John Thomas Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room5.0
  • Service5.0
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness5.0
  • Onsite Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
33 Reviews

Write A Review

Vintage Perfection

5 on October 29, 2017

John Thomas Salon Bed & Breakfast is GORGEOUS. It's quaint location gives you all the privacy you may need while still being close to "Antique Alley" Downtown West Monroe. The rooms are decorated exquisitely from top to bottom and provide a wonderful feel of Vintage Luxury.


John Thomas House Bed & Breakfast is the best!

4.6 on October 18, 2017

We recently stayed in the carriage house and were impressed with the decor and how well the room was equipped to meet our every need. Sitting in the outdoor patio area was relaxing. This establishment is well run and sets the bar of a quality B&B.


Exceeded expectations

4.8 on October 16, 2017

Everything about this stay was excellent--from booking to checkout. John has paid extraordinary attention to the details that make a stay enjoyable and relaxing, and he was extremely helpful, but respectful. Don't think twice about booking here; you'll be glad you did.


The Art of Hospitality

5 on October 16, 2017

My two adult daughters and I met in West Monroe for a week-end girls' get-away. Neither of them had ever lodged at a B & B before, and their first experience blew them away! My oldest daughter and her husband travel quite a bit, and she exclaimed that she would definitely be exploring the B & B option on future excursions. I did caution her, however, that the service we received at JT B & B is quite above the norm. John was the perfectly gracious host, despite dealing with a tremendous personal loss at the time of our stay (My heartfelt condolences, John.) His designer's eye was evident everywhere, from the guest rooms, to the parlor, to the front garden. Breakfast was elegant, delicious, and imaginative. The entire home was immaculate, and the beds were simply luscious! If you are looking at this home on Google, and see the train track two houses down, do not let that discourage you from staying here! Trains are not allowed to blow horns in this area, and I promise the noise of the train is VERY minimal. My sleep was not disturbed, and both of my daughters said they never heard it, either. It's close enough to walk to the salons, restaurants, and antique shops, and the sumptuously appointed front porch welcomes you back like an old friend. A wonderful visit!


great time

4.4 on September 17, 2017

Nice quiet & peaceful stay. John was very pleasant and helpful with local attractions, yet he was not intrusive during our stay. The room was extremely comfortable and very well appointed with period furniture. The snacks provided were really appreciated as we were going to hike at Poverty Point. The location is convenient to local attractions. We definitely recommend a stay at John Thomas B&B. Thanks again John for a pleasant stay.


Hidden gem in north LA

4.4 on August 18, 2017

Attended a wedding in the area. We were able to stay as a family. Site was clean and attention to detail great. Definitely recommend and would stay again! Did not eat on site so could not score it.


The best thing in West Monroe

5 on August 18, 2017

I must confess that I was not excited to attend a wedding in West Monroe because I never really enjoy staying in that town. Then my family found out about John Thomas B&B and it changed everything! This home is remarkable-historic but well kept, beautifully decorated, and so cozy. It is clean, comfortable, and well-stocked with forgotten toiletries and plenty of snacks! John Thomas is a most gracious host, and it was such a pleasure spending the weekend at his B&B. I will recommend this to anyone wishing to find a bright spot in West Monroe!


Highlight of my weekend

5 on August 18, 2017

Family gatherings are often a stressful event--especially while pregnant. John Thomas's B&B offered a quiet refuge in the midst of a hurricane of a wedding weekend. My sister and I--both pregnant--were able to spend time in incredibly comfortable and clean beds. And we were able to get ready for the wedding in comfort at our own pace. I haven't been many places that offer Nextflix availability for their guests, and my husband is still talking about that and the amazing bed we slept in. The house is gorgeous and easy to find. The decor was artful and pleasant, and John Thomas must be the most hospitable man in north Louisiana. He had muffins and cookies ready for us every morning and even gave us a short history on the house and antiques inside. Truly his service and this home are spectacular. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in the Monroe/West Monroe area.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to express your appreciation. Was an absolute pleasure hosting your family ...

- John (innkeeper)


This is a perfect place to stay!

5 on May 31, 2017

John has done a outstanding job with this house With all the interesting and lovely details. We will be back.


Great Escape From Family

5 on May 24, 2017

This spot was a little oasis in the middle of a hectic weekend. We were in Monroe for a wedding, and John provided a much needed break from the madness. The house is fantastic, well decorated, updated, and quaint. Typically, I'd say the porch was the best part, but the breakfast menu stole the show. Great host, great place, would definitely recommend it, and will definitely try to stay there if I find myself in Monroe again.

Innkeeper Response
Your words make me smile... it is always a pleasure hosting my guests... especially a wonderful family like yours! Hope to have the opportunity again sometime.

- John (innkeeper)


Absolutely amazing !

5 on May 06, 2017

Wow is all I can say! From the moment you walk in John is amazing! His attention to the details is amazing! The rooms are uniquely decorated and very comfortable. I think the breakfast surprised me the most, it was like a 5 star restaurant! We felt so welcome and at home! Everything is conveniently located near by! This will be the only place we will stay in Monroe!!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for making my day with your elequent words of appreciation. Hope to host you again soon!

- John (innkeeper)


Wonderful home and fantastic breakfast

5 on May 01, 2017

My family and I rented the entire house and the carriage house. The accommodations are wonderful, but John's breakfast is the highlight.

Innkeeper Response
Whay a classey group! Love making new friends. Thank you all for making my work so pleasurable.

- John (innkeeper)


Amazing Monroe B&B Visit

4.0 on April 30, 2017

John Thomas has been blessed with an amazing gift of hospitality. Before we arrived he communicated with us in expediting our arrival. His lovely home has his meticulous eye for all that will make his guest feel pampered. The colors and decor of the home are bold and sumptuous. Unlike many B&Bs which are distinctly female frills--men and women will equally appreciate his home. The front porch was wonderfully restful with a porch swing and over-sized pillows which nearly convince you to simply remain on the porch for the entire visit. The location is perfect--we walked to shopping, dinner, and lunch. And then there is breakfast prepared for hours and lavishly served by our host. Thank you John Thomas for perfecting the talent of making your guests feel like royalty!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your eloquent words of appreciation. As a guest at JT B&B your words are what matters most. Being my first review below 5 stars I know there is still work to be done. Any words of advice are always welcomed. Hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

- John (innkeeper)


Quiet, relaxing, convenient

5 on April 09, 2017

We are so pleased that we found this little hidden gem tucked away next to the Cotton Port in downtown West Monroe! The house and rooms are beautifully appointed and John Thomas is the perfect host. We loved the quaint atmosphere of days gone by, from the manicured garden and the antique-filled rooms, to the charming shops and historical buildings within a few minutes walk...even down to the train rumbling past periodically throughout the day (no horns are blown along that stretch). We highly recommend the John Thomas Bed & Breakfast to anyone looking for a memorable stay in the Monroe-West Monroe area. Five stars in all categories (we did not take advantage of the dining option, but it smelled divine!).

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at JT B&B. Your words are what matters most as a guest

- John (innkeeper)


Great Bed & Breakfast!

5 on February 22, 2017

Very personable host who is very warm and helpful. Made our stay exceptional! If we're every in Monroe in the future, will definitely stay at the John Thomas Bed & Breakfast! Thanks John.

Innkeeper Response
Always greatly appreciated when a guest takes the time to review your stay with JT B&B. Come again soon

- John (innkeeper)


Beyond Our Expectation and Pleasantly Surprised

5 on February 20, 2017

Our entire experience from booking the room up until the time we left was truly an amazing, beautiful experience. I grew up in West Monroe and I never knew this BnB existed. John's BnB was absolutely stunning. There is a feeling you get as soon as you walk through the front gate and up the porch to the front door that lets you know you will have a very warm stay. John was waiting at the front door for us when we arrived. Our check in was easy and fast. The room was beyond what we expected with complimentary items such as snacks, soft drinks, water, adult beverages, coffee and toiletries are left for you in the bathroom just in case you forgot something. I thought the soft robes were a nice touch as well. He left us homemade cookies the night we checked in so we could have a snack before settling in. John also cooks the most amazing gourmet style breakfast and it was delightful and appetizing. When we woke up Sunday morning, we couldn't wait to see what he would make for us. I would highly suggest getting breakfast w/ your room reservation. If you are looking for a quite, hidden gem of a BnB when you are in West Monroe, this is it. I know that we will always stay here when we visit going forward. S&C


Great Place to Stay

5 on February 16, 2017

My wife and I were in town for a family gathering. The John Thomas Bed and Breakfast made our trip even more special. Not only did we find our room very comfortable and interesting, but the common areas allowed us room to spread out. I must mention the front porch. What a special place to relax and watch the world go by. I'm already looking forward to our next visit.

Innkeeper Response
Pleasure was all mine hosting such a lovely couple. Come again soon.

- John (innkeeper)


Outstanding!

5 on January 01, 2017

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at John's B&B and had a simply wonderful experience! i highly recommend staying here if you are in town; we will definitely stay again. The property has a great location, and is kep up beautifully. And the food and attention to detail, from check in to check out, was outstanding. Highly recommended!

Innkeeper Response
Thank You for your kind words!

- John (innkeeper)


Better than a hotel

5 on July 28, 2016

This was my first time staying at a B&B and I absolutely loved it. Felt like I was staying with a friend. Comfortable, clean, and so gorgeous. The owner cares for his place well, he also care about the comfort of his guests. Room cooled to perfection, decor lovely to just stare at, refrigerator stocked. I have already spread the word of my joyful stay and will continue to because I know I'll be back.

Innkeeper Response
All well worth it.. thank you for the kind words of appreciation. It was a pleasure having you. Please come again soon

- John (innkeeper)


Fantastic place !

5 on July 12, 2016

Very much enjoyed our three night stay . Will stay here next time we are a the area !

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very much for the words of appreciation.

- John (innkeeper)


A Hidden (and LUXURIOUS) Treasure!!!

5 on June 22, 2016

John did not leave a single stone unturned when it came to the details of this amazingly well designed abode. He knocked it out of the park! I feel like I am in a home straight out of a design/decor magazine. Upon my arrival John not only came out to greet me, but helped me unload and carry in all of my things, and I instantly felt right at home with his warmth and charm. He is beyond helpful. I had a few 'special arrangements' I needed help with and John went above and beyond to accommodate my needs. The only thing I can complain about is that I am only staying one night this time!! I am just passing through, but I will be back...asap! This is a half way point between my family in Alabama and my home in Texas. I will FOR SURE stay here every trip I make now. For a trip I usually dread...I now can't wait to make it again! I have stayed in ALOT of beautiful places over the years...but I can honestly say John Thomas Bed & Breakfast is the nicest, most luxurious and COZY one of them all! Thanks John! Your hard work has paid off!

Innkeeper Response
Eloquent words of appreciation! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay

- John (innkeeper)


fantastic place to stay

5 on May 27, 2016

We spent our wedding night at JT B&B before heading off to catch a cruise. Everything about the house and room was detailed and accommodating. Best part was the exquisite breakfast and you can't find a better host anywhere....definitely be back.....

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to show appreciation. Your words are what matters most

- John (innkeeper)


Haven

5 on May 03, 2016

Want for nothing in this amazing home. Johns attention to detail can satisfy even the most discriminating taste. We plan to return soon!

Innkeeper Response
Thank You!!! taking time to review your stay is always appreciated

- John (innkeeper)


Best Kept Secret - Shhh

5 on April 25, 2016

Nestled on a dead end street, this is the place to be. We enjoyed everything! John's B & B was absolutely stunning from the moment you walk into the front garden to laying your head on a very comfy pillow as you retire for the evening. Exceptional and friendly service from John along with the restored beauty and furnishings of this quaint home were such a pleasurable experience. I truly felt at home and cannot wait to come back to visit! Especially to sit on the front porch it was so inviting. Thank you John Thomas, Gina Luzzi

Innkeeper Response
Tell everyone... LOL. Love the review and thank you for the kind words of appreciation. Your words are what matters most.

- John (innkeeper)


Recent stay

5 on March 28, 2016

My wife and I recently stayed at John's bed and breakfast and it was absolutely great from start to finish.... Our room was fantastic and the breakfast and hospitality couldn't have been better....

Innkeeper Response
Return soon. Enjoyed having your both and hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

- John (innkeeper)


Gorgeous home, immaculate, and the finest service

5 on March 23, 2016

Don't miss out on this southern jewel located in the heart of the Twin Cities! Perfectly located between Monroe and West Monroe and so perfectly decorated, you will want to stay here longer.

Innkeeper Response
Words of appreciation are always welcomed. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with JT B&B.

- John (innkeeper)


Excellent!

5 on March 18, 2016

I stayed overnight here on business and I will be returning. This charming B&B is wonderful. The attention to detail is hard to miss! It was a relaxing stay followed up with a delicious breakfast.


Perfect Southern Charm

5 on January 25, 2016

John catered to our every need while we enjoyed unparalleled hospitality during our stay at his B & B. Breakfast was 5 star, the Eggs Benedict and Quiche was extraordinary. And if that was not enough, the muffins upon arrival and the warm muffins at evening were amazing. John takes pride in offering remarkable service, very clean rooms and meals with presentations that are among the greatest chefs anywhere. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back next time in West Monroe. Thank you John. 7

Innkeeper Response
Impressed! Thank you for the review. Its always appreciated when a guest takes the time to review a stay with JT B&B.

- john (innkeeper)


5 Stars in all!

5 on October 30, 2015

John did not leave one thing out when it came to the little extras. Just when u would think you had it all, there was more such as a sewing kit, slippers, pulling our bed down, and even special muffins just for us! I've never been to a b&b that included shaving cream, high end shampoo, or an iPod charging station. The breakfast was outstanding in itself. you won't find a better b&b experience any place else.

Innkeeper Response
Makes my day when a guest takes the time to express gratitude for all the little things going into being a great host. Hope you visit again soon.

- John (innkeeper)


Luxurious B&B

5 on October 24, 2015

The room was luxurious, with any amenity you could possibly want readily available. The breakfast not only tasted amazing, but had the presentation you would expect at a five star restaurant. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a nice retreat in the Twin Cities.


Best B and B

5 on October 19, 2015

Beautiful B&B and great place to stay! Innkeeper was friendly, grewt and also an amazing hairstylist so you can get a fresh new cut or color while enjoying your stay. Also makes an amazing breakfast! Would definitely recommend staying here!


Wow

5 on August 18, 2015

What a treat! From the minute you arrive this place is truly a treasure


Exceeded all my expectations!

5 on August 18, 2015

The b&b has so much character and my room was clean, comfortable and filled with unexpectedly nice amenities. Breakfast was prepared and waiting for me at the time I requested which was amazing and included eggs Benedict, homemade muffins, fruit and coffee. Thank you John for a wonderful stay in your beautiful place!


John Thomas Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $85 - $225
  • Reviews (33) 4.9
  • Rooms 4

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 3185473311

Visit Website »

View details

Top check