BEALL MANSION An Elegant Bed and Breakfast Inn Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Onsite Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
114 Reviews

Write A Review

Perfect Getaway!

5 on May 02, 2016

The Beall Mansion was the perfect place for my husband and and I to celebrate our anniversary! Victorian elegance and charm flowed throughout, from the architecture and decor to the food and service. Breakfast was stunning and delicious! I highly recommend the Beall Mansion!

Elegant and delicious with stimulating conversation

4.6 on March 01, 2016

We stayed with our friends for their 15 year anniversary and were pleasantly surprised by the ornate details of this beautiful establishment. Jim, the owner took us around and gave us a comprehensive background of the building and answered all of our questions with concise and educated responses. The breakfast was outstanding not to mention the fabulous vintage of champagne at check in. Also the chocolate bar was a nice touch. If you stay I strongly recommend the gourmet package. Highly recommended !

Beautiful, Romantic B&B

4.2 on January 25, 2016

Beautiful Bed and Breakfast, Outstanding service.

Awsome sauce

4.8 on September 28, 2015

Booked the room for a birthday celebration, girlfriend was thrilled with the atmosphere, the 18th century stylish decor, the ambience of the rooms, and of course the endless chocolate bar. I must insist on the breakfast in bed option it was phenomenal. The presentation of the meal, the flavor and pairing of the dishes accentuate each other for an exciting and relaxing meal to start the day. I have looked many times for something similar but everything I come across just doesn't come close to the Beall mansion. Will be booking again in the near future, wanting to add the spa packages and visit more of the local eateries and attractions. Jim and Sandy keep doing what your doing it's working.

Beautiful and relaxing!

5 on June 07, 2015

Very friendly. Very clean. Very nice! We loved the whirlpool tub and breakfast in bed. We will be back again :)

From Naples, Florida to Alton, IL

4.8 on April 21, 2015

My husband and I were given the name of this beautiful bed and breakfast from our daughter in law. We were more than delighted when we entered the magnificent home. It is exquisitely appointed, our room was absolutely stunning and the host and hostess went out of their way to make our stay a wonderful memory. I would recommend the gourmet breakfast, it is fabulous!

An Evening Away

5 on April 19, 2015

Jim and Sandy were such wonderful hosts for our night away from home. My boyfriend's schedule and mine are both very hectic, and we usually don't have much time to get away or relax. We were greeted by Jim upon arriving, and it was clear his goal was to make sure our stay was as accommodating as possible. We stayed in the master suite, which was great, and breakfast in bed the next morning was delicious! We look forward to coming back in the future.

Great Weekend Getaway

5 on April 07, 2015

My wife and I searched for a weekend getaway and were thrilled with the ambiance of Beall Mansion. Jim welcoming us in his tuxedo set the tone for the whole visit. The room was warm and inviting and breakfast was spectacular. While the Mansion was perfect we so enjoyed walking the neighborhood and parks taking in the variety of architecture. We also took most of a day to drive along the rivers to visit Pere Marquette park and a series of museums.

Excellent B&B, Highly Recommend you stay there

5 on March 30, 2015

Such a beautiful property. Loved the mansion and the surrounding grounds. Room are excellent and the service they give you is second to none. Jim and Sandy do everything to make you feel right and home. They also provided information about the Alton area to make our stay even more special. I cannot say enough about how they go out of their way to make sure your stay is nothing short of spectacular. I would highly recommend you try Beall Mansion. You will not regret it !!!!!

Top Notch

4.8 on March 24, 2015

First class service all the way. From your first drive up to the house to the delicious breakfast the following morning, you get the impression that the owners are well schooled in culinary arts and 5 star service. We will be back.

Awesome experience

5 on February 17, 2015

My husband and I were looking for a special B&B to celebrate my birthday. This stay at the Beall mansion was beyond our expectations. We stay at B&B often and this is by far the best! We felt welcomed and the room was perfectly decorated,clean, had a fireplace and amazing bathroom. We had a wonderful gourmet breakfast in bed and a couple message in our room. We will be back!

Never To Be Forgotten

5 on January 21, 2015

My boyfriend and I spent a weekend at the Beall Mansion Bed and Breakfast in Alton Il. The innkeepers Jim and Sandy were very hospitable and kind to us during our stay. They made us feel as if we were royalty that weekend. The room was beautiful and it took me right back to the early turn of the twentieth century!! The whirlpool tub was probably one of our favorite features of the room. Breakfast was served hot to us in bed on sunday morning making us feel even more special and more like royalty. We did a little eagle watching, took in a play, and spent an afternoon in grafton shopping and dining....all in all it was a weekend to never be forgotten!1 I know my boyfriend and I will come back to celebrate another anniversary soon!!! Jim and Sandy thank you for making us feel like royalty!!

Excellent getaway from St. Louis!

4.4 on January 13, 2015

My wife and I were looking for a way to escape the hustle and bustle of St. Louis to celebrate our wedding anniversary when we happened upon the Beall Mansion. It was superb!!! Our only regret was that our schedules limited our first stay to only one night! Jim was a fantastic host. We felt transported back to a different time where we could truly enjoy time together away from the distractions of modern life. From the 24 hour chocolate bar to the night cap in the sitting room before retiring for the night to the excellent gourmet breakfast, we were consistently surprised and impressed by the entire experience. We are already planning our next trip back to the Beall Mansion, but next time we'll be sure to stay longer.

A perfect weekend to start the holidays!

5 on December 22, 2014

John and Sandy are the perfect hosts. Attention is made to even the smallest detail. Always available and smiling but never intrusive. Enjoyed a beautiful weekend in Alton--hiking Pierre Marquette in the chill early winter air, shopping and drinking wine in Grafton and wonderful dining in Alton. The Bealle breakfast upgrade was well worth it. Did one morning in the dining room and 1 in bed. Both fantastic! Can't wait to go back.

Amazing place for a mini-moon!

5 on November 11, 2014

My groom and I live in St Louis, but couldn't go on a honeymoon right after or wedding so we decided to stay a night at the Beall Mansion. The amenities with our pampered getaway package were perfect! Whirlpool, gas fireplace,a delicious breakfast in bed and the service was outstanding. The three layer feather bed made it a great nights rest. We look forward to visiting Jim and Sandy again!

Truly Wonderful!

5 on November 03, 2014

Jim and Sandy are absolutely wonderful! The bed was luxurious. The food was amazing!

R and R

5 on October 26, 2014

It was a great get away at a beautiful place. Close to St Louis to enjoy the Fox Theater too!

Pampered getaway

5 on October 07, 2014

The Beall mansion was a step back in time. We were greeted upon arrival with champagne and chocolates!! We had a wonderful suite, with a whirlpool tub in the bath. There was a carafe of water and full ice bucket in our room waiting for us. The refrigerator on the first floor was stocked with soda for our convenience. We were served a wonderful gourmet breakfast by Jim in his tuxedo. Great stay, great value!!

romantic getaway

5 on September 29, 2014

We arrived at the beall mansion to be greeted at the door by Jim, who I might add was dressed in a tuxedo. He was getting the guest before us escorted to there room and he had us sign the book while we waited in the parlor. He came back an escorted us to this beautiful room and explained the furnishing of the room and made sure we had everything before he left. I was a relaxing and wonderful stay. We had a fantastic gourmet 4 course breakfast the next morning.

The Beall Mansion in Alton, Illinois

5 on August 20, 2014

A beautiful home with great hosts, history and personal touches.

Wonderful retreat

5 on June 20, 2014

I just returned from this B&B. I absolutely loved it. Accommodations were over-the-top.....feather bed so comfortable it was difficult to pull myself out of bed in the mornings. The room was so quiet and comfortable I found myself staying in every evening. The innkeepers were very attentive and personable. Enjoyed myself so much I can't wait to return. You won't be disappointed with your stay here!

Fun, Elegant, Pampered

4.6 on June 03, 2014

We wanted a retreat and fun day with our son and daughter-n-law and decided to go to Grafton. First, we started out at Cahokia Mounds, then to Fast Eddies, checked into our beautiful Bed and Breakfast and was welcomed so wonderfully by Jim. Then, we ziplined in Grafton, had dinner at Aries Winery then back to the Bed and Breakfast to enjoy our glass of Brandy, coffee/tea and chocolates before soaking in the Jacuzzi tub. Breakfast in bed was quite a treat and delicious. Jim and Sandy were perfect hosts. We especially enjoyed Jim's stories and history. The place is very peaceful and definitely elegant. I enjoyed sitting in the rooms and thinking about all the history. The neighborhood has many interesting homes and we took a stroll down the street. We loved Jim and Sandy's Elegant Bed and Breakfast!!!

Our Illinois stop on way to Derby

5 on April 28, 2014

We could not have been more pleased with our choice of accommodation! Spent three nights in this warm and inviting home. Jim and Sandy were perfect hosts and the service and rooms were exceptional. We intended to visit St Louis and use the mansion as our base but enjoyed Alton, Grafton and the mansion so much that we only made it to St. Louis for 4 hours. I would highly recommend the Beall Mansion to one and all. We will be back.

St. Louis weekend

4.4 on March 17, 2014

During our recent visit to the St.Louis area we had the pleasure of staying at the Beall Mansion for two evenings. We were warmly greeted by Jim upon arrival with a tour and a brief history. The rooms were most elegant and spotlessly clean. The Sunday morning gourmet brunch was beyond any expectation with Jim not only serving, but providing additional detailed history of the mansion and surrounding area. Many thanks for a most enjoyable stay and sincere thanks to Jim, Sandy & Jean the 5 star service we received DCP & KV

The Beall Mansion exceeded our expectations again!

5 on March 01, 2014

The Beall Mansion exceeded our expectations again! This was our second time of staying and we had a good experience and did last time also. Upon arrival we were greeted by Jim who made us feel at home, we were given champaign, and he carried our bags to our room. The whole house has been restored and is very clean. The beds are so soft and cozy best night's sleep we have had in a while. Breakfast in bed was delicious and would highly recommend the upgrade. It was a great getaway that was close to home. We will for sure be back to stay again!

Chocolate Valentines Day

5 on February 15, 2014

Wow!! We choose to spend Valentines day at the Beal and we were impressed!! Chocolate bar, beverages and the breakfast was perfect!! Everything was taking care of. Room with rose pedals, champagne we had it all to include bedtime brandy ;) Jim and Sandy were awesome and very accommodating and full of history. We will be back!!

Beautiful and comfortable bed & breakfast

5 on August 25, 2013

My husband and I spent an evening at the Beall Mansion in Alton, IL. The home was beautiful and comfortable. We were welcomed with champaigne and then given a tour of the main floor of the home. We were then escorted to our room. Our room was spacious with a comfortable queen size bed. We had a separate bathroom with a whirpool tub. A continental breakfast was included in the stay, but we chose to have the option of breakfast in the dining room. It was several delicious courses served on fine china. Sandy and Jean were so kind and gracious. They both made us feel at home. We also enjoyed the area and plan on going back to visit.


5 on August 03, 2013

Beautiful and romantic. Service was amazing and the gourmet breakfast in bed was well worth it!!

Beall Elegance on a rainy weekend

5 on April 29, 2013

We had a belated Valentines stay and were so pleasantly surprised with how nice it was at the Beall Mansion. Jim greeted us and made us welcome, and then we got to enjoy a late afternoon in the organ room together playing music and telling stories. The area restaurants were very good and then - most importantly - our room in the Senator Beall Suite did not disappoint! Every little detail was carefully attended to, and from the music, to the lights and the chandelier and the wondrous Jacuzzi, we were extremely pleased. Thanks!

A lovely anniversary

4.6 on April 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Room was large and comfortable...bath was quite nice. Bed was exceptional. Service was very friendly. Very quiet spot, great for getting away from work and the city. Breakfast was excellent - had purchased the 'Getaway Pkg' so we were served breakfast in bed. Would definitely go back.

Great Bed and Breakfast!

5 on March 09, 2013

We stayed at the Beall mansion February 2013. The grounds and the house is BEAUTIFUL! The atmosphere is warm and welcoming. We stayed in the least expensive room, but it was still EXTREMELY nice, warm, and cozy. The all you can eat chocolate bar is wonderful. There is a nice variety of chocolates and other sweets readily available at all hours! We also enjoyed hot beverages any time we wanted. We chose to have the continental breakfast, and it was delicious. There was a good variety of choices including homemade granola! Yumm! Jim and Sandy are wonderful hosts. We could not have asked for a better stay!

Beall Mansion a Very Pleasant Stay

5 on February 23, 2013

We stayed at the Beall Mansion Feb. 22-23, 2013. When we first arrived we were greeted by Jim in full butlers attire. Jim is very friendly and gave us a tour and history of the Mansion. Jim and Sandy have done a very good job of restoring the Mansion to it's glory. It is decorated in early 1900's period furnishings. This brings out the splendor of the mansion and its beauty. Each rooms wood trim type is different as the original owner Mr. Beall owned a lumber company. This is unusual and beautiful to see. Any room to stay in would be good, none better than the other. The mansion is centrally located in Alton and close to many attractions. Jim was extremely helpful in our decision of resturants. He is also very knowledgable about Alton and the surrounding area. We will visit again as the service is personalized and he saw to all our needs. I recommend the Beall Mansion to anyone.

Very Nice Valentines Gift for My Wife

4.6 on February 18, 2013

My wife and I ordered the spa getaway and have a very nice stay. It was extremely relaxing. The mansion is fabulous and is decorated beautifully. We will visit again.

Reiview of Beall Mansion JAN 2013

5 on January 07, 2013

Rebecca and Brian. The staff were very profesional and friendly. Historic building, with great decor.

Romantic, Elegant Comfortable

4.8 on November 23, 2012

The accommodations are beautiful and comfortable. Jim and Sandy are extremely knowledgeable of the history of the house. They accommodate all your needs. The champagne was a treat! I feather bed was so comfortable...words cannot describe. This is truly an experience you should not miss. We stayed in the Veranda room..,,,,now I want to stay in each of the rooms.

Great place to stay

5 on October 28, 2012

The Beall Mansion was a great bed and breakfast. Jim showed us around and explained everything. We also booked the breakfast in bed which was AMAZING!

Beall Mansion AMAZING!

5 on October 25, 2012

We just enjoyed a short getaway at the Beall Mansion. It was so peaceful and the perfect place to relax. The hospitality, dining, and cleanliness were wonderful. I have nothing negative to say! I recommend to all!

Peaceful and Elegant

5 on October 23, 2012

Everything was wonderful and breakfast GREAT. We had a fantastic time and we enjoyed every minute of it. Jim and Sandy were great host and showed us the best hospitality.

The Four Season's of B&B's

4.8 on October 16, 2012

I have stayed at several B&B's this is one of the nicest i have seen. The owners could not have been better host. The service could not have been better. It is as good as a 5 star hotel. We will stay at this B&B aagin Mike and Caroly Densmore Mike And Carolyn Densmore

Wedding present

5 on September 10, 2012

The Beall Mansion gift certificate was a wonderful experience. We loved the hospitality, cleanliness, breakfast in bed and the beauty of the Mansion. Jean did a wonderful job taking care of us, and we very much enjoyed hearing about the history from Jim. All in all, a delightful experience.


5 on August 27, 2012

I enjoyed every minute. The Belotes are some of the kindest people you would ever want to meet. They were very accomodating and you get the sense that they truly have a love for people. The bed was very comfortable. The room was nicely furnished. I had some studying to do while there and the room was perfect for doing that. I enjoyed the chocolate buffet. It was also interesting to just walk around looking at the furnishing and imagining what it would have been like living there before my time. It was an excellent experience

A Luxurious Getaway

5 on June 23, 2012

My husband and I recently picked the Beall Mansion for a 2-day getaway. We enjoyed the beautifully appointed antique-filled rooms and the delicious gourmet breakfast. Another highlight was the unlimited chocolate bar! The peaceful atmosphere was relaxing and refreshing. A great place to be pampered. We would certainly recommend it!

A Romantic, Relaxing Getaway

5 on May 13, 2012

I had booked a romantic getaway for myself and my wife. We were overwhelmed with the elegance of this beautifully restored historical mansion. We were treated like royalty form the moment we arrived and enjoyed a glass of champagne as we were given a tour. The decor is beautiful and the room was exactly as I had booked online. It is quiet, relaxing and Jim, Sandy and the staff catered to our every need with unsurpassed hospitality. If your looking for a relaxing, quiet getaway full of history and nostalgia then this is the place. We will definitely be coming back as soon as possible!

Wonderful Anniversary Experience

5 on April 28, 2012

We weren't sure what to expect as this was our first B&B. From the time we arrived we felt at home, and was pleasantly surprised at the length they went to to make our stay special. Jim was fantastic. We stayed in the Sen. Beall room and everything was perfect. Could not recommend more highly.

Beautiful and Relaxing

5 on February 01, 2012

We stayed at the Beall to celebrate our wedding anniversary and "get away" for a couple of days. The experience was delightful on every level.

Beyond Excellent!

5 on January 03, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Beall Mansion for our 18th wedding anniversary. While it was only my second time staying at a B&B, I could not have hoped for more. The mansion was beautiful, full of history and intrigue, and the amount of small ammenities far exceeded our expectations. Complimentary brandy in the music room, a 24 hour chocolate buffet, tea/coffee bar, complimentary drinks from the stocked fridge, lavender bath salts, robes, slippers, books, games, whirlpool tub, and era furniture and decor all made our stay comfortable and inviting; but the best part was breakfast in bed, served on platters, after having our pillows fluffed. And the food was excellent! We will definitely be back!

A Fairy Tale

4.8 on December 28, 2011

The staff was welcoming and helpful. Not only did they provide us with excellent service but they also gave us a history of the mansion. The room was amazing and breakfast in bed was incredible.

Fantastic special touches

4.2 on October 31, 2011

Wonderful service,breakfast was fantastic..we had ours in bed.Which literally was placed on us while we stayed in bed!..fluff the pillows behind us to make sure were comfortable and then placed the breakfast trays on our laps..wonderful food,beautiful period pieces throughout the house.Nice staff...chocolate bar was a nice touch,as well as a brandy nightcap in the library.

Absolutely beautiful & restful experience!

5 on October 28, 2011

The house was gorgous. The room was wonderful, warm, soft music filled the air. The room was very private, quiet from other guests. Sleeping was a great experience as well. The breakfast - mouth watering. No bads. All good, great, superb. The owners were very friendly. Very informative about the house's history. Very down to earth people. Loved everything about the whole weekend at the Beall Mansion.

Anniversary getaway

5 on October 26, 2011

This bed and breakfast is first rate. You host Jim and Sandy are the best. You come away feeling like royalty.

OH MY GOODNESS ~ Yes!!!!!! you won't be sorry!!!!

5 on October 24, 2011

We booked our night stay without recommendation. We were looking for someplace special, someplace memorable..... no place could have been more perfect than Beall Mansion. What a blessing and wonderful surprise!!!! We look forward to a return trip!!!

The best!!

5 on October 13, 2011


Beall Mansion Review from Tom Garofalo and Susan Coaty

5 on September 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Beall Mansion, in Alton, Illinois for 4 days and three nights. This Bed and Breakfast is a great place to hang one's hat! The house is immaculate, with beautiful decorations and ambience. The staff is outstanding- service was excellent, food was excellent, and our room was very comfortable. We especially enjoyed the whirlpool tub and the balcony. I would highly recommend the Beall Mansion. My wife and I plan on visiting there again, the next time we visit family in Alton.

Elegant and Comfortable

5 on July 22, 2011

We recently stayed at the Beall Mansion for a quick getaway. The house is spectacular. Lots of neat historic features. The hosts are delightful and attentive to every detail. Rooms are beautiful and comfortable. Breakfast delicious. We look forward to returning soon.


5 on July 08, 2011

My husband booked a 2 night stay at the Beall mansion as a combination 30th anniversary and birthday celebration. The rooms were beautiful, the gourmet breakfasts amazing, and Jim and Sandy were very warm and accomodating. The chocolate buffet was a nice touch! We will definitely return!

Our Fabulous Stay at the Beall Mansion

5 on May 21, 2011

We stayed at the Beall Mansion for 5 nights in May and had a wonderful time. Jim, Sandy and Jean were all so nice and took so very good care of us. The gourmet breakfasts were excellent and the bed was extremely comfortable. We have stayed in B & Bs throughout Europe and Hawaii, and we can truthfully say, that the Beall Mansion was the best one we have ever stayed in, and we will certainly return. Frank and Betty McCormick Camelot Acres Beaumont, Texas

Ramance Like No Other

5 on April 25, 2011

The Beall Mansion provided the most romantic setting for our April wedding. We were married in the beautiful gardens outside the Mansion among white and pink blooming dogwoods along with other colorful spring budding flowers and greenery. It was magical. The pictures taken outside and within the mansion reflect the romance of our special day. We know we selected the perfect location to start our life together. Our wedding reception included a beautiful and delicious two tiered cake much larger than expected along with the Beall Mansion special punch, both of which we got to enjoy again with our breakfast in bed the next morning. Trust us in saying the Breakfast in Bed option is another WOW of the Beall Mansion. Our room was heavenly and filled with special touches left to meet our every need. Did I mention the scrumptious chocolates left in the room, or the 24-hour chocolate buffet in the dining room? We were pampered in every way. The attention to detail from Jim and Sandy made everything perfect. There were no worries from the time we arrived. It was as if we were transported into a world that catered only to us. We will forever cherish our wedding memories created by the Beall Mansion. We highly recommend the Beall Mansion for anyone looking for a truly romantic wedding and honeymoon package or just a romantic get away. You will not be disappointed!! We were made to feel like royalty and cannot wait to return again and again.

An anniversary to remember.....

5 on April 19, 2011

My husband & I only had one night to get away to celebrate our anniversary this year, and this was best idea ever. Everything was just perfect, this is a beautiful Mansion, all the details in decor are wonderful. Our breakfast in bed was the icing on the cake.

Perfect romantic getaway!

4.6 on February 23, 2011

From being greeted by a tuxedo-ed host (Jim), to the 24-hour chocolate bar to the beautiful rooms, our stay was amazing! My husband planned a surprise getaway & we were both amazed! The service was beyond expectation & we were very comfortable. Our room (the Mary Harris Room) was incredible- very elegant, but not stuffy. The complementary beverages were appreciated & the tour of the Mansion was wonderful. Jim even took a few pictures of my husband & I on my camera for us! I highly recommend booking a room here!

The Beall Mansion is a feast for the senses, boasting rich colors and sumptuous textures throughout.

5 on February 05, 2011

My husband and I celebrated our fifth anniversary at The Beall Mansion. We opted for the Pampered-Lite package, which includes self serve continental breakfast in the butler’s pantry, which was great. It also included chocolates on our pillow each night. Yum. We added on an in-room massage for two. The massage therapists were both professional and courteous. And the relaxing bath in the whirlpool tub afterwards, with the homemade lavender bath salts was absolutely unforgettable. Read the rest of my review at:

Outstanding and Romantic

5 on December 19, 2010

This is my first time at a B&B Jim met us upon check in dressed to impress. I felt like every detail was addressed. The Breakfast in bed was a first for my Girl and I. We enjoyed the spacious tub and Jim was able to get reservations to a nice place without any issues. I will be back and feel like this maybe a start to a once a year event. Thank you for your house and such a great experiance.


5 on December 08, 2010

A tall, dark, and elegant gentleman in white tie and tails opened the door, and said “Welcome to the Beall Mansion.” His smile and the ambience were so warm, we immediately shook off our winter blues and chill. Once inside, everywhere we gazed were wonderful things: large statuary, fully-restored hearths, staircases, wood floors, pocket doors, tapestries, Persian carpets, a pianoforte, and an endless collection of art and finery. We were transported back to 19th century opulence by walking through this door in Alton, Illinois. Scintillating fireside conversation and brandy followed before we were shown to our room. The master’s chamber featured a king-sized bed, sofa, oriental carpets, large fireplace, French mirror, five windows, an elephant desk, and even though all the modern conveniences were present, they were tastefully hidden from view in delightful antique furnishings. The bathroom’s Italian marble made each step cool and delightful to the feet as we made our way to the huge whirlpool tub over which an ethereal goddess presides. There was also a walk-in shower, sink, and every imaginable toiletry available, along with two elegant bathrobes in our specific sizes for us to use then take home. Alton was an Epicurean’s dream, with dinners at Bossanova and Gentelin’s and gourmet breakfasts in bed at the Beall Mansion. We enjoyed visits to the Mississippi River yacht club, parks, and museum, but our time at the Beall Mansion was heavenly. On our last night experienced therapists gave us couple’s massage in our suite, using aroma therapy oils and body treatments from the East. What relaxation! Then we retired to the whirlpool tub for a soak, and discovered a bottle of lavender crystals especially for us. The fire and bed were so inviting, and we enjoyed a romantic night together any Honeymoon couple would envy. An escape to the Beall Mansion will put you in another world, another time, and if you visit in winter, even in another season.

must experience

4.2 on November 16, 2010

we stayed at the Beall nov12 thru 15 what a great B&B the owners are very gracious hosts, and very accommodating,would return in a heart beat.We stayed in the upper rooms,very relaxing and quiet.if your in the area be sure and book it, you won't be sorry. The mansion has been restored sparing no expense,just beautiful in every way.

Splendid Anniversary Spot

4.0 on October 19, 2010

Warm friendly service, elegant room with a private verandah among the treetops. Perfect for a private celebration. A romantic evening walk among the mansions of old Alton was a highlight of the visit. Thanks, Beall Mansion.

We celebrated our 1rst anniversary at the Beall Mansion!

4.8 on October 04, 2010

First off the mansion is beautiful! From the building structure to the antique furniture made it like stepping into a time machine and being transported to over a 100 years ago! Jim and staff were very friendly and helpful (we didn't get the chance to meet Sandy). The chocolate bar was great, breakfast in bed was excellent, and the bed was very comfortable! My wife and I had a very memorable 1rst year anniversary at the Beall mansion and look forward to staying there again in the future!

Absolutely Wonderful

5 on September 23, 2010

Beautiful place to stay. Jim and Sandy are wonderful hosts. Good complimentary breakfast and endless chocolate bar. Rooms were furnished with all the conveniences of home.

Peaceful and Enchanting

4.4 on August 23, 2010

Our stay at the Beall Mansion was very peaceful and quiet. The bed was incredibly comfortable, the mansion was decorated beautifully and truly made you feel as though you had walked into the past. We enjoyed both the whirlpool bath and the balcony we had. And who could forget the 24/7 Chocolate fountain available, great addition to everything!

Beall Mansion

5 on August 04, 2010

We had a wonderful evening at the mansion. We will definately be back to stay again.

exquisite b&b

4.8 on July 27, 2010

This is the best b&b we ever stayed at. The building itself is very clean,beautiful, and has amazing craftsmanship. We enjoyed a night sipping tea and eating chocolate on our private balcony, a relaxing time in our whirlpool, lit by chandelier light. And, a wonderful night sleep on our feather top bed. The had a nice continental breakfast in the morning.

Great hospitality !

4.8 on July 19, 2010

This bed and breakfast is a great place to stay, my husband and I recently stayed here and were very happy ! Our children also surprised us while we were there to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary...beautiful place and very very nice !!!!!

loved it!

5 on July 05, 2010

We went there for our 25th wedding anniversary and it was wonderful. We had never stayed in a bed and breakfast before. Can't wait to go back.

Comfortable beauty

5 on June 25, 2010

I enjoyed my stay so much, I didn't want to leave. The owners are so friendly and only want to please. They will learn what you like, from how you take your coffee at breakfast to your favorite chocolate. The rooms are not only beautiful, but oh so comfortable. A very relaxing visit.

Outstanding! Beall Mansion, That Is.

4.6 on June 22, 2010

After four days of wedding events, I came home relaxed and refreshed because of the excellent service and beautiful environment at the Beall Mansion. Thank you, Jim and Sandy. Rev. Lee W-M, Austin, Texas


5 on June 20, 2010

After being divorced for forty years,Gary and I have decided to reconnect. In doing so, we found the Beall Mansion online and made reservations. The welcome, the room, the dining,the grounds and especially, the overall warm feeling we received while being a guest was outstanding. Jim and Sandy went out of their way to make us feel pampered and at home. They provided every possible amenity to make sure we had everything we needed while a guest at the mansion. Would I recommend the Beall Mansion to everyone I know? Absolutely! The experiece of staying in a mansion was wonderful.


5 on June 14, 2010

My wife and I stayed June 11th till the 13 th and we had never been To some place so wonderful and nice the staff Jim and sandy were amazing And so helpful in our stay. Jim even took the time to explain the history of the mansion. We will for sure return soon!

Excellent Service, Wonderful Experience!

5 on June 09, 2010

We stayed here in January on an Eagle watching adventure for 1 night. It was our first experience at a B & B and it was amazing! The service and hospitality were amazing and the history of the mansion was very neat to learn about. I am recommending this to everyone I know and will visit again!

beautiful in the spring

5 on April 12, 2010

Jim & Sandy were were super-nice. Service was outstanding. The house itself was very cool. The weekend we picked for our visit worked out perfectly as the gardens & trees around the house (and throughout Alton) were in full bloom.


5 on March 29, 2010

Just a wonderful 2 night visit - decided at the last minute to travel to the St Louis area and fortunately chose this fantastic bed and breakfast. From accommodating our late arrival to the end of day brandy and chocolates Jim and Sandy could not have been any more gracious. We will stay again whenever in the area or on our way to another destination. Would recommend to just stay there and explore the entire region.

Romantic Get Away

4.8 on March 14, 2010

We had a beautiful, romantic get away for our anniversary. Beautiful home filled with lovely antiques. Our room was gorgeous and the bed was super comfortable. Awesome whirlpool tub! We'll be back!

Impressed Visitors

5 on March 13, 2010

We were most impressed with the owner, "butler" meeting us, dressed in a black tux with tails! This brought such an elegance and authenticity to our experience. We especially enjoyed him taking his personal time sharing the history of Beall Mansion. The extras included at our stay, the beauty of the decor and friendliness of the owner made it a truly restful and enjoyable time. We highly recommend the Beall Mansion!

Beall Mansion - Alton, Ill.

4.4 on February 26, 2010

Very nice, and the "No Frills" option for breakfast was more than adequate. The host and hostess were very informative about the building's history, The rooms were beautiful and reflect the old world atmosphere and were very comfortable. J.Patterson

Our stay at the Beall Mansion

5 on February 17, 2010

Our daughter got married at the Beall Mansion on Valentine's Day . It was lovely. That night my husband and I stayed over night ,it was outstanding . The Mansion is so beautiful and immaculate. I felt like a princess staying there. Jim and Sandy were terrific as well. Truly something out of a Fairy Tale. Looking forward to returning some day .

What a beautiful home

3.8 on February 16, 2010

We had a fantastic valentine's romantic get away at the Beall Mansion. Jim and Sandy are extremely nice and will do anything to make your stay fantastic. We loved the beautiful wood work and antiques in the home. We would recommend this place to everyone.

Valentine get away

4.6 on February 15, 2010

Jim greeted us in tux attire and carried our bags to our second floor room. The room was elegant and spacious. The bed very comfortable. We especially enjoyed the variety of chocolate treats and special organic teas. We also enjoyed the gourmet breakfast.

Awesome Experience!

4.0 on February 14, 2010

It was our first time at The Beall Mansion. Super people, beautiful setting, couldn't ask for anything more! Alton has lots of fun shops, and great dining as well. Super experience.

Eagles and a B&B

4.6 on February 09, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Beall Mansion while photographing bald eagles. Jim and Sandy are wornderful hosts and do a great job telling the history of the Mansion. The services are outstanding, details are not missed. Wish I had more time to stay! Will be going back. Ron J - Ron Johnson Photography

Paradise in Alton Illinos

5 on January 30, 2010

What a extraordinary experience!! My husband and I were guests for 2 nights and truly needed a getaway to relax and renew our personal energies. Beall Mansion fulfilled our expectations and more!! The Mansion is exquisite with a fine eye for detail...not a speck of dust to be found...everything first class. The gourmet, breakfast included touches from around the, champagnes, and liquores. Jim and Sandy were very gracious and personable, giving freely of their time to share their journey of resurrecting the Mansion to the Bed and Breakfast it is today. There are no words to describe the comfort of the beds......the whirlpool tub and the fireplace.....I want to go back there now! The Alton community itself, only 45 minutes from where we live, has so much to offer as well. From the history, architecture, self guided car tours of the community, wineries, gourmet resturants downtown, eagle watching and nature's beauty...who knew!!! Our weekend experience rates right up there with the best!! We HIGHLY recommend Beall Mansion and guaranty you will go back!! Dave and Terri - St. Louis, Missouri

What a joy!

4.6 on January 19, 2010

My boyfriend and I were skeptical as 19-22 year olds about taking such an "adult" vacation, but it was everything we could have hoped for and more! Our room was ornate and beautiful, we enjoyed the jacuzzi both nights, and the 24 hour hot beverage and chocolate bar came in handy often! We even had a chance to do some winter eagle watching on the river while visiting, and how rewarding that was! We would love to return.

Wonderful experience!

5 on January 18, 2010

We stayed two nights to celebrate a birthday. The Bed and Breakfast and the hospitality could not have been any better. We had the most wonderful time and will definitely make a return visit. We will recommend the Beall Mansion to everyone we know! Jim and Sandy and the entire staff are awesome! Tokqua Alms and Gary Brunner

first experience

4.8 on January 04, 2010

This was my first experience at a bed and breakfast and what a great experience! I will recommend Beall Mansion to all my friends and family!

Beall Mansion Anniversary Stay

5 on January 03, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Beall Mansion on December 30, 2009, for our 17th Anniversary. The Mansion was periodically decorated, with much history. We enjoyed all aspects of our stay. The breakfast served in our room was beyond our expectations with wonderful detail. Jim and Linda were very courteous and the room and mansion were very clean.

Christmas in St. Louis (Alton)

4.4 on January 01, 2010

We arrived Christmas night fully prepared as Jim from the Beall mansion called our cell phones to help guide us in. Our stay was flawless. Stayed two nights in this wonderful house. Wish we could have stayed a week. Good conversation with the other guests. Great time with our very close friends from Ohio. Very nice home in a very nice neighborhood. Clean, neat, very well furnished. Slept like a bear in that great triple sheeted featherbead! Great job Jim and Sandy and thanks for the hospitality! Steve and Andrea - Independence, Kansas

Perfect Weekend Getaway

4.8 on December 30, 2009

We felt as if we were invited into your home with the wonderful hospitality that was given. All of the staff and guests were very respectful. It was a wonderful time....everything was perfect including the weather for such accomodations. My fiancee has expressed that this was the best birthday present ever. Thanks for making our weekend so special. Scott Heatherly & Kristine Williams

Very nice home away from home

4.6 on December 28, 2009

Met friends on Christmas weekend. Jim and Sandy are great hosts, and the Beall Mansion was an ideal place for us to just relax with good company.

magnificent experience at the Beall Mansion

5 on December 17, 2009

this was the most exquisite place to spend a week - i didn't want to leave to go to work!

Excellent Stay at the Beall Mansion

4.8 on December 11, 2009

While in Alton, IL, for business, I recently spent 3 days at the Beall Mansion. For the same business rate as the Local Holiday Inn, we were amazed at the quality of service, decor, facilities and "feeling of elegance" at the Beall Mansion. The ownes, Sandy and Jim Belote truly provide a level of service that was amazing. I look forward to staying there on my next trip.

Beautiful, romantic & very comfortable!

3.4 on November 30, 2009

The B&B was gorgeous and is decorated with beautiful antiques. The bed was super comfortable and our room was beautiful. I would highly recommend this for a romantic get-away!


4.6 on November 29, 2009

Excellent, clean rooms with awsome whirlpool tub. Nice touch with all the extras included: wine, chocolate, soaps, cotton balls, lotion, etc. We greatly enjoyed our stay!


4.4 on November 24, 2009

Breakfast was wonderful, rooms are beautiful and couldn't feel anymore pampered. Highly recommended; just a bit pricey.

Wonderful Night!

5 on September 30, 2009

We absolutely loved the Beall Mansion in Alton, IL, and we will most definitely be back! The history behind the B&B was amazing, but that was just the beginning. You have to see it to believe it! We don't want to spoil all the surprises, so just go stay there, and see it for yourself! You will love it too!

A weekend at the Beall

4.6 on September 27, 2009

We spent a Friday and Saturday night at the Manson. Jim was a very gracious host and shared some stories related to the history of the home and he and his wife’s effort to restore it. (Sandy was out of town.) We had breakfast in our room Saturday and in the dinning room Sunday morning. The food and presentation was excellent! Jim also made some dinner suggestions. Gentlelin’s was fabulous. Give it a try. Weather permitting walk the neighborhood. Very tranquil and beautiful if you like old charming homes.

You will not be disappointed

5 on September 23, 2009

We arrived at the Beall Mansion and were greeted by Jim, who was dressed in a tuxedo with tails. What a really nice thing. Yes, a little strange at the time, but when you see the Beall Mansion for yourself you'll know why it was so appropriate. The place is beautiful and elegant. Jim told us the history of the building. It's a delightful story. We slept so well we almost forgot to get up. Breakfast was glorified continental and was very adequate. But the CHOCOLATE BAR is the absolute best. What a great treat for anyone. Come and enjoy a peaceful night at the Beall Mansion and then a wonderful day exploring Alton, IL.

A marvelous place. Stay here!

5 on July 31, 2009

The Beall Mansion is a beautifully restored historic home, designed by a famous architect. The entire B&B is furnished in appropriate antiques, turning every room into a museum. Jim and Sandy have lavished loving care on the place, and do the same for their guests. They are not the least bit snobbish; do not fear to stay here because you are intimidated by the very term mansion. We arrived late, after nine, but since we had informed them, Jim was waiting and sprang to help us. We were desperately hungry and he called local restaurants for us to find which were still serving. After dinner we returned to our room, the servant’s quarters on the third floor. Because it was a mild night, we opted to do without AC and sleep with the windows, on three sides, open. In the treetops outside katydids serenaded us. The bed was so comfortable, when I woke in the middle of the night I briefly thought I was at home, which never happens in a hotel. The common rooms downstairs have many amenities (including chocolate!), and the furnishings make you feel like a character in a book. Jim can tell you anything you want to know about the history of the area. In the morning we went for the continental breakfast, and it was more than adequate, with many choices that left us completely satisfied. Sandy took time to help us plan the next leg of our trip while we ate. Afterward we walked around the neighborhood, which has many old beautiful homes. In sum: stay here if you possibly can! You will love it. And if you care about preserving historic architecture, go out of your way to stay here and contribute to seeing it done right.

The Beall Mansion

5 on July 29, 2009

This home is so beautiful!!! This was our first time at a bed and breakfast, we never want to go to a hotel again. Jim and Sandy make you feel like a celebrity!!! From whirpool tubs to featherbeds and breakfast in bed!! Sandys cooking was fantastic!!! Walking into this home was like a step back in time!!! We can't wait to go back! We highly recomend the Beall Mansion!!!!

We love the Beall Mansion

5 on July 23, 2009

We visit the Beall Mansion often and love the care and attention to detail Jim and Sandy share. They are great people and make us feel so welcome.

Best choice

5 on April 12, 2009

All the two weeks here in the Beall Mansion was a wonderful stay in an unique atmosphere and decorated with a generous hospitality. The day start with a delicious breakfast without any time pressure and with a warm welcome every morning. To sit on the Veranda of this wonderful Beall Mansion and to answer your e-mails by a cup of tea and peaces from the delicious chocolate buffet is so inspiring. The rooms are unique furnished and every room has a special atmosphere. The Service is so professional and awesome and in all details special. I will never forget this special hospitality delivered from Sandy & Jim and all the helping hands all around.

Sweet surprise!

5 on December 03, 2008

We stay at B&Bs all the time and we couldn't believe our luck in Alton, Illinois. Close by to St. Louis, the Beall Mansion is a lovely Victorian home with all the bells and whistles. Our "Servant's Suite" was comfortable yet nostalgic. We didn't want to get out of our very comfortable bed in the morning. All the modern conveniences-plus 24 hour chocolate buffet and hot drink station. We could be gone all day and come home late to a glass of brandy, chocolate, hot tea, coffee or hot chocolate. Our hosts, Jim and Sandy, were delightful and accomodating. We felt like cherished family! High five to the staff for a job professionally well done. We'll be back-we can't wait!

A homey home away from home

4.0 on May 15, 2008

It's apparent that Jim and Sandy really go out of their way to make you feel at home in this wonderfully conserved Victorian style mansion. From the time they spend in decorating, furnishing and up keeping the place to the time they are willing to spend chatting with you about anything from the history of the house to the history of the town, it is evident that the Beall Mansion is not just a business for them, but more importantly, a passion. This transcends in every detail of the house. We had a really good time there and look forward to staying at the Beall again. Patricia Garza, Chicago, IL

We had a great time!

4.8 on October 22, 2007

Jim and Sandy were so nice. The house is lovely. We had such a relaxing time....Just what we needed

Spectacular place to stay

4.6 on October 01, 2007

Jim and Sandy are very charming and fun! We were only there for two nights and we almost felt like family. I have no complaints and would highly recommend staying at the Beall Mansion for any occasion. I wish I could move in with them. They have thought of everything to make your stay special. Stacey and Nick, St. Louis, Mo

We should have spent two evenings here (instead of 1)

4.6 on August 03, 2007

It was that good! All was very tranquil, friendly and quite relaxing. We would commend this B&B to anyone.


5 on July 26, 2007

We stayed for two nights and we loved it!

Impressive, Delicious, and; Relaxing

5 on July 05, 2007

Our recent stay at the Beall Mansion was our best B & B experience. Jim and Sandy go out of their way to make guests feel at home. We loved being greeted by Jim in his formal "uniform" and enjoyed sipping champagne while touring the home, which has gorgeously been restored with beautiful antiques. After dinner in Alton and viewing fireworks on the riverfront, we retired to our bedroom for a great night's sleep. We chose to have our gourmet "breakfast in bed" on our private patio and everything was delicious. We left the Beall Mansion relaxed and looking forward to spending another evening with Jim and Sandy in the near future.

Great place to unwind

5 on March 04, 2007

We enjoyed everything about our stay. We loved the atmosphere. Breakfast was very tasty.

BEALL MANSION An Elegant Bed and Breakfast Inn


  • Nightly Rate $139 - $358
  • Reviews (114) 4.8
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6184749100
  • Toll free 1-8668432325
  • Toll free 1-866TheBEAL

Visit Website »

View details