Recent Reviews in Lewes, Delaware

Fantastic historic b&b at Governor'S B&B (Milton, Delaware)

5 reviewed on May 10, 2017

The governors b&b was a fantastic historic place to stay. I love how cozy the room was. I slept fantastic while I was there. The breakfast was fantastic as well! The b&b is walking distance to anything in town. I really enjoyed sitting on the front porch with my computer and working. Very peaceful!

View more reviews for this inn


Very relaxing at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on April 22, 2017

We did a last minute booking at the Covered Bridge. Ingrid is warm, friendly and very accommodating. The B+B is extremely clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great. Very relaxing and only minutes from of the hustle and bustle of the highway in Lewes.Can't say thing else except try it you'll love it. We'll be back.

View more reviews for this inn


It just keeps getting better! at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on April 15, 2017

Stayed again at the Covered Bridge Inn (think this is the fifth reservation we've made) and innkeeper Ingrid keeps finding ways and touches to improve an already perfect experience. Creative, innovative and delicious breakfasts, scrupulously clean rooms, honey from the family beekeeper and amenities galore. She even arranged some spectacular sunsets as the backdrop to the covered bridge!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing mother/daughter weekend getaway at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on April 11, 2017

I cannot say enough about this picturesque B and B in Lewes. My mom and I spent a long weekend in Lewes and this was truly the perfect place to call home for a few days. From the gourmet breakfasts prepared by Ingrid each morning, to the room decor and amenities, it's an ideal getaway. Ingrid thought of EVERY detail. We are already planning our trip back. Ingrid also offers a dairy farm tour- it was SOOOO much fun and incredibly informative. A must do while here. In addition, the B and B is centrally located. It's a quick ride to all the best spots in the area - 15 minutes to Lewes downtown, 15 minutes to dogfish head brewery, and 15 to surrounding beach towns. Though there's so much to do in the area we also enjoyed our time just exploring the farm - there are walking trails, the bridge, a fire pit area, and a porch lined w rocking chairs. Last but not least, the farm is home to Delaware's largest creamery. The on site ice cream shop is a MUST!!! Thank you so much for an AMAZING stay!!

View more reviews for this inn


Great weekend! at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on February 05, 2017

What I though I heard was OMG! He was awesome! (which I was), but what she really said when describing our just completed weekend was OMG! IT was awesome! The "it" being the Covered Bridge Inn which is the fantastic B&B creation of Ingrid Hopkins Glassmeyer. The Inn itself, was the original farmhouse for the Hopkins family and it's been in the family since the early 1800's. It sits on 500+ acres and is part of the family's working dairy farm. When Ingrid decided to convert the farmhouse into a B&B, she spent over a year doing the planning, demo and renovations. Let me tell you. It shows! The resulting product is really something to see. Each room has it's own theme and is a designer's masterpiece. From the accessories, to the color choices and furniture, to the bedding and lighting. It's all quite beautiful and comfortable. There are certain key pieces in each room that were made from original parts of the farmhouse. It's really cool and I left there being totally impressed with Ingrid and her capabilities. I would highly recommend checking out the place. You can't go wrong with any of the rooms. Ingrid, herself, is warm and friendly. The breakfasts are great and then there is the ice cream which is homemade at the dairy. It may be the best you will ever have. Give the place a try. You'll love it!

View more reviews for this inn


Christmas Vacation at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on January 08, 2017

Really enjoyed our stay. It was great getting to know a little of the history of the farm from Ingrid. Loved the jams as well!

View more reviews for this inn


Covered Bridge Inn - Great Country Getaway at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

4.8 reviewed on November 28, 2016

The Covered Bridge Inn is located at a family dairy farm. The inn is tastefully decorated. I stayed in the Harvest Room, and it is spacious and comfortable. The second floor common area is an added bonus. Breakfast is delicious and typically includes pastries/breads upon which you can spread jams and creamed honey that are made on-site. Another "to-die-for" treat is the homemade ice cream in the fridge available as a snack for guests. Heed this advice - if you go out to dinner, don't order dessert. Save room for the ice cream.

View more reviews for this inn


Definitely Coming Back!!! at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on November 06, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our one-year anniversary at the Covered Bridge Inn and it was simply perfect! The room we stayed in was so cozy and full of personality. One of our favorite parts of the trip was the absolutely delicious breakfasts that Ingrid made, and we really loved our morning chats with her and Amy. Such a nice family with a beautiful farm! We bought some honey, jam and lotion so we could continue to enjoy the many perks of visiting this lovely bed and breakfast. We will surely be back! Love,.Heather and Josiah

View more reviews for this inn


Plan your getaway now! at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

4.8 reviewed on November 02, 2016

We had a family week-end to celebrate a special birthday. It was a lovely week-end. Though we have stayed in B & B's before, but this was the best experience we have had. The Inn has been lovingly and painstakingly created. The setting is bucolic. The rooms are lovely. The art throughout is special to the region. The breakfasts are delicious... really delicious. This is also a family affair, with Ingrid's brother's ice cream, and Ingrid's sisters candles and lotions and jams. And delicious, delicious whipped honey. Fortunately, all are available for purchase, but it's all low key. We will definitely be returning. Thank you, Ingrid.

View more reviews for this inn


A MUST SEE IN PERSON! at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on October 31, 2016

I spent weeks scrolling through pictures on the Covered Bridge Inn B&B site and their Facebook page in anticipation for our reservation. When our stay finally arrived, I was blown away by how breath taking the house and our room was in person that words and pictures just don't do it justice. The house is a MUST see in person and is beautifully renovated from top to bottom on a lovely farmstead that made for an amazing get-away. The property also has accessible walking trails which was a perfect activity after Ingrid, the InnKeeper, spoiled us with fresh pastries, breads and a home-cooked entrée for breakfast. Ingrid also went above and beyond to make everyone at the Inn feel welcomed, full and like family. I'm already counting down the days until I can make a trip back for another stay! :)

View more reviews for this inn


The Best Vacation Ever!!!! at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on October 30, 2016

What a wonderful weekend stay at The Covered Bridge Inn. My weekend started on a Friday arriving at the Inn and Ingrid welcomed us with the biggest smile I have ever witnessed! The tour of the Inn was outstanding. The amount of history of the property and the wood work and restoration was absolutely fantastic. The breakfast was top notch. Ingrid swears she didn't take cooking lessons. But the breakfast along with the fresh breads and pastries were to die for. I highly recommend The Covered Bridge Inn!!

View more reviews for this inn


Our Stay at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on October 23, 2016

Our family had a wonderful stay at the Covered Bridge Inn. Ingrid is a wonderful hostess and made us feel like one of the family. The breakfast and goodies were exceptional. Ingrid used fresh items from the farm for her cooking. We received very delicious ice cream daily from her brother's ice cream store. The beds were very comfortable. The parlor was very relaxing. We are looking forward to our next trip back. Gil,Jo,and Rachel

View more reviews for this inn


Exceeded all my expectations! at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on October 11, 2016

From the moment we drove up, we knew we'd made the right decision. The Covered Bridge Inn is cozy and rustic and warm and inviting! It was a rainy day, but we were welcomed into Ingrid's beautiful farm house with open arms. The room was better than pictured. Every detail in the house was thought through and nothing was left wanting, except perhaps a little chest of drawers for our clothes. Our stay included and wonderful room where everything was themed, clean, and detailed, breakfast, handmade by Ingrid and incredibly delicious, bottled water, soda, tea and coffee any time day or night, free ice cream made at the creamery down the road from the cow owned by the farm's dairy! We got exceptional advice on where to go for dinner and had a purely magical time! We will definitely be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect For Our Wedding Weekend! at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on October 09, 2016

My husband and I, along with our wedding party, stayed at the Covered Bridge Inn for our wedding weekend. To say our stay was perfect would be an understatement. 5 stars can't capture all that Ingrid did to make our special weekend amazing. Leading up to our special day, Ingrid was in contact with us at the perfect times and made me feel so reassured. I knew that we had nothing to worry about with our stay (which for me means a lot because I am great at worrying!) From the moment we walked in the door, all of our stress and worries melted away. The details that Ingrid incorporated were phenomenal and made us feel so incredibly special. From champagne, to copies of the newspapers relating to our wedding, to the most delicious snacks and breakfasts, to the decorations we would come home to, to the best happy hour ice cream ever - it was all beyond amazing and wonderful!! Ingrid literally thought of everything and made our wedding so special and memorable. Words cannot express how much we appreciate Ingrid and her kindness and talent. We will never forget our wedding weekend and everything Ingrid did to make it so magical!! We can't wait to spend our anniversaries at the Covered Bridge Inn! Love, Lea & Chris

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Choice - cozy and comfortable! at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on October 04, 2016

My husband and I, along with friends spent two nights the weekend of September 9th at The Covered Bridge Inn. We stumbled on this B&B while searching on the Internet for one in the area of Milton DE. It was an absolute wonderful find! Ingrid was such a gracious hostess and her breakfasts were delicious! The B&B was beautifully decorated and our rooms were immaculate. Ingrid was so welcoming and made us feel totally at home! She shared with us the history of the Hopkins Dairy Farm and how the B&B came to be. Our stay at The Covered Bridge Inn was a wonderful experience! The Covered Bridge Inn was without a doubt the best B&B we have stayed in.

View more reviews for this inn


The Best of Both Worlds! at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

4.8 reviewed on October 04, 2016

What a Find! A Country Farm House in the middle of corn fields.....quiet, peaceful....yet just minutes away from shopping, restaurants and the Delaware beaches! Ingrid has poured her heart and soul into making this B&B the best of its' kind! Simple, comfortable, country. From the "COMPHY" sheets (really....nothing is more luxurious), the afternoon ICE CREAM made at her brother's creamery on the other side of the farm to the walking trails through the cornfields, and the rocking chair porch!. We loved every minute of our time there & will definitely be coming back!

View more reviews for this inn


Historic Peaceful Getaway at Governor'S B&B (Milton, Delaware)

4.8 reviewed on October 03, 2016

The Governor's B&B is an historic B&B (circa 1790). It was my first experience with a B&B, and my boyfriend's second, so I really didn't know what to expect. I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay in September. Bill and Debbie are gracious hosts.....very warm and welcoming. The antique furnishings were absolutely beautiful! It was a quiet, peaceful, relaxing stay. The homemade breakfasts were delicious. Each morning we would come down the stairs and hear the soft music playing (we actually danced at one point) and the aroma of the breakfast being prepared was mouthwatering. Bill and Debbie restored the house about 40 years ago. There was an album that we were able to browse through to see the before, during and after photos. Amazing!

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful inn in Lewes! at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

4.8 reviewed on August 29, 2016

This inn is so lovely in so many ways. It is in a beautifully renovated farmhouse on a real farm. The innkeeper, Ingrid, is bubbly and welcoming. The beekeeper, Amy, is full of interesting information and gave us an impromptu talk on all things bees. The furnishings and decorations are perfect for the setting - very HGTV's Fixer Upper. The breakfast was delicious and freshly prepared. There is a variety of ice cream from their brother's ice cream stand available at all times for scooping in the breakfast area fridge.It is spotlessly clean and thoughtfully arranged. We stayed at the inn as a group of friends for a birthday weekend. We will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect layover at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on August 23, 2016

We were on our way from the Outer Banks, NC to DC and we found this B&B. Great rooms, food and inn-keeper. Just remodeled...very up to date! Close to the Atlantic, but away from the fray. A piece of Americana. Highly recommended!

View more reviews for this inn


Comfortable, Beautiful, Friendly, and Relaxing at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on August 13, 2016

After a rather hectic summer filled with moving and working, my husband and I are so happy to have chosen to stay at this truly lovely bed and breakfast. As I love the atmosphere of a beach town and my husband is more of a country boy, the Covered Bridge Inn was a perfect combination of coastal living and country hospitality. Throw into the mix farm fresh ice cream, tasty honey, a cool breeze on a warm summer night, and decor that would make Chip and Joanna Gaines proud, and you're bound to have a beautiful stay. Ingrid and family have obviously put their heart and soul into this inn and it really shows.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing and beautiful b&b at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on August 13, 2016

We absolutely loved our stay at the Covered Inn. The place itself is beautiful and a perfect place to relax. The food was amazing, I dream of the strawberry French toast and the cookie dough ice cream. The rooms were tastefully decorated and incredibly comfortable. We went for an anniversary trip and it exceeded our expectations. I would recommend the inn to anyone wanting a relaxing vacation.

View more reviews for this inn


Rustic & Elegant and overall Amazing at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on August 11, 2016

I took my 19 year old daughter on an overnight shopping trip which included a night at this amazing B&B! As soon as we pulled into the driveway we knew we had picked a great one! We were not disappointed! Inside decor is rustic and elegant. This place is SUPER clean and smells amazing! The attention to details really made a difference. We loved the homemade icecream (from their very own dairy farm). The Inn Keeper, Ingrid is down to earth and makes the most amazing breakfast. I was shocked to see my daughter eat every last bit of food during breakfast - that never happens. We are determined to recreate the amazing omlet Ingrid served us. Homemade scones need to be mentioned as well - the best I've ever had! We stayed in the Harvast room which was decorated perfectly and had an amazing view of the corn fields. We already ordered refills of the lotion, shampoo and conditioner they provided - smells wonderful. I can honestly say I would not change a thing about this Inn! Our only disappointment - we wished we would have booked another night! I hated to leave but will absolutely be returning so I can stay in every room! Thank you for helping to make our mother / daughter trip perfect!

View more reviews for this inn


One of the Best B&B's We've Ever Been To!! at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on August 10, 2016

My husband and I fell in love with the Covered Bridge Inn from the moment we drove up to the front door. Surrounded by farmland vistas, this pristinely restored 1830s era farmhouse has soul, and was gorgeous from the inside and out. We found the Covered Bridge Inn online on a whim for a long weekend getaway, a meeting ground for us (Connecticut) and our two dear friends (Maryland). Inside, we were greeted instantly by Ingrid's warm hospitality, and were excited by her enthusiasm for the home's deep-rooted family history. I'm a DIY-er and decorator, and was smitten with so many choices they made in the renovation: old doors were made into statement headboards and welcome chalkboards, original brick fireplaces were uncovered, the first single pane windows were repurposed as wall decoration; it was a pleasant view no matter where you turned. We loved our rooms – Henlopen & Honey Bee – and found that sleeping was a dream, too!! Then the food! Oh my goodness, the food. This is such a major plus in any of our B&B quests, but the Covered Bridge Inn takes the cake. Every morning, the welcome chalkboard was updated with the who, the where, and what's for breakfast. Breakfast is made in-house, and many of the ingredients were locally-sourced or picked from Amy's (Ingrid's sister) garden outside. Fresh house-made jams, baked goods, and honey from Amy's apiary grace the continental side of things, and then one outstanding breakfast plate awaits you as well. Not to mention, they have a few pints of delectable ice cream from the family creamery stashed in the common fridge. Just saying. The Inn is situated in the countryside, but in close proximity to Lewes (10-20 min) and Rehoboth Beach (15-30 min). If need be, we summoned several Uber cars with ease. Ahhh, this really was one of the best B&B's we've ever been to!! We will recommend the Covered Bridge Inn to anyone, and have already done so whenever we rave about our great weekend getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


Country Charm at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on August 10, 2016

My clients spent two nights here while they discovered life in Lewes and felt it exceeded their expectations. They invited us in to take a peek and I was impressed too. The owner's attention to detail is evident everywhere you look. I would highly recommend to any of my clients and friends who are looking for a B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent stay at the CBI at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

4.8 reviewed on August 03, 2016

Never been to a B&B before and my first taste has been everlasting. We stayed in the Harvest room for 2 nights and our friends stayed in the Honey Bee room. I don't think you can go wrong with either room. Unfortunately the other 2 rooms were occupied so I could not investigate, but I assume they are lovely as well. The entire remodel of the house was excellent. Everything is clean and welcoming beginning with the innkeeper, Ingrid. Ingrid was perfect throughout our stay. She is friendly, engaging, respectful, and attentive without being overzealous or intrusive. When you check in, Ingrid gives you an overview of the site, describing the history of the Covered Bridge Inn building as well as the amenities available. There are a variety of treats to munch on throughout the day and there is always soda, water, coffee, and popcorn available. At night, ice cream is available from the Hopkins creamery. Breakfast is cooked each morning and although we will eat anything, Ingrid is sensitive to anyone with restrictive or particular diets. Everything I ate there was delicious, but I loved the scones and jam. The Harvest room itself is very nicely appointed. Super comfortable king bed with ample amount of pillows. I would have laid in here all day. There is Directv and WiFi available as well as a binder with information about the site. The bathroom is cozy, but is stocked with towels and various toiletries. Make sure you explore the grounds as there is a fire pit out back, a front porch with rocking chairs, and even a short designated trail to hike that also takes out by the RC Airplane field where a local club partakes. The only thing I was disappointed in was that she made strawberry french toast with bacon the day after we left. Sadness. Uber is readily available for anyone who doesn't want to drive to the local beaches.

View more reviews for this inn


Cant wait to plan our next vist!! : ) at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on August 02, 2016

Being greeted by name was the first indication of the warm friendly atmosphere we experienced with our short one night stay. Ingrid was happy to see us and she gave us an interesting and historical tour of this beautiful farm house. We stayed in the Hopkins Room and it was spotless and felt perfect. Tony and I went into town for dinner and then stopped at Hopkins Farm Creamery for some of the best ice cream we ever ate!!! We went back to the Inn and ate it on the welcoming porch. We sat there for a long while just listening to the quietness, calmness, peacefulness. We got up the next day to a smiling Ingrid and a yummy breakfast......How can you go wrong with French toast, strawberries and bacon!! We took a walk around the farm and visited the Barn and Covered Bridge. The only thing wrong with the visit was it was TOO short.!! Ingrid, we can't wait to see you again soon......Traci & Tony

View more reviews for this inn


A place to unwind at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on August 01, 2016

We stayed for one night at The Covered Bridge Inn, but we wish it had been longer. The inn is a charming old farmhouse that has been in the innkeeper's family for well over a century. It is newly renovated, but retains a rustic country-chic charm that is truly inviting. This place boasts some terrific amenities including complementary ice cream, an on-site hiking trail, and a terrific breakfast! Everything was spotless and our room was very comfortable. My favorite activity was roaming the old barn on the property. This was the perfect place to unwind on the last night of our fast-paced road trip through Virginia, Maryland, and Delaware.

View more reviews for this inn


It felt like home! at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

4.8 reviewed on August 01, 2016

My husband and I were guests at this beautiful Inn this past weekend. Ingrid, the owner, was very welcoming and friendly! The house and room were immaculate, beautifully decorated and extremely inviting! We were especially pleased with our room, the bed was comfortable and all the amenities we needed were provided! We were able to walk the grounds and explore the barns, which was nice! If you visit on a weekend and happen to be there Saturday morning between 9 a.m. and Noon, be sure to go say hello to the "Fly Boys!" Charming fellows with tons of knowledge about the area AND remote control planes! We did not use the fire pit provided outside (because it was pushing 90 degrees), but surely this is an added bonus in the Fall, Winter and Spring! Snacks and drinks (both hot and cold) are readily available at all hours, and this includes ice cream from her brother's dairy down the street! Ingrid's homemade treats were amazing, especially the blueberry and cinnamon breads! I really can't think of one thing amiss or unpleasant! Hopefully you will get to meet Ingrid's sister, Amy, who is the resident Beekeeper and great to talk to. The honey her bees provide is quite delicious! Unfortunately, we did not get to meet their dad, Walter, who (we heard from everyone) is a wonderful man! This just means we are forced to return - and we will be extremely happy to do so!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Group Getaway to the Beach! at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on July 25, 2016

I brought my wife and her friends out to rehoboth for a fun and relaxing weekend and this place knocked it out of the park. When we arrived, Ingrid had our rooms ready and a wonderful selection of sweets and refreshments available in the dining area. The ladies were In Love with the charm and design of every aspect of the house and decor. My wife and I stayed in the Harvest Room. This room featured a wonderful chandelier, a wonderful view of the fields in front of the B&B, a modern styled bathroom with a wonderful shower, and an exceptionally comfy bed. Our friends stayed in the Henlopen Room, this beachy room was perfect for them as it featured two very nice beds and a garden tub. This room also featured a cool chandelier and some really neat floor level windows that generated a lot of nice lighting. After a wonderful night of sleep, we cruised downstairs for Ingrid's made to order summer scramble with bacon. It was delicious! There were local jellies and honey for the wide variety of baked goods, some fruits, and of course the very convenient coffee maker. After filling up, we took advantage of the Inn's great location to hit the beach. At around 10am, on a Saturday in mid-July, in the middle of a heat wave, the drive to rehoboth beach only took about 25 minutes from Inn to parking spot! Very easy drive that let's you sneak around a lot of the big traffic snares. I didn't check, but it seemed like a lot of the great Delaware beaches would have also been super accessible. In summary, we had a great stay! I have done a few rehoboth trips before and when I was planning this one, I was deciding between this B&B and hotels slightly closer to the beach and I have to say that I don't regret a thing. Wonderful rooms, wonderful food, a wonderful location, and wonderful service really made our whole trip a great combination of fun in the sun and gentle relaxation. My dear wife has already threatened me with requirements of return trips in the future!

View more reviews for this inn


Elegance with Farmhouse Charm at Covered Bridge Inn (Lewes, DE)

5 reviewed on July 24, 2016

Covered Bridge Inn has combined Farm House charm with Elegance.. Michael and I stayed in the Hopkins Room.. I was immediately in love!! Everything you would expect in an upscale hotel given to you with an added farmhouse feel and look.. So homey and comfy. Pillows as plush as clouds and sheets so soft in that ohhh sooo comfy bed.. I slept like a queen.. Breakfast was made to order and the mimosa was absolutely perfect with the yummy jellies and muffins. You haven't been to the best B&B til you've stayed at The Covered Bridge Inn. Thank you Ingrid for your wonderful hospitality. You have definitely raised the bar of a bed and breakfast with the farmhouse charm combined with elegance. Michael and Ledia

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}