Recent Reviews in Kapaa, Hawaii

Beautiful Setting at Kauai Retreat Center (Kilauea, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on January 18, 2016

This is a really beautiful place, a pleasant layout with a common, open, covered area. The self serve kitchen was excellently equipped and spacious. When we have got a problem with our bathroom, it was quickly fixed. The only thing that was a bit strange was that most of the rooms had bathrooms across the hall - even though they were private for each room - but this hasn't bothered us at all.

View more reviews for this inn

Fern Grotto Inn - Fabulous!!! at Fern Grotto Inn (Kapaa, Kauai, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on November 28, 2015

My husband and I stayed in the Garden Cottage at Fern Grotto Inn for 5 days at the beginning of November, 2015. The accommodations are charming! The cottage is decorated with island decor, has a very comfortable king-sized bed, is extremely well maintained and very clean. The kitchen area has every utensil and pot and pan you would ever need. The grounds are also beautiful. Paul Juma, the owner, is very considerate and concerned about his guests. We definitely recommend the Fern Grotto Inn and want to stay here again. It was hard to leave this time! Note: There are many restaurants nearby. You can shop and cook in your cottage or on the grills provided outside.

View more reviews for this inn

Perfect stay at Kauai Retreat Center (Kilauea, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on November 20, 2015

This place was like paradise for us! 100% recommendation.

View more reviews for this inn

Great place to stay at Kauai Country Inn (Kapaa, Hawaii)

3.0 reviewed on July 10, 2015

We rented the Orchid room for a week. It was quiet, spacious, self contained, fully featured and we enjoyed our stay greatly. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hinterland setting was green and cool and away from the hustle bustle and heat of the coast. A neighbors dog and the ubiquitous chickens were a pain at times, but otherwise very peaceful. We would definitely stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn

Amazing! at Kauai Retreat Center (Kilauea, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on April 07, 2015

The Kauai retreat center was perfect - remote but close to amazing beaches and activities. The rooms were comfortable with beautiful views, clean, and the common space was comfortable and perfect for getting to know other travelers. The kitchen was stocked with plenty of breakfast foods and was welcoming for cooking lunch and dinner for those traveling on a budget. Only downside was the rooms were close together and so easy to hear noise from the common space at night. But this was eclipsed by the beauty and serenity of the surroundings. We will definitely be back!

View more reviews for this inn

Loved the location, rooms and place to have breakfast where you can meet and talk with other people. And it is very secluded! at Kauai Retreat Center (Kilauea, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on March 29, 2015

It is on very peaceful location where you can really experience Kauai true environment!

View more reviews for this inn

Perfect! at Kauai Retreat Center (Kilauea, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on November 03, 2014

In such a magical island as Kauai, to find a place to stay as The Kauai Retreat Center B&B is the perfect combination. Every detail is in place and the nature around the house make this mix "The Paradais".

View more reviews for this inn

Gorgeous place at Kauai Retreat Center (Kilauea, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on October 29, 2014

My only regret is that we only could stay here one night. The view over the grassy headlands towards Kilauea is stupendous. We watched the sunrise through plate glass windows in our room. Delicious papayas and other treats for breakfast. The house is quiet, filled with peace. A delightful and perfect vacation spot.

View more reviews for this inn

A place to stay in Kauai at Kauai Retreat Center (Kilauea, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on August 29, 2014

The house is very clean, kitchen is well furnished. Was really a pleasant stay in a wonderful place.

View more reviews for this inn

Would recommend a stay here at Kauai Retreat Center (Kilauea, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on April 15, 2014

This would be a great place for a group/family. Rooms, lanai and great room are modern, clean and luxurious. Hilary was a congenial and generous host. I would have given the Rooms an Outstanding rating except for thin (freshly washed) woven curtains which made it hard to sleep in late, and for the private bathroom down the hall. I was not aware of the latter set up when booking. Ask when booking if you want an en suite bath. Otherwise the full bath is your own, clean w. thick towels, and a few steps away from your bedroom - not a problem. Bring a bathrobe. Owner is not on site but just a phone call away if needed. Breakfast is therefore self serve altho a generous bowl of fresh local fruit and a variety of cereals & breads are provided. The full kitchen is basically yours to use as needed. Except for the roosters, the property, set next to a pasture, is tranquil & conducive to visiting with other guests or making it your quiet retreat.

View more reviews for this inn

Fantastic Getaway at Fern Grotto Inn (Kapaa, Kauai, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on June 16, 2013

Fern Grotto offered a beautiful, peaceful and relaxing getaway. The layout of the property makes you feel like you are the only guests around. The lush tropical feel is as inviting as the island is itself. We stayed here to get away from the resorts and crowds of people and we could not have been happier. If you are looking for an authentic, local and centrally located inn, then look no further.

View more reviews for this inn

Fabulous and Relaxing at Kauai Country Inn (Kapaa, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on June 06, 2013

This was our first trip to Kauai to celebrate our 10th anniversary. Booking the stay was easy on the inn's website which was informative and accurate. The posted pictures only hinted at how good the place actually is. I chose this place as Frommers gave it a great rating for quality and value. The drive from Lihue airport takes 15 to 20 minutes and is a truly beautiful scenic route up a mountain and past a spectacular waterfall. Check in was simple (no waiting in line) and feels like entering your new domicile for the first time. Our first 5 nights were in the Plumeria suite and the final 2 were in the Green Rose. Both suites were spectacular! Decorations were reflective of Hawaii & the Beatles. Both bedrooms are large including the beds which were very comfortable. Apple computer are in the rooms with free internet service. Both kitchens are full service with gas range (awesome) and a great fridges. This really helps control your food budget by allowing you to cook or eat your leftovers (BBQ also available). In Plumeria bathroom is huge with a jetted tub and hilarious grass skirts on the double sink bases. Living area is very cozy with a large LCD TV that gives tons of channels. There is a massive and up to date DVD library in the hosts' house that you are welcome to explore. Jeff and Tricia are friendly, gracious hosts that were alot of fun to converse with. Mike gives an amazing tour of his Beatles museum which is a guests' only privilege. Everyone who listens to any Rock music should experience this tour. Location is very central for the island and close to shopping and restaurants. Contrary to the unhappy experience of a recent reviewer in the Plumeria suite, we loved the Plumeria Suite. We have experienced many B+B's or similar lodgings as well as many hotels ($100-$250/night range) and can sincerely say that KCI and its owners have reset the bar for us. We definitely want to return to this charming inn and hosts.

View more reviews for this inn

Kauai Country Inn- Not Recommended at Kauai Country Inn (Kapaa, Hawaii)

2.4 reviewed on June 16, 2012

I made the reservation with Mike, one of the owners, and explained that I wanted the 2 bedroom Plumeria suite because I am a light sleeper and need my own room for sleeping. Mike told me that was no problem and went on to say that many couples request the same thing. You can imagine my surprise when we arrive at the inn after 18 hours of travel to find that our suite was one bedroom. I promptly called Mike, who after putting me on hold for several minutes, came back on the line and said "How many people do you have with you?." Two I told him, feeling frustrated because I had already told him on several occasions that it would be just me and my husband to be. I asked Mike why we were not in the suite that we reserved and he told me, "We don't have you down for the two bedroom. It is being painted right now. We normally put 2 people in the one bedroom but I can make up the day bed for you." He further added that the second bedroom would be available the following day for an additional 10 dollars a night. I realized then that the person we were dealing with was unprofessional with no real interest to remedy his mistake. Mike insinuated that there was no error on his part because the two bedroom suite normally gets rented by larger parties. The thing is, I had several conversations with Mike about needing the 2 bedroom suite. He obviously didn't document our request and review it before our arrival, because he knew absolutely nothing about us when we arrived. But, much more than my initial disappointment about the room not being right, was my frustration that Mike was unable to give a genuine apology. Instead of any sort of apology, we were brushed off with the words "I talk to so many brides every day - I can't remember every request". He basically told us that we never made the reservation that we were certain we did. This was just ONE occasion where we felt like Mike treated us with disregard and apathy.

View more reviews for this inn

A Stay of a Lifetime! at Kauai Country Inn (Kapaa, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on September 14, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Kauai Country Inn in our first visit to Kauai. We had come accross the inn through a recommendation in Frommer's. We were pleasantly surprised how nice our stay was. We rented the Plumeria Suite, which we and the staff consider it the best suite. It is spacious, beautifully decorated, has a jacuzzi and balcony and includes lot of "toys" for the guests including an Apple computer to use with free internet and a special digital photo device, multiple movies and books to watch and read, and games to play such as chess, checkers, monopoly and on and on it goes. The staff is so nice and efficient and helpful. The simple continental breakfast of pastries, oatmeal and coffee is just right for the perfect home setting of the Kauai Country Inn. And what a Beetles "museum" they have to to walk down memory lane as Mike gives you a tour of a lifetime and tells you facts of the Beetles many never knew. Best of all, the price of the stay is outstanding considering all you get and free parking and free fruit to pick from the grounds. The location is a quiet country setting perfect to hear the sounds of mutliple birds that is centrally located for easy access to each end of Kauai. As we moved to another island and are now staying in a high end resort, we miss our accommodations we had at Kauai Country Inn.

View more reviews for this inn

We love the Kauai Country Inn at Kauai Country Inn (Kapaa, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on September 18, 2008

My fiance and I needed a place to stay for our wedding/honeymoon trip. We stayed in the Plumeria Suite and the Orchid Suite. Mike and Martina (Inn owners) were so helpful in our reservation process. They even made it possible to come a day early, which was a last minute add on to our reservation. We both liked the decor and it is clean. My parents stayed in Yellow Ginger room at the same time and loved it as well. The only room we did not see was the Green Rose room, but when 3 of the 4 are great, I have no doubt the 4th is the same. They were eco-friendly, but it didn't feel extreme. It was a fantastic balance. There is laundry, which was so nice to have in a crunch. We really liked having the computer (was new and in great working condition) and internet access. We used it extensively for our tourist outings. The big refrigerator was really nice to have as well. The also had several guide books located in the suites (yes, you get a bedroom, living room, private bath, and kitchen or kitchenette), which helped us out as well. It is centrally located on the island. The tropical rainforest was a nice escape from the traditional beach hotel- and so peaceful. It provided a much better experience of Kauai as a whole. The check in process was fantastic with the keys waiting for you in an envelope. You don't have to worry about paperwork or anything else when you arrive- just begin your vacation! We thought Mike and Martina were so friendly, helpful and genuinely cared about their business. It doesn't seem like they run the Inn for profits, but rather so visitors to the island have a great experience. They are so easy-going and good natured. It was great to just sit and talk with them. We hope to stay at Kauai Country Inn in the future.

View more reviews for this inn

Fantastic at Kauai Country Inn (Kapaa, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on September 17, 2008

We absolutely loved our stay at the Kauai Country Inn. It was a real "home away from home". We stayed in both the cottage and the Plumeria Suite and loved them both. Our ten year old son was really enjoying the cottage and didn't want to leave when it was time to move into the Plumeria suite. One look at the suite and he said "Whoa, I was so wrong!". The inn is comfortable, very clean, and has everything you need. It was great to just get take out after a day at the beach and come "home" and relax. We can't wait to go back. We also really enjoyed our private viewing of the Beatles museum. We highly recommend this place as a base to view the island of Kauai - which truly is a paradise.

View more reviews for this inn

WE DO NOT RECOMMEND!!!! at Kauai Country Inn (Kapaa, Hawaii)

2.2 reviewed on August 11, 2008

We came here, August 10, 2008. Nothing is as we expected. First, the hosts NEVER came to greet us. A note was left on the front door for us with a key and instructions to let ourselves in. The foyer was UNBEARABLLY HOT!!! No fan or air moving. The suite was quite spacious BUT hot, hot, hot. The room had not been opened up for us in anticipation of our arrival, and I went around turning on all of the ceiling fans myself, and opening the louvered glass windows (which were small). The ceiling fans are small, and ineffective at moving the air; 2 portable floor fans helped. I went to take a shower after a day at the beach and found one small dim bathroom light and the tub/shower had mold and mildew around the tub. The soap was a bar of Lever Soap :-( Asif this wasn't enough, there were geckos crawling everywhere!! This is no vacation!! The decor is not as nice as portrayed on their website. The furniture is old and wornout; and there are beenie babies, pictures of the Beatles, and fake, dusty flowers everywhere! This is a nightmare!! D and G Cleveland, Ohio

View more reviews for this inn

"Excellent inn..." at Kauai Country Inn (Kapaa, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on August 05, 2008

Excellent inn to stay in - Hosts were wonderful and very knowledgable. Would recommend to family and friends.

View more reviews for this inn

Paradise Inn Hawaii at Kauai Country Inn (Kapaa, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on July 16, 2008

Our stay at KCI grossly exceeded our expectations. Spacious suites w/ awesome views and all the amenities at a budget price. The property sits in a tropical rain forest w/ mountain and forest views that are breathtaking and totally relaxing.

View more reviews for this inn

Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Fern Grotto Inn (4.80)
  2. Kauai Retreat Center (4.68)
  3. Kauai Country Inn (4.00)