Recent Reviews in Kewanee, Illinois

Great stay! at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

5 reviewed on February 14, 2018

4 of us stayed here this last weekend and the experience was great in every respect. Thanks, Monika & Jeff!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Get Away at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

4.2 reviewed on February 01, 2018

Great place for a much needed get away. Our room was very comfortable, loved the pillows. Breakfast was a large portion, but I made all gone cause it was Excellent !

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay! at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

5 reviewed on January 28, 2018

Just returned home from a lovely stay at The Chestnut Inn in Sheffield Illinois. We are longtime aficionados of B&B's and what we look for beside location are nicely appointed rooms conducive to rest and relaxation. We also hope to have nice hosts and other interesting guests with whom to converse. We found all of these qualities at The Chestnut Inn. Jeff and Monika are amiable and make themselves available. The amenities at the house are stellar from the comfortable bed to the toiletries, robes and chocolate candy in the room. The common areas are welcoming. We especially loved the dining area which is light and airy with nice views. Breakfast was fantastic and a note to those with gluten allergies Monika is well aware how to prepare gluten free dishes and in fact wrote a cookbook with that issue in mind of which we now have a copy. The town is tiny and quaint. We selected that location because we wanted to visit Princeton and some historic homes in the area. We would highly recommend this establishment and do ask about the evening meal that can be booked on certain days. We asked not to be told the menu and were surprised with a delicious gourmet meal.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful New Year's Eve at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on January 08, 2018

We had read some reviews, including an article in Chicago Tribune Sunday travel section on the best breakfast at a B&B. All favorable. The Inn was wonderful. Monika and Jeff were very welcoming, and really go out of their way to make you feel comfortable throughout your stay. We booked the dinner, and glad we did. My wife, upon starting with the first course said, “She is incredible!” Each course was perfection. Will be most pleased to return to The Chestnut Street Inn, and hosts Jeff and Monika.

View more reviews for this inn


Stay Here! at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

5 reviewed on December 22, 2017

Do yourself a favor and stop your search. Book this place. You will be happy you stayed here. This is beautiful B&B with welcoming owners located in a quiet, peaceful small town. I stayed in the Blue Room. It was clean and comfortable. I had a great night of sleep. The breakfast was amazing. You get to choose the time you would like to eat. The bath products were wonderful. The owners make you feel very welcome. I can understand how they have been able to keep this business thriving for 14 years.

View more reviews for this inn


Nailed it at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 27, 2017

Our first visit to Chestnut Inn, but absolutely not our last. Monika and Jeff have nailed it to perfection. The house and rooms are nothing less than perfection and dripping with history, antiques and books. The other guests whether they have been there a dozen times or their first time were all treated as family as were we. Located just south of Interstate 80 in central Illinois, it is a perfect base camp for exploring treasures such as the Hegeler mansion in Lasalle just 40 minutes away, a must see. At first I wasn't sure if Monika or Jeff was the most outgoing... It turns out they are both very outgoing and extremely knowledgeable about almost everything. Jeff does most of the serving while Monika does all the unbelievable cooking. We had both breakfast and dinner there. Trust me when I say that we joined the "clean plate club". Every day was different. No menu. You wake up in the morning wondering what is for breakfast today. Breakfast is on your schedule. There is a chalk board you can use to indicate when you would like breakfast. 9:00, 9:30, whenever you feel like you might be ready. Dinner was over the top. Most five star restaurants don't even come close. The wine cellar is stacked with all the best of California and other locations. Not everything from California, but the wines you would want to drink. On a scale of 1 to 5, we give it a 10.5. It is really that great. Love you Jeff and Monika for all you do and all the time and effort you put in to it. See you as soon as we can. Mark and Karen

View more reviews for this inn


Chest nut at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on November 12, 2017

It was so warm and great service. Food was amazing. A great getaway!!

View more reviews for this inn


Chestnut Street Inn at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

4.4 reviewed on October 26, 2017

Friendly innkeepers !

View more reviews for this inn


Back for more at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 26, 2017

This was our third visit to the Chestnut Street Inn and once again we were not disappointed. Jeff and Monika are like old friends, warm and welcoming. The Blue Room has become our little get away spot. Our mouths always water for the food and Chef Monika never disappoints. We were treated to her award winning Elvis Peanut and Banana French Toast with Candied Bacon. We only got to stay one night but it was a fantastic one. Thanks Jeff and Monika for another great stay.

View more reviews for this inn


A Must for B&B fans at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 21, 2017

Wow. Unusual, not-to-be-missed place in several ways. First, the food. Your breakfasts aren't going to be just eggs & sausage surrounded by muffins & banana breads. Monika, a real-life certified chef creates thoughtful meals that are nutritious, creative, and delicious. Dinner one night was the Greek theme & I was in foodie heaven with every course brought out - absolutely worth the price. Mom, who is Greek, spoke a phrase to Chef Monika, then translated it: "This is so good, a mother would not share it with her children!" Secondly, there are a lot of common spaces to lounge in. J & M's furniture is not spindly nor historical enough that you're afraid to sit on 'em. Just nice comfy couches & chairs to read or chat in. Lots of outdoor lounging, too. Third, J & M are extremely accommodating - have you ever heard of a B&B where YOU can pick the time you want your breakfast made? That does not exist in the B&B world. Mom & I slept in our first morning & came down at 10:00 for our breakfast, while others had wanted an 8 a.m. meal. You want a campfire at night? Jeff will make you one. You want some fresh (excellent, locally-brewed) coffee at 3 p.m? Ditto. Monika and Jeff are genuinely friendly and will be as engaged with you as you want. If you wanna be left alone, they figure that out, too. Mom & I stayed in the Green Room since it has two bedrooms and a separate sitting/dining room. Be prepared to want to move in. It's a private apt, which can be locked at both entrances so that no one else ever passes through "your" hallway or doors. We observed the Rosewood Suite & it's absolutely gorgeous - perfect for romance with a private dining room & awesome bathroom.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Inn and a perfect weekend. at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 01, 2017

We booked the Inn for our wedding that was in the area. We had the house to ourselves for the weekend. The breakfasts were delicious and the Innkeepers were more than accommodating. Look forward to visiting again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Father-Daughter Get Away at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 25, 2017

My Father and I just completed a tour of his old family stomping-grounds, and a stay at Chestnut Street Inn was a perfect way to complete it. The setting was lovely. Monika and Jeff were wonderful. And the food was amazing! We will be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Simply the best! at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 13, 2017

We have stayed in many Inns and B&B's in both the USA and Europe. Many times we remind ourselves that friendliest and most comfortable of all is right in our own state. Monika and Jeff are a wonderful couple and do a wonderful job of making a guest feel at home. Always interesting is Monika's tasty culinary creations. We only wish that we could visit the Chestnut Street Inn more often. Dave & Terri Erickson

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Journey at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 05, 2017

My wife and I recently spent two incredible nights with Monika and Jeff. It was one of, if not the most wonderful Bed and Breakfast opportunities of the many we have experienced. Monika and Jeff are such passionate innkeepers and Monika's culinary skills are amazing. We know we have become friends in the short time we were there. We would highly recommend Chestnut Street Innn for an amazing Bed and Breakfast experience.

View more reviews for this inn


love, kindness, fantastic food & relax at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 14, 2017

Me and my husband Dan were just there this weekend looking for a relaxing get away. I was so impressed with the home is so lovely and so romantic. The owners greet you with such kindness, show you around. They asked us what time do we want to eat breakfast. I feel in love with this B&B. The food is amazing here. Monica made rasberry pancakes (to die for) plums and sliced bananas on the side. i think it was chicken or turkey sausage we had. I dont care I loved it!!!! We are going back around Sept and brining our friends. what an amazing time we had. Thank you we consider you family. see you soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Diamond in the rough! at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 06, 2017

The home is absolutely gorgeous, and the food was extraordinary! Jeff and Monika were excellent hosts, and we would definitely stay there again if the opportunity presents itself.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic place to stay at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 06, 2017

This is one of those places that deserves more than 5 stars. The rooms were very comfortable, and the food was incredible. Jeff and Monika went out of their way to be warm and welcoming. This place is a gem!

View more reviews for this inn


Pleasant Surprise at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 04, 2017

My aunt and I stayed in the green room/suite. It was a wonderful experience. The green room provided 2 bedrooms and a sitting room. It was perfect for us as we weren't traveling as a couple. The innkeepers were gracious, unobtrusive, and readily available if needed. Monika and Jeff provide an oasis for whatever you need may be. We highly recommend it and hope to return again in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Getaway at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on July 20, 2017

Jeff and Monika have a great gift of hospitality, sharing their friendly welcome and warm service with us every time we stay there! We visit each year as we bike the nearby country roads with the "Z Tour", and look forward to Monika's wonderful gourmet cooking.

View more reviews for this inn


Affordable Excellance at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 16, 2017

Room, meals, and Monica and Jeff were superb.

View more reviews for this inn


Affordable Excellance at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on July 04, 2017

Lodging in the Burgundy was outstanding. Comfortable bed, sitting area, and bathroom. Plenty of natural lighting with large windows on all external walls. The common areas, including the patios, are well decorated and maintained. The dinner was superb and filling, as well as breakfast. However, breakfast was not filling. Suggest, maybe offering a weekend buffets or more starch items. The hosts are extremely gracious, knowledgeable and helpful at recommending activities and local sites.

View more reviews for this inn


Chestnut Street Inn does it right! First Class accomodations at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 03, 2017

My wife has booked several B&Bs in the past with mixed experiences, so when she told me we were going to another one, I was skeptical. WOW! I could not have been more wrong. Chestnut St. Inn was a fantastic experience. What made it better? The house is an oldie, but goodie. Very well maintained and spotless. We stayed in the Rosewood suite, which has lots of room and was quiet. Linens were high quality and clean. The food was tasty and gourmet. Why didn't I just mention the breakfast? Because Monika also prepares an optional dinner that we enjoyed. 5 stars all the way around. Well done!

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 24, 2017

Beautiful historical home. The hostesses were so friendly and welcoming. Chef Monika prepared the best breakfast I have ever eaten with garden fresh ingredients. With special unique interesting rooms and decor I found myself completely entranced. Clean comfy beds and bathroom. The butler pantry was full of goodies for our liking. I recommend this Inn. Enjoy.

View more reviews for this inn


A Quiet Getaway at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 26, 2017

My husband and I truly enjoyed our overnight stay at the Chestnut Street Inn in Sheffield Illinois. The hosts could not have been nicer and the home is simply lovely. We enjoyed the Rosewood Suite, complete with wood burning fireplace, which our host was happy to light for us after dinner. My special dietary needs we're no problem for the experienced chef Monika. I especially enjoyed reading about the history of the home and of the innkeepers in the guide that was in our room. We cannot wait for our next opportunity to stay at this wonderful Inn. When the world gets too noisy this is a wonderful Oasis to get away and enjoy the solitude, and the lovely sounds of the mourning dove who also enjoyed our fireplace.

View more reviews for this inn


A Perfect Escape! at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 14, 2017

Came here for a quick get-a-way from the craziness of life, and we were not disappointed! The property is well kept, the decor is wonderful and personal to the innkeepers - documents so many cool stories of their life and the history of the home. It is quiet, quaint, and the perfect couples escape. Monika and Jeff are incredible! From the moment we walked in the door, we felt wanted and welcome there. They paid close attention to every detail, and left us lacking nothing. We stayed in the Rosewood Suite, which has a private dining room. We enjoyed breakfast in there twice, and was beyond exquisite. We also took a cooking class with Monika, cooking a Hungarian menu. It was awesome! Monika took time with us, teaching us, and sharing her roots with us. Jeff even joined us, as he did all of our dishes. :) She allowed us to truly make the meal, and then served us afterwards. It was such a fun time as a couple, and getting to know Monika and Jeff. This B&B was spectacular! We are grateful to have found this hidden gem so close to us. We will be back to relax and cook again.

View more reviews for this inn


Food Theatre! at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 07, 2017

The food is 5 star quality and Monika and Jeff are lovely people. If you want a getaway where there is nothing around for 13 miles (nearest funky town is Princeton) this is the place to go. 3 nights stay was quiet, fresh air, lovely, unpretentious surroundings. This is very near Iowa and. Farming community. You can see the gentrification happening from the Chicagoans moving in, buying beautiful antique homes and relocating to call this home. Artsy community in Princeton with a local acting theatre, and tons of artists and artisans. Monika is a 5 star chef with identical credentials to Julia Childs. I coined the term "food theatre" on our last night there. It IS food theatre! Like watching a show unfold before your eyes, characters revealing their lives and secrets, so is the cuisine that Monika creates. The food is very rich. Have a very light breakfast and no lunch. Early dinner is recommended. Take a long walk and read on the porch or relax in your room.

View more reviews for this inn


Exceptional B and B at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 24, 2017

Excellent B and B. Our hosts (Monika and Jeff) are terrific and the meals are exceptional. This is our second time staying there and it was every bit as good as the first.

View more reviews for this inn


Simply the best at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 23, 2017

Lovely home, terrific service, excellent food. Highly recommended!!

View more reviews for this inn


Historical Chestnut Street Inn at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 13, 2017

Fabulous weekend getaway. Friendly owners Monika and Jeff. Excellent hospitality and gourmet food. This place is a treasure!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place to celebrate our 25th Anniversary!! at Chestnut Street Inn (Sheffield, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 11, 2017

My wife and I highly recommend this bed and breakfast! The Rosewood suite was beautiful. The 4 course dinner (extra and well worth it) was fabulous! We had breakfast the next morning in our private dining room! The hosts were friendly and made our stay so warm and relaxing! We also recommend traveling to the nearby town of Princeton for antique shops and a relaxing spa at Sophisticuts Salon.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Chestnut Street Inn (4.86)
Top
check }