William Watson Hotel Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Onsite Dining3.8

Score Breakdown based on
54 Reviews

Write A Review

Cozy getaway

4.8 on October 09, 2017

Loved my stay in this historic hotel! The staff was very personable and helpful! The room was very cozy and vintage. You could smell how clean the room was when you walked in the door' having the coffee shop right next door was so convenient. They had great coffee and delicious baked goods! All around had a great stay! Would definitely recommend!


Best choice for the area

4.6 on October 04, 2017

I don't normally choose 'bed and breakfast' type lodging as I was previously concerned it would be noisy (like being in a big, old house with a large group of people) but surprisingly, it was peaceful, quiet, and I never heard any other guests. Check in was easy, my bed was comfortable, and the room had a mini fridge and microwave...I believe you have to book the suite to get these items. This is a great place to stay, at a reasonable price.


Repeat Guests

5 on September 11, 2017

Having moved from this area, my husband and I have stayed at the Watson several times through the years while attending various events. The staff is always friendly and and courteous. The rooms are very clean, comfortable, and inviting. I recommend the William Watson Hotel to anyone searching for a lovely place to stay while visiting in Pike County.


Quite Comfortable Weekend

4.8 on September 05, 2017

We wanted to go to Hannibal, MO for the Steampunk Festival but didn't decide to go until the day before it started. Pittsfield was the next closest to choose from that wasn't a rundown hotel. We loved our stay, the staff were very courteous. The room was spacious and the beds were very comfortable. I usually have a hard time sleeping in hotel beds, but I fell fast asleep here. The location of the hotel right in down town was convenient with several dining options within walking distance. And we loved that it is a pet friendly hotel. There is so much history in the area and within a 30 mile radius. We can't wait for another long weekend so we can go back and visit other sites in the area.


Clean n' Cozy Country Charm

3.8 on September 03, 2017

Located in huntin' n' farmin' country between the Illinois and Mississippi rivers, you might have lowered expectations from a bed & breakfast located there, but you won't find unkempt rooms nor cookie cutter sterility at the William Watson. The laid back country vibe is set with a collection of flea market furnishings in every corner that fully extends to the "S'all good, you're family!" sensibility of the staff and management. Don't expect anyone to handhold or hover over you unless you ask for it. For my most recent stay, I called ahead to let them know I'd be arriving around nine in the evening. Granted, I am a repeat visitor, however instead of fuss or over-concern, I got instructions on how to let myself in, retrieve my key and find my room; just thorough and convenient customer service. Different rooms on each of my stays have been consistent: nearly spotless (I did look, but didn't look hard, surely there are some), clean comfortable beds, cable tv, and free WiFi. Despite being in a 168 year-old building, I didn't hear a peep from any of the other guests. Quiet and comfortable– what more can you ask for, really? Breakfast is a tasty selection of muffins, baked goods and fresh fruit in the serve-yourself community kitchen. You'll find mini coffee pots in each of the rooms, but in the kitchen there's a cup-at-a-time maker, along with instant oatmeal and individual-serving cereals to choose from, too. It feels a bit like being at your mom's house alone while she's out grocery shopping. You're absolutely gonna get taken care of– you'll find something to suit you, but it's generally no-frills. Skip the sterile chain hotel and the questionable AirBnB listings. If the Pittsfield area is where you'll be resting your head for the night, book your room at the William Watson. C. Smith, Chicago


Eclipse Eve

4.0 on August 22, 2017

My wife and I stayed here the night before the 2017 eclipse. On our way home from a long weekend getaway. Staff was friendly and welcoming. The room was small but clean with enough of the amenities to be comfortable. No mini fridge or microwave in our room, wasn't a big deal for us but should be noted. Ate dinner at a local Italian restaurant, had a quite night. Had coffee and a muffin at the Free Press coffee shop which is attached. We didn't partake of the free continental breakfast so I can't speak about that. A perfectly fine place to spend the night before hitting the road. Historic surroundings. Someday I'm going to find out what's happening with the Zoe theater.


Awesome

4.6 on August 10, 2017

Quaint and quiet. The historic features were amazing. The staff was super friendly and allowed us to check in early. Loved the ambiance this place provided!


Nice Hotel with History

4.6 on August 09, 2017

Nice hotel, good history and nice location.


Step back into history

4.4 on August 07, 2017

If you want to experience a comfortable and historic stay, the Watson is for you. We have stayed twice now in the handicapped accessible rooms (heart condition, no stairs, please) and found the rooms clean and comfortable. The atmosphere is wonderful! Easy access to local restaurants. Breakfast is simple fare, but adequate.Bottled water available at all times. Coffee in Free Press (adjoining) is yummy. The people are just family you haven't met yet!


Charming Historical Inn

4.8 on July 24, 2017

Unique hotel with quaint and comfortable rooms -- a highlight of our vacation.


Bed and Breakfast

5 on July 20, 2017

Great place to stay. It's unique and the service is amazing.


Romantic and historical!

5 on June 12, 2017

We loved this quaint hotel. The history was interesting. Beds were very comfortable too. The staff was very welcoming. We will definitely stay again and recommend to others. Lovely restaurant across the street. Linda and Joe Greene Taylorville IL


Really charming

4.6 on May 02, 2017

We stayed on a Sunday night so the lobby was unattended with materials clearly displayed for check in along with our room key. The lobby and common areas are decorated with curated antique and newer art. Our room overlooked the courtyard and was small (queen bed and one chair and dresser) but with a lovely modern spotless bathroom. The bed was comfortable (thought the floor slanted - not unexpected in an older building). We carried our bags upstairs, so that's perhaps not to everyone's taste. There is a breakfast room with cold cereal and milk, instant oatmeal, bread and peanut butter, and juice in a gallon jug in the fridge. There is a single serving coffee maker and tea bags. There is a coffee shop off the lobby if you want something more substantial. Overall, a fun stop and something different than a brand name chain stop off the highway.


Charming Place

4.6 on April 24, 2017

This place was so cute and very clean. We loved the rooms and the staff was so friendly. We will stay there again for sure and recommend it to others.


Wonderful Friendly owners Beautiful Place

4.8 on March 30, 2017

Was in town with My Wife and Kids saw nothing but Smiles from restaurant waitresses and owners and everyone else we came into contact with. Beautiful town and wonderful people. Craig & Lora Schererville Indiana .


Fun, Eclectic Place on the Square

3.8 on March 22, 2017

Spent one night here on our way to Hannibal, MO. Was a nice change from chain hotels. We stayed in the Lincoln Room. It was a nice size, and the bed was comfy. I rated onsite dining as unsatisfactory because there is really no onsite dining to speak of. However, there are dining options very nearby on the town square.


Leisurely Stay

4.2 on March 04, 2017

Stayed here the night before we went to the Mississippi River to see the bald eagles. Staff was helpful and let us know how to enter the building when we knew we'd be arriving late. Large room with a lovely view of the courthouse. Very quiet and unique hotel--brick walls on the inside of our room. Excellent coffee shop right next door!


Wonderful Business Stay!

4.6 on December 09, 2016

I come to central IL regularly for business reasons. I normally stay at the location that suites my expense budget as recommended by the online booking sites. The William Watson Hotel is such a breath of fresh air, compared to any other place I have stayed. Remodeled and decorated to perfection. Very comfortable with a great coffee shop next to the lobby. Easy walk across the street to good dining. I stayed three nights and was able to get plenty of work completed in the spacious room. It was an excellent choice as a central location for my area business stops. Very pleasantly surprised and will continue to book this location in the future.


In town for a wedding!

4.0 on November 01, 2016

We were in town for a wedding and it was suggested that we stay here! I'm glad we did! This place was historic, but in fantastic shape. The service we received was phenomenal! If we are ever in the area again, I will remember this place.


Overnight stay

4.4 on September 09, 2016

Found the hotel online and booked it. Arrived late at night and was met by owner who showed us the room and gave us the key. We were pleasantly surprised by the room. Spacious, clean and new looking. Staff was very outgoing and helpful. The only bad thing for me was no elevator. Would definitely stay again!


Great place.

3.4 on August 22, 2016

Great place to base out of for trips to Pittsfield. Cool historic hotel on the square. Cafe next door had great breakfast and coffees, etc. Walk to a couple of good dinner places. I will stay there again when I return.


Perfect stay for family reunion weekend

5 on July 30, 2016

The Watson Hotel was a great place to stay with family members. There are great areas for visiting - the kitchen, the living room, and outdoors. Having the Free Press Coffee Shop right next door was very convenient for great coffee and amazing breakfast and lunch selections. The staff is amazing and helpful. One member helpfully printed out my airline boarding pass. They have great recommendations for dining choices. Our family enjoyed this historic hotel!


Wonderful William Watson

4.8 on June 25, 2016

I have stayed at the William Watson several times when I visit family in the area. The historic hotel is on a beautiful square with one of the most interesting 19th C. Courthouses in the country. The owners are so helpful and easy to work with. Rooms are immaculate, a couple of good restaurants within 1/2 block, plus they have their own coffee shop next to the hotel lobby. I love staying there it is a real surprise for such a small town. KH, from Kansas City.


Cute as a button! Clean & friendly.

4.8 on May 31, 2016

We stayed at the William Watson Hotel while in town to ride ATV's at the Hearland Lodge in Nebo about 20 min away. Everything was perfect and we can't wait to come back. Cute rooms, very clean, so much character and charm! We didn't get a chance to try the coffee shop that is attached, but it smelled great and was also very cute.


Debbie & Norm's Stay

2.8 on May 26, 2016

While the room was nice, we didn't have an exterior window. The bathroom was large and the good water pressure for the shower. We will be back.


Historic, Chic, Clean and very comfortable.

5 on April 26, 2016

The staff at the William Watson Hotel were very friendly and caring. Enjoyed the weekend with them. Look forward to the next visit. Great coffee shop next door.


Terrific!

5 on March 28, 2016

Lovely, clean and quiet. Nice amenities and simple yet elegant touches throughout.


A Quiet Evening at the William Watson Hotel

4.0 on January 14, 2016

We found the hotel to be a quiet retreat. The room however was cold due to a malfunctioning room heater and the bed was too soft. We stayed in Room 206. Would consider another stay at the hotel with those issues not reoccurring. The staff was courteous and helpful.

Innkeeper Response
We are glad that you found the hotel to be a quiet retreat and enjoyed the staff! We apologize for the malfunctioning heater, the issue has been resolved, and we suggest that you request 302 for your next stay if you like a firmer mattress. Thank you!

- Jane Ann Petty (innkeeper)


Getaway

4.6 on November 20, 2015

We really enjoyed are stay. Accommodations were everything I would have expected them to be. Was directed to several eating establishments which were excellent. Would highly recommend this to anyone. We did not eat the breakfast but looked to be very good.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your lovely review! We are glad that you will recommend us and hope to see you again soon!

- Jane Petty (innkeeper)


Neat place to stay

4.6 on November 08, 2015

Need a "N/A" response for onsite dining because we didn't eat there. Since we were happy with everything else, we gave them a good rating. . .based on nothing, I guess.


Our 1st Stay

4.4 on October 27, 2015

Our first stay in this hotel it was great we had the whole floor to ourselves in the actual hotel only had 4 people !


A Room With a View

3.6 on September 20, 2015

The William Watson Hotel is my first choice for lodging when I travel to Pittsfield, IL. It’s historic for both me personally and for the community it serves! My grandmother worked here when it was “The Parkway” in the 1960’s and at the same time I had a great aunt whom took a room or small apartment at the Parkway. I remember as a kid being there never imagining that I would 50 years later stay in the same building as a guest. The view of the historic Pike County Courthouse (erected in 1894) from the windows of the rooms is fantastic, especially at night! Rooms are decorated in a historic fashion, nice antique writing desks, tables, and period designed chairs and couches. Of course, there modern with wireless internet, tv, and microwaves and small refrigerators. You can come in set up shop and work just like your in the office and have a very nice place to stay when your in Pittsfield. It is an historic building, built in the 1800’s and shares the rich history of Pike County IL. Abe Lincoln and Stephen Douglass talked shop as they did their work at the courthouse, and while you consider that you can have a sandwich and a coffee in the coffee shop that’s part of the Watson Hotel experience. If you want to spend some time in Pittsfield, this is the place! Mark Dunham


Class Reunion

4.6 on September 02, 2015

Great place to stay in around the Quincy area. Historical setting and great place to relax and enjoy the time you are there. We have stayed three times this summer and would recommend this hotel to all. Friendly staff and the addition of the coffee bar makes it a fun hotel.


Very Cozy

4.6 on August 24, 2015

great accommodations. Will go back when I am back in town.


We want to go back very soon!

5 on April 10, 2015

This place is absolutely perfect! Couldn't be better in any way, planning on going back soon.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your awesome review!! We hope you will come see us soon!

- Jane Ann Petty (innkeeper)


Small town charm

4.4 on April 01, 2015

Such a wonderful hotel. The staff was very warm and welcome. The only downside was the bed was very hard. There is a coffee shop attached to the hotel. What a great way to start your morning

Innkeeper Response
We are glad you enjoyed the hotel!! Also, we are sorry about your bed being hard. Hope you will visit us again soon!!

- Jane Ann Petty (innkeeper)


a real jewel

5 on March 19, 2015

We loved our long weekend here! Nice rooms and great service!! We will be back!

Innkeeper Response
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for the kind review and look forward to seeing you again!

- Jane Ann Petty (innkeeper)


Weekend trip

5 on January 24, 2015

We loved this hotel! The owner was super friendly. Everything was clean. Breakfast was nice and served in the little coffee shop next door. The old building was beautiful and we loved the decor and all of the antiques. We will definitely stay here again.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review! I am so glad that you enjoyed our property and look forward to your return! -Jane Ann

- Jane Ann Petty (innkeeper)


Small town comfort

5 on January 13, 2015

Love this hotel. The rooms are nice, clean, and they offer a great view of the beautiful old courthouse in town. The owners and the staff are so nice and willing to help with any request. We were even treated to breakfast in the little coffee shop next door. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Pike County.

Innkeeper Response
We love that you love staying with us! We are willing to help with whatever we can... And yes! Breakfast is included at Free Press Coffee! See you next time!

- Jane Ann Petty (innkeeper)


A nice place to stay in Pittsfield!

3.0 on January 01, 2015

A nice place to stay for under $100!

Innkeeper Response
I am glad that you found our Inn acceptable. Should you make another reservation, please let us know how to make you stay great when you talk with our front desk.

- Jane Ann Petty (innkeeper)


Pleasant stay!

3.6 on December 27, 2014

It was a pleasant experience. Friendly service, clean rooms and towels, just didn't have quite enough hot water for two showers in the morning.

Innkeeper Response
I am glad that you have so many nice things to say about our Inn! The hot water... We have tankless water heater and this tip turned us on to the issue. Thank you! Plenty hot water for all now!

- Jane Ann Petty (innkeeper)


Cozy, warm and inviting - and a great value too

4.4 on October 20, 2014

I had to travel to Pittsfiled for Business and a colleage suggested that I stay here. It was a cinchto book online and when I arrived I was warmly welcomed. The hotel was spotless and had all the amenities offered by any big city hotel & at a comperable price! It's in a great location on the square overlooking the Pike County Courthouse. This place is rich with history. And there is also a quaint little coffee house connected to the hotel, the Free Press. Jane Ann and Jonas were great!

Innkeeper Response
We do have many guests stay for us with business and glad that you were referred here for your stay. All of your lovely comments are received with a very large THANK YOU! It is so nice to hear great things from great people such as yourself!

- Jane Ann Petty (innkeeper)


Enjoyed it

5 on October 02, 2014

We'll come back the next time we're in the area!

Innkeeper Response
We look forward to seeing you when you return!

- Jane Ann Petty (innkeeper)


Perfect place to stay!

4.8 on June 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the William Watson in June for 2 days. The owners were wonderful and had just opened a coffee shop next door. We had our breakfast there-which was great-and enjoyed it very much! The hotel itself is awesome, with brick walls, old doors used as headboards, handmade soap in the bathroom, etc. We would defininately stay again. Thanks Jonas & Jane Ann!

Innkeeper Response
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Free Press has only gotten better in the time that it has been open and we hope that you can visit again to enjoy the improvements. Thanks Again, Jane Ann

- Jane Ann Petty (innkeeper)


Fantastic!

4.6 on May 27, 2014

We stayed here for our anniversary and it was an absolute haven! It was cozy, CLEAN, comfy, and very private. We will be back!

Innkeeper Response
So glad that you enjoyed yourself. Can't wait to see you again.

- Jane Ann Petty (innkeeper)


Nice Place with a nostalgic decor

3.0 on May 21, 2014

OK sized rooms. Nice full length windows. The towels were pretty thin and there were only 2. Great exhaust fan. No hair dryer. The bed was on the almost "too firm" side and a little uncomfortable. Only one bedside table which made it inconvenient. Very limited drawer space and hanging space. No closet. The TV was way too small, about 19 inches and mounted on the wall. You could not see the channel numbers. The hotel had a big kitchen and office room. The entire hotel was full of interesting old antique decorations and furniture.

Innkeeper Response
We are thankful that you took the time to review our hotel and give us some thought on things to improve on. We have add hair dryers to each room. That is the one room that only has one bedside table, so we have added another. There is a rack to hang your clothes. I would suggest a suite for your next visit. There are larger televisions in those rooms...Thank you again, Jane Ann

- Jane Ann Petty (innkeeper)


Wonderful Weekend

5 on May 15, 2014

Stayed for a weekend and it was amazing. Grew up in the area and was back visiting. The hotel is very historic and beautiful on the inside. Continental breakfast and coffee all day. The rooms were unbelievable. Stayed in a 3rd floor suite and it felt like we had our own apartment overlooking the courthouse. Never stayed in a cleaner hotel before. Got to see some of the other rooms that weren't occupied. All of them are charming and unique. Very quiet and so easy to sleep in and relax. Restaurants (Italian, steak, seafood,) across the street and fast food and much more within a mile. The staff is by far the friendliest you will ever meet and the big chain hotels do not come close to comparing in value. Thank you for a great weekend. We will definitely be back. Trent

Innkeeper Response
I am so glad that you enjoyed your time back in Pike County. It is reassuring to hear that we offer the type of service that you rate so highly. We look forward to your next visit.

- Jane Ann Petty (innkeeper)


Hidden Gem!

4.2 on April 11, 2014

Highly recommend staying here. We will be back. Kept the historacle features and still brought in modern conveniences.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again!

- Jane Ann Petty (innkeeper)


Makes Me Want to Own a Hotel!

4.2 on January 12, 2014

I can't imagine a better place to stay in West-Central Illinois than the William Watson Hotel. It has such character and a sense of history - and the decor (courtesy of owner Jane Ann) is wonderful. If you're going to be in Pittsfield (or anywhere nearby), do yourself a favor and stay here. It's worth it.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your kind review! We love our historic hotel on the square.

- Jane Ann Petty (innkeeper)


Excellent bed and breakfast!

5 on January 10, 2014

We were very impressed with the William Watson Hotel. The room was spacious with a mini-kitchen and lots of character. Our room looked out onto the courthouse. The owner was friendly and helpful, including carrying my suitcase to our car. We have family in that area and will definitely stay there again.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

- Jane Ann Petty (innkeeper)


Great place!!!!!'

5 on December 14, 2013

Great place, we loved our stay!

Innkeeper Response
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay here!

- Jane Ann Petty (innkeeper)


Best hotel in Pittsfield!

4.2 on November 08, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel three times now and I love it. I will never stay anywhere else in the area, this place is my favorite. Although this hotel is often sold out depending on what events are happening in the area, he last time I stayed it was during a slow time and they upgraded me to a king size room. I love that each room is decorated differently and that unoccupied rooms are left open so you can see the decor in each one. One thing to know, there is no elevator since it's an old mansion, so just one flight of stairs up to rooms (not sure if there are any rooms on ground floor). There is a self serve kitchen with morning coffee, cereal, toast, etc. There is free internet in the rooms as well as an office with a computer and printer for guest use. I highly recommend this hotel!!

Innkeeper Response
Hooray that you love our hotel! We do too! Yes, when we have a slow night we often upgrade our guests, and I am glad that we were able to do that for you! We do have 2 rooms on the first floor and three on the floor. Your positive review is most appreciated. Thank you!

- Jane Ann Petty (innkeeper)


Highly recommend!

4.4 on November 01, 2013

This is a very cool little boutique hotel in an old mansion. Each room is decorated differently, which I love. This was my third stay at the hotel. The staff is always nice and on this occasion they upgraded me to a larger room. What a nice surprise! I love this place and will stay there again!

Innkeeper Response
Yes, our hotel was called "Mansion House" when William Watson opened in 1838. I am glad to know that you have stayed with us many times and appreciate the patronage! Looking forward to seeing you again!

- Jane Ann Petty (innkeeper)


5 Star William Watson Hotel!

4.4 on October 10, 2013

Beautiful hotel! The Petty's were very welcoming and gracious. They have done a beautiful job decorating and adding special touches to every area. We would highly recommend William Watson Hotel to anyone visiting the area. Our only negative comment would be that the mattress could be better.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for staying with us! The positive review is appreciated! On your next stay, please note to the front desk attendant your mattress preference. Thanks Again!

- Jonas Petty (Innkeeper)


William Watson Hotel

Details

  • Nightly Rate $85 - $125
  • Reviews (54) 4.5
  • Rooms 14
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2172856030

Visit Website »

View details

Top check