Recent Reviews in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Everything Beachfront at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on January 28, 2017

Four wonderfully built and maintained cottages 100 yards from the shore; popular beachside dining, often with live music; fabulous sunsets; paddle boards and bikes. Great service, including drinks and puu pu delivered to the cottage lanais at 5pm daily. GREAT alternative to hotel living. I wouldn't stay anywhere else on the shore north of Kona.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice place for a week, but no longer at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on January 26, 2017

We have stayed at Nalu and Wa'a for a week for two consecutive years. We really enjoy the proximity to the beach, and the restaurant. We chose these two cottages because they are a little bit removed from the fracas of the restaurant. As I told James, the new restaurant manager, who is doing a great job, the only reason we don't stay longer is because there are no pool agreements with any of the local hotels, so no pool. Also, no washer/dryer is doable for a week, but no longer. Some more glassware and dishes would be nice, but otherwise we had everything we needed, once they brought over a blender. Very nice staff, laid back as you come to expect on the big island.

View more reviews for this inn


Our fourth visit to Lava Lava Beach Club at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on January 16, 2017

It's rare that we would come back to a same place, year after year. The set up, the ambience is excellent here. Extremely relaxing and peaceful. The restaurant is right next door, so I can fetch my favorite drinks with ease, and the cool live easy listening music that begins every 5pm is a treat. The only request that I would like to make is the food at the restaurant. They all taste good and are not expensive, considering it's prime location. But when it gets busy, attention to detail goes a tad sloppy, such as "sizzling" shrimp not being so hot, caesar salad with inadequet dressing, and a few more. Now I say this because I am a fan of the place and I want them to continue receiving good reviews. Will we visit there again ? You bet ! Oh, and all the staffs are great there, very friendly. Moto from Japan.

View more reviews for this inn


Exceptional! at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on January 10, 2017

My husband and I stayed 10 days and each and every day was like a dream. The location of the cottages were perfect, the staff were exceptional as they went above and beyond, the cottage was clean and had every amenity needed! The daily fruit and evening pupu platter and drinks were delicious and fun! We felt like little kids coming home each evening looking forward to see what treat we would be enjoying. If there were cottages like these on each of the islands it would be where we would stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic location and get-away at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on January 04, 2017

Lava-Lava Beach Club is a hidden gem right on the beach in Hawaii! Wake up in the morning to a fantastic view of the ocean... walk or run the beach, which is steps from your wonderful front porch. Or you can grab a cup Of coffee and just watch the morning arrive. Right outside your beautiful cottage is the Beach Club with nightly live entertainment, great food, drinks ad beach games. We loved being able to walk out our cottage and play ladders or corn hole! At night Lava Beach Club has fire pits and one of the most beautiful places to watch the sunset. We were even lucky enough to see many sea turtles right by our beach! The beach does have a lot of lava rock but, still very useable! Not to mention you can easily walk into Waikoloa for dining, groceries, shopping or the Petroglyphs! This is one bed and breakfast that's worth the price! Kelley Hughes and Family!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay! at Kona Palace in Captain Cook (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on November 29, 2016

This is a very nice place up from the coast with spectacular views. The house is very clean and there were no bugs like some of the other places we have stayed on the Big Island. Our family had a wicked good time and would love to be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Unusual and so many rules at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

2.6 reviewed on November 18, 2016

Very odd set of instructions, must bring documents, honk to notify of arrival, drop bags then park, must back in, small room where I was asked what I thought of it before I was shown the room, etc.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent place to stay!! at Kona Hawaii Guesthouse (Kailua Kona, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on November 16, 2016

We loved staying at the Kona Hawaii guest house. We were welcomed with so much aloha and we felt right at home. We really enjoyed the feel of staying in a house verse a hotel. Gave us more of a locals vibe. Room was clean and equiped with a smart tv with netflix, a mini fridge for restaurent leftovers. There was an outdoor kitchen with a stove and cooking/eating supplies but we chose to eat at restaurants instead, we were on vacation. :) Geckos roam the property and the balcony has a great view of the trees and ocean in the distance. We loved the friendly environment and we will hopefully be returning here in the future. :) Thank you Kona Guesthouse :)

View more reviews for this inn


Magic Place! at Ka'awa Loa Plantation Guesthouse and Retreat (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on November 07, 2016

True words following: Me and my girlfriend were traveling around Hawaii (Maui - Big Island - Kauai - Oahu) and we are frequent B&B users all around the world. This was by far the best B&B we have every been to. We sadly just stayed for two nights (1 Garden Room, 1 Suite) and let me tell you that if i could replan our trip i would stay more then a week at this magic place. We had some great talks with Michael as Greg was on a trip. The sunset on the terrace was one of those "once in a life time" moments. The breakfast was once more just amazing. Fresh Juice, smoothie, beacon, egg and alot more. And with this feedback we just want to say thank you Michael for this breath taking experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Great views, peaceful enviroment at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on November 04, 2016

Spent a wonderful 6 days at Mango Sunset. The Breakfasts are all fresh and extensive. The accommodations are quite clean and adequate. If you are looking for a restful retreat from the hustle of a downtown hotel this is the place for you. About 10 minutes up the hill from downtown Kona, 30 minutes from Saddle road. If you are expecting a 5 star hotel, then please go to one and leave the beautiful B&B's for the rest of us. We had ocean views with an on-suite. The only thing that was missing was a closet for hanging clothes. The house rules were not onerous, no shoes in the house, no laundry after 9 pm, and B'fast at 8 am.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay while visiting Big Island at Hale Hoola B&B (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

3.6 reviewed on October 21, 2016

My husband and I spent a few days on the east side and a few days on the west side of Big Island. While visiting the west side we stayed at Hale Hoola and it was great. The place is clean and it has everything you need to enjoy your time in Hawaii. Easy to find, clean and with amazing sunset views! The hosts were GREAT and let us borrow snorkel gear as well as beach towels. They know the area so you can ask for restaurants or best places to see turtles... Their breakfast was outstanding! I really enjoyed having breakfast chatting with them and other guests. We will definitely be back if we visit the west side again. Mahalo, Alba

View more reviews for this inn


Beach Escape at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on October 19, 2016

Second trip and we still love being right on the beach. Great views, especially the sunsets. Good snorkeling and paddle boarding. Love the pupus on the lanai and the restaurant a short walk down the beach. The outdoor shower is a real treat. Hope to return soon.

View more reviews for this inn


House of Peace at Hale Maluhia Country Inn (house of peace) (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on October 12, 2016

Miriam and I absolutely love this place. The beauty of the property and the promise of an omelette bar got me here, but Ken and his staff completely endeared me. Truly it is a House of Peace. Dave Cariveau

View more reviews for this inn


Pretty darn perfect at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on October 04, 2016

Hard to beat this B&B. Only downside is there aren't more cottages.

View more reviews for this inn


A great time in Kona at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on September 26, 2016

We were very satisfied with our stay at Mango Sunset BnB. The room was comfortable, well equipped, and very clean. The wifi worked well. Big pluses with Mango Sunset BnB are (i) its location close to the airport and a short drive to Kailua-Kona, (ii) the nice breakfast and the efforts of Marsha and Hans to make it a great time for social exchange and sharing of information, and (iii) the willingness of Marsha and Hans to do whatever may help their guests take full advantage of their time in Kona. (note: I rated the breakfast in the "onsite dining" line for ratings)

View more reviews for this inn


A piece of Paradise at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on September 26, 2016

We had an amazing stay at the cottages. Great snorkeling just 20' from your cottage in addition to seeing turtles pop up every morning. The excellent staff that took care of us each day, from the yummy fresh fruit in the morning to the delicious appetizer and the fantastic mai tais in the evening! The restaurant staff was just as fantastic. Lava Lava Beach Club is a very friendly and great place to watch the sunsets with great food & live entertainment. This was my paradise to stay while at the Big Island Hawaii.

View more reviews for this inn


Stunning place at the beach! at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on September 20, 2016

What a beautiful place to chill out and relax. Especially the outside shower is great. Perhaps you need to provide snorkel sets, because just in front of your cottages you really have an amazing bay with a lot of fish and sea turtles to swim with!

View more reviews for this inn


Doesn't get any better! at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on September 19, 2016

When you dream of a vacation in paradise, it will fall short of what you experience at Lava Lava Beach Club. The room is exceptionally designed and decorated and the private outdoor showers almost make you forget the incredible ocean only feet from your front door. A gorgeous bay with sea turtles, sunsets and clear blue water over soft sand will have you never wanting to leave. The restaurant only steps away offers delicious food and drinks with some of the best artists Big Island has to offer to entertain you while you dine. Did I mention its all open air with seats in the sand and a lounge area provided with drink service for a night cap? You want something special...this is it!

View more reviews for this inn


Volcano location at Volcano Forest Inn (Volcano, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on September 18, 2016

Very convenient location!

View more reviews for this inn


Best place I've ever stayed. at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on August 14, 2016

I travel a lot and have been all over the world. This is hands down the most spot-on place I've ever stayed. The staff doesn't miss a beat and the accommodations are beautiful. If I would've designed the place, I wouldn't have done one thing differently. The restaurant has great food and drinks, and I would definitely stay again if I go back to the lovely Hawaii. Thanks for a great stay, Melanie Casey & Aaron Weldon

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful breakfast views of coffee plantation at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on August 05, 2016

Hans, the owner, is a bit grouchy but I found this amusing - as I expect he intended. The room was nice and I loved the private shower/bath. The road to reach the BnB is a bit challenging, especially for a non four wheel drive vehicle, but its pretty much normal for the big island do there's no fault there. The breakfast was delicious and prepared promptly on schedule. Being from an earlier time zone I would've like the breakfast even earlier so I could star other activities. Hans is very knowledgeable but be careful not to ask him something he hasn't documented already. That will definitely bring out his grouch (or go ahead if you're amused by his grouchiness like me).

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful views! at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on July 16, 2016

Location is outstanding. Bed and sheets very comfy. Outdoor shower so great! 5:00 appetizers and drinks everyday a nice plus! However, housekeeping services were not up to par on our visit. For the price, I expect 4 star service. On site restaurant and staff were absolutely fantastic.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic Beach Cottages at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on July 14, 2016

The cottages are so cute and comfortable and you can enjoy live music from the restaurant in the afternoons and evenings. The view is unsurpassed! This was our second stay at Lava Lava and once again we didn't want to leave.

View more reviews for this inn


Brilliant!! at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on July 11, 2016

recon misison to check it out for 1 night. cant wait to come back and bring friends

View more reviews for this inn


Mango Sunset B & B a Great Place to Stay at Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2016

Mango Sunset is a great place to stay for a few days while on the island of Hawaii. The rooms were very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious with a nice variety and always great company. The access road was a challenge to find the first time but after that there were no concerns. The sunset view over the ocean was priceless.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent stay at Hale Hoola B&B (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on June 07, 2016

This B &B had everything we wanted. Hosts Carl and Elma went above and beyond what was expected. Enjoyed breakfast on the lanai. Just wish we had booked more than 2 nights.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Budget Option at Hale Hoola B&B (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on May 30, 2016

This BnB was perfect for us, because we wanted to spend our time out sight seeing and didn't want or need a bunch of extra amenities. The price was great, the views from the upstairs deck where breakfast was served were beautiful, breakfast was tastey, and the hosts were warm and thoughtful.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Hale Hoola B&B (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on May 28, 2016

Great place to stay in the Big Island. Very quiet and surround by the nature. Kind owners. Sure I'm back here! Hideyuki, Tokyo Japan

View more reviews for this inn


Nice place at Hale Hoola B&B (Captain Cook, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on May 15, 2016

We stayed at Hale Hoola for 2 nights. The room was very clean and confortable. We particularly appreciated the patio with a beautiful viiew on the ocean. Carl and Elma have been good hosts and the breakfast was excellent. Unfortunatly the weather was not good ....

View more reviews for this inn


Paradise at Lava Lava Beach Club (Waikoloa, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on May 03, 2016

Outstanding stay at lava lava. View was incredible, rooms were spotless, and sea turtles just steps from our door. Nightly music was fantastic and good food right next door at restaurant. Can't wait to return.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}