La Belle Esplanade Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Onsite Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
134 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful New Orleans boutique B and B

5 on April 12, 2017

This was a unique and wonderful experience. Fantastic breakfasts of local jams, baked goods , cheeses and meats. Wonderful breakfast conversation ! Matthew and Melanie pay excellent attention to detail and gave us great tips on restaurants and events. Staying at LaBelle Esplanade was part the reason we had such a great vacation. I highly recommend this jewel when you stay in New Orleans!


Cozy and Colorful in New Orleans

5 on March 25, 2017

La Belle Esplanade is a colorful and quiet place just outside the French Quarter. The suites are roomy with very high ceilings. Every room has it's own unique story. If you have a problem with a spiral staircase, I would get a room downstairs. Matthew and Melanie are wonderful hosts that tailor the experience to each of their guests. The breakfast each morning goes beyond the traditional fruit and pastry. The take care to pick items that are different each day that gives you a taste of New Orleans along with a story about each item. The house is full of antiques and located on the bus line. It is also no more than a twenty minute walk from the Quarter or City Park. The neighborhood itself has lots to see and learn about. I can't say enough about this wonderful place.


A great place to stay outside of the Quarter

5 on March 14, 2017

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights. Matthew and Melanie are excellent hosts. Very friendly, out-going and willing to help in any way possible. We had an upstairs suite comprised of a sitting room, bedroom, bath and small balcony over-looking Esplanade Ave. The suite also contained a fridge with beer and soft drinks (gratis) and on the table in the sitting room was a tray with 2 glasses, corkscrew and very good bottle of Cab. There was a TV in the sitting room but we never turned it on so I don't know what channels they get. Breakfast every morning was a mixture of cheeses, meats and a variety of pastries, spreads etc. that come from a variety of specialty shops. The breakfast room is warm and friendly. Our hosts would be there in the morning to discuss with us our activities of the previous day and to see what we were planning for that day. They were always able to provide us with excellent suggestions as to places to eat things to see etc.


Wonderful

5 on February 22, 2017

A great place to stay while visiting New Orleans. The hosts are knowledgeable and friendly! Their tips on what to do and see were very helpful. Excellent location and secure parking for our bikes! Breakfast was yummy and included lots of Gluten Free!


Superb!

5 on February 16, 2017

Enjoyed four days/nights at La Belle Esplanade in late January/early February. Wanted to try lodging outside of the typical tourist areas, and LBE exceeded our expectations. Nicely located in the fascinating Treme. Owners Matthew and Melanie do a suburb job providing local color and history; excellent recommendations for walking/touring. Great way to experience a 19th C. New Orleans grand home. Super clean. Love the balcony. Fun breakfasts assembled from local markets and bakeries. LBE was very hard to leave. Just recommended it to a friend. We will be back!


Excellent option for visiting New Orleans

5 on January 06, 2017

Matthew and Melanie run a fantastic operation: beautiful lodgings, top-notch service, great array of breakfast options. La Belle Explanade boasts an aesthetic overall appropriate for the charm and mystery of New Orleans. Highly recommended.


Really is the best place to stay in New Orleans

5 on December 28, 2016

Bright and colorful on the outside, tastefully decorated with antiques on the inside. Spacious comfortable rooms. Gracious, accommodating hosts. Scenic tree lined street. Convenient location .


Lovely everything, correction to previous review

5 on November 27, 2016

The actual inn was wonderful inside and out. You can immediately tell that Matthew and Melanie took careful consideration when decorating not only the common areas but each room individually! The whole place was very representative of what to expect with a trip to New Orleans, whether it's your first or umpteenth time going. Matthew and Melanie were also the best hosts you could ever ask for, they knew exactly what to recommend for every day of our stay. If we already had plans they told us what to do to pass the time; days that we had no clue where we would end up they pointed us in the direction of lovely things we didn't know we wanted to see. We have nothing but lovely things to say about our stay and it's all thanks to Matthew and Melanie, from opening their arms and home to us to all the wonderful sights!


Location, Culture and Value

5 on November 26, 2016

We spent 6 nights in the Pelican suite at this quaint Inn and as guaranteed by our host, Matthew, we were not bored. If you have come to this fascinating city rich with culture, history and life to spend your time in the French Quarter, you should seek accommodation closer to it. If you come to explore the cemeteries, the neighborhoods, the architecture, the cuisine, the parks, the music and museums this Inn is perfectly situated on between City Park and Frenchmen Street, directly on the transit line linking you to the rest of the city. The Inn is the center of three historic homes adjacent to the owners residence which affords guests and their hosts privacy and independence without isolation. Breakfast is a variety of local foods carefully selected and presented by Melanie and Matthew and includes fruit, pastries, artisan breads, cheeses, and meats. Additionally, Melanie surprised us each morning with a hot dish representative of local cuisine. Melanie and Matthew take your experience seriously, and provide excellent advise based on extensive area knowledge. They apprised us daily of local events and activities with a sincere desire to enrich your New Orleans experience based on each guests' individuality. Some guests were sent to participate in parades, others sent to slave museums. We ended up across town at the Rock'n'Bowl (yup) bowling and listening to live Zydeco music watching locals dance (even giving it a try ourselves!). All of this coupled with a welcome bottle of house wine, a fridge with juice and beer, fresh water daily and random free snacks in the lobby! New Orleans is not a cheap city, and for us Canadians the currency sting was lessened by the value we obtained at La Belle Esplanade. Our southern experience exceeded our expectations thanks not only to the friendliest U.S. city we have visited to date but to the special effort and heart Matthew and Melanie put into this business.


wonderful visit

4.2 on November 20, 2016

For those that want the personal touch and a wonderful experience, not just a place to sleep, then this has to be high on your list, it is totally in keeping with the whole New Orleans experience, this choice of accommodation substantially enhanced our stay. Matthew and Melanie are wonderful host and hostess. Matthew met us and gave us a personal guided tour of the premises and top class personalised advice of what to see and where to eat in town. He is truly an amazing character and has a wealth of knowledge that he continued to share at breakfast time and this help enriched our visit to New Orleans; it was just a shame we did not have longer. Melanie compliments Matthew brilliantly. She is also very knowledgeable, keen to share this knowledge and her perspective. She is also extremely thoughtful too. On the day we left, we had to leave early, well before breakfast, and so the night before she prepared picnic parcels for us to take to the airport, and that was really very welcome. Matthew is kind and thoughtful too, on the morning we left, we found him waiting for us in the reception area just in order to help me with our numerous bags and to make sure we didn’t need any further help or assistance. When (not if) we return to New Orleans, this is the only place we will stay! Andy and Mel


La Belle Esplanade - the belle of NOLA

5 on November 18, 2016

Staying at La Belle Esplanade was the highlight of our time in NOLA. Matthew and Melanie are wonderful hosts. Their passion for New Orleans makes breakfast a feast and conversation an enlightenment. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.


B&B Perfection

5 on November 14, 2016

We loved everything from the location to the locally inspired breakfasts to the amazing hosts and all their delightful surprises awaiting you. The best B&B experience we've ever had.


Two day midweek

5 on November 10, 2016

Fantastic experience. Matt and Melanie could not have been more gracious hosts. Easy to get to and easy to acess the French Quarter as well as other New Orleans attractions and dining. Highly recommend it. Already looking forward to another visit.


Fantastic stay

5 on October 27, 2016

I had a great experience staying here. I traveled solo; Matthew and Melanie are fantastic hosts who will guide you to wherever you need or want to go. The breakfast in the morning is not to be missed and definitely heed their suggestions for local eateries! ~am


Fantastic B&B in New Orleans

4.8 on October 23, 2016

MY wife and I stayed here for a 3 day weekend at the end of September. We had a great time! The food - curated choices from neighborhood establishments - included a selection of meats, cheeses, breads, spreads and fruit. It was perfect. The innkeepers are very personable and always quick to offer suggestions for diversions. They tipped us off the the Treme Neighborhood Festival, which was an excellent recommendation. We will definitely stay here again when we come back to New Orleans.


Enchanting and quirky B & B

4.6 on October 22, 2016

Matthew and Melanie were very accommodating, informative and really made our first trip to New Orleans a wonderful experience. They both made us feel so welcome and over breakfast chats gave terrific insight into the real New Orleans, what was going on locally and things that they thought might be of interest to us (not necessarily the regular 'tourist' advice). The accommodation itself was delightful and had everything required to make it comfortable and then some. We loved that it wasn't in the main tourist area but was just a 10 minute bus ride away.


A unique trip to New Orleans

5 on October 16, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our second anniversary at La Belle Esplanade. It is a uniquely restore old home on Les Esplanade halfway between the French Quarter and spacious city park. The tree lined a esplanade was a great walk in either direction. Matthew and Melanie were gracious hosts with great ideas to make our stay unique and not the typical tourist trip. We have a new home when we go back to visit New Orleans.


"Belle-issimo!"

4.8 on October 08, 2016

Matthew and Melanie create a super-friendly atmosphere in their cozy B&B. They are superlative hosts. Great conversations, great local guidance in a convenient location (15 minute walk or 5 minute bus ride to the French Quarter). The decor is pure NOLA. In a safe neighborhood, there are a couple clubs and restaurants nearby. We stayed 5 days and looked forward to our morning breakfasts which included interesting guests and Matthew's daily report on where he picked up the the fresh pastries riding his Vespa. Guests shared their NOLA adventures and plans for the day, which was great 'intel' for first time NOLA visitors. If you want a unique place to stay in this unique city, this is the place. Not 'fancy', just extremely well-done. All of it.


Belle does not begin to describe this jewel...

5 on August 19, 2016

We adored our stay here at La Belle Esplanade. We consider every stay to be a sweet treat, reserved for special occasions. Beauty is in every room. The owners are charming. Breakfast is divine...a trip to Europe each morn. -Cher & Joey Wilson


Fantastic

5 on July 05, 2016

Very nice location. wonderful rooms wonderful breakfast Mattew and Melanie are really able to make you feel at home !


Will definitely return

4.0 on June 18, 2016

Having read others' reviews, my expectations were high and I was not disappointed. The innkeepers know their city and were very helpful as we made our plans each day. They also know their business. We felt very welcome and cared for. The rooms were very clean and well appointed. Breakfast was substantial and delicious, with something special and different each day! When I return to New Orleans, I will stay at La Belle Esplanade.


A Must-Stay for New Orleans!

5 on June 06, 2016

Central (and gorgeous) location with comfortable and beautiful eclectic accommodations. Extremely friendly and knowledgeable proprietors with great taste in breakfast selections, unique for every day of the stay. Tons of recommendations for where to go, tailored for the kinds of experiences you value most. Don't miss this place!


The Gem of New Orleans.

5 on June 05, 2016

Melanie and Matthew were wonderful and gracious hosts. Thank you for making our in New Orleans such a beautiful time. We look forward to come in again.


The Gem of New Orleans.

5 on May 28, 2016

Melanie and Matthew are excellent tour guides and the gracious hosts. We can't praise them enough and the wonderful gem that is La Belle Esplanade. Thank you so much for a grand time.


Personal Touches

5 on May 15, 2016

La Belle is set apart from other B&Bs, not by the beautiful, historic neighborhood centered halfway between the French Quarter and City Park.....La Belle is unique because the engaging hosts, Melanie and Matthew, pay attention to detail, and more importantly take a personal interest in their guests. So while my stay in the spacious, delightful Pelican Suite was comfortable, it was the handwritten notes before and !fter my visit and the warm conversations throughout the days that made my visit most memorable. Yes, Melanie and Matthew, you indeed made a friend. With a hug.


Fabulous b and b

5 on April 10, 2016

Matthew and Melanie were amazing hosts and fabulous ambassadors to New Orleans.


Stay here!

5 on April 08, 2016

Stop looking for other places and stay with Matthew & Melanie at La Belle Esplanade. In a beautiful section away from the noise of the quarter, La Belle was amazing. From Matthew's well chosen breakfast choices to daily conversations with other guests & great recommendations for sight seeing. We stayed 5 nights and wished we had booked on longer. Our hosts were very well versed in the culture, atmosphere & must sees. Stay here and let them make you feel right at home & this B&B. Looking forward to our next trip Gregg & Richard


Perfect Choice

5 on April 04, 2016

Our first visit to New Orleans and La Belle Esplanade was the perfect choice for our 5-night stay. As others have said, Matthew and Melanie are charming, knowledgeable hosts. We looked forward to breakfast each morning to see what delectable plates Matthew discovered prowling local sources. We stayed in the Clio Suite on the second floor, literally a "home-away-from-home", spacious and welcoming with period furnishings, fridge, snacks, hot pot, and balcony overlooking Esplanade Avenue. With the trees leafing out, it felt like a tree house. Very convenient location; no need for a car. Just steps from the bus stops and easy walking to the French Quarter and City Park/Museum/Botanical and Sculpture Gardens. If you are planning a trip to New Orleans, stay here! Steve and Marlayn Riley, Ventura, California P.S. Outstanding Rating. Computer refused to activate the "Outstanding" button.


Home away from home in the Big Easy

5 on April 02, 2016

We loved our stay at La Belle Esplanade and have been homesick for New Orleans ever since our departure. The location was absolutely ideal, just outside the French Quarter. Matthew and Melanie are charming, warm hosts who give great advice on how to experience the best the city has to offer. Our room was delightful, the breakfasts delicious. We adored our time and can't wait to return!


Marvelous Birthday Stay

5 on March 30, 2016

Fantastic hosts. Matthew and Melanie provided not only excellent suggestions for restaurants, music venues, and sightseeing but also made my husband's birthday extra special with a surprise additional wine and cookies gift left in our room. Our suite (Les Peches) was spacious and extremely comfortable, stocked with snacks, welcoming bottle of wine, juices in the refrigerator and tea/coffee maker. Breakfasts are incredible; you start each morning with an authentic New Orleans culinary adventure as Matthew purchases breads, pastries and a side dish (for example shrimp and grits) to accompany the cheese and cold cuts. I must also mention that they serve the best coffee we had anywhere in NOLA!! The location is very good; an easy 20 minute walk to touristy French Quarter or up to City Park (great Art Museum and gardens as well as beignets at Morning Call). Bus line within a block to take cross town. We also used Uber which worked well when tired though do walk to see all the amazing houses. Highly recommend staying here for an authentic and most pleasant relaxing holiday


Marvelous New Orleans Birthday Vacation

5 on March 30, 2016

Fantastic hosts. Matthew and Melanie had great suggestions for restaurants, music, and sites based on the individual's interests. They made our stay extra special with a surprise birthday treat left in our wonderfully spacious and very comfortable suite (Les Peches) which we enjoyed on our veranda. Breakfast was a culinary treat with specialty local foods which Matthew would select from different sources across New Orleans---shrimp and grits, dolmes, bacon maple donuts, crusty breads!. Location was quite good. Away from tourist crowds yet a 20-25 walk to French Quarter, Frenchmen Street or City Park. Bus was within one block and we also used Uber a few times as well. Highly recommend staying here.


Our stay in New Orleans

5 on March 28, 2016

La Belle Esplanade was hands down the best b&b. Matthew and Melanie were incredible hosts. They love the city and all their recommendations with entertainment and food options were spot on. The breakfast each morning featured something special from the south or New Orleans. Our room was quaint and comfortable. I would highly recommend this b&b to anyone visiting New Orleans. We would definitely stay here again if we get a chance to come back.


Place to be

5 on March 22, 2016

We feel home all the Time. Best B&B. We can 100% recommendet this House.


The good time rolled

5 on March 20, 2016

Great communication prior to arrival, cool room, funky food and congenial, knowledgeable hosts are all part of the stay at LBE. Thanks M and M.


Truly #1 B&B in NOLA

5 on March 04, 2016

Our first trip to NOLA in 30 years and obviously first stay at La Belle Esplanade. Matthew and Melanie made the stay memorable. Located centrally and walkable to French Quarter and Art Museum, the rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The breakfast, narrated by Matthew, were a real treat with local foods. Their suggestions about dining and activities were very helpful. Would certainly stay with them again in the future.


Post Mardi Gras Retreat

5 on February 29, 2016

Smitten on New Orleans! La Belle Esplanade is charming and clean; we will certainly be back. Matthew and Melanie are wonderful hosts, brimming with knowledge. Breakfast was delicious; obsessed with the chickaree coffee. Can’t wait to plan a second trip back!


Friendly, charming B&B

4.4 on February 05, 2016

Matthew and Melanie are pleasant hosts. Our breakfast conversations were not only delightful but full of information about New Orleans. They have wonderful suggestions for sights and eating establishments. They directed us to so much more of New Orleans than just the well known French Quarter. This was our second stay at La Belle Esplande and we will definitely stay there again on our next visit to New Orleans.


NYE at La Belle Esplanade

4.0 on January 18, 2016

We really enjoyed our stay, Matthew and Melanie were great hosts. Made great recommendations about restaurants, where to walk and not and keep a wonderful B&B. We will happily return to La Belle Esplanade!


Best B&B in NOLA

4.6 on January 06, 2016

I can't really think of a better way to put this - you simply need to stay at La Belle Esplanade when you visit New Orleans! There are so many plus points to this B&B: it's within walking distance of both the French Quarter in one direction and City Park in the other so not too far away from anything and you don't stay in the sometimes overly touristy French Quarter, the rooms are ALL fabulous (reception hall, breakfast room, bedroom), there's a really friendly and totally relaxed feel to staying here, the breakfast is superb and the advice and conversation from our hosts Matthew and Melanie was spot on.


Creole Reality

4.0 on January 03, 2016

La Belle Esplanade is situated in the heart of what was and is Creole New Orleans, walking distance to the French Quarter, the jazz clubs on Frenchman Street and the various attractions in the City Park. This is a real neighborhood away from the tourist hubbub. Matthew and Melanie are fantastic hosts. They get to know each guest and help each one get the most out of their visit by sharing their local knowledge. I recommend La Belle Esplanade to anyone seeking an authentic New Orleans experience.


Darryls Bday.

4.8 on December 21, 2015

Stayed there for my Birthday, loved every minute of it. I will avoid the Motels and Hotels from here on out.


Delightful stay in New Orleans

5 on December 05, 2015

La Belle Esplanade was just delightful in every way! Our room was spacious and playfully decorated, the breakfast is composed of delicacies chosen by our host from local purveyors and there was a claw foot tub for a relaxing soak! The location is perfect: not far from the French Quarter, but outside of the fray. Easy to get to City Park and other destinations. I highly recommend!


La Belle Esplanade

4.6 on November 30, 2015

We absolutely loved our stay at La Belle Esplanade. It is a great property in a very interesting neighborhood. Walked almost everywhere we went, except for the tours we took. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast each morning with our hosts, Had great conversations. Matthew and Melanie provided us with great information about what to do and where to go that made our trip really memorable. Of course we could have stayed another week to take in so much more of the rich history and fun. We will go back and hopefully stay at La Belle Esplanade again.


Aussies in New Orleans

5 on November 22, 2015

Hosts we amazing people, spending time talking with guests and give ideas of where to go and where to eat in New Orleans.


NOLA Hospitality

5 on November 11, 2015

Wonderful B&B on Esplanade just above the Quarter. Spacious, well appointed rooms, delectable breakfast and delightful hosts. Matthew and Melanie are lovely and great ambassors for NOLA. They have much to share about neighborhood history, activities, restaurants, etc. La Belle Esplanade is convenient to public transport and close walking distance to area sights. We so enjoyed our stay and look forward to our return.


Perfect

5 on November 09, 2015

Perfect from the first greeting to the final goodbye. This b&b has wonderful hosts, beautiful house, great location, fabulous food. Small touches everywhere that made the whole stay perfection. Would highly recommend & would definitely stay again.


Paradise!

5 on November 06, 2015

If you want cookie cutter, Esplanade Villa is NOT for you. If you want your accommodations to be the highlight of your trip to the Crescent City, look no further. We picked this bed and breakfast due to its proximity to City Park. Our location was in a quaint residential area, but we were able to walk to the French Quarter (1.5 miles.) Parking was curbside and free, but we didn't need our car. Uber is fairly new to New Orleans, but our experience was very good. I can't begin to describe the amenities. Our suite included a luxurious, turn of the century canopied bed. Our in-room refrigerator was surprisingly stocked with a few beverages, and a bottle of wine and a snacks awaited us after a long day of travel. The bathroom had a beautiful claw-foot soaking tub and spa-quality towels. In addition to the bedroom, the suite boasted a large parlor area with an antique chifforobe and fainting couch. Although the stairs were a bit hard to navigate with our luggage, we were rewarded with a second-story wraparound balcony overlooking the fountain area in the back yard. Matthew and Melanie are gracious hosts--staying here was like staying with an old friend. They both gave helpful guidance to improve our stay, but were never overbearing. Breakfast was eclectic and and included a wide variety of offerings from local sources. I especially loved the filtered, reusable glass water bottles. We've been to many bed and breakfasts, and have stayed in New Orleans over a dozen times. This has been our favorite by far. We will definitely be back! Stayed October 2015, traveled as a couple


Unforgeable Visit

5 on October 28, 2015

This is the best holiday we have had so far. Matthew and Melanie are the perfect hosts, they made our stay truly memorable with their kindness and generosity which went beyond the call of duty. We highly recommend La Belle Esplanade to anyone wishing to visit New Orleans.


Wonderful stay

5 on October 26, 2015

Beautiful rooms, Melanie and Matthew and so knowledgeable, helpful and thoughtful. Nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is amazing, well worth a visit.


The best B&B I've stayed in!

5 on October 22, 2015

We booked this B&B in New Orleans for our honeymoon after the strength of the reviews online - and I have to say, the real thing exceeded our expectations. Matthew and Melanie are the most fantastic hosts who really made our trip as special as possible. From thoughtful notes and treats left in our room, to excellent, personalised recommendations for activities and restaurants, to just sharing a drink and a great chat on the porch - I cannot fault their hospitality. Our only sadness was not being able to stay in their fantastic city for longer! If you want to go to New Orleans, and really get a taste of everything the city has to offer - beyond the French Quarter - then I cannot recommend La Belle Esplanade enough. Delicious breakfasts, beautiful rooms and two hosts who will point you in the direction of all kinds of adventures. Just the best! Shelley Hughes


lovely

5 on October 19, 2015

Glenn & I loved this place. Matthew and Melanie made us feel welcome and we're just wonderful. Beautiful neighborhood & stunning home. I highly recommend!


La Belle Excellente!

4.8 on October 19, 2015

My husband and I just returned from a 5 day trip to New Orleans and stayed at La Belle Esplanade. I named it Excellente because of the terrific owners, Matthew King and Melanie Schmitt. They made our vacation remarkable because of all the terrific suggestions they gave us for things to do, restaurants, places to see and even helped me with a back problem that occurred on our second day. The breakfasts they put out at La Belle are just what we prefer. They choose different things every day from their local bakeries, butchers, grocers, etc. In addition, they always have fresh fruit, coffee, tea, and juices. Instead of being groggy from a heavy breakfast, we were energized and ready to go. We also looked forward to seeing which hat Matthew would wear every morning. He has quite a collection!


Wonderful stay

4.8 on October 16, 2015

What a lovely New Orleans experience--a little out of the hubbub of the Quarter. The place is immaculate and evocative and Matthew and Melanie are charming hosts with great breakfasts and lots of info. I'll def be back.


Magnifique B&B

3.6 on October 14, 2015

Nous avons passé 3 jours à La Belle Esplanade. La maison est magnifique avec toutes ses antiquités. Elle est bien située pour visiter divers quartiers de la ville tout en étant suffisamment à l'écart pour apprécier sa tranquillité. Matthew est intarissable sur tout ce qu'il faut voir à NOLA et cache bien des ressources sous ses nombreux couvre-chefs! Melanie nous a préparé des petits-déjeuners succulents avec des produits provenant des artisans du quartier et toujours agrémentés d'une spécialité louisianaise. Elle a réussi à nous faire manger du poisson au petit-déjeuner, chapeau! Grâce à eux, nous avons découvert de bons petits restos. (Merci Melanie de nous avoir proposé Casamento’s pour les huîtres, nous nous sommes régalés.) Pour les gens qui n’ont pas peur de marcher, c’est l’endroit idéal. Ce n’est pas dans le fameux quartier français, mais c’est pas mal mieux. Merci encore Matthew et Melanie, nous avons beaucoup apprécié notre séjour chez vous. Sylvie et Jacques, Montréal (Québec)


NOLA perfection

5 on September 07, 2015

Stylish B&B in excellent location - very comfortable and great attention to detail. Excellent breakfasts based on food from local suppliers. Hosts have extensive knowledge and offer brilliant advice on what to do, where to eat. Great guides to a wonderful city. (Dining is breakfast only)


Could not rate highly enough Melanie and Matthew's hospitality

5 on August 04, 2015

We loved our four night stay at La Belle Esplanade in July and will come here again. Melanie and Matthew are incredibly passionate about New Orleans and they helped us enjoy more sites and tastes of New Orleans than what we could have hoped for. Each morning we were greeted by their enthusiasm to hear what we were thinking of doing and we listened to their stories and spot on advice for maximizing our brief stay. Thanks to their early morning excursions we got to sample local tastes that we wouldn't have easily found in a single restaurant, including maple and bacon donuts, crawfish pie, crab cakes, zucchini fritters, sausages, dark chocolate tarts, rosehip and gooseberry preserves to go with different local breads, cheeses and deli meats, fresh watermelon and cherries. Melanie and Matthew provide detailed information for appreciating the local area both in the written folder in our room and via the breakfast chats. We went off the beaten track because of their suggestions and got to appreciate a wider spectrum of New Orleans than just visiting the French Quarter. We thought the location was fantastic. New Orleans is obviously much more than the french quarter (though this is easily accessible). The location is historically and architecturally interesting and close to good restaurants and bars and we think gave us a deeper insight into how folk in NOLA live than the french quarter. Melanie and Matthew are wonderful ambassadors for New Orleans and we highly recommend staying at La Belle Esplanade. They will point you in the right direction for you.


The host with the most!

5 on May 29, 2015

Our hosts Matthew and Melanie were amazing. They truly cared that we had a great time in NOLA and showed us great places to go and see. Also, they have put together a cozy and wonderful B&B that was perfect in location and style. We will definitely come back to them whenever we stay in NOLA.


Relaxed Getaway in New Orleans

4.2 on May 28, 2015

I highly recommend this B&B. Hosts are great, rooms are nice and the location is perfect.


Wonderful stay

4.2 on May 18, 2015

We had a wonderful stay at La Belle. It is situated in a lovely , quieter part of town with very easy access to the busy and more livelier districts by taxi or bus . The hosts Matthew and Melanie were excellent with their generous hospitality, knowledge of the area and suggestions for things to do . The breakfasts were delicious with them sourcing lots of local delicacies. The house itself has a great local feel ,full of interesting stuff and bric a brac. I would highly recommend.


Treme-ndous BnB

4.2 on May 03, 2015

Great location, quiet but easy walking to French Quarter or City Park. Hosts Matthew and Melanie are terrific; full of information and local knowledge to make your stay just how you want it to be. Their attention to detail shows in everything from the decor of the house to the sourcing of the best of local produce for your breakfast.


off the beaten path b and b..

4.8 on April 12, 2015

Wonderful stay at this charming b and b. The rooms have interesting decor, certainly not typical. The location is great with easy walking access to a variety of neighborhoods. Would definitely encourage people to stay here for a flavor of the real Nola...


Great New Orleans Find

4.6 on April 02, 2015

We could not have found a more perfect spot for our intro to New Orleans. The B&B is full of character, history and amusing touches. Matthew and Melanie are perfect hosts---exceptionally helpful and fun. Matthew seemed to intuitively appear when we could use some advice or a cab. The fantastic, constantly changing breakfast fare was a delight combined with our hosts totally engaging presence. We hope to return!!


Fabulous find and a terrific B&B

5 on March 30, 2015

A perfect location midway between the French Quarter and City Park on a bus line that takes you just about anywhere you'd like to visit. Matthew and Melanie are perfect hosts, informed guides, great conversationalists and attentive to your needs. Breakfasts are outstanding with daily treats from local bakeries and small business vendors. I've recommended La Belle Esplanade to all my friends and I recommend a stay to those I don't know as well!


Warm and Caring Hospitality

5 on March 20, 2015

La Belle Esplanade is beautiful and beautifully furnished in a wonderful antique-New Orleans-eclectic, and is perfectly located. Hosts Matthew and Melanie make every aspect of a stay at La Belle Esplanade a delight. Breakfasts with them and with the other guests is a fun part of the stay and shows the caring consideration that Matthew and Melanie put into every detail. We enjoyed every moment there.


Loved this great B&B

4.8 on March 15, 2015

We stayed 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the whole New Orleans experience. Matthew and Melanie hosted us perfectly with some eclectic breakfasts helping us take the New Orleans journey each day. We walked from the house every day and walked some 30miles over two days. The walk down to Bourbon Street takes around 20 mins and is safe. The bed was probably the best we slept on during our three week trip and the suite fully stocked with everything we could imagine to need. Loved the sweets left on the bed and the well stocked tea and coffee offerings. If we are ever back in New Orleans we will certainly return.


Mardi Gras Supreme!!!

5 on February 22, 2015

My husband and I stayed at this bed and breakfast during Mardi Gras weekend, and it was the best home-away-from-home event I have ever had. This was not only my first Mardi Gras, but my first stay at a bed and breakfast. The host and hostess were absolutely wonderful, and the best food we had in New Orleans was during breakfast in their kitchen! I was completely spoiled and am trying to find time to come visit them again soon! Thank you for having us in your lovely house off Esplandade. This gave us a real good feel for what New Orleans is really like, so charming!


Lovely stay!

5 on January 09, 2015

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Belle Esplanade. Matthew and Melanie are incredibly nice and accommodating and give great recommendations. The rooms were lovely (and huge!) and the food for breakfast (from local bakeries and shops) was delicious. We'll definitely stay again! -Cristin & James


Worth Every Star

5 on December 04, 2014

What a colorful gem we found in this New Orleans B&B. It is the middle of three brightly colored older homes on the Esplanade – a grand old, divided street. We stayed in the Las Fleurs room on the first floor, with a living room and sleeping area that could be closed off with sliding doors. The claw foot tub was perfect for relaxing, the large wooden-framed bed dramatic for sleeping, and the front porch/deck perfect to enjoy the street scenes. The room had all the amenities, including a refrigerator with complimentary beer! The welcome sherry and surprising evening treats on our pillows were delightful. What really stood out for us was the service and spirit of this place. Each morning Matthew hops on his motor scooter to scour local specialty shops for true tastes of New Orleans, bringing back fresh breads, special cheeses, crab cakes one morning, pastries, or local jams and spreads. He describes his culinary sources and choices to guests each morning and then subtly orchestrates gentile conversation among inn guests. While reluctant at first to converse before sufficient morning coffee, we loved the ensuing conversations with diverse guests and both hosts. True inn spirit! The location turned out to be perfect for our convention center conference. Cabs were readily available for the short ride, but we loved the walks and streetcar routes that our hosts suggested. We enjoyed the stroll down the Esplanade with its fabulous old mansions to the streetcar running along the waterfront right to the convention center. On other mornings, we walked through the homes in the French quarter to soak up the ambiance on the way to the convention center. Having been to New Orleans multiple times to visit, our stay at La Belle Esplanade gave us a tiny taste of what it meant to live there. The location gave us an opportunity to explore new neighborhoods, parks, local restaurants, and shops. We’ll be back!


My favorite place to stay in New Orleans

5 on December 04, 2014

Elegant yet comfortable rooms with updated amenities. The conversation and food at breakfast is spirited, eclectic, and a lively start to your day. Easy to walk to the quarter, or cabs come to door after call within 10 minutes.


Bayou Paradise

4.6 on November 28, 2014

Uncanny attention and care by the Owners to their Customers!. Outstanding service and quality of food served! Bravo and Merci


Great Weekend Trip

5 on November 26, 2014

My wife and I flew in on Friday and left Sunday... our trip was too short! Matthew and Melanie are great hosts and do a great job of pointing out less-touristy destinations. The French quarter is a little over a mile away (nice walk) and city park is about 1.5 miles in the other direction. We loved being in between these two areas. We are grateful for the hospitality and highly recommend staying here.


If You Want to Know the Real New Orleans

5 on November 24, 2014

We wanted a little bit of touristy adventures and we wanted to know what it really feels like to be in New Orleans. That is exactly what we got. The room was grande and cozy. The breakfast environment was more like spending a morning with friends. And, Matthew and Melanie's knowledge of New Orleans helped us enjoy an authentic experience. When I return for another visit I will only go if I can stay at La Belle Esplanade.


Daughter's Wedding

4.6 on November 14, 2014

The only thing that worried me was the shower. My husband is 77 and I would not have wanted him in that bath tub. I was nervous getting out of it at 54. Loved socializing with the owners! Awesome people! Food excellent! I have been to NOLA 2 times before and stayed at the Sheraton. This was by far my best visit! Gave me the true flavor of NOLA! Would recommend it to anyone!


A great time

5 on November 13, 2014

Matthew and Melanie were fantastic hosts, so friendly and helpful in their advice. They both sat down with us for a good hour when we arrived, sharing valuable info about NOLA. A very relaxed place to stay - a B&B that doesn't take itself too seriously. Breakfasts were interesting and delicious. The location, though a bit away from the main action downtown, is easy to get to, either by bus (free if you are lucky enough to be over 65), or walking. It is close to some good restaurants and the park and Art Museum.


really exceeded my expectations!

5 on November 05, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the b&b for three nights. As frequent travelers I would say this is maybe one of the best places I have ever stayed. We found the neighborhood to be quite safe- we walked home from the French Quarter late at night every night we were there never feeling at risk. We were pleasantly surprised at how central it was to were we wanted to go.


Delightful

5 on November 02, 2014

Great location, great hosts, great facilities, great breakfast


Home away from Home

5 on October 31, 2014

Thank you Matthew and Melanie for the Southern Hospitality! This review is long overdue- we spent our 10th anniversary with you all in March of 2013. As a testament to how good the stay was, I am writing the review because it was such a memorable and wonderful stay, I want others to know about it! Since we had lived in NOLA for some time but moved away due to work this was a city we know well. Even still you were incredibly helpful in making our stay so pleasant. The room was a delight. Sipping coffee in the morning on the balcony overlooking Esplanade was a simple joy that reminded me of my life in NOLA before the move. We loved the artwork in the rooms and the beautiful antique furnishings.


Special location!!!

5 on October 27, 2014

We had four extravagant wonderful days in one of the best bed and breakfast we ever visited before. Matthew King and Melanie Schmitt are very friendly and remarkable. They gave us a lots of clues and tips what we can see in N.O.. They were really soliciting to us. We loved this staying and the living at La belle esplanade and now in German... W Der Aufenthalt in New Orleans war wunderschön. Die Zimmer sind mit viel Liebe zum Detail ausgestattet und eingerichtet. Eher gesagt, Matthew und Melanie führen dieses supertolle B&B mit sehr viel Herzblut und Charme. Wir werden die morgendlichen Spezialitäten und die ausführlichen Beschreibungen von Matthew mit nicht qualmender Zigarre missen... Herzlichen Dank Maria & Fabian


NOLA Character Away from the Fray

5 on October 25, 2014

I spent three nights here in Mid-October for a conference. I could have stayed at the conference hotel (a name brand chain hotel) but typically choose to stay some place else to give me a local feel to the cities I visit. Never been to NOLA before and LOVED my stay at La Belle Esplanade. It's far enough away from the touristy-ness of the French Quarter without being so far that you can have a nice leisurely stroll through historic parts of the city to all the tourist spots. Hop skip and a jump to the French Quarter and City Park. Melanie and Matthew are amazing. Genuinely love talking to guests and giving inside tips. And the breakfast in the morning is always a treat with locally made items to enjoy. Each room has a unique character to it and so, so sizable to make relaxing from a day of touring so much more an at-home experience. Definitely will come back next time I'm in town.


Impeccable b and b

3.2 on October 20, 2014

I spent 3 nights in a suite at La Belle Esplanade. It was a perfect Stay. The home was warm, inviting Colorful and comfortable. The hosts were engaging, knowledgeable about what to see and do in New Orleans And a very pleasant couple. I would return anytime !


Perfect place

5 on October 19, 2014

A beautiful house, warm and caring hosts. Spacious and tastefully decorated rooms. An excellent breakfast. Thank you to Melanie and Matthew.


enjoyable stay

4.8 on September 30, 2014

stayed for 2 nights. great hosts and accommodation. We had car and rode bikes, which made getting around easier. the house if Just a bit too far to walk to back and forward form the French district throughout the day.


Hard to beat this delightful B&B

4.8 on September 28, 2014

Gracious hosts, great location, extras galore and an historic New Orleans house. Close enough to the craziness, but in a quiet residential neighborhood. Public transit right at the front door. Pleasant walk to City Park and the trolley lines. We will definitely return here.


In a catagory all it's own!!

5 on August 05, 2014

Don't miss out on this gem if you think your not Bed & Breakfast types, this place is for people who love all things awesome!! Yes, the breakfast that everyone else talks about is great, but that's just the beginning. Everything in La Belle Esplanade has been put there with careful thought and love, by the thoughtful and lovely hosts Melanie & Matthew. They have created a place that becomes a big part of your experience in NOLA. They have taken the time to learn about anything you want to know about this great city. We can't wait to go back for a visit with them, and the city! Oh, and make sure you check out Matthew's front parlor of curiosities.


July visit to La Belle Esplanade

5 on July 30, 2014

New Orleans is all about hospitality. It is without a doubt the friendliest city we have ever visited. Nowhere is this more evident that at La Belle Esplanade. Matthew and Melanie are the perfect hosts. They not only made us feel immediately comfortable in their lovely B&B but also in the city itself. They encouraged us to explore the city and their suggestions led us to places we are sure many tourists never see. They take their inn keeping duties seriously and are out each day themselves exploring places and restaurants themselves. Breakfast, which was sourced from the neighborhood, was always interesting, delicious, and different every day. Each night, a fun treat like taffy from the Roman Candy Cart, was on the nightstand. As good as the food was, the conversations we had with our hosts as we lingered over breakfast were even better. This ranged from what we had seen the day before to what we might see that day to suggestions they had to whatever other topic came up. It truly was like hanging out with friends. We are especially appreciative of their packing us a breakfast that included delicious chicken empanadas to go, sitting over coffee, and calling us a taxi that last morning when we had such an early flight home.


Absolutely lovely place in Tremé

4.8 on July 16, 2014

Matthew & Melanie are asolutely lovely hosts of this super-nice B&B in Tremé. We loved staying in the Clio Suite, wished we could have stayed there a few more days. Wifi worked lite it should, comfy bed, good AC, nice beverages and great breakfast with locally sourced food. Only negative thing is that it is a bit far from most places you wanna go but the bus stop is right outside and cabs are quite cheap.


Fantastic short stay

5 on July 14, 2014

My lovely wife and I stayed for just two nights for a short weekend getaway to New Orleans a few weeks ago. Our experience was nothing short of fantastic. From the moment we arrived Matthew and Melanie were incredibly friendly and welcoming. Our room was the Saints suite, which has two large rooms, an antique canopy bed and a wonderful balcony with a cool vertically sliding window to get out to it. The place is in the Treme area, which is full of beautiful, very old homes. We spent quite a bit of time walking around the area checking them out. There's a cool older cemetery about 15 minutes up the street, and a little farther past that is City Park. There are some wonderful cafes and local restaurants that Matthew recommended, which were fantastic. We always felt safe, even walking around at night. Breakfast is not your typical B&B fare, but the best of local breads, pastries, cheeses, fruits and other wonderful foods. One morning Melanie served us the best crab cakes I've ever had, the previous morning we enjoyed a variety of delicious, locally made sausage. There was a Vietnamese pastry that was one of the tastiest things I've ever had. The coffee with chicory had me going for a second and third cup - and I gave up coffee three years ago! If you're looking to party all night in the French Quarter and stagger back to your room this is probably not the best place for you. If you're looking to experience the local culture, see some things off the beaten path and do the non-touristy things, but still be close to everything, you'll love it. The location is equal walking distance to the Quarter and some of the cool local places in the Treme area (Lil Dizzy's, Willie Mae's Scotch House). It takes about a half hour to walk to Bourboun street, and about that far to City Park. Our two days there were only enough to get a taste of the area but we'll definitely be back, and will be staying here again without question.


Extraordinaire!

5 on June 22, 2014

What a gem! This bed and breakfast in is in the Treme area of New Orleans and is absolutely delightful. The innkeepers, Matthew and Melanie are quite knowledgable about the city. We incorporated some of their suggestions into our visit and we had a lovely visit. The breakfasts are interesting too. All the products come from local vendors, bakers, and markets and Matthew and Melanie are able to give a history of what the item is and who makes it. I have been to New Orleans several times and this was my most delightful stay. The rooms were spacious and clean and decorated with lovely antiques of the area. And COLORFUL! Like New Orleans!


A Brand New NOLA Experience

5 on June 21, 2014

It's been two weeks now since we stayed in New Orleans at La Belle Esplanade, and we haven't stopped talking and thinking about our visit. Time to write a little bit for the others who may be considering a trip. For the B&B, I will simply echo the great things people share about it. The house is a beautiful structure in the unique style found in the Treme neighborhood. The colorful suites are charmingly appointed with antiques and artwork, many of the porcelain facilities have nearly a century of reliable service. The spaciousness of the rooms extends in three dimensions with 12 foot ceilings, our antique bed had a brand-new mattress, and the air-conditioning worked great! It is not the Ritz; La Belle Esplanade has much more authentic class. (If your heart is set on the plush modern comforts of the Ritz--and who can blame you--then La Belle Esplanade might feature more authenticity than you are looking for.) At breakfast, which is procured fresh each morning from local merchants, along with freshly brewed chicory coffee and juices, we discovered why we chose La Belle Esplanade. Our hosts Melanie and Matthew, who live in the house next door, showed us warm hospitality and an eagerness to open up the city and its neighborhoods. We enjoyed listening to their detailed descriptions and generous opinions about various opportunities we might attempt in the day ahead, and we were more than pleased with the recommendations we followed for dining, entertainment, and an increase in our cultural knowledge of New Orleans.


What?

4.8 on June 03, 2014

Convenient location near the quarter, but not in the quarter. House and furnishings are antique and authentic. Hosts are outstanding.


Laissez Les Bon Temps Rouler at La Belle Esplanade

5 on June 02, 2014

My husband and I just completed our first trip to New Orleans. We travel a lot, and seek out B and B's that are historical and inclined to vintage. This time we went for historical, vintage, and eclectic! And are we glad we did! We had an early arrival in New Orleans, but as our cab pulled up, Matthew came right out to greet us. After helping haul our luggage in, he immediately pulled out a map and showed us the lay of the land. He had wonderful suggestions for seeing the city that aren't always highlighted in the travel guides...a quaint local museum, neighborhood parades, and close-by restaurants with delicious food. Then he showed us our room...we chose Clio with its raspberry walls and purple ceiling in the large bedroom, and bright green walls in the spacious sitting room. there was a private balcony where we sat and watched the comings-and-goings on Esplanade Avenue. The bed was comfy, and the sitting room was perfect for planning our days and unwinding at night. Each morning, we were treated to local specialties, with Matthew giving a daily "tour" of the savory selections that they had collected the evening before or that morning. We had pickled quail eggs, doughnuts baked by two cops, jams and jellies prepared by sweet local ladies, local sausage and cheeses, indigenous fruits, and freshly baked breads My favorite was the olive salad served on fresh zucchini patties....mmm-mmm! Matthew and Melissa are the consummate hosts. They gave us their phone numbers should we need to reach them during the day, and they were available personally each morning to answer questions and offer suggestions. This transplanted couple could not be more proud of, or awed by, their adopted city; and they are well versed in every aspect of it. Over breakfast, we had long, interesting discussions of the culture and traditions of New Orleans, and we left there feeling that we had made two dear friends. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in New Orleans.


"Home Away From Home"

4.2 on May 28, 2014

Me and my Wife really enjoyed our stay at this B&B. The Hosts were not only very welcoming but very knowledgeable about the city and gave us many options on where we could visit during our stay. We were greeted on our arrivial and were taken on a tour of this beautiful property. Everything is exactly how pictured and is a sight for sore eyes. The room was very cozy and comfortable, and breakfast was a delight due to good food as well as company. We shared lots of laughs as well as history with Matthew & Melanie. It also was a plus that they were native New Englanders which made us feel at home even more. They gave us everything we needed to know, the best places to dine, must sight sees, and made our trip have long lasting memories. Even the couple of rainy days didn't stop us from having a great time and there kind, positive, respectful spirits made it worth it. I would recommend this place to anyone who's looking for a safe, relaxed, getaway while you explore the "Amazing" City of New Orleans!


Best place for first time stay in New Orleans

4.6 on May 23, 2014

From the minute you walk in Matthew and Melanie make you feel welcome. They ask you what your plans are for the day and they give you a map showing you how to get there. They make sure you know how to reach them if there is a problem (we had none), but also let you enjoy your stay. You never feel as if someone is watching you and even the way the rooms are split (2 up our stairway and 2 up the other), you feel as if you almost have the house to yourself. La Belle is halfway between the French Quarter and City Park. About 10 minutes for us to get to either one (although we really didn't clock it. The houses are so wonderful to look at that we didn't care about the walk). We chose the pelican room. The bed is a full size antique bed, my husband is 6' and we are both "average size" and we fit just fine. Also, the mattress was very comfortable. There is a small refrigerator with some beverages in it that we were welcome to and there were candies on our bed every evening. In the morning, they serve breakfast from 8:30-9:30. If you need to be somewhere earlier, they are accommodating, just let them know. Breakfast here is like a mini food tour and my husband an I thoroughly enjoyed it. They get most of the foods from local shops/ markets and you get mini stories with the items. They support local businesses and give you a taste of New Orleans at the same time. We asked about tours and they gave great suggestions (Friends of the Cabildo for French Quarter and Free tours by foot for Garden District). We asked for restaurant suggestions based on what we wanted and/or what area of town we were going to be in and they hit it spot on. A BIG thank you to Matthew and Melanie for making our first trip to New Orleans so enjoyable. We genuinely believe we would not have had such a great time without them!


Comfort, Convenience, Charm

5 on April 26, 2014

These qualities were what we were looking for in our NOLA stay and we found the three C's in La Belle Esplanade. Melanie and Matthew were charming hosts offering helpful insights about the city as they hosted simple morning repasts that tided us over till the feasting began later on. Comfy beds, spacious, well-appointed suites and a short walk to the epicenter of NOLA action.


Amazing gem in New Orleans

5 on April 24, 2014

My sister, her husband, my husband and I just spend the nicest week in New Orleans at La Belle Esplande. Both Matthew and Melanie were the most accomodating hosts - wonderful breakfasts, beautiful room and house and lots of great suggestions on places to eat and things to do. One of my favorite things was that they have 6 bikes that you are able to use to explore the city! We defintiely took advantage of those and got to do our own city tour a few of the days. Also, the location of the B&B is great - about a 20 minute walk to the French Quarter in one direction and then about a 15 minute walk to City Park and all of the Museums and Gardens there! And if you take the bikes it takes about 5 minutes for each! If we come back to NOLA, we will definitely be staying at La Belle Esplanade - thank you Matthew and Melanie for making our trip so fun and memorable!


Outstanding in every way.

5 on April 23, 2014

If you like a well-located, beautiful and funky place with knowledgeable owners who know just when to be present and when to leave you alone, stay here.


Lovely place and delightful hosts

5 on April 14, 2014

Hosts Matthew and Melanie made our stay at La Belle Esplanade one of the most enjoyable that I've had at a B&B. Their assistance with places to see and things to do in New Orleans as well as sitting with us each morning during breakfast just to chat and hear about our experiences made us feel like "family." La Belle Esplanade is beautifully decorated, with interesting and intriguing pieces throughout the entire house. The beds were comfortable and the suites were all spacious and charming. The breakfasts were delicious, consisting of local foods such as crab cakes, sausage, and pastries as well as fruits, cheeses, and breads. I will definitely stay there again.


THE best place to stay in New Orleans.

5 on March 26, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the belle esplanade. During a trip to celebrate my 30th we toured quite a lot of the states and we can both honestly say this was our favourite accommodation. Matthew and Melanie were gracious and informative hosts throughout giving us valuable local knowledge during our six nights stay over Mardi gras. Breakfast was served in a welcoming dining area and each day guests and hosts swapped stories from the day before informing everyone of hidden gems to seek out. Every morning a local delicacy was also served, each one with a story on who produced the food, favourites included the maple and bacon donuts and the crawfish pie. We stayed in the Clio suite which had a very big sitting room and a bedroom with a balcony looking out onto Esplanade Avenue. The rooms felt authentically New Orleans and were extremely comfortable. The house is walking distance from Frenchman street and is in a very friendly neighbourhood. We would both highly recommend staying at this bed and breakfast as it surpassed our hopes and expectations. Don’t be tempted by a generic hotel, choose La Belle Esplanade and you will meet with two of the nicest hosts that you could hope for. 5 STARS


Wonderful Weekend Stay

5 on March 25, 2014

This place was awesome for the price. We got an opportunity to experience the history of New Orleans first hand in this mansion built in 1883. The colors and furnishings were beautiful and the view of Esplanade Avenue was perfect from the porch. Matthew and Melanie made us feel right at home and made sure we had everything we needed to start enjoying the city. The only issues we had were with catching a taxi back to our room the first night. It was only a mile from the French quarter, but after walking all day, we were spent. We drove around the rest of the weekend.


an utter delight!

5 on March 08, 2014

For me, a sixty year old woman traveling alone, safety is almost as big an issue as comfort. At this lovely and tasteful b and b, I got both. Although I experienced great privacy and respect, I also felt cared for and as if I had friends in the city. The longer I stayed, the more I came to love my accommodations and appreciate my hosts. Melanie and Matthew are interesting and interested. It was fun recounting the events of the day before at breakfast, and meeting the other guests. My suite was amazing and the long hot baths after a day of walking were incredible. There were so many nice details. I would definitely recommend this experience to anyone wanting an authentic peek into a wonderful city.


Lovely Lady LaBelle Esplanade

4.8 on March 05, 2014

We enjoyed a blissful 3 days and nights at the beautiful LaBelle Esplanade. The suite allowed us each a quiet separate sleeping space and the bathroom and refrigerator and porch were nicely shared.


The Real New Orleans

5 on February 28, 2014

If you are going to New Orleans, THIS is the place to stay. It was a wonderful experience. We couldn't have been more happy with our hosts or the place itself. So many great little things that make it special. Matthew and Melanie will definitely show you how to really see New Orleans the right way! We really feel like we lucked out by finding this place. Being a tourist, i'm glad we didn't just stay in the most obvious place like the French Quarter. If you are going to do New Orleans, do it with Matthew and Melanie at La Belle Esplanade!


Taken care of

5 on February 27, 2014

A great stay at La Belle Esplanade. They take the time to know you and want from your visit. They have nice large rooms in a historic house on Esplanade. You are not going to get this kind of service or attention at larger hotels for twice the price. can't wait to go back


First time at a B&B…will definitely be back!

4.6 on February 22, 2014

Fantastic in all respects! A great experience!


My new Crescent City home away from home

4.2 on February 10, 2014

I searched for hours and hours before selecting La Belle Esplanade. Upon arrival, I was relieved to find beautifully appointed, spacious and well located suites with plenty of parking. Matthew and Melanie are the perfect hosts, whose enthusiasm for their newly adopted city is infectious. Each morning, I looked forward to the day's local treats which were carefully curated for breakfast as well as to the insider tips and perspectives generously offered by my hosts. I'm already planning my next visit to NOLA and La Belle Esplanade. Thanks again Matthew and Melanie for helping to make my birthday unforgettable.


Great hosts

4.4 on January 22, 2014

This B&B is great, it's location is well located When you arrive the hosts give you a great orientation to New Orleans and also the property Room was upstairs and was tastefully decorated The stairs up to it were narrow but is was also a feature of the house A few drinks and nibbles left by host was appreciated Breakfast was good and we were left a little package the morning we left early Our hosts were sensational


A wonderful experience at 'La Belle Esplanade'

5 on January 20, 2014

We had a great 3-day stay at "La Belle Esplanade", drawing from Melanie's and Matthew's amazing hospitality! The rooms are wonderfully furbished, spacious, and have all the conveniences you can ask for. The small fridge was filled with free complementaries on your arrival. An absolute highlight is the breakfast buffet that is filled with a variety of local delicacies. We also used the free bikes to discover the city. La Belle Esplanade is located in beautiful Tremé with a number of good restaurants, as well as the New Orleans Museum of Art just down the road. It is also just a short walk to the French Quarter and Frenchmen Street. We highly recommend this BnB.


Wonderful friendly & eclectic

4.4 on January 12, 2014

The hosts Matthew and Melanie have worked really hard to make a unique & spic environment. We lived this place. Also perfectly located to explore NOLA. Not so close to the French Quarter that you're sowed up by tourists, but still at the centre of the action.


Thanksgiving in NOLA

4.2 on December 05, 2013

First time staying in a B&B. Had a lovely experience. Mathew & Melanie were very pleasant, we had breakfast together every morning and they were always ready to help us decide on where to go and what to do. La Belle Esplanade is a charming, comfortable house.


The very best of New Orleans

5 on November 13, 2013

Absolutely my best bed and breakfast experience ever. Matthew and Mellenie were fantastic inn keepers. Interesting conversation and great tips on local attractions! Fantastic unexpected breakfast menus with a complete New Orleans flair and flavor! My wife and I will enjoyed our stay immensely and will visit again as soon as possible!


Vive la Belle Esplanade!!!

4.6 on November 01, 2013

J'ai passé une semaine à la nouvelle-Orléans et je suis absolument heureux d'avoir eu la bonne fortune de choisir ce gîte. Très bien situé, sur une des belles avenues de la ville, et ni trop loin ni trop près des centres d'attractions, ce gîte me convenait parfaitement. Petit extra qui a fait mon grand bonheur, le gîte dispose de vélos, lesquels on peut utiliser à notre guise. Et je ne pourrais pas terminer cette note sans souligner le plaisir que j'ai eu toute la semaine durant à côtoyer les hôtes de l'endroit Mélanie et Matthew.


Fabulous!!

5 on October 28, 2013

Matt and Melanie were warm and welcoming, making us instantly comfortable. Melanie greeted us with glasses of sweet wine and biscotti while Matt went over the details of New Orleans. He gave us a map and reviewed a plethora of local information – restaurants, things to see/do, walking tips, etc. We got a tour of the beautifully decorated home and yard/garden. The Saints Suite was spacious and comfortable, nicely decorated - colorful, fun and eclectic! It had a large sitting room with TV, fully stocked fridge (no additional charge for snacks, water, wine, beer, etc.), coffee maker and then a separate bedroom. We had a private balcony, a large private bath with claw foot tub (with the best bath towels!). Sink was outside the bathroom making it easier for us to both get ready. Breakfast was fabulous! Every day they had several locally made specialties – breads, jam, sausage bacon/maple donuts and a homemade dish like muffaletta, crawfish quiche… For those picky eaters who just want Kellogg’s cereal or Greek yogurt, that is available too. We had an early tour one morning. When I mentioned that we would be missing breakfast, Melanie prepared a bag of snacks for us to take with us! Matt and Melanie sat at breakfast and chatted with everyone each morning; truly a lovely couple who make you feel like you have been friends for years. We found the location to be excellent. A very safe area only a mile from the FQ and near CityPark. Quiet and peaceful on a beautiful street in a neighborhood that has great local restaurants and bars. We found the walk to the French Quarter and City Park to be lovely. The cab ride back to the hotel was under $10. We used the complimentary bikes. They are 1 speed Huffy’s – perfect to get from point A to point B, probably not so great if you planned to do some long bike rides. I feel one would be hard-pressed to find a better stay or nicer hosts elsewhere. Just an all around great experience. We will definitely stay here again!


Outstanding

5 on July 30, 2013

Excellent location, rooms and service.


bike are included - nice

4.4 on June 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the La Belle Esplanade. This grand home has lots of charm and it is situated in a quiet neighborhood within walking distance of the French Quarter and the city park. We really enjoyed our daily walks/bike-rides along the historic Esplanade.


Surpasses Every Expectation, WOW!

5 on April 06, 2013

I had never stayed at a B&B before, only considered it because all the hotels sub $300-400/night were booked. SO, I went out on a limb and booked a room at La Belle Esplanade. Didn't know what to expect but as soon as we arrived, the place and it's hosts exceeded every expectation. In under 30 seconds they made a great impression, offering us a complementary glass of delicious, New Orleans local wine while we waited for check in. The house was gorgeous and the room so nice that I felt compelled to tell them that the online photos don't do them justice. Had a complementary crew brew from our fridge on the little balcony, nice shower and a couple of days of amazing hospitality. Breakfasts were fun, delicious with a nice selection... they even had some sweet bikes that they let us use for free (highly recommended! My girlfriend and I went for a "quick bike ride" that turned into a five hour tour of awesomeness, so much to see - thanks Matthew for recommending a nice touring route!). All in all, when I go back to NOLA I will go back to La Belle Esplanade and I'd recommend it to anyone. Thanks Matthew and Melanie for all the great memories! /Orion and Lisa


Delighted by La Belle Esplanade

5 on April 04, 2013

Highly recommend this charming, clean,secure B+B. Owners were very accommodating with info of New Orleans and things to see and do. Small little touches we're a pleasant surprise, ie...candies on your pillow, delightly filled refrig, bikes for riding, a private courtyard. The owners both met us in the kitchen each morning for a breakfast with a New Orleans flair! The owners are unpretentious, easy to talk and laugh with.


from Wisconsin

4.8 on April 01, 2013

Wonderful!


Wonderful Place to Stay

4.2 on February 24, 2013

This Bed and Breakfast was in a great location. The owners were very friendly and knowledgeable. They were able to recommend things to do and places to eat. The breakfast every morning was delicious, and came from local bakeries. Overall, I was very impressed!


Colorful place

4.6 on February 19, 2013

Matthew was tremendously helpful in offering advice and recommendations. Beautiful property, great location. We especially enjoyed borrowing the bikes for a ride all the way to the Lake.


best stay I ever experienced anywhere!

5 on February 18, 2013

I was warmly greeted, shown around the property, introduced to wonderful local foods at breakfast (the owners go out of their way to buy from various local markets), given lots of opportunities to ask about local history and events, and upon leaving was made welcomed to return again ... And I will! The property is in a quiet and clean location north of the French Quarter if the owners did not have the answer to my questions they took a sincere interest in finding it. The bed and living area are comfortable and beautiful. This is the best place to stay ever!!


Winter Getaway

4.8 on January 28, 2013

Lovely, lovely b&b with a perfect location and the most hospitable and accommodating owners! Treat yourself to a unique and most pleasant getaway by booking here! Walking distance to the French Quarter was wunderbar and biking to Lake Ponchetrain was a highlight. Definitely the "bell" of Esplanade!


Love at first sight!

5 on January 24, 2013

Truly, it was love at first sight with this wonderful Bed and Breakfast! I was planning a romantic getaway for my husband and I. So luckily, after staying up til 3am I came across this bold, colorful and quirky B&B and immediately was drawn to its allure. If you are looking for the typical modern hotel room drowning in your typical neutral flat colors, this is not the place for you. WE loved that the house was a part of New Orleans history. The owners worked hard to furnish to fit the culture of New Orleans. We did stay in the Les Fleurs room which was one of the bigger suites and while it was directly across from the eating area, one could easily shut the doors separating the sitting room and bedroom. We could have easily moved into this room. And to top it off, the owners Melanie and Matthew, were beyond accommodating. They worked hard to take our interests in mind to make personalized recommendations, something that you cannot get at anywhere hotel. Melanie, made the best breakfasts providing an assortment of local eats: crawfish pies, boudin balls and the fluffy biscuits! We enjoyed the morning chats that made us feel like we longtime friends stopping for a visit. And they even had us come back to get directions to a tire shop for the nail in my tire. Needless to say, we plan on making this trip a yearly tradition and once my husband confirms his vacation time we are going to book our room for next year. If we could come by every weekend we would do so in a heartbeat and we would not stay anywhere but here. Although, I am writing on the behalf of my husband and I, my husband was beyond thrilled with the place and loved his surprise stay here. Looking forward to succumbing to the charm of a new suite!


Couldn't have been better

5 on December 31, 2012

I can't think of enough good things to say about this beautiful bed and breakfast. From the moment my husband and I arrived, Matthew and Melanie made us feel completely welcome and at home (a big deal for me, as I'm somewhat shy around new people). Neither of us had ever been to New Orleans, and Matthew and Melanie gave us fantastic suggestions for things to do and places to eat outside the French Quarter and off the beaten path. We tried to do everything they suggested, as we quickly discovered how great their recommendations were. Matthew and Melanie are clearly and infectiously passionate about New Orleans. Thanks to them, by the time we left we felt like we had a great sense of the city. The rooms are all charming and elegant and filled with local artwork and character. We stayed in the La France suite, which was perfect for us (this was also a big deal: I was writing a paper, and so spent more time in the room than I might usually. I was always comfortable and happy to be there). We also borrowed two bikes and spent a fantastic day cruising through the garden district. Breakfast every morning was a feast of delicious, fresh local foods, including some dwarf oranges from their own garden. It reminded me of the breakfasts my husband and I had on our honeymoon in France. Even better than the food, however, was the conversation, and the very best part of our stay was our leisurely chats with Matthew and Melanie every morning. We can't wait to come back. Thanks for everything! -Haylie and Ross


La Belle Esplanade

5 on December 06, 2012

We've stayed in New Orleans many times, mostly near the French Quarter and the Garden District. Our favorite places have been in the lower Garden...until our stay at La Belle Esplanade. We had a last minute opportunity to get to the city and Matthew was incredibly helpful in making the arrangements. The B&B is in Treme, a part of the NOLA we had not explored. Matthew gave us tips on where to go and made us feel at home. The inn is funky and wonderful. Clean! (not always the case in NOLA). The breakfast was a delight...and the coffee was true New Orleans. We will definitely return to La Belle Esplanade. Next time we hope to linger a while.


Best of the best!

5 on November 11, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at La Belle Esplanade. Everything; from the pretty Pelican-suite to the breakfast, the clening and the bikes was perfect. For us the location just outside the french quarters was great, we biked everywhere, day and night, and it was so easy and relaxed. The owners, Melanie and Matthew, are great. To meet up with them every morning at brekfast just added that little extra something every day and their friendlyness and knowledge made our vacation even better! We stayed at La Belle Esplanade for a week and if we go back to New Orleans we will most definitely stay there again! /AnnaMaria and Johan, Stockholm


An incomparable way to experience New Orleans

4.8 on November 11, 2012

Do you want to experience New Orleans like a local? Are you sick of big chain hotels and corny walking tours of the French Quarter? Matthew and Melanie will treat you like family, and like good family, let you in on all of the secrets New Orleans has to offer. I am a New Orleans expat who was back visiting friends for a long weekend, and I was amazed at how truly interested they were in sharing the special place that is New Orleans with anyone who enters their home. And speaking of, Matthew and Melanie don't just run a B&B, they run a home. La Belle Esplanade is a Creole beauty of a home, wonderfully and locally decorated. They take pride in displaying the local culture, and the accomodations were always immaculately clean and tended to. They truly enjoyed chatting over a breakfast overflowing with local fruits, vegetables, and foods. Their attention to detail is obvious everywhere, from local jams at breakfast, pralines on your pillow, local beer in the fridge, and bicycles for you to experience New Orleans like a local. They are happy to give you the inside scoop on where to go for a local dinner or where to catch the second line and dance your tail off on a Sunday afternoon. The room was beautiful, spacious and comfortable, just as amenable to spending a relaxing afternoon on your private porch with a cup of coffee as hitting the town. In all my travels back to New Orleans, I have never felt so at home (aside from sleeping on a friend's couch) as I did at La Belle Esplanade. When my friends ask me where to stay in New Orleans and what to see, I recommend no place more than La Belle Esplanade, and Matthew and Melanie will help you with any and everything you need. I look forward to staying there next time I go back to my fair city. A bientôt, Andy


A very good surprise!

4.4 on November 07, 2012

A very pretty Creole style house. Very comfortable and clean. Location is good and you can easily cycle to NOLA's points of interest. The owners are really really nice and will give you all information you need while having an amazing breakfast every morning. We really had a great time there. The only slight negative point I would mention is the bath tub which is kind of "old style"... J&L from Paris FR


Our First B&B Experience was Exceptional

4.8 on November 04, 2012

This was the first time we'd stayed at a b&b mainly due to working for a worldwide hotel chain that gives me free rooms as an employee, and I was delighted with the whole experience. A lot of what I wanted to put in the review has already been said by other reveiewers (delicious local delicacies for breakfast, very cool innkeepers, clean rooms that are decorated uniquely). We took advantage of the balcony outside of our rooms and were lucky to have decent evening weather to sit out there and enjoy cocktails. We had a car and didn't want this leg of our trip to be in the french quarter so the location was perfect for us. I never felt that we were in a bad part of town - come on, it's New Orleans and a person should always be careful of their surroundings. I would definetely stay here again and recommend it to friends.


Les Fleurs Suite at La Belle Esplanade is "Trés Somptueux"

4.2 on October 24, 2012

I had to use google translate to find just the perfect phrase to describe our brief stay in new Orleans at La Belle Esplanade. We found this serendipitous spot only days before our arrival, and were most pleasantly surprised, indeed! The innkeepers, our hosts--Mathew and Melanie, albeit new to this endevour, are clearly well-suited to it--gracious, charming, and enthusiastic about New Orleans and thier fine establishment, still in the process of finishing touches. Our suite was lovely, we especially enjoyed the micro-patio in front where we could sit and observe the passing streetlife, and the courtyard in back was also a welcome addition. Breakfast was regional and quite eclectic--I can't say I've ever enjoyed gator balls and spicy qual eggs for breakfast before this, but it makes for great travel tales! We will most certainly return, perhaps for JazzFest--and do highly recommend La Belle and her lovely hosts!


What a Fantastic Experience!

4.8 on October 23, 2012

I have to admit I came to La Belle Esplanade with no expectations. What I found was an engaging, friendly and dedicated couple who clearly have unbridled passion for not only the city they only recently call home, but also for providing guests an experience that instills that excitement and delight. All the antes to a good B&B are there—clean rooms, great amenities, prompt service, delicious breakfasts. Local drinks and snacks are added to your room at no cost. Breakfasts are large and varied, with local pastries and even some oddities (we got to try pickled quail eggs!) The best part, however, was the service. Matthew and Melanie are always on hand to give local suggestions and listen to your new finds, explain and describe the building and food choices, and help with any issues you may have. If you stay at Belle Esplanade, chat them up at breakfast—you won't regret it. The only possible complaint could be the location—it's not close to the Quarter. But for us, this wasn't a complaint, as it allowed for easy access to Tremé and the history on Esplanade, it encouraged bike exploration, and most locations were a quick cab ride away (when we called the cab companies, they almost always had a cab in 5 minutes or less). Overall, I couldn't recommend La Belle Esplanade more.


great experience

5 on October 23, 2012

the room was beautiful, fully equipped and with complimentary drinks. the breakfast of high quality and with a freshly cooked special everyday different. complimentary bikes added great value to our New Orleans experience. Hosts were always ready to provide tips and advices for visits.


My best lodging experience

4.8 on October 22, 2012

My best lodging experience (including hotels I visited). Belle Esplanade is located in an inspiring neighbourhood frequented by Edgar Degas in the 19th century. Looking at the beautiful villas the reason for Degas stay is evident. Hosts arranged guest pleasant surprises, such as crab cake and Louisiana doughnuts for breakfast. Rooms have very high ceilings and a balcony offering much needed coolness. New Orleans seems to be expensive, but "the beautiful esplanade" offers value for your money.


The Belle of the Crescent City

4.2 on October 16, 2012

We just spent three days and two nights in the enchanting city of New Orleans and our stay at La Belle Esplanade was the icing on the cake. The owners, Matthew and Melanie were excellent hosts, and attended to our every need, though there was not much we needed that was not already provided. The rooms, well appointed, were clean, very nice and well decorated. Note: The beds are full sized, which was not the best when traveling as a couple, but we made the best of it. The size of the beds were consistent with the decor and modern-antique feel of the room, so we appreciated it. Local treats, complimentary wine, juices, and water water were provided to us upon check-in to our room, as we had a mini refrigerator in our suite. Breakfast each morning was very nice, and the local delights (crawfish pie, muffalettas, etc) were very unique. Hot coffee, pastries, cereals, and fresh fruit were also provided each morning. This B&B is conveniently located to the french quarter, mid city new orleans, city park , and the museums. Away from all of the rambunctious night life, but just a short ride, decent walk to all of the action. We celebrated our anniversary at La Belle Esplanade, and we will most definitely return in the near future and beyond!


Great rooms, Horrible part of town

3.4 on October 14, 2012

The Bed and Breakfast was beautiful, hosts wer responder ful, and food was terrific. The location is undesirable and unsafe. My husband's cell phone was stolen off the front patio, and the walkto the French Quarter is not safe.


La Belle Esplanade

Details

  • Nightly Rate $179 - $229
  • Reviews (134) 4.8
  • Rooms 5

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5043011424

Visit Website »

View details

Top