Cedar Crest Lodge Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Onsite Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
161 Reviews

Write A Review

Honeymoon Retreat

4.8 on May 10, 2017

Being teachers, my wife and I knew we wouldn't be able to escape for a long honeymoon before school was out for the summer, so we decided to stay a night at Cedar Crest Lodge instead. Everything about the place was immaculate! The food, the scenery; everything! The hostess (Laura) was the friendliest person, and she saw to it that we had everything we needed, even though we were only there for a day. My wife and I have already recommended CCL to our friends and family back home, and are already discussing going back for our first anniversary next year.


Incredible, romantic weekend!

5 on May 08, 2017

Stayed at Cedar Crest Lodge this past weekend and it was an absolutely wonderful experience! The scenery was gorgeous, staff was extremely helpful and the food was delicious! This was my first ever stay at a Bed and Breakfast and it was the best first time I could have imagined. Overall I would recommend CCL to any couple looking for a romantic weekend!


Incredible Weekend!!!

5 on May 08, 2017

We spent the weekend at Cedar Crest Lodge and had an incredible experience. The food was delicious, staff super helpful and nice, the views were extraordinary. We got a couples massage, hiked some trails, laid in the hammock, and had the best weekend ever. I would absolutely recommend this B&B!


Amazing Get Away

5 on April 21, 2017

Thank you so much for the friendliness and open arms that you welcomed us with. We had an amazing time and look forward to coming to stay again!


really great place

4.0 on April 10, 2017

Our bead society has met at Cedar Crest for 3 years now. We are so pleased with the food, the staff, the convenience, the wonderful grounds with areas to walk and beautiful views.


OUTSTANDING B&B

5 on March 29, 2017

The room was OUTSTANDING! It was nice to enjoy a "Sleep Number" Bed. Food was delicious! Hosts were Eager to please!


If in eastern Kansas or western Missouri, this is the place to stay!

4.8 on March 26, 2017

Great country setting, walking trail. Sets on top of hill with great views in all directions. Great dinner...you should eat here. Breakfast was also excellent. Great service from very nice, friendly people.


Relaxing

4.4 on March 20, 2017

There were several of us there for scrap booking and we had a great time. The food was exceptional.


Anniversary getaway

5 on February 27, 2017

Fabulous food! Relaxing. Courteous staff. I loved our room.


Wonderful and beautiful experience

4.8 on February 24, 2017

We spent 3 days there and it was the best bed and breakfast we've ever experienced. The meals were like a high end restaurant. The place is beautiful, and the scenery gorgeous. It didn't hurt that the weather was nice. The suite we had was very clean, comfortable bed. The staff were very friendly without hovering. Would recommend it in a heartbeat!!


Her Birthday Surprise

5 on February 07, 2017

What an experience, the room was amazing, the food was outstanding, the service and staff were superb. I would recommend Cedar Crest Lodge to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing getaway.


I found my bed and breakfast spot!!

4.0 on January 18, 2017

Staff went out of their way to accommodate our stay since we were suppose to get an ice storm that weekend. Every time I called (3-4 times) no matter how many questions I died, I got a knowledgeable response and a courteous response. I got a descent massage, and my husband was impresses with his. I did expect the rooms to be a little bigger and newer compared to the picture online which is what I didn't give the rooms an "outstanding". The pillows could have been a little fluffier but some people may not like poofier pillows lol The food was exquisite. I can't say enough about the presentation and class. I would go just to eat. The picnic was even good. It seemed to be packaged with such thought and care. During our stay we had drunken pasta, salmon, chicken, and steak. I think the chicken was my favorite. One night we also had cheesecake which was ahhhhmaaaazing. We got to meet the owner which meant a lot to is that she took time out of her day to say hi and she even went out of her way to make me a cappuccino per my request! Thank you for making it a great experience. We will be back!


Lovely stay with beautiful View

5 on January 12, 2017

I stayed here on my honeymoon. I coudn't afford much, so I was looking for somewhere for a good price that was relaxing and nice. I would recommend this place any day. The service was great, all the staff was really nice. The food was excellent and made for you at your chosen time. Plus, the.area was just beautiful and the view from the eating area was gorgeous!


Magical.

4.4 on October 28, 2016

My husband and I both started new jobs right before our wedding, so we decided to have a mini moon. We had over 50 places to choose from and we settled on Cedar Crest after some exploring. It was the best decision we could have made. We stayed in the largest room, the Tuscan room. It was beautiful and spacious with a glorious jet bathtub and a bathroom with heated floors! We also enjoyed our meals being delivered to our room and every single meal was so delicious i will dream about them until my husband and I return. And we will return!!! The food is so fresh and so delicious. Our staff was incredible. Our massages were so relaxing that we fell asleep during them and could barely walk from being so chill!!!! The nature and trails surrounding the property were perfect. Our only regret is that we did not add on the stargazing package with our stay and next time we definitely will! Our stay was magical and perfect and much needed after a hectic wedding! I highly recommend. :D


Excellent all-around B&B!

5 on October 23, 2016

Excellent in every aspect and every area! This is possibly the best all around B&B we've stayed at except in Ireland! The deciding factor was the food, which pushed it over the top! I was gobbling down a few things that I rarely even eat because they were so exceptional! A bit pricey for the area but worth every penny!


Anniversary

4.8 on October 17, 2016

My husband and I booked a suite to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. Having such busy schedules, it is difficult for us to find time to relax. This vacation was perfect. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, the food was delicious, and the atmosphere was just what we needed.


Anniversary weekend

4.8 on October 04, 2016

We wanted a close get away to celebrate our anniversary and when planning, we focused on a place that would foster relaxation and quality time together. I can't say enough about the great staff, beautiful gardens, superb views and outstanding food. It really was a fantastic experience. We did the couples massage and the picnic the following day, which was perfect to take on our long walk. Only wish is that the fire pit would have been going that evening. We had full intentions of sitting out there but we were hesitant to start the fire and then be responsible for it. Other than that, it was perfect.


Gourmet Cuisine and beautiful views

4.4 on September 20, 2016

Fantastic food served farm-to-table with fresh vegetables and herbs right from the garden. The chef is onsite and very skilled as a chef and baker (morning coffee cake was perfect). Staff is wonderful and very helpful in every way. Great weekend getaway with beautiful views and trails to hike.


One year Anniversary

4.2 on September 13, 2016

This place has amazing views. It's very quiet not much to do is what we were looking for is time to relax and enjoy each other's company. The food was amazing every meal we had and we had breakfast, lunch and dinner. The innkeeper arranged for us to get massages which were also amazing. And to top the weekend off we had smores at the fire pit outside. So if u want somewhere to get amazing country views and relaxing and awesome food this is the place to go.


Anniversary stay at cedar crest

5 on September 07, 2016

Had a wonderful time overlooking the countryside and the food was execellent everything was enjoyable


"Beautiful and Relaxing"

4.0 on August 22, 2016

I can't say enough about this place! The views, the gardens, the nature trails, all bring a sense of serenity. Our room was beautiful and spacious with great views as well as a jet tub to relax in! The meals were healthy and delicious. The couples package was a bonus for us..champagne and chocolate covered strawberries, massages; I'm ready to return!


Hidden treasure

5 on August 10, 2016

The food, the people, the views! Could not ask for a better place to unwind!!!


Great Place

5 on August 09, 2016

Great place to stay! Very quiet & relaxing!


Fantastic!

5 on August 03, 2016

A great experience!


Ultimate Relaxation

5 on July 27, 2016

Spring-Fall is a very busy time for my husband's company. He works outside 10-12hrs a day, often 6 days a week. With three children, we don't get much time to ourselves once he gets home. So, we like to take 2 day trips to a B&B a couple of times during his busy season to help him get some down time to relax and for us to get some uninterrupted time to ourselves. Cedar Crest Lodge is our favorite destination. This beautiful property is so serene and the view is amazing! If you feel like you need to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life this is the place. Take time to swing in the hammock or sit by the pond while you're there and enjoy hearing nothing but nature!


Relaxing & enjoyable night away close to KC!

5 on July 27, 2016

My husband and I stayed here for one night to celebrate our anniversary. We took advantage of the couples massage and the private dining for dinner and breakfast. We could not be more pleased. The accommodations were perfect. The food was incredibly tasty, all vegetables came from the garden on site. We were comfortable, well cared for thoroughly pampered and relaxed! Highly recommend!


Quick Getaway

4.2 on June 16, 2016

My husband needed some quiet time after a tumultuous month with a death in the family, and Cedar Crest Lodge was the perfect place for us. The quiet setting, beautiful landscaping, delicious breakfast, and surprising views (in Kansas!) all served to make our stay more than what we had hoped for. The owners were very gracious and our room stayed cool and comfortable. There are other rooms available to guests for reading, watching movies, or just relaxing. We enjoyed our stay very much and would be quite happy to visit Cedar Crest Lodge again.


Wedding "Intermission" Get Away

4.6 on June 13, 2016

We had a great stay. We were married on a weekday with our reception on the weekend and came in between the two to relax and get away.We booked the "couples get away package". It included a couples massage and no shortage of food-- we had so much we had to take some home with us. The landscaping was gorgeous; it was a beautiful, remote place to catch sunsets.


So relaxing!

4.8 on May 03, 2016

We loved every minute of our stay and left feeling completely relaxed and rejuvenated. The food was so delicious and the grounds beautiful.


Weekend at Cedar Crest Lodge

5 on April 27, 2016

Pros: excellent food, heated floor, HUGE JACUZZI TUB, hiking trails, friendly staff, great massages, free coffee, heated towel rack, games and DVDs were available to borrow...probably more stuff Cons: not really


Romantic Getaway

4.8 on April 26, 2016

Thank you Cedar Crest Lodge for a relaxing getaway from the city and our small children! My husband and I spent the night in the Wine Country suite and enjoyed every minute. The staff was friendly, the property is beautiful, our room was clean and cozy and the steam shower was awesome. Thanks for a great overall experience, we will be back!


Best Kansas B&B

5 on April 12, 2016

We spent our honeymoon here during the winter 2 years ago and spent this past weekend visiting for a birthday. Our goal is to get there in all the seasons, as the scenery changes dramatically and beautifully!! The most perfect getaway.


Great escape

4.4 on March 28, 2016

Took my wife here for her 30th birthday so that we could have a peaceful getaway, and we received just that. The food was amazing, and everybody was so nice. We also did some massages that were fantastic. Again I can't say enough about the food, and the trail is a nice walk as well. Look forward to our next visit.


Wonderful getaway !!!!!

4.8 on March 28, 2016

David and Ann


Peaceful Getaway

5 on March 13, 2016

Our stay at Cedar Crest was wonderful! It was relaxing and peaceful and the food was incredible!


The Best in Kansas

5 on January 01, 2016

The food, staff, lodge, owners, and the scenery are all top notch. My wife have been several times, and this is by far our favorite Bed & Breakfast. We've been to several in the surrounding states, and Cedar Crest Lodge is at the top.


Cedar Crest Lodge- meaningful and memorable place to getaway!

5 on December 09, 2015

Cedar Crest Lodge is the perfect getaway spot. Perched upon a scenic hilltop in Pleasanton, Kansas (less than an hour from KC!), this bed and breakfast has the best of both worlds: breathtaking views and peaceful wooded trails. If sitting on a porch swing admiring colorful sunrises and sunsets is your thing, or getting in a brisk walk among serene ponds and trails filled with the fresh aroma of cedar inspires you, then this is the place for you.Cedar Crest Lodge has rustic charm with modern day comfort down to a science. There are magnificent wooden beams that soar above the den and a grand wood burning fireplace that will immediately give you the warm fuzzies. When one of the owners offers you a warm cup of Joe in their beautiful handcrafted mugs, you will want to kick off your shoes and sprawl out on the plush, over-sized couches before you even get to your room! Yet, you won’t want to miss staying in one of their suites! Each room is freshly kept and stocked with thoughtful items. Many rooms have their own theme- French Wine Country or Victorian to name a couple- yet even their basic getaway suite meets the highest standards. And if you need a little extra help relaxing, you can enjoy the on-site spa and let your tensions be melted away by one of their professional massage therapists. What really sets Cedar Crest Lodge above so many other B&B’s is that they truly cater to their guests. Unique to Cedar Crest is that they offer both breakfast and dinner- and the food is truly second to none! Secondly, they grow much of their own produce right on site, so everything is fresh and healthy. Each meal is curated with the true passion to please their guests. Their menu is not the same ole same ole, but rather art created to give guests the finest dining experience.Cedar Crest Lodge is more than a B&B, the heart of this tranquil spot is to offer high quality accommodations and memorable cuisine to those needing rejuvenation in a way that is both meaningful and memorable.


Amazing Couples Weekend

5 on November 15, 2015

We chose Cedar Crest Lodge for a weekend getaway to celebrate our 10 yr anniversary. Tuscan Manor and Couples Weekend package were amazing. The food was wonderful and the inn keepers went out of their way to make us feel special. We will definitely be back.


Oh my, the FOOD!

4.6 on October 05, 2015

At just an hour away from the city, this is the best little overnight getaway. The innkeapers go out of their way to make you feel welcomed. The private rooms are very nice and the food is simply divine. You will be pleased. -Paige, Kansas City


Anniversary Weekend

5 on October 02, 2015

We spent this past weekend at the Lodge and had a fantastic time! The French Quarter Room was marvelous, especially the jacuzzi tub. It was very clean and comfortable. They provided some of the little things you wouldn't typically expect including bottled water, popcorn, coffee and even bug spray for walking the trails. We had a great time following the trails and taking pictures of the scenery. The food was above and beyond expectation. They catered to my food sensitivities and were still able to provide full meals that were delicious! Overall, they were very nice people who genuinely cared about our comfort during our stay and made sure we had everything we needed/wanted. We will definitely stay there again in the future!


Wonderful anniversary stay

4.4 on September 04, 2015

Spent a wonderful quiet evening and day in a beautiful setting. Great activities, pretty pool. The chef was excellent, and the food plentiful, beautiful grounds


PEACEFUL COUNTRY SETTING

4.6 on August 27, 2015

This is a beautiful B&B, tucked away in the country about an hour south of KC. My best friend and I went there for a much-needed get-away and stress reliever ... we were not disappointed. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms tastefully decorated (and not overdone), the Innkeeper was very sociable, and the breakfast was delicious !! I am going to recommend it to my girlfriends' group called the Goddesses.


Relaxing Anniversary

4.0 on August 25, 2015

We wanted a special place to spend our 22nd anniversary after a long week of traveling and long meetings. We stayed in the Wine Country room with the spa shower and it was something new and enjoyable as we usually booked a whirlpool room at other B&Bs. We loved being out in the middle of nature, enjoying seeing all sorts of wildlife and scenery. The staff was so kind and personal we felt valued and welcomed. The meals were also a special experience for our celebration. We have told many who travel then same route they should try Cedar Crest for a tranquil getaway.


Beautiful place. Excellent food.

4.6 on August 09, 2015

This place was beautiful. My wife and I needed a get-away and found this gem. The room was very very nice and the food was awesome!! I would definitely recommend this place to friends and strangers. Matt and Laura run an extremely nice and beautiful b&b. Thank you.


Very nice place with spectacular surroundings

4.2 on August 04, 2015

What a nice place on the countryside. Spectacular view from the house and lovely garden surroundings. Matt and Laura are so friendly. It is a pity we only ordered a one night stay.


Quiet Country Getaway

5 on June 21, 2015

What a great B&B. Matt and Laura were fantastic hosts and the property is absolutely charming. This B&B offers more than the usual. 3 meals a day, pool, walking trails, vegetable and flower gardens, and spa. We went for a quick getaway from the city and busy lives. One hour outside of KC into the country and we were there. The views were spectacular and relaxing. We also ordered the picnic lunch and salmon for dinner. Both were great and presentation was also 5 star. This is a great getaway for couples, friends, reunions, and weddings.


Hidden treasure

5 on June 07, 2015

Beautiful, peaceful and relaxing. Everything you would expect for a quiet get away!!! Very accommodating! Food is top notch, most all of the vegetables we ate came out or their garden!! Class act!!!


Great hosts!

5 on May 26, 2015

We had a wonderful experience at Cedar Crest Lodge! The room was very clean and comfortable. Laura was a wonderful host, accommodating our food preferences for our meals, which were very delicious. We purchased the meat & cheese tray, as well as a picnic lunch, which we enjoyed on the beautiful grounds. Our only disappointment was that the weather was too wet to walk the trails.


Amazing anniversary weekend!

5 on April 12, 2015

We had such a wonderful time here! We partook in the Couples package and thoroughly enjoyed spending our time together getting pampered! Every meal we had was wonderful; Laura makes the best gluten free baked goods I've had! Thank you so much for a weekend to remember. We will be back!


Great get away and wonderful views!

5 on April 09, 2015

This was such a wonderful place and the folks who run it are warm and friendly. Lots of quiet places and lots of group spaces and if you like the outdoors, its a jewel! Thanks Laura and Evelyn for making me feel welcomed and appreciated! :)


So Peaceful!

4.8 on April 05, 2015

This was a fun girls getaway for cards! Laura and staff were so friendly and the food was outstanding. We would recommend to anyone who wants to "get away from it all"!


Great weekend away!

4.6 on March 23, 2015

Our kids had gotten us a weekend getaway here for Christmas. We had a great time, the room was very clean, staff was friendly. I was a little concerned with the price of the dinners, but the food was well worth it! I would recommend eating your evening meals at the lodge. They even wrap the dessert to take back to your room. Unfortunately it was the wrong time of the year to see the gardens in bloom but I bet they are going to gorgeous. There are several ponds on the property and we were able to get a little fishing in. Looking forward to going back in the fall.


beautiful stay and very relaxing!

4.6 on March 18, 2015

Very relaxing stay...calm and quiet! Got proposed to overlooking the beautiful scenery! Would definitely go back!


True getaway!

5 on February 27, 2015

My husband and I took in a weekend after reading several reviews of Cedar Crest. We were not disappointed - from a delightful innkeeper, to divine dinners, to incredible warm stone massages - it was everything the reviews promised. Our goal was to escape the daily craze of life and business and our weekend at Cedar Crest provided opportunity for talks around the fireplace, uninterrupted reading time, and the luxury of not cooking or fighting for dinner reservations. If you go, take some wine and order a picnic lunch. We visited in February so we enjoyed a picnic in our room but there are plenty of picnic worthy spots on the grounds. Looking forward to a return trip in the fall!


Very relaxing time

4.8 on February 21, 2015

We had a very relaxing time at Cedar Crest Lodge. We came down to get out of the city and the business, and while it was only for one night, it definitely exceeded our expectations. The only reason for not marking the Dining as Outstanding is that the breakfast was a little lighter than my appetite was ready for. Otherwise, the food was delicious including the Wild Salmon dinner that we had the night before. One thought that I had while we were there was that it is a great place for a few couples to have some quality time for the spouses, but the common areas are comfortable, and they have several games (we played Scrabble together) that would allow friends to play.


Love, love love the place!

4.8 on February 18, 2015

A group of us use the Lodge for a Scrapbook get-away weekend, and we always have a wonderful time. They make wonderful additions to it every year. The owners are so very nice and accommodating, and the food is fabulous.


Wonderful Experience!

5 on February 16, 2015

My boyfriend surprised me with a one-night stay at this cozy B&B. I could not have been more impressed! Our day started with an amazing couples massage (one of the best I've ever had) followed by a romantic dinner with excellent food and service! The breakfast the next morning was delicious!! I couldn't have asked for a better experience. The rooms were incredibly nice and clean. I can't wait to return!!!


Perfect weekend!!!

5 on February 08, 2015

This place is amazing. We stayed in the Tuscan Suite. Wow what a room and the tub is huge!!! Dinner was so good. We took our own wine and really enjoyed the while evening. The staff was so friendly and kind. Thanks for a nice weekend


Excellent!

5 on January 11, 2015

We recently stayed at Cedar Crest Lodge for 2 nights during our Christmas vacation. We were very pleased from the moment we arrived until our departure. Matt and Laura are excellent innkeepers and just extremely nice people. They made sure we had everything we needed or wanted during our stay. The food was amazing, whatever you do, don't go and stay without eating the beef tenderloin dinner. The accommodations were beautiful and so comfortable, steam shower was awesome, and the couples massage was very relaxing. We definitely recommend you stay here. We plan to visit again soon! Mike & Cheryl Sent from my iPad


Very relaxing and comfortable!

4.6 on January 09, 2015

We had a wonderful time here at the lodge, and loved every minute of it! The place is set on a beautiful "mountain" with nice hiking trails and we felt very welcome. It exceeded our expectations on food and service!


New Year's Elopement Joy!

5 on January 04, 2015

Found Cedar Crest Lodge because we were looking for an elopement package. It was perfect. Everything we needed was included, the ceremony was beautiful, the lodge is lovely, food delicious, and the rooms were cozy and comfortable. We had a wonderful time and will definitely be back! You won't be disappointed!


Pleasant stay

5 on December 23, 2014

From the moment we booked our stay, we were treated with incredible kindness. The room was incredible, we were able to have an amazing gourmet dinner and then a fabulous breakfast. I'm not surprised given the generous nature of Kansans! Even though it was a rainy, cloudy day, the sun peeked through just as it was setting to give us a glimpse of a glorious sky! We look forward to returning in the spring.


A pleasant getaway

5 on November 04, 2014

What a wonderful getaway. Matt & Laura were friendly and very hospitable. My wife was celebrating her birthday and loved the spa. We enjoyed the walking trails and relaxing as we walked through the cedar trees. The dinner was delightful and was very filling. We have only one complaint and that is we didn't stay long enough! Next time we'll make it a longer stay... thanks to Laura and Matt for memorable stay! See ya next time!


An Amazing Retreat

5 on October 27, 2014

Sometimes you just need to get away from the craziness of your life. To be somewhere that you are the guest and people are taking care of you. Cedar Crest Lodge is a unique gem hidden in KS near Ft. Scott. They are a lovely couple that have great a hide away were you can soak up some beautiful views and night stars. The room are cozy and they have thought off all the extras that you may need. We had coffee on the patio in the morning in our nice fluffy robs. The steam shower was an unexpected bonus that allowed us to relax even more! The FOOD, I can't say enough amazing things about Laura and her ability to blend together great food and spices even for those special need diets! Get a few couples together and head down to Cedar Crest Lodge for a long weekend of food and friends. Enjoy a fire and play some horseshoes or other outdoor games. Setup a couples massage to round out the weekend. j I promise you will have an amazing experience!


Love love love!!!!! Stay here...you won't regret it!

5 on October 19, 2014

we stayed in the Bali Hai room one night for our 8 year anniversary. The room was better than pictured! There is a built in cabinet with the tv and a mini fridge. there are also cushy robes in the closet. We were really impressed with the roomy custom shower! the tiles looked like stone with a huge rain shower head and seat. soooo luxurious for us. we got a couples massage and the beef wellington. We couldn't have been any more pleased! The grounds are lovely. Although we loved the massages...when we go again i will skip that to spend more time hiking. I thought the trails would be open prairie but the first part is very wooded with cedar (hence the name). That was so relaxing. The best part was to never have to put on your shoes almost! we just relaxed in our room, then walked in to the most intimate gourmet dinner. First a Caesar salad, then Beef wellington with spinach and blue cheese inside a pastry crust, garden picked Brussel sprouts sauteed with bacon and onions, and garlic mashed potatoes. we were so stuffed that we took our melt in your mouth chocolate cake to our room. In the morning, two pumpkin pancakes with the most delicious pumpkin maple syrup! second course was a fritatta, bacon, and fruit salad with fresh pears, apples and grapes. It is served with a cute carafe of orange juice. they use wonderful hand made pottery mugs (that you can purchase as a souvenir) and on top of the regular coffee and hot chocolate, they have a single serving machine with flavored coffees and decaf. We couldn't have been more pleased or pampered. the lodge was booked but the guests were quiet and friendly and just lovely. (except when the royals won the baseball game) :) Laura is so sweet, charming and attentive. exactly what you would expect for a hostess. the girls who worked to cook and do the massages were just as sweet. you could really see a team spirit and family atmosphere among them. it was really neat to see.


1 Year Anniversary

5 on September 22, 2014

My husband and I went to Cedar Crest Lodge for our one year annivsary and LOVED it! The innkeepers were very friendly and the dinner was amazing (that Laura cooked!) Very peaceful and beautiful views, sitting outside drinking our wine and just enjoying the place. We will Def be going back every year!!


Wonderful weekend get away

5 on August 03, 2014

We enjoyed fishing at the pond, swimming at the pool, roasting smores,relaxing in our Jacuzzi tub and dinner on the patio looking at the scenery as the sun went down. The food was delicious- dinner and breakfast. The innkeepers were so friendly and thought of everything needed for a wonderful weekend. We can't wait to go back!!! If you want peace and quiet, love the outdoors and want to be spoiled by amazing hospitality this place is for you!


A WOW feeling

5 on June 25, 2014

It was our first time in a bed and breakfast, and with this experience we were already planning another trip before we left. it was by far the best experience ever. Matt and Laura make you feel like family and the food, well that was a whole adventure on its own. it was AMAZING AND DELISH!!!!! thank you both so much for such a wonderful experience..


A Fantastic Stay

4.6 on June 04, 2014

We rented out the Lodge for the weekend to host a wedding reception for our son and new daughter in law. The place was great, the hospitality fantastic. I had to arrange this from Australia where we live and everything went smoothly with excellent communication back and forth via email. Everyone enjoyed their stay and our hosts were great. Laura did a great job at accommodating changes as they occurred and it was just a super relaxing weekend with family and friends. I was very happy to choose the location and would highly recommend them.


Super hospitable!

4.8 on May 18, 2014

We had a retreat for our members at the lodge. What a gorgeous place to be. The grounds are kept up beautifully-flowers everywhere! Our rooms were spotless, comfortable and charming. We had lovely buffet meals with attention to special needs (for 20 of us) and items fresh from the on site garden where possible. Laura and Matt were wonderful hosts and made us feel at home. Thanks for such a great place to have a retreat.


Fond Memories

4.2 on May 13, 2014

Laura and Matt, ever since we left Cedar Crest, Bob and I have been speaking of the delightful time we had, the delicious meals and how very welcome you made us feel. Don't be surprised if we return and bring friends with us. Thanks again. Ps..No better way to celebrate an anniversary. Even the three cats are friendly. Bob and Shirley.


Frequent Visitor

4.8 on January 04, 2014

Our latest stay at Cedar Crest Lodge was this New Year's Eve. . .it was absolutely the best way to end a rather busy, hectic year. We felt pampered from the very beginning - staying in our "usual" room, The Wine Country. Dinners are always excellent; Matt & Laura make everyone feel welcome and really at home. We have stayed at Cedar Crest for a nice weekend getaway, for a couple retreats with our church groups, and for special events like their BBQ class this past October. We will continue to make this our favorite place to relax and refresh! Thanks so much for your hospitality! ~ Bill & Julie


Peaceful/Relaxing/Rejuvinating

5 on November 30, 2013

A short 3hr drive from Wichita far enough to feel like I got away from it all. Got back in touch with Nature walking the trails and had a nice relaxing Jacuzzi when I got back. Shortly after I had the best dinner brought to my room. This lodge compared to some of the 5star b&b I have stayed at in Sonoma CA. Super soft sheets and comfy beds. VERY Clean. Am looking forward to going back in the spring and viewing the gardens and all of the flowers. Lodge is way up on a hill in the country with breathtaking views.


A wonderful destination!

5 on November 12, 2013

Recently spent my 5th weekend at Cedar Crest and each time it just gets better! The hosts have become good friends. There isn't a single thing I would change. I look forward to my next visit! Thank you, Laura and Matt!


What a great getaway!

5 on October 23, 2013

I purchased a couple's package and took my wife to Cedar Crest for her 30th birthday. When we arrived the owner showed us around the property and made us feel at home. We started our stay with a couple's massage which was fantastic, then had a gourmet dinner featuring some of the tastiest fresh veggies I've ever tasted. The room was great (we stayed in the French Quarter room) big, comfy bed... 2-person jacuzzi... perfect for us! The property is beautiful and well-maintained and we really liked having so much space to wander. Breakfast in the morning was also amazing. I'm not a huge fan of eggs, but we had veggie frittatas which were superb! We're planning to go back in the summer to see the garden in all its glory. I'd recommend this to anyone in KC who's looking to get out of town for a night or two.


GREAT place for a team retreat! Perfect!

5 on September 16, 2013

I cannot say enough wounderful things about this venue. We just returned from a two day professional team retreat at Cedar Crest and the location made the event. We brought a team of 12+ to the lodge for the training/work event. The food was wonderful, service was perfect, and the location excellent. The Host and Hostess provided a space that was perfect for learning and team building. Everyone was comfortable and relaxed. This was just far enough away to breed focus and close enough to be just right. WE WILL VISIT AGAIN, professionally and many personally.


Cedar Crest Lodge

5 on September 11, 2013

My husband and I just got married Saturday and we chose to spend our honeymoon at the Cedar Crest Lodge, the service was AMAZING, the scenery was beautiful, the food was delicious, and the staff was outstanding. We will definately be visiting again.


Beautiful and Relaxing

4.8 on September 05, 2013

This trip was planned as a getaway for my mother and I for her 78th birthday. My mother had a very long year with cancer and this was her first vacation after chemo and multiple surgeries. We picked this location looking at the reviews on different websites. The location is very convenient. It's only a couple of miles off the highway but is surrounded by beautiful grounds and scenery. Matt was very accomodating with all of my mothers special needs. We had a massage and facial which was wonderful. We stayed in a luxury room and it lived up to its name. The towels to the bedding were ultra comfy. Matt did not charge us the extra price to have our dinner in our room since my mother was completely exhausted after the massage. The dinner was amazing. We had Chicken Marsala with fresh green beans out of their garden and had chocolate cake for dessert. The next morning we had a lovely breakfast of two courses that were cooked by their local cook(Evelyn). We then sat outside on their patio to enjoy the beautiful picturesque scenery. The only negative thing I have to say about our trip was that we had quite a few issues making our reservation and I had to make more than one phone call to get it ironed out but once we got there it was wonderful. I would love to return in the fall sometime to see the beautiful colors on the open landscape.


Family Reunion Destination

4.8 on August 11, 2013

Our family of 20 adults and 8 children under 7 had a wonderful time at Cedar Crest Lodge. The rooms are beautiful with plenty of room for spreading out and sleeping comfortably. The lounging areas are plentiful and varied for watching TV/videos, playing board games, and just relaxing. The pool is basic, but it has plenty of room for sunning on the deck while watching the swimmers. We enjoyed that. I appreciated the ease of working out the details of our reunion with Matt. We have used Cedar Crest 3 times and probably will do so again. Penny Bennett


Incredible B&B with an awesome view

5 on August 01, 2013

Cedar Crest Lodge is a ONE of a KIND bed and breakfast. If you want to get away from the fast paced world of the big city and enjoy some peace and tranquility, CCL is the place to be. We had a family reunion this past week and all who came from San Francisco to New York and in between were absolutely astonished of how beautiful it is at Cedar Crest. The Innkeepers, Matt and Laura went out of their way to make it a special weekend for all of us. The view, the stars in the sky at night and the delicious array of food is absolutely incredible. Thanks Matt and Laura for welcoming our family and providing a wonderful environment to gather.


Outstanding Stay

5 on July 16, 2013

Gorgeous scenery, peaceful environment, delicious food, all in all a perfect spot to relax and catch up with someone special.


Very Relaxing

4.6 on July 15, 2013

I spent 2 days at cedar crest, just to get away. I had a great time. Breakfast was delicious and the service was outstanding. I hiked to the end of the trail, and the wild flowers were beautiful. I spent some time reading the hammock and also spent some time by the garden. Really enjoyed being there and will definitely go back


Access to heaven on earth.

5 on July 11, 2013

A truly relaxing and stress relieving atomosphere from the time you step out of your vehicle. Matt and Laura as well as the staff make you feel very much like you are trully welcome and appreciated. The rooms are very clean and well kept and the flowers are about as variied as the stars in the sky. You will not find another bed & breakfast or for that matter a restaurant with the delicious and mouth watering food available here for a very resonable price. Our third time here and looking forward to our fourth.


The Perfect Spot

4.8 on July 09, 2013

We were planning a large family reunion in the Kansas City area and decided to look on the internet. We were so lucky to have chosen the Cedar Crest Lodge. The lodge sits on a hill with beautiful sunrises and sunsets. We were able to be alone in any of the several quiet spots or get together with a group at the pool or on one of the patios. The children enjoyed their time swimming, climbing in the tree house, swinging in the hammock, playing wiffleball on the lawn and catching lightning bugs. The food was amazing! We had some family members with dietary needs and Laura and Matt were so accommodating. They were such great hosts. I highly recommend the Cedar Crest Lodge for anyone planning a vacation trip near Kansas City.


Definitely a "one of a kind" B&B

4.8 on July 02, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Tuscon Manor Suite, and was blown away as soon as we entered. The food was amazing, the hospitality was more than imaginable. The peace and quite, the views from the back patio, was simply astounding. This is definitely the place to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, and get reacquainted with that special someone. Simply and honestly, one of the best, and most relaxing weekends I recall having. For us, there is no second choice. Cedar Creek is the place to go. Thanks a ton Matt, Laura, and staff!!!


A wonderful weekend

4.8 on June 30, 2013

Everything was wonderful during our stay at Cedar Crest. The room was wonderful and had lots of extras. The dinner was fantastic (my wife said one of the best meals she's had). The grounds were immaculate with flowers everywhere and there were many areas to relax outdoors with incredible views. The service was also over the top with the owners themselves going out of their way to make us feel at home. Overall, we had a wonderful time and were pleased we found this quaint bed and breakfast.


Fun evening with friends.

4.6 on June 26, 2013

We enjoyed our overnight stay at Cedar Crest Lodge with friends last night. The lodge's location is beautiful. It is very well maintained and the staff super friendly. Delicious dinner with vegetables from their garden.


We Will Be Returning Soon!

5 on June 17, 2013

We chose to have our small wedding at Cedar Crest Lodge & it was absolutely perfect! The scenery there is stunning and looked amazing in our wedding pictures! The cake that was included was the most delicious cake we've ever had! Our dinner was perfect! We chose to have it in our room & they set up a table and chairs in there for us, then delivered our salads with delicious homemade rolls, then our main course (which was amazing) and then our yummy dessert! Our room was amazing as well! We stayed in the French Quarter room & we didn't want to leave!! Last but not least, the staff was amazing! Everyone there is so friendly & welcoming. They made us feel right at home! We will definitely be retuning soon just for a peaceful,relaxing getaway and some delicious food!


Truly, exceeded our expectations!!!

5 on May 21, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a last minute, relaxing, romantic getaway, and Cedar Crest Lodge met and exceeded our expectations! Upon our arrival, the grounds of the Lodge are breathtaking! The Lodge is located on a hill overlooking the surrounding rural area, and the landscaping is truly a wonderland for gardeners, or anyone who simply appreciates natural beauty! We stayed in the Tuscan Manor Suite, which was very spacious, yet cozy; beautifully decorated, immaculately clean, and private. The Suite was the epitome of comfort! We also invested in the 'Couple's Midweek/Weekend Package' that the Innkeepers offer; it is a phenomenal, romance inducing Package that is more than worth the money! We were lucky enough to experience breakfast, a picnic lunch, and dinner, which were TRULY gourmet, DELICIOUS, and full of veggies sourced directly from the grounds of the Lodge -- a BIG plus; we did not leave feeling the slightest bit hungry! The entire staff is very friendly, warm, and always willing to help in any way they possibly can. Lisa, the Head Gardener, is exceptionally welcoming, warm, and is happy to provide any information on any plants or flowers a person could inquire about. The Innkeepers, Laura and Matt, are WONDERFUL hosts!!! They have entertaining stories, and are overall incredibly kind, generous, and caring. We had a fantastically relaxing, romantic, and entertaining stay, and plan on going back as soon as our schedules will allow!


Absolutely incredible!

5 on April 29, 2013

Absolutely incredible! The perfect Getaway for couples. The hospitality is amazing and very personal. Matt and Laura would call us by name and made sure we had everything and more! The food was outstanding, along with a beautiful scenery. I couldn't have asked for a better birthday gift then a two night stay at Cedar Crest Lodge. I can't wait to return again for another wonderful romantic stay! I will definitely recommend this place to all my friends looking for the PERFECT getaway!


Best B & B Ever!!!

5 on March 20, 2013

Matt & Laura are awersome hosts! We experienced the Romatic Package, and the money was well spent! Laura is an awesome cook and the meals were better than you can get at some fancy restaurants. The room was spotless and clean. It was so peaceful and serine, I every minute I was there. We will definetley bek going back and will be telling are friends and family about visiting Cedar Crest Lodge!


Fabulous Inn

4.8 on March 17, 2013

We were looking for a quiet getaway and we found one! Fabulous meals and kind friendly staff made our weekend very enjoyable! Thank You! We will return!


Amazing!

5 on February 27, 2013

Wonderful Bed and Breakfast. Matt and Laura were very nice and helpful, food was mouth watering and our room was the best room we have ever stayed in. The drive from Nebraska was well worth it. We will go back to this place over and over again!


Absolutely Spectacular!!!!

5 on November 20, 2012

This place is so amazing! Feels like a home away from home! Food was wonderful, rooms were clean and so cutely decorated, and I love seeing cats, dogs, and even deer! 5 stars all the way!!


Excellent getaway

5 on November 14, 2012

Cedar Crest is the best getaway for quiet and relaxation. Laura cooks wonderful meals and the rooms are very comfortable. You will not be disappointed at this B & B.


Best Wedding Ever!

5 on November 11, 2012

Most weddings are filled with anxiety and stress; however after a year of planning, the one thing we did not have to stress over is our stay at the Cedar Crest Lodge. Matt and Laura did an excellent job of taking care of all of the fine details to help ensure everything went off without a hitch and our guests had a wonderful time! The property is so beautiful and picturesque. Our wedding photos are just simply beautiful, and we could not have asked for a better background! The food is fresh, homemade, with an upscale restaurant quality. Matt and Laura were so relaxed and hospitable and brought a truly positive energy to our day. Everyone enjoyed themselves and has told us this was the best wedding they have ever been to! Thank you Matt, Laura, and your staff for contributing to the best wedding ever!!


Wonderful!

5 on October 12, 2012

We had a great time at the Cedar Crest Lodge. Matt and Laura were extremely friendly and personable and they made sure that we had a comfortable stay. We got massages and they were so relaxing and rejuvenating. I have to comment on the food, though I'm not sure I can even describe how good it is in writing...Laura's food was honestly some of the best food I have ever had in my life! My husband is a chef and he even said that Laura's dinner (the Cedar Crest chicken marsala) was one of the top three meals he had ever eaten! We had fresh peach cobbler for dessert and pumpkin pancakes in the morning. It was just great food done very, very well, and we couldn't stop raving about it. The inn was beautiful and our room was very comfortable. It was so private, quiet, tranquil, and relaxing, and it was just what we needed. We would both highly recommend Cedar Crest, and we will definitely be back!!


Great B&B

5 on October 04, 2012

My wife and I visited for our 1st Wedding Anniversary and had a wonderful time. The food was fantastic and the hosts were extremely friendly. Beautiful location, overall a great B&B to spend time and relax!


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast

5 on September 30, 2012

What a romantic and quiet place to stay! Everything about Cedar Crest Lodge was perfect...the room, the food, the service, the cleanliness and the host/hostess - Matt and Laura. Thank you for making our 25th wedding anniversary such a wonderful and memorable event! You both work so hard and do such a wonderful job!!!


Honeymoon

5 on September 29, 2012

After months of searching for a place to spend our honeymoon my husband found Cedar Crest Lodge and it was AMAZING!! The room was so big and had all the perks you could ask for. The package we had came with breakfast daily, a picnic lunch and a romantic dinner in our room our only regret was not planning more meals at the bed and breakfast because Laura is such an amazing cook. The owners were just the nicest people and very welcoming!! We highly recommend this B and B and we will be returning!!!!!


Back-to-Nature at it's finest

5 on September 12, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at this B & B!! The views from on top of this hill are breathtaking. It is back-to-nature at it's finest. The food is delicious. The Innkeepers and their children were so cordial and accomodating. Would highly highly recommend the Cedar Crest Lodge. Can't wait to go back!!


Secluded Romantic Getaway

4.8 on August 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed for our 14 year anniversary and I cannot say enough about how much we loved our stay. You ate greeted immediately with a sense of calm quiet and tranquility. The details of our room were so well thought out. We had chilled wine and strawberries waiting for us upon arrival and the beef wellington for dinner was out of this world. Thank you, thank you, thank you to our warm hostess Laura. You made our stay fantastic. We are returning again get the couples massages and picnic lunch. A very relaxing and romantic place to get away.


Best B&B!

5 on August 26, 2012

We were treated like royalty and family all at the same time. The rooms were wonderful, clean and well appointed. We had everything we could have thought to have. The food was fresh, delicious and beautifully presented. Would rival anything on the Food Network. Laura and Matt are gracious, kind hosts. We will be returning.


Great overall experience

4.4 on August 12, 2012

A beautiful rustic bed and breakfast with a welcoming friendly staff. It's a perfect place for a relaxing weekend to get away. Good homestyle cooking, though it didn't quite meet our expectations from reading the other reviews. We highly recommend cedar crest lodge and will return in the future!


Over night Getaway

5 on July 08, 2012

Cedar Crest Lodge was great. We had never been at a Bed and Breakfast. The staff and owners were great. The room was very, very nice. We stayed in one of the suite rooms, beautiful place. The supper meal was great and the breakfast was wonderful. Just a great place to set and getaway from all of the hustle and bustle of life. We will be back again!!! Kevin and Renae


Fantastic!

5 on July 03, 2012

You will not regret staying at this incredible lodge. I took my wife here for our anniversary and we both loved the time we spent here. From the food to the grounds it is all you could hope for.


So peaceful

5 on June 26, 2012

Our getaway weekend was fabulous! We felt like we were the only couple at the lodge. Staff were super attentive and very anxious to help make our stay wonderful.


Tranquil......Perfect!

5 on June 14, 2012

We spent our wedding night there. We were not taking our actual honeymoon for a month but wanted to go somewhere for the night. This place was so perfect. It was about an hour away but felt so much farther with the peace and quiet. The room was lovely. It had a bed that was amazingly comfy and a jacuzzi tub we could both fit in. We lounged around by the pool a bit and chilled on the hammock. I felt so relaxed. We didn't get to meet Laura. She was out, but Matt was inviting and easy going. And the food was absolutely amazing!!! I highly recommend Cedar Crest to get away from it all and get back to feeling at peace. Even if only for a night.


A Break From Work

4.8 on May 19, 2012

Excellent place to get away from the fast work place to relaxed....wish I had done it earlier!!


wonderful getaway

5 on May 10, 2012

the scenery was georgeous, the people were friendly, the food was delicious and they offer a cookbook so you can have those recipes when you get home. the cats were loving. only thing i wished were more handicap accessible things . will go there again and would give it a 4 out of 5 rating 4 because not much i could do with walker hard to get up steps.


Quaint, hospitable, wonderful B&B!

5 on May 08, 2012

Not far from Kansas City, this B&B has all the romance and charm of any B&B I've been to. Hosts are gracious & warm, food is fabulous, and it is tucked away on a hilltop with trails, great view, pool, and organic garden. It was a great place for our anniversary stay. and hope to return soon. Highly recommend. Thanks Laura, Matt, Evelyn and Shannon!!


Great Staff, Great Food, Great Place

5 on May 01, 2012

We stayed there for our 2yr anniversary and loved every minute. The staff was so helpful and sweet. The owners are hands one and nice. The food was amazing! Very comfortable room and bed. Its so peaceful and beautiful and the trails were fun to walk. We will defin be back!


Good birthday!

4.4 on April 17, 2012

Stayed in Tuscan manor room. Great views, jacuzzi fantastic


Great food, beautiful surroundings

5 on March 27, 2012

Our business holds several retreats a year at Cedar Crest. We have always been pampered with great food, fabulous service and beautiful scenery. We always look for to returning for our next visit. Matt. Laura and the staff are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The food is always outstanding.


Perfect

5 on March 18, 2012

This was our first experience at a B & B and it was perfect, The food was above and beyond my exoectations. The staff was amazing the room was beautiful. I can't wait to go back!


Great Girls Getaway

4.0 on February 14, 2012

Scrapbookers-N-More. It was a wonderful time to catch up on scrapbooking many activities. The staff at the Lodge outdid themselves. They were responsive to our needs and kept us well feed. We enjoyed many hours of creative work in the space that was provided for our scrapbooking group.


Invigorating

5 on February 07, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Cedar Crest Lodge last week. Wow!! We were expecting to have some quality peaceful time together and our expectations were continuously being exceeded. We stayed in the Tuscan Manor Suite. The ambience was perfection. We had dinner brought to our room the first night and words cannot begin to tell what a magnificent cook Laura is; Best meal we have had in years. The lodge sets on acreage, with a trail that winds through the woods. On our second day we had a picnic lunch prepared by Laura and ate it in a secluded area by one of the ponds that sits on their property. It was great to take in the nature and beautiful surroundings of the timbered area. I also recommend their spa services. I had a massage during our stay that left me very tranquil. I look forward to visiting again in the summer. Matt and Laura are very gracious hosts and made our stay better than we could envision.


A Wonderful Weekend

4.4 on January 29, 2012

This was the third stay at Cedar Crest Lodge for my husband and I. This time we stayed in the French Quarter room which was very comfortable and nicely decorated. The hosts, Matt and Laura, always make us feel welcome and at 'home'. As usual, the breakfast we were served was delicious. We are looking forward to going back when the weather is warmer and heading out on the walking paths. Cedar Crest Lodge is a 'must try place', you won't be disappointed.


Absolutely amazing!

5 on January 08, 2012

My boyfriend took me here as a surprise for my birthday. We stayed in the Tuscan Manor. It was a beautiful room. The bath tub was huge, fit two people very comfortably. The king size bed was cozy and soft. We had the Cedar Crest Chicken for dinner, with Roasted Pototoes, Carrots, Caesar Salad and Rosemary cake for dessert. They served it to us in our room and it was so delicious. I didn't get to try out the spa, but I'm looking forward to returning and treating myself to that! Even though it was January we walked the trails. It was very pretty and peaceful! Everyone was so nice!! No complaints at all!


Favorite local B & B Time & Time Again

5 on October 25, 2011

This past weekend was our 3rd visit to Cedar Crest, and far and above the most relaxing. Mainly because the prior 2 visit have been with groups/retreats with me being the "point person". Matt & Laura will make you feel "at home" whether you're part of a large group or as a couple. This time, our hardest decision was "where to find the next spot on the property to relax" -- so many options! The food was very tasty and very plentiful -- and I KNOW it was all home cooked & prepared! Had a simple, yet outstanding picnic lunch -- prepared & packed by Laura -- complete with basket & red checked tablecloth! We set our picnic outside overlooking one of the scenic views. I think we have found the perfect respite place -- near home, but yet far from the hustle & bustle of life! Thank you for a memorable time! Bill & Julie B.


Perfectly perfect!

5 on September 29, 2011

My husband and I have stayed twice at this out-of-the-way bed and breakfast. Both times we felt pampered, relaxed, and rested. The wonderful views are breathtaking, the ambience is relaxing, and the food is truly delightful. My husband is one of the pickiest eaters God has placed on this Earth and he LOVES everything placed in front of him. Matt and Laura are courteous yet respectful, service-oreinted yet not intrusive, and simply exceptional chef d'cuisines! I run a retirement community and work with chefs, none of them bring anything to the table tht Matt and Laura don't do as well if not better. Yum, yum! If you are looking for a great place to escape to, a brilliant place to host a family reunion, corporate meeting, club get-together, whatever . . . . I highly recommend this lovely bed and breakfast.


What a view!!

4.6 on August 20, 2011

We spent the night on a Friday night. It was a wonderful way for my husband & I to end the work week. We loved everything about the inn with ONE exception. We didn't realize that our room had a shared bathroom. Neither one of us saw it in the room description and would go so far as to say had we known it to be a shared bathroom we probably would NOT have booked the room. We were fortunate enough, however, that the adjoining guest room was not occupied that night so we had the bathroom to ourselves. The guest rooms were spacious, well decorated, comfortable bed and quiet. Everything else about the inn was FANTASTIC! Clean, very accomodating & friendly staff, the dinner was delicious, followed by another wonderful meal for breakfast. The walking trail into the woods we enjoyed with their dog. The swimming pool and last but by far least, the breathtaking view! The inn sits atop a large hill and from several points we could see for as far away as 15 miles. We sat on the patio overlooking the valley at sunset , sipping on our own bottle of wine, and watched eagles soaring on the wind currents overhead. We will definitely be going back and look forward to another get away. The O'Connors


Great Getaway

4.6 on August 13, 2011

We had a great stay here about a month ago. We loved the trails and just had a generally relaxing time by the pool. Our whole stay was just what we needed--to get away from the hustle and bustle.


What a great place

5 on August 11, 2011

My wife and I celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary at Cedar Crest Lodge and we could not have been more pleased with the experience. Can't wait to find time to go back for another stay.


We'll be back!

5 on August 09, 2011

Great food and great service...a peaceful getaway. We only stayed one night, but wish we had booked two!


French Quarter

5 on July 24, 2011

I wish we could have stayed longer. The staff made our romantic getaway just what we needed/wanted. The other guests were fun and friendly, too. We both agreed, we could used to calling Cedar Crest our home away from home. What a great place for a million reasons.


Hidden gem in Kansas

4.6 on July 22, 2011

Just got home from our third stay at Cedar Crest Lodge and feel nurtured and refreshed and eager to go again. Each visit we have stayed in a different room and this time is was at the top; Tuscan Manor Suite. We swam; got massages; ate a wonderful dinner and lovely breakfast. It is so great that such a fantastic B and B is only an hour away. Thanks Matt and Laura for all that you do to make this a glowing exprience.


Best place in the country

5 on July 18, 2011

What an amazing place! Had a wonderful time enjoying mother nature through a wide variety of activities including walking on the trails that lead to ponds, watching the sunset while sitting on top of the world (the lodge sits on top of a hill and you can see forever!), had a peaceful afternoon relaxing in the hammock and swimming in the pool. The food was delicious and came from their own garden! Next time I plan on adding some of the spa treatments to my stay - I can't wait to go back! So glad I found this place and it's just 1 hour from Kansas City.....very easy to get to.


Great anniversary getaway!

4.4 on June 22, 2011

We took advantage of a Groupon to book the Tuscan Manor Suite at Cedar Crest. (With the Groupon, it was an exceptional value. Without the Groupon, I don't believe we would have chosen the most expensive room.) Everything was very clean and in good condition. The room was beautifully appointed and the mini fridge well-stocked with bottled water and popcorn. (Wine glasses and a bottle opener were also provided, which was handy!) The whirlpool tub was a great perk and certainly added to the value of the suite. My husband felt the shower was less than stellar because the shower head was mounted low enough that it was hard to get completely underneath the water (he is average height). Other in-room amenities were pretty standard, and we enjoyed the in-room DVD player. (There is a nice selection of games and movies available in the main lodge.) A somewhat minute detail but a nice touch was the glycerine soap--also available to purchase on site. Though we didn't use the outdoor pool, it was clean and inviting with new-looking decking all the way around. The grounds are quite lovely with a large organic garden--and you will love the way Laura uses the homegrown fruits and veggies in her food, which is AMAZING. I really can't say enough about the incredible food at this place. The hospitality was also exceptional. Overall, the food was probably our favorite thing about Cedar Crest Lodge, and it was a wonderful anniversary treat. The only real drawback was that we only stayed one night!


Great getaway!

3.6 on May 26, 2011

This is a charming bed and breakfast just a short drive from our home in Overland Park. It was everything I expected out of a B&B. We stayed in a "luxury" room, which was the most spacious of all of the rooms. It was nicely appointed with a cottage elegance. the 2 person jetted tub was a real hit. The only meal we experienced was breakfast and it was served individually, rather than buffet. The amount of food was just right for our tastes, probably a little less filling for those looking for quanitity - the quality was certainly there! If you are going to be here at dinner time, make sure you call a few days ahead for a custom meal because there is NO PLACE close-by for decent food. This is the only drawback.


Perfect for a secluded weekend getaway!

4.6 on May 25, 2011

My husband and I really enjoyed our one night getaway at Cedar Crest Lodge. The grounds were absolutely beautiful...we loved the walking trails and just sitting on the front porch enjoying the weather. Laura, one of the innkeepers, was so hospitable and a FANTASTIC cook! Highly recommend Cedar Crest...we'll be back!


Big Sky location

4.6 on May 25, 2011

We picked a terrible weekend, weather-wise, so our time was spent inside and it couldn't have been cozier. The hostess is warm and gracious and we enjoyed visiting with other guests around the huge dinner table. The gardens are great and the air is fresh, and from the front porch we estimated we could see 20 miles in all directions.


Cedar Crest Lodge

4.6 on May 25, 2011

Nice and quiet in the county. Lovely room, beautiful surrondings, but only drive-in to eat at in the nearest city. B&B offers dinner and lunch--need to make a reservation with them 72hours prior to arrival for this service


Country Getaway

5 on May 13, 2011

This is a wonderful country retreat for relaxing and sharing a weekend with your mate. High on a well manicured ridge, Cedar Crest Lodge commands a sweeping view of the surrounding acreage and brings you close to nature with all the amenities you want. Matt and Laura Cunningham are totally gracious and accommodating of your needs, while your time is your own to ramble the grounds, pursue forest trails or watch the abundant native bird population. It's an idyllic location just an hour or so from Kansas City and feels like a nicely kept secret destination. The spa service is first rate and totally relaxing -- try the hot stones therapeutic massage -- and Laura is exceptional in masterful culinary creations from the kitchen. The beef tenderloins in wine sauce were superb!


Weekend with friends along with a great Anniversary!

4.2 on May 11, 2011

A very relaxing environment that invites you to enjoy your surroundings. Matt and Laura are great hosts, along with the trail guide Sophie "The Dog". Great food and a very fun time had by all. My wife and I had the couple's massage and we both thought it was the best massage we had ever had. Thanks for a great anniversary night! Bring your fishing poles to catch some fish that I don't think have ever seen a human being!


Great Getaway!!

4.0 on May 08, 2011

Matt and Laura were very warm and friendly host. The location was a great get away for the city. Dinner was way better than we expected!! Will visit them again for sure. Pamela,Jack,Bill and Lori


one nite in heaven

5 on April 25, 2011

Our stay at your lodge was one of the best nites we have spent alone. The food that was served should of been fed to a king. It was one of the best meals that my wife and I had ever had. The room was the most luxurious rooms we have stayed in. I would recommend all my friends to take a weekend and spend it at your lodge.


Our stay

4.6 on April 22, 2011

The room was very clean and tidy. Food was good! The innkeepers were good hosts. The gardener was very welcoming and informative.


Reunion of long-time friends

5 on April 06, 2011

Five friends who all lived in Marshall MO at the same time, and now reside in 3 different states, met at Cedar Crest for an overnight reunion - absolutely GREAT. It was comfortable, casual, and encouraged all our memories and sharing conversations. The meals were delightful, as always.


Nice Night Out

3.6 on April 06, 2011

This was a great getaway, Nice drive not too far out from the big city, Clean room, quiet, love the decor. Good breakfast and conversation to start the day.


A Weekend That Will Never Be Forgotten

5 on April 01, 2011

Celebrated our 26th Wedding Anniversary!!! Stayed in the Tuscan Manor Room, all I can say is Wow!!! My husband and I were truly impressed with the spacious accommodations....we ate dinner, enjoyed a couple's massage, and walked around the various nature trails. The staff was so attentive during our weekend stay. We will be returning soon.


A Wonderful Stay!

5 on March 24, 2011

We wanted a little get-away and this location was perfect! What surprised us was how well we were treated!! We stayed in the Tuscan Room and every aspect of the room, the meals, the spa options to the privacy we desired were all there and were just what we were looking for! Only wish...we could have stayed more nights! HIGHLY RECOMMEND Cedar Crest Lodge in KS and we look forward to future stays!


Anniversary stay

3.8 on March 16, 2011

This was our second visit to Cedar Crest, the first time being a wedding reception. So the overnight stay was a first at this location. Very nice rooms, very clean, quiet surroundings. The food was excellent! We had both dinner and breakfast and both were great. The hosts were very hospitable and discreet. I was a bit disappointed that our room did not have satelite or cable TV, we could only watch DVD's or go to the main lodge for any regular TV connections. The jacuzzi tub in the room would have been nice except that hot water ran out too quickly and the tub never seemed to want to fill, so I had to scratch that for the evening. Other than that, it was a very nice stay. I would recommend it to anyone who might be passing through the area. Nothing much to do in Pleasanton so one night would be enough.


A Wonderful Surprise

5 on February 11, 2011

We went on a Retreat for our church, and I had no idea where we were going so I was pleasantly surprised to be treated to such a warm, friendly cozy place just an hour away from Overland Park, Ks. The accommodations were delightful and the food was of gourmet quality. I have recommended Cedar Crest Lodge to many people since our stay there, and now I recommend it to those that may read this review. Barbara Jones


Great place to be

3.4 on February 10, 2011

The views of the surrrounding area is outstanding, especially at sunset and in the evening.


Very romantic!

4.8 on January 27, 2011

Thanks to our Groupon we booked the Tuscan Manor Suite for $99. I would say that was an exceptional value. The suite has an open floor plan, it is very spacious. The Jacuzzi tub for 2 was great for a cold winter night. The kitchenette had all that we needed plus a few extras. We didn't consider not having WiFi access but they had a nice selection of DVD's for us to choose from. Who needs Wifi when you can have quiet and tranquility? And that is what we were going for! Thanks for a lovely stay. J.D.


New Years 2011

4.8 on January 17, 2011

Dinner and breakfast were fabulous! Above and beyond my expectations for my first time at a B&B. Matt and Laura are the kind, family people. We also got massages to end our great stay. We need to go back when the gardens bloom and the weather is warmer for the trails!


Great 16th Anniversary

4.8 on January 13, 2011

Our first visit was a wonderful, relaxing time. The Cunninghams were gracious and the lodge was rustic and beautiful. The walking path through the woods was fun and interesting as you go past several ponds. The room was delightful and attention had been paid to all the little details that helped make our stay memorable. We plan to visit again! Marq & Deborah


A wonderful experience !!!

5 on November 28, 2010

Excellent !!! Very beautiful scenery, a great getaway from all the fast pace life... The food and service were awesome. Matt and Laura, the two of you are such great innkeepers. We have been to plenty of B&Bs but yours far exceed our expectations.. We highly recommend cedar crest lodge to everyone!!!


Nice break...

4.0 on November 24, 2010

We enjoyed our little getaway to Cedar Creek Lodge, especially the beautiful setting and grounds. Laura & Mark are wonderful people and the breakfast served is beyond words.


Wonderful

5 on November 06, 2010

My husband and I travel often. We were pleasantly surprised to find such a wonderful getaway only about 90 minutes from home. The food was outstanding and the scenary beautiful. The grounds and room were meticulously kept. I cannot say enough about it. We will definitely be back.


Excellent facility, service, food and hospitality!!

5 on October 17, 2010

The whole experience was fantastic........cant say enough good about it......including the beautiful setting and grounds.


Quilt retreat

5 on October 13, 2010

I just attended my third quilt retreat at Cedar Crest Lodge. Each time, Laura and Matt have exceeded my expectations. I took time, with 2 others at the retreat, to walk the trail through the woods. What an experience to be out in nature again. The food was excellent, as usual and I just can't wait for the next retreat that will be in April. Thanks, Matt and Laura.


A great quiet getaway!

5 on October 11, 2010

Me and my girlfriend stayed here last month and we were just blown away! We stayed one night and we were housed in one of their luxury rooms. The gourmet dinner was amazing. It was very similar to what you would see on the fancy shows on the food network AND it was delivered to our room! The innkeepers stock the rooms and the lodge with everything you could possibly need for a perfect weekend getaway. The breakfast in the morning was so amazing that I don't think I could EVER give it justice with words. It would probably go something like, "Mmmmmmmmmmm ooooooooohhh dang... mmmmmmmmmm!" I recommend that you visit their website. It boasts a lot of on-site amenities and we found that those too exceeded our expectations. We are a young couple and we hope to visit this place over and over again throughout the years.


Visitor

4.8 on September 11, 2010

Very nice B&B. Great hosts, rooms were very clean, food was excellent and view on top of the hill was wonderful. Wish we could have stayed another night. Will go back in a heart beat!


Great Place to Stay and the service is excellent.

4.0 on June 17, 2010

My wife and I have stayed at the Cedar Crest Lodge many times. Each time we stay we amazed at the attention to detail the Cunningham's provide to us. From our favorite wine to my favorite beer and food. As an event planner I appreciate everything that goes into making our stay enjoyable. We love to stay here and we will be back many time.


Very relaxing!

5 on June 09, 2010

Friends recommended Cedar Crest Lodge several years ago, and we finally got a chance to visit. It is so beautiful and serene! We've enjoyed the pool, massage therapy, delicious home-cooked meals, walking the trails and hanging out in the lodge. Matt, Laura and the staff are so friendly and hospitable. The view is absolutely gorgeous, and the whole atmosphere is completely relaxing. There are also some fun, historic attractions in nearby Mound City.


A Wonderful Weekend

4.8 on June 08, 2010

My wife and I spent two nights here for our one year anniversary. It was our first B&B experience and it was wonderful. Laura and Matt are great hosts and the breakfasts and dinner were superb. The scenery was beautiful and something we did not expect in Kansas. We stayed in two different rooms, both were sparkling clean and well decorated and the suite we upgraded to was first class. A beautiful place of solitude to relax and have a romantic getaway.


A wonderful place to visit

5 on May 25, 2010

We have stayed at Cedar Crest Lodge on several occasions (with and without kids). Every visit has a great memory. We have enjoyed a romantic New Year's Eve stay, which included an awesome multi-course meal. We have taken the kids many times to enjoy the pool, hiking trails, ponds, fire pit and the wonderful food. Matt and Laura are the best hosts you can ask for! Check out this treasure for yourself.


Had a Great Time!!

5 on May 21, 2010

My family and I had the opportunity to stay at the Cedar Crest Lodge as we travelled to Branson, MO. We have stayed in a number of B & B's across the country, and found this lodge to be a real treasure. The main house sits high on a hill overlooking beautiful Kansas hayfields and pecan orchards. My wife and I upgraded to a luxury suite which had a wine country motive, while our kid's standard rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. A swim in the pool felt great after we walked the property to look at birds, fish in their pond, and listen to the sounds of nature. A short drive (25 miles or so) to the South was Fort Scott, a former Civil War outpost turned National Park. The food was simply outstanding, and my kids said the pumpkin pancakes was the best breakfast they had ever had. I personally enjoyed the one dinner we had there, which included some of the finest smoked brisket, sausage, and ribs I've ever eaten (and that includes many a trip thru Texas and Kansas City). I would recommend this B & B to any families looking for something off the beaten path who wants some good eats and some country hospitality.


Great place to stay!!

5 on May 21, 2010

We have been here several times, both with kids and without. It is perfect for a quiet romantic get away but it is also very family friendly. The themed rooms are a nice touch. There are wonderful hiking trails to explore and a large pool to cool off in the summer time. The owners are extremely pleasant and accommodating and the food is out of this world. We can hardly wait to go back again!!!


Cedar Crest Lodge

Details

  • Nightly Rate $99 - $295
  • Reviews (161) 4.8
  • Rooms 11

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9133526533

Visit Website »

View details

Top