Recent Reviews in Lexington, Virginia

2nd Stay at The Hummingbird Inn at The Hummingbird Inn (Goshen, Virginia)

5 reviewed on February 08, 2017

The Inn is absolutely beautiful. Extensive attention to ALL details: cleanliness; quality of towels; decor; availability of amenities; room temperature; hot water; fires in fireplaces; etc., etc., etc. Sandra and Jeff are outstanding hosts ... Quite open to any requests; most hospitable; very attentive and sincere; ... AND Outstanding chefs. The food alone is worth the visit. The exterior of the building has been tastefully, and professionally restored. The interior is "awesome". Imagine the perfect B & B. This is it ... very tastefully decorated with quality materials, furniture, paintings, photos, rugs, and antiques. Rooms for meetings or small private visits with friends are available and inviting. Very nice piano also available. The Goshen are provided a plethora of opportunities to explore. Check The Hummingbird Inn out ... and the check in. You won't regret it.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful place and welcoming folks at Applewood Inn & Llama Trekking (Lexington, Virginia)

4.4 reviewed on January 27, 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at this bed and breakfast. We stayed in the European room which was very nice and comfortable, the stove and hot tub provided much needed medicine after a long drive. Linda and Chris were very welcoming and provided great conversation.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent, Serene Getaway Location! at Autumn Ridge Cottages (Lexington, Virginia)

5 reviewed on January 25, 2017

I had an absolutely wonderful, restful weekend in Autumn Ridge's Deerfield cabin. The setting is so beautiful and serene, the cabin is beautifully decorated and so very comfortable. I appreciate the way it is stocked with everything guests need. I am already thinking about when I can visit again, soon! You'll be very glad and grateful you chose Autumn Ridge!

View more reviews for this inn


Dec16 Stay at Autumn Ridge Cottages (Lexington, Virginia)

5 reviewed on December 14, 2016

I've been visiting Autumn ridge for about 6 years and this is one of my favorite spots to get some R&R. Accommodations are outstanding and Norm and Barb are great hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing stay at Applewood Inn & Llama Trekking (Lexington, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 29, 2016

We had a fantastic three-night stay in the cottage with our three children (ages 15, 8, and 5) and our three year old German Shepherd. The property is beautiful, and we all enjoyed visiting with the Llamas. The cottage was impeccably clean, and completely outfitted with anything you could possibly need for cooking (herbs, spices, pots and pans, etc.) Upon our arrival, the inn owners had stocked our refrigerator with a couple dozen eggs, bacon, juice, soda, and fruit. It was incredibly appreciated after traveling 9 hours from CT with a car full of hungry kids. Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful property!

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely LOVE this (our) place!! at Autumn Ridge Cottages (Lexington, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 15, 2016

This is the fourth time my wife and I have stayed here...going back to 2005. We continue to return because of the beauty and isolation that Autumn Ridge provides. There are two other cabins in the nearby vicinity. But, the cabins were all constructed in such a way that makes each of them hidden from view of the others. Also, each time we stay there we are treated with God's beauty and wildlife...from deer to hawks to wild turkeys. The surrounding area is very quaint and low key. The nearby colleges and military institute help to increase the feelings of nostalgia each time we visit. The "Main Street" look and feel lined with AWESOME restaurants make Lexington a "must return" time and time again. The owners, Norm and Barb are ALWAYS super responsive when we've made reservations. We have never had to contact them during our stay with any issue. However, during our stay I have touched base to let them know how much we were enjoying everything - - ESPECIALLY the hand-carved swinging bench that over-looks the mountains in the distance.

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful getaway at Applewood Inn & Llama Trekking (Lexington, Virginia)

4.4 reviewed on November 09, 2016

Beautiful, out-of-the-way setting, nestled among rolling hills and a picturesque creek, with views of the Blue Ridge mountains. Linda and Chris are excellent hosts and the breakfasts were very delicious. The llamas were an added bonus. Nearby Lexington has a lot of unique little shops and restaurants. This was our second time to stay here and will not be the last.

View more reviews for this inn


Superb Romantic Retreat at Autumn Ridge Cottages (Lexington, Virginia)

4.2 reviewed on October 31, 2016

My husband and I arrived at the cottage for our Honeymoon and were utterly delighted with our stay. It was stocked with kitchen items and fabulous suggestions for local restaurants. It was the perfect mix of isolation for us to leisurely recoup and close accessibility to quaint Lexington. We explored the neighboring state park and enjoyed the fireplace every night! Thank you for such a lovely environment.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

4.4 reviewed on October 26, 2016

We spent 2 nights at the Herring Hall. Despite a very later arrival, we were greeted with complimentary sangria and homemade pound cake (out of this world!).We stayed in the General room which is rather large and has a private bathroom. The bed there was a bit too firm for me, so make sure to ask ahead and book a different room if you prefer a softer mattress. The breakfast was delicious both mornings - freshly baked rolls and southern cuisine main dishes accompanied by fresh vegetables from the owners' garden and locally produced jams and jellies. Anne was very helpful with recommendations about local restaurants and places to visit. Great stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic Weekend at Hill Crest Inn at Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast (Clifton Forge, VA)

5 reviewed on October 21, 2016

We could not have asked for a better atmosphere for our mini-vacation! The accommodations were fantastic. Bruce and Martha were wonderful "hosts" and so easy to talk with. The food was out of this world. We can't wait to go back again.

View more reviews for this inn


Herring Hall, Natural Bridge, VA at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on October 20, 2016

Beautiful, Historic Federalist Mansion, Excellent Service & Breakfast, Gracious Hostess and Staff, Beautiful and Serene Location............A great stay of 3 nights! Near Lexington, Lynchburg, and Natural Bridge State Park. New winery just opened a few miles away on a high hill with fantastic mountain views!

View more reviews for this inn


Comfortable, Clean, and Wonderful Food! at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

4.8 reviewed on October 18, 2016

Anne was very accommodating and friendly. The entire place was very clean and the breakfast was delicious! Only recommendation is to balance the ceiling fan in the "blue" room. I plan to return soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Nice memories this weekend at Sugar Tree Inn (Vesuvius, Virginia)

3.8 reviewed on October 16, 2016

Very nice weekend trip. Innkeepers are very nice and professional. Great having a stocked fireplace. Be sure to hike Crabtree falls.

View more reviews for this inn


First B&B experience & it was awesome!! at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

5 reviewed on October 12, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The house was VERY clean and the service was phenomenal. We will definitely return to Herring Hall.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay at The Hummingbird Inn (Goshen, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 05, 2016

I booked this for my husband's birthday. We had such a great time. The inn itself was charming and the location was beautiful. The owners were wonderful - great cooks and overly accommodating to our needs. The bed in our room was the best bed I've ever slept in. I loved this place and can't wait to come back!

View more reviews for this inn


Very pleased! at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

4.8 reviewed on September 29, 2016

These are some very lovely people to deal with. Packed with history this bed and breakfast was a great get away! I would recommend and go to Herring Hall again!

View more reviews for this inn


Would stay here again at Autumn Ridge Cottages (Lexington, Virginia)

4.2 reviewed on September 28, 2016

Great cabin. Nice. Clean. Everything provided. Extremely roomy and comfortable bed & bedding. Awesome location and beautiful too. The water smelled bad, like sulfur, but tolerable. Stink bugs were horrible but owners had treated. Seemed to be an area wide problem. We did not have a good experience dining out at all (Salernos, do not recommend. Nice staff. Nasty food.) good access to Kroger. We cooked at cabin the next night, had everything we needed. Would for sure stay here again. Recommend!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Rockbridge County's Finest at Herring Hall (Natural Bridge, VA)

4.8 reviewed on September 17, 2016

The beauty and history of the "Seven Hills of Rockbridge County" is personified in Herring Hall. Built in 1812, you will find a warm and welcoming place to stay from Ms. Annie Herring, whose family home becomes yours during your stay. The hospitality and charm of this Inn make it a place you will want to go to. The service and price will make it the only place you will want to stay when you visit the county!

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

5 reviewed on September 12, 2016

Really nice cottage. So relaxing and beautiful. Caught two fish! Breakfast was gourmet delicious

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful Getaway at Applewood Inn & Llama Trekking (Lexington, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on September 08, 2016

Wonderfully relaxing weekend at Applewood Inn. Chris and Linda were terrific hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Autumn Ridge Cottages Awesome at Autumn Ridge Cottages (Lexington, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 29, 2016

We tried other places but none have been better. Autumn Ridge is the best. Always neat, clean and just perfect. We highly recommend staying here

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful retreat at Sugar Tree Inn (Vesuvius, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 21, 2016

Words to describe this establishment are peaceful, tranquil, beautiful, comfortable, and unique. It embodies relaxation as you are off the beaten path, nesteld in the George Washington national Forest, and emersed in nature. There are great hiking trails right here on the property, and breakfast is amazing. Becky and Jeff are gifted in making you feel right at home. I highly recommend a visit!

View more reviews for this inn


The Perfect Getaway in the Mountains at Sugar Tree Inn (Vesuvius, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 01, 2016

We wanted to spend our vacation in a location that was away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Sugar Tree delivered with a stunning and secluded location in the mountains! We were thoroughly pleased with staying in the Creek House and enjoyed having our own cabin in the woods with the peaceful sound of running water from the creek that greets you down the driveway. The country breakfasts were also the perfect to start a day of relaxing or adventuring to the Safari, one of the many breweries and wineries, or visiting the nearby historic and natural attractions. Thank you to Becky, Jeff, and the staff for a wonderful week away from home! We didn't want to leave!

View more reviews for this inn


Just Heaven at The Hummingbird Inn (Goshen, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on July 23, 2016

My daughter and I had a magic stay at the Hummingbird Inn. The owner is warm, charming and made us feel so welcome. Everything was just perfect. I will go out of my way to stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


B&B where you provide the breakfast! at Autumn Ridge Cottages (Lexington, Virginia)

4.4 reviewed on July 20, 2016

These cottages are very nice and quite secluded, yet only a few minutes from restaurants and shops in Lexington or the Blur Ridge Parkway in the other direction. We particularly liked the new bench swing a short walk from our cabin where we enjoyed the view of the mountains each night as the sun went down. Our cabin had everything we needed to enjoy quiet week alone. No daily maid service as at a hotel, but that wasn't a problem. It was actually nice to not have to worry about anyone coming around every day.

View more reviews for this inn


So Peaceful! at Applewood Inn & Llama Trekking (Lexington, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 18, 2016

From the beautiful drive to the inn, to the views from the property, to the comfortable and lovely rooms, the place just soothes the soul.

View more reviews for this inn


beautiful and secluded at Sugar Tree Inn (Vesuvius, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2016

Our stay was extraordinary! and the service was enhanced by the delightful assistance of Riley and Alison! The breakfasts were abundant to say the least, not to mention delicious. Our evening meal was also delicious. The venue is close to so many outdoor activities and right off the Blue Ridge Parkway as well as museums, wineries, breweries and fine dining smack in the middle between Lexington and Staunton. An excellent experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely place at Applewood Inn & Llama Trekking (Lexington, Virginia)

5 reviewed on June 30, 2016

Very beautiful Place in the nature. Very friendly inn Keeper.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend Getaway from DC at Steeles Tavern Manor and Alpine Hideaway Cottages (Steeles Tavern, Virginia)

5 reviewed on June 17, 2016

It's incredible to think this little hideaway is such a short drive outside of DC, but once you're on the property you feel like you are in an entirely different world. My boyfriend and I stayed at Steeles Tavern for a weekend (Friday - Sunday) and were blown away at the property, the amount of activities to do, and the warm hospitality from Ray and Melissa. The house was impeccable and so inviting. Our room was so spacious and clean. I think they must have newly renovated the bathroom because the double shower heads were so nice! The sheets and robes were so soft and the bed slept like a dream! The food was nothing short of amazing. I have a gluten allergy and Melissa went above and beyond to make me feel included. The gluten-free options she made are nothing short of amazing and my boyfriend even stated that everything "tasted like the real deal". We look forward to coming back very soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Go for the Llamas! at Applewood Inn & Llama Trekking (Lexington, Virginia)

3.6 reviewed on June 11, 2016

This is in a lovely, peaceful part of VA. The drive onto their property by a creek is amazing and beautiful. We were the only guests there so it was quiet. The rooms are spotless some of the décor a bit dated with a "country" feel. There is no wifi as far as we could tell. Chris and Linda are nice to talk to and don't get in the way of you having privacy. The llamas were the highlight for us. Funny animals with a gentle way about them. The llama trek make it unique from other B and Bs

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}