Maple Leaf Cottage Inn Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
16 Reviews

Write A Review

Elsah say

4.2 on August 30, 2016

This is a wonderful B&B located close to Alton and Grafton. Elsah is a very cute village and the Maple House Cottage in fits right in. Deb was a wonderful hostess and made us feel at home. We would definitely stay here again when in the area.

It felt like we stayed in Pleasantville.

5 on August 11, 2016

Take a trip back in time to the historical village of Elsah. I didn't have any idea that this place even existed. Not far from the river road, is a beautiful, quaint village where the Maple Leaf Cottage Inn resides. As you travel the peaceful roads lined with cobblestone homes, you immediately get caught up in the whimsy of the area. We were fortunate enough to stay in the "Buggy House". Deborah, who happens to probably be one of the kindest people I have ever met, gave us a full tour of our dwelling where buggies were once made and repaired. The once buggy house now serves as a quiet retreat with a babbling brook in the backyard. We traveled into Grafton to have dinner at the Grafton Oyster Bar (phenomenal) and returned to freshly picked flowers by the doorstep and enjoyed the most delicious marbled cake. There is a small general store in town with limited hours. They serve bottled sodas and featured many unique findings, including village souveniers. Deborah offered multiple times to get anything from the store that we needed. However, she thought of everything before we even arrived and we did not need a thing. The next morning, we drank freshly brewed coffee on our porch swing as we marveled at the well kept and overwhelming flower beds that surrounded the home. Later that morning, we were served the most amazing banana nut bread topped with cranberries and walnuts; a freshly chopped fruit salad (no out of the can fruit salad here!); sausage and bacon, and a variety of juices. We left knowing that we would make plans to come back again. I highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast. We comfortably fit three couples in the Buggy House.

Awesome weekend experience at Maple Leaf Cottage !!!!!

5 on August 02, 2016

Our first time at a B&B, 3 day weekend. Deborah was super helpful in helping with scheduling. Our room was the Maples. The room was pretty, quiet, clean, and relaxing. Breakfasts exceeded expectations, something new every morning. Night-time gathering at the fire-pit with wine/dessert was really nice. A friendly and fantastic weekend. We will be back. Cheers to Deborah and Tim !!!!!

Hostess helpful

3.2 on July 05, 2016

A pretty, QUIET, and relaxing place to stay. Explore the tiny village by bike or walking. Deborah was very helpful in telling us things to do in the area.

This is a wonderful place!

5 on June 22, 2016

The owners have created an incredibly hospitable and comfortable place to stay. They are friendly and take great care of their guests. Breakfasts were well-prepared and service was awesome. We will stay again in the future. I highly recommend the Maple Leaf Cottage Inn! Sean


5 on June 12, 2016

We enjoyed our girlfriend get away in the lovely town of Elsah. Deborah was a wonderful hostess and I look forward to another visit.

20 Anniversary, 3rd stay.

5 on May 30, 2016

Highly recommended, relaxing stay. Great to come back to after sight seeing the area.

A place out of time

5 on April 24, 2016

The village of Elsah, Illinois is beautiful, quiet and accessible to the Mississippi River and a stone's throw from St. Louis. The Inn is lovely, the owners displaying the arms open hospitality you'd expect in the Deep South. The food excellent and ample and filled me up for the whole day. I even brought an incredible French toast recipe home with me. I will go back again.

Delightful stay!

5 on April 10, 2016

We have stayed in over 60 Bed and Breakfasts over the past 30 years, primarily in the Midwest. This is definitely in my top 3 favorites. I have stayed here 3 different times over the years. Deborah is absolutely gracious, accommodating, enthusiastic and welcoming as a newer hostess. The room was inviting, the welcome warm and genuine and the food delicious, including an evening snack and beautiful breakfast! If you desire an idyllic setting, peaceful surroundings, comfortable accommodations, visit Maple Leaf Cottage. You will make good memories, leave refreshed and look forward to returning.

An Unexpected Pleasure

4.6 on March 17, 2016

I was looking for a B&B near St. Louis (had an early flight) and found the Maple Leaf Cottage Inn. It is a great place - the rooms are great, the house too. Deborah is a great innkeeper. She got a fire going outside int he fire-pit and I spent a lovely evening meeting new friends and sipping a bit of wine. The room was very comfortable and clean, and the breakfast was wonderful. I will stay again.

Fantastic Stay

5 on March 03, 2016

Our stay couldn't have been better. We stayed in the Wash House and found the accommodation to be just what you are looking for in a B&B off the beaten track running along the Mississippi River. I found it astonishing the amount of effort the owners placed in to getting even the smallest details right. The owners are incredibly welcoming and friendly and the breakfast was amazing.

Delightful B&B in historic Elsah

5 on February 08, 2016

My sister, daughter, and I happened across Maple Leaf Cottage Inn back a couple of years ago, when it was up for sale. We're delighted to see what the new owners have done with it. It's just as warm and charming as Elsah is. My daughter, an aspiring artist, found lots to sketch in this quaint community and on the grounds of this delightful B&B. I found the room to be very comfortable, the evening snack and breakfast delicious, and Deborah, our hostess very friendly and accommodating. We look forward to visiting again.

"Step Back In Time"

5 on October 27, 2015

We took a road trip on the Mississippi River road and this was the most charming - old fashioned B&B ever. Cannot say enuf about all the special touches from fire pit, surprise late nights dessert, to charming host. You felt you had known all your life. Will always remember Deb 7 Tim w/fond memories of their homey B&B & Immaculate!

Awesome B & B !

5 on September 06, 2015

Excellent service! Beds were incredible. Food was delicious and plentiful. We will be back !!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your feedback! It was a pleasure to have you and we hope you come back soon!


5 on August 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed on our first anniversary, and again on our 5th. We're planning our 3rd trip for our nineth anniversary in October. I can't say how much I loved it here!! The little town of Elsah is very quaint and beautiful. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. We enjoyed sitting out on the chairs in front of our room taking in all the beautiful leaves of the season. Breakfast was wonderful, and I felt we were treated very special each morning! Thank you Jerold for your great Bed and Breakfast!!

what a wonderful step back in time!!!

5 on March 28, 2010

what a wonderfully quaint place to stay...every cottage has it's own bath and is decorated perfectly!! Jerry made a delicious breakfast of pears,french toast, bacon, cooked apples, juice,coffee and tea.... the town is small enough for you to walk around and look at all the historic buildings and is close enough to Alton to spend the day looking thru all the antique must give Maple Leat Cottage Inn a try!! :O)

Maple Leaf Cottage Inn


  • Nightly Rate $119 - $149
  • Reviews (16) 4.8
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6183741684

Visit Website »

View details