Phoenix Risin' Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
3.8

View details

  • Guest room3.6
  • Service3.8
  • Value3.8
  • Cleanliness3.7
  • Onsite Dining3.8

Score Breakdown based on
39 Reviews

Write A Review

Great return stay

5 on January 27, 2013

I have been hosted at Phoenix Risin on three separate occasions in the past 18 months. It has always been a very pleasant experience. I was greeted on each occasion with a smile, glass of wine, and charm. My room was very clean with warm, silk, sheets. Breakfast was served each morning. I love Phoenix Risin and recommend it highly.


Relaxing Getaway

4.0 on July 26, 2012

My husband and I frequent B&Bs and this time we were not let down. The host, Janice, was very kind and accommodating. The breakfast was delicious. We recommend it to anyone.


A Great Over Night Stay

5 on December 27, 2011

My stay at Phoenix Risin' was one of the best and most pleasant stays that I experienced in quite a while. The accommodations were excellent. The room was very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The whole place made you feel like you were right at home. I thought the formal setting room that had the walls covered with art was exquisite. Some of the art was by artist that I knew which made me feel even more at home. The host was very knowledgeable about the city and very helpful. I wish I could have stayed longer.


my experience of the bed and breakfast

3.6 on December 12, 2011

The stay was nice the service was a slow, but the owner made up for that with her pleasant attitude.I will definetly recommend to my friends.


Great home from home

4.2 on May 22, 2011

From the moment I was welcomed with a glass wine to the moment I left after a hearty breakfast brunch this was a home from home experience.


Thumbs up for Janice

4.4 on December 02, 2010

Phoenix Risin’ provides convenience and charm with a personal touch. We find it to be the perfect place to stay in the heart of Baltimore, at a reasonable price, and Bolton Hill is a beautiful neighborhood. The location is especially convenient for us, since our son is a student at Maryland Institute College of Art, just a couple blocks away, also in the Bolton Hill/Mount Vernon area. Our room on the third floor was charming and quiet. Janice Orr is a wonderful and attentive hostess. Using ingredients fresh from the farmer’s market, she whips up a delightful breakfast, providing charm and conversation as she cooks. We love Janice and intend to make Phoenix Risin’ our regular Baltimore destination.


Will not return

1.2 on October 26, 2010

Rooms and bathrooms were unsanitary. We were told bkfast would be ready at 8:15am. When we arrived it wasn't even begun. There was a broken glass window in our room. No heat, you had to ask the owner. Roach motels under the bed. We informed out owner that we would leave at 8:30 on Sunday. She was never there to see us leave. We gave up on breakfast. It was like renting a room on Craigs List rather than a B&B.


Great Stay

4.4 on June 14, 2010

We enjoyed our comfortable and relaxing stay. The premises are well-kept and the location is great for seeing the city. The host was very friendly and accommodating, and we had a great breakfast.


Wonderful B&B

4.0 on May 05, 2010

The B&B is absolutely lovely and in a charming Baltimore neighborhood convenient to many of the places we needed to get to, including Penn sattion for those using MARC or Amtrak. Janice is very kind and accommodating, wonderful to spend time with.


Four thumbs up

4.8 on October 06, 2009

I see most of the other reviews for this Bed and Breakfast are similar to ours. We enjoyed it very much, and happily recommend it. Those who didn’t enjoy it don’t seem to “get it.” A Bed and Breakfast is NOT a luxury hotel. They typically don’t have valet parking, room service or bell boys. If you want all of the amenities of a luxury hotel, I suggest you stay in a luxury hotel. A good Bed and Breakfast is more like a canvas, and the owner is the artist. The idea is to have a charming, clean, peaceful place to stay, and perhaps a unique experience to enhance your travels. We enjoyed the Phoenix Risin’ very much for just that reason. If you are adventurous, check it out. If you want your stay to be forgettable, stay at the Marriot.


Very Charming

4.2 on July 24, 2009

My stay at the Phoenix Risin' Bed and Breakfast was very enjoyable. The room and bathroom was clean, comfortable and convenient. The staff was friendly and courteous far beyond my expectations. If I ever find myself in Baltimore again I am definitely going to keep this bed and breakfast high on my list of places to stay.


awesome!

5 on June 30, 2009

i just wanted to drop you a line to let you know how very much we enjoyed staying at your place over the weekend. it was every bit as lovely as we thought it would be. you should be proud of the establishment youv'e built. when we walked in the door we were awed by the spirit that greeted us. the location is great. the neighborhood is esthetically pleasing for sure, but clean and quiet as well. i can't say enough about the decor...just breathtaking. i did notice how you pay attention to detail. for instance, i was really wowed by the little adinkra symbols painted on the bedroom doors of the serengeti room. nice touch. the innsitters were fantastic and knowledgeable about the inn as well as the area and had great recommendations for stuff to do and places to go.they went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and comfortable. the breakfast was delicious and the presentation was great. you left no leaf unturned. we had a memorable time and we would definitely stay again. sherbi and dave


Obama Inauguration Week Bust

4.0 on March 06, 2009

My wife and I made reservations to stay at the Phoenix Risin' Bed and Breakfast owned by Janice Orr. We arrived for our stay the Sunday of Presedential Inauguration week. The amenities and condition of the Inn are not as depicted on their website. We left after staying only one night of a reserved and pre-payed 6 nights. My wife contacted the owner of the Inn, Janice Orr and she has made no effort or offer of resolving the matter. The following is a brief list of the numerous problem areas of service delivery we experienced while in Baltimore, MD at the Phoenix Risin Bed and Breakfast: 1. Lack of cold water to the main bathroom sink on the 3rd floor. 2. The bed linens were stained and considerably worn. 3. Internet access was not provided to us after requesting the access key and being made previously aware of availability. 4. Breakfast was not provided as agreed after the first and only night of our stay. 5. The ceiling fan in the bedroom assigned to us had a thick layer of dust. 6. The carpet at the entrance of the bedroom door was gone exposing the nails in the door frame in the full bathroom of the 3rd floor 7. The wrong key to the room in which we were to stay was provided and we were locked out of our room for about 90 minutes. It was our full intention to stay from January 18 - 24, 2009. Unfortunately, the amenities were not to our expectations or as advertised on the web site. Fortunately, we were able to find The Holiday Inn BWI had rooms available so we stayed there for the remainder of the week. Ms. Orr claims a refund is not in order because of inauguration week making room availability a premium in the area. My wife went as far as to give Ms. Orr five days to re-consider a refund or make us an offer and we have yet to receive a phone call or email reply from her.


Phoenix Risin

3.0 on February 11, 2009

The room was very nice and comfortable, but it took a really long time to be able to get into it so we could not enjoy it as much as we would have liked to.


Phoenix Risin'

3.8 on January 13, 2009

The location was wonderful. The owner was very warn and the inn was very cultural (all types). the breakfast was different and most tasty. I would highly recommend this establishment to friends and family. The other people at the inn were pleasant.


Relax and be at ease

3.2 on December 01, 2008

comfortable, casual at ease. welcoming and warm. I'll be back!


very relaxed, warm, calming atmoshpere

4.4 on December 01, 2008

I would like to know the other guests who are staying unless for confidential reasons.


unique experience

3.0 on November 25, 2008

I enjoyed my stay very much. The atmosphere was very homey and friendly. The cultural effects were very nice.


Will not be back

1.4 on October 19, 2008

Our stay was less than expected. There is no identifying sign on the building, so it took a while to find. No one answered the phone when we called. They were not ready for our arrival (check-in is listed as 3pm and we arrived at 3:30). We received no welcome or instructions upon arrival - we had to fend for ourselves. We were kept up the first night by other guests past 1:30am. The toiletries and food in the room and bathroom were already opened, which is unsanitary. There was a bag full of dirty socks and underwear in the closet in our room. Breakfast was late the first morning and we were not even offered breakfast the second morning. We were there for 2 days, and no cleaning was performed after we got there. The neighborhood is beautiful and there is a great restaurant right down the street, but the stay was not satisfactory. We were disappointed, to say the least.


Virgin Voyage

4.6 on September 03, 2008

As A first timer, my wife and I had a great experience that we hope to try many more times. The homey atmosphere really allowed us to relax and enjoy ourselves.


Refreshed

3.0 on September 03, 2008

A very pleasant stay without the hustle and bustle of hotel living. Beds were comfortable and I woke up feeling refreshed.


Dissapointing

2.6 on August 24, 2008

The Inn has three rooms. When we arrived about 2:15pm, the guests for the other two rooms were waiting outside and I learned that check in was at 3:30, (posted on their website). One of the other party's told me that he had made arrangements to drop off his luggage early and return to check in. We decided to do the same. When the door finally opened at about 3:00pm we were greeted by a lady that was not properly dressed to receive guests. Her limited amount of clothing was slipping off her and at one point, asked us to step around a corner out of site so she could fix her "clothing malfunction". The other guests had young children and must have been quite embarrassed. She said we could check in early since we were all there. Check in took a long time as she walked us through showing us everything from how to open and close doors that did not work well to how to flush the toilet and how to operate the shower. There were safety issues also. They included a lot of clutter in our room and extension cords under the curtain in our room. Our bedroom had a typical 30" wide doorway with two doors approximately 15' wide each that swing to meet in the middle. One of the doors is connected to the floor by a latch that was very difficult to release. My wife could not operate it and had to squeeze through one 15" door. It would be a serious problem if the building had to be evacuated in an emergency. I would not reccommend this Inn to anyone.


Friendly, but...

2.8 on July 22, 2008

The hostess was personable and chatty when she was there(mornings only). Expect to empty your own trash containers,hunt down clean towels etc.


great!

3.6 on June 20, 2008

great location, really nice home, cozy and very hospitable


i have high standards

3.6 on June 16, 2008

comfortable room. wonderful sleeping bed. delicious breakfast. great location. thoughtful and attentive host


awesome

4.4 on June 16, 2008

everyone should come here. this is amazing, the best! really!


wonderful

5 on June 16, 2008

very wonderful stay. looking forward to coming back next time we are in baltimore


outstanding!

5 on June 11, 2008

outstanding place to stay i recommend staying


nice

3.0 on June 05, 2008

my stay was nice and i would come again


Wonderful Place!

4.6 on June 05, 2008

this was just a wonderful place to stay at


Phoenix Risin' B&B

5 on June 03, 2008

Warm and cozy, exceptionally decorated rooms, friendly service and company and outstanding breakfasts!


Sedona room

4.2 on June 02, 2008

Very pleasant location and innkeeper, with excellent breakfast, quiet rooms, easy access to sites of interest.


Paradise

4.8 on May 21, 2008

Oasis in the middle of the desert! That's what comes to my mind when I think of Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast. I came upon this "treasure" just per chance, riding around the city with a friend on Memorial Day Weekend 2007, looking for adventure. Little did I know exactly what was in store for me. I was invited to attend a cookout, and when we happened upon Bolton Hill, I wondered, "what's here?" In any event, when the red door opened, it was like stepping inside another world and I found myself wondering, am I still in Baltimore City??? Where has this place been in all my years of living here? The decor is elegant and rich, yet very inviting, making you want to sit and stay a while. Janice is a warm and welcoming hostess, and I felt like a little kid -- like, oooh -- can I see the rest of your house? Each of the rooms has its own personality and depending on the type of adventure you're seeking, I know you'll find a room that speaks to you! I knew then I'd be back. So, in October 2007 for my birthday, I treated myself to a stay at the inn. I also wanted to surprise my mate, for he too did not know anything about this treasure. It is a warm and intimate place, not too far from anything and yet, it seems miles away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Pass the word on -- I DEFINITELY recommend a stay at the inn!


Not at all rejuvenating

1.2 on May 07, 2008

I regret to write this review and have tried to offer an objective description. Please seek alternative accommodation. Carpet in the house (stairs & halls) is filthy and has a strong unpleasant odor. There was no private bathroom (Sedona Room) and the website does not indicate this. Exposed light bulbs in the full bathroom were decorated with fake flowers - a fire hazard concern. It was difficult to avoid bodily contact with the curtain inside the narrow shower. I had to open the windows to air out the room from the house’s pungent odor. When I arrived back after a long conference day, the innkeeper informed me that she closed them due to problems with beetles. She said an exterminator treated my room that day with pesticides. There was no prior notification. A room key was not provided upon arrival. The doorknob lock was broken anyway. The innkeeper hesitated to give front door keys upon request, although it’s kept locked. As a solo traveler, I felt uneasy with the idea of waiting for someone to answer the door each time I came and went. However, the neighborhood is charming with row houses, brick sidewalks, and lots of trees. The room was not ready when I arrived at 4:30pm. I was tired and wanted to lie down. The innkeeper needed my help to change the sheets and remove a dirty coffeepot and mug. The headboard was broken and detached from the bed frame. Dark-colored flannel sheets were provided - in May. The iron was dirty. Although asked for my preference ahead of time, there was no sparkling cider or champagne. The kitchen was cluttered and unclean. For breakfast, I was offered a variety of unrefrigerated, opened bottles of juice and shriveled, bruised fruit. During my stay, I was the only guest. Conditions are extremely unsatisfactory, contrary to the website description.


I'm coming back

3.2 on May 06, 2008

I felt safe and no complaints. I stayed one night. When I get home I'm going to call so that I can come back for 2 or 3 days.


Nice

3.0 on May 05, 2008

My stay was nice and I would come again.


Beautiful place!

5 on April 20, 2008

A warm ,pleasant place to stay, the service was excellent, the food was out of this world! This was my first visit to a bed and breakfast and I had a wonderful time. I recommend this place to anyone!!! It's really nice.


An exhilarating experience

4.6 on April 13, 2008

I returned to Phoenix Risin Bed and Breakfast this past month for the six or seventh time. I frequent the Washington/Baltimore area on business. I am a repeat customer because of the atmosphere, the warm personable innkeeper, and the service she provides. The Inn is filled with African, African American, Native American and Hatian art. I particularly enjoy the effort the Innkeeper makes to make me feel at home while away on the road. Upon return visits, I am always greeted with a warm hug and my favorite beverage of choice awaiting my arrival. The Innkeeper is very familiar with the highest quality restaurants and makes recommendations for me and my business associates. She provides very hearty breakfasts that meets with my taste and are based on my eating habits, as a breakfast loving person and early starter. I highly recommend Phoenix Risin because of the personalized service that is provided each time I return.


Phoenix Risin - Inhospitable

1.0 on November 26, 2007

I recently stayed at Phoenix Risin with a few colleagues for a business meeting. The pictures on the website are deceiving and the property is disgusting. For starters -The property was unprepared for our arrival and the innkeeper provided several excuses but never offered a discounted Upon entering the property, the innkeeper had all of personal items (shoes, clothes, etc) out in the junky foyer area. Upon our walk thru of the home which had lovely artwork, the rooms looked clean but was not. in-room Coffe makers with fungus in side, old bed sheets with holes in them. The innerkeeper did not cook breakfast and kept a filthy kitchen. She also eased dropped in on our private meeting and proceed to provide input interrupting our meeting. There were so many levels of unprofessionalism and filthy living conditions I couldn't ruin one's appetite. Last but not least we checked out early due to inhospitable conditions and the innkeeper rushed downstairs to charge our credit card for 2 nights instead of 1 night in a sweatshirt and panties (Disgusting!!) singing her excuse song. I would NOT recommend this property to anyone


Phoenix Risin' Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $160 - $180
  • Reviews (39) 3.8
  • Rooms 1
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4104622692
  • Phone 1-4104624551
  • Fax 1-4105233434

Visit Website »

View details

Top