Lodge At Grant's Trail Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness5.0
  • Onsite Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
40 Reviews

Write A Review

Awesome Place to Stay in St. Louis

5 on September 10, 2016

The people there are great from check in to check out. They brought us delicious snacks our 1st night, the room was comfy, the breakfast the next morning so delicious. They even fixed breakfast for us early on our last morning. I would highly rcommend this place to everyone.

Great escape

4.4 on September 09, 2016

I was looking for something different to surprise my husband for his 50th birthday. The Washington Suite was perfect! It was spacious and relaxing and private. The manager was quick to respond to my on line booking question about suggestions to make it special and was very accommodating. The breakfast pizza was unique and tasty. We enjoyed a walk along Grant's Trail, but needed more time to explore the lodge itself. We will keep it in mind for future visits.

Highlight of our Vacation

5 on September 05, 2016

I cannot begin to describe the excellent accommodations, management, and food we had during our 3 night stay at the lodge. Upon walking in we were greeted by the manager Matthew. The suite was just perfect! A very comfortable king sized bed with soft sheets, the air conditioner was on and a nice cool temp to walk into from the 90 degree weather, and a jacuzzi tub perfect for two! The decor is something very special that we (as avid travelers in our retirement years) have never seen elsewhere. Every morning we had a wonderful breakfast, cooked to order. My husband does not like omelet's, which was the featured item on Saturday, so Matthew offered eggs anyway he wanted. To offer something that was not even on the menu for the day was so nice. We felt very special. The waitress Mary was very delightful and helpful. She made sure our cups of coffee and juice were never less than half full. We have been at several high-dollar hotels and none could compare to the hospitality that we were given this weekend.In the evening we sat outside together sipping on our wine that was left in our room in the evening (compliments of the lodge) enjoying the beautiful back yard. The greatest surprise was our last morning. We informed Matthew that we had a long journey ahead of us and would be leaving well before breakfast and wanted to thank him for his hospitality. He asked what time we would be departing and we told him we would be leaving by 6:30 am. Much to our surprise, when we went down at 6:15 am, he was there and had made us scrambled eggs and bacon, and had coffee ready. We did not expect such great hospitality. We were very thankful to have a full warm breakfast before hitting the road for the long journey. As we left, my husband offered him a tip and he refused to accept it. He genuinely cared that we had a pleasant stay and that we were fed before we left. I cannot tell you how great it is in this time to have such amazing hospitality and warmth.

Fabulous Stay!

5 on September 01, 2016

My husband and I booked a stayed here in St. Louis for my Birthday weekend on our way to Branson. We were more than pleased with the unique decor, it was very clean, warm and inviting. The innkeeper Matthew was very friendly and accommodating, he gave us great recommendations for local restaurants and the breakfast was amazing and I even received a birthday card which was a special touch. We would definitely recommend this B&B and will return in the future.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Inn! I appreciate your kind words. Thank you for spending your birthday with us. I look forward to your return visit!

Great bed and breakfast

5 on August 23, 2016

The overall experience was excellent, beautiful rooms, Jacuzzi tub big enough for two people.

Nice, clean and comfortable

4.6 on July 31, 2016

This was a great place to stay the night while traveling through St Louis. The place is inviting and comfortable. It is close to the highway so you can hear the highway traffic however this does make it convenient to get to. We would stay here again.

Excellent stay at the Mary Lincoln Room

5 on June 03, 2016

The room's decoration is decent and the outside view is nice, full of greens. The owner provides us a warm welcome when we arrived. Good experience overall to escape from the city.

Great place

5 on October 02, 2015

We come in town for the steelers game and it was really a great place to stay, close to the city and great breakfast setup

Cosy Lodge with access to excellent running trail

4.2 on September 14, 2015

My wife and I stayed here on a recent visit for a friend's wedding reception. The rooms were thematically decorated and named accordingly. The weekend breakfast provided was excellent. When we needed service, it was efficient and friendly. As a runner, I greatly appreciated the ideal location next to Grant's trail.

We'll never stay anywhere else in StL!!!

5 on June 04, 2015

I'm an avid runner, and ran Grant's Trail every day when we lived in St Louis, but we never had a reason to stay here. Now that we've moved, this is the perfect spot! 1/10 of a mile from the trail head, great breakfast, adorable, clean rooms with fireplaces, and super friendly staff. Yes, 55 is super close, but it's not intrusive. Even my small town hubby wasn't bothered by it. We'll definitely be back!

Excellent get away

5 on May 16, 2015

Staff is friendly and caring. This is our third visit and we are looking forward to our next visit in September


5 on February 26, 2014

Very courteous, friendly, punctual, clean, good breakfast. sensual decorations, romantic for our 6th wedding anniversary

Best place we ever stayed in!

5 on December 17, 2013

We loved the rustic & historical theme of this place & the rooms were extremely beautiful & romantic.

Amazing Lodge!

4.6 on October 15, 2013

Amazing, outstanding, exceeding everything about the lodge was just perfect. My best friend had her reception and dinner here. The staff were helpful, friendly and accommodating. Food was amazing! Safari themed room was very cool.

Great place

5 on August 27, 2013

Wonderful stay! We had a volunteer appreciation dinner in the Great Dining room. Everything was perfect - great food, wonderful employees, wonderful romantic room (Washington Suite), lovely breakfast.


5 on August 22, 2013

Everything was perfect from booking to leaving. Just wish we had longer to stay. The place is beautiful.

Special Anniversary!

4.6 on August 19, 2013

Perfect evening in a gorgeous lodge. Attention to detail in themed rooms, pleasant staff. Nice hot breakfast on Sun a.m.


5 on August 12, 2013

Everything went well with check-in, very comfortable, beautiful. Wish we could have stayed longer.


4.4 on August 09, 2013

We had the most beautiful wedding at the Lodge at Grant's Trail. The homey atmosphere was enjoyed by us as well as all our guests.

A Beautiful Anniversary

5 on June 14, 2013

We were married here. So, for our one year wedding anniversary, we came back to celebrate. Everything was perfect! We stayed in the Mary Lincoln room. The rustic decor, hot tub, great view and privacy made for a memorable stay for us. We will be back!

Great Location

5 on June 12, 2013

Everything was great, from dinner through the stay at night. Good value and well managed.

Lodge at Grant's HIll

5 on June 11, 2013

Arrived and greeted and the door. Wine and cheese awaited our visit, polite and courteous, pleasant surroundings. Had key as access to room and outside entrance. Served delicious breakfast.

50th Anniversary weekend

4.8 on March 05, 2013

Our Family had the whole B&B reserved for my brother and his Wife's 50th celebration as well as a few rooms at a local inn. It was a wonderful time and the memories will be talked about for years. The staff responded to our needs and were helpful as we stayed from Friday afternoon until Sunday noon. The celebration dinner was delightful as were the breakfasts and wine and cheese soiree.

50th Birthday Getaway

4.6 on January 15, 2013

My wife booked a night at this lodge for my 50th birthday. Very nice room. Breakfast was terrific! Will stay there again.

Always wanted to stay there

4.4 on January 15, 2013

We live in St. Louis and always wanted to stay at this lodge. Booked a room for my husband's 50th birthday. It was a great stay. The Lodge is beautiful.

Last day of vacation headed back to IA

4.4 on January 08, 2013

We just spent a week vacation in the Smokey Mountains. It was a long day's drive to get here. When we arrived it was 8pm. They had left us a key and info for everything we needed. Room was great (Alaska), and the breakfast & service was better.

Feels like a romantic wilderness!

5 on December 10, 2012

Wonderful stay!

Great place!!!!

4.6 on December 05, 2012

My wife and I just stayed at The Lodge at Grants Trail for the first time. We were very happy and will be makin our next reservation in the very near future.

Wonderful Birthday Gift.

4.8 on November 10, 2012

Very nice and clean place. You forget you are in the city. Excellent little touches and breakfast was awesome. Hope to go again. Great getaway!

Alaska Room

5 on October 08, 2012

Excellent atmosphere, accommodations, & staff.

Nice people, bad pillows

3.8 on October 06, 2012

The level of friendly service here blew me away. But I like big, cushy feather pillows, not hard, cheap foam pillows. So, if that matters to you, bring your own pillow and wallow in the friendly service.

Beautiful Lodge

5 on October 03, 2012

The Lodge is decorated beautifully and is spotlessly clean. Carol was very helpful in making us comfortable. We were treated to a very relaxing stay and would highly recommend the Lodge at Grant's Trail.

Grant Woulda Loved It

5 on September 12, 2012

The character and uniqueness alone cause me to recommend this log cabin to my numerous kin & frien' in the St. Louis area. Its proximity to the nature, history -- surrounded Grant's Trail make it a must-stay for hikers. Jan, the owner, exudes genuine hospitality.

The Lodge at Grants Trail

5 on September 10, 2012

great place to relax and get away for a day or two, staff very friendly and accommidating

Would stay here again

3.8 on June 21, 2012

Would stay here again - cannot rate the dining as we did not eat breakfast.

Adventure in St. Louis

5 on May 06, 2012

The Lodge at grant's Trail is so relaxing! The rooms are unique and beautifully decorated down to the last detail. The staff is very warm and welcoming. The dining experience was great. You could not ask for a better place to stay!

Washington Suite

5 on April 11, 2012

My parents first booked this room for my wife and I for our honeymoon a year ago and we enjoyed ourselves so much we returned for our first anniversary. This happened to fall on Easter Sunday and the brunch was terrific! VERY clean. Nice deck to hang out on. Large spa tub. I've never spent any time in the other bedrooms, but have seen them and they also appear nice. I highly reccommend this B & B. Very romantic. Beats the hell out of the Holiday Inn. :-)

Route 66

5 on June 14, 2010

After a day driving 300 miles, the Lodge was a welcome sight, with a comfortable room and great hospitality. Would highly recommend.

vacation stay

5 on March 19, 2009

Very enjoyable stay- rooms are beautiful- will recommend to others! Plus great hospitality! Thanks!

great stay

4.8 on February 20, 2009

We had a great time, very nice. The location is good, and the room was very clean and cozy with a fireplace.

Lodge At Grant's Trail


  • Nightly Rate $120 - $259
  • Reviews (40) 4.8
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

Visit Website »

View details