Recent Reviews in McCloud, California

Great experience at McCloud River Inn (McCloud, California)

4.2 reviewed on September 22, 2017

we stayed one night for visiting Mt Shasta and Crater lake. Not only the town, the hotel was so impressive as it was classic style, traditional and moreover the room was very clean. Large bathtub made us very relaxing too :) want to come back again

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy and delightful at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.4 reviewed on September 06, 2017

I love staying at the Mercantile Inn, a beautiful cozy place to stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful place, beautiful people... at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on September 04, 2017

Darlene, Kevin and their staff make this the best ever place to stay in the Mount Shasta area. Wish we could come more often!

View more reviews for this inn


Loved This Place! at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on August 27, 2017

My husband and I fell in love with the charm of The McCloud River Mercantile Inn. We stayed in the Minnesota Room and it was beautiful! We ate breakfast and lunch at the cafe and loved it! Unfortunately the restaurant/bar was closed but we got a chance to peek in the window and it looks fabulous. We will be back for sure!

View more reviews for this inn


wonderful place to stay at McCloud River Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on August 06, 2017

very nice and clean room with a welcome fresh bake chocolate cookies at check in and a delicious, warm cinnanbon morning bread with fresh fruits bowl.

View more reviews for this inn


Very good for the money at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.4 reviewed on August 02, 2017

A lot of nicer hotels in this general area were through the roof expensive. This place was reasonable by comparison, but after staying there and seeing what you get I would say it's a great deal. You get $20 of your breakfast at the local cafe comped too. Very nice for the price. Just book well in advance, more than 6 months I'd say, because it fills up fast in the summer.

View more reviews for this inn


A Beautiful B&B at McCloud River Inn (McCloud, California)

4.4 reviewed on July 26, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed our stay here. There are only four or so rooms so it's a small but quaint B&B. We wished we had walked down to the corner restaurant for breakfast to get a better feel for the town and town's people.

View more reviews for this inn


Charm away from the noise at McCloud River Inn (McCloud, California)

4.8 reviewed on July 23, 2017

We loved our stay at the McCloud River Inn. There were so many nice touches, and the laid back attitude of the town of McCloud was reflected in the easy living that McCloud River Inn offered. The breakfasts were outstanding, and the conversation with fellow travelers was superb. We'll definitely return.

View more reviews for this inn


McCloud Stay at McCloud River Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on July 22, 2017

Friendly, helpful staff. Rooms are clean and well appointed. Breakfasts were delicious. A great place to stay!

View more reviews for this inn


The Best! at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on June 30, 2017

This was our favorite B&B that we stayed at on our 7 day road trip. We loved the buidling and our room so much and the owner was so amazingly nice. We would go back here in a heartbeat.

View more reviews for this inn


The best place to stay in McCloud at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on June 21, 2017

I have nothing but wonderful things to say about this inn! Checking in was a breeze. The room itself was wonderful, decorated beautifully, had the A.C. running which was good because it was a hot day out. The claw foot tub in the room was amazing. The double headed shower in the bathroom was great. I can't say enough wonderful things about this room and about the mercantile hotel in general. They have two dining options available for breakfast, the Kyody Cafe for more of a coffee special and some breakfast items like waffles and breakfast burritos, or the White Mountain Cafe for a real sit down diner feel. I had the most amazing omelette from the White Mountain Cafe on the second morning. After checking out and heading to Lake Siskiyou, we realized we left a bag in our room. We went back to the front desk and they were so helpful, the person cleaning the room was so nice, located our bag and returned it right away. We ended up staying at another inn for the last night of our trip, just to experience what McCloud had to offer, hands down this inn was way better. Next time I come to McCloud I will no doubt be staying at the McCloud River Mercantile Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful and charming at McCloud River Inn (McCloud, California)

3.6 reviewed on April 27, 2017

We stayed in the off season. It was quiet and peaceful. The staff was so accommodating. Loved the water - pure and delicious. Wish I had chosen a room with a bathtub - so I could have bathed in it. Took the package with a massage included. OMG - best massage of my life!!

View more reviews for this inn


A repeat of an idyllic experience at McCloud River Inn (McCloud, California)

4.6 reviewed on April 03, 2017

My GF and I stayed in the same room we shared a year prior. Still beautiful, still peaceful. People are warm, food/coffee is good. McCloud is paradise in the alpine hills (shh - it's still a secret). The building is old and spacious. The dorm-style shower head could use a little work. Expect a journey back in time.

View more reviews for this inn


Traveled Europe, Asia...McCloud Hotel at the TOP! at McCloud Hotel (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on April 03, 2017

This hotel, built in the 1900's greets you with the smell of pine upon entering. Then the welcome by the staff, and you are in for the most peaceful, nurturing adventure of a lifetime. It has become our home away from home. The food in the Sage Restaurant is prepared with the freshest ingredients and a lovely variety. So surprised at the reasonable prices. Breakfast is included in your stay...some of our favorites are lemon ricotta pancakes, cheesy polenta, fluffy eggs.

View more reviews for this inn


Mercantile Inn - family of four at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

3.6 reviewed on March 10, 2017

Great hotel - large and beautiful room - clean and tasteful common areas. Very atmospheric hotel. Lovely and helpful owners

View more reviews for this inn


winter stay 2017 at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.2 reviewed on March 01, 2017

We had a great stay. The staff was very polite and helpful. The rooms are rustic and comfortable. For our stay a full breakfast was included. The atmosphere of this old building was very enjoyable. The commen room upstairs offers room for gathering next to the fire place and playing games. Coffee, tea are available for your morning. It is winter and some of the local eateries were closed for the season. Thus having limited dinning for dinner. We did enjoy a nice dinner at facility there in town. If you have the time spend a couple days and enjoy the shops and the beautiful scenery. You will not regret it! Thank you for a great stay

View more reviews for this inn


I Highly Recommend this B&B. at McCloud River Inn (McCloud, California)

4.6 reviewed on February 26, 2017

Very accommodating staff and wonderful place to stay. Great value package deals too.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful stay at McCloud River Mercantile Inn at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.8 reviewed on February 14, 2017

The Innkeeper went out of her way to make my stay pleasant. My room was very large, quaint, yet updated and comfortable (including the bed!). She was a wealth of information about local history and interesting sites to visit. I highly recommend this Inn. It would be particularly lovely for a romantic getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Stay at McCloud River Mercantile Inn at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on October 31, 2016

My husband, Sean, and I stopped by just for one night to stay at the Inn. It was wonderful! The ladies in the shop downstairs were so friendly and helpful, and the place is absolutely beautiful. I wanted to move in! Breakfast in the diner downstairs was delicious and very accommodating to my gluten-free needs. The bookstore was closed, unfortunately, but we definitely plan to be back for another round!

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint Room, Quite Lovely at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.6 reviewed on October 14, 2016

My fiancee and I were pleased when we opened up the door to the Friday George Room. Every detail about that little room was well thought out. It was comfortable and cozy--just what we needed after our long hike on Mt. Shasta. All of the furnishings were of high quality and character. Although the claw-foot tub was smaller, I was still very impressed with how unique the room was in its entirety. The $20 toward breakfast at the restaurant beneath the Inn was a pleasant surprise as the meal was quite delicious. This was definitely our favorite hotel room of all on our week-long CA trip. Thanks again Mathis Family for our lovely stay at the Mercantile Inn!

View more reviews for this inn


McCloud River Mercantile Inn at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.4 reviewed on October 07, 2016

We showed up a day early because of the weather but they were happy to change our reservations at the last minute. The hotel was super clean and interesting. The staff beyond helpful.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Weekend Retreat at McCloud River Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on September 29, 2016

My wife and I traveled up to McCloud to enjoy some peace and quiet without our kids for our 5th wedding anniversary. We booked the Waterfall Room. A very cool, cozy room with a HUGE jet tub for two. We booked the romance package which included chocolates and a big bottle of champagne. There was a problem with the jet tub the day before we arrived, but they were able to get it fixed before we arrived for the weekend. They even discounted our room rate. The breakfast is very tasty. You get plenty of food. You do eat breakfast at a family table in the dining room with the other guests that are there for their stay. We got very good service and I would recommend anyone wanting to get away for 2-3 days to stay here. We happened to be in town during the BlueGrass Festival which was also a fun event to attend. There's plenty of nice shops, hiking, fishing and things to do in McCloud. It is such a pretty town, really a breath of fresh air. We will definitely be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint and lovely old hotel suited us perfectly at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

3.8 reviewed on September 12, 2016

The lovely McCloud Mercantile Hotel suited us perfectly. Quaint building, homey, old fashioned room with stupendous views of Mt. Shasta just out the window, and a kitchen/gathering/common room as well.What more could you want? Oh, maybe breakfast…your room comes with breakfast, provided in the on-site restaurant where my husband at the best veggie omelet he's ever had. And McCloud is only a very short drive off Hwy 5. We'll be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Place at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.8 reviewed on September 09, 2016

The place is a wonderful gem. Everything has been designed with so much love. We shall definitely return.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful and comfortable at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on September 03, 2016

This is the second time we have stayed here, and highly recommend it to all. The rooms are very large and comfortably furnished and impeccably detailed with period perfect treatments. We have marveled on the detailed craftsmanship of the tile, woodwork, lighting and all details. Real Craftsmanship. This time we were wonderfully surprised with a glorious view of Mt. Shasta from our room. What a wonderful sight to wake up to. Very best, gracious service and charming town. We highly recommend it and will stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Felt like a member of the family at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.6 reviewed on August 28, 2016

John Lodi

View more reviews for this inn


overnight in a quiet town at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.2 reviewed on August 25, 2016

friendly, quiet little town with historic buildings

View more reviews for this inn


Rustic Treasure Hiding in an Enchanted Forest at McCloud Hotel (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on August 24, 2016

I generally do not write reviews of the various lodgings that I have visited during my travels. If I enjoyed my stay, I may make it a point to return. If not, I find other accommodations the next time around. However, for the McCloud Hotel, I must make an exception; for this lovely Hotel is a “must stay” for anyone visiting the Mt. Shasta area. Returning home to the San Francisco Bay Area via the “Oregon Trail” from a vacation in the Grand Tetons, my wife and I stopped the quant little town nestled within a forest primeval, virtually in the shadow of Mt. Shasta towering in the background, which can be seen to the north just up Main Street. We were charmed by the perfectly restored 1916 Hotel and its similarly charming proprietors, Cindy Rosmann and Gary Bostwick, who were most attentive, accommodating and abundantly knowledgeable of the local lore of the area. The gardens surrounding the country inn are lush, imaginatively and tastefully landscaped; just as comfortable in which to enjoy an afternoon sherry as is the warm intimacy of the wood paneled and bookcase lined lobby sitting room for the savoring of an after-dinner port in front of the tiled fireplace, perhaps while listing to another guest playing on the upright piano in the corner next to the impressive grand staircase. We occupied Suite 217, which is decorated in attractive arts & crafts style dominated by a fabulous two-person copper soaking tub in the spacious bedroom – very sensual and sexy; a perfect setting for some artistic boudoir photography! I found sitting on the wisteria covered open porch adjacent to the apartment in the stillness of the early morning was almost as relaxing as was resting in the luxurious 4-poster king bed during the preceding night. And the hearty and delicious breakfast in the Sage Restaurant located in the McCloud Hotel is really something about which to write home! In short, this place is a rustic treasure hiding away in an enchanted forest – highly recommended!

View more reviews for this inn


McCloud Hotel at McCloud Hotel (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on August 03, 2016

My husband and I had a quick get away to the Mt Shasta area and decided to try the McCloud Hotel with Bed and Breakfast.com. Our stay was wonderful! The staff is friendly and helpful, the atmosphere is quiet and relaxing. They have private patios to sit and relax or a great backyard area that is really pleasant. The Sage restaurant has wonderful food and you can eat outside if you choose. We left very early our second morning and the staff still gave us some snacks to go the night before. The sit down breakfast was delicious, I am sorry we could not stay to try something different the second morning. This is a must stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Old Style Hotel at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.8 reviewed on July 26, 2016

Beautiful Hotel! Every room has a fun name. Each room has it's own layout and view. Happy that the room was very clean and well taken care of. Very friendly and helpful staff. We loved the old style charm that each room has. Rooms do not have microwaves or mini fridges. But they do have a common area that has a little kitchen and sitting area. Reminded us of the olden days, but the rooms are well taken care of.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
check }