Recent Reviews in Milton, Delaware

Historic Peaceful Getaway at Governor'S B&B (Milton, Delaware)

4.8 reviewed on October 03, 2016

The Governor's B&B is an historic B&B (circa 1790). It was my first experience with a B&B, and my boyfriend's second, so I really didn't know what to expect. I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay in September. Bill and Debbie are gracious hosts.....very warm and welcoming. The antique furnishings were absolutely beautiful! It was a quiet, peaceful, relaxing stay. The homemade breakfasts were delicious. Each morning we would come down the stairs and hear the soft music playing (we actually danced at one point) and the aroma of the breakfast being prepared was mouthwatering. Bill and Debbie restored the house about 40 years ago. There was an album that we were able to browse through to see the before, during and after photos. Amazing!

View more reviews for this inn

An unexpected gem away from the hustle and bustle of the Delaware beaches at Governor'S B&B (Milton, Delaware)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2016

With our son's baseball tournament starting two weekend games at 8:00am, we didn't want to be at a hotel 20 miles away, so we did some research on and found the Governor's BNB just a few short miles away in Milton, De. It's a quaint little former wooden ship building town with a good number of restaurants, pubs and what looked like a dessert place that we passed by. My wife enjoyed a nice brisk run through the neighborhoods and we all enjoyed some restful and quiet downtime in our two adjoined rooms with private bath and the acre+ wooded grounds and gardens. There's an inviting outdoor seating area on the front patio with comfy seating and shade for a leisurely read through the newspaper or book of choice. Inasmuch as any dusty baseball player could use an outdoor hose to be cleaned off, our son navigated the cast iron tub with handheld shower head with curiosity and then with pleasure. It felt like his times in Europe! The expansive grounds were serene and beautiful with the sounds of wildlife all around. I write this review because it is 100% true, but also because of how warm, friendly, knowledgeable, AND incredibly flexible Bill and Deborah were at meeting our family's schedule and breakfast times because of our unpredictable baseball tournament. We arrived early, needed breakfast served an hour earlier, didn't know plans until late the night before - our hosts couldn't have been more accommodating. The suite was perfect for a family of 4. I could see this bnb as the go to spot for an incredible romantic weekend getaway, even though it was perfect for a dusty, tired family of three! Thanks again Bill and Deborah.

View more reviews for this inn

Charming house at Governor'S B&B (Milton, Delaware)

3.6 reviewed on October 13, 2015

This B&B is situated in a charming little coastal town, near a number of great coastal parks, reserves and the town of Lewes. A stay here affords good lodging and breakfast in a quiet neighbourhood, away from the craziness of the tourist crowds. Great restaurants near by as well.

View more reviews for this inn

Fantastic Weekend Away at Governor'S B&B (Milton, Delaware)

5 reviewed on October 05, 2015

We stayed at the Governor B&B for a long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! You cannot beat the location, minutes from Dogfish Head Brewery and a short drive from lively Rehobuth Beach. Bill & Debbie are fantastic innkeepers! Very welcoming, organized & a pleasure to chat with. The B&B was quaint with a historic feel. Bill & Debbie cooked a great breakfast, and we're very accommodating. We will most definitely stay at the Governor's B&B again!

View more reviews for this inn

Perfect Romantic Weekend at Governor'S B&B (Milton, Delaware)

4.8 reviewed on February 18, 2015

Celebrating our first Valentine's Day (2/14/15) with my girlfriend. Could not have scripted a more romantic weekend. Bill and Deb were most gracious hosts. They took care of my special requests (champagne and roses). A very memorable weekend!!

View more reviews for this inn

Great hosts and relaxing stay at Governor'S B&B (Milton, Delaware)

4.8 reviewed on July 15, 2014

My wife and I spent five days at the Governor's B&B while we looked for a new home. Deb and Bill are gracious hosts who make you feel right at home. They have a knack of always being around when you need them but give you a lot of room to just relax. The breakfasts are very good. I especially enjoyed relaxing on the spacious porch. The furnishings are beautiful antiques. The town of Milton is quiet. The B&B sits 200 away from the road assuring a quiet and restful stay.

View more reviews for this inn

Loved this place at Governor'S B&B (Milton, Delaware)

5 reviewed on February 18, 2014

we stayed here in Aug. 2013 while attending my 50th. class reunion. This is not just an ordinary hotel. This is your chance to be surrounded by history. The hosts Bill and Deb are great. If we ever make it back to Milton we'll try to stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn

We LOVE Governor's BnB! at Governor'S B&B (Milton, Delaware)

5 reviewed on November 14, 2013

This was mine and my boyfriends first B&B experience, we had tickets to an event at Dogfish Head Brewery (which is a 3-4minute drive from here) and wanted a nice place closeby to spend the weekend. We were so charmed by this beautiful, colonial house! the entire house was so well-kept and cared for. Our bedroom was clean and well-stocked and the bed was so cozy! The setup for HOMEMADE breakfast in the dining room was beautiful (and it was as delicious as it looked, maybe even moreso!) The innkeepers are some of the nicest people we ever met, so accommodating and friendly, and they have an adorable little Corgi named Lucy (don't worry they keep her in their living quarters. My bf and I are dog lovers so we asked if we could see her. Otherwise she wouldn't be in the house.) We had such a fantastic time at The Governor's! They made our first bed and breakfast experience an unforgettable one and it is the standard at which we will hold all bed and breakfasts from now on. We cannot wait to go back!!

View more reviews for this inn

Beach Getaway In Neaby Milton at Governor'S B&B (Milton, Delaware)

4.8 reviewed on August 22, 2013

Having been to Rehoboth and Lewes many times we had been to several State and town beaches and were willing to stay out of town and drive to them. In the trade-off of staying out of town we found a very personal and comfortable option in The Governor's B & B in Milton and recommend it highly for mature couples. The owner, Bill is very gracious, knowledgeable, and friendly and serves a delicious breakfast that stays with you for the better part of the day. Our room (one of only two) was very large and we slept very soundly in the Queen bed. It was very quiet and peaceful at all times and we would gladly return.

View more reviews for this inn

Perfect in every way! at Governor'S B&B (Milton, Delaware)

5 reviewed on July 29, 2013

My husband and I were on a romantic getaway, and the Governor's B&B was outstanding and exceeded all of our expectations. The beautifully restored historical homestead was elegant, clean and tastefully decorated. Our room was comfortable and relaxing. The best part of this establishment are the hosts: Bill and Deb made us feel welcome and pampered, and provided delicious multi-course breakfasts on gorgeous place settings. The house has a lovely wrap-around porch where we spent every evening enjoying cool breezes, wine and time to reconnect and relax. On our last evening our hosts joined us and provided snacks and wonderful conversation. I can't recommend this special B&B enough, and we will certainly return again someday. The Morrisons

View more reviews for this inn

A Slice of Heaven at Governor'S B&B (Milton, Delaware)

5 reviewed on January 14, 2013

The Inn keepers are both, wonderful accomodating, warm and caring people. The place is so lovely and decorated so beautifully. The service is beyond great. It's so peaceful and quiet. I loved my stay, and plan to come back again and again! This inn is truly a little piece of heaven on earth.

View more reviews for this inn

Lovely Atmosphere for young couple! at Governor'S B&B (Milton, Delaware)

5 reviewed on December 12, 2012

I visited DE back at the end of September, beginning of October with my boyfriend. As soon as we arrived we were greeted with sweet, kind innkeepers William and Deborah. They were beyond accomadating and the breakfast was delicious. We also made a friend in another woman at breakfast who was an antique expert and shared stories of her life. The kitten was the cutest addition! I believe his name is Freddy? William and Deborah let us play with the new kitten and we had the best time. Clean room, very comy. We will definately be returning.

View more reviews for this inn

A perfect romantic weekend for two, couldn't ask for more at Governor'S B&B (Milton, Delaware)

5 reviewed on August 10, 2011

My girlfriend and I were looking for a place to stay for a weekend getaway to the shore and came across the Governor's B&B online. We wanted a comfortable, cozy B&B away from the craziness and crowds of the shore but close to the beach. We couldn't have made a better choice. The B&B is a beautiful home tastefully decorated with antiques and has only two rooms. The room we stayed in was a perfect size for two, had a comfortable Select Comfort mattress, and a television and shower stall. The owners couldn't have been nicer; we shared a bottle of wine out on the porch and chatted with them for one of the evenings. Breakfast was delicious each morning; they asked us what we liked for breakfast, and even made us grits one morning after my girlfriend mentioned she liked them. They were also very knowledgeable - their recommendations on restaurants (Po Boy) and beaches (Cape Henlopen) were exactly what we were looking for. To top it all off, the prices can't be beat - we'd have paid twice the rate if we'd stayed only 10 minutes away in a less charming place in a tourist town like Lewes or Rehobeth. I highly recommend The Governor's for any stay at the shore - you won't regret it.

View more reviews for this inn

Thoroughly enjoyed it at Governor'S B&B (Milton, Delaware)

4.6 reviewed on July 05, 2011

I stayed at the Governor’s B & B for a week, and thoroughly enjoyed it. If you like to take the road less traveled, this is the way to go. Only 10 miles from the usual crowds and beach stores, but what a difference! Milton is a small town of around two thousand, filled with attractive older homes, some dating to the early 1800s. The Po’ Boy restaurant serves the best Creole food east of Cajun Country, at reasonable prices. There’s easy access to a handful of quiet beaches where the locals go, driving thru the marshes of the Prime Hook Natural Wildlife Refuge on the way to and from these beaches. The house was visually rich. I could walk into any room and look in any direction, up, down, or all around, and see something worth looking at: interesting antiques, original moldings and fireplace mantles, nicely frmaed prints, original oils, massive mirrors, wonderful wall papers,and wooden floors covered in carpets. Bill and Debbie Post were gracious, hospitable, and very helpful in recommending restaurants, quiet beaches,and things to do and see. And, for the adventuresome beer lover, take a tour or a tasting at the Dogfish Head Brewery, in Milton. Sam Calagione has created some very complex brews using unusual ingredients and innovative techniques. As you can tell, I really enjoyed the experience!

View more reviews for this inn

mommy and me vacay at Governor'S B&B (Milton, Delaware)

5 reviewed on May 01, 2010

My daughter and I stayed here last year for a long weekend and her first time seeing the beach. I was very impressed with our room which had a huge, clean, comfortable bed along with a beautiful bathroom. We were only about 10-15 minutes from Lewes Beach and all the excitement of the water parks and outlets. It was immensely relaxing to come back to the b & b to relax and soothe our sunburn!! We were never bothered and could come and go as we pleased. After checking into some hotels (was looking for a pool), I have decided to stay here again. It's amazing how relaxed you can feel there, even with a 6-year old!!

View more reviews for this inn

Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Governor'S B&B (4.69)