Blackwell Hotel Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
78 Reviews

Write A Review

Lovely hotel

4.4 on October 20, 2016

Lovely place and wonderful staff. Would stay here again if I'm in town! I only deducted on cleanliness because there were some hairs in the shower, otherwise the rest of the room and bathroom was clean.

Lovely Hotel

5 on October 13, 2016

If you are looking for a special place to get away, consider this place. It has lots of charm for you.

Pleasant honeymoon

4.6 on October 11, 2016

I booked room 1 for our honeymoon stay. The staff was very nice, the house is awesome. I really like how they basically make it like your own house very nice seating around the two fireplaces. Shuffleboard table was a great surprise, I would recommend this for anyone looking for a calm relaxed vacation. Walking distance to downtown and the lake.

Good for the price

3.4 on September 29, 2016

Stayed in one of the carriage house rooms for a night. The room itself was good with a modern, comfortable feel and its own bathroom. The bed was comfortable but my wife felt it was too soft; I thought it was fine. The A.C./Heater was a loud stand-alone unit sitting in the room and ran most of the night. The bathroom was ADA accessible which meant the shower has pretty much no lip on it to allow for wheelchairs. This is understandable but it allows water to go all over the floor. It appeared this has been problem for a while as the door and trim had water stains and looked like it had been replaced recently, evidenced by the number of nail holes still visible and poor/maybe rushed (?) craftsmanship. The drain in the floor is a toe-stubber so be careful. Also, the room blew a breaker as we were getting ready for our day. I blame my wife for using the blow dryer...we pretty much had all the lights on and the heater running so I can't blame the B&B, just be cautious in case your in the John. Breakfast looked and smelled good, but we didn't partake. We went to a greasy diner to nurse hangovers (I suggest Jimmy's down the road). Overall, for the money, its a very nice place with a great location. It is a beautiful house. The greeting staff was very nice and helpful. One of the others though, seemed a little off-put by us being there. Could have just been the day. It happens. Probably won't stay again, too many other options to be rutted in one single location.

2 nights in CdA

4.8 on August 30, 2016

Loved this place! Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was amazing with homemade hot options plus fresh fruit, coffee, and other. Close to downtown. Stayed 2 nights in room 7 and my elderly parents stayed in room 2. Both rooms just as advertised. Will be back

Classic B&B

4.8 on August 10, 2016

Charming B&B in the heart of a beautiful town. Walking distance to the lake and all amenities.

Beautiful hotel. I would visit again!

3.8 on July 15, 2016

This was my second stay at the Blackwell and I would recommend it. Beautiful rooms and convenient location. The staff is helpful and friendly. The only things not ideal are: 1. Complimentary breakfast doesn't start until 8am, which is late for me. I'm traveling for business. 2. The sheets are washed in detergent that is scented. It's not overpowering, but is noticeable. The staff would be wise to change the detergent. I work with colleagues who are sensitive to this and they would not be able to stay here.

Great Property

5 on July 11, 2016

Our stay was on the 3rd floor Rm5, Private bath with shower and walking distance to downtown, great property.

Great Stay

4.8 on July 09, 2016

We had a wonderful time, very classy place. Perfect for our anniversary.

Comfortable stay

3.4 on July 06, 2016

The rooms were comfortable, the staff was friendly. The room was clean overall, but there was a lot of dust in the corners and along the walls. We were there just a few weeks ago and the weather was warm, but they had air-conditioning and fans which made the rooms perfect, temperature-wise.

Lovely house and room

4.8 on June 27, 2016

Great value, beautiful home and room. We stayed in Room 1 overlooking Sherman Ave. The room was expansive. Short walk to downtown Cd'A. Highly recommend.

A Wonderful Night in Coeur d'Alene

5 on June 12, 2016

We were on the road and decided to stop in Coeur d'Alene. We searched and found the Blackwell Inn. Never having been to the resort town we did not know what to expect. The inn and a room exceeded all our expectations. I loved the blend of modern details mixed with the traditional house. When I imagine a bed and breakfast, I imagine a room just like the one we stayed in. Big bed, luxurious linens and modern bath. A winning combination.

Nice 3 days at Blackwell Hotel

3.2 on June 02, 2016

The location is great, the staff is lovely, the house has character; however, the bathroom was very small with an uncomfortable shower.

OK place stay once

3.4 on May 24, 2016

Everything was nice except breakfast. Breakfast was skimpy and very little was put out for guests. It was a bit awkward with the staff standing by the food watching you. It felt as if they were monitoring the amount you took. The dryer was going as you could smell the dryer smell through out the hotel when running.

Beautiful find

4.8 on May 12, 2016

We spent only one night here but we wish we could have stayed longer. My husband and could not have been any happier with the quality of this b&b. If we're in the area again this will be my first choice. Would not hesitate to recommend this location to friends and family.

I would stay again and again

5 on May 02, 2016

My stay exceeded my expectations. Friendly staff and great room. Breakfast was really great. I felt like a high roller for a very low price!

Mother and daughter get away

3.6 on April 21, 2016

My 11 year old daughter and myself enjoyed the house and grounds. We played horseshoes and shuffleboard. Our room was very quiet and comfortable.The bed was heavenly! We walked into downtown Coeur d'Alene and enjoyed sushi. Breakfast was the only thing that needed to be improved. It's a buffet line not a cooked or homemade breakfast.


5 on April 19, 2016

This place is a hidden gem in CdA. My wife and I came for a quick night away and opted for the Blackwell over the Resort. We're glad we did. Rooms are spacious, modern and super clean. You can get to downtown in a few minutes walk, no problem. The staff was great, too.


5 on April 01, 2016

YES! YES! YES! This place is amazing. I see why so many brides choose to have weddings here. The house is beautiful and I feel like the pictures don't do this place justice. The staff was very friendly and accommodating due to the fact that I had to cancel and rebook my reservation. My husband and I made sure to take advantage of all the amenities during our one night stay; the hot tub, the shuffle board/pool table and we watched a movie. We will definitely be back in the future. I highly recommend Room 3. We brought ingredients to make mimosas all night and snuggled up in bed with the fire going. 10/10 !

Beautifully Renovated - Close to Downtown

5 on March 28, 2016

Wonderful accommodations within walking distance of downtown restaurants, shops and bars. The house has been beautifully renovated with modern decor but they've kept the historical charm.

We will return!!!

3.8 on February 18, 2016

We had a wonderful time, in a historical room setting. The bed was very high, maybe a step stool would be a great addition for us shorter folks. The staff were cordial but not overly friendly, did not explain about hot tub availability until we asked. Wine offered was sour, like it had been opened too long. Shared with staff, she did not offer us another glass, but just stated it was cheap wine. We know the difference between cheap and a "bad" wine. It is very confusing as to what we can turn on or off at the same time, maybe a written guide would help. The continental brk was super great, I need more than carbs, and protein was available thru the eggs & sausage.


4.8 on February 18, 2016

Great location and a super nice and modern place to stay. We stayed in #6. It had no shower but that was ok. The view was nice. Food is a little nicer than a typical continental breakfast.

Wedding Elopement

5 on February 06, 2016

My husband and I recently purchased the elopement package which the Blackwell offers and were very pleased with everything about our stay. The hotel is beautiful, clean, the staff is very friendly and helpful. The ceremony itself went perfectly. Everything was taken care of including the minister, flowers, cake, champagne toast, seating. They made it a stress free day for us and gave us exactly what we were looking for. Very pleased!

Great Place

5 on February 02, 2016

I had my moms reception here at Blackwell Hotel. They went above and beyond to organize the reception. I will always remember them and will return.

Nice place.

3.0 on January 15, 2016

Nice accomodations, but the room was cold when we came in, and remained cold for some time. The web pics look nicer than actual facility.

Nice place.

3.0 on January 05, 2016

Everything was quite adequate...not really like the pics shown on the website though.

Night stay

5 on December 22, 2015

Very friendly staff, room was prepared before our arrival, all amenities were laid out and neatly organized.

Won't stay anywhere else!

5 on November 03, 2015

We didn't want to stay in a hotel the weekend we stayed due to an overcrowding of teenage girls and boys attending state cross country and volleyball tournaments We wanted a nice quiet location, close to downtown, and that's what we got! The three story house is beautiful, roomy and decorated with Sinatra-like class. It has modern furnishings but still has the hint of old world charm. It feels like you are staying with a rich friend rather than in a hotel. You have your own house key and lock it yourself as you come and go. We stayed in room number 1 on the second floor with a private bath, facing the front yard, with big beautiful trees blocking out the sound of traffic from the street. Our room was the original main bedroom back in the day. There is a laundry room and entertainment room in the basement, large flat screen, and shuffleboard. Staff was very friendly and helpful in giving suggestions for dinner, shopping, etc. Easy walking distance to shops, restaurants and the lake. The continental breakfast each morning was more than adequate with assorted breads, quiches, hard boiled eggs, yogurt and fresh fruit. We loved the quiet privacy and charm that Blackwell offers. When we return to Coeur d'Alene we will definitely stay here again. A very nice change from the overpriced, noisy hotels! We LOVED it!

Charming B&B

4.8 on October 20, 2015

Very charming B&B. Our room was spacious and cozy and the bed was very comfortable. The location was perfect for walking to activities. We would certainly stay again.

A wonderful property

4.6 on October 08, 2015

We recently stayed here on a short weekend getaway to Coeur d'alene. The Blackwell Hotel is a beautiful property, with fabulous rooms and amenities. It's clear the property has been recently renovated. The rooms were large, comfortable and well maintained. We also enjoyed the extras like the pool table and game rooms. The breakfast was basic continental fare, but met our expectations. There was a nice variety of choices. Overall the stay was wonderful, the property great and the staff was very nice and helpful! I would recommend to anyone wanting a cozy place to stay in CDA!

Classy, quaint, and great location!

5 on September 06, 2015

Avoid the large resort (and their fees) and choose the Blackwell instead. The three story house is lovely and decorated with Sinatra-like class. Modern furnishings with a throwback to the forties-fifties are comfortable in the common areas on the main floor as old big band tunes play in the background. It feels like you are staying with a rich friend rather than in a hotel. You have your own house key and lock it yourself as you come and go. We stayed in room number 7 on the third floor with a private bath, facing the back yard. Be advised that you may see squirrels running by the window or hear them on the roof. The ceiling is slanted in places, which at first worried us because we are both over 6 feet tall but it was a non-issue. Rooms are comfortable and updated. Keep in mind there is no AC but there is a box fan in the closet which sufficed plus the evenings were cool. We kept the windows open the entire time. If you need to iron something, you have to go down to the laundry room in the basement do to so. It is actually nice down there with an entertainment area, large flat screen, and shuffleboard. Staff was very friendly and the continental breakfast each morning was more than adequate with assorted breads, quiches, hard boiled eggs, yogurt and fresh fruit. There is also a great Java cafe right across the street. You can also purchase a bottle of wine from the kitchen. One night we ordered pizza and easily just put our leftovers in the fridge with a note of our room number, again, as if we are house guests not hotel quests. Easy walking distance to shops, restaurants and the lake. We loved the quiet privacy and charm that Blackwell offers. If we return to Coeur d'Alene we will definitely stay here again. If you are looking for resort style amenities like room service, in-room ironing, safe, fridge, with 24-hour service, then this is not the place for you. Want a romantic, sophisticated getaway? Stay here!

Great Experience at the Historic Blackwell Home in Northern Idaho

5 on September 06, 2015

We had such a good time with Bill! We felt not only cared for but also loved. The rooms are very clean, well decorated with attention to detail and very quiet at night. The breakfast was very delicious and light. I will visit Coeur d'Alene again only to stay here.

Great place to stay and great value too!

5 on August 22, 2015

This B&B in Coeur D' Alene is awesome. Beautiful old home completely restored. Gorgeous furniture and artwork. Fantastic friendly staff. Walking distance to town and the lake. We loved it!

First trip to Coeur D''Alene

3.4 on August 19, 2015

The guesthouse was comfortable with beautiful rooms. The establishment is not staffed 24 hrs but we knew that on booking. A short walk from the lake and beautiful downtown.

Amazing, romantic getaway

5 on August 15, 2015

This hotel is like something from a bygone era. Our room was huge, comfortable, clean, and so quiet. We had a lovely first anniversary here and will definitely return.

Beautiful boutique B & B

4.2 on June 21, 2015

Great location, could walk to many things. Beautiful home with wrap-a-round porch. Great continental breakfast. Not a fan of tubs with wrap-a-round shower curtains.

Blackwell hotel b&b

4.4 on April 26, 2015

Only suggestions for me would be to launder the linens in an unscented detergent. Scent of what they use is very over bearing.

Sister Weekend

4.2 on April 23, 2015

My sister and I rented room 5 for a weekend away to celebrate her birthday. We had the best time relaxing on the patio, soaking in the hot tub, and playing shuffle board. The staff was very friendly and offered wonderful suggestions on how to spend our time around town. We parked our cars Friday night and didn't get back in them until it was time to go Sunday. We enjoyed all the shops, the dock, and hiking Tubbs Hill which were all just a short distance from the house. I would highly recommend Blackwell Hotel for anyone seeking a wonderful weekend away! Thanks!

Loved room 3

3.8 on March 16, 2015

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived in our room it was beautiful. Not much service really, we checked in, got a tour. We did not see anyone the entire stay, it was odd for a B & B. Wanted to sit out on porch but the propane was empty. Had fun playing shuffle board in game/tv room. Best part was the room - gorgeous.

My stay at the Blackwell Hotel

5 on March 02, 2015

The Blackwell Hotel was beautiful. So relaxing and charming. The staff are personable and accommodating.

Delightful Couples Stay

4.8 on January 17, 2015

My wife and I frequent the Coeur d'Alene and Spokane area, but this was our first time at the Blackwell Hotel. It's become our go-to for trips to the area after just one visit. The staff went out of their way to ensure our comfort and enjoyment. We happened to be late to check in due to ice on the roads into CdA, and I received a call from the desk clerk. Her first question was not about our stay but about our safety, since she knew the roads were slippery -- quite kind, and not the sort of thing you can coach your staff to do. Our entire stay was enjoyable. The breakfast was not lavish or outstanding, but was certainly more than we expected, and having it in front of the gas fireplace certainly didn't hurt. We stayed in room 6, on the top floor, and would definitely do so again. As the hotel made clear on their website (and on the phone), the bathroom did not have a shower head, only a tub. This actually made our morning more leisurely and enjoyable, and I'd certainly recommend it to anyone who is taking a trip with a flexible timetable. The decor in the hotel was really lovely. We aren't very trendy people but we also definitely aren't fans of the Old Country Roses style decor that is so ubiquitous among b&b's. Blackwell's decorating hit us just about right -- it was contemporary without trying to be mod, classic without being dated. Rich color palette, dark woods on the walls and lighter floors all worked really nicely together. Overall, a wonderful stay that we're sure to repeat.

Very impressed

5 on January 15, 2015

My wife and I were very impressed with the service and great appearance of the place. The breakfast is exceptional. We stayed two nights for our anniversary and found it to be much better than we expected and look forward to our next stay.

Simply Outstanding!

4.6 on December 23, 2014

The attention to details that the staff provided for our wedding and our 2 night stay was above and beyond our expectations!! I can't say enough about the professional, friendly staff and the level of dedication that each and everyone of them gave to make all our wedding wishes a reality.We look back on our wedding and wouldn't change a thing thanks to Blackwell hotel and the impeccable service that they provided. It truly is a class act B & B.and we look forward to another opportunity to enjoy their hospitality.

A Flawless Wedding!

5 on October 27, 2014

My son and his lovely bride were married at the Blackwell Hotel on October 25, 2014. Both the accommodations and the wedding were "world-class!" Liz and Abby were not only very professional but also very personable. The accommodations were very clean (thanks to the hotel sorry as I forgot the two ladies names who prepared the rooms) and aesthetically pleasing. The wedding planner (Abby) was superb! Her ability to move things along during rehearsal and the main event were spectacular! Her leadership style enabled her to gain the attention of her clients in order to complete the task(s) at hand. My son who lives in Portugal was unable to attend the wedding and therefore, had to Skype-in to view the wedding. When the wedding began, the internet disconnected. Abby realized this and immediately went into action and re-established the connection and my son was able to watch his brother get married! Outstanding attention-to-detail! Liz was fabulous with the food preparation and would drop what she was doing to assist everyone and anyone! I would rate this experience a 10-star due to the flawless wedding event but this site will not allow it! Therefore, 5 stars! Rob (father of the groom)

Coud not have been happier

4.8 on October 17, 2014

This was my husband and I's first trip to a bed and breakfast. We loved everything about it! The room was very comfortable and quiet. The bed was much nicer and more comfortable than our bed at home. The breakfast was delicious. We enjoyed the yard, fireplaces on the main floor, and the shuffleboard downstairs. It was also so nice to be so close to downtown. We enjoyed hiking nearby and the shopping and restaurants that we could so easily walk to.

This was our home for 4 days!!

5 on August 31, 2014

We rented the Blackwell for 4 1/2 days the week of our son's wedding. It became home base for family staying in nearby hotels and the immediate family from out of town stayed in the Blackwell. Liz and Abby are so accommodating to all your needs! We had the rehearsal dinner on the main floor for 50 people which was amazing (also thanks to Satay Catering). The grounds are gorgeous and great for hanging out in nice weather. We even had a brunch the day after the wedding. Not one complaint from anybody!! Thank you all for ever lasting memories!!!

The Shehan's stay

4.4 on August 27, 2014

Close to downtown Coeur 'd Alene. Beautiful, historic home. Great breakfast and convenient for interaction with other guests.

wonderful stay

4.6 on August 16, 2014

stayed one night wish could have been more. Rooms decorated tastefully most to early1900 theme Liz was very accomadating and with a very home atmosphere Wine is good and breakfast with a very nice assortment os friuts juce etc. Will stay there again Dennis ,,,,Vernon BC Canada

Charm and hospitality

5 on June 26, 2014

Great place to stay! The rooms are charming, but not half as charming as the host. Liz made us feel welcome from the moment we stepped in the door. She gave us great tips on how to enjoy the neighborhood and an absolutely wonderful breakfast. I would definitely stay here again. If you need two beds, as my son and I did, ask for room #5.

Great stay!

4.8 on May 13, 2014

Very nice accommodations in a great location. Friendly and helpful staff. We would definitely stay again.

Best place to stay

5 on March 08, 2014

Liz is the best, extremely caring and enjoys her part in making the guest comfortable. The room was plush and perfect. Great place to stay for a romantic weekend. Feels like home, but better.

New Year's & 50th Birthday

5 on January 09, 2014

My husband booked the signature room for my 50th birthday Jan.1. This was the best birthday I have ever had!! I NEVER wanted to get out of that bed...until I soaked in the claw foot tub!! Beautiful mix of Victorian architecture and modern art. Liz is AWESOME!! Felt like home but so much better!! We visited with two other couples and were making plans to come back in February because we just couldn't get enough.

Our December stay at the Blackwell Hotel

4.8 on December 19, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at the Blackwell Hotel in early December. It truly was very peaceful and relaxing, the room and old fashioned decor was very nice! We really enjoyed visiting with Liz and she truly made us feel right at home, as they told us to it was our own home for one night! Kitchen facilities were great and we could snack on anything we wanted, including the wine and beer that was available...a very nice place to relax...thank you, Liz!

Great Place

5 on October 18, 2013

We highly recommend staying at the Blackwell. This charming property is conveniently located to shopping, restaurants and hiking trails in Coeur d’Alene. Liz and staff made us feel at home and provided outstanding service.

Best place in Coeur d'Alene

5 on October 09, 2013

I have never been treated so well. Liz is an exceptional hostess. She made me feel like I was home (except I didn't have to make the bed or wash the dishes!) There was always a cold beer or a glass of wine and good company to talk with. One evening I was even included on a local Arts Council event with an open bar and hors d' oeuvres. I will never stay anywhere else in Coeur d'Alene.

Gotta try this place!

5 on October 08, 2013

Beautifully restored, extremely comfortable and convenient, wonderful hostess and staff. We were in town to visit family and have stayed at the resort in the past...but now that the Blackwell is open we will only stay here! Thanks Liz for a wonderful stay!

Great Stay at the Blackwell

4.6 on September 19, 2013

Liz was a wonderful hostess, quick walk to downtown, bed, room and bath were great.. All in all fantastic! Rich & Babs

September Wedding

5 on September 17, 2013

Mike Holbart Coeur d Alene We had my daughter's wedding here. Liz and Abigail worked with us to make it as worry free as possible. Liz knows the ropes... When a bad relative showed up that upset the bride to be, she was called upon for advice. She got right in front of Amy and told her who'd day it was and distracted her. That's just one of the many things she did, but one of the funnier that I heard of. She let us do what we wanted, but directed us to the proven methods for the wedding to proceed (based upon past experience). They were there at our beck and call throughout the process. She loves the property, being that she had a hand in restoring it over many years. We found it easier to rent the whole house for the weekend, so we had all of the rooms. We enjoyed a nice leisurely breakfast in the mornings, before all Heck broke out. She would provide whatever we needed and got hugs from all of us in the end. Thank you Liz and Abigail!

Amazing Stay

5 on August 30, 2013

The manager, Liz, is the queen of hospitality. We wanted for nothing and have never before stayed at such an accommodating place. Beer and wine was freely available along with snacks to go throughout the day. The staff members were very efficient and courteous and the folks we met in travel, always pleasant. Wonderful experience all around. Perfect location with easy access to downtown and the beach. We took a motorcycle ride to CDA and had booked room 2 for our stay. The entire place was spotless, nicely appointed and the room was spacious and airy. The private bath/shower is across the hall and assigned to the room. The king sized bed was extremely comfortable and even had a sleep number mattress! We couldn’t pack much and were in sore need of laundry services so Liz offered to put our load in before they did house laundry. Then offered to put it the dryer for us so we could go play! Who does that? My wife and I returned towards the end of our vacation, this time in room 3 which was amazing and had a walk-in shower that could host a small party! We didn’t see the other rooms. We’re looking forward to coming back next year.


5 on August 26, 2013

Beautiful, can't wait to return

Great stay

5 on August 25, 2013

We had a wonderful time during our stay at Blackwell. All the small town charm with modern conveniences. Friendly and clean, close to downtown and the lake. The grounds are fabulous, eat outside, inside, on the front porch or in your room. There are snacks and beverages available throughout the day. We hope to return again and again!

Perfect location in Coeur d'Alene

4.8 on August 12, 2013

My husband and I just spent a week in Coeur d'Alene and found the Blackwell Hotel to be comfortable, quiet and with a perfect central location for exploring Coeur d'Alene and the surrounding area. The Continental Breakfast was more than adequate, especially the fabulous array of fresh fruit. There is also a constant day and night supply of other beverages. Best of all was the hospitality of both Liz and Abbey, both of whom were friendly and always available to answer any of our questions and/or see to our particular needs throughout the week. We pass through this area frequently, and will stay at the Blackwell Hotel again.


5 on July 24, 2013

Wow! I really can’t say enough about our stay, the staff and their outstanding service. They went above and beyond to ensure our wedding was spectacular and our guests were happy. From beginning to end, I felt our needs were anticipated and met. The rooms were nothing short of amazing, the turnover from our ceremony to reception was flawless….I could go on and on for days! Thank you times a million for creating an unforgettable weekend for us, our family and our friends. xo, Heath and Wendy

Fantastic place for a wedding

4.8 on July 23, 2013

My best friend had her wedding here and rented the place for the bridal party all weekend. It was beautiful, excellent breakfast, full access to the house and kitchen. Liz was amazing taking care of the wedding plans and helping everywhere she could. It was like she was part of the family trying to make it as special as possible. It was also close to shopping and the lake. We were able to take morning hikes and enjoy the views!

Liz makes the place exceptional.

4.8 on July 23, 2013

Judy Devereaux

Perfect Wedding Venue/Weekend Getaway

5 on July 20, 2013

I just held my wedding at Blackwell and it was fabulous. We ended up renting the venue for the entire weekend and we could not have made a better decision. The property is absolutely beautiful, the beds are to die for comfortable and Liz was amazing. Her hospitality and help throughout the weekend made everything go so much smoother for my wedding, and she did our wedding ceremony too. I am glad that I decided to go with the Blackwell as my wedding venue and to rent it for the entire weekend. It allowed me, as the bride to really relax and take my time on the day of the wedding since we were able to set everything up the day before. Liz also was a hug help with that, she made sure things were taken care of so that my mother could also relax and enjoy my special day. Although I am from the CDA area, I am sure my husband and I will return next year for our anniversary. It was just an awesome experience and I have nothing at all to complain about. I highly recommend looking into the Blackwell if you are looking for a wedding venue, and if you are just looking for a place to stay, this is more affordable and a very great experience that you cannot receive at either the resort or other hotels.

My sray at the Blackwell

3.8 on July 16, 2013

Was expecting more then a continental breakfast. It was nice but a protein would be a great add:)

Fabulous stay in Coeur d' Alene!

4.8 on July 13, 2013

What a beautiful hotel! We stayed in room #1 for two nights and were very pleased. The king bed was so comfortable as were the silky soft sheets. The bathroom was roomy with an old fashioned claw foot tub with shower attachment. Breakfast was simple but delicious with fresh fruit and granola, juice and coffee. Wine, beer were offered in the afternoon and evening. We were told to help ourselves in the kitchen so after being out to dinner we peeked in the freezer and found tubs of ice cream, huckleberry being our favorite. Liz and Abby were fantastic! They were friendly and helpful with great suggestions about where to bike, swim, and eat. The hotel is within walking distance to dining, shopping, and the lake. Highly recommend!

Charming and modern

4.6 on July 02, 2013

This was a very charming and quiet hotel, and Liz was very friendly and eager to help us to feel comfortable. We stayed in room #4 with our two children, and it was a bit of a tight fit: the room only has a queen sized bed (comfortable mattress but a loud creaking bed) plus a pull-out sofa bed and small-ish but charming private bathroom. The common areas were very comfortable and decorated beautifully (we were especially happy for the upgraded central air), and the family really enjoyed the shuffleboard in the basement and the large yard, plus the easy walk to downtown. If you have children that need to be in the same room with you, this is the only space in the hotel for it and it's just a bit cramped, but if you can put your children in a separate room then I recommend any of the spacious separate rooms that are just across the hall.

An amazing and relaxing stay!

5 on June 20, 2013

We had an amazing night at the B&B. We stayed in room #3 which is definitely worth the money with a beautiful bathroom, fire place, very comfortable bed, and many windows. The dual shower heads in the bathroom were icing on the cake. Very professional and friendly staff made the breakfast very nice, and was just what we were looking for in B&B atmosphere. Thank you! -Jared and Krystle

Great little getaway

4.4 on April 21, 2013

Lizz was amazing. We booked only hours before showing up. She decided that since the TV was not 100% she would upgrade us at no cost. The room was great and we had an amazing anniversary! We took an easy walk into town for dinner and drinks. We couldn't of asked for a better stay.

Delightful, Homey and Comfortable

5 on April 13, 2013

My 82-year-old father flew in to Spokane on March 21 to watch my 14-year-old daughter compete in the 2013 Idaho State Gymnastics Championships. We had driven up from Moscow to pick him up and then whisked him over to the Blackwell. Liz was instantly likeable and made us feel at home immediately. The establishment is charming, architecturally facinating, well furnished, and we loved all the fireplaces, large windows, spacious kitchen and dining areas, the rooms and bathrooms. Most importantly, my father was delighted and enchanted with the amenities and the ambiance; my daughter loved the place and really liked Liz; I loved the reasonable price, fabulous location (right near downtown,the lake and the Gymnastics Meet location at N. Idaho College), the charm, the comfort and could not have been more pleased to have both a happy dad and a happy kid. Kudos and I intend to pass on our experience to everyone I know!

Wonderful Inn Keeper and Charming B&B

4.8 on March 13, 2013

We could not have been happier with our stay at the Blackwell Hotel. Liz met and exceeded all of our needs in addition to providing a wealth of information for visiting local establishments. The home was cozy, even in the winter gloom. It was close to downtown restaurants and stores. The shuffle board table with the large screen TV was a bonus. We would definitely stay here again. Airstream Owners - Seattle WA

Superb Stay at Blackwell

5 on February 27, 2013

Finally a place to stay that doesn't feel like a cookie cutter motel experience. The Blackwell was a wonderful stay. The House is very nice old Victorian with plenty of upgrades and elegant little touches to make it stand unique. The beds where super comfortable with feather Duvets and Feather Pillows. Nice sheets and they didn't smell like some one dipped them in horrid fabric softener like many motels. The Property Manager Liz was great. She really took great care of my son and I. Oh Yea and they have a shuffle board table in their basement that we played about 10 games on. Next time we come to town we want to rent the whole place for our group.

Truly amazing experience!

5 on February 22, 2013

My love surprised me with an overnight stay at the Blackwell Hotel for our Valentine's celebration. I cannot say enough how awesome it was! I loved the modern decor mixed with the original old charm. It was a perfect balance. The manager Liz was amazing and it was very apparent that she took a great deal of pride in creating an exceptional experience for their guests. Our room was gorgeous, clean and quiet. Even the sheets smelled incredible! I can't wait to go back!

Loved it!

4.6 on January 06, 2013

We had a great time here. The rooms are beautiful and unique, not something you'd fine in a chain hotel, and yet still affordable. Great service as well! Thanks Liz!

Classic Old School Charm with Comfy Updates

4.6 on December 23, 2012

Great old house with tons of charm good vibe and energy. Detailed nooks and cranny's. It has been updated with very nice touches. I would recommend the Blackwell (cool name too!) to friends and family and you.

What a Surprise!

4.6 on November 05, 2012

My husband surprised me with a birthday "staycation" and it was amazing. We stayed in the room with the firplace and it was very romantic. Everything was really great!

Blackwell Hotel


  • Nightly Rate $115 - $250
  • Reviews (78) 4.6
  • Rooms 9
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2087657799

Visit Website »

View details