Recent Reviews in Media, Pennsylvania

Anniversary Weekend at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on November 29, 2016

This place was truly amazing. We plan to return over the summer and rent the cottage house for a long weekend. Roland was a wonderful host! Mike & Andria

View more reviews for this inn


Best place I've ever statyed at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2016

This is the best B&B there is, and better than any hotel I've been in. We rented the cottage and it was amazing. Its got plenty of space, comfy bed and furniture, the kitchen is great, and the staff is very friendly and the food is out of this world. The place is like a museum of fine antiques and art from around the world. If you're looking for a great weekend, rent the cottage.

View more reviews for this inn


very nice place with nice hosts at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on May 18, 2016

I enjoyed the beautiful home with welcoming atmosphere and nice breakfast. I would come back again.

View more reviews for this inn


wonderful sleep and we will return at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on February 24, 2016

Roland and Judy are most hospitable. This was our second time to stay. Great bed and pillows made for a comfortable and wonderful sleep. Made to order breakfast was also quite nice. Reasonably priced and great location in outskirts of Philadelphia. Recommend!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Ill be back! at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

4.4 reviewed on June 19, 2015

Gracious, welcoming, happy.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful, best B&B I've ever stayed at! at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on January 02, 2015

I stayed here as part of the bridal party for my friend's wedding at Ridley Creek State Park. We had a lovely time - everything was absolutely fantastic.

View more reviews for this inn


Hometown Visit at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on October 17, 2014

We searched online for a hotel near our 50th class reunion location and instead found a bed and breakfast. After reading the reviews and looking at the photos, we decided to give it a try. We were warmly welcomed by the owner, an interior designer, and given a tour of the inn. The inn was decorated with interesting pieces of furniture and art, creatively and tastefully placed. The innkeepers were very warm and attentive, and the breakfast that followed each morning was delicious. So glad we found the Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast Inn!

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic, friendly, quiet at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on September 28, 2014

My partner and I were out of towners for a wedding in Media and stumbled upon this gem of a place online. We arrived beaten up from traveling and instantly felt at home. Roland and Judy were both very welcoming and accommodating and gave us plenty of privacy. The house is breathtakingly beautiful (pics don't do it justice), it has a castle feel to it without being stuffy, it's quiet, you could tell they pay attention to detail, the shower in Otto's room was ah-mazing and the breakfast was delicious. We may go out of our way and stay there when we go back to Philly for a visit. Thank you for everything!

View more reviews for this inn


An absolute Treasure.... at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on September 22, 2014

By far and away an absolute TREASURE tucked away in Media Pa...My wife and I had the opportunity to meet two great people, Judy and Roland, who by the way make hands down the best omelets and breakfast danish and rolls from scratch. A relaxing, beautiful, comfortable setting as you will find. Access to everything the Tri-State has to offer. A true diamond in the rough,don't miss an opportunity!!

View more reviews for this inn


Quick Getaway at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on July 16, 2014

We wish we could have stayed longer! We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Alpenhof. Our room was beautifully furnished, the public areas of the bed and breakfast were clean and cozy, and breakfast was superb! How many bed and breakfasts can you go to that have a long menu of what is offered at breakfast? Roland and Judy were very friendly and welcoming, it was as if you were family. We walked the grounds, and while we didn't have a chance to enjoy the pool, it was very nice. We greatly enjoyed our stay and wish we could have stayed longer. We definitely will be back, hopefully soon!

View more reviews for this inn


A Peaceful Visit at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on May 14, 2014

We stayed in the Grand Master Suite. The view from the room was so serene...so many trees and wonderful flowers to boot. There is even access to a sundeck which adjoins an area with a table and chairs to sit at and enjoy the serenity, overlooking a wonderful swimming pool. The bed was super comfortable and the accommodations were spacious. The décor is a mix of antique and eclectic which blended nicely. The breakfasts were scrumptious, offering fresh fruit salad bowls, fresh baked goods and eggs cooked anyway you want along with great bacon and sausage available to boot. On Sundays, they have a delicious eggs benedict offered up. They even had homemade gravlax with bagels, cream cheese, tomatoes and red onion. For us, the best part of Alpenhof are the people who run it, Judy, Roland and Roland's wife Anh who helps with the breakfasts. I felt as comfortable there, as I do at home. You won't meet kinder, warmer and more helpful people. They truly care about your comfort and your needs. They make it very difficult to leave, because we wanted to stay longer. We feel that it's a great value for the money and we will be coming back again and again to enjoy the B&B as well as Philadelphia.

View more reviews for this inn


Alpenhof B&B is a Treat! at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

4.0 reviewed on December 13, 2013

Overall a wonderful stay at a lovely B&B with outstanding inn keepers. Would do it again in a heartbeat!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic and Romantic B&B at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

4.0 reviewed on December 06, 2013

The B&B Innkeeper was very professional, courteous, kind, and helpful. You can have as much or as little interaction with her and the guests as you'd like. Media, PA is beautiful! Great restaurants, town, and state park near by. Highly recommended.

View more reviews for this inn


Love this place! at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on September 30, 2013

During our travels from FL to PA last month, my husband surprised me with one of the most beautiful bed and breakfasts I have ever laid my eyes upon! We had the opportunity to stay in the cottage for 4 nights, and I wish we were still there. The property is gorgeous with beautiful gardens and stone walkways. We enjoyed the cool nights sitting outside on our private patio overlooking PA woods. The cottage itself is clean and marvolus with a home style/romantic feeling; and the bed is so comfortable that we even bought the same mattress when wee returned to FL! The main house where breakfast is served is truley enchanting; from the history of the home to the decor, every detail down to the tableware . Judy is the most wonderful host and AMAZING COOK! Thank you for opening your home to us! Vielen Dank für Ihre wunderbare Gastfreundscaft!

View more reviews for this inn


Best Bed and Breakfast!!! Don't miss a stay here! at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on September 30, 2013

I recently stayed at Alpenhof (Media, PA) for a three night stay while attending a friend's wedding. Roland and Judy are the consumate hosts - as others have mentioned, the gardens are spectacular and and decor amazing. This 1700's barn turned into a charming little private get away is warm and inviting; a peaceful retreat! Judy helped in every possible way from getting me to various wedding places as well as wonderful eateries. She is a delightful hostess and was simply a joy! By the way, she makes a wonderful veggie omlet!! Of course, one of my favorite - Clyde and Abbey, the canine hosts...If you want to spend time for a simple get away or for a special event, let Alpenhof take you away!

View more reviews for this inn


Hmmm at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

4.8 reviewed on August 10, 2013

Someone has gone to a lot of trouble to provide a thoughtful, comfortable, charming, and different place to stay. Our room, the master suite, was large, with comfy bed and linens, and well equipped with all sorts of comforts to make our one-night stay pleasant. The grounds of the home is beautifully landscaped, and the pool looks quite inviting. Breakfast was delicious and the home-baked cinnamon buns were a real treat. My only caveat was that our room (and it appeared to be only our room) had a very strong industrial air freshener type of scent throughout, including the bathroom. When I stepped out of our room, the scent disappeared. I could not figure out where the air freshener scent was coming from, but kinda assumed that it must have been masking up a mold/water leak odor, or some other unavoidable situation. The scent gave me a big headache from the moment I stepped into the room. The scent was quite strong and even when I returned home, our bags and clothing still had the scent lingering in them. I'm sorry to say that I would have found Alpenhof to be wonderful, but this put a damper on what would otherwise have been a lovely night.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice rooms, but whoa! What a breakfast! at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on April 07, 2013

We stayed for a weekend trip to Philly, and wanted to be a little farther away from the city to have some quiet time. Our room (the Master Suite) was as advertised - very tall ceiling, large bed, and a massive TV at the foot of our bed. But the real star here is the breakfast, where we got choices of many homemade beds, cinnamon buns, and incredibly good omelets with great sausage (the only thing that we would recommend against is the eggs benedict -- great hollandaise, but you're missing out if you eat meat and you don't go for the sausage). This is a great find!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfectly Splendid! at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on December 21, 2012

I felt like I was at home! I stayed in Roland's room and slept perfectly. I needed to leave early both mornings and so Judy made breakfast for me early both mornings. She went out of her way to make my stay comfortable and convenient. The area is so peaceful. Sunday morning I saw a Great Blue Heron in Ridley Creek just around the corner. This is the perfect place to retreat or even stay for business. A gem of Bed and Breakfast options!

View more reviews for this inn


My sister and I have traveled extensively as have my husband and I. We always stay at B&B's when possible. If you are staying in the Media, Pa. area, this is the place to stay. It truely is magnificent, from the gardens to the restored barn to the breakfast to the warmth of your host and hostess. at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on August 14, 2012

I came the first time out of necessity but will come again for pure pleasure. I cannot say enough about this place. BTW, this is the first time I have taken the time to write a review. I hope you find this place to be as wonderful as I did.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome place! at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on August 04, 2012

It was a very pleasant stay, hassle free and great service. If your going to Philly, I recommend staying here, rather then in the city.

View more reviews for this inn


Wedding Awesome-ness! at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on June 26, 2012

We booked the whole house and the cottage for out-of-town guests coming to our wedding. Judy and Roland were very accomodating, even helping us arrange welcome gifts to be waiting in our guests' rooms. The grounds were spectacular--we even had our wedding pictures taken there! Breakfast was a huge hit with all of our guests both because the food was delicious but also because of the personal touch, like remembering everyone's names and orders from the day before. It was really easy to feel at home. The rooms themselves were great--they combined modern conveniences and amenities without losing the bed & breakfast atmosphere. We definitely will be returning and recommending it to all of our friends and family!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place to stay! at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on May 25, 2012

We stayed at Alpenhof May18 and 19. The house and yards are beautiful - even though a lot of the flowers hadn't bloomed yet. Our stay in the Master Suite was lovely, but a little noisy in the morning as we were above the kitchen. We woke to the smell of coffee and the sound of conversation as the other guests got started on their treks. Breakfast both days was incredible - homemade bread for french toast, pancakes as big as dinner plates. Only about a half hour drive to Philadelphia - our intended destination - and a much better experience! We would gladly visit again!

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding! at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on May 19, 2012

This was all we could have asked for...and more. Great hosts, great ambience, great food. Bob & Stefanie

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Stay! at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on May 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Alpenhof for one evening in the Master suite and had a wonderful time. The town of Media is charming and breathtaking. We had an amazing breakfast and very much enjoyed the decor of the Bed and Breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic Breakfast at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on February 13, 2012

Alpenhof was great. We had a two night stay, during a large family gathering in town. Judy and Roland are fantastic inn keepers. The room we stayed in was so relaxing and the Breakfasts were the best I've ever had at a B&B. Try the Eggs Benedict and/French Toast. Love the rustic look and fireplace in the main great room. And the house dogs were so friendly. I would go back here, as do many of the guests, as the regulars I met at the breakfast table proved. Thank you Alpenhof, Keith and Melissa.

View more reviews for this inn


Selfless hospitality at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on January 15, 2012

Aside from the beautifully appointed rooms, the amazing full home made breakfast, accomodating our late-night arrival, this story may set Alpenhof and its delightful proprietors apart from all in their class. Toward the end of our New Year's holiday, I asked Roland about cab service from the house to the airport early in the morning. He said the cabs would not be reliable and without hesitating, said "No, problem - I'll take you myself!" And the next morning at 4:00, he was up and waiting for us with the car warmed up. He cheerfully drove us the 20 mins to Phila airport. An amazingly touching ending to a lovely stay. Thank you Roland and Judy!

View more reviews for this inn


A Special Christmas Present at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on December 25, 2011

Innkeepers udy and Roland are wonderful, their hospitality beyond all expectations, especially for guests with special needs. Alpenhof is quite unique in style and extremely comfortable from guest room to living and dining room. Breakfast was 4 star , tasty treats from home baked breads to a choice of eggs bebdict, waffles, pancakes, french toast and more. My wife and I will definitely plan to return soon.

View more reviews for this inn


the best b&b ever at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on December 25, 2011

Ditto what everyone else said about delicious made-to-order breakfasts, incredibly friendly reception by Roland & Judy, and excellent value. I was particularly impressed by the gorgeous and uniquely decorated rooms -- an amazing array of mosiac tiles, wall stencils, luxurious textiles, and massive wood beams and stone walls combine to make a very cozy, relaxing atmosphere. The smallest details are carefully tended: for example, all the rooms were a cozy temperature and even though I visited the Alpenhof in winter, the air was not too dry. The nicest part was that when my sister forgot to pick me up from the airport, Roland volunteered to drive my Mom through rush-hour traffic to the airport to get me. I really appreciate his willingness to help, given no notice! Many thanks for your hospitality.

View more reviews for this inn


ALPENHOP B&B at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

4.4 reviewed on October 11, 2011

Thanks for a restful night in your beautiful B&B. Curteous staff. Clean Rooms.

View more reviews for this inn


lovely place to stay at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (Media, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on September 08, 2011

Stayed three nights at alpenhof in Heidi's room. Very friendly innkeepers. Great imenities with very comfy rooms. Breakfasts are large and very tasty. They even attended to our washing. What more could you ask for?

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast (4.78)
Top
}