Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
152 Reviews

Write A Review

Fabulous find

5 on March 30, 2017

Thank you to the Castle in the Country proprietors and staff for making my recent stay such a positive one. The room was spacious and beautifully appointed; the bed was extremely comfortable; and the entire experience was warm and welcoming. I will definitely return in the future.


Great Mother-Daughter getaway

5 on April 09, 2015

Had a wonderful and relaxing time at the castle in the country, during our mother-daughter getaway! This was my mom's first time staying at a bed and breakfast, she loved it, as did I. We LOVED everything about the Camelot Suite, exceptionally clean, beautifully decorated rooms, very friendly and helpful staff! The breakfast's were very delicious and filling! The chocolate chip cookies were oh so yummy! Lots to do around the area and you don't have to drive too far to get to where you want to go. Must eat at the Grill House in Allegan! Ruth, Herb and Michelle, Thank you for making our stay enjoyable, we appreciate all you did to make us feel welcome!


Castle In the Country

5 on January 06, 2015

My boyfriend and I absolutely loved this place. We went on our anniversary and it was amazing, we would definitely go back!!!


Great Bed And Breakfast!

5 on November 17, 2014

This is the second time that we have stayed at the Castle in the Country. Everything about the stay was great! From the moment that we arrived and were greeted by the owner until we checked out, everything was perfect. The room was quiet and clean. The breakfast was outstanding. There isn't a bed and breakfast around with a better breakfast offering. Everything was great! The location is also perfect. There is plenty of things to do because it is close enough to Holland, Saugatuck, Grand Rapids and Fennville. We will definitely stay here again and again.


Amazing Bed and Breakfest

4.0 on November 17, 2014

We loved this Bed and Breakfast. It was so relaxing and romantic. A great place to escape. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The breakfast was amazing. If you are looking to get away without the kids you need to come here.


A Piece of Heaven

5 on November 15, 2014

Our fourth stay and it did not disappoint! Camelot Suite is amazing! So appreciate Ruth and Herb's hospitality. Location is wonderful; attention to detail brilliant! Look forward to a return visit!


Beautiful place to stay

5 on October 29, 2014

We stayed for our 5 year wedding anniversary to have a weekend away. It was a gorgeous relaxing stay, we loved walking the grounds, the delicious breakfasts, and the wonderful dining in the area. We will definitely be back again.


relaxing and beautiful

3.6 on October 26, 2014

Soon as we entered the front door, our service was wonderful! Super friendly and helpful , happily accomadated our every need. Breakfast each morning was amazing! Such a relaxing atmosphere! Grounds are beautiful, especially in the fall.


Exceeded our expectations.

5 on October 22, 2014

This was our first experience staying at a Bed and Breakfast, and it most certainly won't be our last. We stayed at Castle in the Country for our honeymoon and everything was spectacular. We upgraded to the royal treatment package and it was worth every penny. The food was wonderful, everyone we met was very nice and personal. I could write pages of worth of great things to say, the only negative is that it will be difficult staying somewhere else because this stay has raised our expectations. We hope to return again next year.


Perfect Getaway

5 on October 22, 2014

Breakfast was amazing! It was very relaxing, cozy, and romantic. Beautiful property!


Castle in the Country

4.2 on October 22, 2014

We stayed in the smallest room which is extremely small. A/C in the bathroom meant the walls don't go up to the ceiling and it's really cold after a shower. We tried to get to the boats for the full experience but we're attacked by so many mosquitoes we could not get there, even after bug spray. The grounds are beautiful as were the other rooms we saw. The food is outstanding. Not too much else to do in the immediate area but there are other towns about 40 minutes away.


would definitely return

4.6 on October 19, 2014

The breakfast was amazing, property was beautiful. The room was very nice, clean and spacious. Excellent attention to detail. Staff was very courteous & friendly!


What a great place to get away!!!

5 on October 17, 2014

This was our first time going to a Bed and Breakfast and I have to say we cant wait to go back! Castle in the Country is awesome! The people, the rooms, the grounds, the food and well everything is done top notch! 5 stars


Gorgeous B & B

5 on October 15, 2014

This was our 2nd visit to Castle in the Country! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can't wait to visit again soon. The rooms and property are gorgeous and very relaxing. We love the surrounding towns and the incredible shopping! The innkeepers are incredible host and wonderful chef's.


great weekend

4.8 on October 05, 2014

Fantastic bed and breakfast. Enjoyed totally. Will be back!


Mini-Moon

4.4 on September 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights at Castle in the Country for our Mini-Moon. We stayed in room Sir Lancelot.... The room was beautifully decorated, the bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in anywhere and our room was discreetly put back together each day by room service while we enjoyed our intimate two course breakfast. Our stay was very relaxing, quiet, comfortable. We will definitely enjoy a return visit.


A Wonderful Getaway

4.8 on September 22, 2014

This was our 5th stay at the Castle in the Country and it was just as pleasant as the others. Ruth and the staff always have good recommendations for things to do and new places to try. The breakfast was delicious, and provided a great start to the days. The views from our room and on the grounds do not disappoint. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer. We can't wait to go back.


Beautiful and relaxing

4.4 on September 15, 2014

We stayed for one night on our way to Traverse City. We found the Castle in the Country to be beautiful, clean and relaxing. Ruth provides much attention to detail in the decorating and comfort of your stay. She was very helpful to us in determining were we would want to spend our limited amount of time and found that she was right on the money. Her recommendations did not fail us. Breakfast was wonderful. My husband and I are both gluten free and they made every effort to accommodate us. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms and that was fine for what we needed, but would recommend any of the suites they have on the property. We were able to view all of the rooms before we left and they are wonderful for a romantic getaway.


great getaway!

5 on September 12, 2014

Very nice stay definently a great choice to get away with your significant other had a great time. Service was amazing very well prepared and planned had great information and maps for everything to do nearby.


Perfect getaway!

5 on September 09, 2014

We only stayed one night, but would have loved to stay longer! This is a beautiful old Victorian home in the country, but close to Lake Michigan. The owners did a wonderful job of keeping with the era of the home, but giving it an updated look with modern amenities. (flat screen TVs, free wif-fi) The home was super clean everywhere... inside and out! We had our bikes with us, so we were able to ride on the trails on the property. We rode to the lake where you could either use the paddle boat or kayaks. We chose the paddleboat and it was so fun! We rode our bikes back up through the trails and grabbed our picnic basket that was ready for us to take to the screened in gazebo. It was a delicious dinner of a fresh green salad, homemade pot pies, rolls, sparkling juice and delicious little bite sized desserts. We even had Ms Abby, the resident cat join us! After dinner, we went on a short drive to visit our son in nearby, Holland. When we came back, we grabbed a couple complimentary movies and popcorn to take up to our room. We stayed in the Golden Tower, which was beautiful and cozy. Everything was very tastefully decorated. Slept very well! In the morning we again rode our bikes to the breakfast house.... fresh fruit, juice, a freshly made blueberry muffin and made to order omelet. All delicious!! I would recommend this B&B to anyone that wants a peaceful, relaxing spot in the country. (In fact, I already have to at least three people!) No details have been left out. The owners definitely know what they're doing!


Beautiful place to celebrate life!

5 on September 06, 2014

My husband and I spent our 26th anniversary here and loved every detail that Ruth and Herb put into this place. The scenic path and surrounding wildlife was beautiful, our room was AMAZING and the breakfast, cookies, coffee, teas, hospitality, and amenities available were perfect. We have been to several bed and breakfasts in various states and this one is on the top of our list. We will highly recommend it and definitely return. Two other couples that we know also came here this past year and were in different rooms than ours and had the same experience we did. Keep up the fantastic job of putting meticulous detail into your Inn for couples to get away.


Not worth the cost

3.0 on September 04, 2014

Location matters a lot, and in that respect, Castle in the Country delivers. The surrounding forest is beautiful. However, the house is three stories high, which requires you to carry all of your bags yourself up three stories with no assistance. The room was not very attractive, much like your grandparent's extra bedroom with a nice name tag. The house does not have central air. The air conditioning unit was very, very loud. Parking was ample, however. There was free popcorn. Breakfast and the view (though breakfast was not large nor a culinary feat), was pleasant. Check in is a bit late (4pm-6pm). Checkout is a bit early (11am). Which was also a bit annoying. So if you're coming, make sure you're coming for the nature, because there isn't much else that makes it worth it.


Wonderful B&B

4.8 on September 04, 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay at Castle in the Country. Ruth and Herb do a wonderful job at paying attention to details. They are extremely accommodating and have a perfect set up. I highly recommend this facility if it is in your price range!


Perfect setting for a getaway

4.6 on August 19, 2014

Our room was lovely and overlooked this gorgeous property. Ruth couldn't be nicer or more helpful and Herb's gourmet breakfasts were the best way to start the day. Loved the walks through the wooded areas and the amenities available at all times made our stay there that much nicer. Will definitely be back


Anniversary Celebration

4.0 on August 11, 2014

We celebrated one night at Castle in Country Bed & Breakfast for our 10 year anniversary. We could not have celebrated any better. Everything was top-notch. The room was superb, the food excellent and the gounds were so peaceful and well kept. I would highly recommend a stay here and we will definitely return.


Great experience, worth repeating

4.8 on August 04, 2014

I surprised my wife for our 20th anniversary with a two night stay here. We had not been here before and only had the online reviews to go by. We stayed in the Lady Guinevere Suite and I opted for the Royal Treatment package. This included breakfast in the room one morning, a couples massage, picnic basket lunch one day, and a dinner voucher from one of three restaurants. They have the service very well choreographed and on-time. All of the staff were exceptionally polite and professional. We really wished we could have stayed a third day to be a little more relaxed. The only reason dining did not get five stars is do to the drive to get to most of the restaurant options. Be sure to try Salt of the Earth and Butch's Dry Dock. Guys, if you want to break the stereotype of the clueless husband surprise your wife with a trip to Castle in the Country. I earned a ton of brownie points and we can't wait to go back!


Fantastic place

4.6 on July 21, 2014

Just a fantastic beautiful place. I had only one issue, I had paid extra for a picnic basket and the cookies provided we burnt and the innkeeper didn't seem especially concerned about it. The fact was those should've never made it into the basket. However the basket and contents were very nice. Our overall experience was wonderful and besides that one concern, the innkeeper and staff were great and friendly.


Perfect romantic getaway

5 on July 21, 2014

Our stay at Castle in the Country was wonderfully more than expected. The innkeepers were pleasant and informative and definitely proud of their property. I was impressed with how fresh and immaculate the grounds were kept and how spotless the rooms were. I would go back just for Herb's breakfast and Ruth's warm smile. Jay Rifkind


Castle in the Country

3.8 on July 17, 2014

I loved Castle in the Country. Beautiful nature views from the windows, romantic whirlpool rooms, delicious breakfasts. I also loved the screened in gazebo areas, fire pits. We took the trail to Emerson Lake and took the paddle boat out. I sat on the dock and gazed at the beautiful views. My only complaint is the price should be lowered, I think it's too high of a rate. I understand they are all about luxury and top of the line but it's more expensive than I want to pay.


Relaxing and beautiful

5 on July 17, 2014

Had an amazing and relaxing stay. We did the couples massage which was fantastic. The grounds were beautiful and peacful. Would definatly come again.


Outstanding place to stay!

5 on July 13, 2014

Everything about castle in the country is amazing!! The rooms, the staff, the grounds, the breakfast are all perfect!!. We have stayed here 3 times now (plus got married here) and already have 2 more trips booked.Very relaxing atmosphere, and the rooms are amazing, while the staff is always friendly and willing to give you great tips on places to go and eat. Top notch all the way around!!


Castle in the Country is truly amazing!

5 on June 30, 2014

Beautiful place. Rooms are perfection. Stayed in the Camelot suite. Loved the private patio entrance and amazing bathroom! Watched the NBA playoffs in a 2 person jacuzzi tub!!! A TV in the bathroom was probably my boyfriends favorite feature :-) I highly recommend the add on packages. We added one that included couples massages, a horse carriage ride, and a photo session. I love the pictures. So tired of taking couple selfies... Ruth the inn keeper spent some time with us on the grounds and captured beautiful pics for us to remember our stay. She made my boyfriend feel conformable in front of the camera which is not easy to do haha. The food was amazing. We added the picnic basket which was wonderful. Herb is quite a chef. It was so romantic having a prepared picnic out by the lake. Wine was excellent. We loved not having to leave the grounds and find a restaurant for dinner. No interruptions and wait staff. Just the two of us in a fabulous setting with a spectacular meal. Can't wait to celebrate here again. Maybe one day we'll even get married here... :-)


Dream Come True getaway!

5 on June 26, 2014

Amazing place to stay and the grounds are so lovely---food was absolutely fabulous! The B & B is spotless and beverages and cookies always available and fresh! we loved every minute of it and the staff and owners are kind beyond expectation! Wonderful clean and comfortable--great time! Highly recommend this place! Close to many area towns with lots to do including great bike trails.


Camelot Suite_June

4.4 on June 23, 2014

Had a great time here!!! The only qualm I can think of is that if you want to do anything else you have to drive for quite a bit.


40th Wedding Anniversary Celebration

4.6 on June 10, 2014

This was such a unique setting for a romantic get away. The grounds with its wooded trails and private lake, with kayak and covered paddle boat ,was perfect for evening and morning hiking and boating. The room was cosy, with a very comfortable queen size bed. The e suite was immaculately clean with luxurious towels and personal robes. The home cooked breakfast was absolutely delicious with more than ample serving sizes. We have already recommended it to several friends. Certainly somewhere we will go back to someday.


Beautiful

3.0 on June 09, 2014

Beautiful B&B


Beautiful B&B

5 on June 01, 2014

The Castle in the Country was great! Super friendly on arrival and helpful throughout our stay. The room was beautiful and comfortable.


Castle

5 on January 29, 2014

It was a really beautiful place and area. Would definitely go back again.


Beautiful Victorian in the Country

4.8 on December 18, 2013

Loved the detail to the B&B. Very clean & romantic. I instantly felt at home. Wonderful breakfasts also. Very friendly Innkeeper & knowledgeable about the area & places to dine.


Third Stay and As Good As Ever!

4.4 on November 08, 2013

This was our third stay at Castle in the Country. The first two times we stayed in the whirlpool suites, but this time, due to a tight budget, we stayed in one of the standard rooms, the Golden Tower room. We stayed just after Christmas last year. Leading up to our stay, I was a little disappointed we weren't going to stay in one of the "fancy" suites. When we arrived, I was proven completely wrong! The Golden Tower room was great. It actually was two rooms, in a way. The main sleeping area has great character with a full turret ceiling, modeled from the original turret design of the tower. Out side the room, -well they describe it as a sitting area, but it is more of a "sitting hallway". Right outside the room is a table and a beautiful, antique (or antique style) couch. However, as the room was in the attic, the wall was too sloped by the couch to sit comfortably. Pulling it out a few inches will remedy any discomfort but we didn't use that couch much. At the end of the hall is a vanity with a comfortable stool. Great to put on makeup or check a tie, and very cute. The bathroom was clean, everything you need. It had a one person shower. The thing that stands out most, almost a year later, is how they utilized the space and made the most of a smaller room. The tv was smallish but perfectly proportional to the room, the door from the sleeping area was a sliding one, many wonderful decorative accents were in the windows to utilize that space, and there was a skylight in the shower to make it seem more open. The only thing, and this really couldn't be helped, is the heating unit in the room is extremely loud. It's an old house, and the room is in the attic, so the heat/ac is a unit, not central. The unit is right by the bed, and makes a lot of noise. On the bright side, the room heats up quickly and we were able to turn it off for most of the night, even during a snow storm. And like always, service was great, food delicious, amenities wonderful.


Pure Heaven

5 on September 01, 2013

Would recommend to everyone - beautiful home surrounded by lovely woods with lake. Wonderful gourmet breakfasts. Attentive staff. Close to good restaurants and wineries.


Dream home in the country

4.6 on August 22, 2013

Beautiful and relaxing retreat! The staff was extremely welcoming and the room is just heavenly. For the most part, we felt we were living in a dream home out in the country, as we rarely bumped into anyone besides breakfast or at the pond. I have never felt so relaxed and "at home" on a vacation.


Very Impressed!

4.8 on July 01, 2013

My wife and I spent our 6th anniversary at Castle in the Country and were very impressed. When we first arrived, we had to wait a slight bit. At first, I was a little miffed by this until I realized it was because Ruth goes over the entire itinerary with each couple individually! We were both taken aback by this as we were not used to that level of personalization, especially from the owners! We purchased one of the packages and so Ruth also took care of getting our dinner reservation setup. When a snag came up with our original choice, Ruth called us to find a solution which worked, which was a nice touch. We stayed in the Camelot room, which was gorgeous. It was immaculately clean and the attention to detail is astonishing. One thing we loved is that the fireplace is right at the perfect level to look at when you are laying on the bed. The hot tub and shower were fantastic as well. It was also secluded from the rest of the rooms and having our own private entrance was really nice. It added to the ambiance of the experience. The breakfasts both days were fantastic! My wife in particular loved her omelet. However, we were particularly surprised by the picnic basket. Neither of us were expecting all that much from it, but we took the basket out to the gazebo and had an amazing lunch. We were surprised how fantastic a simple lunch can be. The bread was amazing! The massages were great. Both masseuses were incredibly friendly and my wife and I both came out of the experiences feeling fantastic. The one downside was that to do the things we wanted to do (namely hit the beach and eat at the restaurants Ruth recommended) we did more driving than I expected. This wasn't a problem, but it is something to be aware of. The Castle is in the Country and there is a reason Country is in the name! In short, we plan on coming back!


Very Nice!

5 on December 27, 2012

We stayed the weekend before Christmas. It was very quiet and just what my husband and I needed. The room 'Crowning Suite' was beautiful. We loved the tub and the bed was so comfortable. Breakfast was amazing and we had a couple's massage and the ladies did a great job. We had everything we needed, the picnic basket was so well thought out. We had such a relaxing and enjoyable time. The romance was around every corner!


Perfect getaway in MI.

5 on November 09, 2012

My husband and I just got back from the Castle in the Country. We stayed in the King Arthur suite and it was nothing shy of amazing. The moment we go there it was instant relaxation. The was both modern and rustic at the same time and it was incredibly inviting. The view from this room is breathtaking and I believe it hosts the biggest window in the castle keep building. The inn keepers and staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and did everything to make our stay wonderful. We purchased a couple of add-ons, including the Isn't it Romantic package, and the Picnic Lunch. Both were high quality. The food was delectable our entire stay and the restaurant we received a voucher to, Salt of the Earth, was beyond words. I am already craving the fried risotto and hanger steak we had there. The grounds were beautiful and this was in late fall. They have a nice trail for walking/biking, The pond is beautifully situated and there is a nice deck and Gazebo to sit and take it all in from. Everything was clean and so well kept up. It truly makes you feel like a home away from home...well a much more comfortable and less stressful home. ; ) We can not wait to go back!


Fabulous Stay

4.6 on October 13, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Castle in the Country -- from the beautiful home, warm welcome, lovely accommodations, superb food and beautiful grounds. We will be back.


Repeat customer

4.2 on October 06, 2012

I've stayed twice at Castle in the Country once in Camelots Chambers and once in Lancelot. I will admit to enjoying Camelot more (before the renovation, it had an amazing sitting room and the most comfortable bed. I haven't seen the new version but hope they kept the sitting alcove). The pond and grounds are beautiful and my boyfriend and I didn't mind the drive to Allegan or Fennville-we enjoyed the suites that much more when we came back. Lancelot was nice but not to my tastes;the three sided fireplace gives the room character but gave the suite a cramped feeling. However, I am still eager to try the varied suites available. The only thing that went wrong at the Castle happened during our first stay. Some wires got crossed and the staff prepared a glutton free breakfast for me even though I don't have an allergy. But I got two helpings of fresh fruit and the glutton free pancakes were very good-honestly curious to know the recipe. Good food, great rooms, beautiful grounds and amazing coffee. Can't wait till my next visit!


great breakfast and atmosphere

4.0 on July 16, 2012

We stayed at the Jewel Box room for two nights. The breakfast is indeed very very delicious. The music in the dining room helps to create a very relaxing atmosphere. Interior decoration is very nice throughout the B&B at both buildings. Restaurants recommended by the host are all very good. The only thing we are not so satisfied is that our room doesn't have the flat screen TV as stated on the B&B's website and the TV is very small as well. The B&B has some nice DVDs for guests to watch but we couldn't really enjoy this feature... Other than this, we do think about returning again. However, we will choose a different room next time.


A great getaway

5 on June 26, 2012

Castle in the Country was the perfect getaway within reach of Lake Michigan, Kalamazoo and Grand Rapids. The Crowning Suite was fantastic. The food was wonderful. The innkeepers were very hospitable. One of our highlights was kayaking on the lake and walking the nature trails.


Honey Moon

4.4 on June 07, 2012

Sorry, I'm writing a late rewiew. I really enjoyed my stay on 11/08/2009. It was an awesome honey moon!! I felt like a princess. The castle was super clean, calm, and quiet! And the couple massage was to die for! I'm already thinking of planning to spend our anniversary there! Thanks for wonderful time


Charming and Romantic

4.4 on May 30, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at Castle in the Country. The rooms were lovely and surrounding acres were nice to stroll around. We also had a chance to kayak on the lake and observe nature. Breakfast was very good and plenty. Many thanks for a relaxing and comfortable stay


Just what we needed & more!

4.6 on January 25, 2012

A beautiful home, serene setting, warm hospitality. Attention down to the smallest detail. Food was exquisite! The perfect backdrop for a most memorable honeymoon. We can't wait to return!


Getting ready for a return Visit

4.0 on January 04, 2012

My Husband and I stayed at Castle in the Country in July 2011, it was our first visit to a B&B. We were extreemly impressed. We are preparing to return in January to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. I can't say enough about the staff and owners, how welcomed we felt. Ruth and Herb you are truely amazing!!!


Wonderful Stay at Castle in the Country

4.6 on October 20, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Castle in the Country. The room was very nice and the staff was full of great information and very friendly. They served us breakfast on two mornings and the food and presentation was wonderful. The grounds are beautiful and our entire stay was very relaxing. We will definitely be visiting them again when another rest and relaxation weekend is needed.


Our Engagement

4.6 on October 18, 2011

Just last weekend I surprised my fiancé (girlfriend at the time), and took her to Castle in the Country. I had contacted the staff at least 7 times within a month prior to our trip. They helped my extensively each time to make sure the trip was unforgettable. The care that was taken towards the details in every aspect of their Bed and Breakfast was truly heart felt. As many can expect my fiancé has already discussed our future returns for Anniversaries. Thank you so much to the staff and family of Castle in the Country. Sincerely, One Happy Man


Castle in the Country

4.4 on August 20, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Castle. It was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast. The host were gracious and food excellent. The rooms where as presented in the photos. Thanks for a wonderful stay.


Bests B & B stay

5 on August 16, 2011

We had a wonderful day this past week at the Castle in the Country! First of all, I can't believe how much time they put into details at the Castle in the Country. Anything we needed, it was provided. The room was incredibly clean and smelled absolutely wonderful. Just a subtle, clean scent. We stayed in the King Arthur suite. Amazing view, great mattress, awesome tub. Two person shower was great. The food was incredible. We enjoyed everything, from the menu and the variety to the soft music and individual tables so you don't have to sit with people. Husband keeps talking about the food and enjoyed all of it. And... I hate sausage and ate mine the first morning. It was so good! They have a full sized fridge/freezer available in the new building, Castle Keep. My hubby is also a coffee snot. He would've loved a pour-over station with coffee that could be ground there. But I told him I would mention it in an email to Ruth in case others "snots" requested this, and she said she would've been happy to provide him with a French Press. If you stay here, ask for anything! They have it! The only thing that would've made the room better was that 2 of the 3 flameless candles were not working in the King Arthur room (batteries, probably). If it bothered us, we would've asked to have someone look at it. We ran out of tissues (we each had colds), asked Karissa to replace it, and it was done immediately and delivered personally to our room. Their service is impeccable! Listen to their recommendations on food and entertainment. If you don't go to Salt of the Earth for dinner at least one night, shame on you. It's out of this world. It was featured on the Food Network! Hubby got the scallops and lobster bisque soup and almost cried it was so good. The cake with chocolate and sea salt is to die for. Fennway Station is great too. Unique seating in a railway car. Stay for at least 3 nights. We only did 2 and regret it.


Beautiful but......

3.0 on June 20, 2011

We were hoping to have a really good experience with the B&B but it seems as if communication was lost between myself and the Innkeeper and/or staff. When I spoke on the phone with either staff or innkeeper I told them that we would be coming in around 3pm and was hoping to get information regarding places to eat, etc. When we arrived at the B&B, I was talking on the phone on the front porch to whomever answered the phone and the whole conversation just seemed odd. I told the person I was speaking too that I wasn't told that check in was between 4 and 6 and I just didn't feel very welcomed. The innkeepers never did introduce themselves when we saw that at breakfast either. We just knew who they were because of the name tag. Thank goodness that my sister-in-laws sisters own a B&B because if they didn't I would totally be turned off about staying at another B&B.


A real castle in the country

5 on May 29, 2011

What a great place for a 45th wedding anniversary . Our room, food were #1, even the cat did her best to please us. The owners, Herb and Ruth did a wonderful job making us feel welcome. you will not be dissapointed.


Castle in the Country (May 6-8, 2011)

4.4 on May 16, 2011

My wife and I generally take at least a week long vacation and therefore we have only stayed at a B&B one other time. Because we are not familiar with these facilities it was difficult to figure out where we wanted to go. After looking at many B&B websites and reviews we finally chose the Castle In The Country as our location. The reason I chose this location versus some of the others was due to some reviews that I read. To be the best doesn't mean that you are going to satisfy everyone or be perfect all of the time. There are ALWAYS people that you just can't make happy. What I tend to look for in the reviews is how the complaints are tended to. As there are times when every complaint can not be resolved it is the effort that I appreciate. There was an instance in which they responded to a review and it was the attitude in which they presented themselves to the readers that I noticed most. Some of the competition did not respond so well to thier complaints. I was fairly certian that IF there was an issue with my stay that it would be handled appropriately. I am glad to report that there were no issues with our stay. Everything was provided on-time as promised and the meals were excellent.


EXTRAORDINARILY BEAUTIFUL

4.8 on April 29, 2011

This was my husband and I first experience staying at a Bed and Breakfast and it was with so, so Wonderful that words are so hard to express. I walk into my suite and it was breathtaking. The scenary was beautiful and The Castle as well as the Castle Keep was totally devine. Herb Boven elegant touch that he places on his food was so delicious, I have been looking every where for the Sweet Amaretto Cherry Focaccia bread, to no avail, no where! so I quess I would have to visit again just to delight my tastebud. The way that Ruth displays her grandeur of hospitality and warmth was very sincere, geniune and wonderful, she made the stay very welcoming. We stayed 2 days where it rain and had a winter storm warning in the middle of April. WOW! But it made our stay just that more cozy. We enjoy our stay in the King Authur Suite with 100% satifaction and no complaints. Thank you to the staff at the Castle in the Country for 2 beautiful days on April 18 & 19, 2011 Ken & Barbie


Relaxing stay

4.8 on April 26, 2011

We took advantage of the one available night to check out this b&b on short notice. I only wish we could have stayed longer! Despite the rainy weather we had a wonderful and relaxing time. Next time we will definitely do a longer stay to enjoy the woodlands and lakes. Great breakfast!


Our experience

5 on March 03, 2011

We just stayed this week at the Castle and we just had to get on here and let everyone know how outstanding it was. If you are looking for the perfect bed and breakfast look no further. We stayed in the King Arthur room and it was so beautifully decorated and romantic. We had dinner at our room after a long day of driving and it was so romantic sitting by the view with the fireplace. Every meal we ate we have NO complaints. Some stuff we didnt typically like but when Herb prepared it we tried it and fell in love. Every detail was amazing. The whole ride home we thought about when to come back! We didnt want to leave and were sad to go. Karissa, Ruth, and Herb put nothing but sincerity and thought into every detail of this establishment and when working with their guests. Thank you for the best stay of our lives. Brittany & Rodney


Lovely getaway out in the country

5 on February 22, 2011

I've stayed at this inn three times in different rooms (Rose Gazebo, Lady Gwenevere, and Camelot's Chambers) and enjoyed it each time. It has a truly elegant ambiance, from the bedding to the decorations to the whirlpool tub (where available). The breakfasts were delicious, and there was an excellent DVD collection for late night movie watching. On my last visit, I even had dinner delivered to my room in a basket (chicken pot pie, but I believe the options change). Would recommend highly if you want to "get away from it all".


Perfect Relaxation & Rejuvenation Getaway

5 on January 07, 2011

Our stay at the Castle in the Country exceeded our expectations in everyway! We stayed in the luxurious King Arthur with it's beautiful decor, high ceilings, view overlooking the pond, and the most comfortable bed ever. Ruth and Herb were very warm and gracious, the entire staff really took excellent care of us during our stay. We would definitely recommend the Royal Treatment package. The couples massage followed with a picnic basket filled with homemade goodies was out of this world and dinner at Salt of the Earth was wonderful. Everything aspect of our stay was on point and we didn't want to leave which is why we stayed an additional night. We look forward to coming back to the Castle. Thanks again for a very enjoyable and relaxing getaway. Tim & Cheri


An amazing honeymoon!

5 on December 24, 2010

My husband and I questioned going to Michigan instead of Florida for our honeymoon, but once arriving at the Castle we were convienced we make the right decision. Our room was more beautiful than we could have imagined. Ruth is very sweet and Herb is an excellent chief. Every morning we were greeted with an amazing aroma of "good morning" (breakfast). We arrived on December 19 and departed today, December 24. I will miss the "good morning" aroma and miss the friendly faces. We can't wait to return this summer!


Cute, cozzy stay

4.6 on December 13, 2010

We stayed here and really enjoyed ourselves. We spend a day in Holand and Sagatuck (for a little bit). I liked that they had DVD's there so we could relax at night after long days. Holland was fun, cute town to walk around in. Plenty of stores to go into to escape the cold.


Perfect weekend escape

5 on November 24, 2010

We stayed in the King Aurthur Suite in the Castle Keep building. It was beautifully decorated and the view over the pond through the picture window was stunning. The gourmet breakfasts were delicious and well presented. We hiked through the trails on the property and enjoyed the peacefulness and beauty. The staff provided excellent recommendations for meals and exploring the local towns. Downtown Holland had great shops to explore. Dinners at the Grill House in Allegan and Salt of the Earth in Fenville were wonderful. A perfect weekend getaway! Thank you Ruth and Herb and staff! Laurie and Karl


What a wonderful weekend!

5 on November 01, 2010

We so enjoyed our stay at this beautiful and romantic getaway. The grounds are beautiful, the home-cooked meals (some served privately in your room) were delish and the wagon ride was a blast! The rooms are clean with attention paid to the smallest details. The staff was so friendly and courteous and went above and beyond to make this weekend just right. Spent the day ini Saugatuck-only a 30 minute ride-and visited Fenn Winery. Thank-you again for making this weekend so special. Sincerely, Michele and Michael


GREAT PLACE TO WIND DOWN

5 on October 27, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Castle keep AND KARISSA was RIGHT! It was the BEST! Hour of our lives with our couples massage!!!!! Do NOT miss out on this if you go!! Thanks to Rachel and Angelia. All the staff were sooo personable and we felt at home…it was great to reconnect with each other getting away from our busy lives and this is definitely the place to do it. We wished we could have stayed a third night……so we could have another massage and enjoyed more of the relaxing atmosphere. We loved our hike in the woods, where we saw lots of nature and it led us down to the screened porch where we sat for an hour or so and didn’t even notice it was getting dark…. Dinner at the grill up the street was superb…..and Ruth had tons of info for us so we would not miss out on anything. Thank you again for a great stay. Tom and Shaz


Great Staff, Beautiful Grounds, Excellent Breakfast, Perfect Stay.

5 on October 27, 2010

I just had my wedding at the Inn last weekend, and I have nothing but good things to say about my experience. The staff was warm and inviting, and made us feel comfortable throughout our stay. Ruth, was great she took so many wonderful photos of our event. I have showed them to many of my friends and family members and they have gushed about them. And asked me who my photographer was. The food was great as well, I would recommend having dinner at the Inn at least one night of your stay. My husband and I loved our pinic style dinner basket and the food was fantastic. Also, the breakfast we were served each morning of our stay was so good. Everything was abesolutely delish. We stayed in the Castle Keep, and our room was nice and well appointed with a great view. The grounds are also very nice and offer many trails and a gazebo for lounging. This provides the perfect setting for a romantic getaway. I abesolutely adored my time at the Inn, and I am looking forward to returning soon. Thank you, again to the staff for making our special day so perfect.


Fabulous!!!!!!!

5 on October 21, 2010

We LOVED Castle in the Country and have already shared with friends what a spectacular time we had. It was our first "couples" massage and felt so "relaxed", our picnic lunch was perfect we ate on the beach in South Haven. It was a bonus that we had wonderful "fall" weather. We will definately be returning... Thank you again Herb & Ruth and staff


Anniversary Get-a-Way

5 on October 12, 2010

My husband planned a weekend get-a-way for our 23rd anniversary. We LOVED the picnic dinner of rustic pot pies, carriage ride, his and her massages and just walking the beautiful grounds! The Peacock room was cozy and all of the annemities were seen to with great detail! We would highly recommend a visit anytime, but the fall colors were truly breathtaking!!


2nd year

4.0 on October 03, 2010

A great B&B for our first. We enjoyed the privacy, the comfort, and the people. Our one complaint would be the mattress seemed worn/old.


Lovely place, next time would stay in building by the lake.

3.4 on September 26, 2010

We enjoyed our stay here, but were we to return would not stay in the main house. We would stay in the newer building with the lake view where the rooms were beautiful with lovely views. We enjoyed walking the extensive grounds, and taking the paddleboat out on the lake. The breakfast was good and the bed comfy. Everything was great though did not appreciate the unprofessional way the young woman who greeted us when we first got there was dressed. Her plunging neckline showed it all. Also, could have used two bars of soap in bath as you had to share one for shower and sink.


A Great Stay

4.4 on September 12, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Castle in the Country. My wife and I stayed in the 5-Heron room at the main Castle building. It was a nice, cozy room with a very comfortable bed and a two-person jacuzzi. We enjoyed the jacuzzi and watched several movies from the Castle's DVD library. The only drawback to the room was that there is no door, but rather only a curtain, separating the bathroom from the bedroom. The food was also top notch. The breakfast on our first morning was phenomenal - french toast with a blueberry and peach compote, along with fresh fruit. On the second morning, the breakfast was good - a quiche-like main course accompanied by an apple-filled pastry and slightly-oversalted potatoes - but not as much to our taste as the prior morning's breakfast. Regardless, it was excellent to have such well-thoughtout breakfasts prepared for us each day. What really sets this place apart, however, is the staff. For instance, on our second night, neither my wife nor I was feeling up for a long dinner out, so Ruth helped us find a great meal that we could pick up just down the road and eat on the grounds in the screened-in gazebo overlooking the pond. It was a perfect way to spend the evening given our mood. I have nothing but praise for Castle in the Country!


You just can't beat this!!

5 on July 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed too night their. And we had a ball.. The room we had was called the Sir Lancelot room it was very clean and huge, The breakfast was very good ( Home Cook) I love the grounds. The Innkeepers made us feel at home. This was the first time we had been to bed and breakfast. We will do this again.. Thank you all, Robert & Samella.


Castle in the Country

5 on July 22, 2010

We stayed in the King Arthur room. It was fantastic! We also had the hot stone massage -- like heaven on earth. This is the place to stay and we WILL be back soon!!!!


Mini Vacation

5 on July 07, 2010

We stayed in the Camelot's Chambers room, which was very nice. The grounds were just beautiful with lots of flowers and wooded areas. The breakfast were very good.


Great for a romantic retreat!

4.6 on April 16, 2010

We will go year after year to celebrate our anniversary & look no further for any place else.


Romance Defined

4.4 on March 30, 2010

Everything about Castle in the Country boasts romance, from the Victorian style themed rooms to teh wonderful gourmet breakfasts. The tranquil grounds from pond to lake to gazebo were amazingly a peaceful beauty to see. Definitely will be back to visit again someday.


Romantic Weekend

5 on March 15, 2010

My husband and I went away for our four year anniversary. We take turns surprising each other and we were extremely happy with every aspect of our visit. Looking forward to return this summer.


best B&B in MI

4.0 on February 17, 2010

This is a delightful quaint place! If you are looking for a relaxing, comfortable, quiet romantic stay, then this is a place for you and your mate. We are looking forward to seeing it again in the spring and fall!


Quiet & Romantic

4.6 on February 02, 2010

Meals were superb. Sir Lancelot room was beyond expectations with fireplace and whirlpool tub. Innkeepers had great recommendations for nearby restaurants. Inn was quiet and relaxing.


Camelot Found at the Castle In The Country

5 on February 02, 2010

The Castle in the Country is truly the 'holy grail' of everything an inn or B&B aspires to be. Every detail has been planned and executed perfectly; from the beautifully restored victorian main house to the more contemporary country manor decor of the 'castle keep' exudes elegance, romance and relaxation. I highly recommend staying in and ordering their picnic dinner for in-room dining; it is as delicious as it is romantic. They've also managed to make their rooms as comfortable and cozy as they are beautiful. Do not pass up an opportunity to stay at this inn - Ruth and Herb have definately 'upped the bar' for all innkeepers to strive for. I can't wait for our next visit!


An amazing place to stay

5 on January 04, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Castle Keep this past weekend. We had never been to a B & B before and did not know what to expect. The Castle in the Country exceeded all of our expectations. From the time we checked in until the time we checked out, all of our questions and concerns were answered. We ate at the Grill house the first night after the suggestion from Ruth. The second night ate at Via Maria's in Holland after a wonderful day in downtown Holland visiting all the shops. The rooms were emaculate, and definitely exceeded our expectations. We are planning another trip this spring and will definitely be back. Our goal is to stay in all the different rooms. I am going to suggest the Castle in the Country to everyone I know. Thank you for such a wonderful weekend.


The Best Romantic Weekend!

4.8 on January 02, 2010

This was our first B&B and our first weekend getaway without the kids. We had a fantastic weekend! Our room was definitely a wow! We were very impressed how nice it was. We loved the trails in the woods. We were there Thanksgiving weekend and would love to come back and experience it in the Summer and the Fall. Ruth was very pleasant to talk with and gave us all the information we needed. The food was very delicious. I highly recommend visiting here, you won't be disappointed!


Fun Fall Getaway

4.8 on November 09, 2009

My husband and I wanted to get away from the city for just one night and Castle in the Country was perfect! Our room was beautiful and the grounds were so peaceful. We loved the trails in the woods especially all of the fall color. Our only regret was that we could only stay one night!


Perfect Romantic Getaway

4.2 on November 02, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a weekend trip to the Castle and it was absolutly wonderful!! I had read reviews that described the attention to detail and they were absolutly true!! Ruth and Herb have thought of everything their guests may need or want! From check-in to check-out we felt attended to, but not bothered. When we had a question about directions, or a restaurant, someone was available to help. During our two night stay we ate at the Grill House the first night. The location is great (just 5 min away) and the food is great!! The second night we ate at Via Maria in Holland and it was worth the 30 min. drive. Very romantic, great food, and excellent service. We were quite impressed at how beautiful the grounds are, and VERY quiet, the rooms are clean, the food is wonderful and the location is perfect. We felt secluded in the country, while easily being able to travel in to Saugatuck and Holland. I would recomend the Castle to my friends and family, and we eagerly look forward to returning for another getaway!


Another great find...

5 on October 22, 2009

My husband and I have stayed at many B&B's and this one is right at the top of our list. Beautiful room, beautiful grounds (65 acres!!), and fabulous food! We also brought our dog and found that Saugutuck and South Haven (close to Castle in the Country) are very dog-friendly towns to visit. Relaxing and peaceful time! Highly recommended!


Absolutely perfect!!!!

4.6 on September 20, 2009

This was our first stay at a B & B and they really set the bar. The owners are wonderful people and really care about their guests. The food was presented in such an artistic manner and just as delicious. Such a peaceful and tranquil setting. The Sir Lancelot room was perfect for us. Very clean and romantic. Thank you for the perfect getaway. God Bless.


Superb relaxation in a lovely setting

4.8 on August 15, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at the "Castle"! We stayed four nights and had such a relaxing time. It was an anniversary trip for us, and we came to the castle because of its recommendation as one of the romantic B&B's around, and we were not disappointed. One of my fears as I looked at a B&B instead of a fancy hotel was that beds might be uncomfortable. That was NOT the case here...the pillows and mattress were soft enough to be plush yet firm enough to give good back support. So comfortable!! The full breakfast every morning was very filling. I loved that I could eat a full breakfast meal that was not greasy or overly rich, yet still thoughtfully put together and absolutely delicious. My ONLY tiny disappointment with the breakfast was this: we had the same breakfast on our first morning and last morning. It was still delicious, but I know that there were other menu options (as we saw what was being served the next day), and we would have enjoyed tasting something different. Perhaps this isn't normally an issue - I don't know how common it is to have guests stay 4 consecutive nights. Nevertheless, this was by far our favorite B&B stay, and probably one of our favorite getaways in general... this was so much more unique than a glitzy hotel. At a Marriott, for example, outside of your room, there's not a lot for you! Here, our room was a lot better than a hotel room, AND there was so much available to us on the grounds and in the buildings themselves. We could go out on a boat, or stay in and choose a movie from their library...and even run down to the kitchenette to pop some popcorn! The innkeeper has so many more suggestions than your average concierge. If you haven't done a B&B before, try the Castle...although you might never want to go anywhere else!


Simply the Best B&B Ever!

4.8 on August 04, 2009

After researching the area inns, my husband and I booked two nights at Castle in the Country. We had no idea how wonderful our trip would be! Ruth checked us in and gave us some great information about the surrounding area as well as the 65-acre property the inn sits on. The Romeo and Juliet suite, located in the Castle Keep, was our choice. The suite itself is very spacious and comfortable, with vaulted ceilings, a king-size bed, large Jacuzzi tub, fireplace, private bath, large closet and lovely décor. Just outside the room there are DVDs, complementary toiletries and sundries, music, just about anything a guest may need! On the main floor of the building is a large dining room, and a kitchen area that the guests may use. We are not the type to eat large meals every night, so the kitchen fridge was very convenient for us to keep our snacks and light meal items. The breakfasts were divine. Herb incorporates many items from the local farmers’ markets into his cuisine, which gives it wonderful flavor and freshness you can’t get just anywhere. The grounds are lovely, including a smaller pond, gazebo and deck area located just outside the Castle Keep building. If you’re adventurous, you can walk the mowed paths into the woods, to the larger lake at the back of the property. We did this several times, and actually fished off the dock (using our own equipment), used the provided kayaks and paddleboat, and enjoyed the screen house that is adjacent to the lake. Ruth and Herb have thought of every convenience for their guests—there was even insect repellant and sunblock at the Keep building for guests’ use, and it definitely came in handy. This mini-vacation to Castle in the Country was just what we needed: a tranquil, relaxing retreat away from the touristy spots. We plan to go back very soon.


Elopement b&b

4.2 on July 10, 2009

After much research we chose this establishment for their wedding package. The innkeepers were very gracious and we basically showed up with a gown and tux. Very clean, and charming with a little modern touches. Beautiful grounds with plenty of room to roam. We were pleasantly surprised and rave about our wedding here to everyone.


Wonderfully romantic anniversary

5 on June 16, 2009

We stayed for two nights 6/3-6/5 2009. Everything was wonderful. We stayed in the Romeo and Juliet room. The attention to detail, not only in the room, but also at the entire inn was unsurpassed. Ruth's recommendations for dinner at local restaurants were perfect. We also loved the delicious breakfasts. We will definitely return for another visit!!


Relaxing and Romantic

4.0 on June 09, 2009

Great stay. Nice staff, greet food, and nice rooms. Good place to go for romantic get-away.


A memory to never forget

5 on May 04, 2009

My boyfriend and I had an amazing time in the Castle in the country. Our room, Sir Lancelot, was even better then imagined. Breakfast was very good! We had a wonderful time and look forward to visiting again soon.


The best B&B!

5 on April 29, 2009

Very clean & comfortable. Great food.


Amazing B&B!

4.8 on April 21, 2009

We stayed in the King Arthur room for our anniversary. The room was wonderful, food was delicious, and the service was great! There is nothing I would change about this place. Very peaceful setting. We will definitely be back!!!


Best wedding ever!

4.6 on March 27, 2009

Not only was our beautiful wedding here, but we also came back for our anniversary! Peaceful surroundings, great food, quiet and comfortable lodging- we anticipate celebrating future anniversaries here!


amazing

5 on March 19, 2009

Great way to start the New Year- relaxing, beautiful, peaceful inn. Loved the fireplace, whirlpool, scenery, and food- excellent. Thank you!


MAKE THIS YOUR FIRST STOP IN ALLEGAN

4.0 on March 18, 2009

We will return to the Castle in the Country. My husband needed to relax, and we needed the time alone! I can't think of a better place in Michigan! Great food! Great room! Great Hosts! Great surroundings!


Treated Like a king at the Castle.

5 on March 17, 2009

My wife and I had a planned trip up to Allegan and just so happened to stumble on the Castle website. Having never been to a B&B we decided to give it a whirl. After our stay I cannot say enough about the castle. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed. The InnKeeper was able to accomodate our early arrival by offering us a room other than what we had booked at the same cost. We were provided with a detailed explanation of the facility and surrounding area. They made it very clear that if we need anything to let them know immediately. The room was amazing and I can not say enough about the comfort and relaxation I had during the stay. More amazing was the breakfast. From the mouth watering apricot/almond scones to the Grand Marnier French Toast made from fresh homemade bread, I left begging for more even though I could not have taken another bite! I look forward to being able to visit the Castle in the summer to see all 65 acres in its beauty. I highly recommend a visit if you are in the area!


Great Anniversary Get Away

4.8 on March 10, 2009

My husband and I have stayed at many B&B's before but the Castle was by far the best one we've ever been to! Our room was spectacular and the food was excellent. It was nice having the option to eat in the privacy of our own room. We look forward to returning soon. Thanks Herb and Ruth!


Fabulous!

5 on March 03, 2009

Awesome staff! Wonderful food! Great mystery weekend!


wonderful experience

5 on February 18, 2009

I would recommend it to others!


Surprise!

4.8 on February 10, 2009

I surprised my wife with a weekend away. She did not know where we were going. Our weekend was terrific. We had the Romeo and Juliet room. Everything was very well thought of at the inn. Ruth and Megan were fantastic hosts and Herb is a great cook. Highly recommend!


great stay

5 on February 04, 2009

great stay


perfect winter getaway

4.8 on February 04, 2009

Great cozy 'castle' located near great ski resort. The employees were so nice and the weekend was perfect. Would highly recommend!


Winter weekend getaway

5 on February 04, 2009

What a wonderful weekend we just had! Castle in the Country was cozy, warm, lovely and memorable. We loved the Inn, the room and Chefs wonderful meals. Everyone smiled all the time. I look forward to returning someday, hopefuly someday soon. Thankyou so very much for everything.


superb royalty

5 on February 04, 2009

Castle in the Country provides each guest with the royal treatment- from the fabulous, gourmet breakfast, to the Romeo and Juliet suite; our stay was amazing and we were treated like their royal guests!


Impressed in Indianapolis

4.6 on January 26, 2009

We enjoyed a fantastic weekend at Castle In The Country for our second anniversary. Neither one of us has ever been to a B&B, but I fear that all other B&B's will fail in comparison to this one. Ruth and Megan were very kind and hospitable. Our breakfasts, wonderfully composed by Herb, were very tasty. We could not have asked for a better way to celebrate our anniversary or a better B&B to have been our first.


Best B&B Stay

4.6 on January 26, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at Castle in the Country. The rooms were beautiful and well kept, as were the 2 houses they have. The food was exceptional. Herb is a wonderful cook and great teacher, as we enjoyed a cooking class from him. The best B&B breakfasts I have ever had.


warmth and comfort in the woods

4.0 on January 12, 2009

The service was wonderful and the hospitality exceeded my expectations. This inn was comfortable and warm and the food was terrific! Hope to be back!


Castle in the Country

5 on January 09, 2009

We had a wonderful, relaxing experience! The food and atmosphere were wonderful and elegant! Excited to return!


Much nicer than expected

4.0 on January 05, 2009

We enjoyed our stay here very much. Our first visit to a B&B and it was nicer than expected! We plan to go back in the summer. Nice lake, walking trails, etc. Only recommendation would be that spa quality/name brand toiletries would be a nice touch vs. the quite inexpensive items provided.


Our favorite romantic getaway

5 on December 16, 2008

We had our wedding at Castle in the Country in December 2005. Every single experience and interaction with the Innkeepers Ruth, Herb and Megan has been great. A few months prior to the wedding my then-fiance and I went to tour the beautiful Castle as well as the Castle Keep with Ruth as a very helpful and informative guide, helping us choose our ceremony and reception locations as well as prospective rooms for our guests. Ruth handled every small detail for our wedding: food, flowers, the officiant, photos, horse-drawn sleigh ride. All we had to do was show up with our clothes and our guests! It was a magical winter wedding. Our guests stayed in the Castle Keep building; hubby and I stayed in the King Arthur suite and our guests stayed in the Romeo and Juliet suite, Camelot Chambers, Lady Gwynevere Suite and Sir Lancelot suite. Each room had it's own unique and stunning decor, and our guests have raved ever since about Castle in the Country, and some are now repeat guests to this wonderful B&B, returning from Canada to stay here again since our wedding. My hubby and I have gone back every year in December for our anniversary and stayed in the King Arthur suite, and it is always a peaceful and refreshing getaway for us. This past weekend we spent our 4th weekend there, and as always every detail was great. This is by far our favorite B&B - it just has everything. We recommend it to everyone we know who needs to get away for a peaceful retreat! We've also enjoyed the nearby Grill House restaurant, Bistro 120, Old Regent Theater, and walking through the quaint Historic district in Allegan. Next time we come back to Castle in the Country we want to try the spa services, as our friends highly recommended the side-by-side couples massage. There's always something new to do each time you visit, which is something else we like! Ruth, Herb and Megan do a fabulous job making Castle in the Country a really special place. -Michael & Tashua


Great Experiance in Michigan

5 on December 16, 2008

We enjoyed a temendous weekend. The hospitality, the room (which may have been the nicest we have ever stayed in), the food and the friendliness of the staff were outstanding. I cannot say enough good things about the Castle in the Country. We stayed in the Romeo & Juliet Suite. It was absolutely beautiful. Ken Semelsberger & Debra


Relaxing and Romantic Getaway

5 on December 08, 2008

Our stay at the Castle in The Country was just what we needed after our wedding. It was very relaxing. The inn was awesome and the food was excellent. We did the side by side couples massage and a winery trip where a town car picked us up with a picnic basket lunch and we went to a few of the local wineries for some tasting. We will come back to stay for sure. We have already recommended it to all of our friends. Thanks again for the great honeymoon. Mark & Meredith


Where you are treated like royalty!

5 on November 29, 2008

We have stayed with Ruth and Herb a few times. Each time we felt like we were part of the family...yet being treated like royalty. The rooms are amazing! The food is divine! And the Castle itself is beautiful! We have recommended it to everyone we know! We can't wait to go back :)


Very romantic and relaxing

5 on November 23, 2008

Our stay was everything we hoped it would be! Hot tub soaks in the morning, breakfast in the provided robes while we looked out over the gazebo and the lake. Our room was very comfortable, cozy, romantic and relaxing! Even the smallest touches, like the many fresh daily candles, was greatly appreciated! We will definitely be coming back and staying in a different room, for a different feel, and will recommend your inn to all of our friends!


What a wonderful weekend

4.0 on November 20, 2008

Before our arrival I needed to call because we were going to arrive late. The inn keeper already knew who I was and explained a late check in procedure to me as well as letting me know they upgraded our room. It would all be explained in a welcome letter which we could find at the front door. Everything was as stated and the room we were given was extraordinary. The next morning we awoke to the smell of a wonderful breakfast which was served at a wonderful time of day at 9am. Our room overlooked a beautiful pond and we could see dear running in the fields in the distance. The inn keepers were very informative and we were able to visit some very wonderful small cities nearby. Dinner was served beautifully at 7pm (another great time). The food was excellant. We were able to retire to our romantic room and have an excellent evening. The next morning we awoke again to the smell of breakfast cooking and had a leasurely morning on the 65 acre inn. It was the loveliest weekend I can remember having in years. Thank you Greg and Lorie Blair


The Absolute Best

5 on November 06, 2008

We were married on Halloween and decided to stay at Castle in the Country for a few days. It was beyond what I expected. The Inn is gorgeous and the food is fantastic. I will recommend Castle in the Country to everyone I know. If you have the chance to stay make sure you get the couples side by side massage. Lisa & Jake Smith


Fantastic Weekend Getaway

4.6 on November 04, 2008

Although the weather was not the best, my wife and I greatly enjoyed our stay. We enjoyed walking the trails in the rain and our stop at the lake, lounging and listening to the rain on the roof of the screened patio was soooo! relaxing. The food was great! Ruth, Herb and Megan made our stay fantastic. We will definately be back. And we will recommend the Castle in the Country to all of our friends. Thank you Ruth, Herb and Megan for a great weekend. Mike and Marlene


A beautiful weekend.

4.0 on October 30, 2008

We just spent the most wonderful long weekend at the Castle In The Country. Ruth and Herb made us feel so welcomed and made sure we had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. Their passion for what they do, shows in their impeccable taste of style in the decor and the delightful breakfasts that are served. We had a fabulous time and hope to return soon. Sincerely, Stewart and Sue


What a relaxing week end

5 on October 28, 2008

Ruth was very helpful with ideas for places to go and things to do on a cold, wet Saturday, since outdoor activities were not overly atrractive. After a day touring the interesting places near by, the huge jacusi was a wonderful, relaxing treat.


Lovely romantic Weekend.

4.4 on October 26, 2008

We had a lovely time at Castle in the Country. We went with another copule and were able to enjoy time together in the gazebo as well as time alone. The view of the lake was spectacular with the fall colors on the trees. Loved the kayaks!


Castle in the Country

5 on October 25, 2008

Honeymooning at the Castle in the Country was the best decision my Husband and I made. It was romantic, secluded, and just WONDERFUL. I can't wait to go again.


Great Week End Stay

5 on October 19, 2008

I just wanted to send a quick note of appreciation to all of you for making our stay this past week-end such an enjoyable event. This was our first visit to The Castle In The Country and it will not be our last. From finding your B&B on the web to the interactions on the telephone, planning our stay with you was easy and comforting. Our room was cozy, spotless and fun. Breakfast was very enjoyable. Thank you very much for a wonderful week. My husband and I will be back and we will recommend you to our friends.


Outstanding

5 on October 16, 2008

Our whole stay was just perfect. From the cleaniness, to the food, to the screen house by the lake, and the kayak ride on the lake. A wonderful stay.


A perfect Anniversary getaway!

3.6 on October 02, 2008

Four our 30th anniversary I surprised my wife with two nights at the Castle in the Country. We were not disappointed and very happy that the Inn, the meals & the room lived up to the online 5 star reviews.


Weekend Getaway

4.4 on September 29, 2008

You have a beautiful B&B place. The staff was very welcoming and pleasant & helpful. It was nice to get away and relax. It would be helpful to have pant hangers, a stool to step into & out of the whirlpool bath and a choice of a savany breakfast.


We are already planning our next visit

5 on September 08, 2008

We are regulars at B&B's and this one was by far our faviorite . There were so many activities to choose from. The rooms were absolutly beautiful and the food was amazing ! Most of all we enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and not only will we be back but we will recommend it to our friends and family. Thank you .


A beautiful place to relax

4.8 on September 06, 2008

I stayed here with two friends for a girls get-a-way and it was great. We stayed in the Rose room and it was beautiful and very clean. The breakfast was delicious and the dining room was elegant and warm. The innkeepers are very hospitable and make you feel at home. The location is great because you are not far from shopping, hiking,etc. I highly recommend it.


Castle In The Country

5 on August 25, 2008

The warm hospitality together with the beauty and distinctiveness of the grounds and accommodations made for an exceptional experience. We particularly appreciated the private lake and the workouts provided by the kayaks and paddleboat. We've raved to friends and relatives about all aspects of our stay and will continue to do so.


Very, Very, Nice

4.6 on August 23, 2008

We enjoyed our stay very much.


The Most Romantic Awesomest Two Days

5 on August 15, 2008

This place is awesome. The staff was so interested in all the details. They knew who I was, what we were looking for, and were so willing to make sure that we recieved the most out of it. No corners were cut. Extremely beautiful. Definitely a 6 star with us. We will be back.


Country Heaven

4.0 on August 10, 2008

This is the best bed & brekfast experience we have ever had. From the time we found the the site on the net, until our departure, everything about the Castle in the Country exceeded our expectations. The innkeepers, rooms, dining, grounds, woods, trails, pond and lake make this a very, very special kingdom where one can truly come apart and get refreshed!


Beautiful

4.0 on August 08, 2008

We were so surprised at how beautiful and romantic the castle is. The food is delicious and the rooms are unbelievable, like stepping back in time in a grand way.


A Great Stay

4.0 on August 08, 2008

A bit far from Lake Michigan if you want to spend a lot of time at the beach. But, the privacy, great beds, beautiful location, kayaks on a private lake, and free movie selection outways the extra driving time.


Ultimate Relaxation!

5 on July 16, 2008

This B&B was outstanding as far as serenity, relaxation, massage, personality of innkeepers, decor of rooms, tranquility along with numerous places to see in the area. Food was the ultimate in taste & presentation!


Great 1st Stay!

4.8 on July 03, 2008

Beautiful Property, Great Food, Friendly Staff. Will visit again.


First Class at the Castle

5 on June 21, 2008

Our stay at the Castle was very relaxing and first rate. We stayed in the King Arthur which has a wonderful view of the pond and country side. Everyone was very friendly and made you feel welcome and at home. The food was all prepared from scatch and was delicious. The decor is outstanding. You could not ask for anything better in a B&B and we hope to go back again.


Great time at The Castle.

5 on June 06, 2008

Suspects gallore in the most recent murder mystery at the Castle In The Country. Amid a wonderous gourmet meal made by the Innkeeper himself, participants tried to solve the latest " Who done it". murder mystery at the Castle In the Country.


Surprise Birthday weekend

5 on April 29, 2008

We had an excellent stay. Very friendly host, great food, nice location, all decorations are made with class, very clean. We will definitely go back!!


Lovely Rooms in Quaint Location.

3.6 on December 14, 2007

For a true out of the ordinary get away location, choose this beautiful home. Breakfasts were outstanding. Staff friendly with good recommendations for local attractions and restaurants. Rooms spacious and very clean. Would definetly recommend for anyone.


AN enchanting getaway.

5 on December 13, 2007

Friendly, honest, extremely competant innkeepers made us feel like old friends before we left. Great food and very clean, imaginatively furnished and decorated rooms.


Romeo & Juliet

5 on October 30, 2007

We stayed in the Romeo & Juliet Room it was awesome. The decore was perfect. The setting was beautiful. Recommending it to everyone.


Very nice

5 on October 18, 2007

Very nice, couples massage was really great!


Wedding Anniversary

5 on October 14, 2007

Castle in the Country far exceed our expectations! Hosts were friendly and knowlegable about the area. The room we had was amazing and the breakfast? To die for. We have told our family and friends they MUST stay here the next time they need to get away!


Castle in the Cuontry.

4.8 on October 14, 2007

This bed and breakfast was outstanding.


Honeymoon Retreat!

5 on April 23, 2007

Our honeymoon was relaxing and memorable, thanks to the hospitality of the Boven's. Wonderful food; privacy; great recommendations for restaurants and things to see in the area. We hope to be back to celebrate our anniversary! We have already told several friends about the great stay we had at the Castle. Five Stars to you!


Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $149 - $389
  • Reviews (152) 4.7
  • Rooms 10
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2696738054
  • Toll free 1-8886738054

Visit Website »

View details

Top