William Watson Hotel Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Onsite Dining3.7

Score Breakdown based on
40 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful Friendly owners Beautiful Place

4.8 on March 30, 2017

Was in town with My Wife and Kids saw nothing but Smiles from restaurant waitresses and owners and everyone else we came into contact with. Beautiful town and wonderful people. Craig & Lora Schererville Indiana .


Fun, Eclectic Place on the Square

3.8 on March 22, 2017

Spent one night here on our way to Hannibal, MO. Was a nice change from chain hotels. We stayed in the Lincoln Room. It was a nice size, and the bed was comfy. I rated onsite dining as unsatisfactory because there is really no onsite dining to speak of. However, there are dining options very nearby on the town square.


Leisurely Stay

4.2 on March 04, 2017

Stayed here the night before we went to the Mississippi River to see the bald eagles. Staff was helpful and let us know how to enter the building when we knew we'd be arriving late. Large room with a lovely view of the courthouse. Very quiet and unique hotel--brick walls on the inside of our room. Excellent coffee shop right next door!


Wonderful Business Stay!

4.6 on December 09, 2016

I come to central IL regularly for business reasons. I normally stay at the location that suites my expense budget as recommended by the online booking sites. The William Watson Hotel is such a breath of fresh air, compared to any other place I have stayed. Remodeled and decorated to perfection. Very comfortable with a great coffee shop next to the lobby. Easy walk across the street to good dining. I stayed three nights and was able to get plenty of work completed in the spacious room. It was an excellent choice as a central location for my area business stops. Very pleasantly surprised and will continue to book this location in the future.


In town for a wedding!

4.0 on November 01, 2016

We were in town for a wedding and it was suggested that we stay here! I'm glad we did! This place was historic, but in fantastic shape. The service we received was phenomenal! If we are ever in the area again, I will remember this place.


Overnight stay

4.4 on September 09, 2016

Found the hotel online and booked it. Arrived late at night and was met by owner who showed us the room and gave us the key. We were pleasantly surprised by the room. Spacious, clean and new looking. Staff was very outgoing and helpful. The only bad thing for me was no elevator. Would definitely stay again!


Great place.

3.4 on August 22, 2016

Great place to base out of for trips to Pittsfield. Cool historic hotel on the square. Cafe next door had great breakfast and coffees, etc. Walk to a couple of good dinner places. I will stay there again when I return.


Perfect stay for family reunion weekend

5 on July 30, 2016

The Watson Hotel was a great place to stay with family members. There are great areas for visiting - the kitchen, the living room, and outdoors. Having the Free Press Coffee Shop right next door was very convenient for great coffee and amazing breakfast and lunch selections. The staff is amazing and helpful. One member helpfully printed out my airline boarding pass. They have great recommendations for dining choices. Our family enjoyed this historic hotel!


Wonderful William Watson

4.8 on June 25, 2016

I have stayed at the William Watson several times when I visit family in the area. The historic hotel is on a beautiful square with one of the most interesting 19th C. Courthouses in the country. The owners are so helpful and easy to work with. Rooms are immaculate, a couple of good restaurants within 1/2 block, plus they have their own coffee shop next to the hotel lobby. I love staying there it is a real surprise for such a small town. KH, from Kansas City.


Cute as a button! Clean & friendly.

4.8 on May 31, 2016

We stayed at the William Watson Hotel while in town to ride ATV's at the Hearland Lodge in Nebo about 20 min away. Everything was perfect and we can't wait to come back. Cute rooms, very clean, so much character and charm! We didn't get a chance to try the coffee shop that is attached, but it smelled great and was also very cute.


Debbie & Norm's Stay

2.8 on May 26, 2016

While the room was nice, we didn't have an exterior window. The bathroom was large and the good water pressure for the shower. We will be back.


Historic, Chic, Clean and very comfortable.

5 on April 26, 2016

The staff at the William Watson Hotel were very friendly and caring. Enjoyed the weekend with them. Look forward to the next visit. Great coffee shop next door.


Terrific!

5 on March 28, 2016

Lovely, clean and quiet. Nice amenities and simple yet elegant touches throughout.


A Quiet Evening at the William Watson Hotel

4.0 on January 14, 2016

We found the hotel to be a quiet retreat. The room however was cold due to a malfunctioning room heater and the bed was too soft. We stayed in Room 206. Would consider another stay at the hotel with those issues not reoccurring. The staff was courteous and helpful.


Getaway

4.6 on November 20, 2015

We really enjoyed are stay. Accommodations were everything I would have expected them to be. Was directed to several eating establishments which were excellent. Would highly recommend this to anyone. We did not eat the breakfast but looked to be very good.


Neat place to stay

4.6 on November 08, 2015

Need a "N/A" response for onsite dining because we didn't eat there. Since we were happy with everything else, we gave them a good rating. . .based on nothing, I guess.


Our 1st Stay

4.4 on October 27, 2015

Our first stay in this hotel it was great we had the whole floor to ourselves in the actual hotel only had 4 people !


A Room With a View

3.6 on September 20, 2015

The William Watson Hotel is my first choice for lodging when I travel to Pittsfield, IL. It’s historic for both me personally and for the community it serves! My grandmother worked here when it was “The Parkway” in the 1960’s and at the same time I had a great aunt whom took a room or small apartment at the Parkway. I remember as a kid being there never imagining that I would 50 years later stay in the same building as a guest. The view of the historic Pike County Courthouse (erected in 1894) from the windows of the rooms is fantastic, especially at night! Rooms are decorated in a historic fashion, nice antique writing desks, tables, and period designed chairs and couches. Of course, there modern with wireless internet, tv, and microwaves and small refrigerators. You can come in set up shop and work just like your in the office and have a very nice place to stay when your in Pittsfield. It is an historic building, built in the 1800’s and shares the rich history of Pike County IL. Abe Lincoln and Stephen Douglass talked shop as they did their work at the courthouse, and while you consider that you can have a sandwich and a coffee in the coffee shop that’s part of the Watson Hotel experience. If you want to spend some time in Pittsfield, this is the place! Mark Dunham


Class Reunion

4.6 on September 02, 2015

Great place to stay in around the Quincy area. Historical setting and great place to relax and enjoy the time you are there. We have stayed three times this summer and would recommend this hotel to all. Friendly staff and the addition of the coffee bar makes it a fun hotel.


Very Cozy

4.6 on August 24, 2015

great accommodations. Will go back when I am back in town.


We want to go back very soon!

5 on April 10, 2015

This place is absolutely perfect! Couldn't be better in any way, planning on going back soon.


Small town charm

4.4 on April 01, 2015

Such a wonderful hotel. The staff was very warm and welcome. The only downside was the bed was very hard. There is a coffee shop attached to the hotel. What a great way to start your morning


a real jewel

5 on March 19, 2015

We loved our long weekend here! Nice rooms and great service!! We will be back!


Weekend trip

5 on January 24, 2015

We loved this hotel! The owner was super friendly. Everything was clean. Breakfast was nice and served in the little coffee shop next door. The old building was beautiful and we loved the decor and all of the antiques. We will definitely stay here again.


Small town comfort

5 on January 13, 2015

Love this hotel. The rooms are nice, clean, and they offer a great view of the beautiful old courthouse in town. The owners and the staff are so nice and willing to help with any request. We were even treated to breakfast in the little coffee shop next door. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Pike County.


A nice place to stay in Pittsfield!

3.0 on January 01, 2015

A nice place to stay for under $100!


Pleasant stay!

3.6 on December 27, 2014

It was a pleasant experience. Friendly service, clean rooms and towels, just didn't have quite enough hot water for two showers in the morning.


Cozy, warm and inviting - and a great value too

4.4 on October 20, 2014

I had to travel to Pittsfiled for Business and a colleage suggested that I stay here. It was a cinchto book online and when I arrived I was warmly welcomed. The hotel was spotless and had all the amenities offered by any big city hotel & at a comperable price! It's in a great location on the square overlooking the Pike County Courthouse. This place is rich with history. And there is also a quaint little coffee house connected to the hotel, the Free Press. Jane Ann and Jonas were great!


Enjoyed it

5 on October 02, 2014

We'll come back the next time we're in the area!


Perfect place to stay!

4.8 on June 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the William Watson in June for 2 days. The owners were wonderful and had just opened a coffee shop next door. We had our breakfast there-which was great-and enjoyed it very much! The hotel itself is awesome, with brick walls, old doors used as headboards, handmade soap in the bathroom, etc. We would defininately stay again. Thanks Jonas & Jane Ann!


Fantastic!

4.6 on May 27, 2014

We stayed here for our anniversary and it was an absolute haven! It was cozy, CLEAN, comfy, and very private. We will be back!


Nice Place with a nostalgic decor

3.0 on May 21, 2014

OK sized rooms. Nice full length windows. The towels were pretty thin and there were only 2. Great exhaust fan. No hair dryer. The bed was on the almost "too firm" side and a little uncomfortable. Only one bedside table which made it inconvenient. Very limited drawer space and hanging space. No closet. The TV was way too small, about 19 inches and mounted on the wall. You could not see the channel numbers. The hotel had a big kitchen and office room. The entire hotel was full of interesting old antique decorations and furniture.


Wonderful Weekend

5 on May 15, 2014

Stayed for a weekend and it was amazing. Grew up in the area and was back visiting. The hotel is very historic and beautiful on the inside. Continental breakfast and coffee all day. The rooms were unbelievable. Stayed in a 3rd floor suite and it felt like we had our own apartment overlooking the courthouse. Never stayed in a cleaner hotel before. Got to see some of the other rooms that weren't occupied. All of them are charming and unique. Very quiet and so easy to sleep in and relax. Restaurants (Italian, steak, seafood,) across the street and fast food and much more within a mile. The staff is by far the friendliest you will ever meet and the big chain hotels do not come close to comparing in value. Thank you for a great weekend. We will definitely be back. Trent


Hidden Gem!

4.2 on April 11, 2014

Highly recommend staying here. We will be back. Kept the historacle features and still brought in modern conveniences.


Makes Me Want to Own a Hotel!

4.2 on January 12, 2014

I can't imagine a better place to stay in West-Central Illinois than the William Watson Hotel. It has such character and a sense of history - and the decor (courtesy of owner Jane Ann) is wonderful. If you're going to be in Pittsfield (or anywhere nearby), do yourself a favor and stay here. It's worth it.


Excellent bed and breakfast!

5 on January 10, 2014

We were very impressed with the William Watson Hotel. The room was spacious with a mini-kitchen and lots of character. Our room looked out onto the courthouse. The owner was friendly and helpful, including carrying my suitcase to our car. We have family in that area and will definitely stay there again.


Great place!!!!!'

5 on December 14, 2013

Great place, we loved our stay!


Best hotel in Pittsfield!

4.2 on November 08, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel three times now and I love it. I will never stay anywhere else in the area, this place is my favorite. Although this hotel is often sold out depending on what events are happening in the area, he last time I stayed it was during a slow time and they upgraded me to a king size room. I love that each room is decorated differently and that unoccupied rooms are left open so you can see the decor in each one. One thing to know, there is no elevator since it's an old mansion, so just one flight of stairs up to rooms (not sure if there are any rooms on ground floor). There is a self serve kitchen with morning coffee, cereal, toast, etc. There is free internet in the rooms as well as an office with a computer and printer for guest use. I highly recommend this hotel!!


Highly recommend!

4.4 on November 01, 2013

This is a very cool little boutique hotel in an old mansion. Each room is decorated differently, which I love. This was my third stay at the hotel. The staff is always nice and on this occasion they upgraded me to a larger room. What a nice surprise! I love this place and will stay there again!


5 Star William Watson Hotel!

4.4 on October 10, 2013

Beautiful hotel! The Petty's were very welcoming and gracious. They have done a beautiful job decorating and adding special touches to every area. We would highly recommend William Watson Hotel to anyone visiting the area. Our only negative comment would be that the mattress could be better.


William Watson Hotel

Details

  • Nightly Rate $70 - $120
  • Reviews (40) 4.4
  • Rooms 14
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2172856030

Visit Website »

View details

Top