The Bursley Manor Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Onsite Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
26 Reviews

Write A Review

Fantastic stay

4.6 on October 05, 2016

We stayed for a night only, it was a beautiful stay. The Wickered room was big and has a beautiful bathroom. will visit again!


5 on September 21, 2016

LOVE this place!! Ideal location, Wonderful home-style atmosphere, Quiet. Sheila was so friendly and Minnie was a bonus because I am an extreme dog lover. Highly recommend this place!

Great time at the Bursley

5 on August 21, 2016

We had a delightful 3 days at the Bursley, enjoying the amazing Bursley family home built in 1670 and thoughtfully updated to balance the long history and guest comfort. Our hosts were very helpful in pointing out local spots (restaurants, beaches, scenic roads etc.) and put together a fine breakfast. The Bursley family is buried at a cemetery very nearby, so it's worth a short walk or shorter drive to see the family monument. in the midst of 300 years of grave sites.

Great experieince

5 on August 14, 2016

We were absolutely delighted with our stay at the Manor. What a treat to stay in a house built in 1670! It has been redone very thoughtfully to balance comfort with history. Our hosts were a treasure of history, hints and guidance about the Cape. It's location is perfect, near a road less traveled and excellent evening dining in addition to a very nice breakfast. Leaving was like saying good by to family.

Cape Cod Vavation

5 on August 07, 2016

Sheila was a graceous host. We really enjoyed our stay in Barnstable.

Best Bed and Breakfast on the Cape

4.4 on July 18, 2016

My husband and I stayed one night but wished it could have been longer. We will definitely be returning. We stayed in the Laura room. It was very clean and the bed was wonderfully comfortable. Sheila and Francis were gracious and warm. I felt like I was staying with family. The breakfast was outstanding, I had a wonderful relaxing time and cant wait to go back. Thank you Sheila and Francis!

East Trip

5 on September 26, 2015

This was a delightful bed and breakfast built in 1670. The wine and breakfasts shared with Shelia and Ralph were most enjoyable. As often the case with bed and breakfast establishments the porpreittors make it truly special.

Old World Charm

3.6 on September 23, 2015

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights with my parents on the Labor Day long weekend. Sheila was was a delightful host. She provided helpful advice and wonderful breakfasts. The property is beautifully maintained.

Beautiful place!

5 on August 25, 2015

La titolare è davvero gentile e il posto stupendo, camere pulite ed arredate con gusto. Consigliato!

Great place to stay

4.2 on August 21, 2015

Really well maintained house and excellent service. Bit pricey but worth it.

The Bursley was Wonderful

4.6 on October 21, 2014

Warm and inviting ... Gracious Hostess ... Amazing place to stay ... You will Love it here ... You will feel right at home with Sheila the Inn keeper ... The house is clean, comfortable, and has a wonderful energy to it ... The bed in the Rose Room was just right, perfect for sleeping ... The jetted tub was delightful as well ... And Breakfast was yummy ... You won't want to leave ...

lovely weekend away

4.8 on September 10, 2014

Beautiful old house -- lovely furnishings and CLEAN, gracious and friendly hostess, great location on 6A-- thank you Sheila!

Everything we could have asked for

4.4 on August 28, 2014

The rooms are very nice and clean. Jacuzzi tub was wonderful. Breakfast is very well done with many hot and cold options. Shelia is very helpful in recommending places in the area.

Bursley Manor- weekend getaway

4.6 on August 25, 2014

Beatiful place, great location and wonderful host! Perfect for a couple planning a weekend getaway or friends looking for a chill place. The rooms are clean and very pretty, Sheila is a very nice host and gave us recommendations of where to go in the Cape and even provided a map for us to use during our stay. The house itself is very cozy and charming, definitely recommend! :)

A Cape Cod gem

4.4 on August 23, 2014

The Bursley Manor was perfect choice for our three-day stay on Cape Cod. It was centrally located for a trip up to Provincetown and the north end beaches one day, off to Nantucket for another afternoon and a visit up to historic Plymouth on our way back to Boston for our trip home. Breakfast service was perfect and we met several other interesting guests at the large dining table; our innkeeper was completely informed on the local attractions (like seeing seals at the fish pier in Chatham). Gerry Lang, Judith Geher Toronto

Cape Cod's Bursley Manor

3.0 on July 28, 2014

Perfectly pleasant, centrally located. Lovely communal spaces and private rooms.

The perfect spot

5 on August 31, 2013

If you are looking for a warm cozy clean centrally located and affordably priced home away from home...look no further, you have found it! This 5 bedroom manor, each with their own bathroom ad fieplace, is beautifully decorated and restored to offer all the comforts of home. It is located mid cape and is close to all shopping, beaches, a church, liquor store, highways and restaurants. The inn keeper Sheila was a very gracious host and made us feel very comforable offering a very extensive and delicious breakfast menu. We were looking for a little getaway and this far exceeded our expectations! We will definitely go back.

Four wonderful nights at Bursley Manor

5 on August 26, 2012

We used our 4 nights to see the area, do some house hunting and exploring for good restaurants. Sheila and brother Bill (the resident Leprechaun) were great to be with and wonderful hosts to sit with as we had a few glasses of wine each evening. Other residents at the time were British and delightful to be with. Sheila is very proud of her Inn and goes out of her way to make sure guests are comfortable.

Loved this place in Nov 2002

5 on April 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in Nov 2002 and we loved it. After a long drive from Boston and seeing the beaches in Cape Cod, we found this place with no reservation. We plan on staying here again soon. The old business card we have shows Kathy Jones as the Innkeeper. Wonder if she is still around. From the Southeast

Innkeeper Response
Kathy has not been with the Inn since 2003. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Bursley Manor

5 on September 07, 2011

We have been going back and staying at the Bursley every year for the past several years. Even in the fall this place is wonderful. The Inn keeper is delightful and goes out of her way to make your stay enjoyable. The place is very clean and charming. Planning a family reunion and taking all the rooms this fall.

A great place to stay

4.4 on July 11, 2011

My wife and I had a wonderful time. We were in the Wicker Room, which is delightful. We'd definitely recommend it highly as a place to stay on the Cape.


4.8 on October 16, 2010

We had an excellent stay at Burlsey Manor. The owner's were very friendly and went out of the their way to make us feel at home. The breakfast was also wonderful. Our only complaint was that there was not quite enough hot water to fill up the whirlpool tub, one of our main reasons for picking this B&B.

Rick's Pick

5 on October 25, 2009

WoW, exceeded all of our expectations! From the warmth of the inn keeper, Shelia, who made us feel so welcomed and part of the family to the well decorated and tastfully appointed home. Shelia was a wealth of information regarding history of the manor and local. We were so taken Shelia's hospitality; the evening wine and cheese (and not your typical wine and cheese); and the bountyful breakfast!! We will always stay at the Bursley Manor on future visits to Cape Cod and hearlty recommend a stay to all of our friends.

Fantastic stay

4.4 on July 06, 2009

It was our first stay at a B and B and we will definitely be making a trip back. The owner's hospitality was fantastic. The breakfast was never-ending with great conversation. The accomodations were superb and the bed was heavenly -- We stayed in the Mad Jack Room. Thank you Sheila.

Bursley Manor

5 on July 27, 2008

My husband and I stayed in the "Mad Jack" room. The furnishings were beautiful and the room was tastefully decorated. We were given a tour of the Inn and had the pleasure of viewing the other rooms before the new guest arrived. We enjoyed a lazy breakfast of homemade waffles with fresh fruit and delicious coffee while reading the newspaper on the patio. Before dinner we had a glass of wine again outside on the brick patio with comfortable wicker furniture. This was one of the most relaxing weekends I have enjoyed in a long time. My thanks to Sheila and we will most definately be back! Kathy G.

A beautiful step back in time

4.4 on June 20, 2008

We stayed in the Mad Jack room, which was absolutely stunning. The jacuzzi tub was fantastic and the bed made for a most restful slumber after a long day playing mini-golf, heading to the beach and going to the movies. My husband and I left feeling pampered and rejuvenated. Highly recommended!!

The Bursley Manor


  • Nightly Rate $175 - $195
  • Reviews (26) 4.6
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5083627788
  • Fax 1-5083629955
  • Mobile 1-6179211280
  • Toll free 1-8773627788

Visit Website »

View details