Recent Reviews in Keene, New Hampshire

Fantastic Restaurant at Colby Hill Inn (Henniker, New Hampshire)

4.8 reviewed on May 05, 2017

We stayed here a few weeks ago midweek for a few nights. The room we chose was nice with a very small bathroom. The shower was a walk in that was a good size. The inn is quite old, but very clean. The floors do creak a lot due to the inn being so old...there were some areas that even were sloped which did not bother us any. The first night my husband said the bed seemed to be sinking on his side. I did not notice it on my side. The next morning he said the bed was definitely crooked and said one of the slats under the bed had been broken. The 2nd night we were lying in bed when the mattress suddenly made a loud noise and fell down. I screamed and jumped out of the bed afraid it was going to fall on the floor. My husband got up and put the slat back into the bed which less than half an hour later it fell once again scaring me to death. I got back into the bed, but did not move all night. The mattress was very new and comfortable except for the frame falling. Breakfast each morning was a real treat. Everything was homemade and organic right down to all the different juices. Fresh yogurt with homemade granola, French brioche toast (delicious), and an omelette with organic veggies. Dinner was amazing and the cocktails were very good too. Go for dinner. You will not be disappointed.

View more reviews for this inn


If you want to feel at home with terrific food pick the Tartan Fox at The Inn of the Tartan Fox (Swanzey, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on March 18, 2017

My partner and father and I were touring New England. Unexpectedly there was a large blizzard during our stay at the Tartan Fox which kept us inside far more than we would have planned. The owners were so accommodating and thoughtful and went to every effort to ensure our trip was not ruined by the unexpected weather. It was beautiful surrounded by snow with a roaring fire and plenty of snacks and drinks. The owners made dinner for us and it was terrific, this is going above and beyond for any B&B I have ever stayed in, and is typical of the extra care and professionalism of the Tartan Fox. Our room was very comfortable, great fireplace and bathtub, and breakfasts were 3 course and superb. I cannot rate this B&B any higher it was truly the highlight of our trip and we also really enjoyed the area and the beautiful snow! Thank you for a terrific experience, I recommend the Tartan Fox to anyone staying in the area, it's ideally located, the food is exceptional as is the service and atmosphere, you feel at home instantly, great value. Do go!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Winter Stay at Bridges Inn at Whitcomb House (Swanzey, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on March 13, 2017

I made a last minute reservation here for a getaway on a winter weekend with my partner & a friend from out of town, and we were not disappointed. The room was lovely, and we enjoyed a nice evening by the fireplace with board games and tea before settling in. Breakfast was delicious (egg bake, fruit, pancakes, apple crisp, potatoes, and meats), and Susan was wonderful and ready with recommendations for the area. The trees were tapped, ready to collect sap for their own maple syrup. I was especially happy that they were willing and able to accommodate a group of 3 (hard to find in a b&b). My only complaint is that the Inn is near a church that rings a bell on the hour and half hour throughout the night - not the Inn's fault, to be sure, but can be tough if you are a light sleeper.

View more reviews for this inn


Longtime guests at Colby Hill Inn (Henniker, New Hampshire)

3.8 reviewed on February 13, 2017

Love the Colby Hill Inn, my wife and I have been going there since we first started dating 18 years ago. The new owners have made some nice changes and the food is excellent. Very cozy Inn with a separate carriage house for more privacy.

View more reviews for this inn


The Perfect Winter Stay at Bridges Inn at Whitcomb House (Swanzey, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on February 06, 2017

My husband and I love touring New England and this was the second time we visited the Bridges Inn in winter. We wanted it to snow and it did! It was just enough snow to make the landscape look like a winter wonderland and the roads were cleared quickly (they know how to do it up there), so driving was not a problem. We were warm and cozy at the Inn and fully enjoyed staying in the Thompson Bridge room with all its amenities. Breakfast as always, was a real treat. A special thank you to our warm and welcoming hosts, Susan and Nick. We'll definitely be back and look forward to bringing friends with us the next time!

View more reviews for this inn


A Delight! at Bridges Inn at Whitcomb House (Swanzey, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on August 18, 2016

The Bridges Inn is in a beautiful setting, the Inn is lovely and the rooms are very comfortable. The hosts are great people and the food is delicious! I loved the maple syrup tapped from the tree in the yard. I would highly recommend The Bridges Inn to all who want a quiet and relaxing off the beaten path to stay. Very close to downtown Keene too!

View more reviews for this inn


Very nice at Colony House (Keene, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on July 11, 2016

I have stayed here fro a whole month now and planning to stay further all the people at colony house are so goo Joslin, Lisa , Colony all of them take a very good care of all the guest present . I loved staying here during my internship.Colony house is a very nice place to stay. I will definitely recommend this place to stay if you are visiting keen of near by places.

View more reviews for this inn


Best Accomodations in Keene at Colony House (Keene, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on March 15, 2016

I've been a long term guest since last October, staying several nights a week. You could not ask for a more comfortable, friendly, warm and accommodating place to stay. The hosts attend to your needs, perfectly, but don't intrude...as much privacy as you want, you'll get it...I literally feel like I'm an honorary family member! I recommend this B & B, highly. Paula M

View more reviews for this inn


I have found my new, favorite B and B! at Bridges Inn at Whitcomb House (Swanzey, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on January 16, 2016

This inn is a wonderful combination of NH history with lavish guest rooms, charming common areas, and a wonderful and substantial breakfast! What really made my stay amazing was the warmth and charm of the owners, Susan and David! I can't wait to return to the inn and bring my mom along to enjoy a beautiful stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful B&B! at Colony House (Keene, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on October 28, 2015

Beautiful B&B with wonderful hosts!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Downtown Location at Colony House (Keene, New Hampshire)

4.4 reviewed on October 27, 2015

Lovingly restored antique B & B right in downtown area and walking distance to Keene state college. Very comfortable and clean! Nancy P

View more reviews for this inn


Another wonderful weekend at Whitcomb House at Bridges Inn at Whitcomb House (Swanzey, New Hampshire)

4.8 reviewed on October 26, 2015

Once again we had a wonderful weekend at the Bridges. As always Susan made us feel like family, was so welcoming and even looked up details of places we wanted to visit almost before we mentioned them and printed out everything we needed to know. David's cooking is unbelievable and any food restrictions are accommodated. Susan always leaves us both chocolate and non-chocolate goodies in our room as she knows I can not eat chocolate! This was our fifth year here and as always we booked for next year before heading home.

View more reviews for this inn


A Gem at Colony House (Keene, New Hampshire)

4.4 reviewed on October 23, 2015

Bright, clean, friendly, well located, all with an exceptional breakfast. What else could a visitor ask?

View more reviews for this inn


A New England Gem at Bridges Inn at Whitcomb House (Swanzey, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on October 13, 2015

The Bridges is the quintessential New England Inn in every delightful sense of that image. From the period decor to the outstanding food, Susan, David and Nick provide a warm, welcoming and sincere atmosphere and experience that truly defines "hospitality." There wasn't a single aspect of our stay that could be improved upon (other than the fact that we rued not being able to have their breakfast three meals a day!) If your travels take you anywhere near Swanzey, NH, the Bridges is the must-stay destination in the area...your one regret will be that you didn't stay longer!

View more reviews for this inn


Peace, tranquility, and gastronomic delights at Bridges Inn at Bridges Inn at Whitcomb House (Swanzey, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on September 14, 2015

This was our first stay at the Bridges Inn and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves during four nights in the Thompson Bridge room. The room was spacious and quiet and the king sized bed was outstanding. We're not particularly good sleepers but in this bed/room we slept like babes. David is a font of information on local lore, history, and activities. He made several suggestions that turned out to be outstanding experiences. For example, he suggested hiking in in Pisgah State Park which we did. Later we found out (through him, I believe) that this Park encloses one of the few remaining stands of old growth timber in all of New England. On a rainy day he suggested traveling to Manchester and touring the Currier Museum and the Frank Lloyd Wright house which we did. This was also a trip highlight! We are vegans and David cooked excellent and creative breakfasts that met our food restrictions. Each of the four breaksfasts we had there was different and created from locally provisioned foods. Home baked bread!! Our only regrets are that lunch and dinner are not included! On top of all this David and Susan are so personable and we had wonderful conversations while consumin our scrumptious breakfasts. The Bridges Inn gets our highest possible recommendation!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Inn at Chesterfield Inn (West Chesterfield, New Hampshire)

4.6 reviewed on July 06, 2015

We stayed two nights at beautiful Chesterfield Inn in June and we were charmed. Our room was spacious, very well decorated and perfectly clean. The staff was courteous, helpful and friendly. We dined twice in the bright and airy dining room and enjoyed both dinners. Finally, we found that the Inn was a perfect location from wich to visit the Clark Art Institute and the MASS MoCA. Philippe Quebec City

View more reviews for this inn


Creme de la creme at Bridges Inn at Whitcomb House (Swanzey, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on June 30, 2015

We have known Susan and David for over 10 years now and stay at the Inn for our traditional anniversary weekend vacation/hike to Mt. Monadnock. Both are truly the best at what they do - Susan makes everyone feel warm and welcome as the innkeeper and David is a chef extraordinaire! Beautiful grounds, clean and comfortable rooms, and delicious breakfasts are a standard here. Our daughter has joined us for the last several years and has enjoyed it just as much. She is slowly introducing it to her friends from high school, too. We hope to continue coming to Bridges Inn as long as Susan and David are innkeepers there. Absolutely the best!! Vanita & Howard Wagner

View more reviews for this inn


Colony House in April at Colony House (Keene, New Hampshire)

4.6 reviewed on June 02, 2015

Wonderful! Adorable house within walking distance of downtown. Great breakfast. Joslin & Lisa- amazingly friendly.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place to stay at Bridges Inn at Whitcomb House (Swanzey, New Hampshire)

4.8 reviewed on April 28, 2015

We were thrilled to find this Bed and Breakfast. The owners are just wonderful. The inn is very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was a smorgasbord of color and flavor. We only wish that our stay could have been longer.

View more reviews for this inn


Last minute getaway at Colony House (Keene, New Hampshire)

4.8 reviewed on April 15, 2015

What a wonderful place! Lisa was so nice and helpful! Great food and room. Thank you for a pleasant getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


Florence Hudson at Colony House (Keene, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on April 02, 2015

The inn was wonderful, walking distance to town and the innkeeper was soooo accomodating!

View more reviews for this inn


First stay at The Bridges at Bridges Inn at Whitcomb House (Swanzey, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on March 30, 2015

Thank you Susan for your hospitality. Your house is so comfortable and decorated with a very good taste in every detail. We enjoyed our stay and we appreciated the delicious gourmet breakfast cooked by David. M & G

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful at Bridges Inn at Whitcomb House (Swanzey, New Hampshire)

4.4 reviewed on March 16, 2015

This was our first stay at this B&B. We found it searching online by location for a weekend getaway. We were a bit apprehensive due to the lack of pictures on its website and its small size but were delighted upon arriving. Inkeeper Susan Karalekas and her son David the chef were welcoming, genuine and helpful. The building is well kept, very warm and decorated beautifully. The breakfast was unhurried and gourmet; all courses made of high quality ingredients and expertly prepared. We recommend the Bridges Inn at Whitcomb House highly.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding value on a cute and quaint room. at The Greenfield Inn (Greenfield, New Hampshire)

4.2 reviewed on February 24, 2015

I booked a room for my girlfriend and on Valentine's Day so that we could take advantage of night skiing at nearby Crotched Mountain. The place was clean, but definitely "rustic" in character. Don't expect modern design, as it looks like most furnishings haven't been updated in decades, but to me that adds to the charm. If you want a hotel room, then book one of those instead! I'd definitely recommend this place for a night of skiing or a quiet romantic getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful guest house! at Colony House (Keene, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on February 11, 2015

I came to Keene to run the Keene Marathon. I chose the Colony House after seeing it online and speaking to the owner. This house is wonderful! It's inviting, the staff is warm and welcoming, the rooms are clean and comfortable. I felt completely at home here. The staff goes out of their way to make sure the guests feel at home, and they even prepared me a pre-marathon breakfast and left it for me the night before the marathon. What incredible client service! Love this place. I will definitely stay here again the next time I visit Keene. Hopefully, I will be in town someday for the Pumpkin Festival!

View more reviews for this inn


Home away from Home at The Greenfield Inn (Greenfield, New Hampshire)

4.2 reviewed on January 16, 2015

Whether you visit Greenfield Inn to Ski at Crotched Mountain, to enjoy the many lakes of NH; Greenfield Inn is a little treasure just like NH. The Inn keepers work hard to allow you your privacy. They have many notes because they want you to enjoy your time without bothering you with details of an older Beautiful home. The prices are more than Reasonable. For me, It is a Second home and I so look forward to coming there and finding the peace of mind they offer. Beautiful rooms, clean and peaceful atmosphere and courteous host and hostess. Barb and Vic, I look forward to seeing you soon. Sincerely, your visitor for Four years.!! (I go probably at least once a month..cause I love it so much.)

View more reviews for this inn


Excelleny 2 night stay in Keene,NH at Colony House (Keene, New Hampshire)

4.0 reviewed on October 22, 2014

We stayed at the Colony House. Beautiful room and amenities. Wonderful breakfast included. Owner Joslin was very nice and gave us a tour of her home!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect girl's weekend! at Bridges Inn at Whitcomb House (Swanzey, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on October 02, 2014

My daughter and I had stayed here in the Fall of 2013 and loved it! This year, I was planning a weekend getaway to include my daughter, my three sisters, and my niece. My daughter attends Keene State College, so we wanted a place close by to accommodate her schedule. I immediately thought of The Bridges Inn and I am so glad I did. The owner, Susan, her husband, Nick, and her son, David, are just the nicest people. They bend over backwards to make you feel comfortable and to provide for any special requests or needs. Honestly, they make you feel like family. The inn is so charming, each room with a unique decor, and the breakfasts included with the price of the room are phenomenal. David is the cook and it is obvious that he loves what he does. I cannot say enough about this wonderful place!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing B&B at Bridges Inn at Whitcomb House (Swanzey, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on September 10, 2014

It was such a pleasure to stay at the Bridges Inn. The innkeepers were extremely warm and welcoming, and the inn itself was so beautiful. The breakfasts each morning were delicious! We will definitely be back for a stay here.

View more reviews for this inn


More Wonderful Visits to Come! at Bridges Inn at Whitcomb House (Swanzey, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on August 25, 2014

We LOVE staying at The Bridges Inn when we come to the Keene/Swanzey, NH area. My husband and I have found with each time we have stayed there we feel a wonderfully, warm and loving environment where we are able to find a special “retreat” when we return home from our rigorous vacation plans!! We love spending time there and hope to spend MORE time in the near future. We highly recommend this delightfully quaint, historic yet modern (WiFi available) home. Each room is arranged with beautiful antique accents which remind you of by-gone eras. Not to mention the delicious smells of the breakfasts that wake you from your slumber to fortify you for the days plans! Thank you, Susan, Nick and David for allowing us to become a small part of your Bridges Inn “family”. We look forward to a long relationship with you!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}