Miss Spenser's of Longview Farms Reviews


View details

  • Guest room5
  • Service5
  • Value5.0
  • Cleanliness5
  • Onsite Dining5.0

Score Breakdown based on
30 Reviews

Write A Review

Peaceful Retreat

5 on August 03, 2016

What a delightful, peaceful, beautiful bed and breakfast! I went away by myself for a "planning" retreat and found a true treasure. The location in gorgeous, the hospitality is beyond compare, the breakfasts and afternoon tea I had were all delicious and filling. The bed was comfy, the decor beautiful, and the room spacious. I cannot say enough GOOD things about this wonderful bed and breakfast and Donna. I was ready to go back for another stay almost before I left. I want to take my husband with me next time. Or send my parents. Or do a girlfriends' weekend. I felt at home, comfortable, and cared for! I've now stayed at between 20 and 30 bed and breakfasts and this one is in the top 5 for most peaceful and wonderful hospitality and service! Go before it gets booked up! ;)

The best vacation we have had in YEARS!

5 on August 02, 2016

My wife and I are a young couple in our late 20's, most people laughed and said we were way to young for a bed and breakfast, but they were SO wrong! We absolutely loved our stay at Miss Spenser's of Longview Farms Bed and Breakfast! Our hostess was so sweet, and even meet us when we pulled up to great us. She had a pot of the best tea I have ever had in my life brewed and ready for us. We stayed in the "Room With a View" and found it to be nicer than any hotel suite we have stayed in. My wife kept going on about how great the place was decorated. I loved that it felt like we had left Iowa, the US even, to stay in at the English countryside! We had both dinner and breakfast, and they did not disappoint. The food was better than anything you could get at a local restaurant, I say that without hyperbole! We had stuffed chicken, potatoes, and asparagus for dinner, with a fresh baked cake decorated with freshly picked flowers for desert. The salads served before dinner were AMAZING, with fresh fruit perfectly blended in with the greens. For breakfast we had banana fosters over steel-cut oats, an omelet that was to die for, sausage, fruit, pastries, biscotti, and more, we could not finish the feast provided for us! Our hostess was so accommodating to! She helped me surprise my wife by displaying flowers I had sent beforehand, and a gift I had shipped to their B&B, she even wrapped the gift! My only regret is this, we only stayed one night. If you are considering going to a B&B, look no further, this is the place. Stay in the Room with a View, Stay at least two nights (Go horseback riding during the day at a nearby ranch, or go visit a historical pilgrim style village nearby), and make sure to order the dinner at least one night. You will be so glad you did!

On the Farm!

5 on July 13, 2016

What a peaceful getaway for my hubby and I! The bed was amazing, the room was over the top and yummy food!!! We enjoyed the little garden sitting area, the view for miles from their yard, and even walked the rolling gravel road for a workout you won't get at the gym! HEHE We will go back for sure!!

Perfect anniversary get away

5 on June 10, 2016

We have enjoyed tea at Miss Spencer's and know their style and service are outstanding, so we were not disappointed when we planned an anniversary celebration at their Bed and Breakfast. It was a most memorable experience. All aspects of our stay were outstanding and so enjoyable. The peace and quiet of their farm, the comfortable accommodations, along with delicious food for both supper and breakfast made for a lovely anniversary celebration. Thank you so much, Donna.

A piece of heaven in Iowa!!

5 on May 31, 2016

It was fortunate indeed to find Longview Farm! It's truly a charming and beautiful B&B in Iowa. As far as the eye can see are rolling hills and beautiful skies. I was treated so wonderfully in the Garden Room. There is a little English garden next to it. I loved the breakfast and afternoon tea. Just like being in the UK, but even a bit better! The owners, Donna and Don are wonderfully kind and talented. I felt very pampered. Loved their BBC film collection. Ask to see their amazing tearoom too!! Can't wait to go back there!!!

Sisters' weekend at Miss Spenser's

5 on March 23, 2015

Even though it is the end of a dreary, Iowa winter, the warmth and hospitality of this gorgeous setting brightened our sisters' weekend. The breakfasts were delicious, the "Room with a View" was clean, well-decorated, and perfect for us. There is the sweetest state park nearby, Hickory Hills, that I would recommend for walking off the yummy breakfasts. Des Moines is fairly close - we traveled to downtown for dinner and a show one evening and spent the other enjoying DVDs of Downton Abbey and playing games. I hope to visit again.

A great escape from the hustle & bustle of the city.

5 on March 05, 2015

My husband & I celebrated our golden wedding anniversary last fall at Miss Spenser's. We were greeted with hot tea and other sweet treats. Before it got dark we went to Hickory Hills and took a brisk walk through the woods. When we got back, we turned on the fireplace and enjoyed our comfy room. The next morning we were served a wonderful breakfast! YUMMY!

A piece of heaven in rural Iowa

5 on January 16, 2015

My husband booked a room here as a surprise on our wedding night. The owner was more than hospitable and even left the door unlocked for us to enter whenever, being as it was our wedding night and we had a long night of festivities ahead of us. The room was remarkable and the decor was a vintage girl's dream! The owner even left cute treats and tea for us to nibble on as we wound down from a very exciting day. The next morning our power went out briefly due to a storm and the owner and her daughter literally hand pressed our coffee and cooked our breakfast regardless of the power outage. We will definitely be coming back here and have recommended this B&B for multiple people looking for a "stay-cation"

Most peaceful place on Earth

5 on January 09, 2015

My wife and I booked a get-away at Longview Farms B&B as we were looking for some relaxation. What we received was opulent, luxurious peace that made us long for nothing. When we arrived Donna met us at the car and showed us to our suite. We had the "Room with a View." From the moment we climbed the stairs we were enraptured by the charming attention to detail that made each moment heavenly. From the selection and placement of the books, the choice in classic looking Christmas tree, the bedding, even the window treatments...it all lent to a wonderful sense of tranquility that harkens to a more simple time yet with all of the modern conveniences. There was a pot of piping hot tea waiting for us. What would you expect from a place that also houses a fabulous tearoom? We had arranged for a harvest dinner as well and were told it would be served in our suite at the time of our choosing that evening. Looking out the windows we were taken by the rolling hills of Longview Farms, the field of lavender, the cows in the distance and the "secret garden" that itself appeared to have complete equanimity. We enjoyed our tea near the fireplace and lazily thumbed through cookbooks and tea books on a perfectly placed sofa in quiet repose. Donna and Spenser appeared at the appointed time with our wonderful harvest dinner. It was a spectacle for the senses, bringing exultation to the eyes, nose and mouth. The repast was a mélange of colors, textures and flavors. We also had more amazing tea, of course. After dinner we enjoyed more time by the fire and there was no desire to use the available TV or cell phones. When our eyes could hold up no more, we moved to the bed, which we hadn't more than seen to that point. The choice of linen and pillows was far better than any hotel. The next morning we were greeted by another sensory feast for breakfast. Donna and her family were a wonder, everything was so serene and we haven't felt so rested and relaxed.

Wonderful experience at Longview Farm B & B

5 on October 24, 2014

My husband & I stayed recently in the "Room with a View' suite. It was beautiful, relaxing, and very memorable. Spencer and Donna served wonderfully tasting, hearty breakfasts both days. On our arrival Friday, we got to sample the cakes, sandwiches & tea which were to be served at one of Miss Spencer's famous Teas, scheduled for the next day. Don spent almost 2 hours on Sat. showing off his dogs' herding abilities with his beef cattle. It brought back memories for both my husband and I. It was very peaceful, we never heard any sounds from the livestock or the family. We enjoy visiting different B&B's. This was definitely a unique experience, and at the top of the list for a return visit.

Exceeded our expectations

5 on October 03, 2014

My wife and I were traveling through Iowa and decided to stay at Miss Spenser's Bed and Breakfast and we could not have been happier about the decision. Donna makes you feel at home right away and took care of us like we were her own family. We would not hesitate to recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone who wants to have a relaxing evening in a very peaceful environment (and by the way - she will make you a great breakfast!)

A great get-away

5 on June 12, 2014

My wife and I (yes, I am a guy who enjoys staying at B&B's) spent a very relaxing evening at Miss Spencer's of Longview Farms. Everything exceeded our expectations, from the welcoming delicious treats to the sumptuous breakfast. The joy of walking around the farm, enjoying the well-tended gardens and watching the farm animals was very refreshing. We enjoyed the absence of of our daily distractions and were able to read, think and just relax. Donna is a great hostess and we plan to return for another visit!

Weekend away

5 on November 24, 2013

My Husband and I had the privledge to stay at Miss Spenser's of Longview Farms. It was a very cold weekend but so nice and warm on the inside.The rooms are just beautiful.It was a great treat. If you are looking for a very special get away. Check it out you will not be disappointed.


4.6 on August 13, 2013

The host and hostesses were awesome. She gave me the name of her beautiful peony bushes and the product she used to finish her wood floors with. Enjoyed chatting with them also about breeding black Herefords.

Great Beginnings

5 on July 25, 2013

My husband and I started our 20th anniversary trip at Miss Spenser's. The setting is casual elegance and the service is outstanding! Donna and her daughter Spenser are wonderful hostesses. They accommodated our special dietary needs without blinking an eye. We wish that we lived closer so that we could visit more often. You definitely want to include a stop at Miss Spenser's of Longview Farm on your next trip.

City Kids Get Away

5 on July 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I are always glued to our electronics and decided to checkout for a weekend. What a wonderful experience we had at Miss Spenser's; I didn't want to leave! Donna and Spenser were lovely hostesses, and the breakfast was absolutely delightful every morning. This is a must stop on your trip. You won't find better.

You will want to return again and again.

5 on July 08, 2013

Donna and Spenser must really love what they do because they made my husband and I feel so welcome. It was obvious that between the room and the tearoom and food that it is a labor of love. You won't find better.

A Great Get Away!

5 on November 19, 2012

My husband and I had an opportunity to get away from our very busy and hectic life! This was just what we needed! It was relaxing and peaceful! Charming and Cozy! Breakfast was Wonderful! I'd recommend it to anyone!! Can't wait to return!

Californians go to Iowa

5 on October 19, 2012

We are urban Californians who have now made four visits to Iowa. Why? For the small town experience, the leaves changing and the people. All of these goals were more than met when we spent three nights (October 13-15, 2012) at Longview Farms. We had the Room With a View but it is more a house than a room. The whole second floor; living room, dining area, and bedroom. The rooms are spacious; the bed was extremely comfortable.. The B&B is brand new and beautifully done. Donna and Spenser brought breakfast to us each morning. Not just the usual eggs, fruit, meats and coffee (brewed in our room by them) but fabulous pastries that they made. Although we were only 30+ minutes from Des Moines, we were definitely in the country -- which means quiet with views of the countryside. The gravel road may have been two miles but it didn't seem so given the quality of the road and the beautiful scenery.Would we return? In a heartbeat. Would we recommend this? Absolutely.

B&B Review

5 on October 16, 2012

The Garden Room was beautiful. Having tea and snacks upon arrival was wonderful after a long day of traveling. The bed was very comfortable and it was so quiet. It was the perfect start to a cousin weekend get-together. Thank you for the wonderful hospitality. Shari, Huron, South Dakota

An anniversary to remember

5 on August 24, 2012

As my husband put it "Our Room with a View was a 'Peak at Heaven'. Every corner a new discovery!!" Afternoon Tea when we arrived was a joy, even for a retired Navy S.E.A.L.!!!! Can't say enough Lynne & Peter Roers

One of the Best

5 on August 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Longview Farms B&B this past week for 2 nights. We were both so amazed by the size, the cleanliness, the beauty and comfort of our suite. It was beyond any expectation we had. The hospitality of Donna and Spenser was also above expectations. The snacks and breakfasts were hearty, delicious and beautifully presented at the perfect temperatures. We hope to go back soon. It is one of the best B&B's we have stayed at. We have not found one even close to compare at this value.

Totally Delightful Stay

5 on August 11, 2012

One night at this delightful B&B just wasn't enough. Tea in the afternoon and a comfy, cozy room were just perfect!

Lady Donna & Miss Spenser

5 on August 10, 2012

A gracious and charming set of rooms. They pay special attention to all the amenities of a hostess, making you feel so special.

A relaxing escape

5 on August 03, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Longview Farms. The room was beautiful and relaxing, the innkeepers very kind and hospitable, and the breakfasts excellent! We plan to return to this peaceful escape.

Best Date Night Ever

5 on July 25, 2012

We were in the area with family and decided to have a romantic get away before going home. It was the best place ever to stay. Quite ,clean, and the best food around. We will be going back again.

Elegant and Relaxing

5 on June 02, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Miss Spenser's B&B for our anniversary. We were looking for a quiet, relaxing getaway. What we received was so much more. Our hosts, the Hardins, were overwhelmingly accommodating. They welcomed us with homemade cookies and an extremely exquisite and very elegant bedroom suite. Donna and her daughter, Spenser, were very polite and always available for any of our needs. Yet they were very respectful of our private time and were never a bother. The breakfasts were superb, and our entire stay was very relaxing and peaceful. We stayed in the suite, and they allowed us to view the Garden View room as well. My wife and I agreed if the suite was unavailable, we would gladly stay in the smaller, but very nice, Garden View room. The suite is divided up into 3 separate, but open to each other areas: bedroom and bathroom, kitchenette with dining and sitting area, and living area with TV and fireplace. Each of which is very elegantly decorated and made for relaxing. The quiet, off-the-main-highway location of this B&B is what helps to make this place so appealing. There is no traffic to be heard. Yet, shopping and dining is only 30 minutes away to Des Moines, or less than that if you are satisfied with the smaller Indianola. Or, one may simply choose to come prepared to make a few small meals (there is a large dorm-sized refrigerator and microwave) and stay in for quiet, all-day relaxation. If you're looking for a quiet, elegant B&B with some of the most accommodating hosts you'll ever find, this is the place for you. My wife and I are already looking forward to our next stay.

Wonderful B&B

5 on May 31, 2012

My granddaughter and I had a most wonderful stay in the Garden Room. It was very nicely decorated and especially clean and roomy. The bed was very comfortable, towels very soft,food absolutely wonderful! We enjoyed the large choice of movies to watch and also played with the cards/games provided. Miss Spenser's hospitality was exceptional and she provided for our every need. The B&B was a little drive off Highway 35, but well worth it. Highly recommend.

Delightfully Refreshing!

5 on March 27, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Miss Spencer's per the recommendation of a friend. My desire was too treat my wife to a little get-away from the ordinary. In making our way to Miss Spenser's of Longview Farms I had no idea we would be transported to an authentic English Tea Room, Garden, and countryside, in rural Iowa! Never before have we stayed in such an attractive, peaceful, and refreshing bed and breakfast. Our room was crisp and clean, the great variety of tea was wonderful, the food exquisite, the atmosphere warm, and the hospitality amazing. The only regret was that we could not stay an additional evening. Not only do we plan to return but my wife is making plans to treat our daughters to special visits to the Tea Room. If you enjoy feeling rejuvenated, refreshed, and renewed you will absolutely want to make plans for a visit!! Thank you Miss Spencer (& Mrs. Hardin) for making our trip so special!

Absolutely Superb! You Have To Stay Here!

5 on February 25, 2012

We recently spent the weekend with the Hardins and we loved it! The suite was really beautiful, spacious and even had a little kitchen with snacks, tea/coffee and a microwave and mini fridge. It had the comfiest couch to lounge on while reading a book or watching a movie. Donna and Spenser were very friendly and available. The breakfasts were amazing!!! And very romantic in front of the fireplace. Way too much food but delicious! It's not especially close to any city attractions, but if you're looking for a romantic weekend in with your special someone, this is perfect. We are definitely going back.

Miss Spenser's of Longview Farms


  • Nightly Rate $135 - $170
  • Reviews (30) 5.0
  • Rooms 2
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6413421547

Visit Website »

View details