Recent Reviews in Kapaa, Hawaii

This is the way we like to vacation at Fern Grotto Inn (Kapaa, Kauai, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on October 31, 2016

Imagine that your brother has a cottage in Kauai, and he asks you to look after it for a week or two. It’s fully stocked with dishes, silverware, appliances, and even a drawer of Ziplock and garbage bags. The bathroom medicine chest has shampoo, shaving cream, sun lotion. Before he leaves, he tells you to feel free to use his kayaks, bikes, beach chairs, snorkel gear, beach towels, and boogie boards. Just remember to remove your sandals and wipe the sand off with the supplied rags at the front door. You’d probably think this is the most comfortable living ever. Such it is at the Fern Grotto Inn, and owner Paul Juma has made every effort to be as nice as your brother. The inn has direct access to the Wailua River, and is walking distance to one of Kauai’s many sandy beaches. Kapa’a town is a five minute drive (except in rush hour), and home to grocery stores, restaurants, and funky shopping. The location on the island is ideal, being near the airport and roughly equidistant from the sights on both the north and south shores. Don’t expect a lobby and a check-in desk. This is your brother’s cottage, after all.

View more reviews for this inn


Fern Grotto Inn - Fabulous!!! at Fern Grotto Inn (Kapaa, Kauai, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on November 28, 2015

My husband and I stayed in the Garden Cottage at Fern Grotto Inn for 5 days at the beginning of November, 2015. The accommodations are charming! The cottage is decorated with island decor, has a very comfortable king-sized bed, is extremely well maintained and very clean. The kitchen area has every utensil and pot and pan you would ever need. The grounds are also beautiful. Paul Juma, the owner, is very considerate and concerned about his guests. We definitely recommend the Fern Grotto Inn and want to stay here again. It was hard to leave this time! Note: There are many restaurants nearby. You can shop and cook in your cottage or on the grills provided outside.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay at Kauai Country Inn (Kapaa, Hawaii)

3.0 reviewed on July 10, 2015

We rented the Orchid room for a week. It was quiet, spacious, self contained, fully featured and we enjoyed our stay greatly. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hinterland setting was green and cool and away from the hustle bustle and heat of the coast. A neighbors dog and the ubiquitous chickens were a pain at times, but otherwise very peaceful. We would definitely stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic Getaway at Fern Grotto Inn (Kapaa, Kauai, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on June 16, 2013

Fern Grotto offered a beautiful, peaceful and relaxing getaway. The layout of the property makes you feel like you are the only guests around. The lush tropical feel is as inviting as the island is itself. We stayed here to get away from the resorts and crowds of people and we could not have been happier. If you are looking for an authentic, local and centrally located inn, then look no further.

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous and Relaxing at Kauai Country Inn (Kapaa, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on June 06, 2013

This was our first trip to Kauai to celebrate our 10th anniversary. Booking the stay was easy on the inn's website which was informative and accurate. The posted pictures only hinted at how good the place actually is. I chose this place as Frommers gave it a great rating for quality and value. The drive from Lihue airport takes 15 to 20 minutes and is a truly beautiful scenic route up a mountain and past a spectacular waterfall. Check in was simple (no waiting in line) and feels like entering your new domicile for the first time. Our first 5 nights were in the Plumeria suite and the final 2 were in the Green Rose. Both suites were spectacular! Decorations were reflective of Hawaii & the Beatles. Both bedrooms are large including the beds which were very comfortable. Apple computer are in the rooms with free internet service. Both kitchens are full service with gas range (awesome) and a great fridges. This really helps control your food budget by allowing you to cook or eat your leftovers (BBQ also available). In Plumeria bathroom is huge with a jetted tub and hilarious grass skirts on the double sink bases. Living area is very cozy with a large LCD TV that gives tons of channels. There is a massive and up to date DVD library in the hosts' house that you are welcome to explore. Jeff and Tricia are friendly, gracious hosts that were alot of fun to converse with. Mike gives an amazing tour of his Beatles museum which is a guests' only privilege. Everyone who listens to any Rock music should experience this tour. Location is very central for the island and close to shopping and restaurants. Contrary to the unhappy experience of a recent reviewer in the Plumeria suite, we loved the Plumeria Suite. We have experienced many B+B's or similar lodgings as well as many hotels ($100-$250/night range) and can sincerely say that KCI and its owners have reset the bar for us. We definitely want to return to this charming inn and hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Kauai Country Inn- Not Recommended at Kauai Country Inn (Kapaa, Hawaii)

2.4 reviewed on June 16, 2012

I made the reservation with Mike, one of the owners, and explained that I wanted the 2 bedroom Plumeria suite because I am a light sleeper and need my own room for sleeping. Mike told me that was no problem and went on to say that many couples request the same thing. You can imagine my surprise when we arrive at the inn after 18 hours of travel to find that our suite was one bedroom. I promptly called Mike, who after putting me on hold for several minutes, came back on the line and said "How many people do you have with you?." Two I told him, feeling frustrated because I had already told him on several occasions that it would be just me and my husband to be. I asked Mike why we were not in the suite that we reserved and he told me, "We don't have you down for the two bedroom. It is being painted right now. We normally put 2 people in the one bedroom but I can make up the day bed for you." He further added that the second bedroom would be available the following day for an additional 10 dollars a night. I realized then that the person we were dealing with was unprofessional with no real interest to remedy his mistake. Mike insinuated that there was no error on his part because the two bedroom suite normally gets rented by larger parties. The thing is, I had several conversations with Mike about needing the 2 bedroom suite. He obviously didn't document our request and review it before our arrival, because he knew absolutely nothing about us when we arrived. But, much more than my initial disappointment about the room not being right, was my frustration that Mike was unable to give a genuine apology. Instead of any sort of apology, we were brushed off with the words "I talk to so many brides every day - I can't remember every request". He basically told us that we never made the reservation that we were certain we did. This was just ONE occasion where we felt like Mike treated us with disregard and apathy.

View more reviews for this inn


A Stay of a Lifetime! at Kauai Country Inn (Kapaa, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on September 14, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Kauai Country Inn in our first visit to Kauai. We had come accross the inn through a recommendation in Frommer's. We were pleasantly surprised how nice our stay was. We rented the Plumeria Suite, which we and the staff consider it the best suite. It is spacious, beautifully decorated, has a jacuzzi and balcony and includes lot of "toys" for the guests including an Apple computer to use with free internet and a special digital photo device, multiple movies and books to watch and read, and games to play such as chess, checkers, monopoly and on and on it goes. The staff is so nice and efficient and helpful. The simple continental breakfast of pastries, oatmeal and coffee is just right for the perfect home setting of the Kauai Country Inn. And what a Beetles "museum" they have to to walk down memory lane as Mike gives you a tour of a lifetime and tells you facts of the Beetles many never knew. Best of all, the price of the stay is outstanding considering all you get and free parking and free fruit to pick from the grounds. The location is a quiet country setting perfect to hear the sounds of mutliple birds that is centrally located for easy access to each end of Kauai. As we moved to another island and are now staying in a high end resort, we miss our accommodations we had at Kauai Country Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


We love the Kauai Country Inn at Kauai Country Inn (Kapaa, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on September 18, 2008

My fiance and I needed a place to stay for our wedding/honeymoon trip. We stayed in the Plumeria Suite and the Orchid Suite. Mike and Martina (Inn owners) were so helpful in our reservation process. They even made it possible to come a day early, which was a last minute add on to our reservation. We both liked the decor and it is clean. My parents stayed in Yellow Ginger room at the same time and loved it as well. The only room we did not see was the Green Rose room, but when 3 of the 4 are great, I have no doubt the 4th is the same. They were eco-friendly, but it didn't feel extreme. It was a fantastic balance. There is laundry, which was so nice to have in a crunch. We really liked having the computer (was new and in great working condition) and internet access. We used it extensively for our tourist outings. The big refrigerator was really nice to have as well. The also had several guide books located in the suites (yes, you get a bedroom, living room, private bath, and kitchen or kitchenette), which helped us out as well. It is centrally located on the island. The tropical rainforest was a nice escape from the traditional beach hotel- and so peaceful. It provided a much better experience of Kauai as a whole. The check in process was fantastic with the keys waiting for you in an envelope. You don't have to worry about paperwork or anything else when you arrive- just begin your vacation! We thought Mike and Martina were so friendly, helpful and genuinely cared about their business. It doesn't seem like they run the Inn for profits, but rather so visitors to the island have a great experience. They are so easy-going and good natured. It was great to just sit and talk with them. We hope to stay at Kauai Country Inn in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic at Kauai Country Inn (Kapaa, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on September 17, 2008

We absolutely loved our stay at the Kauai Country Inn. It was a real "home away from home". We stayed in both the cottage and the Plumeria Suite and loved them both. Our ten year old son was really enjoying the cottage and didn't want to leave when it was time to move into the Plumeria suite. One look at the suite and he said "Whoa, I was so wrong!". The inn is comfortable, very clean, and has everything you need. It was great to just get take out after a day at the beach and come "home" and relax. We can't wait to go back. We also really enjoyed our private viewing of the Beatles museum. We highly recommend this place as a base to view the island of Kauai - which truly is a paradise.

View more reviews for this inn


WE DO NOT RECOMMEND!!!! at Kauai Country Inn (Kapaa, Hawaii)

2.2 reviewed on August 11, 2008

We came here, August 10, 2008. Nothing is as we expected. First, the hosts NEVER came to greet us. A note was left on the front door for us with a key and instructions to let ourselves in. The foyer was UNBEARABLLY HOT!!! No fan or air moving. The suite was quite spacious BUT hot, hot, hot. The room had not been opened up for us in anticipation of our arrival, and I went around turning on all of the ceiling fans myself, and opening the louvered glass windows (which were small). The ceiling fans are small, and ineffective at moving the air; 2 portable floor fans helped. I went to take a shower after a day at the beach and found one small dim bathroom light and the tub/shower had mold and mildew around the tub. The soap was a bar of Lever Soap :-( Asif this wasn't enough, there were geckos crawling everywhere!! This is no vacation!! The decor is not as nice as portrayed on their website. The furniture is old and wornout; and there are beenie babies, pictures of the Beatles, and fake, dusty flowers everywhere! This is a nightmare!! D and G Cleveland, Ohio

View more reviews for this inn


"Excellent inn..." at Kauai Country Inn (Kapaa, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on August 05, 2008

Excellent inn to stay in - Hosts were wonderful and very knowledgable. Would recommend to family and friends.

View more reviews for this inn


Paradise Inn Hawaii at Kauai Country Inn (Kapaa, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on July 16, 2008

Our stay at KCI grossly exceeded our expectations. Spacious suites w/ awesome views and all the amenities at a budget price. The property sits in a tropical rain forest w/ mountain and forest views that are breathtaking and totally relaxing.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Fern Grotto Inn (4.87)
  2. Kauai Country Inn (4.00)
Top
check }