome beer. Come see us again soon and thanks again for sharing your experience. Cheers Brenda & Ford


Fantastic stay!

5 on April 14, 2013

My husband and I chose the River Room Suite for a weekend stay. This is an old Victorian house renovated to be very contemporary, which turned out beautifully. Bedding was so comfortable. I had asked about breakfast in our room which was no problem at all. Only drawback here was no table/chairs in the room to sit at. This was truly minor. Food was brought up on a nice stand and there is comfy seating in the room. We chose to eat in the dining room on the second morning which was great too. Michael was a personable, generous host. The best thing about the whole weekend were the breakfasts! These were some of the best we've ever had and we've probably been to close to a hundred B and B's. Creme brulee oatmeal, gorgeous fresh fruit, sausages to die for, and cinnamon twist bacon. MMMMM Also fresh organic milk and juice to wash it all down. There were only two things I would suggest for improvement and these are relatively minor. This B and B does not have satellite/cable. I would presume this is to promote a relaxing stay- which worked for us- but we also like to be able to watch TV in quiet without the kids interrupting. The other thing which might be beyond their control is that we were able to hear everything going on downstairs from in our room. Most likely the result of the old house where everything echoes throughout. Neither of these things hindered our weekend and I would most DEFINITELY go back for another stay. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to any couples looking for quality time together or just an overall quiet, relaxing getaway.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review and as the new owner, I will continue the amazing breakfasts and we are in the process of adding cable to our 1912 home. As for the noise, we are adding fans and air systems to keep our home allergen free and the white noise will keep the sound level from carrying. We are improving the property as well by adding a nano-brewery brew pub so come back and check us out. Cheers


Turning Waters Bed, Breakfast & Adventure

Details

  • Nightly Rate $129 - $239
  • Reviews (8) 5.0
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 651.564.1568
  • Mobile 561-307-4978

Visit Website »

View details

Top