Recent Reviews in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

a quiet location and near Volcano National Park at Volcano Forest Inn (Volcano, Hawaii)

3.2 reviewed on April 20, 2017

Short stay but comfortable and hosts knowledgeable and helpful.

View more reviews for this inn


B&B on organic coffee farm at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

2.6 reviewed on April 19, 2017

The location is very good. The common kitchen use is very convenient. However the room is a bit cluttered with unneeded furniture, while no clothes hangers provided. The space for it can be easily organized. Also housekeeping use chemicals, which is not coming along with a practices of organic farming. The lecture and tour of organic coffee farm by the owner exceeded our expectations. It was very informative and we learned a lot.

View more reviews for this inn


Breathtakingly beautiful spot at Kona Palace in Captain Cook (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on April 18, 2017

I stayed here one night while visiting Kona from my home on the east side of the island. Rachel was friendly, accommodating, and easygoing. (Always a plus.) I immediately felt comfortable in her home. Extremely clean bedroom and bathroom and a very comfy bed. The next morning, I awoke refreshed and thoroughly enjoyed breakfast on their stunning lanai, with fantastic views of this amazing area. Mahalo for a great experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Mahalo! at Kona Palace in Captain Cook (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on April 16, 2017

My wife and I had a fantastic time. Was as described and would stay here again. The accommdations and views were excellent. We came for a nice vacation, stayed at multiple places along the Kona coast. We did some snorkeling and visited the nearby Captain Cook monument when we were here. We felt at home here moreso than the other places.

View more reviews for this inn


First night great choice at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on April 07, 2017

We were happy to be above the crowds with a beautiful view cooler temperatures and gorgeous landscaping. Hans and Marsha made us very comfortable and served a delicious and satisfying breakfast. The coffee was outstanding!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful and Peace full of Aloha! at Hale Maluhia Country Inn (house of peace) (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on February 16, 2017

This is a beautiful, tropical setting and the staff are welcoming and helpful. Breakfast is lovely with fresh local foods and always fresh baked bread. One truly feels in paradise yet at home. Thank you for a wonderful stay! Marcy

View more reviews for this inn


Truly regret staying here at Kona Palace in Captain Cook (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

1.8 reviewed on February 15, 2017

Some Bed and Breakfasts are run as true businesses: professional, aware that the guests they are serving are paying them a good deal of money. This is not one of them. This Bed and Breakfast is run as a way to help pay for their vacation home - it should really be on AirBnB, not BedandBreakfast.com. Prior to our arrival, we received no information about check in times, tips on how to get there, anything. We found the driveway and after scraping our car bottom (super, super steep, but no warning) --we were lost as to how to get to the property or which one it was (poor signage, and no instructions beforehand). Upon finally seeing a small side driveway and finding our way down to the residence, a woman came out and stared at us. When we said we were there to check in, she said 'you're an hour early'...and then proceeded to stare at us. I apologized and said we hadn't seen any information (email or website) identifying when checkin was. She continued to stare at us. This is a good indication of how the rest of the trip was. When other people came to check in later, there was no way to contact her (doesn't answer cell phone from our trys)--so they wandered in the house asking if anyone knew if this was the place. "Breakfast" is less than a continental breakfast at a hotel would be. Most BnB's I've been to thrive on their breakfast - this came with a single boiled egg, a banana, and half a muffin. Overall - breakfast was a ripoff, the owner was rude and unprofessional, and it felt like we were an imposition - not a very relaxing vacation. Run it as a business, or don't call yourself a BnB, truly regret staying here. Rooms were nice and relatively clean, view is pretty but often foggy. (As a final note-not positive or negative - there is A LOT of Christian literature around the house--just be aware. I don't find it professional, but it's their right)

View more reviews for this inn


Exceeded expectations in every way at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on February 13, 2017

Best combination of location, service, and value we've experienced anywhere, ever. Stayed in Hale Moana.

View more reviews for this inn


Everything Beachfront at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on January 28, 2017

Four wonderfully built and maintained cottages 100 yards from the shore; popular beachside dining, often with live music; fabulous sunsets; paddle boards and bikes. Great service, including drinks and puu pu delivered to the cottage lanais at 5pm daily. GREAT alternative to hotel living. I wouldn't stay anywhere else on the shore north of Kona.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice place for a week, but no longer at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on January 26, 2017

We have stayed at Nalu and Wa'a for a week for two consecutive years. We really enjoy the proximity to the beach, and the restaurant. We chose these two cottages because they are a little bit removed from the fracas of the restaurant. As I told James, the new restaurant manager, who is doing a great job, the only reason we don't stay longer is because there are no pool agreements with any of the local hotels, so no pool. Also, no washer/dryer is doable for a week, but no longer. Some more glassware and dishes would be nice, but otherwise we had everything we needed, once they brought over a blender. Very nice staff, laid back as you come to expect on the big island.

View more reviews for this inn


Our fourth visit to Lava Lava Beach Club at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on January 16, 2017

It's rare that we would come back to a same place, year after year. The set up, the ambience is excellent here. Extremely relaxing and peaceful. The restaurant is right next door, so I can fetch my favorite drinks with ease, and the cool live easy listening music that begins every 5pm is a treat. The only request that I would like to make is the food at the restaurant. They all taste good and are not expensive, considering it's prime location. But when it gets busy, attention to detail goes a tad sloppy, such as "sizzling" shrimp not being so hot, caesar salad with inadequet dressing, and a few more. Now I say this because I am a fan of the place and I want them to continue receiving good reviews. Will we visit there again ? You bet ! Oh, and all the staffs are great there, very friendly. Moto from Japan.

View more reviews for this inn


Exceptional! at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on January 10, 2017

My husband and I stayed 10 days and each and every day was like a dream. The location of the cottages were perfect, the staff were exceptional as they went above and beyond, the cottage was clean and had every amenity needed! The daily fruit and evening pupu platter and drinks were delicious and fun! We felt like little kids coming home each evening looking forward to see what treat we would be enjoying. If there were cottages like these on each of the islands it would be where we would stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic location and get-away at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on January 04, 2017

Lava-Lava Beach Club is a hidden gem right on the beach in Hawaii! Wake up in the morning to a fantastic view of the ocean... walk or run the beach, which is steps from your wonderful front porch. Or you can grab a cup Of coffee and just watch the morning arrive. Right outside your beautiful cottage is the Beach Club with nightly live entertainment, great food, drinks ad beach games. We loved being able to walk out our cottage and play ladders or corn hole! At night Lava Beach Club has fire pits and one of the most beautiful places to watch the sunset. We were even lucky enough to see many sea turtles right by our beach! The beach does have a lot of lava rock but, still very useable! Not to mention you can easily walk into Waikoloa for dining, groceries, shopping or the Petroglyphs! This is one bed and breakfast that's worth the price! Kelley Hughes and Family!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay! at Kona Palace in Captain Cook (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on November 29, 2016

This is a very nice place up from the coast with spectacular views. The house is very clean and there were no bugs like some of the other places we have stayed on the Big Island. Our family had a wicked good time and would love to be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Unusual and so many rules at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

2.6 reviewed on November 18, 2016

Very odd set of instructions, must bring documents, honk to notify of arrival, drop bags then park, must back in, small room where I was asked what I thought of it before I was shown the room, etc.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent place to stay!! at Kona Hawaii Guesthouse (Kailua Kona, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on November 16, 2016

We loved staying at the Kona Hawaii guest house. We were welcomed with so much aloha and we felt right at home. We really enjoyed the feel of staying in a house verse a hotel. Gave us more of a locals vibe. Room was clean and equiped with a smart tv with netflix, a mini fridge for restaurent leftovers. There was an outdoor kitchen with a stove and cooking/eating supplies but we chose to eat at restaurants instead, we were on vacation. :) Geckos roam the property and the balcony has a great view of the trees and ocean in the distance. We loved the friendly environment and we will hopefully be returning here in the future. :) Thank you Kona Guesthouse :)

View more reviews for this inn


Magic Place! at Ka'awa Loa Plantation Guesthouse and Retreat (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on November 07, 2016

True words following: Me and my girlfriend were traveling around Hawaii (Maui - Big Island - Kauai - Oahu) and we are frequent B&B users all around the world. This was by far the best B&B we have every been to. We sadly just stayed for two nights (1 Garden Room, 1 Suite) and let me tell you that if i could replan our trip i would stay more then a week at this magic place. We had some great talks with Michael as Greg was on a trip. The sunset on the terrace was one of those "once in a life time" moments. The breakfast was once more just amazing. Fresh Juice, smoothie, beacon, egg and alot more. And with this feedback we just want to say thank you Michael for this breath taking experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Great views, peaceful enviroment at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on November 04, 2016

Spent a wonderful 6 days at Mango Sunset. The Breakfasts are all fresh and extensive. The accommodations are quite clean and adequate. If you are looking for a restful retreat from the hustle of a downtown hotel this is the place for you. About 10 minutes up the hill from downtown Kona, 30 minutes from Saddle road. If you are expecting a 5 star hotel, then please go to one and leave the beautiful B&B's for the rest of us. We had ocean views with an on-suite. The only thing that was missing was a closet for hanging clothes. The house rules were not onerous, no shoes in the house, no laundry after 9 pm, and B'fast at 8 am.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay while visiting Big Island at Hale Hoola B&B (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

3.6 reviewed on October 21, 2016

My husband and I spent a few days on the east side and a few days on the west side of Big Island. While visiting the west side we stayed at Hale Hoola and it was great. The place is clean and it has everything you need to enjoy your time in Hawaii. Easy to find, clean and with amazing sunset views! The hosts were GREAT and let us borrow snorkel gear as well as beach towels. They know the area so you can ask for restaurants or best places to see turtles... Their breakfast was outstanding! I really enjoyed having breakfast chatting with them and other guests. We will definitely be back if we visit the west side again. Mahalo, Alba

View more reviews for this inn


Beach Escape at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on October 19, 2016

Second trip and we still love being right on the beach. Great views, especially the sunsets. Good snorkeling and paddle boarding. Love the pupus on the lanai and the restaurant a short walk down the beach. The outdoor shower is a real treat. Hope to return soon.

View more reviews for this inn


House of Peace at Hale Maluhia Country Inn (house of peace) (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on October 12, 2016

Miriam and I absolutely love this place. The beauty of the property and the promise of an omelette bar got me here, but Ken and his staff completely endeared me. Truly it is a House of Peace. Dave Cariveau

View more reviews for this inn


Pretty darn perfect at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on October 04, 2016

Hard to beat this B&B. Only downside is there aren't more cottages.

View more reviews for this inn


A great time in Kona at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on September 26, 2016

We were very satisfied with our stay at Mango Sunset BnB. The room was comfortable, well equipped, and very clean. The wifi worked well. Big pluses with Mango Sunset BnB are (i) its location close to the airport and a short drive to Kailua-Kona, (ii) the nice breakfast and the efforts of Marsha and Hans to make it a great time for social exchange and sharing of information, and (iii) the willingness of Marsha and Hans to do whatever may help their guests take full advantage of their time in Kona. (note: I rated the breakfast in the "onsite dining" line for ratings)

View more reviews for this inn


A piece of Paradise at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on September 26, 2016

We had an amazing stay at the cottages. Great snorkeling just 20' from your cottage in addition to seeing turtles pop up every morning. The excellent staff that took care of us each day, from the yummy fresh fruit in the morning to the delicious appetizer and the fantastic mai tais in the evening! The restaurant staff was just as fantastic. Lava Lava Beach Club is a very friendly and great place to watch the sunsets with great food & live entertainment. This was my paradise to stay while at the Big Island Hawaii.

View more reviews for this inn


Stunning place at the beach! at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on September 20, 2016

What a beautiful place to chill out and relax. Especially the outside shower is great. Perhaps you need to provide snorkel sets, because just in front of your cottages you really have an amazing bay with a lot of fish and sea turtles to swim with!

View more reviews for this inn


Doesn't get any better! at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on September 19, 2016

When you dream of a vacation in paradise, it will fall short of what you experience at Lava Lava Beach Club. The room is exceptionally designed and decorated and the private outdoor showers almost make you forget the incredible ocean only feet from your front door. A gorgeous bay with sea turtles, sunsets and clear blue water over soft sand will have you never wanting to leave. The restaurant only steps away offers delicious food and drinks with some of the best artists Big Island has to offer to entertain you while you dine. Did I mention its all open air with seats in the sand and a lounge area provided with drink service for a night cap? You want something special...this is it!

View more reviews for this inn


Volcano location at Volcano Forest Inn (Volcano, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on September 18, 2016

Very convenient location!

View more reviews for this inn


Best place I've ever stayed. at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on August 14, 2016

I travel a lot and have been all over the world. This is hands down the most spot-on place I've ever stayed. The staff doesn't miss a beat and the accommodations are beautiful. If I would've designed the place, I wouldn't have done one thing differently. The restaurant has great food and drinks, and I would definitely stay again if I go back to the lovely Hawaii. Thanks for a great stay, Melanie Casey & Aaron Weldon

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful breakfast views of coffee plantation at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on August 05, 2016

Hans, the owner, is a bit grouchy but I found this amusing - as I expect he intended. The room was nice and I loved the private shower/bath. The road to reach the BnB is a bit challenging, especially for a non four wheel drive vehicle, but its pretty much normal for the big island do there's no fault there. The breakfast was delicious and prepared promptly on schedule. Being from an earlier time zone I would've like the breakfast even earlier so I could star other activities. Hans is very knowledgeable but be careful not to ask him something he hasn't documented already. That will definitely bring out his grouch (or go ahead if you're amused by his grouchiness like me).

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful views! at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on July 16, 2016

Location is outstanding. Bed and sheets very comfy. Outdoor shower so great! 5:00 appetizers and drinks everyday a nice plus! However, housekeeping services were not up to par on our visit. For the price, I expect 4 star service. On site restaurant and staff were absolutely fantastic.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}