La Dauphine, Residence des Artistes

2316 rue Dauphine , New Orleans, LA 70117 USA (Show map)

About

Basic rate is $109 per room, inclusive-- sometimes higher. Plus taxes. There is a 3 NIGHT MINIMUM!!!-- sometimes more than 3 nights are required for special events. We do not accept reservations for less than 3 nights. All rooms have private, unshared baths. La Dauphine Residence is a non-smoking, unpretentious, guest house for the budget-minded, carefree traveler. No kitchen or laundry privileges- you must eat out, and do laundry out. The house is located in the bohemian, gay, artsy Faubourg Marigny where many who work in the French Quarter (a 7 minutes/four-block walk) choose to live. A village atmosphere prevails thoughout the neighborhood. Ample parking is available on the street in front of the house. Rooms have queen-size, four-poster beds, a wash basin en suite and a private bathroom. There are no shared baths at La Dauphine. Rates are higher for special events such as Mardi Gras, Southern Decadence, JazzFest and Halloween, when 4 or 5-night minimums may apply. Phone,cable TV/DVD are in each room. The atmosphere is very relaxed and unpretentious. No "attitude" here :-)

Video

Reviews

Overall
4.3

Write A Review
  • Guest room4.2
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.2
  • Onsite Dining3.8

Great value

5 on November 06, 2017

This is a very homey and welcoming bed-and-breakfast. Within perfect walking distance to Frenchmen or the Quarter. My husband and I have very pleasant conversation with Ray and appreciated his hospitality. It is an old house, and the rooms are very close together; so you will you're everything that goes on in your neighbors room :) I would highly recommend staying here !

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much. It was a pleasure meeting you and having you here. Hope to see you again. :-)

- Ray Ruiz (Innkeeper)


Return again and again

4.2 on June 26, 2017

Staying with Ray and Kim is always a wonderful experience. Excellent knowledge of NOLA with good suggestions. Homey and comfortable. If you want 5star go to the Windsor Court, but you won't have as much fun. Great location and easy walk to Frenchman as well as the Quarter. But, parking is very is very east as is getting to a from the other parts of town - or out of town. Neighbors are friendly and a walk in the area usually finds several folks willing to chat and express their appreciation for your being in NOLA.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much for coming. It's always a pleasure to serve our guests. :-) Warm hugs from New Orleans.

- Ray Ruiz (Innkeeper)


Great B&B

5 on June 21, 2017

Great place! Very convenient to walk to dine and shop. Ray & Kim are great hosts!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much for your great review. It was great having you here :-) Hope to see you again. Ray & Kim

- Ray Ruiz (innkeeper)


Loved our stay at La Dauphine

4.8 on May 26, 2017

We loved our recent stay at La Dauphine. Ray and Kim were incredibly gracious hosts and were around several times when we returned from dinner, always willing to chat. The location of La Dauphine is perfect; in a quiet neighborhood but only a short walk to Frenchmen St. or the French Quarter. The room was very clean with fresh towels and soaps. My wife and I agreed that we would absolutely stay here again when we return to New Orleans. Thank you very much Ray and Kim!!! -Mike and Gab.

Innkeeper Response
Hi Mike and Gabrielle, Thanks for the nice review. It was great meeting you two. We love young people. Thoroughly enjoyed our interesting conversations, and also talking about food. You really plucked out the best that we have here. :-) Hope to see you again. Warm hugs from Ray & Kim- and from New Orleans

- Ray Ruiz (Innkeeper)


came with no car but didn't need one

3.6 on May 07, 2017

Terrific location and wonderful hosts. I walked and rode to everything.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks! So glad you enjoyed your stay. It was great having you here. :-)

- Ray Ruiz (Innkeeper)


Shabby not chic

1.4 on April 27, 2017

We made reservations for a 4 night stay but checked out the morning after our first night. The photo of the room we had did not match the room. A couch had been added that took up much of the floor space on one side of the bed. The light above the bed had a spider web. The bathroom had a light and fan directly above the shower and had a pull to turn on the light that hung over the shower rod making use of the shower scary. The walls had peeling paint. The reviews of the B and B were shabby chic and reported to be clean but my opinion is the rooms were shabby and had not been kept in good condition. The hosts were very kind and allowed us to arrive late but when leaving did not ask any questions when we said we had to leave , said ok, and did not offer at least a partial refund of the room payment as we were charged for 4 days and stayed only one. Admittedly, we did not ask for the refund but were surprised that there was no conversation other than "ok". I believe the photos were done after an update and this update was done quite a while ago. We were surprised that a 5 star rating had been given. The price for the a night was very reasonable but only if the condition of the room had been as pictured. The location is very nice. The exterior was as expected.

Innkeeper Response
This was just the nicest couple you could meet. We had a nice chat while checking them in. The next morning, first thing, they peeked their heads into the living room. I said good morning to them. They said, "Sorry, this isn't going to work for us." I didn't know what to say. They added, "We've already booked a room somewhere else." I said "OK." It was a very awkward moment. They left. We try to emphasize that our place is not for everyone. We keep saying how old and funky it is. I guess we're lucky this was the first time in 23 years that guests were displeased. That sofa has always been in the room, and the photos were just taken in February, 2017 for our bed and breakfast association. I cleaned the room immediately, and marked it as available on our reservation system, the idea being to refund them if I could re-rent it. But, it stayed empty. I did see a spider string way up high near the light. I got a broom, and whisked it away immediately. So sorry. :-( There is peeling paint in the bathroom. We plan to have it repainted this summer. Re the light and fan above the tub, there's no way for a guest to turn it on the fan, and it's not needed. The pull chain is only to turn on the light. We have added a wooden pull at the end, and attached a linen tassel to it, so there is no metal contact. Thank you for your observations. We will take steps to make sure we correct these things. In the end, however, we will encourage guests to read your review, so they know that our place is not for everyone. And they usually guess that an old house with character will have some flaws and idiosyncrasies, (and yes, warts and scuffs, even) as ours does. We are sorry we didn't get to know you better. We really looked forward to having you here. We enjoy hosting our guests so much. I wish so much that we could have pleased you. Sincerely, Ray & Kim

- Ray Ruiz (Innkeeper)


Perfect

3.8 on April 18, 2017

There are many B&B's in the Marigny and I've been to many of them. La Dauphine will now be near the top of my list when I return. They are extremely courteous and helpful - or not if you say you don't need it. I enjoyed the room and was pleasantly surprised at the layout (I prefer to avoid human contact and found it rather easy here which is hard to find in most B&B's). There's probably better places for breakfast, but you didn't come to New Orleans for continental fair every morning. The owner is a fascinating guy who has a lot of stories - though, you may find yourself locked in a conversation a little longer than you intended when you sit down with him. Overall, the place is great and I can't wait to come back.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much for your kind words, and for taking the time to write. We are glad you had a "perfect" stay at La Dauphine, and look forward to your return. It's our pleasure and a privilege to serve you. :-) Ray & Kim at La Dauphine

- Ray Ruiz (Innkeeper)


Cozy B&B in Marigny

3.4 on March 28, 2017

Clean, comfortable but somewhat cluttered. I'd go back.

Innkeeper Response
So glad you had a good stay, and would return. We get a lot of repeat guests. We are glad that people like it here. The main reasons we get so many satisfied guests are: 1) Location, location, location, 2) Reasonable rates, and 3) Helpful, engaged, and knowledgeable hosts. We look forward to seeing you again. :-)

- Ray Ruiz (innkeeper)


Great place in the Crescent City

4.6 on February 19, 2017

We spent three nights at La Dauphine recently and could not have been happier. The hosts, Ray and Kim, were warm, friendly and provided lots of helpful advice. The location was perfect, very close to the French Quarter and other hot spots, but in a residential neighborhood with lots of charm. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much. It was great having you here. Your review captures exactly the reasons that guests stay here with us and have such a good time. :-) Thanks again, Ray and Kim

- Ray Ruiz (Innkeeper )


Great house in a great spot

4.0 on November 16, 2016

Charming little place. Not for you if you need modern or squeaky clean. This is an old house but full of character, and run by a couple of really friendly, accommodating gentlemen. The location is perfect, a few blocks off of Frenchman, with a great cafe right around the corner. Highly recommended for those that know the city well and want to embed themselves fully.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks! Very accurate review. :-)

- Ray Ruiz (innkeeper)


View More Reviews

Rooms & Rates

Matisse

Soft powdery blue feel-- queen-size bed, ceiling fan, attached bathroom, Wi-Fi. Central air and heat, desk. No cooking or kitchen privileges, or laundry. Guests must eat out and do laundry out.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 Queen

Nightly Rate: $99 - $150

Gothic

Four-poster queen bed, facilities inside room. Central air and heat, ceiling fan, Wi-Fi, best shower in the house, desk. No cooking or kitchen privileges. No laundry privileges.

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 Queen

Nightly Rate: $99 - $150

Visit Website

Location

Location Type

Steps from French Quarter, Walk to Bywater neighborhood, Smack in Marigny neighborhood, New Riverfront Park to open soon, 4 blocks from Mississippi River, 18 minutes walk to Jackson Square, City, Downtown

Airport

New Orleans, LA (MSY) 17 miles

Directions to property:

One-block east of Elysian Fields Ave., 4 blocks east of Esplanade Ave., 4 blocks from River.

Area Attractions

Amusement Park, Antique Shopping, Aquarium, Art Galleries, Beach, Casino, Concert venue, Gourmet/Fine Dining, Historical interests, Lake, Live Music, Movie Theater, Museum, National/State parks, Nature area, Ocean, Art Galleries, Antique stores , Outlet Stores, Performing Theater, Picnic area, Religious Services, River, Ruins, Zoo

Visit Website

Inn Details

Establishment type

Other, Private Home Bed and Breakfast

On-site amenities

CD player, Computer, Copier, Fax Machine, Internet Service, Piano, Private entrance, Radio, Videos, Washer/dryer , Cyber cafe-24" iMac, Wireless Internet, Fast cable Internet

Room amenities

Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bath robes, Ceiling fans, DVD Player, Desk, Fireplace, Hairdryer, Library, Satellite/Cable TV, TV, Telephone, VCR, Wi-Fi, Wired internet

On-site activities

Bicycle rental, Bird watching, Boating, Canoeing, Fishing, Golfing, Hiking trails, Horseback riding, Hunting, Sailing, Shopping, Sight-seeing, Swimming, Swimming pool, Tennis courts, Video Arcade, Water sports

Visit Website

Policies

  • Check In:: Negotiable
  • Check Out:: Flexible
  • Open All Year Round: Yes
  • Smoking Allowed: No Outdoors on patio or courtyard only
  • Drinking Allowed: Yes
  • Alcohol Provided No
  • Suitable For Children: No
  • Childcare Provided: No
  • Guest Pets Allowed: No NO pets allowed at all-- no exceptions. We have 2 dogs here.
  • Disabled Access No

Terms and Conditions

  • Minimum Stay: 3 nights minimum stay
  • Accepted payments AMEX, VISA, Discover, Mastercard, Diners club, Travelers checks, Cash
  • Deposit Amount Required: 3 Nights
  • Cancellations: No refund after 60 days before arrival. No shortening of stays once you have arrived.
Visit Website

Innkeepers

Name(s)

Ray Ruiz & Dr. Kim Pedersen

Languages spoken

Danish, understand Swedish, understand Norwegian, English, French, German

Resident Pets

Dogs , Shiba Inu-Japanese small dogs

About the innkeepers

Ray is a New Orleans native & real estate agent & developer. Formerly a mid-level manager at AT&T in San Francisco. He lived in San Francisco for 22 years running AT&T's College Recruiting. Ray manages their holiday apartments in Fort Lauderdale, FL, and Nice, France. Kim is a molecular biologist from Denmark, currently doing diabetes research at Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center in New Orleans.

Visit Website

Meals

Breakfast

Breads, Jams, Fruits, Yogurt

  • Time Served: 8:00 a.m. till 10 a.m.
  • Serving Location: Garden, Breakfast/dining area

Recipes

Visit Website
check