Hawthorne Inn Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service5.0
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
20 Reviews

Write A Review

A lovely experience

4.0 on October 10, 2016

Very friendly and helpful Inn Keepers

A lovely inn

5 on October 09, 2016

Mark and Toni were lovely hosts, as was their home. I highly recommend this B&B.

The Perfect Inn

5 on October 09, 2016

From the friendly welcome we received at the door, to our beautiful room and the home-made muffins at breakfast, every part of our stay was lovely.


5 on October 08, 2016

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of a short stay at the Hawthorne Inn. Mark and Toni were wonderful gracious hosts. Our room was beautiful and well prepared. The morning breakfast was tasty and delicious. Mark was very helpful to us in getting on the "T" to Boston (which was close by). We look forward to a future stay!

The best weekend getaway

4.4 on October 03, 2016

We had a such a great stay at Hawthorne Inn. Mark and Toni are wonderful hosts, most helpful and caring about their guests. Plus, they make the best breakfast! The Inn is located near beautiful Walden Pond, and Concord - a surprisingly lively town - is only a short walk away. We would recommend this place to anyone, and hope to return again.

A great Place to Stay.

5 on September 29, 2016

We stayed at the Inn or one night at the Emerson Room. The location of the inn is outstanding for walking historical tours. The room is beautifully appointed and the bed is very comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding with freshly squeezed orange juice. Mark and Toni are great hosts and we will definitely be staying there when we get back to the area.


5 on September 27, 2016

Mark and Toni were wonderful hosts! They went the extra mile for us. Our room accommodations were beautiful and the breakfast delicious. Our only regret is that we were there for only two nights. We are looking forward to returning!

Old world charm and modern care

4.8 on September 09, 2016

John and Sheila Fletcher Cumbria UK

Charming & Wonderful

5 on July 24, 2016

My team and I were visiting a client in Boston and could not find any hotel rooms. So we took over the Hawthorne Inn! It was the best decision ever. Each room was beautifully decorated; the beds are so comfortable; and the hosts extremely pleasant. We used the common rooms quite a bit so we could prepare for our meeting - it was comfortable like being in our own home.

Innkeeper Response
Hi, thanks for your wonderful review. You guys were great, thanks for choosing us. We hope you had a successful outcome to your meeting and hopefully we will see you soon.

A really special place to stay in historic Concord

5 on March 11, 2015

The Inn is in a perfect beautiful location nestled among the historic homes of Hawthorne and Alcott and minutes from Concord center. It is filled with paintings, sculptures and incredible art. The best pieces were created by Gregory. Breakfast at the Inn is delicious and provides guests with the chance to get to know Innkeepers Gregory and Marilyn- who are fantastic people! We have stayed there over many years on visits from California and it is always one of the very best parts of our trips!

Marilyn & Gregory

4.2 on January 25, 2012

These people are just plain great! The inn is pretty -- beds comfortable.


4.4 on July 17, 2010

Talk about great service!! Greg was so kind when we arrived. He brought us ice tea and a dessert bar. He also called to make reservations to a restaurant and a night walking tour. He took care of everything for us!! The room was charming!! My favorite was breakfast!! Greg and Marilyn make the best granola!! I need the recipe. I had to helpings!! Stay at the Hawthorne Inn if you want to be pampered and enjoy Concord, MA!! Oh by the way, it is across the street from The Wayside, Hawthorne's place!! I shall return!! David Hannigan is a great guide through The Wayside!!

A Zillion Times Better Than A Motel 6...And They LeaveThe Light On For You!

4.4 on July 30, 2009

We've become big fans of B & B's and stayed at several great ones. The Hawthorne Inn is certainly at the top of the list. After a grueling 7 1/2 hour trip (getting a later than expected start after a full workday), two major tie ups at construction sites and Friday night rush hour traffic in the NYC area, we arrived on Greg and Marilyn's doorstep...at 1:30am. Like a beacon in the night, the porch light was on to welcome and guide us to our destination! The next day, we boldly decided to try driving into Boston. Marilyn provided great directions and reassurances that it would be a piece of cake. It was. Peace, quiet and tranquility. It's all here-but just a short drive from all the action you could want in Boston. Our time at Hawthorne Inn was far too short but we will certainly be back!

Classic New England

5 on July 01, 2009

For our 30th Anniversary, my wife and I wanted to explore New England and visit the historic homes of our favorite authors. The Hawthorne Inn is nestled right in the heart of everything we wanted to see and do in the Concord / Lexington area. Our stay at the Hawthorne was the highlight of the trip. Greg & Marilyn are gracious and talented hosts - we look forward to visiting them again many times in the future.

The Hawthorne Inn

5 on June 15, 2009

Everything the other reviewers say is true. The Inn is gorgeous, clean, comfortable, and the breakfasts are ambrosial (though very fattening so leave your dieting at home!) But what makes the Inn unique is the incredible kindness of Marylin, Gregory, and their children. They show that kindness in obvious ways, like the time I came back from the Pond with my own towels and blanket damp and muddy and asked Marylin if I could rinse them out in the stationary tub and hang them up outside to dry, and she took them from me and just threw them in the washer. Or there was this past Easter weekend, which was terribly cold, and when I got back one evening (I don't drive and was walking all the way back from the Congregational Church) and Gregory and Marylin were out, I asked their son for some hot tea and he brought a beautifully arranged tea tray to my room. But my favorite memory of their kindness was on New Year's Eve in 2007. I came up from Christmas Day to New Year's Day to re-group after a very difficult personal time. Gregory and Marilyn were going out that night and I was sitting up in bed enjoying my book when I got a tap on my door. It was Marylin, already dressed in her party clothes (she looked gorgeous) bringing me a tray of Christmas cookies and a kitten for company. For these and many more reasons, I keep coming back. Audrey New York City


5 on June 15, 2009

It has been my greatest pleasure, and reward to have Marilyn & Gregory at the beautiful Hawthorne Inn, accommodate our roster of extraordinary international and national performing artists/musicians in these last two years, and we shall continue to do so. It is extremely important that when these talented people are touring, months at a time, and spending night after night in one strange place or another, that after sharing their splendid talents with us, what's truly needed, if only for a few hours, is a place for the night that one might even mistakenly call home. It's no mistake at all...the Hawthorne Inn and its innkeepers, are "Home" personified, and a truly beautiful one at that. - Dian Francesca Cuccinello, Producer Union Hall World Music & Dance Coffeehouse in Carlisle, MA.

This in is my mini-paradise!

4.4 on June 13, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary and it was a magical time. The room was old-fashioned yet so comfortable. The feeling was cozy, like you were in another time--a simpler, quieter time. Many of the historical sites are in walking distance. Hawthorne Inn: a true New England experience!

Everything you could hope for and better

5 on June 11, 2009

Having read about New England in Thoreau and Hawthorne I had always wanted to visit it and especially Concord. As I was travelling alone I wanted a welcoming place to stay. The Hawthorne Inn looked perfect on the website and turned out to be even better. It is a beautiful place in a gorgeous location run by great people. I have the best memories of the week I spend there.

You can't go wrong with this B&B

4.4 on June 10, 2009

The Hawthorne Inn couldn't have been a more perfect place to stay while visiting the Concord area. We spent a few days in Boston, and then rented a car to travel around the state. Concord is full of wonderful places to see if you're a revolutionary war buff, or literature lover. And at the Hawthorne Inn, you're right in the center of it all – right across the street from Hawthorne's and Alcott's homes. The rooms and food were excellent. I've been meaning to write a review ever since we left Concord. Gregory and Marilyn are everything you could want in a pair of Innkeepers – knowledgeable, friendly, helpful – but most importantly, you can tell they love what they do, and work hard to make sure you have a wonderful Concord experience. I still dream about the wonderful breakfasts we had there last fall. Our only regret is that we live in Minnesota, and therefore can't visit again any time soon.

Memorable visit

5 on September 05, 2007

Our stay at the Hawthorne Inn was one of the highlights of our recent vacation. Greg and Marilyn are fantastic hosts. The location couldn't be better and the inn is beautiful. We're looking forward to returning next year already.

Hawthorne Inn


  • Nightly Rate $169 - $329
  • Reviews (20) 4.8
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9783695610
  • Fax 1-9782874949
  • Mobile 1-9785056508

Visit Website »

View details