Recent Reviews in McGregor, Iowa

Wonderful stay!!! at Stauer House B & B (McGregor, Iowa)

5 reviewed on May 10, 2017

Had a wonderful stay here and definitely recommend this to anyone. Nice clean cozy rooms and a delicious breakfast! Lots of fun things to do in the area from shops and hiking at Pikes Peak. A great place to stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Great place at Stauer House B & B (McGregor, Iowa)

4.8 reviewed on November 09, 2016

Breakfast was delicious. The atmosphere is casual and friendly. The bedding smelled fresh and clean.

View more reviews for this inn


Good overall value at Lamp Post Inn and Gallery (McGregor, Iowa)

2.8 reviewed on November 06, 2016

Overall, this was a nice place to stay for the night. Their entrance could use a little cleaning along with the desk inside. The room was clean and comfortable. Our breakfast food was delicious, but they were not prepared for use when we came downstairs and it felt awkward at times as the lady in charge had to run out and get more juice.

View more reviews for this inn


Very welcoming and beautiful decoration at Lamp Post Inn and Gallery (McGregor, Iowa)

4.2 reviewed on November 01, 2016

Staff was very friendly and addressed all our needs. Food was delicious !

View more reviews for this inn


Nice but needs a little more experience at Lamp Post Inn and Gallery (McGregor, Iowa)

3.2 reviewed on October 31, 2016

Rooms were clean and a great location. Bath tub needed some work but they did tells us about it and are working to fix it. Only negative was breakfast was an hour later than we requested and nothing special. Tasted fine though. I always expect a little something different than basic recipes at a Band B. They are new innkeepers and very nice, they just need a little more experience in organization.

View more reviews for this inn


Great River Road fall color trip at Stauer House B & B (McGregor, Iowa)

5 reviewed on October 28, 2016

Fortunate enough that Donna still had the Maids Quarters available for Thursday evening. Room was just right for us, ample space, comfortable bed, private bath. Donna is a very energetic, gracious hostess, wearing more than one hat. Welcome to roam the halls, fireplace in the den, sitting area with a piano, great memorabilia, history of the house, many photographs, decorated for the season. Great breakfast quiche, fruit, muffins, bacon and sausage. Would be good location for a family get together. In between our home in Minnesota and my siblings near Quad Cities. Be sure to visit the Eagles Landing Winery in Marquette, eat Peruvian Mexican in downtown McGregor and venture across the river for dinner at Jones Black Angus Steakhouse in Prairie du Chien. And the must stop - Pikes Peak just up the hill from Donna's Stauer House. Great value, cost comparable to area motels, plus breakfast for two! Glad we stayed with Donna at the Stauer House. Herb & Eva Plymouth MN

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay! at Lamp Post Inn and Gallery (McGregor, Iowa)

5 reviewed on October 24, 2016

Had a wonderful stay! Patrice and family are very nice and will see that you are well taken care of and happy! They make you feel at home and comfortable! Thank you so much! The breakfasts are wonderful also! Cal and Linda thank you!

View more reviews for this inn


Everything we hoped for in a B&B at Stauer House B & B (McGregor, Iowa)

4.0 reviewed on October 04, 2016

Donna and Rob were warm, friendly and made us feel right at home. Donna prepared the most delious breakfast and we enjoyed our visit with her about the history of the B&B. We highly recommend staying at the Stauer House B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


A Perfect stay at Stauer House B & B (McGregor, Iowa)

4.2 reviewed on September 18, 2016

We enjoyed our stay very much and Highlight recommend Stauer House!

View more reviews for this inn


Excllent Stay at Lamp Post Inn and Gallery (McGregor, Iowa)

4.6 reviewed on August 29, 2016

We stayed here over the 4th of July while we were visiting family nearby and it was so great! The owner and her staff were very friendly, the rooms were clean and large, and the food was delicious! We mentioned they may want darker curtains in rooms (we have a baby and the sunrise woke her up very early) and they were very receptive to the feedback! We plan to stay again!

View more reviews for this inn


Loved staying here at Lamp Post Inn and Gallery (McGregor, Iowa)

4.8 reviewed on August 16, 2016

Our family stayed two nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms are large, clean and well decorated. The staff attended to our every need. We felt very comfortable lounging in the living room, reading and playing chess. While the outside of the inn needs some touching up, the interior is in great shape. The food was excellent, too.

View more reviews for this inn


Loved my stay at Stauer House B & B (McGregor, Iowa)

5 reviewed on August 14, 2016

My girlfriend and i stayed for her birthday. The house has the antique fibe that she loves and has been wonderfully restored. Will definitely stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


a get away weekend at Stauer House B & B (McGregor, Iowa)

5 reviewed on July 27, 2016

My wife and I were looking for a getaway weekend and choose McGregor and got a room for two nights at the Stauer House B & B. We had never been there before and took a chance. We were entirely satisfied with our stay- meals, room, etc. The history of the house was interesting and we are interested in older house. The house is on the main drag thru McGregor and I enjoyed just spending time sitting on the porch in the early morning and in the evening watching the world go by. The hostess was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We visited McGregor, Marquette, and Prairie du Chen during our visit. We would definitely like to take another weekend and stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Felt right at home at Lamp Post Inn and Gallery (McGregor, Iowa)

4.4 reviewed on March 16, 2016

The new owner Patty is friendly and gracious, the beds were comfortable, the breakfast was outstanding we felt like right at home. We love craftsman homes and the short walk to shopping makes this a great place to stay. I would recommend staying here and intend to soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Highly Recommended at Stauer House B & B (McGregor, Iowa)

4.0 reviewed on January 31, 2016

The Stauer House was a wonderful place to stay. We were there for two nights and enjoyed our time there. Donna was a wonderful host and would recommend to anyone to stay! I would have given all 5 stars, but for some reason the website would not let me select the 5th star on each of the categories.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Stauer House B & B (McGregor, Iowa)

4.8 reviewed on October 28, 2015

Stauer House was wonderful. Fine location in a beautiful town,

View more reviews for this inn


Quality experience at Stauer House B & B (McGregor, Iowa)

5 reviewed on October 07, 2015

Beautiful home. Owners so friendly. Scrapbook of their progress in restoring this historic home is interesting. Delicious food and nice bedroom with own bath.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful experience ! at Stauer House B & B (McGregor, Iowa)

5 reviewed on October 04, 2015

A beautiful and chrming home like atmosphere, tranquil and relaxing. The breakfast was superb and Donna very welcoming and engaging. We will be staying here again the next time we visit McGregor! Located close to the Mississippi River and the beautiful overlooks and attractions.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect! at Stauer House B & B (McGregor, Iowa)

5 reviewed on August 23, 2015

Our stay was fantastic. The owners were a delight. The food was super!

View more reviews for this inn


Every comfort of home at Stauer House B & B (McGregor, Iowa)

4.6 reviewed on December 17, 2014

This was the nicest stay I've had at a bed & breakfast. We had privacy yet felt well cared for. Loads of homey touches, and the off-Main Street parking is easy and convenient. Would definitely go back.

View more reviews for this inn


very nice, great people at Stauer House B & B (McGregor, Iowa)

4.8 reviewed on November 09, 2014

Nice folks, the work out took to make that house liveable again is amazing

View more reviews for this inn


Very pleasant and enjoyable! at Stauer House B & B (McGregor, Iowa)

5 reviewed on October 27, 2014

We stayed for one night in "The Maid's Quarters" which had it's own bathroom, unlike some of the other rooms here. This beautiful Victorian house, with an interesting history, has been beautifully restored by the owners. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was delicious with an abundant choice of healthy and/or filling foods! We enjoyed the location too, close to Prairie du Chien and Pikes Peak State Park (Donna recommended the view and it was spectacular). We would recommend staying here. Note: There are no room keys, nor room locks.

View more reviews for this inn


A great stay! at Lamp Post Inn and Gallery (McGregor, Iowa)

4.2 reviewed on October 14, 2014

Had a wonderful time at this b&b. Ramona and Dorrance took great care of us!

View more reviews for this inn


Stayed in the Stauer room. Great Place to stay! at Stauer House B & B (McGregor, Iowa)

4.4 reviewed on October 06, 2014

Stayed in the Stauer room. We will return to the Stauer House.

View more reviews for this inn


Rustic B & B at Stauer House B & B (McGregor, Iowa)

3.4 reviewed on September 29, 2014

Great friendly, homey place to stay. Location was close to many attractions and restaurants. Easy place to stay. Bedroom was comfortable, but a little rough on the edges. Worn carpets and floors, and needs paint. We enjoyed our stay.

View more reviews for this inn


a lovely stay at Stauer House B & B (McGregor, Iowa)

5 reviewed on September 20, 2014

Donna very nice . Food was great!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely stay in an old house at Stauer House B & B (McGregor, Iowa)

5 reviewed on August 17, 2014

The Stauer House is a pretty old house with a lot of charm. It has been nicely redone. The owner is very friendly. The breakfast is truly outstanding!

View more reviews for this inn


Get Away at Stauer House B & B (McGregor, Iowa)

5 reviewed on August 17, 2014

Staurer House was in the middle of the areas we were going to be visiting. Pikes Peak State Park, Effigy Mounds Park, Mississippi Explorer Wildlife Cruise...just beautiful scenery wherever we went. Staurer House was a beautifully renovated old home. The bedrooms were nicely decorated. Donna fixed a breakfast which was way more than we expected: French toast, egg dish, sausage, coffee cake, fruit and coffee. We were the only ones staying there the night we arrived so it was just us for breakfast. Everything was delicious. Donna was able to sit and eat with us and filled us in on the history of Stauer House. We would definitely stay there again!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay! at Stauer House B & B (McGregor, Iowa)

5 reviewed on August 13, 2014

We have stayed at the Stauer house B&B several times, and it is always a great experience. The rooms are very nice, and the breakfast is awesome!! Donna is an amazing host, always friendly and attentive. The house is beautiful. A great experience all around and highly recommended.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent B & B at Stauer House B & B (McGregor, Iowa)

5 reviewed on August 06, 2014

This is a delightful, quiet, comfortable place to stay. The furnishings are interesting, as are the accessories and history-related items. Breakfast was outstanding, with excellent and plentiful food, a beautiful setting, and lively conversation with other guests. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast in McGregor.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Stauer House B & B (4.63)
  2. Lamp Post Inn and Gallery (4.51)
Top
}