Recent Reviews in Magnolia, Texas

nicest place ever fabulous house at Red Caboose Farm Bed and Breakfast (Magnolia, Texas)

5 reviewed on May 22, 2016

so quiet and secluded get owner she was so nice in the woods with ponds and trails so great wished it was my house couldn't be better

View more reviews for this inn

Every B & B should be THIS good! at Hodge Podge Lodge (Montgomery , Texas)

5 reviewed on May 05, 2016

Where to begin? First of all, John and Nicola have turned this place into a little slice of heaven! The house and grounds are gorgeous to start with with, but the decor is awesome. It is just like out of a magazine. And somehow, it does not look like a museum (you know?). Everything is welcoming, homey, but so well put together. John, Nicola and actually everyone who works at HodgePodge makes you feel welcome and special. The breakfasts are amazing (and so plentiful you will not need to eat lunch)! HPL is a great romantic getaway, a nice girls weekend place, and I imagine a great wedding venue (I have seen pictures on their Instagram!!!). Oh, and HPL is in walking distance of the cute Montgomery shopping and dining area!

View more reviews for this inn

Touching History at Hodge Podge Lodge (Montgomery , Texas)

5 reviewed on May 03, 2016

For years my brother and I have been tracing our family history. We live in California and discovered that 2 of the homes built by our ancestors were still standing in Montgomery Texas. We set out to see the homes and touch a piece of our history! We were so thrilled to find out that one of the homes now know as the Hodge Podge Lodge was a Bed and Breakfast! This home was built by R.S. Willis who is my 5 times Great Uncle. We contacted Nicola and we were welcomed with open arms and Texas hospitality! Nicola and John have done an amazing job restoring and displaying every inch of this old family home! The rooms are warm and welcoming as is the entire home.The little touches that flow through the entire home are wonderful. I stayed in the room called "Shirley". This room was huge with a wonderful king sized bed and fireplace. To have the opportunity to sleep under the roof where my family lived and loved in the 1800s was a gift of monumental proportions. The grounds and surrounding area are peaceful and well cared for! I cant wait to bring my husband and sons back to stay and enjoy this fantastic family historical home. Thank you Nicola and John for an amazing stay!

View more reviews for this inn

Simply Fantastic at Hodge Podge Lodge (Montgomery , Texas)

5 reviewed on May 03, 2016

I have stayed at Hodge Podge Lodge while on a retreat in the area. It was quiet, most comfortable, cozy and I felt like I was right at home! The bedroom had other places to sit and read. The living room was so comfortable and the view is peaceful and relaxing! The outdoor spots provide yet another place for relaxing reading spaces! The special bath and body products make you feel appreciated, almost like a gift for staying there. The coffee is wonderful! I could go on and on! We have put our guests up there more than once and they always rave over their stay! I have also rented the place for business meetings and a ladies Christmas Tea, and there just isn't another place with staff like these people! It is a must experience next time you visit Montgomery, TX

View more reviews for this inn

Oh we'll be back again..... at Hodge Podge Lodge (Montgomery , Texas)

5 reviewed on May 03, 2016

We've stayed in both Beryl and Giddy's Cottage and absolutely loved them both. The special touches are beyond charming, the food delicious, the grounds beautiful. It was so nice walking everywhere and sitting both outside and inside the sunroom enjoying morning coffee. Such a delightful, inspired and spotless B & B. The perfect combination of charm and class.

View more reviews for this inn

Thank you at Red Caboose Farm Bed and Breakfast (Magnolia, Texas)

5 reviewed on December 09, 2015

My husband and I stayed for the Texas Ren Festival and it was a wonderful experience! Mrs Malkus is a very kind and gracious hostess and the rooms are wonderful. We will be going back!

View more reviews for this inn

In the nick of time at Red Caboose Farm Bed and Breakfast (Magnolia, Texas)

5 reviewed on November 06, 2013

Me and my husband had planned on camping at the Texas Renaissance Festival and at the last minute decided to try to get a hotel room instead. When no room was available to us we started to look for bed and breakfasts in the local area. Luckily there was and even better there was a room for us! Christina and her family were lovely hosts. The room was great and the breakfast even better! We look forward to staying with them again the next time we are in the area.

View more reviews for this inn

Just what we needed. at Red Caboose Farm Bed and Breakfast (Magnolia, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on July 17, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary and we found this secluded quiet place to just relax. There wasn't internet access, so it really allowed us to un-plug and plug in with each other. (We could get internet if we really needed it though.) This place is wonderfully decorated using the Christmas Tree theme throughout, complete with the twinkling lights to add ambiance. We were fortunate to have the house to ourselves and were free to come and go. My favorite thing was to sit on the porch and listen to the birds and water of the fountains gurgling. So pleasant! When the owner heard us mention in passing that we were going to order in and watch a movie, she got us a large bowl and microwaved popcorn. That is the kind of personal touch that made us feel very at home. The continental breakfast was fresh each morning and her homemade bread was so good we took the leftovers home with us. What a great weekend we had!

View more reviews for this inn

Wonderful, Relaxful, Peaceful at Red Caboose Farm Bed and Breakfast (Magnolia, Texas)

5 reviewed on July 09, 2013

This is a special place owned by special people. We stayed here to attend a wedding in the area - and ended up with a medical emergency in the middle of the night. Bob went with us to the hospital and Christina invited me to stay in the cabin while my husband was hospitalized. . . .but before all that happened, we spent a great afternoon with all the animals, toured through the Christmas trees (and I thought they grew in those perfect shapes!), and relaxed on the porch. It is a bit of paradise. . . .

View more reviews for this inn

Best Kept Secret Near Houston at Red Caboose Farm Bed and Breakfast (Magnolia, Texas)

5 reviewed on June 08, 2013

My wife and I needed a getaway that's no more than 2 hours away yet peaceful, simple and could take us for just one night. We found it - and loved loved IT!!! Christina and her husband were amazing hosts, so kind and helpful yet also gave you your privacy. The only meal is continental breakfast but was full of fruits, yogurt, coffees, teas, and right at the time you request it. The cabin itself? BEAUTIFUL! Spacious, comfortable, and so so quiet nestled in the woods. The plus is they keep unique small animals and take care of them so well and let you see them. Quaint and wonderful antique shops nearby in Montgomery, Just Burgers is the best burger you ever ate and also is not far from Conroe and the Woodlands. Relaxing, quiet, simple, comfortable, kind, and more great adjectives I can;t list here that describe one of the best kept secrets just north of Houston. Already making plans to go back soon (also makes for a great quiet place to work on writing, etc. though no wifi is available). Thank you so much Christina!

View more reviews for this inn

What an amazing surprise! at Red Caboose Farm Bed and Breakfast (Magnolia, Texas)

5 reviewed on May 21, 2013

We came to the area for a wedding and wanted to spend the entire weekend. What a perfect destination. The hosts are gracious and provide a fresh, delicious breakfast. The accommodations are very spacious and the bed really comfy...and soft, plush towels. Our bonus was the abundance of interesting animals, especially the exotic birds. Delightful!

View more reviews for this inn

Beautiful, Romantic, and Peaceful at Red Caboose Farm Bed and Breakfast (Magnolia, Texas)

5 reviewed on March 02, 2013

My new husband and I wanted a private wedding ceremony...just the two of us. This bed and breakfast was the perfect place! It is so much more beautiful than the pictures. The accomadations were cozy and elegant yet had that touch of home. Christina, our hostess could not have been more hospitable and kind. It was just amazing. I cannot say enough about how wonderful this place is!!

View more reviews for this inn

The escape at Red Caboose Farm Bed and Breakfast (Magnolia, Texas)

5 reviewed on February 07, 2012

Very comfortable and attractive place. Can't believe it actually exist only 30 minutes away. The hospitality was wonderful---I definitely recommend this Bed & Breakfast. Thanks again to Christina and Bob!

View more reviews for this inn

nice and relaxing at Red Caboose Farm Bed and Breakfast (Magnolia, Texas)

4.4 reviewed on January 18, 2012

outstanding country atmosphere with nice peace and quiet. house very nice. we greatly enjoyed our time there.

View more reviews for this inn

Outstanding B & B! at Red Caboose Farm Bed and Breakfast (Magnolia, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on November 02, 2011

My husband and I wanted a "getaway" weekend to unwind and relax. While we wanted to be in a "country" setting, we also wanted the option of going out to dinner without having to drive a long distance. We found the perfect combination of country luxury and city conveniences within 30 minutes. The rooms were BEAUTIFUL and the Hostess, Christina Malkus, couldn't be more accommodating. Our original intention was to attend the nearby Renaissance Faire, we found that we actually preferred to stay on the grounds, as they are "park-like" with an extraordinary amount of privacy. We will tell all our friends about this GEM!

View more reviews for this inn