Recent Reviews in McCloud, California

Lovely Stay at McCloud River Mercantile Inn at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on October 31, 2016

My husband, Sean, and I stopped by just for one night to stay at the Inn. It was wonderful! The ladies in the shop downstairs were so friendly and helpful, and the place is absolutely beautiful. I wanted to move in! Breakfast in the diner downstairs was delicious and very accommodating to my gluten-free needs. The bookstore was closed, unfortunately, but we definitely plan to be back for another round!

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint Room, Quite Lovely at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.6 reviewed on October 14, 2016

My fiancee and I were pleased when we opened up the door to the Friday George Room. Every detail about that little room was well thought out. It was comfortable and cozy--just what we needed after our long hike on Mt. Shasta. All of the furnishings were of high quality and character. Although the claw-foot tub was smaller, I was still very impressed with how unique the room was in its entirety. The $20 toward breakfast at the restaurant beneath the Inn was a pleasant surprise as the meal was quite delicious. This was definitely our favorite hotel room of all on our week-long CA trip. Thanks again Mathis Family for our lovely stay at the Mercantile Inn!

View more reviews for this inn


McCloud River Mercantile Inn at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.4 reviewed on October 07, 2016

We showed up a day early because of the weather but they were happy to change our reservations at the last minute. The hotel was super clean and interesting. The staff beyond helpful.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Weekend Retreat at McCloud River Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on September 29, 2016

My wife and I traveled up to McCloud to enjoy some peace and quiet without our kids for our 5th wedding anniversary. We booked the Waterfall Room. A very cool, cozy room with a HUGE jet tub for two. We booked the romance package which included chocolates and a big bottle of champagne. There was a problem with the jet tub the day before we arrived, but they were able to get it fixed before we arrived for the weekend. They even discounted our room rate. The breakfast is very tasty. You get plenty of food. You do eat breakfast at a family table in the dining room with the other guests that are there for their stay. We got very good service and I would recommend anyone wanting to get away for 2-3 days to stay here. We happened to be in town during the BlueGrass Festival which was also a fun event to attend. There's plenty of nice shops, hiking, fishing and things to do in McCloud. It is such a pretty town, really a breath of fresh air. We will definitely be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint and lovely old hotel suited us perfectly at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

3.8 reviewed on September 12, 2016

The lovely McCloud Mercantile Hotel suited us perfectly. Quaint building, homey, old fashioned room with stupendous views of Mt. Shasta just out the window, and a kitchen/gathering/common room as well.What more could you want? Oh, maybe breakfast…your room comes with breakfast, provided in the on-site restaurant where my husband at the best veggie omelet he's ever had. And McCloud is only a very short drive off Hwy 5. We'll be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Place at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.8 reviewed on September 09, 2016

The place is a wonderful gem. Everything has been designed with so much love. We shall definitely return.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful and comfortable at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on September 03, 2016

This is the second time we have stayed here, and highly recommend it to all. The rooms are very large and comfortably furnished and impeccably detailed with period perfect treatments. We have marveled on the detailed craftsmanship of the tile, woodwork, lighting and all details. Real Craftsmanship. This time we were wonderfully surprised with a glorious view of Mt. Shasta from our room. What a wonderful sight to wake up to. Very best, gracious service and charming town. We highly recommend it and will stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Felt like a member of the family at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.6 reviewed on August 28, 2016

John Lodi

View more reviews for this inn


overnight in a quiet town at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.2 reviewed on August 25, 2016

friendly, quiet little town with historic buildings

View more reviews for this inn


Rustic Treasure Hiding in an Enchanted Forest at McCloud Hotel (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on August 24, 2016

I generally do not write reviews of the various lodgings that I have visited during my travels. If I enjoyed my stay, I may make it a point to return. If not, I find other accommodations the next time around. However, for the McCloud Hotel, I must make an exception; for this lovely Hotel is a “must stay” for anyone visiting the Mt. Shasta area. Returning home to the San Francisco Bay Area via the “Oregon Trail” from a vacation in the Grand Tetons, my wife and I stopped the quant little town nestled within a forest primeval, virtually in the shadow of Mt. Shasta towering in the background, which can be seen to the north just up Main Street. We were charmed by the perfectly restored 1916 Hotel and its similarly charming proprietors, Cindy Rosmann and Gary Bostwick, who were most attentive, accommodating and abundantly knowledgeable of the local lore of the area. The gardens surrounding the country inn are lush, imaginatively and tastefully landscaped; just as comfortable in which to enjoy an afternoon sherry as is the warm intimacy of the wood paneled and bookcase lined lobby sitting room for the savoring of an after-dinner port in front of the tiled fireplace, perhaps while listing to another guest playing on the upright piano in the corner next to the impressive grand staircase. We occupied Suite 217, which is decorated in attractive arts & crafts style dominated by a fabulous two-person copper soaking tub in the spacious bedroom – very sensual and sexy; a perfect setting for some artistic boudoir photography! I found sitting on the wisteria covered open porch adjacent to the apartment in the stillness of the early morning was almost as relaxing as was resting in the luxurious 4-poster king bed during the preceding night. And the hearty and delicious breakfast in the Sage Restaurant located in the McCloud Hotel is really something about which to write home! In short, this place is a rustic treasure hiding away in an enchanted forest – highly recommended!

View more reviews for this inn


McCloud Hotel at McCloud Hotel (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on August 03, 2016

My husband and I had a quick get away to the Mt Shasta area and decided to try the McCloud Hotel with Bed and Breakfast.com. Our stay was wonderful! The staff is friendly and helpful, the atmosphere is quiet and relaxing. They have private patios to sit and relax or a great backyard area that is really pleasant. The Sage restaurant has wonderful food and you can eat outside if you choose. We left very early our second morning and the staff still gave us some snacks to go the night before. The sit down breakfast was delicious, I am sorry we could not stay to try something different the second morning. This is a must stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Old Style Hotel at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.8 reviewed on July 26, 2016

Beautiful Hotel! Every room has a fun name. Each room has it's own layout and view. Happy that the room was very clean and well taken care of. Very friendly and helpful staff. We loved the old style charm that each room has. Rooms do not have microwaves or mini fridges. But they do have a common area that has a little kitchen and sitting area. Reminded us of the olden days, but the rooms are well taken care of.

View more reviews for this inn


exceeded my expectatations at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on July 25, 2016

everyone was very nice and helpful, beds were comfortable and the food was good

View more reviews for this inn


Great sleep in a sleepy town at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.2 reviewed on July 07, 2016

Very quiet, very small old logging town dominated by beautiful Mount Shasta in the back yard. The hotel is ancient but well restored. Twenty dollar daily credit for breakfast at adjoining cafe that serves excellent fare. Short drive to beautiful easy hiking up river with three waterfalls. We'll be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Getaway at McCloud River Inn (McCloud, California)

4.0 reviewed on June 20, 2016

Very nice B & B with access to many great hikes.

View more reviews for this inn


GIlmore Girl Get Away at McCloud River Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on June 20, 2016

My mom and I went to a wedding and stayed at the McCloud Inn. We had a great time, we called it our Gilmore Girl get away. It was calm and relaxing!

View more reviews for this inn


Truly quaint place to stay at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

3.6 reviewed on June 17, 2016

A vary well appointed place to stay with comfortable rooms and a unique atmosphere that exceeds the norm. In my view far preferable to the average hotel if you are staying in the Shasta area. The small-town environment does not provide a lot of opportunities for entertainment but you are very close to whatever you are looking for in the Shasta area. I would definitely stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


On the Way to Reno at McCloud River Inn (McCloud, California)

4.0 reviewed on June 11, 2016

A lovely overnight stay on my way to Reno. Service and helpfulness of the staff was excellent. Clean and tidy, loved the bedding. The breakfast was excellent and delicious. The town was fun to explore in the morning before I hit the road. (couldn't get the "Outstanding" buttons to work in the review process)

View more reviews for this inn


A very special place with beautiful rooms. at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.8 reviewed on May 23, 2016

The mercantile is a very cozy place even though is pretty big. The rooms all have their own personality and each one is very beautiful and confortable. The staff is super fiendly and you feel you are among family when you are there. The dinner downstairs have great food and again service is excellent. I will be coming back.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Place! at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.2 reviewed on May 02, 2016

Stayed two nights at this wonderful establishment. A true journey to days gone by! Located on the upper floor of the historic McCloud River Mercantile, the rooms are beautifully and imaginatively decorated. There is a beautiful parlor area for guests to use on the upper floor, as well, and the shops below are great fun to shop in. They offer a $20 credit for breakfast at the adjacent cafe. The food was very good, well prepared, and we enjoyed the community feeling that existed between the patrons and the proprietor. Just a wonderful, fun experience. We will visit again!

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome! at McCloud River Inn (McCloud, California)

4.0 reviewed on April 14, 2016

Enjoyed my stay! Well decorated and comfortable feel! This will be our first choice for accommodations when in McCloud!

View more reviews for this inn


Thoroughly enjoyed our stay! at McCloud River Inn (McCloud, California)

3.6 reviewed on April 13, 2016

Stayed here for our Anniversary and arrived to fresh baked cookies. Had full run of te place and encouraged to make ourselves at home, which kept it very relaxed. Beautiful rooms with very friendly and accommodating staff! We will definitely be returning to the McCloud B&B! Thank you

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful & Clean!!! at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on April 06, 2016

We stayed in the Rail Road room which was decorated so nice, we loved it! I'm very picky about cleanliness and I had no worries about this hotel . You will love the soap and shampoo, they smelled so good and they weren't the cheap usual hotel soap. I went into the shop when we checked out and I bought the shampoo . They give you a $20 credit for the cafe below which was so nice and the food was great and everyone is so nice at the hotel and the cafe. I will defiantly go back and stay longer .

View more reviews for this inn


Nice at McCloud River Inn (McCloud, California)

3.8 reviewed on April 04, 2016

We enjoyed our stay at the McCloud River Inn. It met all of our expectations, was very nice. The McCloud River Inn does not have "Onsite Dining" in the sense of dinner, but it does have breakfast. Staff and owner were very hospitable, and I would recommend McCloud River Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


A relaxing evening away at McCloud River Inn (McCloud, California)

3.4 reviewed on March 31, 2016

Loved, the Inn. The room was cute, comfortable, and had everything we needed for a nice relaxing evening away from work. We had dinner at the local McCloud Hotel and it was absolutely delightful. We stayed in the "Waterfall" room with the spa tub. While it was a nice large soaking tub, the jets did not work.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely place to stay in McCloud. at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

3.2 reviewed on March 23, 2016

The room was beautiful. We stayed in the Founders Room. It has a old claw bathtub and we took at hot bath with the bath salts and soup we got in the add on package. It was romantic and quiet. The bed was very soft and we had a wonderful night sleep. The only downer is there is no food at the hotel so we had to make other arrangements for meals and dinner. We recommend staying there for any couple who wants a little romantic get a way.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic host at McCloud River Inn (McCloud, California)

4.8 reviewed on March 17, 2016

We had a lovely stay while skiing Mt Shasta. The breakfast was a gourmet treat and the afternoon cookies and cake delicious!

View more reviews for this inn


McCloud romantic getaway at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

5 reviewed on February 22, 2016

This is one of my favorite hotels in the world. We had a wonderful experience! Kevin, our host, was kind and helpful. The details are all so perfect - I highly recommend this beautiful inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint Rooms at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.8 reviewed on January 21, 2016

We loved the gas fireplace in our room!

View more reviews for this inn


My favorite bed and breakfast at McCloud River Mercantile Inn (McCloud, California)

4.6 reviewed on January 15, 2016

The McCloud Mercantile is a haven nestled within the small historic district of McCloud. The rooms are each accented with their own charm and the space as a whole is filled with this magical quality that you hope for in your favorite Inn, but don't often find. Innkeepers Kevin and Darlene are wonderful hosts who take such good care of their guests. I can't recommend the McCloud Mercantile enough!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}