Inn on the Sound Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Onsite Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
13 Reviews

Write A Review

Cozy Elegance with a Water View

4.4 on July 11, 2017

We stayed two nights in this beach-cozy, yet elegant B&B. It's just a short walk to the ferry to Martha's Vineyard. The innkeeper, Howard, was very friendly, accommodating and offered suggestions on what to do. There's a wonderful porch overlooking the sound, where we had breakfast one morning -- gorgeous! Breakfast was amazing - we could help ourselves to fresh fruit and a pastry, and the hot entree both days were gourmet egg-vegetable dishes. Delicious! We stayed in the lovely Fiddlers Cove room, which offers a sitting area, plus a small deck overseeing the water. We highly recommend Inn on the Sound!!


Paradise Found

5 on May 28, 2017

Our Room,the Chappaquoit Beach was delightful and bright with a great sea view. The theme of the house had a costal vibe with lots of attention to detail. Howard, the host was gracious and accomodating. He really made us feel at home and seemed to enjoy chatting it up with all his guests. Breakfasts were quite gourmet. Veggie frittata one day and salmon soufflé the next,along with,baked goods and coffee. There was always cold water and soft drinks and ice readily available. We totally enjoyed our stay and hope to return in the warmer months to come. Very peaceful and relaxing. Sonya & Jerzy


Anniversary Heaven on Earth

5 on April 19, 2017

My husband and I booked our anniversary stay 7 months in advance because we wanted a certain room. Unfortunately they did not have the 2017 calendar ready. Fortunately Howard the Innkeeper took our information for the 2017 booking and as time got closer, we were in contact to finalize the arrangements. Howard is the best! This is what a true Innkeeper is all about!! We arrived to the Inn on the Sound April 6th in a downpour. Howard helped my husband carry in our luggage and soon after was giving us the tour of the Inn. Breakfasts were DELICIOUS!! To start every morning there is homemade granola, fresh fruit, breakfast cake, yogart, coffee, tea and fresh orange juice. Then the hot breakfast is a feast to the eyes and palate. Howard and his great staff asked what our plans were for the day and gave us thoughts and ideas and were very attentive. Every guest was given a personal touch. Don't miss the opportunity to eat at La Cucina in downtown Falmouth on Main Street. We stayed in the Silver Harbor Point room which was intimate. We had a private balcony with breathtaking views of Martha's VIneyard. The Inn surprised us with roses, a gift basket and champagne for our anniversary. Location is everything and this B&B will fulfill every dream possible. We will definitely return!


This Falmouth Gem has Got It All!!!!

5 on May 25, 2013

In my opinion, (and we are fussy about where we sleep) THIS INN has got it all! Words cannot express how much we LOVED staying here. Folks, this is just about as close to home feeling as you can get. When you step in the front door and see the stone fireplace in the living room, the impeccable cleanliness and warm greeting staff, you know your in the right place. After helping us carry in our luggage, Howard showed us the guest refrigerator which was fully stocked with soft drinks & ice. He then opened the door to our room, THAT exceeded our expectations. Our room (Green Harbor Rm.)was large with a walk in closet, the king size bed was decorated beautifully with a thick plush comforter for warmth against the cool nights and a balcony for viewing the ocean and sipping wine. The beach was steps away....and they even supply the chairs & towels. The bathroom was immaculate and up to date. The whole place was done in contemporary style, while still retaining that beachy, Cape Cod feeling. The morning breakfast is not to be believed. In addition to a beautifully presented hot and cold buffet spread.....you are invited to try whatever gourmet dish they are serving. Baked French Toast w/ apples & a Spanish torte....absolutely fabulous!! This place is VERY romantic. Their attention to detail was unbelievable. We definitely will be back.


A Very Special B&B

5 on August 06, 2012

My husband and I recently returned from a 3-night stay at the Inn. We absolutely loved everything about our stay. We especially appreciated the attention to detail throughout the Inn as well as the delicious, beautifully presented breakfasts.


First stay in a Bed and Breakfast

5 on May 08, 2012

My husband and I had never been to Cape Cod or stayed in a bed and breakfast, so decided we wanted to do both. I found Inn on the Sound online and it was everything it proclaimed to be. It was in April, their quiet season, which is what we wanted. Jan met us when we arrived after sending us very helpful directions. She showed us around the very homey, comfortable surroundings and then to our room. We had chosen a room on the second floor which had a beautiful view of the ocean and Martha's Vineyard. There was a small balcony from which I sat out on our first morning there to watch the sun rise. Every detail is thought of by the owners. Jan went over a map of Cape Cod , recommending reataurants we were interested in. The food was delicious in each one she suggested. She also gave us helpful hints on using the ferry to go to Martha's Vineyard. It was very cold that weekend in April but sunny and we enjoyed our ride to the island even though many of the shops were still closed. It was very relaxing. The breakfasts that were provided at the inn were delicious, the main item made by Jan herself and delivered by her to your table. There was plenty of fresh fruit, granola, yogurts, and healthy types of muffins and tarts. The rest of the day , there was always coffee and tea available along with homemade biscotti that were so tasty. Her refrigerator was always full with water, juices and soda. She just thinks of everything. I wondered if it would be noisy at night, but did not find it that way at all. It was a very relaxing fun weekend. We will be anxious to return for another stay soon.


Home awam from home

4.6 on August 24, 2011

Jan and Howard are very hospitable. This was our first visit to Cape Cod, and Jan was super helpful in directing us where to go and what to do. The room was clean and cozy. They provide afternoon snacks and a common fridge stocked full of drinks. They have lengthy breakfast hours to accommodate early birds and late risers. The delicious breakfasts include fresh fruit, baked goods, and a hot entree. The location on Nantucket Sound can't be beat! They have a friendly resident cat and dog, adding to the comforts of home. Be sure to try the homemade biscotti.


Perfection

5 on November 11, 2010

We just returned from four days at this fabulous B&B. The experience was incredible. We were treated like royalty. The Inn on the Sound is worth every penny. Elegant, quiet, friendly hosts. In one word "Perfection". Don't miss this place.


Inn on the Sound

5 on November 06, 2010

I had family visiting from England, and we all went to this beautiful B&B. The service, location, rooms were amazing. I would highly recommend this B&B for exploring the Cape.


Wow what a find

5 on October 31, 2009

We were made so very welcome here by Janet and Harold. Our room had the most amazing views over Martha's Vinyard and was furnished beautifully. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the breakfast quite awesome.


Another Home away from Home!!

5 on August 11, 2009

After spending couple of wonderful nights in the area, we arrived our new home away from home. Janet and Howard made our stay extra special from wonderful travel tips to feeding us delicious gourmet breakfasts. My husband and I fell in love with the place. Top service, cleanliness and the care we received certainly made our stay extra special. We would love to be back in the future to reconnect with the beauty of the area and the people...Thank you Janet and Howard. You are doing a wonderful job. Love, From New Jersey.


Our Stay at Inn on the Sound

5 on June 14, 2008

We had the most wonderful stay at Inn on the Sound and not only were we made to feel very welcome by Harold and Janet but they could not have done anymore to make our stay any better. We loved the Inn and the breakfasts were amazing. I loved the fact that Janet gave me colour swatches of the paint in the rooms and went out of her way to help. The Inn on the Sound was just great and a must for any visitors.


A Wonderful Stay

4.0 on May 27, 2008

We were travelling around the Cape from the UK and so booked the Inn on The Sound online and we were not disappointed. The Inn was homely, beautifully decorated, very clean, we were made to feel very welcome and the breakfasts were amazing. Howard and Janet have created a little slice of heaven by the sea and could have done no more to make us feel at home. Janet even collated the colour swatches of the rooms for us to take home so we can create the look in the UK. That and providing a packed lunch for our travels to Cape Ann made the whole stay really special. The only downside was we wished we had stayed longer!


Inn on the Sound

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5084579666
  • Fax 1-5084579631

Visit Website »

View details

Top check