Birchwood Inn Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
64 Reviews

Write A Review

Excellent Stay!

5 on September 29, 2016

Our trip out to the Birchwood Inn was wonderful, as always. From the time we checked in and we're greeted with a smile, to the time we left, we felt right at home. The accommodations, as well as the wonderful food are top notch. The inn is a special place for us, and fall in the Berkshires cannot be topped. - Jess and Paul

Very nice stay - we enjoyed ourselves immensely

5 on September 19, 2016

Debbie and Tom are new to running a B&B (they just took over the Birchwood two months ago) but all indications from our visit are that they will do very well. The accommodations and service were excellent and the breakfasts upheld the well-deserved Birchwood reputation. Thanks so much! Ron and Gail

Wonderful stay!

5 on September 09, 2016

We are repeat visitors to the Birchwood Inn over the past 20 years. The new innkeepers are very nice and gracious hosts. We will be back again!

A Goldmine for Travelers with Pets!

3.6 on August 31, 2016

The Birchwood Inn dating from 1766 is charming and offers very attractive rooms and a warm inviting breakfast room with sweet offerings and non-alcoholic beverages provided well into the evening hours. The grounds are beautifully kept and the inn is walking distance to the town. YOUR PETS ARE TREATED ALMOST AS WELL AS YOU WILL BE. I consider this property to be a real find and therefore will be returning for the fall foliage!

late August

4.6 on August 27, 2016

transition in ownership seems to have been done well--new owners are accommodating--have maintained the Inn well--respect returning guests--will be returning

Long-term Guests

3.0 on August 20, 2016

Four weekday nights built around two Tanglewood concerts, two museum visits and a house tour

Go here for delicious breakfasts!

4.4 on August 20, 2016

The highlight of my stay at the Inn was the breakfasts! Yum! Fruit course (e.g. a blueberry crumble) followed by a main course (such as a piece of quiche, nicely presented). Breakfasts include juice, coffee or tea, a choice of several breads.

Mixed Bag

3.4 on August 19, 2016

Room was a disappointment for the price. Has a lovely dining room and sitting room and the breakfast was good but not as good as other B&B's we have been.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the feedback, we take all feedback seriously even if its not exactly what we want to hear, but note that our rooms are all very different from one another. As the new owners of the Inn, we will be going through all of the rooms in the slower season and are excited about planning the updates. We are glad you enjoyed the great common spaces that the Inn has to offer, this was what attracted us to the Inn as owners. These common spaces were far better than what we had seen in other inns and provide great venues for our guests to enjoy and visit with one another.

And a fabulous time was had by all...

4.4 on August 07, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the Inn. The proprietors were lovely people, the breakfast was scrumptious and the location was perfect. Loved the little touch of having tea in the afternoon. Will definitely return.

music lover

4.6 on August 04, 2016

wonderful hosts; wonderful accommodations

Innkeeper Response
As new innkeepers we are excited to learn that our efforts are appreciated. We will continue to make improvements so you will feel right at home when you come.


5 on March 22, 2016

We had a great time...the atmosphere, the food, the room.. it was amazing!! We will be coming back soon !!!

Lovely, Warm, and Delicious.

4.0 on March 20, 2016

We had the wonderful Birchwood Inn to ourselves for the first week of March when most local inns close. Becca was an attentive host, ensuring tea or coffee was ready whenever we wanted, baking something tasty every afternoon. Her breakfasts were delicious. I could live in the library. We'll be back. Note: the review page wouldn't allow me to select Outstanding or I would have.

Couldn't have been nicer

5 on March 18, 2016

Ellen, the Innkeep at Birchwood and her staff are lovely people and very helpful. The big public room is everything one could want in a welcoming cozy place to retire to with a book in hand - or simply wander and see what you pick up.

The Perfect Stay

5 on March 08, 2016

We couldn't have asked for a better experience. Becca was great. Great food. Great library. Great everything!

Outstanding B&B that keeps us coming back year after year

5 on January 26, 2016

We have been coming annually to the Birchwood Inn for 14 years. Ellen, a warm and wonderful cook and host, has become a friend. The location and cozy atmosphere of this B&B simply can't be beat. Ellen's breakfast is outstanding. Don't miss this gem in Lenox.

the best breakfast anywhere

4.6 on January 04, 2016

We always love the Birchwood Inn. Ellen is a gracious hostess and her breakfasts are elaborate works of art and yumminess. Each breakfast includes two freshly made bread and muffins, a marvelous fruit-based appetizer and a delicious main course. The fire places in the rooms and the magnificent library make you never want to leave the inn. It's our favorite place all through the year.

Innkeeper Response
Your smiles light up Birchwood Inn, and we love welcoming you home!

Our favorites place

4.2 on December 24, 2015

We've been coming to the Birchwood Inn since 2002. We will continue to go. It offers the best breakfast imaginable: every day there are two fresh breads, a marvelous fruit-creation appetizer, and a spectacular entree. The food is always creative, beautiful and incredibly delicious. The inn comes with huge library with a large inviting fireplace. There is enormous variety in the rooms, but if you go upscale you will find spaciousness, another wood burning fireplace, and luxurious bath. If you go with the more economic rooms, you can idle inn the library and at tea-time enjoy home-made cookies. Lenox is the most beautiful town in the Berkshires. Go and pamper yourselves! We could not. think of a better place to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for choosing to stay at Birchwood Inn for 13 years! We love welcoming you home!

Special Anniversary

4.6 on December 22, 2015

We spent the weekend at the Birchwood Inn for our anniversary. This was our first stay and we would definitely return. The inn was wonderful, the breakfast was one of the best we've had after years of visiting inns. The staff at the inn could not have been nicer and more helpful and the area offered a lot. It was a quick getaway and very special.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to tell us that your visit to the Berkshires for your anniversary was special. We are looking forward to making your next stay special as well!

Fifth visit; perfect

5 on November 17, 2015

Stopped on our way to a family reunion in VT. Our fifth visit, and it's just as wonderful each time! Ellen does a beautiful job with the inn, and her breakfasts are fabulous. Quinn and Charlie are no help at all, but ......they are dogs so that's okay! Can't wait to get back. And an added bonus is the great restaurants in Lenox and Nejaime's for wine, cheese and gourmet goodies.

Innkeeper Response
We are looking forward to your sixth visit! Quinn and Charley keep us laughing, and that's not a bad thing!

Our second visit...

5 on November 01, 2015

... was just as wonderful as our first. Wonderful old home with excellent breakfasts and evening snacks. Ellen is a wonderful host and chef. Excellent breads and pastries with all the trimmings. Just wished we lived closer.

Innkeeper Response
The Birchwood Inn team strives to make each stay special. Thank you for letting us know that we continue to make your visits special!

Ellen never lets us down

5 on October 22, 2015

This was our 8th visit to the Birchwood Inn and will not be our last. Ellen and her staff never fail to make us feel at home. we love you Ellen

Innkeeper Response
I love welcoming you home to Birchwood Inn! Love you, too!

Home Away from Home "Delightful "

4.6 on October 20, 2015

Ellen and her staff at The Birhwood Inn made our stay wonderful. The place is homey and charming. The homemade breakfast and goodies are superb! Our dog enjoyed her stay as well. We will definitely be staying again for our annual trip to see the foliage in The Berkshires.

Innkeeper Response
Fall is my personal favorite time of year in the Berkshires! Warm days. Crisp nights. We hope to share foliage with you again next year!

Birchwood Inn Review Hallsteds

4.2 on October 10, 2015

Wonderful food and great huge library room with tons of books.. Easy walk into town and its many fine restaurants located in a two block area. area.

Innkeeper Response
Birchwood Inn and Lenox thank you for enjoyed your stay!

Tanglewood Weekend

4.6 on September 15, 2015

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Birchwood Inn. The food was amazing and the people were so friendly. Thank you for a wonderful weekend getaway.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed Birchwood Inn!

A couple of nights in Lenox

3.6 on August 12, 2015

We booked late and so received the only available room - in the garret (mansion - 3rd floor). It contained a comfortable bed and an ample bathroom but was not well lit. The shower was not very effective and the air conditioner of an old style and noisy. The public rooms were interesting, particularly the library of this 18th C house. Overall I would recommend a stay in this house but not in 'The Goodwin' room.

Innkeeper Response
I am sorry that you did not have the ultimate Birchwood Inn experience. Had you mentioned the lighting in the bathroom, we would have pointed out that there is a switch for extra lighting. Please note that we have replaced the noisy a/c with a much quieter one.

Memorial Day 2015

5 on May 28, 2015

as usual, The Birchwood made the weekend the best--beginning with the gourmet breakfasts and moving onto the at-home feeling when sitting on the huge front porch, reading. Ellen has her pulse on all local activities and her recommendations for our anniversary dinner were spot-on. We have never had a disappointing time at the Birchwood

Innkeeper Response
It is always our pleasure to welcome you home to Birchwood Inn and share the cultural and recreational bounty of the Berkshires with you!

Birchwood Inn

3.2 on May 23, 2015

Beautiful inn and settings. Gracious, friendly innkeeper. Good breakfast.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed Birchwood Inn. What can we do to improve your experience?

Can't wait to return!

4.6 on February 04, 2015

My husband and I had a wonderful relaxing weekend here. The innkeeper and assistant were wonderful and made us feel right at home. The food was absolutely amazing! We plan to. Make our weekend an annual event!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you and we hope to welcome you "home" to Birchwood Inn again soon!

Christmas at the Birchwood Inn

4.6 on January 12, 2015

The Birchwood Inn in Lenox, MA, is first rate: welcoming, peaceful, comfortable and helpful. Add to that sumptuous breakfasts and afternoon teas, made right at the Inn, and you have the ingredients for a very relaxing getaway. At Christmas the Inn is aglow with lights, tasteful decorations and a crackling fire in the hearth. Probably our most relaxing Christmas ever!

Innkeeper Response
When I first visited Birchwood in the fall of 1998, I sensed that it would be especially magical at Christmas, and as owner I loved the festive season at the inn. I am delighted you agree!

Friendly Atmosphere

4.6 on December 28, 2014

What a great way to spend our 47th anniversary. Breakfast each day was YUMMY. Our hostess went out of her way to accommodate my husband's food allergy.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for choosing to spend your anniversary at Birchwood Inn! If we know in advance, we are happy to accommodate dietary restrictions and preferences!

Best of the Berkshires

5 on December 23, 2014

My husband and I just returned with some family members to the Birchwood Inn for a 3 day pre-holiday get away. We typically time our visit for the summer months, but winter in the Berkshires is beautiful. The Inn was warm, welcoming and decorated beautifully. There is plenty to do - this trip included a visit to the Monet / Kelly exhibit at the Clarke Museum and good meals (highlight was Chez Nous), but we left ourselves time to sit in front of a lovely wood fire in the large living room (our bedrooms also boasted fireplaces) and to linger over delicious, multicourse breakfasts (our favorite was the lemon cloud pancakes). Ellen does a great job of making her guests feel pampered from the comfortable, well appointed bedrooms and bathrooms to lovely common areas indoors and out to scrumptious breakfasts to great tips on things to do and restaurants. We've stayed at other nice locations in the Berkshires, but have been going back to the Birchwood Inn for many years now because it is the finest B&B in a truly wonderful location.

Innkeeper Response
Yes, we like to think that the Berkshires are magical year-round, and we love to welcome you home to Birchwood Inn any time of year!

A magical experience

4.8 on December 11, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed the most magical weekend away at the Birchwood Inn. The warmth and care that the owner Ellen puts into all she does is evident from the moment you check in. Our room was spotless and the most beautiful open fireplace was a perfect compliment to the freezing weather. Breakfast was truly worth 'the best in New England' title and we will definitely return again.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for letting us know that we were able to create the magic for you!


3.2 on October 31, 2014

This is a beautiful inn, very well managed. Ellen, the Inkeepper, is adorable and did everything in her power to make us comfortable -- even served afternoon tea for us when we arrived! Breakfast was prepared with love and care and the hot dish was quite out of the ordinary and delicious! The freshly baked bread too! No dinner served, but a wide choice of restaurants not far away. We only stayed for one night as the third-floor bedroom was too much for us to handle. The bathroom in the room we had was private, but across the hall, not ensuite. And, it is never too much to remind anyone thinking of staying here that these historic houses will not have elevators and you will have to drag your suitcase upstairs! So pack light and enjoy your stay!

Innkeeper Response
We are sorry that we didn't have a first or second floor room for you but are glad you enjoyed your brief stay. If guests arrive when my staff is available, staff would be happy to take your luggage upstairs. Thank you for mentioning our breakfasts. We take great care and pride in them!

no complaints

3.6 on October 28, 2014

We weren't "blown away" by anything, but fhave no complaints either. We chose one of the cheaper rooms up on the third floor. The bed was very comfortable and clean, but we lacked space to put our luggage and toiletries. Ellen was sweet and accommodating, but the real treasure was her assistant Dave who brought liveliness, great local knowledge and good conversation to our morning meal!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for letting us know how we can improve guest experiences. With a few changes, I think we have improved the space to allow for toiletries and luggage. And we find David entertaining, too!

A Charming Inn

4.6 on October 24, 2014

A wonderful inn with outstanding service and great food

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your Birchwood Inn experience!

Best B&B ever!

5 on October 04, 2014

This was an excellent stay for me and my mom. Everthing was so carefully selected and planned. We loved sitting on the porch and in the garden. And the food... waking up to the smells of freshly baked bread and the delicious gourmet breakfast... Enjoyed every minute of our stay... Thank you Ellen!

A true Gem

4.8 on September 30, 2014

Birchwood Inn is set in such a beautiful location. The owner is so pleasant and a wonderful cook. Her staff were gracious and humble. I loved my stay there and would definitely go back. It was peaceful, pleasant, serene, beautiful, restful, yummy, and all things you wish in a country B+B.

Innkeeper Response
I am delighted that you so enjoyed your stay! We hope to welcome you home to Birchwood Inn again soon.

Wonderful place to unwind

5 on September 22, 2014

I would highly recommend the Birchwood Inn. It is a beautiful, well maintained inn in a delightful part of the country. The innkeeper is absolutely delightful. We were traveling with our golden and were so very pleased that we could stay in such a nice inn with our pet... for only an additional $25.00. The breakfast was amazing. We will definitely return if we are ever fortunate enough to find ourselves in this part of the country again. Linda from Chapel HIll, NC

Innkeeper Response
There are many joys of innkeeping, and two are welcoming guests from all over the US and the world as well as meeting wonderful pets. We have a special place in our Birchwood hearts for Goldens as Quinn as been the Queen of Birchwood for more than 15 years!

a breakfast to remember

5 on September 02, 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the elegant and very comfortable Birchwood Inn! Our room was beautiful and very comfortable. Ellen is a gracious Innkeeper, and the baked sweets in the afternoon/evening were all too delicious. Breakfasts were culinary delights, and so uniquely prepared. We felt indulged and at home at the same time.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay!

Birchwood Inn -- WONDERFUL in all ways !

5 on August 04, 2013

The Birchwood Inn is wonderful in all ways. The rooms are very nice and very clean, there is a wonderful and large "common area", the front porch with its wicker furniture is real special, the breakfasts are fantastic, and the location is terrific.

Wonderful weekend at Birchwood Inn

4.2 on July 27, 2013

Charming decor, wonderful staff, ideal location, superior breakfast. Elizabeth and Russell Schutt

Went for Tanglewood, will return for The Birchwood

4.6 on April 07, 2013

My wife and I stayed the weekend at The Birchwood Inn last summer while attending the Pops at Tanglewood. It was such a delightful stay that we'll come back another time to enjoy the comfortable room, warm hospitality, scrumptious breakfasts and the long walks in the state park across the road (to help keep calories in check). Also near to lots of other neat things in Lenox and the Berkshires. Great stay, Ellen! Many thanks.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you! We hope to make your next stay even better!

Cozy New Years Eve Getaway

4.6 on January 16, 2013

My husband and I wanted to go somewhere snowy and picturesque for New Year's Eve. We lucked out. The Birchwood Inn had a last minute cancellation, which we jumped on immediately. We were thrilled that they allowed us to bring our dog too. On arrival, the assistant innkeeper greeted us cheerfully and took us for a quick tour of the public spaces, which included a beautiful library with a huge, crackling fireplace, the adorable breakfast dining area, and the guest kitchen area where we were hit by fantastic aromas wafting in from the innkeeper's kitchen as she was preparing special treats for the afternoon tea hour. Our room was well decorated and very clean (especially given this is a pet-friendly hotel) and we were happy to see the private Vermont gas stove and thoughtful placement of a cute dog bed and water bowl right beside it. Because it was New Year's Eve, the afternoon tea was actually a wine and cheese hour instead and there were endless bottles of wine served with a generous cheese platter, delicious potato latkes and little spinach pies. Yummy! We chatted with the other guests (which included couples of all generations who were looking for a romantic getaway like ourselves) and even made a few new friends. Dinner and drinks where an easy walk or drive to in town. The next morning we had an amazing 3-course homemade breakfast in front of yet another fireplace. It was amazing! Sadly, we had to pack up and head home after that, but we are looking forward to making a tradition out of our stay at The Birchwood Inn.

Innkeeper Response
I truly hope you make us your traditional home for New Year's! But you don't have to wait for New Year's!

Charming Birchwood Inn

4.8 on October 28, 2012

Such a warm welcome from Ellen at this delightful, quiet and interesting inn. Each day, a different freshly made breakfast, and warm apple cider and cookies by the fireplace in the library each afternoon. Very personal and imaginative cooking by the small dedicated team.. We stayed in the Carriage House, which was very quiet, warm and comfortable; the inn manages to be both homely and elegant. Lenox is a delightful town, and the Inn is a great place to stay. Many thanks for making our stay so enjoyable.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again soon.

Anniversary Stay

3.6 on August 27, 2012

The inn was quaint, clean and restful. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Would have been nice if they added a little extra for anniversary - bottle of wine, or flowers, etc.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for letting us know of your concern.All of our guests are special, and the majority of them are here celebrating an event. We like to think that we honor each guest by providing extra-special breakfasts, uniquely decorated, comfortable and very clean rooms, and outstanding warm service every single day. We do offer a variety of celebration packages from which to choose -- on our website and in each confirmation letter -- or we can create a package just for you.

A Welcoming Respite.

4.6 on May 28, 2012

My husband and I spent a recent weekend at this inn. From the warm welcome, the comfortable accommodations, the delicious breakfasts, the friendly and knowledgeable innkeeper/assistant innkeeper, we left with the hope of a future return visit. Thank you for your hospitality Birchwood Inn!

Innkeeper Response
We would be delighted to welcome you home to Birchwood Inn again soon.

A Delightful and Delicious Stay at the Birchwood Inn

5 on March 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Birchwood Inn in March. The Post which is in the Carriage House was steps away from the Main House was warm and inviting and had all the amenities of a spa. A welcome plate of sweets were in the sitting area awaiting our arrival. At Teatime we were treated to tea and warm homemade cookies. The Birchwood is a wonderful relaxing home away from home because of the Innkeeper Ellen Gutman Chenaux. She personally and attentively takes care of the fine details. Ellen prepared the most delicious breakfast consisting of pear compote, fresh blueberry muffins and french toast with strawberries. The Birchwood Inn truly creates a wonderful, relaxing and true New England stay. The Birchwood is worth the visit if just for the breakfasts and of course to meet Ellen and her dogs Parker and Quinn.

Innkeeper Response
We are delighted you enjoyed your Birchwood experience as it was certainly our pleasure to welcome you to the inn and to the Berkshires. We look forward to your next visit!

Christmas in Lenox

5 on January 12, 2012

When I dream of Christmas, I recall Dickens. The warm fuzzies start to flow, but that's inside of a story. If I want to feel it for real, the Berkshires come to mind. When I want the best of the Berkshires, Lenox comes to mind. And, when I want the best of Lenox, the Birchwood Inn stands out at the top of the list. Food, fun, and fireplaces abound. What better way to celebrate the Holidays. This was our first year. It will not be our last. Cheers.

Innkeeper Response
When I first saw Birchwood, I knew immediately that it would be a most special holiday destination. I am glad that you agree.

The Ultimate in B&Bs

5 on November 04, 2011

The Birchwood Inn is magic! the Inn is magnificent - an official landmark. decorated beautifully. The staff and quality service they provide their quests is excellent. The owner and innkeeper are warm, friendly and will take care of every detail to ensure your stay is nothing short of fantastic. The food is devine - 5 star caliber. The rooms are immaculate - many with fireplaces. They are conveniently located to Tanglewood, museums, shops, restaurants and parks. Birchwood Inn has it all - and gets it right. You will never want to leave, it's truly a slice of heaven. Thanks Ellen, David, Rebecca, Piper & Quinn

Innkeeper Response
It is extremely gratifying to know that we did get things right as that is always our goal.

Perfect Bed and Breakfast experience

5 on July 09, 2011

Absolutely nothing derogatory to say about this place; the inn itself is old and has narrow staircases, some "creaking" at night - but all-in-all, the rooms were gorgeous, perfectly clean, the innkeepers were very helpful and insightful, it was so, so, quiet - even though lots of guests were there, one just couldn't hear them (the place was built in the 1700's). The rooms were all very large. The food was perfect, they accounted for any dietary issues. You could walk to fabulous restaurants and a hiking/mountain preserve right across the street. AND we saw a bear on our hike there, which was pretty exciting (it was little and ran from us). Also the inn is at the center of lots of things to do in this part of Massachusetts. Couldn't recommend it more!

Innkeeper Response
We agree! At Birchwood, we like to think that the inn is in the heart of the Berkshires.

A Porch Full of Memories

5 on March 03, 2011

From the moment my husband and I walked into the Birchwood Inn everything from the aroma of cookies to the genuine smiles of the staff, and the wags of the resident dogs said,"Welcome". Morning began with a cup of coffee on a front porch reminiscent of childhood. Guest gathered there both in the morning and in the afternoon for high tea exchanging daily activities and places of interest. If you want a place of fine comfort, delicious food and ultimate relaxation this is the Inn for you. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Innkeeper Response
Would you like a job as our spokesperson? Thank you!

Birchwood Inn

4.4 on August 20, 2010

We had a wonderful two days at this inn. The location is perfect and what a terrific place to unwind. Hope to be back again soon.

Innkeeper Response
We hope so, too!

Best B&B anywhere

5 on August 19, 2010

We have stayed at B&B's worldwide and many times at the Birchwood. You won't have a better breakfast anywhere. The breakfast changes daily and always includes home-baked bread with muffins, cake, or pastry, a fruit course, sometimes warm, and one of innkeeper Ellen's incredible inventive main dishes. During a recent weeknd visit we had an amazing fritata served with delicious turkey sausage and peach upside down French toast served with ham. We have stayed in most of the Inn's 11 rooms. Some are quite luxurious and large with a fireplace (some wood-burning), others smaller and cozy, but all beautifully decorated and immaculate. Ellen and her assistant innkeeper David are always friendly and eager to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. With so many things to do in the immediate area and the perfect B&B as home base, vacations don't get any better than this.

Innkeeper Response
It's refreshing to know that you appreciated all of the efforts of the Birchwood team.

Warm Hospitable B and B in good location

4.4 on August 07, 2010

Nice place to stay in historic home-pretty setting-close to Tanglewood and Stockbridge. Innkeeper is very sweet and helpful. Little dissapointed in breakfasts compared to prior b and b stays-room was simple for the price-nothing elegant- but baked goods-cookies and brownies were superb. Was a relaxing setting.

Innkeeper Response
We are sorry that you did not have the optimum experience and that our full, creative country breakfast disappointed you, but my Aunt Norma is delighted that you liked her brownies.

A wonderful getaway

5 on February 15, 2010

Highly recommend this lovely inn. The innkeepers are like none other, the food outstanding and the rooms comfortable and charming.

Innkeeper Response
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you home to Birchwood Inn again.

One of the Best

5 on October 11, 2009

What a relief this Inn was, after the B&B we stayed in last year in Lenox. I can't believe we will find a better one, so we will stop looking. I know we won't find better food. The large library, Ellen's hospitality, large clean room, was as much as one should expect at any B & B. And finally, the most helpful David showed us the "secret" back road, that is adjacent to the inn, and brings one out directly to the entrance to Tanglewood, and avoids downtown traffic.

Innkeeper Response
We have a great staff! Karen, our head housekeeper, prides herself on her attention to detail, and David, our manager, is the consummate concierge.

Just Perfect!

5 on August 31, 2009

The Birchwood Inn has everything one could ask for: rooms that invite rest and relaxation- not just pretty but with great beds and the softest linens; exceptional breakfasts featuring freshly baked pastries and fruit-featured as well as more traditional entrees, and very good coffee; a most congenial staff and innkeeper as well as two happy dogs who make guests even happier. This is a special place.

Innkeeper Response
We are delighted that we were able to make your stay special.

25th Anniversary

4.8 on August 11, 2009

My wife and I of 25 years spent two nights at the Birchwood Inn to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed in the Dana room which was quite spacious and comfortable. The Inn is walking distance to town and a short drive to Tanglewood. The Inn keepers/staff were helpful and made our stay pleasurable. We love dogs and enjoyed their company. The breakfast was wonderful. We would not hesitate to stay at the Birchwood Inn again.

Innkeeper Response
You picked the perfect room for your 25th anniversary. The Dana is very romantic But you don't need to be celebrating a special occasion to enjoy a memorable stay at Birchwood Inn.

Delightful Weekend in Lenox

5 on May 17, 2009

This was the first time my wife and I stayed at a Bed-and-Breakfast in the US – all of our previous stays were in Europe. We now understand the enchantment many have with B&Bs in the US – and especially Ellen’s Birchwood Inn in Lenox, MA. The Birchwood Inn is a charming home with brightly and lively colored rooms – We stayed in the Goodwin Room. The inn is located just at the edge of Lenox – close enough for a short walk to anything in town. This includes the Shakespeare and Company campus – try the introductory show and workshop – it’s great fun! – we acted in Romeo and Juliet!!! We stayed in the early Spring; the weather was just warming, but the inn always had a warm and inviting spirit – a spirit that starts with Ellen’s charm and attentiveness to every need and detail. The spirit continues with Ellen’s assistant, David, and her wonderful dogs, Quinn and Piper; don’t be surprised if Quinn comes over and gently rests her head on your lap while you are relaxing. All of Ellen’s meals were wonderful; but her cinnamon buns for breakfast were “fantastic”!!! My wife’s only regret is that Ellen does not include her recipe for them in her cook book. All I can say is that my wife and I look forward to our next visit with Ellen.

Innkeeper Response
As we innkeepers fervently believe, bed and breakfasts are The Better to Stay! Recipes? Just ask and we'll be happy to print them out for you. Most of my favorite recipes, moreover, are on our food blog:!

One of the Best B&B's

5 on March 25, 2009

My wife and I recently spent two nights at the Birchwood Inn and were absolutely delighted to be there. The Innkeeper/Owner and the Asst. Innkeeper could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. The "public rooms" at the Inn were warm, inviting and spacious. Breakfast was first-class. A definite must-visit if in the Berkshires. Will definitely return!

Innkeeper Response
We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you home to Birchwood Inn.

Perfect Romantic Winter Getaway

5 on February 24, 2009

We stayed over Valentine's weekend and everything was perfect. Ellen, the innkeeper, and her staff go out of their way to make every detail perfect. The wood burning fireplace in our room proided the most romantic and lovely touch. Going to sleep by a real fire in a wonderful king size bed was just the best. Breakfasts were ample and scrumtious. And the best part, for those who know B&B's, is that we could sit alone at a table for two in front of the fire place in the breakfast room. It was great and we will go back. I have absolutely not a single negative.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for accentuating our positives!

Absolutely loved it! Will be back soon...

5 on April 10, 2008

What can I say, we loved every minute of our stay at the Birchwood Inn! My husband and I wanted to get away for a few days for some rest and relaxation and we got that and so much more... The inviting front door with tulips, impeccable rooms, heavenly breakfasts, heart warming fireplaces, wonderful treats during the afternoon tea hour and the best innkeeper and staff anyone could ask for. The Inn is conveniently located and is set beautifully upon a hill steps away from the town center. The Inn is spotless and the common areas are cozy, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. The main living area also provides a wide range of books, music, brochures about the surrounding areas and plenty of box games to play. Ellen made us feel like Birchwood was our home too. The gourmet breakfasts that Ellen and Rebecca served were indescribable, something out of a gourmet cookbook. If you find yourself in the Berkshires this is the place to stay! We're really glad that we stopped by and really enjoyed our long weekend. We definitely look forward to our next visit at the Birchwood Inn!

Innkeeper Response
Happy guests are an innkeeper's dream!

Lovely setting, liked the common space

5 on March 12, 2008

Birchwood is a great inn for those who want all that Lenox has to offer at their fingertips. The library and the dining room here are among the nicest I've seen at an inn, and I visit many inns. I really loved the decor and both had roaring fireplaces going while I was there, that made for a very cozy feeling. The rooms are very nice too. This is a great place to stay in Lenox.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay!

Eagerly Anticipated Renunion at Birchwood Inn

4.0 on March 10, 2008

The Birchwood Inn in Lenox, Ma is the annual destination for our reunion of five friends...the Inn is every bit as important as the friends who gather in it...from the minute the owner, Ellen, and Quinn, a magnificent Golden Retriever, greet us at the door, we feel at home...we are cared for and looked after...breakfast is a culinary treat and afternoon "tea" with freshly baked temptations lures us to sit in front of the large fireplace to settle in for an evening of sharing stories and laugher...the warmth, graciousness and charm envelope us in a special atmosphere which we remember long after the reunion and lead us to eagerly anticipate the next gathering at Birchwood Inn...

Innkeeper Response
We love it when friends are together and having fun!

Birchwood Inn


  • Nightly Rate $199 - $379
  • Reviews (64) 4.6
  • Rooms 11
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-413.637.2600

Visit Website »

View details